DETAILED ACTION
This final office action is responsive to the amendment filed on January 24, 2026. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 7, and 14 are independent.
Claim rejections of claims 1-20 under 35 USC §101 are withdrawn in light of applicant’s arguments. See section Response to Arguments below.
Claim rejections of claims 1-20 under 35 USC §103 are maintained. See sections Claim Rejections 35 USC §103 and Response to Arguments below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, & 6, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiyama, M. et al. “Covariate Shift Adaptation by Importance Weighted Cross Validation.” Available at https://dl.acm.org/doi/10.5555/1314498.1390324#:~:text=Under%20the%20covariate%20shift%2C%20standard,even%20under%20the%20covariate%20shift on 1 December 2007 (hereafter, SUGIYAMA), and further in view of Singh, H. “Everything you Need to Know About Hardware Requirements for Machine Learning.” Available at https://www.einfochips.com/blog/everything-you-need-to-know-about-hardware-requirements-for-machine-learning/ on 24 June 2019 (hereafter, SINGH), and further in view of Dudley, J. et al. “A Review of User Interface Design for Interactive Machine Learning.” Available at https://dl.acm.org/doi/10.1145/3185517 on 13 June 2018 (hereafter, DUDLEY)
Regarding claim 1, SUGIYAMA teaches “receive… for the machine learning model evaluation system, a request for a performance metric”:
([Page 988, Equation 4] “
In the above equation, xi and yi are labeled source examples. We see the Ptest(xi) and Ptrain(xi) being used in correlation as well. The equation is used to calculate an estimate of model performance (risk / expected loss) on an unlabeled target distribution, which is equivalent to receiving a request for a performance metric for a machine learning model evaluation system.”)
Further, SUGIYAMA teaches “obtain a source dataset with corresponding ground truth labels for items in the source dataset”:
([Pages 986-987, 2.1 Supervised Learning under Covariate Shift] “…Let
be the training samples, where
is an i.i.d. training input point following a probability distribution Ptrain (x) and
is a corresponding training output value following a conditional probability distribution P(y|x). P(y|x) may be regarded as the sum of true output f(x) and noise.”) This citation along with the remainder of the cited segment explains mathematical processes where {xi}
represents the source dataset, the collection of input feature vectors drawn from the known distribution. In the context of the claim, the “source dataset” is simply the labeled datset used to compute importance-weighted estimates for the target. Further, each xi has an associated yi that is explicitly observed. These yi values are the ground-truth labels referenced in the claim. They are used in computing the weighted losses and he confusion estimates. In other words, the source dataset is “obtained” by having the training data available with observed labels, which correlates to the limitation as claimed.
Further, SUGIYAMA teaches “determine respective unbiased estimates for false positives, false negatives, true positives, and true negatives for performance of a machine learning model applied to a target dataset without corresponding ground truth labels according to importance sampling weights applied to the predictions of the machine learning model made given the items in the source dataset with respect to corresponding ground truth labels for the items in the source dataset”:
([Pages 989-990, 3. Importance Weighted Cross Validation] “To compensate for the effect of the covariate shift in the CV procedure, we propose the following importance weighted CV (IWCV):
That is, the validation error in the CV procedure is weighted according to the importance.
The following lemma shows that LOOIWCV gives an almost unbiased estimate of the risk even under the covariate shift…
…the simple variant of LOOCV called LOOIWCV provides an unbiased estimate of the risk with n - 1 samples even under the covariate shift…”)
The above cited text, along with the remainder of the cited segment of the reference teaches the limitation as claimed, especially when considered in view of the previous section 2 as well. f(xi) is a prediction of the model for source input xi. Ptest(xi) / Ptrain(xi) is an importance weight.
(f(xi),yi) is the loss function (0-1 loss for classification / mis-classification). 0-1 loss can be decomposed into true positive, false positive, true negative, false negative contributions by expressing the misclassification indicator as the sum of indicator functions over those four outcome types, because the importance-weighted expectation of any loss function, including the 0-1 loss, provides an unbiased estimate of the target-domain risk, as shown in the equations at [Pages 989-990, Section 3], and for each example, you can count whether it is a correct or incorrect prediction for each class. The importance weight ensures that these counts are unbiased with respect to the target distribution. By weighting the losses of the training examples according to the density ratio between target and source distributions, we can obtain an unbiased estimate of the expected loss of f on the target distribution.
Further, SUGIYAMA teaches “determine, based on two or more of the respective unbiased estimates, a performance metric for the machine learning model on the target dataset without corresponding ground truth labels”:
([Pages 989-990, 3. Importance Weighted Cross Validation] “To compensate for the effect of the covariate shift in the CV procedure, we propose the following importance weighted CV (IWCV):
That is, the validation error in the CV procedure is weighted according to the importance.
The following lemma shows that LOOIWCV gives an almost unbiased estimate of the risk even under the covariate shift…
…the simple variant of LOOCV called LOOIWCV provides an unbiased estimate of the risk with n - 1 samples even under the covariate shift…”)
The above cited text, along with the remainder of the cited segment of the reference teaches the limitation as claimed, especially when considered in view of the previous section 2 as well. f(xi) is a prediction of the model for source input xi. Ptest(xi) / Ptrain(xi) is an importance weight.
(f(xi),yi) is the loss function (0-1 loss for classification / mis-classification). 0-1 loss can be decomposed into true positive, false positive, true negative, false negative contributions, and for each example, you can count whether it is a correct or incorrect prediction for each class. The importance weight ensures that these counts are unbiased with respect to the target distribution. By weighting the losses of the training examples according to the density ratio between target and source distributions, we can obtain an unbiased estimate of the expected loss of f on the target distribution.
Further, SUGIYAMA teaches “return, via the interface, the performance metric for the machine learning model on the target dataset”:
([Page 992, Figure 1] “
In the above figure, we see the calculated performance metrics for the machine learning model on the target dataset, as previously cited, being displayed after being returned, by the previously cited functions, on an interface.”)
SUGIYAMA fails to explicitly teach “A system, comprising: at least one processor; a memory, comprising program instructions that when executed by the at least one processor cause the at least one processor” and the request being received “…via an interface…”.
