DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action is in response to application number 18/176,576 filed on 11/13/2025, in which
Claims 1-23 are presented for examination. Applicant amends Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-9, and 11-16, cancels Claims 3, 10, and 20, and adds new Claims 21-23.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/5/2023 has been received and considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 2-3 and 10-11, filed 11/13/2025, with respect to the objections to the drawings and the specification have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections to the drawings and specification set forth in the office action of 8/13/2025 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 4-9 and 11-12, filed 11/13/2025, with respect to the objections to the claims have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections to the claims set forth in the office action of 8/13/2025 have been withdrawn. However, Examiner would like to a note an objection to Claims 1, 8, and 15 for clarity of the claims. Further details are provided below.
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 12, filed 11/13/2025, with respect to the rejection of Claims 5-14 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of Claims 5-14 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in the office action of 8/13/2025 have been withdrawn. However, in light of the amendments to the claims a new rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is made for Claims 8-9, 11-19 and 22-23. Further details are provided below.
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 12, filed 11/13/2025, with respect to the rejection of Claims 1, 8, and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of Claims 1, 8, and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 101 set forth in the office action of 8/13/2025 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 12-16, filed 11/13/2025, with respect to the rejection of Claims 1, 8, and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and Claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive and further, are moot because they are directed to the amendments to Claims 1, 8, and 15.
Applicant argues that Claims 1, 8, and 15 are not obvious in view of the cited prior art, Ki Yon, Cronin, Huang, and Singer. Applicant explains that Huang and Singer disclose systems with different operating principles, and therefore, there is no motivation to combine the teachings of Huang and Singer with Ki-Yon. Applicant summarizes that Huang discloses a window defogging mechanism where the window is moved relative to fixed sponges and Singer discloses a system where a cleaning member is moved relative to a fixed window. Applicant further argues that an attempt to combine these references would result in a device unsatisfactory for its intended purposes (i.e. window cleaning). Applicant states that there is no explanation how the respective system would, or could, be combined with Ki-Yon to achieve the claimed invention and no apparent working device could result (i.e. would the combination result in a fixed window and fixed cleaning members or a moving window and moving cleaning members). Applicant cites MPEP 2143.01 (VI) and (V) and states that because the proposed combination would change the principle of operation of the references and/or result in a device unsatisfactory for its intended purpose and therefore, there is no motivation to combine the teachings of Huang and Singer with Ki Yon.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Original and amended independent Claims 1, 8, and 15 do not discuss relative movement of the window, cleaning members, or drying members and instead only discuss the arrangement of the system including a stowed or deployed position of the members. However, Claims 6 and 7, and related Claims 13-14 and 17-20, do discuss movement of the cleaning head and the window, reciting deploying or stowing the cleaning head or drying member and moving the window glass. The claim language does not define that the cleaning head or drying member must be fixed or otherwise restricted from also moving, instead the claim defines only that the members must be stowed and deployed, as taught by Singer, and that the window is moved, as taught by Huang.
Further, there is no restriction for utilizing stowable and deployable members as fixed, or moving, in any combination with a fixed, or moving, window. Although this could result in a combination of a fixed member and a fixed window, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to select a combination which includes at least one of a moving member or a moving window, including the combination which uses fixed members with a moving window, where the members are stowable and deployable, as recited in the application claims. Further the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed system and the systems of the prior art, Huang and Singer, are systems for cleaning a vehicle window using a form of cleaning elements. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would conclude that the claimed invention and prior art are in the same field of endeavor and reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor and further select a combination that is satisfactory for the problem faced, i.e. cleaning a vehicle window.
Reviewing the elements of Singer, for example FIGs. 20-30, there would be no restriction for combining the frame for stowing and deploying the members with the frame, members, and moving window of Huang, as shown in FIGs. 3-4. As stated in the rejection below, doing so would be technically feasible, where the movement of the window would not be impacted by any movement of a cleaning members, especially movement for stowing and deploying. Which the combination, as stated above, could include only the stowing and deploying element of Singer and the fixed members of Huang. Therefore, the resulting cleaning system would yield predictable results, where the features of Singer and the features of Huang would still be expected to perform as intended, individually or in the combined system.
Finally, for example as provided in the original rejection of Claim 3, using the design of Huang with a moving window utilizes an existing method where people try to clean their window by opening, or closing, it and further utilizes the existing space of the window. Using the design of Singer with stowable and deployable cleaning members allows only the required cleaning components to be engaged for the active cleaning step and further allows the components to be fully concealed when the cleaning system is not in use.
Applicant further argues dependent Claims 2, 4-7, 9, 11-14, and 16-19, including new Claims 21-23, are not disclosed or taught for the same reasons cited for independent Claims 1, 8, and 15 because the cited references do not satisfy a prima facie case of obviousness because all recited features are not disclosed or taught. Examiner respectfully disagrees for the reasons cited above and the original rejection set forth in the office action of 8/13/2025.
Therefore, in light of the amendments to the claims, the rejection for Claims 1, 8, and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 102 set forth in the office action of 8/13/2025 is withdrawn and an updated rejection for Claims 1-2, 4-9, and 11-19 is made under 35 U.S.C. 103. Additionally, in light of the new claims, a new rejection for Claims 21-23 is made under 35 U.S.C. 103. Further details are provided below.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8, and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 (line 19), Claim 8 (line 19), and Claim 15 (line 18): "dry/remove" is more clear as "dry or remove.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-9, 11-19, 22, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 (line 10) and Claim 15 (line 9) recites the limitation "the window glass.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, "the window glass" will be read as "the vehicle window glass.”
Claims 9, 11-14, 16-19, 22, and 23 are rejected by dependency on Claims 8 and 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ki Yon, KR-101878118-B1 (herein "Ki Yon"), in view of Huang, CN-107650633-A (herein "Huang") and Singer, PG Pub US-2018/0201229-A1 (herein "Singer").
Regarding Claim 1, Ki Yon discloses: A vehicle, comprising: one or more processors; and a non-transitory memory operatively coupled to the one or more processors comprising a set of instructions of computer-executable program code, which when executed by the one or more processors cause the vehicle to: execute window glass cleanliness analysis to determine cleanliness of vehicle window glass based on captured sensor data associated with a passenger cabin of the vehicle, stored data, and wireless communication network data. See [Ki Yon, pgs. 5-6, para 0050], which explains the control module uses stored data to compare with the measured sensor data, "[…] the control module 120 (or the first control unit 221) compares the predetermined reference light amount with the measured light amount to determine whether the front windshield is contaminated and drives the wiper device 130 It is possible to generate the first drive control signal. Here, the predetermined reference light amount may be measured and stored for the uncontaminated front windshield WINDOW, based on the material of the front windshield WINDOW, the kind of the coating material, the intensity of the first light generated in the light emitting portion 321, Can be set beforehand." See also [Ki Yon, pg. 6, para 0060], which explains that the system utilizes wirelessly shared data to determine and compare values, "[…] the field of view enhancement system 200 receives the measured illuminance values from other vehicles […] located near by the near field wireless communication […] The degree of transmission (or the degree of contamination) of the front windshield of the vehicle 100 can be calculated by comparing the illuminance value measured through the sensor 223 with the received illuminance value, and the wiper device 130 can be driven based on the calculated transmission degree." Finally see [Ki Yon, pg. 1, para 0008], which describes the vehicle and the field of improvement system,"[…] a bus having a front windshield capable of improving a driver's view through a washer function […] generates a transmittance signal by measuring the transmittance based on a change in the amount of light of the first light transmitted through the first region A sensor module for measuring an amount of natural light transmitted through the first area to generate an illuminance signal and measuring an incident angle of the second light transmitted through the first area to generate an incident angle signal; A control module for generating a first drive control signal based on the lane signal, the transmittance signal and the illuminance signal, and generating a second drive control signa l based on the illuminance signal and the incident angle signal; A liquid is sprayed to the outside of the first region by using a spraying device disposed adjacent to an outer periphery of the front windshield, and a blade adhered to an outer side of the front windshield is moved so that foreign substances existing outside the first region A wiper device for determining whether the spraying device is operating and the period of movement of the blade based on the first drive control signal."
