DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 02/13/2026 for response of the office action mailed on 02/06/2026. Claims 1, 13, 15 and 18 have been amended. Claim 7 is cancelled. Claims 1-6 and 8-21 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/13/2026 with respect to Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-21 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive/are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Argument:
Horn does not necessarily disclose that beam 5 is not a skipped beam … Accordingly, because the network node and UE in Horn paragraph [0106] have established a connection via a beam, for example at step 615 shown in FIG. 6, the beam used to establish the connection necessarily cannot be a skipped beam that is configured via a "configured first beam skipping sequence" as recited by claim 1, which beam skipping sequence the user equipment uses to determine to "exit[] . . . a sleep state according to the configured first beam skipping sequence" and then "establish[] a connection with the radio access network node" using a beam configured by the "configured first beam skipping sequence as being a non-skipped beam" as recited by claim 1 of the present application.
Response:
Examiner has considered the applicant’s arguments and due to the amendment(s) made on the independent claims including Claim 1, the Office no longer relies on Horn and instead introduces Taherzadeh Boroujeni et al. (US 2022/0046726), Taherzadeh Boroujeni hereinafter. Taherzadeh Boroujeni discusses a scheduling entity applying a beam-specific coverage enhancement technique to one or more random access messages associated with a random access procedure, where the beam-specific coverage enhancement technique can be selectively applied on a predetermined beam or a subset of beams (Abstract). The invention discusses SSB beam sweeping in relation to initiating a RACH procedure (Fig. 5, 10, 13, 17-19).
Argument:
The final office action acknowledges that Horn does not disclose "exiting, by a user equipment comprising at least one processor, a sleep state according to the configured first beam skipping sequence" but cites Yan paragraph [0076] and FIGS. 2 and 3 thereof as teaching this element recited by claim 1 of the present application. Assignee's representative respectfully submits that the cited portions of Yan refer to DRX, which refers to discontinuous reception periods during which the UE is configured to avoid receiving downlink channels … Assignee's representative respectfully submits that Yan does not disclose DRX as referring to a beam skipping sequence by the network or that the UE wakes up according to a configured beam sequence that corresponds to beam skipping being implemented by the network.
Response:
Examiner has considered the applicant’s arguments and respectfully disagrees. Taherzadeh Boroujeni’s invention already establishes SSB beam sweeping, selecting particular beams, associating PRACH with selected beams, performing random access on the identified beams and establishing a connection between a user equipment and a base station after PRACH. Yan teaches a user equipment (UE) performing a beam sweeping procedure using a selected beam subset or sequence based on the UE’s operating state, requiring the UE to monitor synchronization signals during configured beam sweeping occasions. A POSITA would have understood that a UE operating in a low power or sleep state exits that state at the configured beam sweeping occasions to perform the disclosed beam sweeping procedure. Taherzadeh Boroujeni’s invention further teaches that after identifying an appropriate synchronization block (SSB) during beam sweeping, the UE performs random access by transmitting a PRACH preamble using the corresponding beam resources to establish a connection with the network. Therefore, Taherzadeh Boroujeni and Yan in combination applies Yan’s beam sweeping and power management techniques with well known beam-specific random access procedures.
Lastly, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant is reminded that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See in re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR international Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Argument: The Advisory Action disagrees with arguments presented in response to the final office action and cites paragraph [0076] of Horn. The Advisory Action indicates that in paragraph [0076] of Horn UE 120 monitors and/or measures SSBs 415 using different receive beams during an initial network access procedure and indicates to the network node 110 one or more SSBs 415 with a best signal parameter … Assignee's representative respectfully submits that paragraph [0076] and the summary thereof given by the Advisory Action do not discuss UE 120 selecting a beam according to a configured beam skipping sequence that the UE has received from node 110.
Response:
Examiner has considered the applicant’s arguments and due to the amendment(s) made on the independent claims including Claim 1, the Office no longer relies on Horn and instead introduces Taherzadeh Boroujeni. In Fig. 5, 10, 13, 17-19, and ¶0106, a scheduling entity (e.g., gNB) can broadcast an SSB burst 802 having a number of SSBs using different beams (e.g., conceptually illustrated as beams B1, B2, B3, and B4) or beam directions … The UE chooses the best beam and attempts to decode the PBCH contents including, for example, SSB index, scheduling information, etc … The PBCH provides information on the configuration of the PDCCH for an initial access procedure (e.g., RACH procedure), therefore Taherzadeh Boroujeni discloses a UE selecting a beam according to a configured beam skipping sequence (“beam sweeping”) it has received from a node (gNB).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Taherzadeh Boroujeni et al. (US 2022/0046726), Taherzadeh Boroujeni hereinafter.