However, analogous art, SINGH, does teach “A system, comprising: at least one processor; a memory, comprising program instructions that when executed by the at least one processor cause the at least one processor”:
([Hardware requirements for machine learning] “The first thing you should determine is what kind of resource does your task requires. Let’s have a look how different tasks will have different hardware requirements:
If your tasks are small and can fit in a complex sequential processing, you don’t need a big system. You could even skip the GPUs altogether. A CPU such as i7–7500U can train an average of ~115 examples/second. So, if you are planning to work on other ML areas or algorithms, a GPU is not necessary.
If your task is a bit intensive, and has a manageable data, a reasonably powerful GPU would be a better choice for you. A laptop with a dedicated graphics card of high end should do the work. There are a few high end (and expectedly heavy) laptops like Nvidia GTX 1080 (8 GB VRAM), which can train an average of ~14k examples/second. In addition, you can build your own PC with a reasonable CPU and a powerful GPU, but keep in mind that the CPU must not bottleneck the GPU. For instance, an i7-7500U will work flawlessly with a GTX 1080 GPU…”) This section describes a need for processing power of some degree (CPU or GPU) for machine learning tasks, giving multiple example systems, all with at least one processor.
And further:
([Memory and Storage] “Machine learning models are getting larger, requiring more memory and storage capacity. High-bandwidth memory (HBM) and solid-state drives (SSDs) are becoming critical for training and running these models efficiently.”) This citation explicitly shows a requirement for the system to contain a memory.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the base reference of SUGIYAMA with the teachings of SINGH because SUGIYAMA teaches of a machine learning model evaluation system methodology, while SINGH teaches of the necessary hardware requirements of using machine learning models.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because without meeting hardware requirements for any given computer application, the computer application will not function.
SUGIYAMA in view of SINGH still fails to explicitly teach the request being received “…via an interface…”. However, analogous, art, DUDLEY, does teach this:
([Abstract] “Interactive Machine Learning (IML) seeks to complement human perception and intelligence by tightly integrating these strengths with the computational power and speed of computers. The interactive process is designed to involve input from the user (receiving a request from the user, via the interface) but does not require the background knowledge or experience that might be necessary to work with more traditional machine learning techniques… User interface design is fundamental to the success of this approach”) This citation shows that the purpose of DUDLEY is to investigate the use of user interfaces for machine learning processes, in order to make their use more accessible. It explicitly receives input from the user to activate and use the machine learning processes, which correlates to a request being received from an interface.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the base reference of SUGIYAMA in view of SINGH with the teachings of DUDLEY because SUGIYAMA in view of SINGH teaches a system of determining and returning the performance of machine learning models via performance metrics, while DUDLEY teaches methods to streamline the use of machine learning processes using a user interface.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because, as DUDLEY points out in its abstract, “We propose and describe a structural and behavioural model of a generalised IML (Interactive Machine Learning) system and identify solution principles for building effective interfaces for IML.”
Regarding claim 2, SUGIYAMA in view of SINGH & DUDLEY teaches the limitations of claim 1. Further, SUGIYAMA teaches “wherein the machine learning model evaluation system is further configured to: train a target density estimator for the target dataset to predict respective probabilities for items in the target dataset; train a source density estimator for the source dataset to predict respective probabilities for the items in the source dataset; and determine the importance sampling weights applied to the predictions of the machine learning model using the target density estimator and the source density estimator”:
([Pages 989-990, 3. Importance Weighted Cross Validation] “To compensate for the effect of the covariate shift in the CV procedure, we propose the following importance weighted CV (IWCV):
That is, the validation error in the CV procedure is weighted according to the importance.
The following lemma shows that LOOIWCV gives an almost unbiased estimate of the risk even under the covariate shift…
…the simple variant of LOOCV called LOOIWCV provides an unbiased estimate of the risk with n - 1 samples even under the covariate shift…”)
The above cited text, along with the remainder of the cited segment of the reference teaches the limitation as claimed, especially when considered in view of the previous section 2 as well. f(xi) is a prediction of the model for source input xi. Ptest(xi) / Ptrain(xi) is an importance weight.
(f(xi),yi) is the loss function (0-1 loss for classification / mis-classification). 0-1 loss can be decomposed into true positive, false positive, true negative, false negative contributions by expressing the misclassification indicator as the sum of indicator functions over those four outcome types, because the importance-weighted expectation of any loss function, including the 0-1 loss, provides an unbiased estimate of the target-domain risk, as shown in the equations at [Pages 989-990, Section 3], and for each example, you can count whether it is a correct or incorrect prediction for each class. The importance weight ensures that these counts are unbiased with respect to the target distribution. By weighting the losses of the training examples according to the density ratio between target and source distributions, we can obtain an unbiased estimate of the expected loss of f on the target distribution. The cited “importance weights” correlate to the claimed “importance sampling weights”, which are applied to the predictions in the equations above using the estimators.
And further:
([Page 992, Paragraph 2] “We also carried out the same simulation under unknown training and test densities (target and source density); they are estimated by maximum likelihood fitting of a single Gaussian model or a Gaussian kernel density estimator (simultaneously the target density estimator and the source density estimator) with variance determined by Silverman’s rule-of-thumb bandwidth selection rule... For estimating the test input density, we draw 100 unlabeled samples following Ptest(x). The simulation results had very similar trends to the case with known densities (therefore we omit the detail), although the error gets slightly larger. This implies that, for this toy regression problem, estimating the densities from data does not significantly degrade the quality of learning.”) The training and test densities each being estimated using the Gaussian kernel density estimator, according to Ptest(x) and Ptrain(x) shows the estimation of target and source density using a density estimator.
Regarding claim 4, SUGIYAMA in view of SINGH & DUDLEY teaches the limitations of claim 1. Further, SUGIYAMA teaches “wherein the performance metric for the machine learning model on the target dataset is a non-linear performance metric”:
([Page 988, Equation 4] “
In the above equation, xi and yi are labeled source examples. We see the Ptest(xi) and Ptrain(xi) being used in correlation as well. The equation is used to calculate an estimate of model performance (risk / expected loss) on an unlabeled target distribution, which is equivalent to receiving a request for a performance metric for a machine learning model evaluation system.”)