Ki Yon, further discloses: cause, based on the window glass cleanliness analysis and a determination that the vehicle window glass is unclean, a cleaning sequence of the vehicle window glass. See [Ki Yon, pgs. 3-4, paras 0027-0029], which describes the sensors, control actions, and cleaning sequence. The cleaning sequence includes detecting rain, foreign matter, or the ambient light, generating a control signal, ejecting the liquid, and moving the blade, "[0027] The sensor module 110 is disposed inside the first region of the front windshield, and generates a rain signal […], an illuminance signal […]. Here, the first area may be a window-wiping area by the wiper device 130, or a moving area of the blades (or the wiper blade) included in the wiper device 130. [0028] The control module 120 generates a first drive control signal based on the lane signal, the transmittance signal, and the illuminance signal generated by the sensor module 110 […]. Here, the first drive control signal is used to control the operation of the wiper device 130 […]. [0029] The wiper device 130 ejects liquid to the outside of the first area using a spray device disposed adjacent to the outer surface of the front windshield, and blades […] are moved to remove foreign matter existing outside the first region, and it is possible to determine the operation of the atomizing device and the movement period of the blade based on the first drive control signal. […] additionally detects the presence or absence of a foreign matter such as dust or the like as a transmittance signal The signal indicating the presence, absence, amount, etc.) of the cleaning liquid." See also [Ki Yon, pgs. 6-7, paras 0062-0063], which describes the wiper controller, wiper arm and blade, and the first controller used to determine and calculate the cleaning signals, "[…] an example of an operating condition of the wiper device of FIG. 4, the wiper device 130 includes a wiper controller 410, a wiper motor 420, a ring rod 430, a wiper arm 440, a wiper blade 450 (or a blade), and an injector 460 ). The wiper controller 410 controls the time point at which power is supplied to the motor 420 […] based on the first operation control signal […] received from the first controller 221, Can be determined or calculated. […] the wiper blade 450 moves reciprocally in the first area AREA1 of the windshield WINDOW to remove moisture and foreign matter from the windshield WINDOW have. The atomizer 460 may be configured to include a liquid tank for storing a separate liquid and a jetting device for jetting liquid from the liquid tank through the nozzle."
Ki Yon does not disclose: […] and a window glass cleaning system arranged in an internal space defined by support panels that support the vehicle window glass, the window glass cleaning system including: a cleaning solution reservoir to contain a cleaning solution; one or more cleaning members in fluidic communication with the cleaning solution reservoir, the one or more cleaning members moveable between a stowed position and a deployed position to apply the cleaning solution to a surface of the vehicle window glass during the cleaning sequence; and a drying member, moveable between a stowed position and a deployed position to dry/remove the cleaning solution from the surface of the vehicle window glass during the cleaning sequence.
However, Huang teaches: […] and a window glass cleaning system arranged in an internal space defined by support panels that support the vehicle window glass. See [Huang, FIG. 5], which shows a cross section of a door with an internal space that holds the window glass and cleaning members, where the window has been moved down into the door for cleaning.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Ki Yon with Huang to enclose the window glass cleaning system in the door. Doing so utilizes an existing method where people try to clean their window by opening, or closing, it even when it is not effective and using this design utilizes the existing space of the window [Huang, pg. 1].
However, Singer teaches: the window glass cleaning system including: a cleaning solution reservoir to contain a cleaning solution; one or more cleaning members in fluidic communication with the cleaning solution reservoir, the one or more cleaning members moveable between a stowed position and a deployed position to apply the cleaning solution to a surface of the vehicle window glass during the cleaning sequence; and a drying member, moveable between a stowed position and a deployed position to dry/remove the cleaning solution from the surface of the vehicle window glass during the cleaning sequence. See [Singer, pg. 2, para 0021], which describes the device components including a brush, a wiper blade, and a spray bar which move across the windshield. Further, it describes the washer fluid reservoir which is in fluid communication with the spray bar. And finally, it describes the storage doors for storing or releasing, the components in, or from, the frame, "A first drive mechanism moves the brush, wiper blade and spray bar on the tracks across the windshield and back, from the starting side to the return side and back to the starting side. A second drive mechanism rotates the brush as it moves across the windshield from the starting side to the return side to clean debris from the windshield, with the brush preferably not rotating as it moves from the return side to the starting side. The spray bar has a first fluid channel in fluid communication with a pump and a washer fluid reservoir and has a second fluid channel in fluid communication with an air reservoir and an air compressor. When the storage door opens, the spray bar rotates to a position near the brush and windshield and between the brush and the return side, with the pump actuated to spray water through the first fluid channel and first spray nozzles onto the windshield as the brush is rotated and moved from the storage side to the return side." See also [Singer, pg. 2, para 0023], which further describes the spray bar and wiper blade, for drying and squeegeeing off the water, "As the first drive mechanism moves the cleaning mechanism from the return side to the starting side, the air from the second channel of the spray bar blows water and debris off the windshield and the wiper blade acts like a squeegee to wipe water from the windshield. When the spray bar reaches the starting side and the starting frame, it rotates to a generally vertical storage position as the wiper blade and brush enter the left side of the frame and the flow of air through the second channel is shut off. When the brush is within the starting side frame, the starting side door and return side doors close." Finally see [Singer, pg. 11, paras 0113-0114], which further explain the storage cover and how the spray bar, brush, and wiper blade are stored in the frame, "[0113] As shown in FIG. 31, when the spray bar 156 reaches the starting side frame 148 the spray bar is moved to a storage position so the spray bar, brush 152 and wiper blade 154 may fit within the starting side frame 147 with the cover closed over the starting side frame 148. […]. [0114] An appropriate control system may be advantageously provided to open and close the covers 170, move the spray bar 154 to its first, second and storage positions at the appropriate time and location, start and stop rotation of the brush 152 at the appropriate time and location, start and stop the flow of washer fluid to and through the first spray nozzles 160a, start and stop the flow of air to and through the second spray nozzles 160b, start, stop and reverse the movement of the top and bottom carriers 132, 134 (and connected brush, spray bar and wiper blade)."
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Ki Yon with Singer to include a cleaning solution reservoir with cleaning solution and cleaning and drying members that can be stowed or deployed. Using a solution with a cleaning member allows difficult debris to removed that cannot be removed with a standard washing system [Singer, pg. 1 para 0005]. Further, doing so allows the cleaning components to move across the windshield as a unit only engaging the required components for the active cleaning step and it allows the components to be fully concealed when the cleaning system is not in use [Singer, pg. 3, para 0026].
Regarding Claim 8, Ki Yon discloses: A computer program product comprising at least one non-transitory computer readable medium having a vehicle, stored data, and wireless communication network data. See [Ki Yon, pgs. 5-6, para 0050], which explains the control module uses stored data to compare with the measured sensor data. See also [Ki Yon, pg. 6, para 0060], which explains that the system utilizes wirelessly shared data to determine and compare values. Finally see [Ki Yon, pg. 1, para 0008], which describes the vehicle and the field of improvement system, including a washing function for the windshield, a transmittance and illuminance sensor and signal, and a control module for controlling the cleaning method when the sensor readings indicate foreign substances on the windshield.