Re. Claim 13, Taherzadeh Boroujeni teaches a user equipment, comprising: at least one processor (Fig. 16 & ¶0144) configured to: receive, from a radio access network node, a beam skipping configuration comprising a configured first beam skipping sequence, (Fig. 6-10, 13 & ¶0005 - One aspect of the disclosure provides a method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE). The method includes receiving, from a scheduling entity, system information in a beam sweep including a plurality of beams. ¶0092 - The scheduling entity 108 (e.g., gNB or base station) can transmit a number of SSBs in a batch in the form of an SS Burst (e.g., one SSB per beam) that is used during beam sweeping by changing the beam direction for each SSB transmission. The UE can measure and identify the best beam from the SSB beam sweep. ¶0112 - In some aspects of the disclosure, coverage enhancement may be applied in a RACH procedure for a specific SSB beam or a subset of SSB beams. Fig. 18 & ¶0160 - The RACH procedures in call flow diagram 1800 provide enhanced or modified RACH operations that account for particular SSB beams or subsets of SSB beams and thus are beam-specific or beam subset specific operations. Please also see Fig. 5 & ¶0096);
wherein the configured first beam skipping sequence comprises at least one skipped beam to be skipped by the radio access network node during at least one beam skipping period and at least one non-skipped beam to be used by the radio access network node to transmit at least one synchronization block signal during the at least one beam skipping period, (Fig. 13, 18 & ¶0115 - In one aspect, the scheduling entity can apply a beam-specific coverage enhancement technique to control information associated with a random access procedure. The beam-specific coverage enhancement technique is selectively applied when a scheduling entity transmits the control information (PDCCH in message 2 or B) on a predetermined beam or a subset of beams. ¶0117 - In one example, the RMSI may have a bitfield that indicates a beam or a subset of beams to which the coverage enhancement technique is used or not used to repeat the PDCCH of message 2 or B. Please also see Fig. 18 & ¶0161-¶0163);
wherein the beam skipping configuration is received via at least one synchronization signal block signal during idle mode operation by the user equipment; (Fig. 8, 18 & ¶0072 - In addition, broadcast control information, such as the synchronization signal block (SSB), … may be transmitted in a beam-sweeping manner to enable all scheduled entities (UEs) in the coverage area of a transmission and reception point (TRP) (e.g., a gNB) to receive the broadcast control information. ¶0106 - A scheduling entity (e.g., gNB) can broadcast an SSB burst 802 having a number of SSBs using different beams (e.g., conceptually illustrated as beams B1, B2, B3, and B4) or beam directions … The UE chooses the best beam and attempts to decode the PBCH contents including, for example, SSB index, scheduling information, etc … The PBCH provides information on the configuration of the PDCCH for an initial access procedure (e.g., RACH procedure);
receive, from the radio access network node, a beam skipping sequence indication indicative of a beam skipping sequence of the beam skipping configuration; (Fig. 13, 18 & ¶0037 - The beam-specific coverage enhancement technique can be selectively applied when the scheduling entity transmits the control information on a predetermined beam or a subset of beams. In one aspect, the scheduling entity can indicate the application of beam-specific coverage enhancement technique using system information (e.g., the remaining minimum system information (RMSI). Please also see Fig. 18 & ¶0161-¶0163);
monitor an at least one synchronization signal corresponding to the radio access network node according to the beam skipping sequence; (Fig. 14-15, 18 & ¶0142 - For example, the scheduling entity may transmit multiple instances of control information 1415 associated with the same RAR such that the UE may receive one or more instances of the control information 1415 at monitoring occasions 1410-a, 1410-b, 1410-c, and/or 1410-d);
transmit, to the radio access network node, a random-access code via a random-access resource corresponding to a beam indicated by the beam skipping sequence as being a non- skipped beam: (Fig. 13 & ¶0136 - At block 1304, the scheduling entity can receive a random access request associated with the random access procedure from a UE. In one example, the random access request (e.g., RACH message 1 or message A) may include a PRACH preamble for a RACH procedure. In one example, the communication and processing circuitry 1240 may provide a means for receiving the random access request 1007 from the UE in one or more beams (e.g., SSB beams) according to the system information. For example, the RMSI may identify one or more beams for receiving the random access request using the coverage enhancement technique. Fig. 18 & ¶0165 - After the measurement and determination processes 1810, 1812, the UE 1804 transmits a random access message 1814 (also known in the art as message 1 or Msg 1), which may include a PRACH preamble on a configured RACH resource (termed hereinafter as simple “PRACH”). The random access message 1814 is used to signal to the base station 1802 that the UE is attempting initial access to the network. Please also see Fig. 19 & ¶0167);
and based on the random-access code, establish a connection with the radio access network node (Fig. 13, 18 & ¶0169 - Referring back to FIG. 18, after the RAR message 1820 is received by the UE 1804, either after an initial or a subsequent repeat transmission of the random access message, the UE may then send a connection request message (also known as message 3 or Msg 3) 1824 to base station 1802. In response, the base station 1802 sends a connection setup message (also known as message 4 or Msg 4) 1826 to the UE 1804 to end the RACH procedure. Once the random access procedure is completed, a dedicated connection may be established between the UE 1804 and the base station 1802 with a dedicated connection ID).
Re. Claim 14, Taherzadeh Boroujeni teaches Claim 13.
Taherzadeh Boroujeni further teaches the at least one synchronization signal comprises a random-access transmission indication indicative of more than one random-access resource being associated with at least one non-skipped beam corresponding to the beam skipping sequence (Fig. 10, 13, 18 & ¶0112 - In some aspects of the disclosure, coverage enhancement may be applied in a RACH procedure for a specific SSB beam or a subset of SSB beams. FIG. 10 is a schematic illustration of a random access procedure with beam specific coverage enhancement according to some aspects of the disclosure. A UE 1002 may attempt to connect to a scheduling entity 1004 using an initial access procedure (e.g., a RACH procedure). After the UE receives and decodes system information 1005 (e.g., SSB, SIB1) from the scheduling entity, the UE may identify a random access search space including PRACH resources for initiating a RACH procedure from the SIB 1).
Re. Claim 15, Taherzadeh Boroujeni teaches Claim 13.
Taherzadeh Boroujeni further teaches the at least one processor is further configured to: determine at least one signal strength corresponding to the beam indicated by the beam skipping sequence as being a non-skipped beam to result in a determined signal strength; and analyze the determined signal strength with respect to a beam selection criterion to result in an analyzed determined signal strength, wherein the at least one processor is configured to transmit the random-access code based on the analyzed determined signal strength satisfying a beam selection criterion (Fig. 8, 10, 13, 18 & ¶0106 - A scheduling entity (e.g., gNB) can broadcast an SSB burst 802 having a number of SSBs using different beams (e.g., conceptually illustrated as beams B1, B2, B3, and B4) or beam directions. Each SSB has a corresponding beam (e.g., beam B1 for a first SSB 804, beam B2 for a second SSB 806, beam B3 for a third SSB 808, and beam B4 for a fourth SSB 810) with a different direction … A UE or scheduled entity 106 can measure the signal strength of each SSB, for example, by measuring a reference signal (e.g., DM-RS) included in the PBCH of the SSB. From the measurements, the UE can identify the SSB beam with the best or the strongest signal strength. The SSB beam with the strongest signal strength may be the best beam for communicating with the UE. The UE chooses the best beam and attempts to decode the PBCH contents including, for example, SSB index, scheduling information, etc. Successful decode of the PBCH enables reception of the subsequent PDCCH and PDSCH, which carries the RMSI and OSI. The PBCH provides information on the configuration of the PDCCH for an initial access procedure (e.g., RACH procedure). Please also see ¶0162 and ¶0170).
Re. Claim 16, Taherzadeh Boroujeni teaches Claim 15.