And further:
([Page 986, Paragraph 3] “Model selection is one of the key ingredients in machine learning. However, under the covariate shift, a standard model selection technique such as cross validation (CV) (Stone, 1974; Wahba, 1990) does not work as desired; more specifically, the unbiasedness that guarantees the accuracy of CV does not hold under the covariate shift anymore. To cope with this problem, we propose a novel variant of CV called importance weighted CV (IWCV)… existing methods have a number of limitations, for example, in the loss function, parameter learning method, and model. In particular, the existing methods cannot be applied to classification scenarios. On the other hand, the proposed IWCV overcomes these limitations: it allows for any loss function, parameter learning method, and model;”) This citation shows that the performance metric taught by SUGIYAMA, based on a loss function, can be either non-linear or linear, based on the type of loss function/model used. The above citation, as used previously, shows the performance metric that is returned which is inherently dependent on whatever model is being used, and its loss function. This citations shows that the model being used could be any model with any loss function, which would encompass both non-linear and linear functions, resulting in the above cited performance metric being either non-linear or linear, just like the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 6, SUGIYAMA in view of SINGH & DUDLEY teaches the limitations of claim 1. Further, SUGIYAMA teaches “wherein the performance metric for the machine learning model on the target dataset is a fairness metric”:
([Pages 989-990, 3. Importance Weighted Cross Validation] “To compensate for the effect of the covariate shift in the CV procedure, we propose the following importance weighted CV (IWCV):
That is, the validation error in the CV procedure is weighted according to the importance.
The following lemma shows that LOOIWCV gives an almost unbiased estimate of the risk even under the covariate shift…
…the simple variant of LOOCV called LOOIWCV provides an unbiased estimate of the risk with n - 1 samples even under the covariate shift…”) An unbiased estimate for the performance metric is a fair metric.
The above cited text, along with the remainder of the cited segment of the reference teaches the limitation as claimed, especially when considered in view of the previous section 2 as well. f(xi) is a prediction of the model for source input xi. Ptest(xi) / Ptrain(xi) is an importance weight.
(f(xi),yi) is the loss function (0-1 loss for classification / mis-classification). 0-1 loss can be decomposed into true positive, false positive, true negative, false negative contributions, and for each example, you can count whether it is a correct or incorrect prediction for each class. The importance weight ensures that these counts are unbiased with respect to the target distribution. By weighting the losses of the training examples according to the density ratio between target and source distributions, we can obtain an unbiased estimate of the expected loss of f on the target distribution. The performance metric being used to weight it to be “unbiased” makes the performance metrics here “fair”.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUGIYAMA in view of SINGH and DUDLEY, as applied to claims above, and further in view of Science Direct, “Simulated Data” Available online at https://www.sciencedirect.com/topics/computer-science/simulated-data on 30 November 2018 (hereafter, SCIENCEDIRECT).
Regarding claim 3, SUGIYAMA in view of SINGH & DUDLEY teaches the limitations of claim 1. SUGIYAMA in view of SINGH & DUDLEY fails to explicitly teach “wherein the target dataset is a simulated dataset.” However, analogous art, SCIENCEDIRECT, does teach this:
([1. Introduction to Simulated Data in Computer Science] “Simulated data are microdata produced artificially from one or more statistical or computational models, rather than collected from real-world observations… Researchers frequently opt to create and use custom-generated simulated datasets tailored to the specific requirements of their experiments… where public datasets may not cover all scenarios. Simulated data offer advantages including ease of generation, limitless supply, pre-annotation, and reduced cost, and can circumvent ethical concerns and practical issues such as privacy and security. The availability of simulated data is especially important when real-world data are inaccessible due to confidentiality, privacy, or security issues, motivating the design of benchmark data for algorithm evaluation.”)
And further:
([3. Applications of Simulated Data in Computer Science] “Simulated data are comparatively easier to generate, inexhaustible, pre-annotated, and less expensive than real data, while also enabling training on scenarios impractical or impossible to collect in the real world. Synthetic data and simulators catalyze richer representations and more sophisticated forms of learning, including multimodal, continual, and embodied learning, and are instrumental in the study of biological systems by enabling the training and testing of deep neural networks (DNNs). Progress in computer graphics tools and 3D assets has facilitated the synthesis of training data for tasks such as object detection, tracking, viewpoint estimation, semantic segmentation, robot manipulation, pose estimation, gaze estimation, and activity recognition, often improving DNN performance when combined with real data. Simulated data are also used to generate optimized stimuli for activating specific neural populations and can provide unique opportunities for direct comparisons of behavior and neural activation in artificial neural networks, humans, and nonhuman primates in simulated environments.”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the base reference of SUGIYAMA in view of SINGH and DUDLEY with the teachings of SCIENCEDIRECT because, as pointed out by SUGIYAMA in ([Page 986, Paragraph 3] the methods can be used with any model, and as pointed out by SCIENCEDIRECT, the use of simulated data with machine learning models is well-known in the art.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because, as pointed out by SCIENCEDIRECT above, there are numerous advantages to the use of synthetic data including “enabling training on scenarios impractical or impossible to collect in the real world”, “enabling the training and testing of deep neural networks (DNNs)”, and “often improving DNN performance when combined with real data. Simulated data are also used to generate optimized stimuli for activating specific neural populations and can provide unique opportunities for direct comparisons of behavior and neural activation in artificial neural networks”
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUGIYAMA in view of SINGH and DUDLEY, as applied to claims above, and further in view of Sealpath, “Advantages of Data Classification boosted by AI and Machine Learning” Available online at https://www.sealpath.com/blog/advantages-data-classification-ia-ml/ on 26 October 2022 (hereafter, SEALPATH).
Regarding claim 5, SUGIYAMA in view of SINGH & DUDLEY teaches the limitations of claim 1. Further, SUGIYAMA in view of SINGH & DUDLEY fails to explicitly teach “wherein the machine learning model is a document classifier.” However, analogous art, SEALPATH, does teach this:
([IA and Machine Learning applied to Information Classification, Paragraphs 1-2] “Artificial Intelligence and machine learning techniques are of great value, helping to improve technology by providing security analysts with a faster and more efficient way of evaluating potential threats. Thanks to their application, they allow us to detect strange patterns or unusual user behaviour to help us anticipate attacks against our information.
