DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “the device being configured to” in claim 14, lines 1-2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 8 and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Munoz Delgado (US 20210089895 A1) in view of Li et al (arXiv:2010.05981 2021), hereinafter Li.
-Regarding claim 1, Munoz Delgado discloses a computer-implemented method for generating training data for machine learning (Abstract; [0040], “providing training sensor data samples of a training dataset, training the neural network”; [0041], “augmented training dataset”, FIG. 1, neural network 106, system 106; [0075]), including self-monitored learning, the method comprising the following steps (FIGS. 1-6): providing input image data including at least two input images different from one another (FIG. 1, image sources 108; [0067]; FIG. 4, input data samples 402); generating counterfactual image data including at least one counterfactual image based on the input image data ([0029]; FIG. 1, system 106; [0064], “a counterfactual generation system”; [0066]; FIG. 2, system 205; FIG. 4, process 403; [0121]);
Munoz Delgado does not disclose generating labeled image details by labeling at least one image detail of a counterfactual image of the at least one counterfactual image and at least one further image detail of another image different therefrom including another counterfactual image of the at least one counterfactual image or an input image of the at least two images; and providing the labeled image details as training data for the machine learning.
In the same field of endeavor, Li teaches a method to train neural networks for object recognition (Li: Abstract; Figures 1-5). Li further teaches generating counterfactual image data including at least one counterfactual image based on the input image data (Li: Figure 2, training images
); generating labeled image details by labeling at least one image detail of a counterfactual image of the at least one counterfactual image and at least one further image detail of another image different therefrom including another counterfactual image of the at least one counterfactual image or an input image of the at least two images (Li: Figure 2, label Assignment & Results; Page 3, 2nd paragraph, “Label assignment”); and providing the labeled image details as training data for the machine learning (Li: Abstract; Figure 2,caption; Page 5, Sec. 3, 1st paragraph; Note: it is known that labels are used for training purpose).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Munoz Delgado with the teaching of Li by labeling counterfactual image in order to provide training data for self-monitored learning.
-Regarding claim 2, Munoz Delgado in view of Li teaches the method of claim 1.
Munoz Delgado does not disclose wherein the generating of the counterfactual image data includes: extracting at least one image component from a particular input image of the input image data.
In the same field of endeavor, Li teaches a method to train neural networks for object recognition (Li: Abstract; Figures 1-5). Li further teaches generating counterfactual image data including at least one counterfactual image based on the input image data (Li: Figure 2, training images) and extracting at least one image component from a particular input image of the input image data (Li: Figure 2, Chimpanzee shape, lemon texture; Page 4, 1st paragraph, “extracts the shape”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Munoz Delgado with the teaching of Li by labeling counterfactual image in order to provide training data for self-monitored learning.
-Regarding claim 3, Munoz Delgado in view of Li teaches the method of claim 2.
Munoz Delgado does not disclose wherein each of the at least one image component includes at least one of the following elements and/or is associated with one of the following elements: an object shape of an object represented in an input image of the at least two input images and/or a texture of an object represented in an input image of the at least two input images, and/or a background of an input image of the at least two input images.
In the same field of endeavor, Li teaches a method to train neural networks for object recognition (Li: Abstract; Figures 1-5). Li further teaches generating counterfactual image data including at least one counterfactual image based on the input image data (Li: Figure 2, training images) wherein each of the at least one image component includes at least one of the following elements and/or is associated with one of the following elements: an object shape of an object represented in an input image of the at least two input images and/or a texture of an object represented in an input image of the at least two input images, and/or a background of an input image of the at least two input images (Li: Figure 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Munoz Delgado with the teaching of Li by labeling counterfactual image in order to provide training data for self-monitored learning.
-Regarding claim 6, Munoz Delgado in view of Li teaches the method of claim 2.
Munoz Delgado does not disclose wherein the extracting of the at least one image component from an input image of the at least two input images includes merging areas of a segmented foreground which are associated with an object of the input image to form a texture map, the at least one image component including a texture.
In the same field of endeavor, Li teaches a method to train neural networks for object recognition (Li: Abstract; Figures 1-5). Li further teaches generating counterfactual image data including at least one counterfactual image based on the input image data (Li: Figure 2, training images) wherein the extracting of the at least one image component from an input image of the at least two input images includes merging areas of a segmented foreground which are associated with an object of the input image to form a texture map, the at least one image component including a texture (Li: Figure 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Munoz Delgado with the teaching of Li by labeling counterfactual image in order to provide training data for self-monitored learning.
