DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 12/08/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-18 remain pending in the
application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 9-12, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over Lennart Axelsson (US 20020182945 A1 – hereinafter Axelsson) in view
of Robert N. Taylor (DE 102007016968 A1 – hereinafter Taylor).
Regarding claim 1, Axelsson teaches a cutting device for cutting an initial product,
including an insulator (Fig. 1, Carrier Strip 12) and a plurality of groups of terminals (Fig. 1,
Terminals 10) fixed on the insulator, into a plurality of products, comprising: a base (Fig. 1,
platform on which Die 14 sits), defining: a slot (Fig. 1, the slot in which Die 14 sits); and a first
positioning slot (Fig. 1, back half of the rightmost notch on top of Die 14) adapted to position
one of the terminals of the initial product; a cutter seat (Fig. 1, Die 14) inserted into one of the
plurality of slots and defining a blade slit (Fig. 1, leftmost slit on the top of Die 14); and a cutter
(Fig. 1, Cutting Implement 32) adapted to be inserted into the blade slit to cut the insulator of the initial product to form the product, the cutter seat having an insulator positioning notch formed (Fig. 1, front half of the rightmost notch on top of Die 14) on a top of the cutter seat (Fig. 1, Die 14) and adapted to position the insulator of the initial product to be cut.
Axelsson fails to teach that there is a plurality of slots, and that the first positioning slot is
located in an inner sidewall of each of these slots.
However, Taylor teaches a machine used to cut insulation wherein the base (Fig. 13B,
First Insulation Displacement Connection 1310) has a plurality of slots (Fig. 13B, slots in Rail
Fittings 1320-1323), and there is a first positioning slot (Fig. 13B larger triangular slots at the
base of slots 1318a and 1318b) located in an inner sidewall of each of the plurality of slots. Taylor also teaches a second positioning slot (Fig. 13B, slots 1338a and 1338b) corresponding to the first positioning slot formed on an outer sidewall of a cutter seat, the second positioning slot cooperating with the corresponding first positioning slot to position a portion of the initial product to be cut.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date to modify the cutting device to have a plurality of slots as taught by Taylor.
Doing so is beneficial as it allows multiple workpieces to be secured and processed (Taylor, Page
14 para 1). It would have also been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date to modify the first positioning slot to be located in an inner sidewall of each of the
plurality of slots as taught by Taylor as a matter of combining prior art elements according to
known methods to yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143). In this case, the predictable result
is the first positioning slot residing on an inner sidewall of each of the plurality of slots.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date to modify the combination of Axelsson and Taylor to include a second
positioning slot corresponding to the first positioning slot formed on an outer sidewall of the
cutter seat, the second positioning slot cooperating with the corresponding first positioning slot
to position a portion of the initial product to be cut. Doing so is beneficial as the second
positioning slot helps to control the size of the opening between the first positioning slot and the
second positioning slot (Taylor, Page 13 para 6).
Regarding claim 4, Axelsson further teaches the cutting device according to claim 3,
wherein the slot (Fig. 1, the slot in which Die 14 sits) and the blade slit (Fig. 1, leftmost slit on
the top of Die 14) extend in a vertical direction and a first horizontal direction, the first
positioning slot (Fig. 1, back half of the rightmost notch on top of Die 14) extends in the vertical
direction, and the insulator positioning notch (Fig. 1, front half of the rightmost notch on top of
Die 14) penetrates through the cutter seat (Fig. 1, Die 14) in a second horizontal direction
perpendicular to the first horizontal direction (see modified Fig. 1 below for a visual of the three
directions).
Regarding claim 5, Axelsson further teaches the cutting device according to claim 4,
wherein the base comprises a first end and a second end opposite each other in the second
horizontal direction.
The existing combination of Axelsson and Taylor fails to teach that the plurality of slots
are arranged side by side between the first end and the second end along the second horizontal
direction.
However, it can be seen in Taylor that the plurality of slots (Fig. 13B, slots in Rail
Fittings 1320-1323) are arranged side by side between the first end (Fig. 13B, leftmost end of
First Insulation Displacement Connection 1310) and the second end (Fig. 13B, rightmost end of
First Insulation Displacement Connection 1310) along a second horizontal direction (Fig. 13B,
direction defined between the first end and the second end).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date to modify the plurality of slots of the combination of Axelsson and Taylor such that the plurality of slots are arranged side by side between the first end and the second end
along the second horizontal direction as taught by Taylor as a matter of combining prior art
elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143). In this case,
the predictable result is the plurality of slots being arranged side by side between the first end
and the second end along the second horizontal direction.
