DETAILED ACTION
This is action is responsive to the application filed February 23, 2023 and the preliminary amendment filed April 6, 2023.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 3-5, 8, 10-12, 15, and 17-19 are pending.
Claims 2, 6-7, 9, 13-14, 16 and 20 were cancelled.
Claims 1, 3, 4, 5, 8, 10, 11, 12, 15, 17, 18 and 19 have been amended.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on May 26, 2023 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner and included herewith in response to Applicant’s request.
Response to Amendment
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The Applicant has amended the claims including adding a table which is a subset of a table in the originally filed application. Examiner notes that the inclusion of a table is covered by MPEP 2173.05(s) which provides “Where possible, claims are to be complete in themselves. Incorporation by reference to a specific figure or table “is permitted only in exceptional circumstances where there is no practical way to define the invention in words and where it is more concise to incorporate by reference than duplicating a drawing or table into the claim.” And Applicant has chosen to duplicate a portion of a table from the specification into the claim. Therefore, the table is accepted. The other amendments to the claims have support in the specification and are entered.
Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 8 and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 8, 10-12, 15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Pub. 20200120642, as supported by provisional application 62588290, filed 11/17/2017 to Daesung Hwang et al. (hereinafter Hwang) in view of “Resource Allocation in time domain” (hereinafter TS38.214) further in view of US Pat. Pub. 20190068308 to Cheolkyu Shin et al. (hereinafter Shin).
Regarding claim 1, Hwang, as supported by provisional application 62588290, in view of TS38.214 and Shin teaches A communication method for a terminal device (Hwang device 100 para. [0267]) , comprising:
receiving first indication information from a network device, before a radio resource control (RRC) connection between the terminal device and the network device is established, wherein the first indication information indicates one of a plurality of pieces of predefined time domain resource information, (Hwang para. [0193] teaches that a UE receives a “field” in a DCI. See support in Hwang, provisional 62588290, page 4, lines 1-12. Hwang provisional page 14 starting on line 1 teaches “before the RRC configuration is established” time-domain RA is performed....“Parameters set (s) of Time-domain resource (a combination of slot index information, and/or starting combination of symbol index, and/or ending symbol index) may be configured through PBCH and/or RMSI and/or OSI, etc. More specifically, the time-domain resource allocation of the above method may be the case where scheduling DCI belongs to a common search space or a group common search space.” The provisional does not specifically identify the K, S and L parameters in the provisional,)
and
Hwang does NOT teach each piece of predefined time domain resource information comprises
the following parameters of first data: a parameter S, a parameter L, and a mapping type parameter of a data channel to transit the first data.
In the analogous art of 3GPP wireless communication standards, TS38.214 teaches: each piece of predefined time domain resource information comprises
a parameter S, a parameter L, and a mapping type parameter of a data channel to transmit the first data; (TS38.214 page 10, teaches:
). As shown, the parameters L and S are each taught in TS38.214.
wherein the parameter S represents a start location of time domain symbols occupied by the first data, the parameter L represents a quantity of time domain symbols occupied by first data, and the mapping type parameter represents a mapping type of the data channel, wherein a value of the parameter L is predefined as two time domain symbols, four time domain symbols, or seven time domain symbols, (TS38.214 section 5.1.2.1 as shown above teaches that the table pdsch-symbolAllocation includes starting symbol S relative to the start of a slot, the number of consecutive symbols L counting form the symbol S where the slot allocated for the PDSCH is determined via an indexed row defining slot offset K0 , the start and length indicator SLIV )
and the combination of the S and L corresponds to one of the following:
;
Hwang teaches in provisional 62588290 page 13, Figure 5 and lines 1-6 that the “starting symbol index may be indicated to a UE through a scheduling DCI.” Figure 5 illustrates that the starting symbol can be a “0” and the length is “7”:
Examiner notes that the use of the word “or” negates requiring a teaching of “L” having 2 or 4 symbols.)
and wherein the mapping type parameter is a one-bit indication; (Hwang provisional 62588290, page 8, last two lines through page 9, lines 1-3, teaches that “an explicit bit may be used in DCI” for indicating an RBG size time-frequency resource allocation when there are multiple RBG sizes, and that the “DCI may be interpreted differently depending on the CCE index to which it is mapped.” and Examiner interprets “a mapping of the data channel” as control channel elements (“CCE”) within the broadest interpretation of the claims.
