DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 09/11/2025 for response of the office action mailed on 06/11/2025. Claims 1, 3-4, 8, 13, 18 and 20 have been amended. Claim 7 has been cancelled. Claim 21 is newly added. Claims 1-6 and 8-21 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/11/2025 with respect to Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-21 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive/are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13, 15 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Horn (US2024/0014961A1), Horn hereinafter.
Re. Claim 13, Horn teaches a user equipment, comprising: a processor configured to (Fig. 2): receive, from a radio access network node, a beam skipping configuration comprising a configured first beam skipping sequence, (Fig. 5-9 & Abstract - The UE may receive, based at least in part on establishing the connection using the beam, an indication that the network node will refrain from transmission of synchronization signal block (SSB) signaling during a portion of an SSB occasion associated with the beam. Fig. 6 & ¶0095 - As shown by reference number 605, the network node may transmit, and the UE may receive, configuration information … the configuration information may include an indication of one or more configuration parameters (e.g., already known to the UE and/or previously indicated by the network node or other network device) for selection by the UE, and/or explicit configuration information for the UE to use to configure the UE …);
wherein the configured first beam skipping sequence comprises at least one skipped beam to be skipped by the radio access network node during at least one beam skipping period and at least one non-skipped beam to be used by the radio access network node to transmit at least one synchronization block signal during the at least one beam skipping period; (Fig. 6 & ¶0092 - The network node may indicate to the UE that one or more additional beams are not active and/or that the network node will refrain from transmitting SSBs via the one or more additional beams. Fig. 7 (Please see 710A-710H) & ¶0114 - The network node may transmit the SSBs via associated beams in a beam sweeping procedure in which the network node sequentially transmits the SSBs … ¶0116 - As shown in FIG. 7 , the SSB 710F may be associated with beam 5 through which the UE has already established a connection. In the set 705A of SSBs, the network node may skip the SSB 710F … Examiner interprets the network node performing beam sweeping as the beam skipping sequence, where SSB710F associated with beam 5 would be the at least one skipped beam due to the beam not being active and/or the network node refraining from transmitting SSBs via that beam, while Beams 0-4 and 6-7 are the at least one non-skipped beams used to transmit at least one synchronization block during the beam skipping period (SSBs 705A, 705B and 705C);
receive, from the radio access network node, a beam skipping sequence indication indicative of a beam skipping sequence of the beam skipping configuration; (¶0056 - In some aspects, the UE includes … means for receiving, based at least in part on establishing the connection using the beam, an indication that the network node will refrain from transmission of SSB signaling during a portion of an SSB occasion associated with the beam);
monitor an at least one synchronization signal corresponding to the radio access network node according to the beam skipping sequence; (Fig. 4 & ¶0076 - In some aspects, an SSB 415 may include an SSB index, which may correspond to a beam used to carry the SSB 415. A UE 120 may monitor for and/or measure SSBs 415 using different receive (Rx) beams during an initial network access procedure and/or a cell search procedure, among other examples. Based at least in part on the monitoring and/or measuring, the UE 120 may indicate one or more SSBs 415 with a best signal parameter (e.g., an RSRP parameter) to a network node 110…);
and transmit, to the radio access network node, a random-access code via a random-access resource corresponding to a beam indicated by the beam skipping sequence as being a non- skipped beam (Fig. 4 & ¶0076 - The network node 110 and the UE 120 may use the one or more indicated SSBs 415 to select one or more beams to be used for communication between the network node 110 and the UE 120 (e.g., for a random access channel (RACH) procedure)).
Re. Claim 15, Horn teaches Claim 13.
Horn further teaches the processor is further configured to: determine at least one signal strength corresponding to the beam indicated by the beam skipping sequence as being a non-skipped beam to result in a determined signal strength; (Fig. 4-9 & ¶0050 - A channel processor may determine a reference signal received power (RSRP) parameter, a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) parameter, a reference signal received quality (RSRQ) parameter, and/or a CQI parameter, among other examples. ¶0076 - A UE 120 may monitor for and/or measure SSBs 415 using different receive (Rx) beams during an initial network access procedure and/or a cell search procedure, among other examples);
and analyze the determined signal strength with respect to a beam selection criterion to result in an analyzed determined signal strength, (Fig. 4-9 & ¶0076 - Based at least in part on the monitoring and/or measuring, the UE 120 may indicate one or more SSBs 415 with a best signal parameter (e.g., an RSRP parameter) to a network node 110 …);
wherein the processor is configured to transmit the random-access code based on the analyzed determined signal strength satisfying a beam selection criterion (Fig. 4-9 & ¶0076 - The network node 110 and the UE 120 may use the one or more indicated SSBs 415 to select one or more beams to be used for communication between the network node 110 and the UE 120 (e.g., for a random access channel (RACH) procedure)).