Regarding claim 7, Axelsson further teaches the cutting device according to claim 5,
wherein when the insulator of the initial product to be cut is positioned in the insulator
positioning notch, an inner side of the insulator positioning notch are adapted to abut against an
respective outer side of the insulator.
The existing combination of Axelsson and Taylor fails to teach that two inner sides of the
insulator positioning notch are adapted to abut against two respective outer sides of the insulator.
However, Taylor teaches wherein two inner sides of the cutter seat are adapted to
abut against two respective outer sides of the insulator.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date to modify the insulator positioning notch of the combination of Axelsson and
Taylor such that there are two contact surfaces between inner sides of the positioning notch and
outer sides of the insulator as taught by Taylor as a matter of combining prior art elements
according to known methods to yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143). In this case, the
predictable result is the insulator positioning notch and the insulator contacting each other at two
sets of contact surfaces.
Regarding claim 9, Axelsson further teaches the cutting device according to claim 2,
wherein a group of positioning structures (Fig. 1, group consisting of the back half of the
rightmost notch on top of Die 14, the slot in which Die 14 sits, and front half of the rightmost notch on top of Die 14) corresponding to a plurality of initial products are formed on the base
(Fig. 1, Fig. 1, platform on which Die 14 sits) and the cutter seat (Die 14).
The existing combination of Axelsson and Taylor fails to teach that there is a plurality of
the groups of positioning structures.
However, Taylor teaches a plurality of groups of positioning structures (Fig. 13B, the
group consisting of the slots in Rail Fittings 1320-1323 and the larger triangular slots at the base
of slots 1318a and 1318b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date to modify the cutting device of the combination of Axelsson and Taylor such
that there is a plurality of groups of positioning structure. Doing so would create provisions for
allowing multiple products to be cut off from the initial product, and it is well known in the art
that increasing the number of items produced in the same motion would increase the efficiency
of the cutting device.
Regarding claim 10, Axelsson further teaches the cutting device according to claim 9,
wherein each group of positioning structures (Fig. 1, group consisting of the back half of the
rightmost notch on top of Die 14, the slot in which Die 14 sits, and front half of the rightmost
notch on top of Die 14) includes the first positioning slot (back half of the rightmost notch on top
of Die 14) and the insulator positioning notch (front half of the rightmost notch on top of Die
14).
Regarding claim 11, Axelsson further teaches the cutting device according to claim 10,
the cutter seat unit (Fig. 1, Die 14) including: a fixing part (Fig. 1, portion of Die 14 below the
front ledge); and a seat part (Fig. 1, portion of Die 14 above the front ledge) connected to the top
of the fixing part, the seat part protruding a predetermined height from a top side of the base (examiner interprets that since the seat part is designed to remain in place and is not adjustable in
the vertical direction, it protrudes at a predetermined height).
The existing combination of Axelsson and Taylor fail to teach that the cutter seat
comprises a plurality of cutter seat units arranged side by side, and that the seat part is inserted
into the slot from a bottom side of the base.
However, Taylor teaches wherein the cutter seat comprises a plurality of cutter seat units
(Fig. 13B, left and right half of Plate 1330) arranged side by side, and that the seat part (Fig.
13B, the rectangular portions sticking off of the sides of Plate) is capable of being inserted into
the slot (Fig. 13B, slots in Rail Fittings 1320-1323) from a bottom side of the base (examiner
interprets that while not shown in a position of being inserted from the bottom side of the base,
the seat part of Taylor is entirely capable).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date to modify the cutting device of the combination of Axelsson and Taylor such
that there is a plurality of cutter seat units. Doing so would create provisions for allowing
multiple products to be cut off from the initial product, and it is well known in the art that
increasing the number of items produced in the same motion would increase the efficiency of the
cutting device. It would also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date to modify the cutting device of the combination of Axelsson and Taylor
such that the seat part is inserted into the slot from a bottom side of the base as a matter of
combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (see MPEP
2143). In this case, the predictable result is the seat part being insertable into the slot from a
bottom side of the base.