Hwang does NOT teach a specific “mapping type”.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Shin teaches a mapping type parameter as a one-bit indication. (Shin teaches in Fig. 4 step f100 as a “yes or no” diamond question which translates to a one-bit indication:
Shin further teaches in para. [0216]-[0220] that a reduction in the number of bits in configuring DMRS via DCI is possible via different methods including: “Alt-1: independent signaling with 1 or 2 bits of DCI: DMRS Type1: Possible to configure two DMRS port groups with 1 bit”. which goes beyond simply identifying a mapping type parameter as being type 1 or type 2.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Shin and Hwang to teach a one bit indication for a mapping type parameter. Each of Shin and Hwang are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Shin and Hwang to support the increased number of 5G reporting of estimated channel conditions to the base station and DMRS bundling in the time domain as taught in Shin, para. [0006].
and
determining a time domain resource of the first data according to the first indication information. (TS38.214, page 10 teaches that the UE is scheduled to receive PDSCH by a DCI for purposes of determining the time domain resource per the allocation table. Using the received table enables the UE to identify the start and length indicator value (SLIV) used for time domain resource allocation for PDSCH. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Hwang with TS38.214 to teach the parameters K, S, and L received in a DCI as taught in both Hwang and TS38.214. Each of Hwang and TS38.214 are in the field of wireless communication. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Hwang with TS38.214 in order to determine time domain resource allocation according to the 3GPP specifications for time domain resource allocations.
Regarding claim 3, Hwang does NOT teach The method according to claim 1, wherein the value of the parameter L further indicates N time domain symbols, wherein N is an integer larger than 7.
However, in the analogous art of 3GPP wireless standards TS38.214 teaches wherein the value of the parameter L further indicates N time domain symbols, wherein N is an integer larger than 7 (TS38.214 teaches that the pdsch-symbolAllocation table enables identifying a SLIV according to :
else
where
).
As shown, an L that is less than 14 is an integer larger than 7.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Hwang with TS38.214 to teach an integer larger than 7. Each of Hwang and TS38.214 are in the field of wireless communication. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Hwang with TS38.214 in order to determine time domain resource allocation according to the 3GPP specifications for time domain resource allocations.
Regarding claim 4, Hwang combined with TS38.214 teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein each piece of predefined time domain resource information comprises a parameter K, the parameter K represents a start slot location occupied by the first data, and the value of the parameter K is predefined as 0. (Hwang teaches in provisional 62588290 page 13, Figure 5 and lines 1-6 that the “starting symbol index may be indicated to a UE through a scheduling DCI.” Figure 5 illustrates that the starting symbol can be a “0” and the length is “7”:
Hwang does NOT identify that the starting symbol is “a value of the parameter K”.
However, in the analogous art of 3GPP wireless standards, TS38.214 page 10, line 6 teaches a value of the parameter K as follows: “The slot allocated for the PDSCH is determined by K0 of the indexed row n+K0,” Therefore a zero offset of the indexed row would identify that the slot is n and a start slot location occupied by the first data.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Hwang with TS38.214 to teach the parameters K, as taught in TS38.214. Each of Hwang and TS38.214 are in the field of wireless communication. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Hwang with TS38.214 in order to determine time domain resource allocation according to the 3GPP specifications for time domain resource allocations.