Ki Yon further discloses: cause, based on the window glass cleanliness analysis and a determination that the vehicle window glass is unclean, a cleaning sequence of the vehicle window glass. See [Ki Yon, pgs. 3-4, paras 0027-0029], which describes the sensors, control actions, and cleaning sequence. The cleaning sequence includes detecting rain, foreign matter, or the ambient light, generating a control signal, ejecting the liquid, and moving the blade. See also [Ki Yon, pgs. 6-7, paras 0062-0063], which further describes the wiper controller, wiper arm and blade, and the first controller used to determine and calculate the cleaning signals.
Ki Yon does not disclose: wherein the window glass is situated proximate to a window glass cleaning system, the window glass cleaning system arranged in an internal space defined by support panels that support the vehicle window glass, the window glass cleaning system including: a cleaning solution reservoir to contain a cleaning solution; one or more cleaning members in fluidic communication with the cleaning solution reservoir, the one or more cleaning members moveable between a stowed position and a deployed position to apply the cleaning solution to a surface of the vehicle window glass during the cleaning sequence; and a drying member, moveable between a stowed position and a deployed position to dry/remove the cleaning solution from the surface of the vehicle window glass during the cleaning sequence.
However, Huang teaches: wherein the window glass is situated proximate to a window glass cleaning system, the window glass cleaning system arranged in an internal space defined by support panels that support the vehicle window glass. See [Huang, FIG. 5], which shows a cross section of a door with an internal space that holds the window glass and cleaning members, where the window has been moved down into the door for cleaning.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Ki Yon with Huang to enclose the window glass cleaning system in the door. Doing so utilizes an existing method where people try to clean their window by opening, or closing, it even when it is not effective and using this design utilizes the existing space of the window [Huang, pg. 1].
However, Singer teaches: the window glass cleaning system including: a cleaning solution reservoir to contain a cleaning solution; one or more cleaning members in fluidic communication with the cleaning solution reservoir, the one or more cleaning members moveable between a stowed position and a deployed position to apply the cleaning solution to a surface of the vehicle window glass during the cleaning sequence; and a drying member, moveable between a stowed position and a deployed position to dry/remove the cleaning solution from the surface of the vehicle window glass during the cleaning sequence. See [Singer, pg. 2, para 0021], which describes the device components including a brush, a wiper blade, and a spray bar which move across the windshield. Further, it describes the washer fluid reservoir which is in fluid communication with the spray bar which sprays the window. And finally, it describes the storage doors for storing or releasing, the components in, or from, the frame. See also [Singer, pg. 2, para 0023], which further describes the spray bar and wiper blade, for drying and squeegeeing off the water. Finally see [Singer, pg. 11, paras 0113-0114], which further explain the storage cover and how the spray bar, brush, and wiper blade are stored in the frame.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Ki Yon with Singer to include a cleaning solution reservoir with cleaning solution and cleaning and drying members that can be stowed or deployed. Using a solution with a cleaning member allows difficult debris to removed that cannot be removed with a standard washing system [Singer, pg. 1 para 0005]. Further, doing so allows the cleaning components to move across the windshield as a unit only engaging the required components for the active cleaning step and it allows the components to be fully concealed when the cleaning system is not in use [Singer, pg. 3, para 0026].
Regarding Claim 15, Ki Yon discloses: A computer-implemented method, comprising: executing, by one or more processors of a computing device associated with a vehicle, window glass cleanliness analysis to determine cleanliness of vehicle window glass based on captured sensor data associated with a passenger cabin of the vehicle, stored data, and wireless communication network data. See [Ki Yon, pgs. 5-6, para 0050], which explains the control module uses stored data to compare with the measured sensor data. See also [Ki Yon, pg. 6, para 0060], which explains that the system utilizes wirelessly shared data to determine and compare values. Finally see [Ki Yon, pg. 1, para 0008], which describes the vehicle and the field of improvement system, including a washing function for the windshield, a transmittance and illuminance sensor and signal, and a control module for controlling the cleaning method when the sensor readings indicate foreign substances on the windshield.
Ki Yon further discloses: causing, by the one or more processors based on the window glass cleanliness analysis and a determination that the vehicle window glass is unclean, a cleaning sequence of the vehicle window glass. See [Ki Yon, pgs. 3-4, paras 0027-0029], which describes the sensors, control actions, and cleaning sequence. The cleaning sequence includes detecting rain, foreign matter, or the ambient light, generating a control signal, ejecting the liquid, and moving the blade. See also [Ki Yon, pgs. 6-7, paras 0062-0063], which further describes the wiper controller, wiper arm and blade, and the first controller used to determine and calculate the cleaning signals.
Ki Yon does not disclose: wherein the window glass is situated proximate to a window glass cleaning system, the window glass cleaning system arranged in an internal space defined by support panels that support the vehicle window glass, the window glass cleaning system including: a cleaning solution reservoir containing a cleaning solution; one or more cleaning members in fluidic communication with the cleaning solution reservoir, the one or more cleaning members moveable between a stowed position and a deployed position to apply the cleaning solution to a surface of the vehicle window glass during the cleaning sequence; and a drying member, moveable between a stowed position and a deployed position to dry/remove the cleaning solution from the surface of the vehicle window glass during the cleaning sequence.
However, Huang teaches: wherein the window glass is situated proximate to a window glass cleaning system, the window glass cleaning system arranged in an internal space defined by support panels that support the vehicle window glass. See [Huang, FIG. 5], which shows a cross section of a door with an internal space that holds the window glass and cleaning members, where the window has been moved down into the door for cleaning.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Ki Yon with Huang to enclose the window glass cleaning system in the door. Doing so utilizes an existing method where people try to clean their window by opening, or closing, it even when it is not effective and using this design utilizes the existing space of the window [Huang, pg. 1].
However, Singer teaches: the window glass cleaning system including: a cleaning solution reservoir to contain a cleaning solution; one or more cleaning members in fluidic communication with the cleaning solution reservoir, the one or more cleaning members moveable between a stowed position and a deployed position to apply the cleaning solution to a surface of the vehicle window glass during the cleaning sequence; and a drying member, moveable between a stowed position and a deployed position to dry/remove the cleaning solution from the surface of the vehicle window glass during the cleaning sequence. See [Singer, pg. 2, para 0021], which describes the device components including a brush, a wiper blade, and a spray bar which move across the windshield. Further, it describes the washer fluid reservoir which is in fluid communication with the spray bar which sprays the window. And finally, it describes the storage doors for storing or releasing, the components in, or from, the frame. See also [Singer, pg. 2, para 0023], which further describes the spray bar and wiper blade, for drying and squeegeeing off the water. Finally see [Singer, pg. 11, paras 0113-0114], which further explain the storage cover and how the spray bar, brush, and wiper blade are stored in the frame.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Ki Yon with Singer to include a cleaning solution reservoir with cleaning solution and cleaning and drying members that can be stowed or deployed. Using a solution with a cleaning member allows difficult debris to removed that cannot be removed with a standard washing system [Singer, pg. 1 para 0005]. Further, doing so allows the cleaning components to move across the windshield as a unit only engaging the required components for the active cleaning step and it allows the components to be fully concealed when the cleaning system is not in use [Singer, pg. 3, para 0026].
Claims 2, 4-7, 9, 11-14 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ki Yon, in view of Huang and Singer, and further in view of Cronin et al., PG Pub US-2018/0266834-A1 (herein "Cronin").
Regarding Claim 2, Ki Yon discloses the limitations of Claim 1.