Taherzadeh Boroujeni further teaches the beam selection criterion is a first beam selection criterion, (Fig. 8, 10, 13, 18 & ¶0162 - After receiving the system information 1806, which may include a number of SSBs, the UE 1804 may determine (e.g., measure) measurement information 1810, which may include one or more values indicative of a respective quality and/or power associated with each of the beams in the set of beams 1808 via which the SSBs are respectively transmitted. For example, the UE 1804 may determine (e.g., measure), a RSRP, a reference signal receive quality (RSRQ), a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), and/or a reference signal strength indicator (RSSI) respectively corresponding to each of the SSBs received by the UE 1804. ¶0170 - For example, the UE 1804 may compare the measurement information 1810 (e.g., the RSRP) for at least one SSB to a threshold, such as a preconfigured threshold or a threshold indicated in the system information 1806);
wherein the random-access resource is a first random-access resource, (Fig. 10 & ¶0112 - FIG. 10 is a schematic illustration of a random access procedure with beam specific coverage enhancement according to some aspects of the disclosure. A UE 1002 may attempt to connect to a scheduling entity 1004 using an initial access procedure (e.g., a RACH procedure). After the UE receives and decodes system information 1005 (e.g., SSB, SIB1) from the scheduling entity, the UE may identify a random access search space including PRACH resources for initiating a RACH procedure from the SIB 1. ¶0113 - The scheduling entity may transmit downlink control information (DCI) via the message 2 PDCCH to indicate a resource location (e.g., frequency and time resources) where the UE may receive the RAR PDSCH data);
and wherein the first beam selection criterion is satisfied by the analyzed determined signal strength being higher than signal strengths corresponding to other beams that are indicated by the beam skipping sequence as being non-skipped beams (Fig. 8 & ¶0106 - A UE or scheduled entity 106 can measure the signal strength of each SSB, for example, by measuring a reference signal (e.g., DM-RS) included in the PBCH of the SSB. From the measurements, the UE can identify the SSB beam with the best or the strongest signal strength. The SSB beam with the strongest signal strength may be the best beam for communicating with the UE. The UE chooses the best beam and attempts to decode the PBCH contents including, for example, SSB index, scheduling information, etc. ¶0113 - At 1008, the UE 1002 can select a beam for transmitting the random access request 1007 based on beam measurements (e.g., RSRP, RSRQ, and/or SINR) performed by the UE on a plurality of beams (e.g., SSB beams of FIG. 8) or beam sweep. The beam may correspond, for example, to an SSB beam).
Re. Claim 17, Taherzadeh Boroujeni teaches Claim 15.
Taherzadeh Boroujeni further teaches the beam selection criterion is a second beam selection criterion, (Fig. 8, 10, 13, 18 & ¶0162 - After receiving the system information 1806, which may include a number of SSBs, the UE 1804 may determine (e.g., measure) measurement information 1810, which may include one or more values indicative of a respective quality and/or power associated with each of the beams in the set of beams 1808 via which the SSBs are respectively transmitted. For example, the UE 1804 may determine (e.g., measure), a RSRP, a reference signal receive quality (RSRQ), a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), and/or a reference signal strength indicator (RSSI) respectively corresponding to each of the SSBs received by the UE 1804. ¶0170 - For example, the UE 1804 may compare the measurement information 1810 (e.g., the RSRP) for at least one SSB to a threshold, such as a preconfigured threshold or a threshold indicated in the system information 1806);
wherein the random-access resource is a second random- access resource, (Fig. 10 & ¶0112 - FIG. 10 is a schematic illustration of a random access procedure with beam specific coverage enhancement according to some aspects of the disclosure. A UE 1002 may attempt to connect to a scheduling entity 1004 using an initial access procedure (e.g., a RACH procedure). After the UE receives and decodes system information 1005 (e.g., SSB, SIB1) from the scheduling entity, the UE may identify a random access search space including PRACH resources for initiating a RACH procedure from the SIB 1);
and wherein the second beam selection criterion is satisfied by the analyzed determined signal strength being higher than signal strengths corresponding to other beams that are indicated by the beam skipping sequence as being non-skipped beams and by the analyzed determined signal strength being lower than a configured signal strength threshold (Fig. 18-19 & ¶0170 - However, if the UE 1804 determines that the measurement information 1810 fails to satisfy (e.g., is less than) the threshold, then the UE 1804 may determine that the UE 1804 is to perform the alternative four-step RACH procedure as described above in relation to FIGS. 18 and 19).
Re. Claim 18, Taherzadeh Boroujeni teaches a non-transitory machine-readable medium, comprising executable instructions that, when executed by at least one processor of a user equipment, facilitate performance of operations, comprising: (Fig. 16 & ¶0145);
receiving, from a radio access network node, a beam skipping configuration comprising at least one beam skipping sequence, (Fig. 5-10, 13 & ¶0005 - One aspect of the disclosure provides a method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE). The method includes receiving, from a scheduling entity, system information in a beam sweep including a plurality of beams. ¶0092 - The scheduling entity 108 (e.g., gNB or base station) can transmit a number of SSBs in a batch in the form of an SS Burst (e.g., one SSB per beam) that is used during beam sweeping by changing the beam direction for each SSB transmission. The UE can measure and identify the best beam from the SSB beam sweep. ¶0112 - In some aspects of the disclosure, coverage enhancement may be applied in a RACH procedure for a specific SSB beam or a subset of SSB beams. Fig. 18 & ¶0160 - The RACH procedures in call flow diagram 1800 provide enhanced or modified RACH operations that account for particular SSB beams or subsets of SSB beams and thus are beam-specific or beam subset specific operations);
wherein the at least one beam skipping sequence comprises at least one skipped beam to be skipped by the radio access network node during at least one beam skipping period and at least one non-skipped beam to be used by the radio access network node to transmit at least one synchronization block signal during the at least one beam skipping period; (Fig. 13 & ¶0115 - In one aspect, the scheduling entity can apply a beam-specific coverage enhancement technique to control information associated with a random access procedure. The beam-specific coverage enhancement technique is selectively applied when a scheduling entity transmits the control information (PDCCH in message 2 or B) on a predetermined beam or a subset of beams. ¶0117 - In one example, the RMSI may have a bitfield that indicates a beam or a subset of beams to which the coverage enhancement technique is used or not used to repeat the PDCCH of message 2 or B. Please also see Fig. 18 & ¶0161-¶0163);
