Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to application filed on 3/2/26. Claims 1-16 are pending.
Abstract analysis: Synchronization is performed between two distinct servers using generated update log information. Claims are statutory and compliant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Novakovic et al (USPN. 2018/0025043).
Regarding claims 1 and 16, Novakovic discloses an information processing apparatus and medium establishing data synchronization with a second information processing apparatus, the information processing apparatus comprising (figs. 1-3):
a processor configured to: register, in information processing apparatus update log information, identification information on groups each including related data among data updated in the information processing apparatus (figs. 1, 3 and 4, Servers 201 and 202, par. 30, update logs, graph update log is generated by server 201 comprising related updated data, see processor);
in response to reception of second information processing apparatus update log information including identification information on a group including related data among data updated in the second information processing apparatus (figs. 2 and 3, pars. 29-30, server 202 retrieves graph update log 231 and utilizes the updated values in computing the graph update for graph portion 226), perform a synchronization process by checking the second information processing apparatus update log information against the information processing apparatus update log information (pars. 29-30, synchronization is performed during the computing the graph update), the synchronization process establishing synchronization on data forming each synchronization target group, the synchronization target group being one of the groups and as a synchronization target by the identification information thereof (figs. 4 and 5, server 201 receives graph update logs from other server generated specifically for server 201 via notifications between the servers, see item 508 wherein the graph update logs generated between the servers are updated to shared memory);
and delete the identification information on the synchronization target group from the information processing apparatus update log information if synchronization is established on all data forming the synchronization target group and the identification information on the synchronization target group is included in the information processing apparatus update log information (figs. 4, 5 and 6, items 508, 510 and 622, and par. 41, graph processing instructions cause notifications to other servers that graph update log has been flushed among each server).
2. Novakovic discloses information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to, if the synchronization target group is included in both the information processing apparatus update log information and the second information processing apparatus update log information (fig. 2, graph portions 225 and 226, Server 1 and Server 2), establish synchronization in the synchronization process by exchanging the data forming the synchronization target group (fig. 5, items 504 and 506, pars. 34-36, generate a graph update log by batching the vertex updates of the two servers).
3. Novakovic discloses information processing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the processor is configured to, if data of a specific data item is included in but has different contents in the information processing apparatus update log information and in the second information processing apparatus update log information, make an adjustment to establish synchronization on the data of the specific data item in accordance with a predetermined rule (fig. 5, items 504 and 506, pars. 34-36, generate a graph update log by batching the vertex updates of the two servers, see par. 29, rules followed for specific graph portions of two different servers).
4. Novakovic discloses information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to, if a group included in the information processing apparatus update log information but not included in the second information processing apparatus update log information is present, provide an instruction in the synchronization process to establish synchronization by transmitting data forming the group included in the information processing apparatus update log information but not included in the second information processing apparatus update log information to the second information processing apparatus (fig. 2, par. 30, server includes a computation phase, flush phase and retrieval phase, relevant vertex updates other graph server processing graph portions and send notifications. Note that dependent on the graph portion processed relative vertex updates are performed).
5. Novakovic discloses information processing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the processor is configured to, after receiving from the second information processing apparatus a notification that synchronization of all data forming the synchronization target group has been normally established, delete the identification information on the synchronization target group from the information processing apparatus update log information (figs. 5 and 6, par. 40, flushing update graph to a predetermined memory location of the shared memory).
6. Novakovic discloses information processing apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the processor is configured to, after receiving from the second information processing apparatus a notification that synchronization of all data forming the synchronization target group has been normally established, delete the identification information on the synchronization target group from the information processing apparatus update log information (fig. 2 and 3, par. 30-31, server includes a computation phase, flush phase and retrieval phase, relevant vertex updates other graph server processing graph portions and send notifications. Figure 4 shows flushing a graph update log to alternating location in shared memory).
7. Novakovic discloses information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to, if a group included in the second information processing apparatus update log information but not included in the information processing apparatus update log information is present, establish synchronization in the synchronization process by receiving data forming the group included in the second information processing apparatus update log information but not included in the information processing apparatus update log information from the second information processing apparatus (fig. 2, par. 30, server includes a computation phase, flush phase and retrieval phase, relevant vertex updates other graph server processing graph portions and send notifications. Note that dependent on the graph portion processed relative vertex updates are performed between the server 1 and server 2).