Re. Claim 21, Horn teaches Claim 13.
Horn further teaches the beam skipping sequence indication is received via a synchronization signal before the radio access network node implements the beam skipping sequence according to the beam skipping sequence indication (Fig. 6-7 & ¶0101 - As shown by reference number 620, the UE may receive, and the network node may transmit, an indication that the network node will refrain from transmission of SSB signaling during a portion of an SSB occasion associated with the beam. In some aspects, the network node may transmit the indication based at least in part on establishing the connection using the beam. Please also see ¶0095-¶0096).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8-9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horn (US2024/0014961A1), Horn hereinafter, and further in view of Yan et al. (US2023/0032356A1), Yan hereinafter.
Re. Claim 1, Horn teaches a method, comprising: receiving, by the user equipment from a radio access network node, a beam skipping configuration comprising a configured first beam skipping sequence, (Fig. 5-9 & Abstract - The UE may receive, based at least in part on establishing the connection using the beam, an indication that the network node will refrain from transmission of synchronization signal block (SSB) signaling during a portion of an SSB occasion associated with the beam. Fig. 6 & ¶0095 - As shown by reference number 605, the network node may transmit, and the UE may receive, configuration information … the configuration information may include an indication of one or more configuration parameters (e.g., already known to the UE and/or previously indicated by the network node or other network device) for selection by the UE, and/or explicit configuration information for the UE to use to configure the UE …);
wherein the configured first beam skipping sequence comprises at least one skipped beam to be skipped by the radio access network node during at least one beam skipping period and at least one non-skipped beam to be used by the radio access network node to transmit at least one synchronization block signal during the at least one beam skipping period; (Fig. 6 & ¶0092 - The network node may indicate to the UE that one or more additional beams are not active and/or that the network node will refrain from transmitting SSBs via the one or more additional beams. Fig. 7 (Please see 710A-710H) & ¶0114 - The network node may transmit the SSBs via associated beams in a beam sweeping procedure in which the network node sequentially transmits the SSBs … ¶0116 - As shown in FIG. 7 , the SSB 710F may be associated with beam 5 through which the UE has already established a connection. In the set 705A of SSBs, the network node may skip the SSB 710F … Examiner interprets the network node performing beam sweeping as the beam skipping sequence, where SSB710F associated with beam 5 would be the at least one skipped beam due to the beam not being active and/or the network node refraining from transmitting SSBs via that beam, while Beams 0-4 and 6-7 are the at least one non-skipped beams used to transmit at least one synchronization block during the beam skipping period (SSBs 705A, 705B and 705C);
and transmitting, by the user equipment, a random-access code via a random-access occasion corresponding to the at least one active beam indicated by the configured first beam skipping sequence as being a non-skipped beam (Fig. 4 & ¶0076 - The network node 110 and the UE 120 may use the one or more indicated SSBs 415 to select one or more beams to be used for communication between the network node 110 and the UE 120 (e.g., for a random access channel (RACH) procedure));
Yet, Horn does not explicitly teach exiting, by a user equipment comprising a processor, a sleep state according to the configured first beam skipping sequence; based on the configured first beam skipping sequence, decoding, by the user equipment, a first synchronization signal block signal corresponding to at least one active beam indicated by the configured first beam skipping sequence as being a non-skipped beam;
However, in the analogous art, Yan explicitly teaches exiting, by a user equipment comprising a processor (¶0076 - The UE 104 can be, for example, the UE 104, the UE 1600, or the operational flow/algorithmic structure 700 can even be implemented by components of the UE, such as by processors 1604), a sleep state according to the configured first beam skipping sequence; (Fig. 2-3 & ¶0049 - Nonetheless, the UE can wake up to receive an SSB transmitted from the network. Fig. 6-7 (702) and ¶0077 - The operation flow/algorithmic structure 700 may include, at 702, receiving, during an active state of a DRX cycle, a plurality of SSBs that respectively correspond to a plurality of beams of a base station. Please also see Fig. 4 & ¶0062);
based on the configured first beam skipping sequence, decoding, by the user equipment, a first synchronization signal block signal corresponding to at least one active beam indicated by the configured first beam skipping sequence as being a non-skipped beam; (Fig. 4 & ¶0060 - the UE performs beam sweeping to select one or more SSB beams (e.g., an SSB beam that has the highest performance metrics among the SSB beams, where the performance metrics are determined based on the SSBs) for communication with the network node 402. ¶0061 - … the network node 402 performs beam sweeping to transmit the SSB beams at predefined directions in a burst within a regular interval. Fig. 6 & ¶0074 - As illustrated with the “X” mark in the timing diagram 600, … the PDSCH decoding are performed on the SSB0 beam and the SSB2 beam but not the SSB1 beam. Please see ¶0073).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Yan to the teaching of Horn. The motivation would be because by reducing the number of times the UE needs wake up for SSB reception, the overall power consumption of the UE can be reduced (¶0022, Yan).