Regarding claim 5, Hwang does NOT teach The method according to claim 1, wherein the mapping type parameter indicates type 1, and wherein the type 1 represents that a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) is mapped to a first symbol in a scheduled uplink data channel resource or a first symbol in a downlink data channel.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Shin teaches wherein the mapping type parameter indicates type 1, and wherein the type 1 represents that a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) is mapped to a first symbol in a scheduled uplink data channel resource or a first symbol in a downlink data channel. (Shin teaches in Fig. 6A and paras. [0158]-[0162] teach a mapping type 1 with a mapping to a first symbol for channel estimation. Note steps f10 and f21 and f31:
)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Shin and Hwang to teach a one bit indication for a mapping type parameter. Each of Shin and Hwang are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Shin and Hwang to support the increased number of 5G reporting of estimated channel conditions to the base station and DMRS bundling in the time domain as taught in Shin, para. [0006].
Regarding claim 8, Hwang, as supported by provisional 62588290, in view of TS38.214 and further in view of Shin teaches A communication apparatus, (Hwang, device 100, Fig. 13, and para. [0167]) comprising
a processor (Hwang, Fig. 13, processor 110) and a memory (Hwang, memory 120), wherein the memory is configured to store computer executable instructions, (Hwang memory 120, para. [0266]) and the processor is configured to execute the computer executable instructions, to cause the apparatus to:
receive first indication information from a network device before a radio resource control (RRC) connection between the terminal device and the network device is established, wherein the first indication information indicates one of a plurality of pieces of predefined time domain resource information, (Hwang para. [0193] teaches that a UE receives a “field” in a DCI. See support in Hwang, provisional 62588290, page 4, lines 1-12. Hwang provisional page 14 starting on line 1 teaches “before the RRC configuration is established” time-domain RA is performed....“Parameters set (s) of Time-domain resource (a combination of slot index information, and/or starting combination of symbol index, and/or ending symbol index) may be configured through PBCH and/or RMSI and/or OSI, etc. More specifically, the time-domain resource allocation of the above method may be the case where scheduling DCI belongs to a common search space or a group common search space.” The provisional does not specifically identify the K, S and L parameters in the provisional,)
and
Hwang does NOT teach each piece of predefined time domain resource information comprises
the following parameters of first data: a parameter S, a parameter L, and a mapping type parameter of a data channel to transit the first data.
In the analogous art of 3GPP wireless communication standards, TS38.214 teaches: each piece of predefined time domain resource information comprises
a parameter S, a parameter L, and a mapping type parameter of a data channel to transmit the first data; (TS38.214 page 10, teaches
). As shown, the parameters L and S are each taught in TS38.214.
wherein the parameter S represents a start location of time domain symbols occupied by the first data, the parameter L represents a quantity of time domain symbols occupied by first data, and the mapping type parameter represents a mapping type of the data channel, wherein a value of the parameter L is predefined as two time domain symbols, four time domain symbols, or seven time domain symbols, (TS38.214 section 5.1.2.1 as shown above teaches that the table pdsch-symbolAllocation includes starting symbol S relative to the start of a slot, the number of consecutive symbols L counting form the symbol S where the slot allocated for the PDSCH is determined via an indexed row defining slot offset K0 , the start and length indicator SLIV )
and the combination of the S and L corresponds to one of the following:
;
Hwang teaches in provisional 62588290 page 13, Figure 5 and lines 1-6 that the “starting symbol index may be indicated to a UE through a scheduling DCI.” Figure 5 illustrates that the starting symbol can be a “0” and the length is “7”:
Examiner notes that the use of the word “or” negates requiring a teaching of “L” having 2 or 4 symbols.)
and wherein the mapping type parameter is a one-bit indication; (Hwang provisional 62588290, page 8, last two lines through page 9, lines 1-3, teaches that “an explicit bit may be used in DCI” for indicating an RBG size time-frequency resource allocation when there are multiple RBG sizes, and that the “DCI may be interpreted differently depending on the CCE index to which it is mapped.” and Examiner interprets “a mapping of the data channel” as control channel elements (“CCE”) within the broadest interpretation of the claims.