Thanks to machine learning algorithms, this advanced data classification technology can be applied, raising the accuracy level regarding the characteristics that make the specific contents of a file confidential. The models, taking advantage of machine learning, are previously trained for several years using data that contain personal information, medical, financial and other data. This previous learning helps predict the sensitivity level of previously non-labelled data.”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the base reference of SUGIYAMA in view of SINGH and DUDLEY with the teachings of SEALPATH because, as pointed out by SUGIYAMA in ([Page 986, Paragraph 3] the methods can be used with any model, and as pointed out by SEALPATH, the use of machine learning models as data classification models is well-known in the art.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because, as pointed out by SEALPATH, “this advanced data classification technology can be applied, raising the accuracy level regarding the characteristics that make the specific contents of a file confidential.”
Claims 7-10, & 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUGIYAMA, and further in view of SINGH.
Regarding claim 7, SUGIYAMA teaches “obtaining a source dataset with corresponding ground truth labels for items in the source dataset”:
([Pages 986-987, 2.1 Supervised Learning under Covariate Shift] “…Let
be the training samples, where
is an i.i.d. training input point following a probability distribution Ptrain (x) and
is a corresponding training output value following a conditional probability distribution P(y|x). P(y|x) may be regarded as the sum of true output f(x) and noise.”) This citation along with the remainder of the cited segment explains mathematical processes where {xi}
represents the source dataset, the collection of input feature vectors drawn from the known distribution. In the context of the claim, the “source dataset” is simply the labeled datset used to compute importance-weighted estimates for the target. Further, each xi has an associated yi that is explicitly observed. These yi values are the ground-truth labels referenced in the claim. They are used in computing the weighted losses and he confusion estimates. In other words, the source dataset is “obtained” by having the training data available with observed labels, which correlates to the limitation as claimed.
Further, SUGIYAMA teaches “determining respective unbiased estimates for false positives, false negatives, true positives, and true negatives for performance of a machine learning model applied to a target dataset without corresponding ground truth labels according to importance sampling weights applied to the predictions of the machine learning model made given the items in the source dataset with respect to corresponding ground truth labels for the items in the source dataset”:
([Pages 989-990, 3. Importance Weighted Cross Validation] “To compensate for the effect of the covariate shift in the CV procedure, we propose the following importance weighted CV (IWCV):
That is, the validation error in the CV procedure is weighted according to the importance.
The following lemma shows that LOOIWCV gives an almost unbiased estimate of the risk even under the covariate shift…
…the simple variant of LOOCV called LOOIWCV provides an unbiased estimate of the risk with n - 1 samples even under the covariate shift…”)
The above cited text, along with the remainder of the cited segment of the reference teaches the limitation as claimed, especially when considered in view of the previous section 2 as well. f(xi) is a prediction of the model for source input xi. Ptest(xi) / Ptrain(xi) is an importance weight.
(f(xi),yi) is the loss function (0-1 loss for classification / mis-classification). 0-1 loss can be decomposed into true positive, false positive, true negative, false negative contributions by expressing the misclassification indicator as the sum of indicator functions over those four outcome types, because the importance-weighted expectation of any loss function, including the 0-1 loss, provides an unbiased estimate of the target-domain risk, as shown in the equations at [Pages 989-990, Section 3], and for each example, you can count whether it is a correct or incorrect prediction for each class. The importance weight ensures that these counts are unbiased with respect to the target distribution. By weighting the losses of the training examples according to the density ratio between target and source distributions, we can obtain an unbiased estimate of the expected loss of f on the target distribution.
Further, SUGIYAMA teaches “determining, based on two or more of the respective unbiased estimates, a performance metric for the machine learning model on the target dataset without corresponding ground truth labels”:
([Pages 989-990, 3. Importance Weighted Cross Validation] “To compensate for the effect of the covariate shift in the CV procedure, we propose the following importance weighted CV (IWCV):
That is, the validation error in the CV procedure is weighted according to the importance.
The following lemma shows that LOOIWCV gives an almost unbiased estimate of the risk even under the covariate shift…
…the simple variant of LOOCV called LOOIWCV provides an unbiased estimate of the risk with n - 1 samples even under the covariate shift…”)
The above cited text, along with the remainder of the cited segment of the reference teaches the limitation as claimed, especially when considered in view of the previous section 2 as well. f(xi) is a prediction of the model for source input xi. Ptest(xi) / Ptrain(xi) is an importance weight.
(f(xi),yi) is the loss function (0-1 loss for classification / mis-classification). 0-1 loss can be decomposed into true positive, false positive, true negative, false negative contributions, and for each example, you can count whether it is a correct or incorrect prediction for each class. The importance weight ensures that these counts are unbiased with respect to the target distribution. By weighting the losses of the training examples according to the density ratio between target and source distributions, we can obtain an unbiased estimate of the expected loss of f on the target distribution.
Further, SUGIYAMA teaches “providing, via an interface, the performance metric for the machine learning model on the target dataset”:
([Page 992, Figure 1] “
In the above figure, we see the calculated performance metrics for the machine learning model on the target dataset, as previously cited, being displayed after being returned, by the previously cited functions, on an interface.”)
SUGIYAMA fails to explicitly teach “performing, by one or more computing devices:”. However, analogous art, SINGH, does teach this:
([Hardware requirements for machine learning] “The first thing you should determine is what kind of resource does your task requires. Let’s have a look how different tasks will have different hardware requirements:
If your tasks are small and can fit in a complex sequential processing, you don’t need a big system. You could even skip the GPUs altogether. A CPU such as i7–7500U can train an average of ~115 examples/second. So, if you are planning to work on other ML areas or algorithms, a GPU is not necessary.
If your task is a bit intensive, and has a manageable data, a reasonably powerful GPU would be a better choice for you. A laptop with a dedicated graphics card of high end should do the work. There are a few high end (and expectedly heavy) laptops like Nvidia GTX 1080 (8 GB VRAM), which can train an average of ~14k examples/second. In addition, you can build your own PC with a reasonable CPU and a powerful GPU, but keep in mind that the CPU must not bottleneck the GPU. For instance, an i7-7500U will work flawlessly with a GTX 1080 GPU…”) This section describes a need for processing power of some degree (CPU or GPU) for machine learning tasks, giving multiple example systems, all with at least one processor.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the base reference of SUGIYAMA with the teachings of SINGH because SUGIYAMA teaches of a machine learning model evaluation system methodology, while SINGH teaches of the necessary hardware requirements of using machine learning models.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because without meeting hardware requirements for any given computer application, the computer application will not function.