Re. Claim 2, Horn and Yan teach Claim 1.
Yet, Horn does not explicitly teach entering the sleep state according to the configured first beam skipping sequence.
However, in the analogous art, Yan explicitly teaches entering the sleep state according to the configured first beam skipping sequence (Fig. 3 & ¶0056 - As such, the DRX cycle includes a deep sleep cycle, followed by a first active state cycle where the UE receives a first SSB, followed by a first light sleep cycle, then followed (e.g., depending on the SSB transmission periodicity) by a second active state cycle where the UE receives a second SSB, followed by a second light sleep cycle, then followed by a third active state cycle where the UE receives a third SSB, and followed by a third light sleep cycle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Yan to the teaching of Horn. The motivation would be because by reducing the number of times the UE needs wake up for SSB reception, the overall power consumption of the UE can be reduced (¶0022, Yan).
Re. Claim 8, Horn and Yan teach Claim 1.
Horn further teaches wherein the second synchronization signal block signal comprises a beam skipping sequence indication indicative of the configured first beam skipping sequence that is configured via the beam skipping configuration; (Fig. 6-7 & ¶0114 - Each of the SSBs may be associated with different beams. For example, the network node may transmit a first SSB 710A in a direction associated with beam 0, a second SSB 710B in a direction associated with beam 1, etc. The network node may transmit the SSBs via associated beams in a beam sweeping procedure in which the network node sequentially transmits the SSBs. In this way, the network node may sweep through and/or cover a cell range (e.g., and entire cell range in a spatial dimension). A number of SSBs transmitted on different half-slots during an SSB occasion may be confined to a predefined time window duration (e.g., a 5 millisecond (ms) window) and the number of SSBs form an SSB burst as described herein. Please also see ¶0116-¶0117);
Yet, Horn does not explicitly teach receiving, by the user equipment via the at least one non-skipped beam, a second synchronization signal block signal: decoding, by the user equipment, the second synchronization signal block signal, responsive to the beam skipping sequence being indicative of the configured first beam skipping sequence, scheduling the exiting of the sleep state, according to the first beam skipping sequence.
However, in the analogous art, Yan explicitly teaches receiving, by the user equipment via the at least one non-skipped beam, a second synchronization signal block signal: (Fig. 2-4, 6-7 & ¶0056 - … the UE receives a second SSB …);
decoding, by the user equipment, the second synchronization signal block signal, (Fig. 2-4, 6-7 & ¶0073 - In one example of this second option, the PDCCH monitoring and/or the PDSCH decoding for the paging can be carried out separately and independently over the at least two SSB beams. In a further example of this second option, soft decoding information from a PDSCH decoding on one of the at least two beams can be used in a PDSCH decoding on another one of the at least two SSB beams);
responsive to the beam skipping sequence being indicative of the configured first beam skipping sequence, scheduling the exiting of the sleep state, according to the first beam skipping sequence (Fig. 2-3 & ¶0056 - As such, the DRX cycle includes a deep sleep cycle, followed by a first active state cycle where the UE receives a first SSB, followed by a first light sleep cycle, then followed (e.g., depending on the SSB transmission periodicity) by a second active state cycle where the UE receives a second SSB, followed by a second light sleep cycle, then followed by a third active state cycle where the UE receives a third SSB, and followed by a third light sleep cycle. In comparison to the timing diagram 200 of FIG. 2, here the UE wakes two more times for SSB reception, resulting in a relative increase of the UE's power consumption).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Yan to the teaching of Horn. The motivation would be because by reducing the number of times the UE needs wake up for SSB reception, the overall power consumption of the UE can be reduced (¶0022, Yan).
Re. Claim 9, Horn and Yan teach Claim 1.