Hwang does NOT teach a specific “mapping type”.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Shin teaches a mapping type parameter as a one-bit indication. (Shin teaches in Fig. 4 step f100 as a “yes or no” diamond question which translates to a one-bit indication:
Shin further teaches in para. [0216]-[0220] that a reduction in the number of bits in configuring DMRS via DCI is possible via different methods including: “Alt-1: independent signaling with 1 or 2 bits of DCI: DMRS Type1: Possible to configure two DMRS port groups with 1 bit”. which goes beyond simply identifying a mapping type parameter as being type 1 or type 2.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Shin and Hwang to teach a one bit indication for a mapping type parameter. Each of Shin and Hwang are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Shin and Hwang to support the increased number of 5G reporting of estimated channel conditions to the base station and DMRS bundling in the time domain as taught in Shin, para. [0006].
and
determine a time domain resource of the first data according to the first indication information. (TS38.214, page 10 teaches that the UE is scheduled to receive PDSCH by a DCI for purposes of determining the time domain resource per the allocation table. Using the received table enables the UE to identify the start and length indicator value (SLIV) used for time domain resource allocation for PDSCH. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Hwang with TS38.214 to teach the parameters K, S, and L received in a DCI as taught in both Hwang and TS38.214. Each of Hwang and TS38.214 are in the field of wireless communication. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Hwang with TS38.214 in order to determine time domain resource allocation according to the 3GPP specifications for time domain resource allocations.
Regarding claim 10, Hwang does NOT teach The apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the value of the parameter L further indicates N time domain symbols, wherein N is an integer larger than 7.
However, in the analogous art of 3GPP wireless standards, TS38.214 teaches wherein the value of the parameter L further indicates N time domain symbols, wherein N is an integer larger than 7 (TS38.214 teaches that the pdsch-symbolAllocation table enables identifying a SLIV according to :
else
where
).
As shown, an L that is less than 14 is an integer larger than 7.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Hwang with TS38.214 to teach the parameters K, S, and L received in a DCI as taught in both Hwang and TS38.214. Each of Hwang and TS38.214 are in the field of wireless communication. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Hwang with TS38.214 in order to determine time domain resource allocation according to the 3GPP specifications for time domain resource allocations.
Regarding claim 11, Hwang combined with TS38.214 teaches The apparatus according to claim 8, wherein each piece of predefined time domain resource information comprises a parameter K, the parameter K represents a start slot location occupied by the first data, and a value of the parameter K is predefined as 0. (Hwang teaches in provisional 62588290 page 13, Figure 5 and lines 1-6 that the “starting symbol index may be indicated to a UE through a scheduling DCI.” Figure 5 illustrates that the starting symbol can be a “0” and the length is “7”:
Hwang does NOT identify that the starting symbol is “a value of the parameter K”.
However, in the analogous art of 3GPP wireless standards, TS38.214 page 10, line 6 teaches a value of the parameter K as follows: “The slot allocated for the PDSCH is determined by K0 of the indexed row n+K0,” Therefore a zero offset of the indexed row would identify that the slot is n and a start slot location occupied by the first data.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Hwang with TS38.214 to teach the parameters K, as taught in TS38.214. Each of Hwang and TS38.214 are in the field of wireless communication. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Hwang with TS38.214 in order to determine time domain resource allocation according to the 3GPP specifications for time domain resource allocations.
Regarding claim 12, Hwang does NOT teach The apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the mapping type parameter indicates type 1, and wherein the type 1 represents that a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) is mapped to a first symbol in a scheduled uplink data channel resource or a first symbol in a downlink data channel.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Shin teaches wherein the mapping type parameter indicates type 1, and wherein the type 1 represents that a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) is mapped to a first symbol in a scheduled uplink data channel resource or a first symbol in a downlink data channel. (Shin teaches in Fig. 6A and paras. [0158]-[0162] teach a mapping type 1 with a mapping to a first symbol for channel estimation. Note steps f10 and f21 and f31:
)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Shin and Hwang to teach a one bit indication for a mapping type parameter. Each of Shin and Hwang are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Shin and Hwang to support the increased number of 5G reporting of estimated channel conditions to the base station and DMRS bundling in the time domain as taught in Shin, para. [0006].