receiving, from the radio access network node via the at least one non-skipped beam, a first synchronization signal block signal comprising a beam skipping sequence indication indicative of the at least one beam skipping sequence; (Fig. 8 & ¶0106 - A scheduling entity (e.g., gNB) can broadcast an SSB burst 802 having a number of SSBs using different beams (e.g., conceptually illustrated as beams B1, B2, B3, and B4) or beam directions. ¶0115 - The beam-specific coverage enhancement technique is selectively applied when a scheduling entity transmits the control information (PDCCH in message 2 or B) on a predetermined beam or a subset of beams. In one example, the scheduling entity can indicate the application of beam-specific coverage enhancement technique using system information (e.g., the remaining minimum system information (RMSI)). ¶0116 - To that end, the scheduling entity can transmit multiple instances (i.e., repetition) of the PDCCH of message 2 or message B for a specific beam or a subset of beams. In some aspects, the UE 1002 and the scheduling entity 1004 may configure the RAR window for a specific SSB beam or a subset of SSB beams (e.g., beams 604 and 710) to enable repetition of the PDCCH of message 2 or message B. ¶0117 - In one example, the RMSI may have a bitfield that indicates a beam or a subset of beams to which the coverage enhancement technique is used or not used to repeat the PDCCH of message 2 or B);
based on the beam skipping sequence indication being indicative of the at least one beam skipping sequence, decoding a second synchronization signal block signal corresponding to a beam indicated by the at least one beam skipping sequence as being a non-skipped beam; (Fig. 8 & ¶0106 - Each SSB can have a different beam direction and can be identified by a unique SSB index or beam index. A UE or scheduled entity 106 can measure the signal strength of each SSB, for example, by measuring a reference signal (e.g., DM-RS) included in the PBCH of the SSB. From the measurements, the UE can identify the SSB beam with the best or the strongest signal strength. The SSB beam with the strongest signal strength may be the best beam for communicating with the UE. The UE chooses the best beam and attempts to decode the PBCH contents including, for example, SSB index, scheduling information, etc. Fig. 16 & ¶0149 - In some aspects, the beamforming circuitry 1642 can process periodic SSBs received in a beam sweep via the transceiver 1610 and antennas 1620);
transmitting, to the radio access network node, a random-access preamble via a random- access occasion corresponding to the beam indicated by the at least one beam skipping sequence indication as being a non-skipped beam; (Fig. 13 & ¶0136 - At block 1304, the scheduling entity can receive a random access request associated with the random access procedure from a UE. In one example, the random access request (e.g., RACH message 1 or message A) may include a PRACH preamble for a RACH procedure. In one example, the communication and processing circuitry 1240 may provide a means for receiving the random access request 1007 from the UE in one or more beams (e.g., SSB beams) according to the system information. For example, the RMSI may identify one or more beams for receiving the random access request using the coverage enhancement technique. Fig. 18 & ¶0165 - After the measurement and determination processes 1810, 1812, the UE 1804 transmits a random access message 1814 (also known in the art as message 1 or Msg 1), which may include a PRACH preamble on a configured RACH resource (termed hereinafter as simple “PRACH”). The random access message 1814 is used to signal to the base station 1802 that the UE is attempting initial access to the network. Please also see Fig. 19 & ¶0167);
and based on the random-access preamble, establishing a connection with the radio access network node (Fig. 13, 18 & ¶0169 - Referring back to FIG. 18, after the RAR message 1820 is received by the UE 1804, either after an initial or a subsequent repeat transmission of the random access message, the UE may then send a connection request message (also known as message 3 or Msg 3) 1824 to base station 1802. In response, the base station 1802 sends a connection setup message (also known as message 4 or Msg 4) 1826 to the UE 1804 to end the RACH procedure. Once the random access procedure is completed, a dedicated connection may be established between the UE 1804 and the base station 1802 with a dedicated connection ID).
Re. Claim 19, Taherzadeh Boroujeni teaches Claim 18.
Taherzadeh Boroujeni further teaches the beam skipping sequence indication comprises a random-access occasion indication indicative of more than one random-access occasion being associated with at least one non-skipped beam of the at least one beam skipping sequence (Fig. 18-19 & ¶0167 - Each of the RACH occasions 1902a-d may correspond to the same one of the beams 1815 via which one of the SSBs is received (e.g., the SSB beam or beam subset indicated by RMSI as warranting enhanced random access message processes). In this case, the UE 1804 may transmit corresponding preamble messages 1904a-d in each of the multiple RACH occasions 1902a-d. In one aspect, the preamble message 1904 in each of RACH occasions 1902a-d may be the same. For example, the same preamble sequence may be used in each preamble message 1904 in the RACH occasions 1902a-d. In one aspect, the preamble message 1904 in each of RACH occasions 1902a-d may be the same. For example, the same preamble sequence may be used in each preamble message 1904 in the RACH occasions 1902a-d).
Re. Claim 20, Taherzadeh Boroujeni teaches Claim 19.
Taherzadeh Boroujeni further teaches at least one of the at least one non-skipped beam is geospatially adjacent to at least one of the at least one skipped beam (Fig. 5, 18-19 & ¶0095 - the base station 504 is configured to generate a plurality of transmit beams 506a-506h, each associated with a different spatial direction. In addition, the UE 502 is configured to generate a plurality of receive beams 508a-508e, each associated with a different spatial direction. It should be noted that while some beams are illustrated as adjacent to one another …¶0117 - In one example, the RMSI may have a bitfield that indicates a beam or a subset of beams to which the coverage enhancement technique is used or not used to repeat the PDCCH of message 2 or B).
Re. Claim 21, Taherzadeh Boroujeni teaches Claim 13.
Taherzadeh Boroujeni further teaches the beam skipping sequence indication is received via a synchronization signal before the radio access network node implements the beam skipping sequence according to the beam skipping sequence indication (Fig. 10, 13, 18-19 & ¶0096 - For example, periodic SSB beam sweeping may be implemented on the base station 504 at certain intervals (e.g., based on the SSB periodicity). Thus, the base station 504 may be configured to sweep or transmit an SSB on each of a plurality of wider transmit beams 506a-506h during the beam sweeping interval. ¶0135 - At block 1302, a scheduling entity (e.g., a gNB or base station) can transmit system information in a beam sweep including a plurality of beams. The system information identifies one or more beams of the plurality of beams enabled to use a coverage enhancement technique in a random access procedure. In one example, the scheduling entity can transmit the system information in remaining minimum system information (RMSI) or SIB1. In one example, RMSI may include a bitfield (e.g., one or more bits) that indicates the index (e.g., SSB or beam index) of an SSB beam or a subset of SSB beams on which the scheduling entity can transmit control information of a RACH message (PDCCH of message 2 or B) using a coverage enhancement technique).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taherzadeh Boroujeni et al. (US 2022/0046726), Taherzadeh Boroujeni hereinafter, and further in view of Yan et al. (US 2023/0032356), Yan hereinafter.