Horn further teaches determining, by the user equipment, at least one signal strength corresponding to the at least one active beam indicated by the configured first beam skipping sequence as being a non- skipped beam to result in a determined at least one signal strength; (Fig. 4-9 & ¶0050 - A channel processor may determine a reference signal received power (RSRP) parameter, a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) parameter, a reference signal received quality (RSRQ) parameter, and/or a CQI parameter, among other examples. ¶0076 - A UE 120 may monitor for and/or measure SSBs 415 using different receive (Rx) beams during an initial network access procedure and/or a cell search procedure, among other examples);
and analyzing, by the user equipment, the determined at least one signal strength with respect to a beam selection criterion to result in an analyzed determined signal strength, (Fig. 4-9 & ¶0076 - Based at least in part on the monitoring and/or measuring, the UE 120 may indicate one or more SSBs 415 with a best signal parameter (e.g., an RSRP parameter) to a network node 110 …);
wherein the transmitting of the random-access code is based on the analyzed determined signal strength satisfying a beam selection criterion (Fig. 4-9 & ¶0076 - The network node 110 and the UE 120 may use the one or more indicated SSBs 415 to select one or more beams to be used for communication between the network node 110 and the UE 120 (e.g., for a random access channel (RACH) procedure)).
Re. Claim 18, Horn teaches a non-transitory machine-readable medium, comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processor of a user equipment, facilitate performance of operations, comprising: (Fig. 2 & ¶0055);
receiving, from a radio access network node, a beam skipping configuration comprising at least one beam skipping sequence, (Fig. 5-9 & Abstract - The UE may receive, based at least in part on establishing the connection using the beam, an indication that the network node will refrain from transmission of synchronization signal block (SSB) signaling during a portion of an SSB occasion associated with the beam. Fig. 6 & ¶0095 - As shown by reference number 605, the network node may transmit, and the UE may receive, configuration information … the configuration information may include an indication of one or more configuration parameters (e.g., already known to the UE and/or previously indicated by the network node or other network device) for selection by the UE, and/or explicit configuration information for the UE to use to configure the UE …);
wherein the at least one beam skipping sequence comprises at least one skipped beam to be skipped by the radio access network node during at least one beam skipping period and at least one non-skipped beam to be used by the radio access network node to transmit at least one synchronization block signal during the at least one beam skipping period; (Fig. 6 & ¶0092 - The network node may indicate to the UE that one or more additional beams are not active and/or that the network node will refrain from transmitting SSBs via the one or more additional beams. Fig. 7 (Please see 710A-710H) & ¶0114 - The network node may transmit the SSBs via associated beams in a beam sweeping procedure in which the network node sequentially transmits the SSBs … ¶0116 - As shown in FIG. 7 , the SSB 710F may be associated with beam 5 through which the UE has already established a connection. In the set 705A of SSBs, the network node may skip the SSB 710F … Examiner interprets the network node performing beam sweeping as the beam skipping sequence, where SSB710F associated with beam 5 would be the at least one skipped beam due to the beam not being active and/or the network node refraining from transmitting SSBs via that beam, while Beams 0-4 and 6-7 are the at least one non-skipped beams used to transmit at least one synchronization block during the beam skipping period (SSBs 705A, 705B and 705C);
receiving, from the radio access network node via the at least one non-skipped beam, a first synchronization signal block signal comprising a beam skipping sequence indication indicative of the at least one beam skipping sequence; (Fig. 7 & ¶0113 - In context of FIG. 7, a network node … may transmit SSBs within a cell associated with and/or provided by the network node. ¶0114 - As shown in FIG. 7, a set 705A of SSBs may include SSBs 710A-710H (shown as including PSS, PBCH, SSS, and PBCH in FIG. 7);
and transmitting, to the radio access network node, a random-access preamble via a random- access occasion corresponding to the beam indicated by the at least one beam skipping sequence indication as being a non-skipped beam (Fig. 4 & ¶0076 - The network node 110 and the UE 120 may use the one or more indicated SSBs 415 to select one or more beams to be used for communication between the network node 110 and the UE 120 (e.g., for a random access channel (RACH) procedure));
Yet, Horn does not explicitly teach based on the beam skipping sequence indication being indicative of the at least one beam skipping sequence, decoding a second synchronization signal block signal corresponding to a beam indicated by the at least one beam skipping sequence as being a non-skipped beam;
However, in the analogous art, Yan explicitly teaches based on the beam skipping sequence indication being indicative of the at least one beam skipping sequence, decoding a second synchronization signal block signal corresponding to a beam indicated by the at least one beam skipping sequence as being a non-skipped beam; (Fig. 4 & ¶0060 - the UE performs beam sweeping to select one or more SSB beams (e.g., an SSB beam that has the highest performance metrics among the SSB beams, where the performance metrics are determined based on the SSBs) for communication with the network node 402. ¶0061 - … the network node 402 performs beam sweeping to transmit the SSB beams at predefined directions in a burst within a regular interval. Fig. 6 & ¶0074 - As illustrated with the “X” mark in the timing diagram 600, … the PDSCH decoding are performed on the SSB0 beam and the SSB2 beam but not the SSB1 beam. Please see ¶0073).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Yan to the teaching of Horn. The motivation would be because the disclosure describes a wireless standard (Fifth generation mobile network (5G)) that aims to improve upon data transmission speed, reliability, availability, and more (¶0002, Yan).