-Regarding claim 8, Munoz Delgado in view of Li teaches the method of claim 2. The modification further teaches wherein the generating of the counterfactual image data includes: merging image components, at least two of the image components originating from input image data different from one another, to form the at least one counterfactual image (Munoz Delgado: [0124]; equation (1); See also Li: Figure 2).
-Regarding claim 11, Munoz Delgado discloses a device for generating training data for machine learning, (Abstract; [0040], “providing training sensor data samples of a training dataset, training the neural network”; [0041], “augmented training dataset”, FIG. 1, neural network 106, system 106; [0075]), comprising: at least one processor; at least one memory; and at least one interface (FIG. 1, processor 104, controller 103; [0049]; Note: an interface has to be included in order take input samples or training data to controller as shown in FIGS. 1-2, 4 of Munoz Delgado); wherein the device is configured to (FIGS. 1-6): provide input image data including at least two input images different from one another (FIG. 1, image sources 108; [0067]; FIG. 4, input data samples 402); generate counterfactual image data including at least one counterfactual image based on the input image data ([0029]; FIG. 1, system 106; [0064], “a counterfactual generation system”; [0066]; FIG. 2, system 205; FIG. 4, process 403; [0121]);
Munoz Delgado does not disclose generating labeled image details by labeling at least one image detail of a counterfactual image of the at least one counterfactual image and at least one further image detail of another image different therefrom including another counterfactual image of the at least one counterfactual image or an input image of the at least two images; and providing the labeled image details as training data for the machine learning.
In the same field of endeavor, Li teaches a method to train neural networks for object recognition (Li: Abstract; Figures 1-5). Li further teaches generating counterfactual image data including at least one counterfactual image based on the input image data (Li: Figure 2, training images); generating labeled image details by labeling at least one image detail of a counterfactual image of the at least one counterfactual image and at least one further image detail of another image different therefrom including another counterfactual image of the at least one counterfactual image or an input image of the at least two images (Li: Figure 2, label Assignment & Results; Page 3, 2nd paragraph, “Label assignment”); and providing the labeled image details as training data for the machine learning (Li: Abstract; Figure 2,caption; Page 5, Sec. 3, 1st paragraph; Note: it is known that labels are used for training purpose).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Munoz Delgado with the teaching of Li by labeling counterfactual image in order to provide training data for self-monitored learning.
-Regarding claim 12, Munoz Delgado discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium on which is stored a computer program including computer-readable instructions (FIG. 1: processor 103, memory 105) for generating training data for machine learning, including self-monitored learning (Abstract; [0040], “providing training sensor data samples of a training dataset, training the neural network”; [0041], “augmented training dataset”, FIG. 1, neural network 106, system 106; [0075]), the instruction, when executed by a computer, causes the computer ([0049]) to perform the following steps (FIGS. 1-6): providing input image data including at least two input images different from one another (FIG. 1, image sources 108; [0067]; FIG. 4, input data samples 402); generating counterfactual image data including at least one counterfactual image based on the input image data ([0029]; FIG. 1, system 106; [0064], “a counterfactual generation system”; [0066]; FIG. 2, system 205; FIG. 4, process 403; [0121]);
Munoz Delgado does not disclose generating labeled image details by labeling at least one image detail of a counterfactual image of the at least one counterfactual image and at least one further image detail of another image different therefrom including another counterfactual image of the at least one counterfactual image or an input image of the at least two images; and providing the labeled image details as training data for the machine learning.
In the same field of endeavor, Li teaches a method to train neural networks for object recognition (Li: Abstract; Figures 1-5). Li further teaches generating counterfactual image data including at least one counterfactual image based on the input image data (Li: Figure 2, training images); generating labeled image details by labeling at least one image detail of a counterfactual image of the at least one counterfactual image and at least one further image detail of another image different therefrom including another counterfactual image of the at least one counterfactual image or an input image of the at least two images (Li: Figure 2, label Assignment & Results; Page 3, 2nd paragraph, “Label assignment”); and providing the labeled image details as training data for the machine learning (Li: Abstract; Figure 2,caption; Page 5, Sec. 3, 1st paragraph; Note: it is known that labels are used for training purpose).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Munoz Delgado with the teaching of Li by labeling counterfactual image in order to provide training data for self-monitored learning.
