DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 1/23/2026 has been entered. In response to amendment filed on 1/23/2026, claims 1, 4- 5, 7- 8 have been amended. Claims 1- 20 are pending for examinations. Further previously given rejection based on 35 USC 112 first paragraph is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) filed in the remarks on 1/23/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant has amended independent claim; hence examiner believes that the scope has been changed, therefore examiner has considered new reference Shi et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0360463 A1). Shi teaches regarding determining a reference signal received power (RSRP) value for each of a plurality of reference signals (see [0071- 0072].. the terminal device may measure an SRS on the SRS resources, and may also measure other reference signals on the SRS resources, which is not limited in the implementations of the present disclosure… the terminal device measuring SRS to obtain at least one RSRP value as an example; also refer to [0074] the network device may configure multiple SRS resources for the terminal device, so that the terminal device may measure the SRS (i.e. sounding reference signal) on the multiple SRS resources to obtain RSRP values corresponding to the multiple SRS resources); determining an average of one or more the RSRP values, that are greater than the second power threshold associated wit the energy saving function (see [101].. terminal device selects RSRP values corresponding to a part of measured SRS resources for reporting, thus the overhead of resources required for reporting can be saved; now refer to [102] An average value of at least part of RSRP values, which are greater than, or greater than or equal to the threshold value, in the RSRP values corresponding to the multiple SRS resources; now see [0103] the terminal device may first select at least one RSRP value greater than, or greater than or equal to the threshold value from the RSRP values corresponding to the multiple SRS resources according to the threshold value, then select T RSRP values from the selected RSRP values greater than, or greater than or equal to the threshold value, and then average the T RSRP values to obtain a fifth RSRP value.); and transmitting by the wireless device a message indicating the average of the one or more of the RSRP values; see already discussed above see [0101] for reporting; further in context with [0102- 0105] see [0106] regarding terminal device reports an RSRP value to the network device, thus the overhead of resources required for reporting can be saved; further sere [0174- 0177, [0196- 0200].
Applicant’s arguments, regarding claim 15, filed in the remarks on 1/23/2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Okano et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0430723 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6- 8, 10, 13- 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liberg et al. WO 2023/113674; see IDS filed on 8/17/2023 page 1 #2 in view of Shi et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0360463 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Liberg states a method comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device, one or more messages comprising: a first power threshold for cell measurement; and a second power threshold for cell measurement, associated with an energy function (see page 12 lines 20- 25 about …the base station can indicate to the UE (i.e. wireless device) a reduced DL TX power level (Pred) (i.e. reduced power threshold) that the base station uses in an energy saving configuration, or provide the UE with information related to Pred. Consequently, the UE can use the indicated Pred (or related information) to determine RSRP and RSRQ thresholds to be used for cell selection, cell reselection, and PLMN selection while the base station is operating in the energy saving configuration; further see page 13 lines 18- 25 about … In some embodiments, the base station can indicate the following information to one or more UEs (e.g., via broadcast): A first DL TX power level (Pnorm) (i.e. initial power threshold as a first power threshold) used by the base station in a normal or non-energy saving configuration (e.g., during and after connection setup for a UE). A second DL TX power level (Pred) (i.e. second power threshold) used by the base station in the energy saving configuration, for at least for SSB. In some variants, Pred is fixed or pre-configured, e.g., 3dB lower than Pnorm);
determining, a reference signal received power (RSRP) value (see page 10 lines 24- 28 about… A UE measures cell signal strength based on Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) and cell signal quality based on Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ). RSRP is measured on resource elements (REs) carrying a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) that is part of SSB, with RSRP measurements being averaged over time.. );
determining an average of one or more of the RSRP values, , that are greater than the second power threshold associated with the energy saving function (see page 12 lines 26- 33 about … Figure 4 illustrates a technique to adjust a UE’s cell selection criteria based on a reduction in a base station’ s DL transmit power (i.e. reduction in reduce power threshold)….. Figure 4 shows the same entities as Figure 3, i.e., base stations 1-2, cells 1-2, UEs A-B. However, rather than reselecting to cell 2 when base station 1 enters the energy saving configuration with reduced DL TX power in cell 1, UE A remains camping in cell 1 based on cell (re)selection criteria (e.g., RSRP/RSRQ thresholds) associated with the energy saving configuration. The UE can determine these criteria in various ways depending on the type of information indicated or provided by the base station…).
