DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of group I invention with species A1 (claims 1-12 and 20) in the reply filed on 10/30/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 13-19 are thus withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and a non-elected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/30/2025.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: instant specification describes the “a carbon hybridization ratio Psp3/Psp2 of at least about 0.0”, and “a carbon hybridization ratio Psp3/Psp2 of not greater than about 5.0” (see instant filed specification in the published application US2023/0278872 para. [0050]). But claim 10 recited range of a carbon hybridization ratio Psp3/Psp2 of at least about 4.0 encompass ranges outside of such described range of not being more than 5. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In this case, claim 1and 20 respectively recite “nanomaterial” and “nanosphere”, but one of ordinary skill in the art is uncertain what dimension or size of material or sphere can be considered as “nanomaterial” or nanosphere, such as 1-100 nm or 5-500 nm or 100-1000nm? Instant specification does not give a clear explanation what size of dimension of material or sphere being nanomaterial or nanosphere either. Therefore, such limitations render claim indefiniteness. All claim 1’s depending claims are rejected for similar reasons.
Claim 4-9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In this case, claim 4-9 and 20 recite phosphorous content being at least 2% or not being greater than 50%, or recite the carbon content being at least 60%, or not greater than 99%, or recite the oxygen content being at least 1% or not greater than about 35% based on elemental analysis of the carbon-based nanomaterial, but such chlorine content, oxygen content and carbon content has no basis, such as being mol percentage, weight percentage of volume percentage. Therefore, such content(s) renders claim indefiniteness.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim 1-3 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102((a) (1)) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Mahiko et al. (WO2020/195997) (for applicant’s convenience, English equivalent US2022/0185676 has been used for citations hereof).
Mahiko et al teaches a heteroatom-doped (specifically phosphorous-doped) nanodiamond comprising from 70 to 99% by mass of carbon wherein such nanodiamond having a shape preferably being spherical, ellipsoidal or polyhedral (para. [0047], example 9, 12, claim 11-12). Therefore, Mahiko et al. disclosed nanodiamond reads onto the instantly claimed a carbon-based nano material comprising phosphorous doped nanospheres.
Regarding claim 1, Mahiko et al. does not expressly teach the limitation of “formed from a forming mixture comprising a gas mixture and a phosphorous powder, wherein the gas mixture comprises a carbon-based gas, an oxygen gas, and a hydrogen gas”, such limitation is a product by process limitation”, even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (see MPEP§ 2113). In the instant case, Mahiko et al. already teaches a same or substantially the same carbon nanomaterial as that of instantly claimed.
Regarding claim 2-3, Mahiko et al. further teaches the heteroatom-doped nanodiamond having an average size of primary particles being from 2 to 70 nm, even more preferably even more preferably from 3 to 55 nm (para. [0038], [0053], table 2, claim 1).
Regarding claim 6-7, Mahiko et al. teaches the heteroatom-doped nanodiamond comprising from 70 to 99% by mass of carbon, more preferably from 80 to 97% by mass (para. [0054], claim 12).
Claim 4-5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Mahiko et al. (WO2020/195997) (for applicant’s convenience, English equivalent US2022/0185676 has been used for citations hereof).
Regarding claim 4-5, Mahiko et al. further discloses the heteroatom-doped nanodiamond comprising a heteroatom content preferably from 0.0001 to 10.0 mass % (para. [0058]), wherein such content overlapping with that of instantly claimed phosphorous content thus renders a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP §2144. 05 I).
Regarding claim 12, Mahiko et al. further discloses the heteroatom-doped nanodiamond having a ratio (D/G) preferably from 0.2 to 9, wherein D/G ratio overlaps with that of instantly claimed D/G ratio thus renders a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP §2144. 05 I).
Claim 1, 8-11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Sorensen et al. (US 2014/0335010 A1) in view of Mahiko et al. (WO2020/195997) (for applicant’s convenience, English equivalent US2022/0185676 has been used for citations hereof).
Sorensen teaches graphene powder having particle size of 35 to 250 nm (para. [0026], [0032]), wherein such powder comprising spherical particles (Fig. 6-7, para. [0052]). Sorensen also teaches a process for producing such graphene powder ( i.e. a carbon based nanomaterial) comprising providing a mixture comprising a combustible carbon-containing material and an oxidizing agent for graphene; and detonating said mixture at a temperature of at least 3000 K (i.e., about 2726.85°C), wherein the carbon containing material is a hydrocarbon, particularly preferably acetylene (i.e., a carbon-based gas, as well as a hydrogen containing gas, i.e., a hydrogen gas), and the oxidizing agent is selected from O2, N2O, NO, and mixtures thereof (i.e., an oxygen gas) ( claim 1, para. [0027], [0028]).
Regarding claim 1, Sorensen et al. does not expressly teach the obtained nanosphere being doped with phosphorus.
Mahiko et al. has been described as above. Mahiko et al. also teaches mixing a dry powder of heteroatom containing compound (e.g. phosphorus containing compound powder) under explosive condition (i.e. combustion) for forming such carbon nanomaterial (para. [0071], [0072], [0104], [0146], example 6 and 9).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt such well-known technique of adding phosphorus containing powder for obtaining a phosphorous doped carbon nanomaterial as shown by Mahiko et al. to modify the process of producing graphene powder of Sorensen et al. because applying a known technique of adding phosphorus containing powder obtaining a phosphorus doped carbon nanomaterial to a known process of producing graphene for improvement would yield predictable results (see MPEP §2143 KSR).
As for the claimed “formed from a forming mixture comprising a gas mixture and a phosphorous powder, wherein the gas mixture comprises a carbon-based gas, an oxygen gas, and a hydrogen gas”, Sorensen already teaches in view of Makiko et al. teaches such limitation as discussed above.
Regarding claim 8-9, Sorensen further teaches the obtained graphene material having a ratio of C to O being 49:1 (para. [0049]). Therefore, the elemental percentage of carbon is 49/(49+1) = 98% and the elemental percentage of oxygen is 1/(49+1) = 2%, which is within the claimed range.
Regarding 20, Sorensen et al. in view of Mahiko et al. already teaches all the limitations as discussed above.
Regarding claim 10-11, Sorensen et al does not expressly teach “a carbon hybridization ratio Psp3/Psp2 of at least about 4.0 or of not greater than about 5.0”.
However, Sorensen et al already teaches a substantially the same process as that instant application for combusting a gas mixture containing a carbon, oxygen and hydrogen under substantially the same temperature as that of instant application (see instant filed specification in the published application US2023/0278872 para.[0006], [0007], [0028], [0037]), while Mahiko et al. teaches that phosphorous (containing) powder can be added into such mixture for combusting to form a phosphorus doped carbon based nanomaterial. Therefore, Sorensen et al. in view of Mahiko et al. discloses a substantially the same process of producing a same or substantially the same carbon-based nano material doped with phosphorus as that of instant application, therefore, same or substantially the same properties as that of instantly claimed, i.e. “a carbon hybridization ratio Psp3/Psp2 of at least about 4.0”, “a carbon hybridization ratio Psp3/Psp2 of not greater than about 5.0” as those of instantly claimed would be expected.
Conclusion
/JUN LI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732