Claim 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horn and Yan, and further in view of Park et al. (US2021/0367728A1), Park hereinafter.
Re. Claim 3, Horn and Yan teach Claim 1.
Yet, Horn and Yan do not explicitly teach decoding, by the user equipment, a second synchronization signal block signal, wherein the second synchronization signal block signal comprises a beam skipping sequence indication information object that is indicative of the configured first beam skipping sequence that is configured via the beam skipping configuration, and wherein the beam skipping configuration comprises at least one of: at least one codebook or at least one list.
However, in the analogous art, Park explicitly teaches decoding, by the user equipment, a second synchronization signal block signal, wherein the second synchronization signal block signal comprises a beam skipping sequence indication information object that is indicative of the configured first beam skipping sequence that is configured via the beam skipping configuration, (¶0044 - … the network entity may transmit a number of synchronization signal block (SSBs) as part of establishing a connection with a user equipment (UE) … an SSB may correspond to a synchronization signal and a physical broadcast channel (PBCH). The synchronization signal may be a primary synchronization signal (PSS) or a secondary synchronization signal (SSS). In operation, a network entity may broadcast multiple SSBs via a beam sweeping procedure, such that one SSB may be associated with one beam, etc. Upon receiving the multiple SSBs, the UE may identify an SSB having a signal quality greater than the other SSBs … the UE may select a “best” SSB among the multiple SSBs based on SSB measurements. The UE may then indicate to the network entity the best beam index associated with a best transmit beam. Examiner interprets a UE identifying the best SSB of the multiple SSBs and indicating the best beam index would require the UE to have successfully decoded the PBCH data within the chosen SSB) and wherein the beam skipping configuration comprises at least one of: at least one codebook or at least one list (Fig. 4C & ¶0081 - FIG. 4C is a conceptual diagram illustrating an example single cell Type II port selection codebook procedure 440. Specifically, at 442, the single cell (i.e., base station 102) may transmit a number of SSBs to a UE (such as the UE 104 depicted and described in FIGS. 1, 3 and 7). For example, the cell may broadcast SSBs (i.e., SSB #0, SSB #1, SSB #2, and SSB #3) via beam sweeping. The UE may select the beam(s) having a highest signal quality via receive beam sweeping. That is, the UE may select an SSB (i.e., SSB #1) considered the “best” in terms of signal quality relative to the other SSBs based on SSB measurements. Afterwards, the UE may indicate, to the cell, the SSB index associated with the selected transmit beam(s)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Park to the teachings of Horn and Yan. The motivation would be because aspects of the present disclosure relate generally to wireless communication systems, and more particularly, to coherent joint transmission for a multi-transmit and receive point (TRP) having a different physical cell identifier (PCID) by using a Type-II port selection codebook (¶0002, Park).
Re. Claim 4, Horn, Yan and Park teach Claim 3.
Horn further teaches the beam skipping sequence indication comprises an active time indication indicative of an active period, of the at least one beam skipping period, of the configured first beam skipping sequence (Fig. 4 & ¶0072 - In some cases, an SS burst set 405 or an SS burst 410 may be referred to as a discovery reference signal (DRS) transmission window or an SSB measurement time configuration (SMTC) window). Fig. 5 & ¶0079 - A number of SSBs transmitted on different half-slots during an SSB occasion may be confined to a predefined time window duration (e.g., a 5 millisecond (ms) window) and the number of SSBs form an SSB burst as described herein. ¶0080 - In some networks, the SSBs 505 may be periodic. For example, the network node may transmit the set 505A of SSBs at a first SSB occasion, transmit a set 505B of SSBs at a second SSB occasion, and a set 505C of SSBs at a third SSB occasion).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horn, Yan and Park, and further in view of Cao et al. (US2022/0141879A1), Cao hereinafter.
Re. Claim 5, Horn, Yan and Park teach Claim 3.
Horn further teaches being associated by the configured first beam skipping sequence with at least one non- skipped beam (Fig. 7);
Yet, Horn, Yan and Park do not explicitly teach the beam skipping sequence indication comprises a random-access occasion indication indicative of more than one random-access occasion.
