DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues on pages 5-7 that the claimed invention is distinguishable over Tarumoto because Tarumoto discloses applying the plurality of digital filters and then automatically selecting the best one, bypassing the instant Application’s feature of allowing the user to select a filter based on the graphical comparison.
Examiner agrees that Tarumoto’s automatic selection of a digital filter is not an obvious variant of the instant invention and has determined that claim 2, which positively recites this feature of allowing a user input filter selection is patentable over the prior art. However, claim 1, which merely recites displaying the results of the sequential application of filters would be obvious since it is merely displaying information it has already gathered. Should a skilled artisan wish to see the results of an algorithm, regardless of any subsequent action, it would be within their purview to enable a display if desired as evidenced by the newly cited prior art.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to. It appears the claim ends in both a comma and a period. It should end in only a period.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 5, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the amended limitation “comparing a result of applying a default digital filter to an original signal and a result of sequentially applying the plurality of digital filters to the original signal based on a standard deviation of an amplitude of a waveform included in a weighing signal that is obtained by applying each of the plurality of digital filters to the original signal, the original signal being output when the conveyance unit is in operation and the article is not conveyed by the conveyance unit, a result of sequentially applying the plurality of digital filters to the original signal” appears to repeat the limitation in italics. It is unclear if this is intentional and is somehow further limiting the amending limitation or if it is a typographical error. Since it is merely repeating a previous limitation, Examiner is applying prior art as if it is a redundant limitation. If it is intended to impart some further meaningful limitation on the previous part of the limitation, Applicant is asked to elucidate its intended interpretation in the next set of remarks.
Claims 2, 5, and 8 inherit the deficiencies of claim 1 and are likewise rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tarumoto et al. (EP 3 882 582; “Tarumoto”, of record) in view of Higa et al. (US 2019/0280673; “Higa”).
Regarding claim 1, Tarumoto discloses in at least figures 1-3 a weighing apparatus (1) (¶ [0025]) comprising a conveyance unit (2) configured to convey an article (P) ¶ [0026]), a weighing unit (4) configured to weigh weight of the article (P) conveyed by the conveyance unit (2) (¶ [0027]), a processing unit (8) configured to process an original signal related to weighing by a plurality of digital filters set in advance, the original signal being output from the weighing unit (4) (¶¶ [0034]-[0037]), and a display unit (7) configured to display information output from the processing unit (8) (¶ [0031]), wherein the processing unit (8) is configured to generate evaluation information of the plurality of digital filters by comparing a result of applying a default digital filter to an original signal and a result of sequentially applying the plurality of digital filters to the original signal based on standard deviation of an amplitude of a waveform included in a weighing signal that is obtained by applying each of the plurality of digital filters to the original signa (¶¶ [0038]-[0046]), the original signal being output when the conveyance unit (2) is in operation and the article (P) is not conveyed by the conveyance unit (2) (¶¶ [0038]-[0040]) a result of sequentially applying the plurality of digital filters to the original signal (¶¶[0038]-[0040]).
Tarumoto is silent to displaying a list of graphs.
Higa teaches a digital filter setting device wherein the display unit is configured to display evaluation information as a list of graphs to allow a user to compare the plurality of digital filters (¶¶ [0067]-[0070], see figures 6-8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to configure Tarumoto’s display to display the results of the digital filter applications as a list of graphs as taught by Higa for the purpose of allowing a user to visualize the effects of the different filters on the signals as a check on the automated process and to include in reports if desired.
Regarding claim 5, Tarumoto and Hiba disclose all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends.
Hiba further teaches the display unit is configured to distinguish and display the evaluation information for each filter characteristic (¶¶ [0067]-[0070], see figures 6-8).
The reasons and motivation for combining are the same as recited in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 8, Tarumoto discloses the default digital filter is a digital filter applied to a previous inspection (¶¶ [0037], [0046]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: While Higa further teaches a user input to allow a user to make a selection of the filter, Applicant’s argument that Tarumoto’s inventive concept is the automatic selection of a filter without user input selection is persuasive and would change the principle of operation of Tarumoto’s apparatus.
Conclusion
/NATALIE HULS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2863