Regarding claim 8, SUGIYAMA in view of SINGH teaches the limitations of claim 7. Further, SUGIYAMA teaches “training a target density estimator for the target dataset to predict respective probabilities for items in the target dataset; training a source density estimator for the source dataset to predict respective probabilities for the items in the source dataset; and determining the importance sampling weights applied to the predictions of the machine learning model using the target density estimator and the source density estimator”:
([Pages 989-990, 3. Importance Weighted Cross Validation] “To compensate for the effect of the covariate shift in the CV procedure, we propose the following importance weighted CV (IWCV):
That is, the validation error in the CV procedure is weighted according to the importance.
The following lemma shows that LOOIWCV gives an almost unbiased estimate of the risk even under the covariate shift…
…the simple variant of LOOCV called LOOIWCV provides an unbiased estimate of the risk with n - 1 samples even under the covariate shift…”)
The above cited text, along with the remainder of the cited segment of the reference teaches the limitation as claimed, especially when considered in view of the previous section 2 as well. f(xi) is a prediction of the model for source input xi. Ptest(xi) / Ptrain(xi) is an importance weight.
(f(xi),yi) is the loss function (0-1 loss for classification / mis-classification). 0-1 loss can be decomposed into true positive, false positive, true negative, false negative contributions by expressing the misclassification indicator as the sum of indicator functions over those four outcome types, because the importance-weighted expectation of any loss function, including the 0-1 loss, provides an unbiased estimate of the target-domain risk, as shown in the equations at [Pages 989-990, Section 3], and for each example, you can count whether it is a correct or incorrect prediction for each class. The importance weight ensures that these counts are unbiased with respect to the target distribution. By weighting the losses of the training examples according to the density ratio between target and source distributions, we can obtain an unbiased estimate of the expected loss of f on the target distribution. The cited “importance weights” correlate to the claimed “importance sampling weights”, which are applied to the predictions in the equations above using the estimators.
And further:
([Page 992, Paragraph 2] “We also carried out the same simulation under unknown training and test densities (target and source density); they are estimated by maximum likelihood fitting of a single Gaussian model or a Gaussian kernel density estimator (simultaneously the target density estimator and the source density estimator) with variance determined by Silverman’s rule-of-thumb bandwidth selection rule... For estimating the test input density, we draw 100 unlabeled samples following Ptest(x). The simulation results had very similar trends to the case with known densities (therefore we omit the detail), although the error gets slightly larger. This implies that, for this toy regression problem, estimating the densities from data does not significantly degrade the quality of learning.”) The training and test densities each being estimated using the Gaussian kernel density estimator, according to Ptest(x) and Ptrain(x) shows the estimation of target and source density using a density estimator.
Regarding claim 9, SUGIYAMA in view of SINGH teaches the limitations of claim 7. Further, SUGIYAMA teaches “wherein the performance metric for the machine learning model on the target dataset is a non-linear performance metric”:
([Page 988, Equation 4] “
In the above equation, xi and yi are labeled source examples. We see the Ptest(xi) and Ptrain(xi) being used in correlation as well. The equation is used to calculate an estimate of model performance (risk / expected loss) on an unlabeled target distribution, which is equivalent to receiving a request for a performance metric for a machine learning model evaluation system.”)
And further:
([Page 986, Paragraph 3] “Model selection is one of the key ingredients in machine learning. However, under the covariate shift, a standard model selection technique such as cross validation (CV) (Stone, 1974; Wahba, 1990) does not work as desired; more specifically, the unbiasedness that guarantees the accuracy of CV does not hold under the covariate shift anymore. To cope with this problem, we propose a novel variant of CV called importance weighted CV (IWCV)… existing methods have a number of limitations, for example, in the loss function, parameter learning method, and model. In particular, the existing methods cannot be applied to classification scenarios. On the other hand, the proposed IWCV overcomes these limitations: it allows for any loss function, parameter learning method, and model;”) This citation shows that the performance metric taught by SUGIYAMA, based on a loss function, can be either non-linear or linear, based on the type of loss function/model used. The above citation, as used previously, shows the performance metric that is returned which is inherently dependent on whatever model is being used, and its loss function. This citations shows that the model being used could be any model with any loss function, which would encompass both non-linear and linear functions, resulting in the above cited performance metric being either non-linear or linear, just like the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 10, SUGIYAMA in view of SINGH teaches the limitations of claim 7. Further, SUGIYAMA teaches “wherein the performance metric for the machine learning model on the target dataset is a fairness metric”:
([Pages 989-990, 3. Importance Weighted Cross Validation] “To compensate for the effect of the covariate shift in the CV procedure, we propose the following importance weighted CV (IWCV):
That is, the validation error in the CV procedure is weighted according to the importance.
The following lemma shows that LOOIWCV gives an almost unbiased estimate of the risk even under the covariate shift…
…the simple variant of LOOCV called LOOIWCV provides an unbiased estimate of the risk with n - 1 samples even under the covariate shift…”) An unbiased estimate for the performance metric is a fair metric.
The above cited text, along with the remainder of the cited segment of the reference teaches the limitation as claimed, especially when considered in view of the previous section 2 as well. f(xi) is a prediction of the model for source input xi. Ptest(xi) / Ptrain(xi) is an importance weight.
(f(xi),yi) is the loss function (0-1 loss for classification / mis-classification). 0-1 loss can be decomposed into true positive, false positive, true negative, false negative contributions, and for each example, you can count whether it is a correct or incorrect prediction for each class. The importance weight ensures that these counts are unbiased with respect to the target distribution. By weighting the losses of the training examples according to the density ratio between target and source distributions, we can obtain an unbiased estimate of the expected loss of f on the target distribution. The performance metric being used to weight it to be “unbiased” makes the performance metrics here “fair”.
Regarding claim 14, SUGIYAMA teaches “obtaining a source dataset with corresponding ground truth labels for items in the source dataset”:
([Pages 986-987, 2.1 Supervised Learning under Covariate Shift] “…Let
be the training samples, where
is an i.i.d. training input point following a probability distribution Ptrain (x) and
is a corresponding training output value following a conditional probability distribution P(y|x). P(y|x) may be regarded as the sum of true output f(x) and noise.”) This citation along with the remainder of the cited segment explains mathematical processes where {xi}
represents the source dataset, the collection of input feature vectors drawn from the known distribution. In the context of the claim, the “source dataset” is simply the labeled datset used to compute importance-weighted estimates for the target. Further, each xi has an associated yi that is explicitly observed. These yi values are the ground-truth labels referenced in the claim. They are used in computing the weighted losses and he confusion estimates. In other words, the source dataset is “obtained” by having the training data available with observed labels, which correlates to the limitation as claimed.