However, in the analogous art, Cao explicitly teaches the beam skipping sequence indication comprises a random-access occasion indication indicative of more than one random-access occasion being associated by the configured first beam skipping sequence with at least one non- skipped beam (Fig. 4 & ¶0081 - It is to be understood that a RACH occasion (e.g., or RACH resource) may be selected from a number of RACH occasions (e.g., or RACH resources) configured by the base station 105-a in a control message (e.g., system information block (SIB)… Please see ¶0081);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Cao to the teachings of Horn, Yan and Park. The motivation would be because the invention pertains to generally to wireless communications and more specifically to random access channel (RACH) occasion configuration (¶0002, Cao).
Re. Claim 6, Horn, Yan, Park and Cao teach Claim 5.
Horn further teaches at least one non-skipped beam is geospatially adjacent to at least one skipped beam indicated by the configured first beam skipping sequence as being a skipped beam (Fig. 7 (Please see SSBs 705A - Beams 0-4, 6-7));
Yet, Horn, Yan and Park do not explicitly teach associated with the more than one random-access occasion…
However, in the analogous art, Cao explicitly teaches associated with the more than one random-access occasion (Fig. 4 & ¶0081 - It is to be understood that a RACH occasion (e.g., or RACH resource) may be selected from a number of RACH occasions (e.g., or RACH resources) configured by the base station 105-a in a control message (e.g., system information block (SIB)… Please see ¶0081);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Cao to the teachings of Horn, Yan and Park. The motivation would be because the invention pertains to generally to wireless communications and more specifically to random access channel (RACH) occasion configuration (¶0002, Cao).
Claims 10 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horn and Yan, and further in view of Jung et al. (US2021/0204178A1), Jung hereinafter.
Re. Claim 10, Horn and Yan teach Claim 9.
Yet, Horn does not explicitly teach the beam selection criterion is a first beam selection criterion, wherein the random-access occasion is a first random-access occasion, and wherein the first beam selection criterion is satisfied by the analyzed determined signal strength being higher than signal strengths corresponding to other of the at least one active beam indicated by the configured first beam skipping sequence as being a non-skipped beam.
However, in the analogous art, Yan explicitly teaches the beam selection criterion is a first beam selection criterion, (Fig. 4, 8 & ¶0085 - For example, a performance metric can be defined for and associated with each detected SSB beam);
and wherein the first beam selection criterion is satisfied by the analyzed determined signal strength being higher than signal strengths corresponding to other of the at least one active beam indicated by the configured first beam skipping sequence as being a non-skipped beam (Fig. 4, 8 & ¶0086 - The operation flow/algorithmic structure 800 may include, at 806, determining whether the performance metric of the best SSB beam is larger than a threshold. For example, the threshold includes an SSB measurement threshold (e.g., an SNR threshold and/or an RSRP threshold. Please also see ¶0088).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Yan to the teaching of Horn. The motivation would be because the disclosure describes a wireless standard (Fifth generation mobile network (5G)) that aims to improve upon data transmission speed, reliability, availability, and more (¶0002, Yan).
Yet, Horn and Yan do not explicitly teach wherein the random-access occasion is a first random-access occasion,
However, in the analogous art, Jung explicitly teaches the random-access occasion is a first random-access occasion, (Fig. 5 & ¶0082 - a random access channel occasion of a random access channel resource associated with the first downlink reference signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Jung to the teachings of Horn and Yan. The motivation would be because the invention pertains to efficiently selecting downlink reference signal (¶0005, Jung).
Re. Claim 16, Horn teaches Claim 15.
Yet, Horn does not explicitly teach the beam selection criterion is a first beam selection criterion, wherein the random-access resource is a first random-access resource, and wherein the first beam selection criterion is satisfied by the analyzed determined signal strength being higher than signal strengths corresponding to other beams that are indicated by the beam skipping sequence as being non-skipped beams.
However, in the analogous art, Yan explicitly teaches the beam selection criterion is a first beam selection criterion, (Fig. 4, 8 & ¶0085 - For example, a performance metric can be defined for and associated with each detected SSB beam);
and wherein the first beam selection criterion is satisfied by the analyzed determined signal strength being higher than signal strengths corresponding to other beams that are indicated by the beam skipping sequence as being non-skipped beams (Fig. 4, 8 & ¶0086 - The operation flow/algorithmic structure 800 may include, at 806, determining whether the performance metric of the best SSB beam is larger than a threshold. For example, the threshold includes an SSB measurement threshold (e.g., an SNR threshold and/or an RSRP threshold. Please also see ¶0088).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Yan to the teaching of Horn. The motivation would be because the disclosure describes a wireless standard (Fifth generation mobile network (5G)) that aims to improve upon data transmission speed, reliability, availability, and more (¶0002, Yan).