Re. Claim 1, Taherzadeh Boroujeni teaches a method, comprising: receiving, by the user equipment from a radio access network node, a beam skipping configuration comprising a configured first beam skipping sequence, (Fig. 5-10, 13 & ¶0005 - One aspect of the disclosure provides a method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE). The method includes receiving, from a scheduling entity, system information in a beam sweep including a plurality of beams. ¶0092 - The scheduling entity 108 (e.g., gNB or base station) can transmit a number of SSBs in a batch in the form of an SS Burst (e.g., one SSB per beam) that is used during beam sweeping by changing the beam direction for each SSB transmission. The UE can measure and identify the best beam from the SSB beam sweep. ¶0112 - In some aspects of the disclosure, coverage enhancement may be applied in a RACH procedure for a specific SSB beam or a subset of SSB beams. Fig. 18 & ¶0160 - The RACH procedures in call flow diagram 1800 provide enhanced or modified RACH operations that account for particular SSB beams or subsets of SSB beams and thus are beam-specific or beam subset specific operations. Please also see Fig. 5 & ¶0096);
wherein the configured first beam skipping sequence comprises at least one skipped beam to be skipped by the radio access network node during at least one beam skipping period and at least one non-skipped beam to be used by the radio access network node to transmit at least one synchronization block signal during the at least one beam skipping period; (Fig. 13, 18 & ¶0115 - In one aspect, the scheduling entity can apply a beam-specific coverage enhancement technique to control information associated with a random access procedure. The beam-specific coverage enhancement technique is selectively applied when a scheduling entity transmits the control information (PDCCH in message 2 or B) on a predetermined beam or a subset of beams. ¶0117 - In one example, the RMSI may have a bitfield that indicates a beam or a subset of beams to which the coverage enhancement technique is used or not used to repeat the PDCCH of message 2 or B. Please also see Fig. 18 & ¶0161-¶0163);
based on the configured first beam skipping sequence, decoding, by the user equipment, a first synchronization signal block signal corresponding to at least one active beam indicated by the configured first beam skipping sequence as being a non-skipped beam; (Fig. 13, 18 & ¶0106 - From the measurements, the UE can identify the SSB beam with the best or the strongest signal strength. The SSB beam with the strongest signal strength may be the best beam for communicating with the UE. The UE chooses the best beam and attempts to decode the PBCH contents including, for example, SSB index, scheduling information, etc. Successful decode of the PBCH enables reception of the subsequent PDCCH and PDSCH, which carries the RMSI and OSI);
transmitting, by the user equipment, a random-access code via a random-access occasion corresponding to the at least one active beam indicated by the configured first beam skipping sequence as being a non-skipped beam; (Fig. 13 & ¶0136 - At block 1304, the scheduling entity can receive a random access request associated with the random access procedure from a UE. In one example, the random access request (e.g., RACH message 1 or message A) may include a PRACH preamble for a RACH procedure. In one example, the communication and processing circuitry 1240 may provide a means for receiving the random access request 1007 from the UE in one or more beams (e.g., SSB beams) according to the system information. For example, the RMSI may identify one or more beams for receiving the random access request using the coverage enhancement technique. Fig. 18 & ¶0165 - After the measurement and determination processes 1810, 1812, the UE 1804 transmits a random access message 1814 (also known in the art as message 1 or Msg 1), which may include a PRACH preamble on a configured RACH resource (termed hereinafter as simple “PRACH”). The random access message 1814 is used to signal to the base station 1802 that the UE is attempting initial access to the network. Please also see Fig. 19 & ¶0167);
and based on the transmitting of the random-access code, establishing, by the user equipment, a connection with the radio access network node (Fig. 13, 18 & ¶0169 - Referring back to FIG. 18, after the RAR message 1820 is received by the UE 1804, either after an initial or a subsequent repeat transmission of the random access message, the UE may then send a connection request message (also known as message 3 or Msg 3) 1824 to base station 1802. In response, the base station 1802 sends a connection setup message (also known as message 4 or Msg 4) 1826 to the UE 1804 to end the RACH procedure. Once the random access procedure is completed, a dedicated connection may be established between the UE 1804 and the base station 1802 with a dedicated connection ID).
Yet, Taherzadeh Boroujeni does not explicitly teach exiting, by a user equipment comprising at least one processor, a sleep state according to the configured first beam skipping sequence;
However, in the analogous art, Yan explicitly teaches exiting, by a user equipment comprising at least one processor, a sleep state according to the configured first beam skipping sequence; (Fig. 2-3 & ¶0047 - One mechanism relates to SSB measurements. In particular, the UE 104 stays, during the idle mode, in a sleeping mode (e.g., a sleep state or de-active state) of a DRX cycle and periodically wakes up (e.g., a wake state or an active state) to receive SSBs. ¶0056 - FIG. 3 illustrates an example, where the UE wakes three times (although a different number is also possible). As such, the DRX cycle includes a deep sleep cycle, followed by a first active state cycle where the UE receives a first SSB, followed by a first light sleep cycle, then followed (e.g., depending on the SSB transmission periodicity) by a second active state cycle where the UE receives a second SSB, followed by a second light sleep cycle, then followed by a third active state cycle where the UE receives a third SSB, and followed by a third light sleep cycle. Fig. 4 & ¶0061 - In the illustration of FIG. 4, the network node 402 performs beam sweeping to transmit the SSB beams at predefined directions in a burst within a regular interval).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Yan to the teaching of Taherzadeh Boroujeni. The motivation would be because by reducing the number of times the UE needs wake up for SSB reception, the overall power consumption of the UE can be reduced (¶0022, Yan).
Re. Claim 2, Taherzadeh Boroujeni and Yan teach Claim 1.
Yet, Taherzadeh Boroujeni does not explicitly teach entering the sleep state according to the configured first beam skipping sequence.