But Liberg is silent about determining a reference signal received power (RSRP) value for each of a plurality of reference signals; determining an average of one or more the RSRP values, that are greater than the second power threshold associated with the energy saving function; and transmitting by the wireless device a message indicating the average of the one or more of the RSRP values.
However Shi teaches regarding determining a reference signal received power (RSRP) value for each of a plurality of reference signals (see [0071- 0072].. the terminal device may measure an SRS on the SRS resources, and may also measure other reference signals on the SRS resources, which is not limited in the implementations of the present disclosure… the terminal device measuring SRS to obtain at least one RSRP value as an example; also refer to [0074] the network device may configure multiple SRS resources for the terminal device, so that the terminal device may measure the SRS (i.e. sounding reference signal) on the multiple SRS resources to obtain RSRP values corresponding to the multiple SRS resources); determining an average of one or more the RSRP values, that are greater than the second power threshold associated wit the energy saving function (see [101].. terminal device selects RSRP values corresponding to a part of measured SRS resources for reporting, thus the overhead of resources required for reporting can be saved; now refer to [102] An average value of at least part of RSRP values, which are greater than, or greater than or equal to the threshold value, in the RSRP values corresponding to the multiple SRS resources; now see [0103] the terminal device may first select at least one RSRP value greater than, or greater than or equal to the threshold value from the RSRP values corresponding to the multiple SRS resources according to the threshold value, then select T RSRP values from the selected RSRP values greater than, or greater than or equal to the threshold value, and then average the T RSRP values to obtain a fifth RSRP value.); and transmitting by the wireless device a message indicating the average of the one or more of the RSRP values; see already discussed above see [0101] for reporting; further in context with [0102- 0105] see [0106] regarding terminal device reports an RSRP value to the network device, thus the overhead of resources required for reporting can be saved; further sere [0174- 0177, [0196- 0200].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Shi with the teachings of Liberg to make system more effective. Having a mechanism about determining a reference signal received power (RSRP) value for each of a plurality of reference signals; determining an average of one or more the RSRP values, that are greater than the second power threshold associated with the energy saving function; and transmitting by the wireless device a message indicating the average of the one or more of the RSRP values; greater way resources can be utilized/managed to carry out reliable communication in the communication system.
Regarding claim 6, Liberg in view of Shi teaches as per claim 1, wherein the receiving the indication comprises receiving at least one of:
downlink control information (DCI);
a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE); and
a radio resource control (RRC) message; Liberg see page 12, lines 20- 22 and page 19 lines 1-10.
Regarding claim 7, Liberg in view of Shi teaches as per claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, during an energy saving state and using one or more beams associated with a reference signal corresponding to an RSRP value of one or more of the RSRP values, a downlink signal; Liberg see page 12 lines 25- 35 and page 13 lines 1- 10.
Regarding claim 8, Liberg states a method comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device, one or more messages comprising: a downlink transmission power of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs); and a threshold for cell measurement (see page 12 lines 20- 25 about …the base station can indicate to the UE (i.e. wireless device) a reduced DL TX power level (Pred) (i.e. downlink transmission power) that the base station uses in an energy saving configuration, or provide the UE with information related to Pred. Consequently, the UE can use the indicated Pred (or related information) to determine RSRP and RSRQ thresholds to be used for cell selection, cell reselection, and PLMN selection while the base station is operating in the energy saving configuration; further see page 13 lines 18- 25 about … In some embodiments, the base station can indicate the following information to one or more UEs (e.g., via broadcast): A first DL TX power level (Pnorm) (i.e. a threshold for cell measurement) used by the base station in a normal or non-energy saving configuration (e.g., during and after connection setup for a UE). A second DL TX power level (Pred) used by the base station in the energy saving configuration, for at least for SSB. In some variants, Pred is fixed or pre-configured, e.g., 3dB lower than Pnorm; further see page 13 lines 10- 25);
receiving one or more second messages comprising: a transition, associated with a base station, to an energy saving state (already discussed above see page 12 lines 20- 25); receiving a power offset of the downlink transmission power of the SSBs (see page 13 lines 28- 35); determining, for each of the SSBs, a reference signal received power (RSRP) value (see page 10 lines 22- 30; page 15 lines 10- 17); adjusting each RSRP value using the power offset; determining an average of first RSRP values, of the adjusted RSRP values, that are greater than the threshold (see page 14 lines 23- 35 and page 15 lines 1- 10; further see page 11 lines 30- 35).