Yet, Horn and Yan do not explicitly teach wherein the random-access occasion is a first random-access occasion,
However, in the analogous art, Jung explicitly teaches the random-access occasion is a first random-access occasion, (Fig. 5 & ¶0082 - a random access channel occasion of a random access channel resource associated with the first downlink reference signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Jung to the teachings of Horn and Yan. The motivation would be because the invention pertains to efficiently selecting downlink reference signal (¶0005, Jung).
Re. Claim 17, Horn teaches Claim 15.
Yet, Horn does not explicitly teach the beam selection criterion is a second beam selection criterion, wherein the random-access resource is a second random- access resource, and wherein the second beam selection criterion is satisfied by the analyzed determined signal strength being higher than signal strengths corresponding to other beams that are indicated by the beam skipping sequence as being non-skipped beams and by the analyzed determined signal strength being lower than a configured signal strength threshold.
However, in the analogous art, Yan explicitly teaches the beam selection criterion is a second beam selection criterion, (Fig. 4, 8 & ¶0085 - For example, a performance metric can be defined for and associated with each detected SSB beam);
and wherein the second beam selection criterion is satisfied by the analyzed determined signal strength being higher than signal strengths corresponding to other beams that are indicated by the beam skipping sequence as being non-skipped beams (Fig. 6 & ¶0022 - If one of the SSB beams has a good SSB coverage (e.g., is associated with a performance metric that is greater than a metric threshold), the paging mechanism (e.g., including any or both of the page monitoring and page receiving) can be scheduled on that SSB beam);
and by the analyzed determined signal strength being lower than a configured signal strength threshold (¶0072 - In this case, SSB measurements on each SSB beam may indicate a low coverage quality (e.g., the SNR and/or RSRP determined based on measurement on the SSB received on each SSB beam are smaller than a measurement threshold));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Yan to the teaching of Horn. The motivation would be because the disclosure describes a wireless standard (Fifth generation mobile network (5G)) that aims to improve upon data transmission speed, reliability, availability, and more (¶0002, Yan).
Yet, Horn and Yan do not explicitly teach wherein the random-access resource is a second random-access resource,
However, in the analogous art, Jung explicitly teaches wherein the random-access resource is a second random-access resource, (Fig. 7 & ¶0094 - the method 700 comprises transmitting 704 information indicating frequency locations corresponding to the plurality of sets of synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel blocks by explicitly indicating the frequency locations, indicating the frequency locations using common resource block index values, indicating the frequency locations using physical resource block index values, or some combination thereof. ¶0059 - Each RACH resource may be associated with a SS/PBCH block or a CSI-RS resource. In various embodiments, a UE may select one or more dedicated RACH resources based on measurements of associated SS/PBCH blocks or CSI-RS resources (e.g., RSRP) for a contention-free random access).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Jung to the teachings of Horn and Yan. The motivation would be because the invention pertains to efficiently selecting downlink reference signal (¶0005, Jung).
Claims 11 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horn and Yan, and further in view of Cao.
Re. Claim 11, Horn and Yan teach Claim 9.
Yet, Horn does not explicitly teach the beam selection criterion is a second beam selection criterion, wherein the random-access occasion is a second random-access occasion, and wherein the second beam selection criterion is satisfied by the analyzed determined signal strength being lower than a configured signal strength threshold.
However, in the analogous art, Yan explicitly teaches the beam selection criterion is a second beam selection criterion, (Fig. 4, 8 & ¶0085 - For example, a performance metric can be defined for and associated with each detected SSB beam);
and wherein the second beam selection criterion is satisfied by the analyzed determined signal strength being lower than a configured signal strength threshold (Fig. 7 & ¶0080 - The comparison can indicate that the first measurement (e.g., the best SSB measurement) indicates an indirect SSB beam coverage (e.g., a low SNR condition and/or a low RSRP condition). This can be the case when the SSB measurement is lower than the SSB measurement threshold);
Yet, Horn and Yan do not explicitly teach the random-access occasion is a second random-access occasion,
However, in the analogous art, Cao explicitly teaches the random-access occasion is a second random-access occasion, (Fig. 4 & ¶0081 - It is to be understood that a RACH occasion (e.g., or RACH resource) may be selected from a number of RACH occasions (e.g., or RACH resources) configured by the base station 105-a in a control message (e.g., system information block (SIB)… Please see ¶0081);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Cao to the teachings of Horn and Yan. The motivation would be because the invention pertains to generally to wireless communications and more specifically to random access channel (RACH) occasion configuration (¶0002, Cao).
Re. Claim 19, Horn and Yan teach Claim 18.