Ki Yon discloses: captured light intensity data relating to an amount of ambient or natural light that enters the passenger cabin through the vehicle window glass. See again [Ki Yon, pg. 1, para 0008], which describes the transmittance and illuminance signals generated by the sensor module to measure the amount of natural light, “[…] generates a transmittance signal by measuring the transmittance based on a change in the amount of light of the first light transmitted through the first region A sensor module for measuring an amount of natural light transmitted through the first area to generate an illuminance signal and measuring an incident angle of the second light transmitted through the first area to generate an incident angle signal […].” See also [Ki Yon, pg. 2, para 0010], which explains the sensor module includes a transmittance and illuminance sensor, “[…] the sensor module includes a rain sensor for generating the rain signal; A transmittance sensor for generating a transmittance signal; An illuminance sensor for generating the illuminance signal; And a light incident angle sensor for generating the incident angle signal […].”
Ki Yon does not disclose: image data relating to one or more images of the passenger cabin, captured biometric attribute data relating to one or more biometric attributes of a driver of the vehicle.
However, Cronin teaches: image data relating to one or more images of the passenger cabin, captured biometric attribute data relating to one or more biometric attributes of a driver of the vehicle. See [Cronin, pg. 4, para 0086], which explains that the vehicle collects information, including from sensors, "Vehicle information 220 may be information obtained by the autonomous vehicle 100. For example, the vehicle information 220 may include at least one of vehicle communication information 232 that is obtained by the autonomous vehicle 100 through communication, vehicle sensing information 242 that is sensed by sensors included in the autonomous vehicle 100, vehicle storage information 252 that is stored in a storage medium of the autonomous vehicle 100, and vehicle generation information (not shown) generated by the autonomous vehicle 100." Also see, [Cronin, pg. 4, para 0088], which explains that the vehicle sensing information includes various biometric sensors and an image sensor, "The vehicle sensing information 242 may include information obtained from at least one sensor included in the autonomous vehicle 100. The autonomous vehicle 100 may include one or more sensors. For example, the autonomous vehicle 100 may include a pulse rate sensor, a blood pressure sensor, a blood sugar sensor, a respiration rate sensor, a blood alcohol content sensor, […], […], a voice recognition sensor, a pupil recognition sensor, a biometric signature sensor, a state recognition sensor, a fatigue recognition sensor, […], or the like. However, the sensors included in the autonomous vehicle 100 are not limited thereto. […] The vehicle sensor may include a device for detecting internal or external environments of a vehicle or detecting actions of a driver." Finally see [Cronin, pg. 16, para 0325], which explains that the autonomous vehicle associates the biometric or device information with various systems, including peripheral systems such as wipers, "[…] the autonomous vehicle 100 may determine guidelines for associating the biometric information, the schedule information, the surrounding situation information, […] or the like included in the device information 210 and/or the vehicle information 220 with the navigation device 5130, the drive system 5100 […], the internal lighting device 5331 […], external lighting […], […], other peripheral devices (e.g., the wipers 5320, the turn signals 5334, the touch screen 5361, the sensor device 5200, etc.), or the like, based on the user input. However, the present disclosure is not limited thereto," and [Cronin, pg. 17, para 0336], which further explains the control of the peripheral functions, "The vehicle function 17100 may include a peripheral device function 18110. For example, the peripheral device function 18110 may include a navigation function, a geo-fence function, a light function, a wiper function, a speaker function, […], or the like. However, the vehicle function 17100 is not limited thereto."
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Ki Yon with Cronin to include collecting biometric and image sensor data. Doing so allows the vehicle experience generated to align with the user and what they are familiar with and ensure that the vehicle is operated in a safe way, using all available data points [Cronin, pg. 1, para 0002-0004].
Regarding Claim 4, Ki Yon as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 2.
Ki Yon does not disclose: the one or more cleaning members comprise a porous cleaning head that is mounted for rotation about an axis, the porous cleaning head having a width that corresponds to the width of the vehicle window glass.
However, Singer discloses: the one or more cleaning members comprise a […] cleaning head that is mounted for rotation about an axis, the […] cleaning head having a width that corresponds to the width of the vehicle window glass. See [Singer, FIGs. 22-24, pg. 2, para 0020], which describes the cleaning system including a rotatable brush, that extends the full length of the window, “The cleaning system has a rotatable brush, a wiper blade and a spray bar (with spray nozzles along its length) are contained in the starting side frame so those parts can extend between the top and bottom of the windshield as they move from a starting side of the windshield to the opposing, return side of the windshield.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Ki Yon with Singer to include a rotating cleaning head the length of the window. Doing so improves the known wiping mechanism, which can be inefficient at cleaning on hardened debris and increases the surface area which is cleaned [Singer, pg. 1, paras 0004-0005].
Singer does not teach using a porous cleaning head, however, Huang teaches: porous cleaning head. See [Huang, pg. 1], which explains that the cleaning components include a sponge, “The device consists of two parallel windows, and a sponge cleaning mechanism for wiping the window surface of the vehicle window is installed in the door, and an air inlet for connecting the hot air of the engine compartment is designed inside the mechanism.
Substituting the brush of Singer with the sponge of Huang results in a predictable outcome of cleaning the window surface as supported by Huang [pg. 1]. Therefore, as stated in MPEP § 2143(I)(B), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the teachings of Singer with Huang to incorporate a sponge, instead of a brush.
Regarding Claim 5, Ki Yon as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 4.
Ki Yon further discloses: cause the vehicle to cause […] the cleaning solution reservoir to wet the one or more cleaning members. See again [Ki Yon, pgs. 3-4, paras 0027-0029], which explains that the first control signal is generated in response to detecting foreign matter. See [Ki Yon, pgs. 6-7, paras 0062-0063], which describes that in response a control signal from first controller, the liquid is sprayed through the injector of the wiper, "[…] an example of an operating condition of the wiper device of FIG. 4, the wiper device 130 includes a wiper controller 410, a wiper motor 420, a ring rod 430, a wiper arm 440, a wiper blade 450 (or a blade), and an injector 460 ). The wiper controller 410 controls the time point at which power is supplied to the motor 420 […] based on the first operation control signal […] received from the first controller 221, Can be determined or calculated. […] the wiper blade 450 moves reciprocally in the first area AREA1 of the windshield WINDOW to remove moisture and foreign matter from the windshield WINDOW have. The atomizer 460 may be configured to include a liquid tank for storing a separate liquid and a jetting device for jetting liquid from the liquid tank through the nozzle."
Regarding Claim 6, Ki Yon as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 5.
Ki Yon does not disclose: moving the porous cleaning head to the deployed position in response to the wetting of the one or more cleaning members, and moving the vehicle window glass in a first direction to engage and cause rotation of the porous cleaning head and thereby apply the cleaning solution on the surface of the vehicle window glass.
However, Singer teaches: moving the […] cleaning head to the deployed position in response to the wetting of the one or more cleaning members, and moving […] in a first direction to engage and cause rotation of the […] cleaning head and thereby apply the cleaning solution on the surface of the vehicle window glass. See also [Singer, pg. 3, para 0026], which explains that the method can include moving the spray bar, brush, and wiper together across the window. Further, it explains that from the starting position to the return position the spray bar and brush are engaged to spray the cleaning solution and engage the brush with the window. And finally, it explains that from the return position back to the start position, the brush is disengaged and the spray bar and wiper are engaged to dry and remove the cleaning solution from the surface, “There is also provided a method of cleaning the outer surface of a motor vehicle windshield having a starting side and opposing return side. The method comprises the steps rotating a spray bar to a first position between a brush and the return side of the windshield and adjacent the windshield. […]The method may include rotating the brush while it is in contact with the outer surface of the windshield to clean the windshield while flowing a washing fluid through the first channel and first plurality of spray nozzles […]. The method advantageously moves that rotating brush and spray bar from the start side to the finish side of the windshield while maintaining the rotating brush in contact with the outer surface of the windshield to clean the windshield. The method may further move a wiper blade from the start side to the finish side of the windshield while the wiper blade extends between the top and bottom of the windshield but is not in contact with the windshield. The method advantageously stops the flow of washing fluid through the first channel and first plurality of spray nozzles when the spray bar is at the return side of the windshield. The method may include rotating the spray bar to a second position with the second plurality of spray nozzles adjacent the windshield and between the start side of the windshield and the wiper blade. The wiper is placed in contact with the windshield, rotation of the brush is stopped and air is flowed through the second channel and second plurality of spray nozzles at a pressure sufficient to deflect water away from the wiper blade. The method advantageously moves the wiper blade, spray bar and brush from the return side to the starting side with the wiper blade in contact with the windshield and the brush not in contact with the windshield."