Regarding claim 15, Hwang, as supported by provisional 62588290, in view of TS38.214 and further in view of Shin teaches A communication apparatus (Device 100, Fig. 13), comprising a processor (Hwang, Fig. 13, processor 110) and a memory (Hwang, memory 120), wherein the memory is configured to store computer executable instructions, and the processor is configured to execute the computer executable instructions, to cause the apparatus to:
generate first indication information, (Hwang para. [0189] teaches that the base station determines “a multiplexing pattern of a synchronization signal block (SSB) and CORESET #0, different tables for time domain resource allocation may be used for PDSCH allocation.” See provisional 62588290 page 4, lines -12 for support) wherein the first indication information indicates one of a plurality of pieces of predefined time domain resource information, (Hwang provisional page 14 teaches “Parameters set (s) of Time-domain resource (a combination of slot index information, and/or starting combination of symbol index, and/or ending symbol index) may be configured through PBCH and/or RMSI and/or OSI, etc. More specifically, the time-domain resource allocation of the above method may be the case where scheduling DCI belongs to a common search space or a group common search space.”) and
Hwang does NOT teach each piece of predefined time domain resource information comprises the following parameters of first data: a parameter S, a parameter L, and a mapping type parameter of a data channel to transit the first data,
In the analogous art of 3GPP wireless standards, TS38.214 teaches each piece of predefined time domain resource information comprises at least one of the following parameters of first data: a parameter K, a parameter S, a parameter L, and a mapping type parameter of a data channel to transit the first data
TS38.214 page 10, teaches
).
wherein the parameter S represents a start location of time domain symbols occupied by the first data, the parameter L represents a quantity of time domain symbols occupied by first data, and the mapping type parameter represents a mapping type of the data channel (TS38.214 teaches that the table pdsch-symbolAllocation includes starting symbol S relative to the start of a slot, the number of consecutive symbols L counting form the symbol S where the slot allocated for the PDSCH is determined via an indexed row defining slot offset K0 , the start and length indicator SLIV )
wherein a value of the parameter L indicates two time domain symbols, four time domain symbols, or seven time domain symbols, (TS38.214 section 5.1.2.1 as shown above teaches that the table pdsch-symbolAllocation includes starting symbol S relative to the start of a slot, the number of consecutive symbols L counting form the symbol S where the slot allocated for the PDSCH is determined via an indexed row defining slot offset K0 , the start and length indicator SLIV )
and the combination of the S and L corresponds to one of the following:
;
(Hwang teaches in provisional 62588290 page 13, Figure 5 and lines 1-6 that the “starting symbol index may be indicated to a UE through a scheduling DCI.” Figure 5 illustrates that the starting symbol can be a “0” and the length is “7”:
Examiner notes that the use of the word “or” negates requiring a teaching of “L” having 2 or 4 symbols.)
and wherein the mapping type parameter is a one-bit indication; (Hwang provisional 62588290, page 8, last two lines through page 9, lines 1-3, teaches that “an explicit bit may be used in DCI” for indicating an RBG size time-frequency resource allocation when there are multiple RBG sizes, and that the “DCI may be interpreted differently depending on the CCE index to which it is mapped.” and Examiner interprets “a mapping of the data channel” as control channel elements (“CCE”) within the broadest interpretation of the claims.