Horn further teaches being associated by the configured first beam skipping sequence with at least one non-skipped beam (Fig. 7);
Yet, Horn and Yan do not explicitly teach the beam skipping sequence indication comprises a random-access occasion indication indicative of more than one random-access occasion;
However, in the analogous art, Cao explicitly teaches the beam skipping sequence indication comprises a random-access occasion indication indicative of more than one random-access occasion (Fig. 4 & ¶0081 - It is to be understood that a RACH occasion (e.g., or RACH resource) may be selected from a number of RACH occasions (e.g., or RACH resources) configured by the base station 105-a in a control message (e.g., system information block (SIB)… Please see ¶0081);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Cao to the teachings of Horn and Yan. The motivation would be because the invention pertains to generally to wireless communications and more specifically to random access channel (RACH) occasion configuration (¶0002, Cao).
Re. Claim 20, Horn, Yan and Cao teach Claim 19.
Horn further teaches at least one of the at least one non-skipped beam is geospatially adjacent to at least one of the at least one skipped beam (Fig. 7 – Please see (710E) Beam 4 and (710G) Beam 6 that are geospatially adjacent to skipped (710F) Beam 5).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horn, Yan and Cao, and further in view of Ganji et al. (V. S. S. Ganji, T. -H. Lin, F. A. Espinal and P. R. Kumar, "BeamSurfer: Minimalist Beam Management of Mobile mm-Wave Devices," in IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications, vol. 21, no. 11, pp. 8935-8949, Nov. 2022, doi: 10.1109/TWC.2022.3171189}), Ganji hereinafter.
Re. Claim 12, Horn, Yan and Cao teach 11.
Horn further teaches the at least one active beam is geospatially adjacent to at least one skipped beam indicated by the configured first beam skipping sequence as being a skipped beam, (Fig. 7);
Yet, Horn and Yan do not explicitly teach and wherein the transmitting of the random-access code via the second random-access occasion;
However, in the analogous art, Cao explicitly teaches and wherein the transmitting of the random-access code via the second random-access occasion (Fig. 4 & ¶0081 - It is to be understood that a RACH occasion (e.g., or RACH resource) may be selected from a number of RACH occasions (e.g., or RACH resources) configured by the base station 105-a in a control message (e.g., system information block (SIB)… Please see ¶0081);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Cao to the teachings of Horn and Yan. The motivation would be because the invention pertains to generally to wireless communications and more specifically to random access channel (RACH) occasion configuration (¶0002, Cao).
Yet, Horn, Yan and Cao do not explicitly teach is to be indicative to a radio access network node to select a configured second beam skipping sequence that does not indicate as a skipped beam the at least one skipped beam that is geospatially adjacent to the at least one active beam.
However, in the analogous art, Ganji explicitly teaches is to be indicative to a radio access network node to select a configured second beam skipping sequence that does not indicate as a skipped beam the at least one skipped beam that is geospatially adjacent to the at least one active beam (Fig. 2C, 3 & Page 4 - When receive beam k of the mobile gets misaligned, the adjacent receive beams k − 1 and k + 1 are a good starting point for re-aligning the beam. When receive beam adjustment by the mobile is not enough to compensate for mobility, the transmit beam needs to be changed. If the transmit beam n is misaligned, the neighboring transmit beams n − 1 and n+1 pointed in the adjacent directions are good starting points for re-aligning the transmit beam).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Ganji to the teachings of Horn, Yan and Cao. The motivation would be because it is important to manage beams to continually maintain high received signal strength and prevent outages (Ganji, Abstract).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horn, and further in view of Jung.
Re. Claim 14, Horn teaches Claim 13.
Horn further teaches being associated with at least one non-skipped beam corresponding to the beam skipping sequence (Fig. 7);
Yet, Horn does not explicitly teach the at least one synchronization signal comprises a random-access transmission indication indicative of more than one random-access resource;
However, in the analogous art, Jung explicitly teaches the at least one synchronization signal comprises a random-access transmission indication indicative of more than one random-access resource (Fig. 7 & ¶0094 - the method 700 comprises transmitting 704 information indicating frequency locations corresponding to the plurality of sets of synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel blocks by explicitly indicating the frequency locations, indicating the frequency locations using common resource block index values, indicating the frequency locations using physical resource block index values, or some combination thereof. ¶0059 - Each RACH resource may be associated with a SS/PBCH block or a CSI-RS resource. In various embodiments, a UE may select one or more dedicated RACH resources based on measurements of associated SS/PBCH blocks or CSI-RS resources (e.g., RSRP) for a contention-free random access).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Jung to the teaching of Horn. The motivation would be because the invention pertains to efficiently selecting downlink reference signal (¶0005, Jung).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALYSSA WILLIAMS whose telephone number is (571)270-7673. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached on (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ALYSSA WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2465B
/John Pezzlo/
Primary Examiner, AU 2465B
12 November 2025