Further, SUGIYAMA teaches “determining respective unbiased estimates for false positives, false negatives, true positives, and true negatives for performance of a machine learning model applied to a target dataset without corresponding ground truth labels according to importance sampling weights applied to the predictions of the machine learning model made given the items in the source dataset with respect to corresponding ground truth labels for the items in the source dataset”:
([Pages 989-990, 3. Importance Weighted Cross Validation] “To compensate for the effect of the covariate shift in the CV procedure, we propose the following importance weighted CV (IWCV):
That is, the validation error in the CV procedure is weighted according to the importance.
The following lemma shows that LOOIWCV gives an almost unbiased estimate of the risk even under the covariate shift…
…the simple variant of LOOCV called LOOIWCV provides an unbiased estimate of the risk with n - 1 samples even under the covariate shift…”)
The above cited text, along with the remainder of the cited segment of the reference teaches the limitation as claimed, especially when considered in view of the previous section 2 as well. f(xi) is a prediction of the model for source input xi. Ptest(xi) / Ptrain(xi) is an importance weight.
(f(xi),yi) is the loss function (0-1 loss for classification / mis-classification). 0-1 loss can be decomposed into true positive, false positive, true negative, false negative contributions by expressing the misclassification indicator as the sum of indicator functions over those four outcome types, because the importance-weighted expectation of any loss function, including the 0-1 loss, provides an unbiased estimate of the target-domain risk, as shown in the equations at [Pages 989-990, Section 3], and for each example, you can count whether it is a correct or incorrect prediction for each class. The importance weight ensures that these counts are unbiased with respect to the target distribution. By weighting the losses of the training examples according to the density ratio between target and source distributions, we can obtain an unbiased estimate of the expected loss of f on the target distribution.
Further, SUGIYAMA teaches “determining, based on two or more of the respective unbiased estimates, a performance metric for the machine learning model on the target dataset without corresponding ground truth labels”:
([Pages 989-990, 3. Importance Weighted Cross Validation] “To compensate for the effect of the covariate shift in the CV procedure, we propose the following importance weighted CV (IWCV):
That is, the validation error in the CV procedure is weighted according to the importance.
The following lemma shows that LOOIWCV gives an almost unbiased estimate of the risk even under the covariate shift…
…the simple variant of LOOCV called LOOIWCV provides an unbiased estimate of the risk with n - 1 samples even under the covariate shift…”)
The above cited text, along with the remainder of the cited segment of the reference teaches the limitation as claimed, especially when considered in view of the previous section 2 as well. f(xi) is a prediction of the model for source input xi. Ptest(xi) / Ptrain(xi) is an importance weight.
(f(xi),yi) is the loss function (0-1 loss for classification / mis-classification). 0-1 loss can be decomposed into true positive, false positive, true negative, false negative contributions, and for each example, you can count whether it is a correct or incorrect prediction for each class. The importance weight ensures that these counts are unbiased with respect to the target distribution. By weighting the losses of the training examples according to the density ratio between target and source distributions, we can obtain an unbiased estimate of the expected loss of f on the target distribution.
Further, SUGIYAMA teaches “providing, via an interface, the performance metric for the machine learning model on the target dataset”:
([Page 992, Figure 1] “
In the above figure, we see the calculated performance metrics for the machine learning model on the target dataset, as previously cited, being displayed after being returned, by the previously cited functions, on an interface.”)
SUGIYAMA fails to explicitly teach “One or more non-transitory, computer-readable storage media, storing program instructions that when executed on or across one or more computing devices, cause the one or more computing devices to implement:”. However, analogous art, SINGH, does teach this:
([Hardware requirements for machine learning] “The first thing you should determine is what kind of resource does your task requires. Let’s have a look how different tasks will have different hardware requirements:
If your tasks are small and can fit in a complex sequential processing, you don’t need a big system. You could even skip the GPUs altogether. A CPU such as i7–7500U can train an average of ~115 examples/second. So, if you are planning to work on other ML areas or algorithms, a GPU is not necessary.
If your task is a bit intensive, and has a manageable data, a reasonably powerful GPU would be a better choice for you. A laptop (non-transitory system) with a dedicated graphics card of high end should do the work. There are a few high end (and expectedly heavy) laptops like Nvidia GTX 1080 (8 GB VRAM), which can train an average of ~14k examples/second. In addition, you can build your own PC with a reasonable CPU and a powerful GPU, but keep in mind that the CPU must not bottleneck the GPU. For instance, an i7-7500U will work flawlessly with a GTX 1080 GPU…”) This section describes a need for processing power of some degree (CPU or GPU) for machine learning tasks, giving multiple example systems, all with at least one processor.
And further:
([Memory and Storage] “Machine learning models are getting larger, requiring more memory and storage capacity. High-bandwidth memory (HBM) and solid-state drives (SSDs) (non-transitory mediums) are becoming critical for training and running these models efficiently.”) This citation explicitly shows a requirement for the system to contain a memory, including non-transitory mediums.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the base reference of SUGIYAMA with the teachings of SINGH because SUGIYAMA teaches of a machine learning model evaluation system methodology, while SINGH teaches of the necessary hardware requirements of using machine learning models.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because without meeting hardware requirements for any given computer application, the computer application will not function.
Regarding claim 15, SUGIYAMA in view of SINGH teaches the limitations of claim 14. Further, claim 15 comprises similar additional limitations as claim 8, and is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 16, SUGIYAMA in view of SINGH teaches the limitations of claim 14. Further, SUGIYAMA teaches “wherein the performance metric for the machine learning model on the target dataset is a linear performance metric”:
([Page 988, Equation 4] “
In the above equation, xi and yi are labeled source examples. We see the Ptest(xi) and Ptrain(xi) being used in correlation as well. The equation is used to calculate an estimate of model performance (risk / expected loss) on an unlabeled target distribution, which is equivalent to receiving a request for a performance metric for a machine learning model evaluation system.”)