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Ki Yon with Singer to include moving the cleaning component, such as a brush, in one direction as the cleaning solution is applied. Doing so allows difficult debris to be removed that cannot be removed with a standard washing system [Singer, pg. 1 para 0005] and further allows the cleaning members to components to move across the windshield as a unit only engaging the required components for the active cleaning step. Additionally it allows the components to be fully concealed when the cleaning system is not in use [Singer, pg. 3, para 0026].
Singer does not teach using a porous cleaning head or moving the window glass, however, Huang teaches: […] porous cleaning head […], and moving the vehicle window glass […] porous cleaning head […]. See [Huang, pg. 1], which explains that the cleaning components, including the sponge and wringing device, are engaged with the window, and the driver lowers the window to clean the window, “The cleaning mechanism includes a window cleaning component and a wringing device. When the window is lowered into the interior of the vehicle door, the cleaning component is in contact with both sides of the vehicle window. The cleaning mechanism includes a cleaning member and a wringing lever fixed at one end of the cleaning member. When the window needs to be cleaned, the driver lowers the window through the switch, and the window is lowered into the middle of the cleaning mechanism in the door groove through the cleaning mechanism. The cleaning part works together with the hot air inlet to clear the fog on the windows. The second window cleaning works in the same way as the first window.” See also [Huang, pg. 15], which further explains that the control system detects the window position and activates the cleaning system appropriately, “The control system controls the start-up of the wringing lever; when the corresponding window detection device 24 at the top of the corresponding window does not detect that the corresponding window is closed, the wringing screw is stopped. The accumulated water on the sponge 5 can be rotated on the wringing stem 23 provided on the door slot side of the door 17. The wrung screw 23 is directly locked with the sponge 5 through the door 17 and the other end of the sponge 5 is fixed. Then, the affixing device is fixed to the groove wall. When the sponge 5 needs to be wrung out, the window closing detection device 24 sends a signal to the vehicle control system, and the sponge 5 is rotated by the rotation rod in the direction of the rotation of the rotation rod so as to rotate through the squeezing rotation.”
Substituting the brush of Singer with the sponge of Huang results in a predictable outcome of cleaning the window surface as supported by Huang [pg. 1]. Therefore, as stated in MPEP § 2143(I)(B), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the teachings of Singer with Huang to incorporate a sponge, instead of a brush.
Further, as stated in MPEP § 2143(I)(A), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to incorporate the cleaning system of Singer with the moving window cleaning system of Huang into a combined system. Doing so would be technically feasible, with no inventive effort. Furthermore, the resulting cleaning system would yield predictable results, where the components of Singer and the components of Huang would be expected to work as intended, with each component in the combined system performing the same.
Regarding Claim 7, Ki Yon as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 6.
Ki Yon does not disclose: moving the porous cleaning head to the stowed position and the drying member to the deployed position in response to applying the cleaning solution on the surface of the vehicle window glass, and moving the vehicle window glass, in response to applying the cleaning solution on the surface of the vehicle window glass, in a second direction opposite to the first direction to engage the drying member and thereby dry the surface of the vehicle window glass.
However, Singer teaches: moving the […] cleaning head to the stowed position and the drying member to the deployed position in response to applying the cleaning solution on the surface of the vehicle window glass, and moving […], in response to applying the cleaning solution on the surface of the vehicle window glass, in a second direction opposite to the first direction to engage the drying member and thereby dry the surface of the vehicle window glass. See again [Singer, pg. 3, para 0026], which explains that the method can include moving the spray bar, brush, and wiper together across the window. Further, it explains that from the starting position to the return position the spray bar and brush are engaged to spray the cleaning solution and engage the brush with the window. And finally, it explains that from the return position back to the start position, the brush is disengaged and the spray bar and wiper are engaged to dry and remove the cleaning solution from the surface.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Ki Yon with Singer to include a moving the cleaning component, such as a brush, in one direction as the cleaning solution is applied. Doing so allows difficult debris to be removed that cannot be removed with a standard washing system [Singer, pg. 1 para 0005] and further allows the cleaning members to components to move across the windshield as a unit only engaging the required components for the active cleaning step. Additionally it allows the components to be fully concealed when the cleaning system is not in use [Singer, pg. 3, para 0026].
Singer does not teach using a porous cleaning head or moving the window glass, however, Huang teaches: […] the porous cleaning head […], and moving the vehicle window glass […]. See [Huang, pg. 1], which explains that the cleaning components, including the sponge and wringing device, are engaged with the window, and the driver lowers the window to clean the window. See also [Huang, pg. 15], which further explains that the control system detects the window position and activates the cleaning system appropriately.
Substituting the brush of Singer with the sponge of Huang results in a predictable outcome of cleaning the window surface as supported by Huang [pg. 1]. Therefore, as stated in MPEP § 2143(I)(B), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the teachings of Singer with Huang to incorporate a sponge, instead of a brush.
Further, as stated in MPEP § 2143(I)(A), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to incorporate the cleaning system of Singer with the moving window cleaning system of Huang into a combined system. Doing so would be technically feasible, with no inventive effort. Furthermore, the resulting cleaning system would yield predictable results, where the components of Singer and the components of Huang would be expected to work as intended, with each component in the combined system performing the same.
Regarding Claim 9, Ki Yon as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 8.
Ki Yon further discloses: […] captured light intensity data relating to an amount of ambient or natural light that enters the passenger cabin through the vehicle window glass. See again [Ki Yon, pg. 1, para 0008], which describes the transmittance and illuminance signals generated by the sensor module to measure the amount of natural light and [Ki Yon, pg. 2, para 0010], which explains the sensor module includes a transmittance and illuminance sensor.
Ki Yon does not disclose: image data relating to one or more images of the passenger cabin, captured biometric attribute data relating to one or more biometric attributes of a driver of the vehicle […].
However, Cronin teaches: image data relating to one or more images of the passenger cabin, captured biometric attribute data relating to one or more biometric attributes of a driver of the vehicle […]. See [Cronin, pg. 4, para 0086], which explains that the vehicle collects information, including from sensors and [Cronin, pg. 4, para 0088], which explains that the vehicle sensing information includes various biometric sensors and an image sensors. Finally see [Cronin, pg. 16, para 0325], which explains that the autonomous vehicle associates the biometric or device information with various systems, including peripheral systems such as wipers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Ky Yon with Cronin to include collecting biometric and image sensor data. Doing so allows the experience generated to align with the user and what they are familiar with and ensure that the vehicle is operated in a safe way using all available data points [Cronin, pg. 1, para 0002-0004].
Regarding Claim 11, Ki Yon as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 9.
Ki Yon does not disclose: the one or more cleaning members comprise a porous cleaning head that is mounted for rotation about an axis, the porous cleaning head having a width that corresponds to the width of the vehicle window glass.
However, Singer discloses: the one or more cleaning members comprise a […] cleaning head that is mounted for rotation about an axis, the […] cleaning head having a width that corresponds to the width of the vehicle window glass. See [Singer, FIGs. 22-24, pg. 2, para 0020], which describes the cleaning system, including a rotatable brush, that extends the full length of the window
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Ki Yon with Singer to include a rotating cleaning head the length of the window. Doing so improves the known wiping mechanism, which can be inefficient at cleaning on hardened debris and increases the surface area which is cleaned [Singer, pg. 1, paras 0004-0005].