However, in the analogous art, Yan explicitly teaches entering the sleep state according to the configured first beam skipping sequence (Fig. 3 & ¶0056 - As such, the DRX cycle includes a deep sleep cycle, followed by a first active state cycle where the UE receives a first SSB, followed by a first light sleep cycle, then followed (e.g., depending on the SSB transmission periodicity) by a second active state cycle where the UE receives a second SSB, followed by a second light sleep cycle, then followed by a third active state cycle where the UE receives a third SSB, and followed by a third light sleep cycle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Yan to the teaching of Taherzadeh Boroujeni. The motivation would be because by reducing the number of times the UE needs wake up for SSB reception, the overall power consumption of the UE can be reduced (¶0022, Yan).
Re. Claim 8, Taherzadeh Boroujeni and Yan teach Claim 1.
Taherzadeh Boroujeni further teaches receiving, by the user equipment via the at least one non-skipped beam, a second synchronization signal block signal; decoding, by the user equipment, the second synchronization signal block signal, wherein the second synchronization signal block signal comprises a beam skipping sequence indication indicative of the configured first beam skipping sequence that is configured via the beam skipping configuration; (Fig. 8 & ¶0106 - Each SSB can have a different beam direction and can be identified by a unique SSB index or beam index. A UE or scheduled entity 106 can measure the signal strength of each SSB, for example, by measuring a reference signal (e.g., DM-RS) included in the PBCH of the SSB. From the measurements, the UE can identify the SSB beam with the best or the strongest signal strength. The SSB beam with the strongest signal strength may be the best beam for communicating with the UE. The UE chooses the best beam and attempts to decode the PBCH contents including, for example, SSB index, scheduling information, etc. Fig. 16 & ¶0149 - In some aspects, the beamforming circuitry 1642 can process periodic SSBs received in a beam sweep via the transceiver 1610 and antennas 1620);
Yet, Taherzadeh Boroujeni does not explicitly teach responsive to the beam skipping sequence being indicative of the configured first beam skipping sequence, scheduling the exiting of the sleep state, according to the first beam skipping sequence.
However, in the analogous art, Yan explicitly teaches responsive to the beam skipping sequence being indicative of the configured first beam skipping sequence, scheduling the exiting of the sleep state, according to the first beam skipping sequence (Fig. 2-3 & ¶0047 - One mechanism relates to SSB measurements. In particular, the UE 104 stays, during the idle mode, in a sleeping mode (e.g., a sleep state or de-active state) of a DRX cycle and periodically wakes up (e.g., a wake state or an active state) to receive SSBs. ¶0056 - FIG. 3 illustrates an example, where the UE wakes three times (although a different number is also possible). As such, the DRX cycle includes a deep sleep cycle, followed by a first active state cycle where the UE receives a first SSB, followed by a first light sleep cycle, then followed (e.g., depending on the SSB transmission periodicity) by a second active state cycle where the UE receives a second SSB, followed by a second light sleep cycle, then followed by a third active state cycle where the UE receives a third SSB, and followed by a third light sleep cycle. Fig. 4 & ¶0061 - In the illustration of FIG. 4, the network node 402 performs beam sweeping to transmit the SSB beams at predefined directions in a burst within a regular interval).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Yan to the teaching of Taherzadeh Boroujeni. The motivation would be because by reducing the number of times the UE needs wake up for SSB reception, the overall power consumption of the UE can be reduced (¶0022, Yan).
Re. Claim 9, Taherzadeh Boroujeni and Yan teach Claim 1.
Taherzadeh Boroujeni further teaches determining, by the user equipment, at least one signal strength corresponding to the at least one active beam indicated by the configured first beam skipping sequence as being a non- skipped beam to result in a determined at least one signal strength; and analyzing, by the user equipment, the determined at least one signal strength with respect to a beam selection criterion to result in an analyzed determined signal strength, wherein the transmitting of the random-access code is based on the analyzed determined signal strength satisfying a beam selection criterion (Fig. 8, 10, 13, 18 & ¶0106 - A scheduling entity (e.g., gNB) can broadcast an SSB burst 802 having a number of SSBs using different beams (e.g., conceptually illustrated as beams B1, B2, B3, and B4) or beam directions. Each SSB has a corresponding beam (e.g., beam B1 for a first SSB 804, beam B2 for a second SSB 806, beam B3 for a third SSB 808, and beam B4 for a fourth SSB 810) with a different direction … A UE or scheduled entity 106 can measure the signal strength of each SSB, for example, by measuring a reference signal (e.g., DM-RS) included in the PBCH of the SSB. From the measurements, the UE can identify the SSB beam with the best or the strongest signal strength. The SSB beam with the strongest signal strength may be the best beam for communicating with the UE. The UE chooses the best beam and attempts to decode the PBCH contents including, for example, SSB index, scheduling information, etc. Successful decode of the PBCH enables reception of the subsequent PDCCH and PDSCH, which carries the RMSI and OSI. The PBCH provides information on the configuration of the PDCCH for an initial access procedure (e.g., RACH procedure). Please also see ¶0162 and ¶0170).
Re. Claim 10, Taherzadeh Boroujeni and Yan teach Claim 9.
Taherzadeh Boroujeni further teaches the beam selection criterion is a first beam selection criterion, (Fig. 8, 10, 13, 18 & ¶0162 - After receiving the system information 1806, which may include a number of SSBs, the UE 1804 may determine (e.g., measure) measurement information 1810, which may include one or more values indicative of a respective quality and/or power associated with each of the beams in the set of beams 1808 via which the SSBs are respectively transmitted. For example, the UE 1804 may determine (e.g., measure), a RSRP, a reference signal receive quality (RSRQ), a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), and/or a reference signal strength indicator (RSSI) respectively corresponding to each of the SSBs received by the UE 1804. ¶0170 - For example, the UE 1804 may compare the measurement information 1810 (e.g., the RSRP) for at least one SSB to a threshold, such as a preconfigured threshold or a threshold indicated in the system information 1806);
wherein the random-access occasion is a first random-access occasion, (Fig. 19 & ¶0167 - Referring to FIG. 19, this figure illustrates an example of repeating the transmission of the random access message (e.g., Msg1) in multiple RACH occasions 1902a-d. In an aspect, FIG. 19 may also represent retransmissions of random access messages after the initial message transmission 1814 if a RAR message 1820a is not received. Each of the RACH occasions 1902a-d may correspond to the same one of the beams 1815 via which one of the SSBs is received (e.g., the SSB beam or beam subset indicated by RMSI as warranting enhanced random access message processes). In this case, the UE 1804 may transmit corresponding preamble messages 1904a-d in each of the multiple RACH occasions 1902a-d. In one aspect, the preamble message 1904 in each of RACH occasions 1902a-d may be the same. For example, the same preamble sequence may be used in each preamble message 1904 in the RACH occasions 1902a-d);
and wherein the first beam selection criterion is satisfied by the analyzed determined signal strength being higher than signal strengths corresponding to other of the at least one active beam indicated by the configured first beam skipping sequence as being a non-skipped beam (Fig. 8 & ¶0106 - A UE or scheduled entity 106 can measure the signal strength of each SSB, for example, by measuring a reference signal (e.g., DM-RS) included in the PBCH of the SSB. From the measurements, the UE can identify the SSB beam with the best or the strongest signal strength. The SSB beam with the strongest signal strength may be the best beam for communicating with the UE. The UE chooses the best beam and attempts to decode the PBCH contents including, for example, SSB index, scheduling information, etc. ¶0113 - At 1008, the UE 1002 can select a beam for transmitting the random access request 1007 based on beam measurements (e.g., RSRP, RSRQ, and/or SINR) performed by the UE on a plurality of beams (e.g., SSB beams of FIG. 8) or beam sweep. The beam may correspond, for example, to an SSB beam).