And further:
([Page 986, Paragraph 3] “Model selection is one of the key ingredients in machine learning. However, under the covariate shift, a standard model selection technique such as cross validation (CV) (Stone, 1974; Wahba, 1990) does not work as desired; more specifically, the unbiasedness that guarantees the accuracy of CV does not hold under the covariate shift anymore. To cope with this problem, we propose a novel variant of CV called importance weighted CV (IWCV)… existing methods have a number of limitations, for example, in the loss function, parameter learning method, and model. In particular, the existing methods cannot be applied to classification scenarios. On the other hand, the proposed IWCV overcomes these limitations: it allows for any loss function, parameter learning method, and model;”) This citation shows that the performance metric taught by SUGIYAMA, based on a loss function, can be either non-linear or linear, based on the type of loss function/model used. The above citation, as used previously, shows the performance metric that is returned which is inherently dependent on whatever model is being used, and its loss function. This citations shows that the model being used could be any model with any loss function, which would encompass both non-linear and linear functions, resulting in the above cited performance metric being either non-linear or linear, just like the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 17, SUGIYAMA in view of SINGH teaches the limitations of claim 14. Further, SUGIYAMA teaches “wherein the performance metric for the machine learning model on the target dataset is a non-linear performance metric”:
([Page 988, Equation 4] “
In the above equation, xi and yi are labeled source examples. We see the Ptest(xi) and Ptrain(xi) being used in correlation as well. The equation is used to calculate an estimate of model performance (risk / expected loss) on an unlabeled target distribution, which is equivalent to receiving a request for a performance metric for a machine learning model evaluation system.”)
And further:
([Page 986, Paragraph 3] “Model selection is one of the key ingredients in machine learning. However, under the covariate shift, a standard model selection technique such as cross validation (CV) (Stone, 1974; Wahba, 1990) does not work as desired; more specifically, the unbiasedness that guarantees the accuracy of CV does not hold under the covariate shift anymore. To cope with this problem, we propose a novel variant of CV called importance weighted CV (IWCV)… existing methods have a number of limitations, for example, in the loss function, parameter learning method, and model. In particular, the existing methods cannot be applied to classification scenarios. On the other hand, the proposed IWCV overcomes these limitations: it allows for any loss function, parameter learning method, and model;”) This citation shows that the performance metric taught by SUGIYAMA, based on a loss function, can be either non-linear or linear, based on the type of loss function/model used. The above citation, as used previously, shows the performance metric that is returned which is inherently dependent on whatever model is being used, and its loss function. This citations shows that the model being used could be any model with any loss function, which would encompass both non-linear and linear functions, resulting in the above cited performance metric being either non-linear or linear, just like the claimed invention.
Claims 11 & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUGIYAMA in view of SINGH, as applied to claims above, and further in view of SCIENCEDIRECT.
Regarding claim 11, SUGIYAMA in view of SINGH teaches the limitations of claim 7. SUGIYAMA in view of SINGH fails to explicitly teach “wherein the target dataset is a synthetic dataset.” However, analogous art, SCIENCEDIRECT, does teach this:
([1. Introduction to Simulated Data in Computer Science] “Simulated data are microdata produced artificially from one or more statistical or computational models, rather than collected from real-world observations… Researchers frequently opt to create and use custom-generated simulated datasets tailored to the specific requirements of their experiments… where public datasets may not cover all scenarios. Simulated data offer advantages including ease of generation, limitless supply, pre-annotation, and reduced cost, and can circumvent ethical concerns and practical issues such as privacy and security. The availability of simulated data is especially important when real-world data are inaccessible due to confidentiality, privacy, or security issues, motivating the design of benchmark data for algorithm evaluation.”)
And further:
([3. Applications of Simulated Data in Computer Science] “Simulated data are comparatively easier to generate, inexhaustible, pre-annotated, and less expensive than real data, while also enabling training on scenarios impractical or impossible to collect in the real world. Synthetic data and simulators catalyze richer representations and more sophisticated forms of learning, including multimodal, continual, and embodied learning, and are instrumental in the study of biological systems by enabling the training and testing of deep neural networks (DNNs). Progress in computer graphics tools and 3D assets has facilitated the synthesis of training data for tasks such as object detection, tracking, viewpoint estimation, semantic segmentation, robot manipulation, pose estimation, gaze estimation, and activity recognition, often improving DNN performance when combined with real data. Simulated data are also used to generate optimized stimuli for activating specific neural populations and can provide unique opportunities for direct comparisons of behavior and neural activation in artificial neural networks, humans, and nonhuman primates in simulated environments.”) Synthetic data is a type of simulated data, and the terms are often used interchangeably, as can be seen in the citations above.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the base reference of SUGIYAMA in view of SINGH with the teachings of SCIENCEDIRECT because, as pointed out by SUGIYAMA in ([Page 986, Paragraph 3] the methods can be used with any model, and as pointed out by SCIENCEDIRECT, the use of simulated data with machine learning models is well-known in the art.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because, as pointed out by SCIENCEDIRECT above, there are numerous advantages to the use of synthetic data including “enabling training on scenarios impractical or impossible to collect in the real world”, “enabling the training and testing of deep neural networks (DNNs)”, and “often improving DNN performance when combined with real data. Simulated data are also used to generate optimized stimuli for activating specific neural populations and can provide unique opportunities for direct comparisons of behavior and neural activation in artificial neural networks”
Regarding claim 18, SUGIYAMA in view of SINGH teaches the limitations of claim 14. Further, claim 18 comprises similar additional limitations as claim 11, and is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUGIYAMA in view of SINGH, as applied to claims above, and further in view of Wu, Y, et al. “Clinical Named Entity Recognition Using Deep Learning Models.” Available online at https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC5977567/ on 16 April 2018 (hereafter, WU).