Singer does not teach using a porous cleaning head, however, Huang teaches: porous cleaning head. See [Huang, pg. 1], which explains that the cleaning components include a sponge.
Substituting the brush of Singer with the sponge of Huang results in a predictable outcome of cleaning the window surface as supported by Huang [pg. 1]. Therefore, as stated in MPEP § 2143(I)(B), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the teachings of Singer with Huang to incorporate a sponge, instead of a brush.
Regarding Claim 12, Ki Yon as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 11.
Ki Yon further discloses: cause the computing device to cause […] the cleaning solution reservoir to wet the one or more cleaning members. See again [Ki Yon, pgs. 3-4, paras 0027-0029], which explains that the first control signal is generated in response to detecting foreign matter. See [Ki Yon, pgs. 6-7, paras 0062-0063], which describes that in response a control signal from first controller, the liquid is sprayed through the injector of the wiper.
Regarding Claim 13, Ki Yon as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 12.
Ki Yon does not disclose: moving the porous cleaning head to the deployed position in response to the wetting of the one or more cleaning members, and moving the vehicle window glass in a first direction to engage and cause rotation of the porous cleaning head and thereby apply the cleaning solution on the surface of the vehicle window glass.
However, Singer teaches: moving the […] cleaning head to the deployed position in response to the wetting of the one or more cleaning members, and moving […] in a first direction to engage and cause rotation of the […] cleaning head and thereby apply the cleaning solution on the surface of the vehicle window glass. See also [Singer, pg. 3, para 0026], which explains that the method can include moving the spray bar, brush, and wiper together across the window. Further, it explains that from the starting position to the return position the spray bar and brush are engaged to spray the cleaning solution and engage the brush with the window. And finally, it explains that from the return position back to the start position, the brush is disengaged and the spray bar and wiper are engaged to dry and remove the cleaning solution from the surface.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Ki Yon with Singer to include a moving the cleaning component, such as a brush, in one direction as the cleaning solution is applied. Doing so allows difficult debris to be removed that cannot be removed with a standard washing system [Singer, pg. 1 para 0005] and further allows the cleaning members to components to move across the windshield only engaging the required components for the active cleaning step. Additionally it allows the components to be fully concealed when the cleaning system is not in use [Singer, pg. 3, para 0026].
Singer does not teach using a porous cleaning head or moving the window glass, however, Huang teaches: […] porous cleaning head […], and moving the vehicle window glass […] porous cleaning head […]. See [Huang, pg. 1], which explains that the cleaning components, including the sponge and wringing device, are engaged with the window, and the driver lowers the window to clean the window. See also [Huang, pg. 15], which further explains that the control system detects the window position and activates the cleaning system appropriately.
Substituting the brush of Singer with the sponge of Huang results in a predictable outcome of cleaning the window surface as supported by Huang [pg. 1]. Therefore, as stated in MPEP § 2143(I)(B), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the teachings of Singer with Huang to incorporate a sponge, instead of a brush.
Further, as stated in MPEP § 2143(I)(A), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to incorporate the cleaning system of Singer with the moving window cleaning system of Huang into a combined system. Doing so would be technically feasible, with no inventive effort. Furthermore, the resulting cleaning system would yield predictable results, where the components of Singer and the components of Huang would be expected to work as intended, with each component in the combined system performing the same.
Regarding Claim 14, Ki Yon as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 13.
Ki Yon does not disclose: moving the porous cleaning head to the stowed position and the drying member to the deployed position in response to applying the cleaning solution on the surface of the vehicle window glass, and moving the vehicle window glass, in response to applying the cleaning solution on the surface of the vehicle window glass, in a second direction opposite the first direction to engage the drying member and thereby dry the surface of the vehicle window glass.
However, Singer teaches: moving the […] cleaning head to the stowed position and the drying member to the deployed position in response to applying the cleaning solution on the surface of the vehicle window glass, and moving […], in response to applying the cleaning solution on the surface of the vehicle window glass, in a second direction opposite the first direction to engage the drying member and thereby dry the surface of the vehicle window glass. See again [Singer, pg. 3, para 0026], which explains that the method can include moving the spray bar, brush, and wiper together across the window. Further, it explains that from the starting position to the return position the spray bar and brush are engaged to spray the cleaning solution and engage the brush with the window. And finally, it explains that from the return position back to the start position, the brush is disengaged and the spray bar and wiper are engaged to dry and remove the cleaning solution from the surface.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Ki Yon with Singer to include a moving the cleaning component, such as a brush, in one direction as the cleaning solution is applied. Doing so allows difficult debris to be removed that cannot be removed with a standard washing system [Singer, pg. 1 para 0005] and further allows the cleaning members to components to move across the windshield only engaging the required components for the active cleaning step. Additionally it allows the components to be fully concealed when the cleaning system is not in use [Singer, pg. 3, para 0026].
Singer does not teach using a porous cleaning head or moving the window glass, however, Huang teaches: […] the porous cleaning head […], and moving the vehicle window glass […]. See [Huang, pg. 1], which explains that the cleaning components, including the sponge and wringing device, are engaged with the window, and the driver lowers the window to clean the window. See also [Huang, pg. 15], which further explains that the control system detects the window position and activates the cleaning system appropriately.
Substituting the brush of Singer with the sponge of Huang results in a predictable outcome of cleaning the window surface as supported by Huang [pg. 1]. Therefore, as stated in MPEP § 2143(I)(B), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the teachings of Singer with Huang to incorporate a sponge, instead of a brush.
Further, as stated in MPEP § 2143(I)(A), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to incorporate the cleaning system of Singer with the moving window cleaning system of Huang into a combined system. Doing so would be technically feasible, with no inventive effort. Furthermore, the resulting cleaning system would yield predictable results, where the components of Singer and the components of Huang would be expected to work as intended, with each component in the combined system performing the same.
Regarding Claim 16, Ki Yon as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 15.
Ki Yon further discloses: captured light intensity data relating to an amount of ambient or natural light that enters the passenger cabin through the vehicle window glass. See again [Ki Yon, pg. 1, para 0008], which describes the transmittance and illuminance signals generated by the sensor module to measure the amount of natural light and [Ki Yon, pg. 2, para 0010], which explains the sensor module includes a transmittance and illuminance sensor.
Ki Yon does not disclose: image data relating to one or more images of the passenger cabin, captured biometric attribute data relating to one or more biometric attributes of a driver of the vehicle.
However, Cronin teaches: image data relating to one or more images of the passenger cabin, captured biometric attribute data relating to one or more biometric attributes of a driver of the vehicle. See [Cronin, pg. 4, para 0086], which explains that the vehicle collects information, including from sensors and [Cronin, pg. 4, para 0088], which explains that the vehicle sensing information includes various biometric sensors and an image sensors. Finally see [Cronin, pg. 16, para 0325], which explains that the autonomous vehicle associates the biometric or device information with various systems, including peripheral systems such as wipers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Ky Yon with Cronin to include collecting biometric and image sensor data. Doing so allows the experience generated to align with the user and what they are familiar with and ensure that the vehicle is operated in a safe way using all available data points [Cronin, pg. 1, para 0002-0004].
Regarding Claim 17, Ki Yon as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 16.
Ki Yon does not disclose: moving a porous cleaning head to a deployed position, and moving vehicle window glass in a first direction to engage and cause rotation of the porous cleaning head and thereby apply a cleaning solution on a surface of the vehicle window glass.