But Liberg is silent about explicitly stating about
determining an average of one or more the RSRP values of the adjusted RSRP values, that are greater than the threshold associated; and transmitting by the wireless device a message indicating the average of the first RSRP values.
However Shi teaches regarding determining an average of one or more the RSRP values of the adjusted RSRP values (see [101].. terminal device selects RSRP values corresponding to a part of measured SRS resources for reporting, thus the overhead of resources required for reporting can be saved; now refer to [102] An average value of at least part of RSRP values, which are greater than, or greater than or equal to the threshold value, in the RSRP values corresponding to the multiple SRS resources; now see [0103] the terminal device may first select at least one RSRP value greater than, or greater than or equal to the threshold value from the RSRP values corresponding to the multiple SRS resources according to the threshold value, then select T RSRP values from the selected RSRP values greater than, or greater than or equal to the threshold value, and then average the T RSRP values to obtain a fifth RSRP value.); and transmitting by the wireless device a message indicating the average of the first RSRP values; see already discussed above see [0101] for reporting; further in context with [0102- 0105] see [0106] regarding terminal device reports an RSRP value to the network device, thus the overhead of resources required for reporting can be saved; further sere [0174- 0177, [0196- 0200].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Shi with the teachings of Liberg to make system more effective. Having a mechanism about determining an average of one or more the RSRP values of the adjusted RSRP values, that are greater than the threshold associated; and transmitting by the wireless device a message indicating the average of the first RSRP values; greater way resources can be utilized/managed to carry out reliable communication in the communication system.
Regarding claim 10, Liberg in view of Shi teaches as per claim 8, wherein the one or more first messages further indicate a second power threshold for cell measurement during an energy saving state; Liberg see page 5 lines 21- 26; further see Udaka see [0077- 0078].
Regarding claim 13, Liberg in view of Shi teaches as per claim 8, wherein the one or more second messages comprise at least one of:
downlink control information (DCI);
a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE); and
a radio resource control (RRC) message; Liberg see page 12, lines 20- 22 and page 19 lines 1-10
Regarding claim 14, Liberg in view of Shi teaches as per claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, during the energy saving state and using one or more beams associated with a reference signal corresponding to an RSRP value of the first RSRP values, a downlink signal; Liberg see page 12 lines 25- 35 and page 13 lines 1- 10.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liberg et al. WO 2023/113674; see IDS filed on 8/17/2023 page 1 #2 in view of Shi et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0360463 A1) and in further view of Wang (WO 2023/159434 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Liberg in view of Shi teaches as per claim 1, but Liberg fails to state about wherein the one or more messages further indicates a downlink transmission of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs), wherein the SSBs comprise the plurality of reference signals, and wherein the receiving the indication comprises receiving a message comprising a power offset of the SSBs relative to the first power threshold for cell measurement; however Wang states in abstract about .. a terminal device receives a plurality of synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SSB) configurations for a serving cell from a network device. The terminal device receives SSB updating information from the network device….; further see [0081- 0082] ….the network energy saving configuration can comprise a configuration of maximum bandwidth. Alternatively, the network energy saving configuration can comprise a configuration of network device channel bandwidth. In some embodiments, the network energy saving configuration may also comprise a configuration of SSB. For example, the configuration of SSB may indicate a time or frequency resource of a SSB. Alternatively, the energy configuration can comprise a configuration of random access channel (RACH)…. For example, the network energy saving configuration may indicate energy per resource element (EPRE) of SSB. Alternatively or in addition, the network energy saving configuration may indicate a power ratio or a power offset of channel state information reference signal (CS-RS) to SSB. It should be noted that the energy configuration may other parameters related to the power level; further refer to [0052] In some embodiments, a physical cell identity (PCI) carried by the plurality of target SSBs can be same as PCI carried by the plurality of active SSBs. In some example embodiments, the SSB updating information can be transmitted via RRC signaling. Alternatively, the SSB updating information can be transmitted via medium access control (MAC) signaling. In other embodiments, the SSB updating information may be transmitted via physical layer (PHY) signaling. For example, as shown in Fig. 3, the network device 120 can switch off the antenna panel 310-1 in order to save energy. In this case, the network device 120 may need to adjust the SSB transmission configuration. When the antenna panel 310-1 is off and the antenna panel 310-2 is on, the antenna panels 310-2 can be associated with the SSBs 330-1, 330-2, 330-3 and 330-4. In this situation, the terminal device 110-1 may also need to update the SSB configuration. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Liberg in view of Shi to make system more standardized.