8. Novakovic discloses information processing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the processor is configured to transmit to the second information processing apparatus a notification that synchronization of all the data forming the synchronization target group has been normally established (fig. 5, item 510, notify server about respective updates and flushed data).
9. Novakovic discloses information processing apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the processor is configured to transmit to the second information processing apparatus a notification that synchronization of all the data forming the synchronization target group has been normally established (fig. 5, item 510, notify second graph processing server that update log has been flushed).
10. Novakovic discloses information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to, if data to be included in the synchronization target group is updated in the information processing apparatus with the synchronization target group being in a present synchronization process, determine whether to establish synchronization on the updated data in the present synchronization process in accordance with a predetermined condition (figs. 2 and 6, graph processing item 622, par. 30, server includes a computation phase, flush phase and retrieval phase, relevant vertex updates other graph server processing graph portions and send notifications. Note that dependent on the graph portion processed relative vertex updates are performed between the server 1 and server 2. Also, the retrieval phase and computational phase consider relevant graph portions to a number of servers and use shared memory).
11. Novakovic discloses information processing apparatus establishing data synchronization with a second information processing apparatus, comprising: a processor configured to (fig. 1, par. 9, processing logic and device):
register, in update log information, identification information on groups each including related data among data updated in the information processing apparatus (figs. 3 and 4, Servers 201 and 202, par. 30, update logs, graph update log is generated by server 201 comprising related updated data);
transmit the update log information to the second information processing apparatus at a start of a synchronization process of the data (figs. 2 and 3, pars. 23 and 24, server 201 flushes graph update log 231 to for server 202); and
perform in response to the transmission of the update log information the synchronization process on each synchronization target group specified by the second information processing apparatus to establish synchronization on data forming the synchronization group, the synchronization target group being one of the groups (figs. 4 and 5, server 201 receives graph update logs from other server generated specifically for server 201 via notifications between the servers, see item 508 wherein the graph update logs generated between the servers are updated to shared memory, note that synchronization is performed during the computing the graph update, pars. 29-30).
12. Novakovic discloses information processing apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the processor is configured to, if the identification information on the synchronization target group has been registered in the update log information, delete the identification information on the synchronization target group from the update log information after the synchronization process is normally completed (figs. 5 and 6, par. 40, flushing update graph to a predetermined memory location of the shared memory).
13. Novakovic discloses information processing apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the processor is configured to, if the synchronization process is normally completed, transmit a notification of a normal completion to the second information processing apparatus (fig. 5, item 510, notifications sent).
14 and 15. Novakovic discloses information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the second information processing apparatus is formed on a cloud (par. 9, servers comprising a data center).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/2/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. See remarks below:
Applicant alleges the registration on groups in update log are not taught by the prior art.
Examiner disagrees.
The relevant portion of the office action reads,
“a processor configured to: register, in information processing apparatus update log information, identification information on groups each including related data among data updated in the information processing apparatus (figs. 1, 3 and 4, Servers 201 and 202, par. 30, update logs, graph update log is generated by server 201 comprising related updated data, see processor)”.
Novakovic discloses “flush specifically generated graph update logs respectively including relevant vertex updates for other graph processing servers processing adjacent graph portions” (par. 30) and “the graph processing server 201 may batch updated vertex values (or other graph updates) computed for the graph portion 225 and affecting the adjacent graph portion 226 (par. 23). The log whether it’s built with “batch updated vertex values” or updated with “flush… generated graph update logs… for other graph processing servers” comprises updating storage/or registering in the information log identifying information regarding different graph processing servers comprisisng relevant/updated (vertex) values, which reads on the present set of claims.
Applicant alleges the prior art does not perform a sync process by checking received update log information against update log information.
Examiner disagrees.
The relevant portion of the office action reads,
“perform a synchronization process by checking the second information processing apparatus update log information against the information processing apparatus update log information (pars. 29-30, synchronization is performed during the computing the graph update), the synchronization process establishing synchronization on data forming each synchronization target group, the synchronization target group being one of the groups and as a synchronization target by the identification information thereof (figs. 4 and 5, server 201 receives graph update logs from other server generated specifically for server 201 via notifications between the servers, see item 508 wherein the graph update logs generated between the servers are updated to shared memory)”.
Sharing log updates between the different servers comprises synchronizing data when the computing of the graph updates is performed and shared among the servers.
All allegations are believed moot.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure in the field of data synchronizing:
USPN. 2023/0008732 par. 43 updating log files.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
May 1, 2026
/MARCIN R FILIPCZYK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2153