However, Singer teaches: moving a […] cleaning head to a deployed position, and moving […] in a first direction to engage and cause rotation of the […] cleaning head and thereby apply a cleaning solution on a surface of the vehicle window glass. See also [Singer, pg. 3, para 0026], which explains that the method can include moving the spray bar, brush, and wiper together across the window. Further, it explains that from the starting position to the return position the spray bar and brush are engaged to spray the cleaning solution and engage the brush with the window. And finally, it explains that from the return position back to the start position, the brush is disengaged and the spray bar and wiper are engaged to dry and remove the cleaning solution from the surface.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Ki Yon with Singer to include a moving the cleaning component, such as a brush, in one direction as the cleaning solution is applied. Doing so allows difficult debris to be removed that cannot be removed with a standard washing system [Singer, pg. 1 para 0005] and further allows the cleaning members to components to move across the windshield as a unit only engaging the required components for the active cleaning step. Additionally it allows the components to be fully concealed when the cleaning system is not in use [Singer, pg. 3, para 0026].
Singer does not teach using a porous cleaning head or moving the window glass, however, Huang teaches: […] porous cleaning head […], and moving vehicle window glass […] porous cleaning head […]. See [Huang, pg. 1], which explains that the cleaning components, including the sponge and wringing device, are engaged with the window, and the driver lowers the window to clean the window. See also [Huang, pg. 15], which further explains that the control system detects the window position and activates the cleaning system appropriately.
Substituting the brush of Singer with the sponge of Huang results in a predictable outcome of cleaning the window surface as supported by Huang [pg. 1]. Therefore, as stated in MPEP § 2143(I)(B), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the teachings of Singer with Huang to incorporate a sponge, instead of a brush.
Further, as stated in MPEP § 2143(I)(A), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to incorporate the cleaning system of Singer with the moving window cleaning system of Huang into a combined system. Doing so would be technically feasible, with no inventive effort. Furthermore, the resulting cleaning system would yield predictable results, where the components of Singer and the components of Huang would be expected to work as intended, with each component in the combined system performing the same.
Regarding Claim 18, Ki Yon as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 17.
Ky Yon does not disclose: moving the porous cleaning head to a stowed position and a drying member to a deployed position in response to applying the cleaning solution on the surface of the vehicle window glass.
However, Singer teaches: moving the […] cleaning head to a stowed position and a drying member to a deployed position in response to applying the cleaning solution on the surface of the vehicle window glass. See again [Singer, pg. 3, para 0026], which explains that the method can include moving the spray bar, brush, and wiper together across the window. Further, it explains that from the starting position to the return position the spray bar and brush are engaged to spray the cleaning solution and engage the brush with the window. And finally, it explains that from the return position back to the start position, the brush is disengaged and the spray bar and wiper are engaged to dry and remove the cleaning solution from the surface.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Ki Yon with Singer to include a moving the cleaning component, such as a brush, in one direction as the cleaning solution is applied. Doing so allows difficult debris to be removed that cannot be removed with a standard washing system [Singer, pg. 1 para 0005] and further allows the cleaning members to components to move across the windshield as a unit only engaging the required components for the active cleaning step. Additionally it allows the components to be fully concealed when the cleaning system is not in use [Singer, pg. 3, para 0026].
Singer does not teach using a porous cleaning head, however, Huang teaches: […] the porous cleaning head. See [Huang, pg. 1], which explains that the cleaning components include a sponge.
Substituting the brush of Singer with the sponge of Huang results in a predictable outcome of cleaning the window surface as supported by Huang [pg. 1]. Therefore, as stated in MPEP § 2143(I)(B), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the teachings of Singer with Huang to incorporate a sponge, instead of a brush.
Regarding Claim 19, Ki Yon as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 18.
Ki Yon does not disclose: moving the vehicle window glass, in response to applying the cleaning solution on an interior surface, in a second direction opposite to the first direction to engage the drying member and thereby dry the surface of the vehicle window glass.
However, Singer teaches: moving […], in response to applying the cleaning solution on an interior surface, in a second direction opposite to the first direction to engage the drying member and thereby dry the surface of the vehicle window glass. See again [Singer, pg. 3, para 0026], which explains that the method can include moving the spray bar, brush, and wiper together across the window. Further, it explains that from the starting position to the return position the spray bar and brush are engaged to spray the cleaning solution and engage the brush with the window. And finally, it explains that from the return position back to the start position, the brush is disengaged and the spray bar and wiper are engaged to dry and remove the cleaning solution from the surface.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Ki Yon with Singer to include a moving the cleaning component, such as a brush, in one direction as the cleaning solution is applied. Doing so allows difficult debris to be removed that cannot be removed with a standard washing system [Singer, pg. 1 para 0005] and further allows the cleaning members to components to move across the windshield only engaging the required components for the active cleaning step. Additionally it allows the components to be fully concealed when the cleaning system is not in use [Singer, pg. 3, para 0026].
Singer does not teach using moving the window glass, however, Huang teaches: moving the vehicle window glass […]. See [Huang, pg. 1], which explains that the cleaning components, including the sponge and wringing device, are engaged with the window, and the driver lowers the window to clean the window. See also [Huang, pg. 15], which further explains that the control system detects the window position and activates the cleaning system appropriately.
As stated in MPEP § 2143(I)(A), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to incorporate the cleaning system of Singer with the moving window cleaning system of Huang into a combined system. Doing so would be technically feasible, with no inventive effort. Furthermore, the resulting cleaning system would yield predictable results, where the components of Singer and the components of Huang would be expected to work as intended, with each component in the combined system performing the same.
Claims 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ki Yon, in view of Huang, Singer, and Cronin, and further in view of Katz et al., WO-2020/006154-A2 (herein "Katz").
Regarding Claim 21, Ki Yon as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 2.
Ki Yon does not explicitly disclose: wherein the biometric attributes include one or more ocular characteristics, and wherein the determination that the vehicle window glass is unclean is based on a detected change in pupil size. However, [Ki Yon, pgs. 5-6, para 0050], does explain that the control module uses stored data to compare with the measured sensor data to determine window glass cleanliness, including based on light levels.
However, Cronin teaches: wherein the biometric attributes include one or more ocular characteristics, and wherein the determination […] is based on a detected change in pupil […]. See [Cronin, pg. 4, para 0086], which explains that the vehicle collects information, including from sensors. Also see [Cronin, pg. 4, para 0088], which explains that the vehicle sensing information includes various biometric sensors, such as a pupil recognition sensor, "The vehicle sensing information 242 may include information obtained from at least one sensor included in the autonomous vehicle 100. The autonomous vehicle 100 may include one or more sensors. For example, the autonomous vehicle 100 may include […], a pupil recognition sensor, a biometric signature sensor, […], a vehicle sensor (e.g., […], an outside illumination detection sensor, a surrounding recognition sensor, etc.), or the like. […]. The vehicle sensor may include a device for detecting internal or external environments of a vehicle or detecting actions of a driver." See also [Cronin, pg. 7, para 0122], which explains that the vehicle modifies its systems based on the biometric signals, "The autonomous vehicle 100 may determine control parameters of internal lighting included in the autonomous vehicle 100 in accordance with the device information 210 including biometric signals indicating that the user reads a book and the vehicle information 220 including external illumination information of the autonomous vehicle 100," and again [Cronin, pg. 16, para 0325], which further explains that the autonomous vehicle associates the biometric or device information with various systems, including peripheral systems such as wipers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Ki Yon with Cronin to include collecting biometric attributes including ocular characteristics, such as a change in the pupil, to make a determination. Doing so allows for appropriate control of autonomous vehicle features based on accurate vehicle control information [Cronin, pgs. 2, paras 0058-0059], which can be obtained from vehicle sensing information [Cronin, pg. 4, paras 0086 and 0090], where the vehicle features include control parameters beyond autonomous navigation such as vehicle functions including heating or cooling, windows, or lighting [Cronin, pg. 5, para 0099]. And further ensure that the vehicle is operated in a safe way, using all available data points [Cronin, pg. 1, para 0002-0004], which can include information sensed from a biometric sensor [Cronin, pg. 4, para 0088].