Regarding claim 12, Axelsson further teaches the cutting device according to claim 11, wherein each seat part (Fig. 1, portion of Die 14 above the front ledge) is formed with the blade
slit (Fig. 1, leftmost slit on the top of Die 14) and the insulator positioning notch (Fig. 1, front
half of the rightmost notch on top of Die 14).
Regarding claim 17, Axelsson further teaches the cutting device according to claim 1,
wherein the cutter (Fig. 1, Cutting Implement 32) has a notch (Fig. 1, Arc-shaped cut out at the
top of Cutting Implement 32), the edge of the notch defining a cutting edge (Fig. 1, the left
bottom-most edge of Cutting Implement 32) adapted to cut the initial product.
Regarding claim 18, Axelsson further teaches the cutting device according to claim 17,
wherein the notch is arc-shaped or V-shaped (Fig. 1, Arc-shaped cut out at the top of Cutting
Implement 32) and adapted to position the initial product to be cut (Fig. 6B).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lennart
Axelsson (US 20020182945 A1 – hereinafter Axelsson) in view of Robert N. Taylor (DE
102007016968 A1 – hereinafter Taylor) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of
Franz Czeschka (US 4391482 A – hereinafter Czeschka).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Axelsson and Taylor fail to teach the cutting
device according to claim 5, wherein a terminal positioning hole is formed in the first end of the
base and is adapted to position the terminal located at an end of the initial product.
However, Czeschka teaches wherein a terminal positioning hole (Fig. 2, Bore 8) is
formed in the first end of a base (Fig. 2, Boards 9) and is adapted to position the terminal (Fig. 2,
Wrapping Post 3) located at an end of the initial product.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date to modify the cutting device of the combination of Axelsson and Taylor to
into to include a terminal positioning hole formed in the first end of the base and adapted to position the terminal located at the end of the initial product as taught by Czeschka as a matter of
combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (see MPEP
2143). In this case, the predictable result is the additional feature of a hole in the base for
positioning the end terminal.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lennart
Axelsson (US 20020182945 A1 – hereinafter Axelsson) in view of Robert N. Taylor (DE
102007016968 A1 – hereinafter Taylor) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of
Andre Klein (US 4961895 A– hereinafter Klein).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Axelsson and Taylor fails to teach the cutting
device according to claim 5, wherein a bottom surface of the insulator positioning notch is flush
with a top surface of the base.
However, Klein teaches wherein a bottom surface of an insulator positioning notch (Fig.
8, Cavity 334) is flush with a top surface of a base (Fig. 8, Base 332).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date to modify the insulator positioning notch of the combination of Axelsson and
Taylor such that a bottom surfaces is flush with a top surface of the base as taught by Klein as a
matter of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results
(see MPEP 2143). In this case, the predictable result is a bottom surface of the insulator
positioning notch and a top surface of a base being at the same vertical height.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lennart
Axelsson (US 20020182945 A1 – hereinafter Axelsson) in view of Robert N. Taylor (DE
102007016968 A1 – hereinafter Taylor) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of
D. Patrick Carr et al. (US 5438740 A– hereinafter Carr).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Axelsson and Taylor fails to teach the cutting
device according to claim 12, further comprising a fixed base on which a first installation slot is
formed, the fixing parts of the plurality of cutter seat units are inserted into the first installation
slot of the fixed base.
However, Carr teaches a fixed base (Fig. 2, Platform 8) on which a first installation slot
(Fig. 2, Holes 10) is formed, the fixing parts of the plurality of cutter seat units (Fig. 1, Tooling
100’) are inserted into the first installation slot of the fixed base.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date to modify the cutting device of the combination of Axelsson and Taylor to
further comprise a fixed base on which a first installation slot is formed, the fixing parts of the
plurality of cutter seat units are inserted into the first installation slot of the fixed base. Doing so
is beneficial as it allows the position of the cutter seats to be reconfigurable to support a variety
of workpieces (Carr; Col 2, lines 66-68 and Col 3, lines 1-4).