Re. Claim 11, Taherzadeh Boroujeni and Yan teach Claim 9.
Taherzadeh Boroujeni further teaches the beam selection criterion is a second beam selection criterion, (Fig. 8, 10, 13, 18 & ¶0162 - After receiving the system information 1806, which may include a number of SSBs, the UE 1804 may determine (e.g., measure) measurement information 1810, which may include one or more values indicative of a respective quality and/or power associated with each of the beams in the set of beams 1808 via which the SSBs are respectively transmitted. For example, the UE 1804 may determine (e.g., measure), a RSRP, a reference signal receive quality (RSRQ), a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), and/or a reference signal strength indicator (RSSI) respectively corresponding to each of the SSBs received by the UE 1804. ¶0170 - For example, the UE 1804 may compare the measurement information 1810 (e.g., the RSRP) for at least one SSB to a threshold, such as a preconfigured threshold or a threshold indicated in the system information 1806);
wherein the random-access occasion is a second random-access occasion, (Fig. 19 & ¶0167 - Referring to FIG. 19, this figure illustrates an example of repeating the transmission of the random access message (e.g., Msg1) in multiple RACH occasions 1902a-d. In an aspect, FIG. 19 may also represent retransmissions of random access messages after the initial message transmission 1814 if a RAR message 1820a is not received. Each of the RACH occasions 1902a-d may correspond to the same one of the beams 1815 via which one of the SSBs is received (e.g., the SSB beam or beam subset indicated by RMSI as warranting enhanced random access message processes). In this case, the UE 1804 may transmit corresponding preamble messages 1904a-d in each of the multiple RACH occasions 1902a-d. In one aspect, the preamble message 1904 in each of RACH occasions 1902a-d may be the same. For example, the same preamble sequence may be used in each preamble message 1904 in the RACH occasions 1902a-d);
and wherein the second beam selection criterion is satisfied by the analyzed determined signal strength being lower than a configured signal strength threshold (Fig. 18-19 & ¶0170 - However, if the UE 1804 determines that the measurement information 1810 fails to satisfy (e.g., is less than) the threshold, then the UE 1804 may determine that the UE 1804 is to perform the alternative four-step RACH procedure as described above in relation to FIGS. 18 and 19).
Claim 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taherzadeh Boroujeni and Yan, and further in view of Park et al. (US 2021/0367728), Park hereinafter.
Re. Claim 3, Taherzadeh Boroujeni and Yan teach Claim 1.
Taherzadeh Boroujeni further teaches decoding, by the user equipment, a second synchronization signal block signal, wherein the second synchronization signal block signal comprises a beam skipping sequence indication information object that is indicative of the configured first beam skipping sequence that is configured via the beam skipping configuration, (Fig. 8 & ¶0106 - Each SSB can have a different beam direction and can be identified by a unique SSB index or beam index. A UE or scheduled entity 106 can measure the signal strength of each SSB, for example, by measuring a reference signal (e.g., DM-RS) included in the PBCH of the SSB. From the measurements, the UE can identify the SSB beam with the best or the strongest signal strength. The SSB beam with the strongest signal strength may be the best beam for communicating with the UE. The UE chooses the best beam and attempts to decode the PBCH contents including, for example, SSB index, scheduling information, etc. Fig. 16 & ¶0149 - In some aspects, the beamforming circuitry 1642 can process periodic SSBs received in a beam sweep via the transceiver 1610 and antennas 1620);
Yet, Taherzadeh Boroujeni and Yan do not explicitly teach and wherein the beam skipping configuration comprises at least one of: at least one codebook or at least one list.
However, in the analogous art, Park explicitly teaches and wherein the beam skipping configuration comprises at least one of: at least one codebook or at least one list (Fig. 4C & ¶0081 - FIG. 4C is a conceptual diagram illustrating an example single cell Type II port selection codebook procedure 440. Specifically, at 442, the single cell (i.e., base station 102) may transmit a number of SSBs to a UE (such as the UE 104 depicted and described in FIGS. 1, 3 and 7). For example, the cell may broadcast SSBs (i.e., SSB #0, SSB #1, SSB #2, and SSB #3) via beam sweeping. The UE may select the beam(s) having a highest signal quality via receive beam sweeping. That is, the UE may select an SSB (i.e., SSB #1) considered the “best” in terms of signal quality relative to the other SSBs based on SSB measurements. Afterwards, the UE may indicate, to the cell, the SSB index associated with the selected transmit beam(s)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Park to the teachings of Taherzadeh Boroujeni and Yan. The motivation would be because aspects of the present disclosure relate generally to wireless communication systems, and more particularly, to coherent joint transmission for a multi-transmit and receive point (TRP) having a different physical cell identifier (PCID) by using a Type-II port selection codebook (¶0002, Park).
Re. Claim 4, Taherzadeh Boroujeni, Yan and Park teach Claim 3.