Hwang does NOT teach a specific “mapping type”.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Shin teaches a mapping type parameter as a one-bit indication. (Shin teaches in Fig. 4 step f100 as a “yes or no” diamond question which translates to a one-bit indication:
Shin further teaches in para. [0216]-[0220] that a reduction in the number of bits in configuring DMRS via DCI is possible via different methods including: “Alt-1: independent signaling with 1 or 2 bits of DCI: DMRS Type1: Possible to configure two DMRS port groups with 1 bit”. which goes beyond simply identifying a mapping type parameter as being type 1 or type 2.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Shin and Hwang to teach a one bit indication for a mapping type parameter. Each of Shin and Hwang are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Shin and Hwang to support the increased number of 5G reporting of estimated channel conditions to the base station and DMRS bundling in the time domain as taught in Shin, para. [0006].
and
send the first indication information. (TS38.214, page 10 teaches that the UE is scheduled to receive PDSCH by a DCI for purposes of determining the time domain resource per the allocation table. Using the received table enables the UE to identify the start and length indicator value (SLIV) used for time domain resource allocation for PDSCH. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Hwang with TS38.214 to teach the parameters K, S, and L received in a DCI as taught in both Hwang and TS38.214. Each of Hwang and TS38.214 are in the field of wireless communication. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Hwang with TS38.214 in order to determine time domain resource allocation according to the 3GPP specifications for time domain resource allocations.
Regarding claim 17, Hwang does NOT teach The apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the value of the parameter L further indicates N time domain symbols, wherein N is an integer larger than 7. (However, in the analogous art of 3GPP wireless standards TS38.214 teaches wherein the value of the parameter L further indicates N time domain symbols, wherein N is an integer larger than 7 (TS38.214 teaches that the pdsch-symbolAllocation table enables identifying a SLIV according to :
else
where
).
As shown, an L that is less than 14 is an integer larger than 7.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Hwang with TS38.214 to teach the parameters K, S, and L received in a DCI as taught in both Hwang and TS38.214. Each of Hwang and TS38.214 are in the field of wireless communication. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Hwang with TS38.214 in order to determine time domain resource allocation according to the 3GPP specifications for time domain resource allocations.
Regarding claim 18, Hwang combined with TS38.214 teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein each piece of predefined time domain resource information comprises a parameter K, the parameter K represents a start slot location occupied by the first data, and the value of the parameter K is predefined as 0. (Hwang teaches in provisional 62588290 page 13, Figure 5 and lines 1-6 that the “starting symbol index may be indicated to a UE through a scheduling DCI.” Figure 5 illustrates that the starting symbol can be a “0” and the length is “7”:
Hwang does NOT identify that the starting symbol is “a value of the parameter K”.
However, in the analogous art of 3GPP wireless standards, TS38.214 page 10, line 6 teaches a value of the parameter K as follows: “The slot allocated for the PDSCH is determined by K0 of the indexed row n+K0,” Therefore a zero offset of the indexed row would identify that the slot is n and a start slot location occupied by the first data.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Hwang with TS38.214 to teach the parameters K, as taught in TS38.214. Each of Hwang and TS38.214 are in the field of wireless communication. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Hwang with TS38.214 in order to determine time domain resource allocation according to the 3GPP specifications for time domain resource allocations.
Regarding claim 19, Hwang does NOT teach The apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the mapping type parameter indicates type 1, and wherein the type 1 represents that a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) is mapped to a first symbol in a scheduled uplink data channel resource or a first symbol in a downlink data channel.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Shin teaches wherein the mapping type parameter indicates type 1, and wherein the type 1 represents that a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) is mapped to a first symbol in a scheduled uplink data channel resource or a first symbol in a downlink data channel. (Shin teaches in Fig. 6A and paras. [0158]-[0162] teach a mapping type 1 with a mapping to a first symbol for channel estimation. Note steps f10 and f21 and f31:
)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Shin and Hwang to teach a one bit indication for a mapping type parameter. Each of Shin and Hwang are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Shin and Hwang to support the increased number of 5G reporting of estimated channel conditions to the base station and DMRS bundling in the time domain as taught in Shin, para. [0006].
Conclusion
Pertinent Art of significance includes European Patent EP 3627919 B1 to Hai Tang filed 9/30/2017. Tang cites tables for resource scheduling both slot based and non-slot based (see, e.g. Table
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARGARET MARIE ANDERSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2412
/CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412