-Regarding claim 13, Munoz Delgado discloses a self-monitored learning method, the method comprising: training a neural network using training data, the training data being generated by (Abstract; [0040], “providing training sensor data samples of a training dataset, training the neural network”; [0041], “augmented training dataset”, FIG. 1, neural network 106, system 106; [0075]; FIGS. 1-6): providing input image data including at least two input images different from one another (FIG. 1, image sources 108; [0067]; FIG. 4, input data samples 402); generating counterfactual image data including at least one counterfactual image based on the input image data ([0029]; FIG. 1, system 106; [0064], “a counterfactual generation system”; [0066]; FIG. 2, system 205; FIG. 4, process 403; [0121]);
Munoz Delgado does not disclose generating labeled image details by labeling at least one image detail of a counterfactual image of the at least one counterfactual image and at least one further image detail of another image different therefrom including another counterfactual image of the at least one counterfactual image or an input image of the at least two images; and providing the labeled image details as training data.
In the same field of endeavor, Li teaches a method to train neural networks for object recognition (Li: Abstract; Figures 1-5). Li further teaches generating counterfactual image data including at least one counterfactual image based on the input image data (Li: Figure 2, training images); generating labeled image details by labeling at least one image detail of a counterfactual image of the at least one counterfactual image and at least one further image detail of another image different therefrom including another counterfactual image of the at least one counterfactual image or an input image of the at least two images (Li: Figure 2, label Assignment & Results; Page 3, 2nd paragraph, “Label assignment”); and providing the labeled image details as training data (Li: Abstract; Figure 2,caption; Page 5, Sec. 3, 1st paragraph; Note: it is known that labels are used for training purpose).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Munoz Delgado with the teaching of Li by labeling counterfactual image in order to provide training data for self-monitored learning.
-Regarding claim 14, Munoz Delgado discloses a device configured to train a neural network, the device being configured to: train the neural network using training data, the training data being generated by (Abstract; [0040], “providing training sensor data samples of a training dataset, training the neural network”; [0041], “augmented training dataset”, FIG. 1, neural network 106, system 106; [0075]; FIGS. 1-6): providing input image data including at least two input images different from one another (FIG. 1, image sources 108; [0067]; FIG. 4, input data samples 402); generating counterfactual image data including at least one counterfactual image based on the input image data ([0029]; FIG. 1, system 106; [0064], “a counterfactual generation system”; [0066]; FIG. 2, system 205; FIG. 4, process 403; [0121]);
Munoz Delgado does not disclose generating labeled image details by labeling at least one image detail of a counterfactual image of the at least one counterfactual image and at least one further image detail of another image different therefrom including another counterfactual image of the at least one counterfactual image or an input image of the at least two images; and providing the labeled image details as training data.
In the same field of endeavor, Li teaches a method to train neural networks for object recognition (Li: Abstract; Figures 1-5). Li further teaches generating counterfactual image data including at least one counterfactual image based on the input image data (Li: Figure 2, training images); generating labeled image details by labeling at least one image detail of a counterfactual image of the at least one counterfactual image and at least one further image detail of another image different therefrom including another counterfactual image of the at least one counterfactual image or an input image of the at least two images (Li: Figure 2, label Assignment & Results; Page 3, 2nd paragraph, “Label assignment”); and providing the labeled image details as training data for the machine learning (Li: Abstract; Figure 2,caption; Page 5, Sec. 3, 1st paragraph; Note: it is known that labels are used for training purpose).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Munoz Delgado with the teaching of Li by labeling counterfactual image in order to provide training data for self-monitored learning.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Munoz Delgado (US 20210089895 A1) in view of Li et al (arXiv:2010.05981 2021), hereinafter Li, and further in view of Qin et al (PATTERN RECOGNITION, VOL. 106, PAGES 1-15, 2020), hereinafter Qin.
-Regarding claims 4, Munoz Delgado in view of Li teaches the method of claim 2.
Munoz Delgado in view of Li does teach wherein the extracting of the at least one image component from the input image includes extracting an object shape of an object in the input image (Li: Figure 2). Munoz Delgado in view of Li does not teach the extracting being carried out using at least one binary mask having a salience detector, for segmenting a foreground represented in the input image, which is associated with the object represented in the input image.
However, Qin is an analogous art pertinent to the problem to be solved in this application and teaches a method for salient object detection (Qin: Abstract; Figures 1-7). Qin further teaches the extracting being carried out using at least one binary mask having a salience detector, for segmenting a foreground represented in the input image, which is associated with the object represented in the input image (Qin: Figures 5-7; Page 10, 1st Col., 2nd paragraph, “segments all the regions … shape of the target”, 2nd Col., “backgrounds … foreground appearance”; Page 6, 1st Col., Sec 4.2., 1st paragraph, 2nd Col., paragraph (6), “binary mask”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Munoz Delgado in view of Li with the teaching of Qin by using a salience detector in order to more accurate detect object shape with a faster and smaller model.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Munoz Delgado (US 20210089895 A1) in view of Li et al (arXiv:2010.05981 2021), hereinafter Li, and further in view of Qin et al (PATTERN RECOGNITION, VOL. 106, PAGES 1-15, 2020), hereinafter Qin, in view of Wang et al (IEEE Transactions on Image Processing, Vol. 28, Issue 6 2019), hereinafter Wang.