Regarding claim 12, SUGIYAMA in view of SINGH teaches the limitations of claim 7. SUGIYAMA in view of SINGH fails to explicitly teach “wherein the machine learning model performs named entity recognition.” However, analogous art, WU, does teach this:
([Abstract] “Clinical Named Entity Recognition (NER) is a critical natural language processing (NLP) task to extract important concepts (named entities) from clinical narratives. Researchers have extensively investigated machine learning models for clinical NER. Recently, there have been increasing efforts to apply deep learning models to improve the performance of current clinical NER systems. This study examined two popular deep learning architectures, the Convolutional Neural Network (CNN) and the Recurrent Neural Network (RNN), to extract concepts from clinical texts. We compared the two deep neural network architectures with three baseline Conditional Random Fields (CRFs) models and two state-of-the-art clinical NER systems using the i2b2 2010 clinical concept extraction corpus. The evaluation results showed that the RNN model trained with the word embeddings achieved a new state-of-the- art performance (a strict F1 score of 85.94%) for the defined clinical NER task, outperforming the best-reported system that used both manually defined and unsupervised learning features. This study demonstrates the advantage of using deep neural network architectures for clinical concept extraction, including distributed feature representation, automatic feature learning, and long-term dependencies capture. This is one of the first studies to compare the two widely used deep learning models and demonstrate the superior performance of the RNN model for clinical NER.”) This citation shows that named entity recognition is a known use of machine learning models.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the base reference of SUGIYAMA in view of SINGH with the teachings of WU because, as pointed out by SUGIYAMA in ([Page 986, Paragraph 3] the methods can be used with any model, and as pointed out by WU, the use of named entity recognition with machine learning models is well-known in the art.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because, as pointed out by WU in the abstract above, “The evaluation results showed that the RNN model trained with the word embeddings achieved a new state-of-the- art performance (a strict F1 score of 85.94%) for the defined clinical NER task, outperforming the best-reported system that used both manually defined and unsupervised learning features. This study demonstrates the advantage of using deep neural network architectures for clinical concept extraction, including distributed feature representation, automatic feature learning, and long-term dependencies capture.”
Claims 13 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUGIYAMA in view of SINGH, as applied to claims above, and further in view of DUDLEY.
Regarding claim 13, SUGIYAMA in view of SINGH teaches the limitations of claim 7. Further, SUGIYAMA teaches “receiving… a request to provide the performance metric for the machine learning model on the target dataset”:
([Page 988, Equation 4] “
In the above equation, xi and yi are labeled source examples. We see the Ptest(xi) and Ptrain(xi) being used in correlation as well. The equation is used to calculate an estimate of model performance (risk / expected loss) on an unlabeled target distribution, which is equivalent to receiving a request for a performance metric for a machine learning model evaluation system on a target dataset.”)
SUGIYAMA in view of SINGH fails to explicitly teach the request being received “…via the interface…” However, analogous art, DUDLEY, does teach this:
([Abstract] “Interactive Machine Learning (IML) seeks to complement human perception and intelligence by tightly integrating these strengths with the computational power and speed of computers. The interactive process is designed to involve input from the user (receiving a request from the user, via the interface) but does not require the background knowledge or experience that might be necessary to work with more traditional machine learning techniques… User interface design is fundamental to the success of this approach”) This citation shows that the purpose of DUDLEY is to investigate the use of user interfaces for machine learning processes, in order to make their use more accessible. It explicitly receives input from the user to activate and use the machine learning processes, which correlates to a request being received from an interface.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the base reference of SUGIYAMA in view of SINGH with the teachings of DUDLEY because SUGIYAMA in view of SINGH teaches a system of determining and returning the performance of machine learning models via performance metrics, while DUDLEY teaches methods to streamline the use of machine learning processes using a user interface.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because, as DUDLEY points out in its abstract, “We propose and describe a structural and behavioural model of a generalised IML (Interactive Machine Learning) system and identify solution principles for building effective interfaces for IML.”
Regarding claim 20, SUGIYAMA in view of SINGH teaches the limitations of claim 14. Further, claim 20 comprises similar additional limitations as claim 13, and is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUGIYAMA in view of SINGH, as applied to claims above, and further in view of SEALPATH.
Regarding claim 19, SUGIYAMA in view of SINGH teaches the limitations of claim 14. Further, SUGIYAMA in view of SINGH fails to explicitly teach “wherein the machine learning model is a document classifier.” However, analogous art, SEALPATH, does teach this:
([IA and Machine Learning applied to Information Classification, Paragraphs 1-2] “Artificial Intelligence and machine learning techniques are of great value, helping to improve technology by providing security analysts with a faster and more efficient way of evaluating potential threats. Thanks to their application, they allow us to detect strange patterns or unusual user behaviour to help us anticipate attacks against our information.
Thanks to machine learning algorithms, this advanced data classification technology can be applied, raising the accuracy level regarding the characteristics that make the specific contents of a file confidential. The models, taking advantage of machine learning, are previously trained for several years using data that contain personal information, medical, financial and other data. This previous learning helps predict the sensitivity level of previously non-labelled data.”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the base reference of SUGIYAMA in view of SINGH with the teachings of SEALPATH because, as pointed out by SUGIYAMA in ([Page 986, Paragraph 3] the methods can be used with any model, and as pointed out by SEALPATH, the use of machine learning models as data classification models is well-known in the art.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because, as pointed out by SEALPATH, “this advanced data classification technology can be applied, raising the accuracy level regarding the characteristics that make the specific contents of a file confidential.”
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 24, 2026 with respect to claim rejections under 35 USC §103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In particular, applicant argues on page 8 that Sugiyama does not teach the “determining respective unbiased estimates…” limitation. Examiner disagrees. The limitation reads “determine respective unbiased estimates for false positives, false negatives, true positives, and true negatives for performance of a machine learning model applied to a target dataset without corresponding ground truth labels according to importance sampling weights applied to the predictions of the machine learning model made given the items in the source dataset with respect to corresponding ground truth labels for the items in the source dataset;” The claim itself is using labeled source data along with unlabeled target data to determine the unbiased estimators. Similarly, Sugiyama is also using labeled source data (the training data set) along with unlabeled target data (the test data set) to determine unbiased estimators. Therefore, Sugiyama does teach this limitation and the combination of Sugiyama, Singh and Dudley teach independent claim 1 while Sugiyama and Singh teach independent claims 7 and 14.
Therefore claim rejections of claims 1-20 under 35 USC §103 are maintained. See section Claim Rejections – 35 USC §103 above.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 11, filed January 24, 2026, with respect to Claim rejections under 35 USC §101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. In particular, applicant noted that the technological improvement of better developing and estimating the performance of models using unlabeled data (e.g., real-world data, such as customer or application data). The rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 USC §101 has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gopinth et al. (US20230092949)
Li et al. (Learning Classifiers on Positive and Unlabeled Data with Policy Gradient)
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.C.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2144
/TAMARA T KYLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2144