Taherzadeh Boroujeni further teaches the beam skipping sequence indication comprises an active time indication indicative of an active period, of the at least one beam skipping period, of the configured first beam skipping sequence (Fig. 4 & ¶0072 - In some cases, an SS burst set 405 or an SS burst 410 may be referred to as a discovery reference signal (DRS) transmission window or an SSB measurement time configuration (SMTC) window). Fig. 5 & ¶0079 - A number of SSBs transmitted on different half-slots during an SSB occasion may be confined to a predefined time window duration (e.g., a 5 millisecond (ms) window) and the number of SSBs form an SSB burst as described herein. ¶0080 - In some networks, the SSBs 505 may be periodic. For example, the network node may transmit the set 505A of SSBs at a first SSB occasion, transmit a set 505B of SSBs at a second SSB occasion, and a set 505C of SSBs at a third SSB occasion).
Re. Claim 5, Taherzadeh Boroujen, Yan and Park teach Claim 3.
Taherzadeh Boroujen further teaches the beam skipping sequence indication comprises a random-access occasion indication indicative of more than one random-access occasion being associated by the configured first beam skipping sequence with at least one non- skipped beam (Fig. 18-19 & ¶0167 - Each of the RACH occasions 1902a-d may correspond to the same one of the beams 1815 via which one of the SSBs is received (e.g., the SSB beam or beam subset indicated by RMSI as warranting enhanced random access message processes). In this case, the UE 1804 may transmit corresponding preamble messages 1904a-d in each of the multiple RACH occasions 1902a-d. In one aspect, the preamble message 1904 in each of RACH occasions 1902a-d may be the same. For example, the same preamble sequence may be used in each preamble message 1904 in the RACH occasions 1902a-d. In one aspect, the preamble message 1904 in each of RACH occasions 1902a-d may be the same. For example, the same preamble sequence may be used in each preamble message 1904 in the RACH occasions 1902a-d).
Re. Claim 6, Taherzadeh Boroujen, Yan and Park teach Claim 5.
Taherzadeh Boroujen further teaches at least one non-skipped beam associated with the more than one random-access occasion is geospatially adjacent to at least one skipped beam indicated by the configured first beam skipping sequence as being a skipped beam (Fig. 5, 18-19 & ¶0095 - the base station 504 is configured to generate a plurality of transmit beams 506a-506h, each associated with a different spatial direction. In addition, the UE 502 is configured to generate a plurality of receive beams 508a-508e, each associated with a different spatial direction. It should be noted that while some beams are illustrated as adjacent to one another …¶0117 - In one example, the RMSI may have a bitfield that indicates a beam or a subset of beams to which the coverage enhancement technique is used or not used to repeat the PDCCH of message 2 or B. ¶0167 - Each of the RACH occasions 1902a-d may correspond to the same one of the beams 1815 via which one of the SSBs is received (e.g., the SSB beam or beam subset indicated by RMSI as warranting enhanced random access message processes). In this case, the UE 1804 may transmit corresponding preamble messages 1904a-d in each of the multiple RACH occasions 1902a-d. In one aspect, the preamble message 1904 in each of RACH occasions 1902a-d may be the same. For example, the same preamble sequence may be used in each preamble message 1904 in the RACH occasions 1902a-d. In one aspect, the preamble message 1904 in each of RACH occasions 1902a-d may be the same. For example, the same preamble sequence may be used in each preamble message 1904 in the RACH occasions 1902a-d).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taherzadeh Boroujeni and Yan, and further in view of Ganji et al. (V. S. S. Ganji, T. -H. Lin, F. A. Espinal and P. R. Kumar, "BeamSurfer: Minimalist Beam Management of Mobile mm-Wave Devices," in IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications, vol. 21, no. 11, pp. 8935-8949, Nov. 2022, doi: 10.1109/TWC.2022.3171189}), Ganji hereinafter.
Re. Claim 12, Taherzadeh Boroujeni and Yan teach 11.
Taherzadeh Boroujeni further teaches the at least one active beam is geospatially adjacent to at least one skipped beam indicated by the configured first beam skipping sequence as being a skipped beam, (Fig. 5, 18-19 & ¶0095 - the base station 504 is configured to generate a plurality of transmit beams 506a-506h, each associated with a different spatial direction. In addition, the UE 502 is configured to generate a plurality of receive beams 508a-508e, each associated with a different spatial direction. It should be noted that while some beams are illustrated as adjacent to one another …¶0117 - In one example, the RMSI may have a bitfield that indicates a beam or a subset of beams to which the coverage enhancement technique is used or not used to repeat the PDCCH of message 2 or B);
and wherein the transmitting of the random-access code via the second random-access occasion (Fig. 19 & ¶0167 - Referring to FIG. 19, this figure illustrates an example of repeating the transmission of the random access message (e.g., Msg1) in multiple RACH occasions 1902a-d. In an aspect, FIG. 19 may also represent retransmissions of random access messages after the initial message transmission 1814 if a RAR message 1820a is not received. Each of the RACH occasions 1902a-d may correspond to the same one of the beams 1815 via which one of the SSBs is received (e.g., the SSB beam or beam subset indicated by RMSI as warranting enhanced random access message processes). In this case, the UE 1804 may transmit corresponding preamble messages 1904a-d in each of the multiple RACH occasions 1902a-d. In one aspect, the preamble message 1904 in each of RACH occasions 1902a-d may be the same. For example, the same preamble sequence may be used in each preamble message 1904 in the RACH occasions 1902a-d);
Yet, Taherzadeh Boroujeni and Yan do not explicitly teach is to be indicative to a radio access network node to select a configured second beam skipping sequence that does not indicate as a skipped beam the at least one skipped beam that is geospatially adjacent to the at least one active beam.
However, in the analogous art, Ganji explicitly teaches is to be indicative to a radio access network node to select a configured second beam skipping sequence that does not indicate as a skipped beam the at least one skipped beam that is geospatially adjacent to the at least one active beam (Fig. 2C, 3 & Page 4 - When receive beam k of the mobile gets misaligned, the adjacent receive beams k − 1 and k + 1 are a good starting point for re-aligning the beam. When receive beam adjustment by the mobile is not enough to compensate for mobility, the transmit beam needs to be changed. If the transmit beam n is misaligned, the neighboring transmit beams n − 1 and n+1 pointed in the adjacent directions are good starting points for re-aligning the transmit beam).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Ganji to the teachings of Taherzadeh Boroujeni and Yan. The motivation would be because it is important to manage beams to continually maintain high received signal strength and prevent outages (Ganji, Abstract).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALYSSA WILLIAMS whose telephone number is (571)270-7673. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached on (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ALYSSA WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2465B
/CHRISTOPHER T WYLLIE/Examiner, Art Unit 2465