-Regarding claims 5, Munoz Delgado in view of Li, and further in view of Qin teaches the method of claim 2.
Munoz Delgado in view of Li, and further in view of Qin does teach wherein the at least one binary mask includes a binary shape mask (Qin: Figure 7). Munoz Delgado in view of Li, and further in view of Qin does not teach wherein the at least one binary mask includes a binary edge mask.
However, Wang is an analogous art pertinent to the problem to be solved in this application and teaches a method for salient object detection by jointly learning to segment salient object masks and detect salient object boundaries. Wang further teaches wherein the at least one binary mask includes a binary edge mask (Wang: Figs. 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Munoz Delgado in view of Li, and further in view of Qin with the teaching of Wang by using both a binary edge mask and a binary shape mask in order to achieve more accurate salient object detection.
Claim(s) 7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Munoz Delgado (US 20210089895 A1) in view of Li et al (arXiv:2010.05981 2021), hereinafter Li, and further in view of Sauer et al (arXiv:2101.06046v1 2021), hereinafter Sauer.
-Regarding claim 7, Munoz Delgado in view of Li teaches the method of claim 2.
Munoz Delgado in view of Li does teach wherein at least one first image component, which includes an object shape (foreground) (Li: Figure 2).
Munoz Delgado in view of Li does not a component including a background.
However, Sauer is an analogous art pertinent to the problem to be solved in this application and teaches a method for generating counterfactual images (Sauer: Abstract; Figures 1-5). Sauer further teaches teach one image component including a background (Sauer: Page 1, last paragraph, “decompose this process into separate IMs (independent mechanisms) … one generates the object’s shape, the second generates the object’s texture, and the third generates the background. With access to these IMs, we can produce counterfactual images, i.e., images of unseen combinations of FoVs”; Figures 1-2; equation (2)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Munoz Delgado in view of Li with the teaching of Sauer by using background component from an image in order to generate counterfactual images with improved performance for training of machine learning.
-Regarding claim 9, Munoz Delgado in view of Li teaches the method of claim 8.
Munoz Delgado in view of Li does teach wherein at least one first image component, which includes an object shape, and another image component, which includes a texture are merged (Li: Figure 2).
Munoz Delgado in view of Li does not teach merging another image component, which includes a background and/or is associated with the background.
However, Sauer is an analogous art pertinent to the problem to be solved in this application and teaches a method for generating counterfactual images (Sauer: Abstract; Figures 1-5). Sauer further teaches teach merging another image component, which includes a background and/or is associated with the background (Sauer: Page 1, last paragraph, “consider three IMs: one generates the object’s shape, the second generates the object’s texture, and the third generates the background. With access to these IMs, we can produce counterfactual images, i.e., images of unseen combinations of FoVs”; Figure 2; equation (2)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Munoz Delgado in view of Li with the teaching of Sauer by merging shape, texture and background from different images in order to generate counterfactual images with improved performance for training of machine learning.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 10/23/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues “the labeling of the claimed invention is performed on counterfactual images, and the Patent Office simply assumes, without establishing, that the blended image produced by style transfer is a counterfactual image” and “the labeling of Li is performed only on a single image, namely, the blended image that is produced by the style transfer performed on input images, but the claim recites labeling of two distinct images” (Remarks: page 11, 2nd paragraph).
Regarding claim 1 and in response to applicant’s argument that the labeling of the claimed invention is performed on counterfactual images, and the Patent Office simply assumes, without establishing, that the blended image produced by style transfer is a counterfactual image, there is no standard definition about counterfactual image. The claim and the specification do not provide a definition of counterfactual image. The plaining meaning of a counterfactual image is an image that preserves anatomical shape and foreign objects from input image. In this case, Li’s Figure. 2(a) shows generated image with the image of chimpanzee shape but with lemon texture and it is labelled as chimpanzee (Li: page 3, 2nd paragraph; Figure 2
). Thus, the labeled images based on Li’s three models are counterfactual images according to plain meaning of counterfactual image.
In response to applicant’s argument that the labeling of Li is performed only on a single image, namely, the blended image that is produced by the style transfer performed on input images, but the claim recites labeling of two distinct images, Li shows label assignments based on three different models to generate three distinct images (Li: Figure 2; page 3, 2nd paragraph, section Label assignment).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XIAO LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2664