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lennart
Axelsson (US 20020182945 A1 – hereinafter Axelsson) in view of Robert N. Taylor (DE
102007016968 A1 – hereinafter Taylor) and D. Patrick Carr et al. (US 5438740 A–
hereinafter Carr) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of 진민지 (KR
101695919 B1).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Axelsson, Taylor, and Carr fails to teach the
cutting device according to claim 13, wherein the cutter comprises a plurality of cutter units
arranged side by side.
However, 진민지 teaches, wherein a cutter (Fig. 1, Cutter Assembly 110) comprises a plurality of cutter units (Fig. 2, Blade Member 111b) arranged side by side.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date to modify the cutter of the combination of Axelsson, Taylor, and Carr to
comprise a plurality of cutter units arranged side by side as taught by 진민지. Doing so would
create provisions for allowing multiple products to be cut off from the initial product, and it is
well known in the art that increasing the number of items produced in the same motion would
increase the efficiency of the cutting device.
Regarding claim 15, Axelsson further teaches the cutting device according to claim 14,
wherein each cutter unit (Fig. 1, Cutting Implement 32) comprises: a cutter body (Fig. 1, portion
of Cutting Implement 32 above the notch in 32); and a cutter blade (Fig. 1, leftmost prong of
Cutting Implement 32) connected to the cutter body, the cutter blade is adapted to be inserted
into the blade slit (Fig. 1, leftmost slit on the top of Die 14) to cut off the insulator of the initial
product.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Axelsson, Taylor, and Carr fails to teach the
cutting device according to claim 15, further comprising a cutter holder on which a second
installation slot is formed, the cutter bodies of the plurality of cutter units are inserted into the
second installation slot of the cutter holder.
However, 진민지 teaches a cutter holder (Fig. 2, Support Block 111a) on which a second
installation slot (Fig. 2, Blade Receiving Hole 111d) is formed, the cutter bodies of the plurality
of cutter units (Fig. 2, Blade Member 111b) are inserted into the second installation slot of the
cutter holder.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the cutting device of the combination of Axelsson, Taylor, and
Carr to comprise a cutter holder on which a second installation slot is formed, the cutter bodies
of the plurality of cutter units being inserted into the second installation slot of the cutter holder
as taught by 진민지 as a matter of combining prior art elements according to known methods to
yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143). In this case, the predictable result is a holder used to
secure the cutter bodies of the plurality of cutter units.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/08/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, applicant argues that Axelsson does not teach “the cutter seat having … a second positioning slot”, or the additional attributes of claim 1 corresponding to the second positioning slot. Applicant’s arguments with respect to this feature in regards to Axelsson have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Taylor is used to teach this feature in newly amended claim 1.
Applicant argues that Axelsson does not teach “a cutter seat inserted into one of the plurality of slots and defining a blade slit, the cutter seat having an insulator positioning notch formed on a top of the cutter seat and adapted to position the insulator of the initial product to be cut” as Axelsson does not teach that an insulator is the workpiece being acted upon by this structure. However, the inclusion of the material or article being worked upon by a structure does not impart patentability to the claims In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see MPEP 2115. Examiner interprets that the structure of Axelsson is capable of performing the necessary claimed actions of claim 1 on an insulator, and therefore does not need to teach the workpiece being an insulator.
Applicant argues that one with ordinary skill in the art would find no reason to look to Taylor to modify Axelsson to teach the second positioning slot and its corresponding features in claim 1 as Taylor is related to forming an electrical connecting between a wire and a contact while Axelsson is drawn to separating terminals on a carrier strip. In response to applicant's argument that Taylor is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, the reference is analogous art as it is reasonably pertinent to the problem of positioning an electrical element during a manufacturing process. Positioning being the relevant issue, not necessarily restricted to the specific workpiece or manufacturing process taking place. Applicant additionally argues that Taylor does not teach the positioning of a terminal with the second slot, and since it does not teach the correct workpiece it does not teach every limitation of the claim. However, a terminal is not mentioned to be the claimed workpiece in the cited portion of claim 1 in applicant’s arguments. Regardless, the structure of Taylor is capable of positioning a terminal (see in re Otto referenced above), and therefore does not need to teach the terminal as a workpiece.
Conclusion
/ELLA L KEENA/ Examiner, Art Unit 3724 /BOYER D ASHLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724