However, Katz teaches: [… one or more ocular characteristics, and wherein the determination … is … based on] a detected change in pupil size. See [Katz, pg. 7, para 0041], which explains that machine learning systems used to provide inputs to the vehicle can include recognizing gaze, iris, pupil, blinking, or pupil dilation changes, “Machine learning components can be used to detect facial atributes including head pose, gaze, face and facial atributes 3D location, facial expression, facial landmarks including: […], iris, pupil, a[…]; facial actions including: […], blinking, pupil dilation, […]; […].” See also [Katz, pg. 10, para 0062], which explains that the vehicle module can determine environmental and driving conditions, “Module 230G can determine environmental conditions and/or driving, etc.,” and [Katz, pgs. 11-12, para 0067], which further explains that the environmental conditions can be analyzed including determining light changes in the environment and light directed at the driver’s eyes, “By way of further illustration, in certain implementations the described technologies can be configured to analyze environmental/road conditions to determine suggested/required attention level(s), threshold(s), etc. (e.g., via a neural network and/or utilizing one or more machine learning techniques), in order for a driver to navigate a vehicle safely. Environmental or road conditions can include, but are not limited to: […], and/or changes in light conditions (e.g., sunlight or vehicle light directed towards the eyes of the driver, sudden darkness when entering a tunnel, etc.). […]. Analyzing environmental or road conditions can be accounted for in determining a minimum time interval and/or likelihood time that it may take for a driver to be able to perceive a vehicle traveling on the same side or another side of the road, e.g., in a scenario in which such a vehicle is present on a portion of the road to which the driver is approaching but may not be presently visible to the driver due to an obstruction or sharp turn. By way of further example, the condition(s) can be accounted for in determining the required attention and/or time (e.g., a minimum time) that a driver/vehicle may need to maneuver (e.g., slow down, stop, move to the side, etc.) in a scenario in which the vehicle traveling on the other side of the road is not driving in its lane, or a vehicle driving in the same direction and in the same lane but at a much slower speed.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Ki Yon with Katz to use pupil size as an ocular characteristic for making a determination. Doing so allows for identification of vehicle environmental conditions, including light level reaching the driver’s eyes [Katz, pgs. 11-12, para 0067], which is important for considering a driver’s visibility and to ensure that the driver can navigate safely within the environmental conditions [Katz, pg. 1, para 0003].
Regarding Claim 22, Ki Yon as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 9.
Ki Yon does not disclose: wherein the biometric attributes include one or more ocular characteristics, and wherein the determination that the vehicle window glass is unclean is based on a detected change in pupil size. However, [Ki Yon, pgs. 5-6, para 0050], does explain that the control module uses stored data to compare with the measured sensor data to determine window glass cleanliness, including based on light levels.
However, Cronin teaches: wherein the biometric attributes include one or more ocular characteristics, and wherein the determination […] is based on a detected change in pupil […]. See [Cronin, pg. 4, para 0086], which explains that the vehicle collects information, including from sensors. Also see [Cronin, pg. 4, para 0088], which explains that the vehicle sensing information includes various biometric sensors, such as a pupil recognition sensor. See also [Cronin, pg. 7, para 0122], which explains that the vehicle modifies its systems based on the biometric signals and again [Cronin, pg. 16, para 0325], which further explains that the autonomous vehicle associates the biometric or device information with various systems, including peripheral systems such as wipers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Ki Yon with Cronin to include collecting biometric attributes including ocular characteristics, such as a change in the pupil, to make a determination. Doing so allows for appropriate control of autonomous vehicle features based on accurate vehicle control information [Cronin, pgs. 2, paras 0058-0059], which can be obtained from vehicle sensing information [Cronin, pg. 4, paras 0086 and 0090], where the vehicle features include control parameters beyond autonomous navigation such as vehicle functions including heating or cooling, windows, or lighting [Cronin, pg. 5, para 0099]. And further ensure that the vehicle is operated in a safe way, using all available data points [Cronin, pg. 1, para 0002-0004], which can include information sensed from a biometric sensor [Cronin, pg. 4, para 0088].
However, Katz teaches: [… one or more ocular characteristics, and wherein the determination … is … based on] a detected change in pupil size. See [Katz, pg. 7, para 0041], which explains that machine learning systems used to provide inputs to the vehicle can include recognizing gaze, iris, pupil, blinking, or pupil dilation changes. See also [Katz, pg. 10, para 0062], which explains that the vehicle module can determine environmental and driving conditions and [Katz, pgs. 11-12, para 0067], which further explains that the environmental conditions can be analyzed including determining light changes in the environment and light directed at the driver’s eyes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Ki Yon with Katz to use pupil size as an ocular characteristic for making a determination. Doing so allows for identification of vehicle environmental conditions, including light level reaching the driver’s eyes [Katz, pgs. 11-12, para 0067], which is important for considering a driver’s visibility and to ensure that the driver can navigate safely within the environmental conditions [Katz, pg. 1, para 0003].
Regarding Claim 23, Ki Yon as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 16.
Ki Yon does not disclose: wherein the biometric attributes include one or more ocular characteristics, and wherein the determination that the vehicle window glass is unclean is based on a detected change in pupil size. However, [Ki Yon, pgs. 5-6, para 0050], does explain that the control module uses stored data to compare with the measured sensor data to determine window glass cleanliness, including based on light levels.
However, Cronin teaches: wherein the biometric attributes include one or more ocular characteristics, and wherein the determination […] is based on a detected change in pupil […]. See [Cronin, pg. 4, para 0086], which explains that the vehicle collects information, including from sensors. Also see [Cronin, pg. 4, para 0088], which explains that the vehicle sensing information includes various biometric sensors, such as a pupil recognition sensor. See also [Cronin, pg. 7, para 0122], which explains that the vehicle modifies its systems based on the biometric signals and again [Cronin, pg. 16, para 0325], which further explains that the autonomous vehicle associates the biometric or device information with various systems, including peripheral systems such as wipers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Ki Yon with Cronin to include collecting biometric attributes including ocular characteristics, such as a change in the pupil, to make a determination. Doing so allows for appropriate control of autonomous vehicle features based on accurate vehicle control information [Cronin, pgs. 2, paras 0058-0059], which can be obtained from vehicle sensing information [Cronin, pg. 4, paras 0086 and 0090], where the vehicle features include control parameters beyond autonomous navigation such as vehicle functions including heating or cooling, windows, or lighting [Cronin, pg. 5, para 0099]. And further ensure that the vehicle is operated in a safe way, using all available data points [Cronin, pg. 1, para 0002-0004], which can include information sensed from a biometric sensor [Cronin, pg. 4, para 0088].
However, Katz teaches: [… one or more ocular characteristics, and wherein the determination … is … based on] a detected change in pupil size. See [Katz, pg. 7, para 0041], which explains that machine learning systems used to provide inputs to the vehicle can include recognizing gaze, iris, pupil, blinking, or pupil dilation changes. See also [Katz, pg. 10, para 0062], which explains that the vehicle module can determine environmental and driving conditions and [Katz, pgs. 11-12, para 0067], which further explains that the environmental conditions can be analyzed including determining light changes in the environment and light directed at the driver’s eyes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Ki Yon with Katz to use pupil size as an ocular characteristic for making a determination. Doing so allows for identification of vehicle environmental conditions, including light level reaching the driver’s eyes [Katz, pgs. 11-12, para 0067], which is important for considering a driver’s visibility and to ensure that the driver can navigate safely within the environmental conditions [Katz, pg. 1, para 0003].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.M.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3664 /KITO R ROBINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664