Claim(s) 3, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liberg et al. WO 2023/113674; see IDS filed on 8/17/2023 page 1 #2 in view of Shi et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0360463 A1) and in further view of Okano et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0430723 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Liberg in view of Shi teaches as per claim 1, but Liberg fails to state about wherein receiving a command indicating that transmission of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) is stopped; skipping, based on the command, measurement of the SSBs during which the transmission of the SSBs is stopped; and skipping, based on the skipping the measurement of the SSBs, transmission of a measurement report; however Okano in context with [0029- 0034] states in [0094].. case that the measurement/reporting is relaxed (i.e. refer to [0029] regarding system information) may mean that by using a given measurement/report configuration as a reference, part or all of measurement/reporting based on the configuration are omitted (are not performed), or may mean that measurement/reporting for which frequency in the configuration is reduced (for example, the number of times of measurement is reduced or a measurement periodicity is extended) is performed; now see [0095] when SSB-based RRM measurement is relaxed (i.e. can be configured through RRC/system information about SSB based transmission relax), a UE may omit measurement of some SSBs for an SSB to be measured, the SSB being configured by an SSB-ToMeasure information element of RRC. For example, the UE may measure the SSB at a number of locations less than that of configured locations (symbol locations, patterns, or the like corresponding to SSB indices); now see [0097] Note that as it has been already mentioned that “A/B” may mean “at least one of A and B,” “the measurement/reporting is relaxed” may mean “the measurement is relaxed,” “the reporting is relaxed,” or “both of the measurement and the reporting are relaxed.” A degree of relaxation of the measurement and a degree of relaxation of the reporting may be the same (for example, frequency of the measurement and the reporting is reduced at the same rate), or may be different from each other. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Okano with the teachings of Liberg in view of Shi to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein receiving a command indicating that transmission of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) is stopped; skipping, based on the command, measurement of the SSBs during which the transmission of the SSBs is stopped; and skipping, based on the skipping the measurement of the SSBs, transmission of a measurement report; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 9, Liberg in view of Shi teaches as per claim 8, but Liberg fails to state about wherein the one or more second messages comprise a command indicating that transmission of the SSBs is stopped, and wherein the method further comprises: skipping, based on the command, measurement of the SSBs during which the transmission of the SSBs is stopped; and skipping, based on the skipping the measurement of the SSBs, transmission of a measurement report; however Okano in context with [0029- 0034] states in [0094].. case that the measurement/reporting is relaxed (i.e. refer to [0029] regarding system information) may mean that by using a given measurement/report configuration as a reference, part or all of measurement/reporting based on the configuration are omitted (are not performed), or may mean that measurement/reporting for which frequency in the configuration is reduced (for example, the number of times of measurement is reduced or a measurement periodicity is extended) is performed; now see [0095] when SSB-based RRM measurement is relaxed (i.e. can be configured through RRC/system information about SSB based transmission relax), a UE may omit measurement of some SSBs for an SSB to be measured, the SSB being configured by an SSB-ToMeasure information element of RRC. For example, the UE may measure the SSB at a number of locations less than that of configured locations (symbol locations, patterns, or the like corresponding to SSB indices); now see [0097] Note that as it has been already mentioned that “A/B” may mean “at least one of A and B,” “the measurement/reporting is relaxed” may mean “the measurement is relaxed,” “the reporting is relaxed,” or “both of the measurement and the reporting are relaxed.” A degree of relaxation of the measurement and a degree of relaxation of the reporting may be the same (for example, frequency of the measurement and the reporting is reduced at the same rate), or may be different from each other. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Okano with the teachings of Liberg in view of Shi to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein receiving a command indicating that transmission of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) is stopped; skipping, based on the command, measurement of the SSBs during which the transmission of the SSBs is stopped; and skipping, based on the skipping the measurement of the SSBs, transmission of a measurement report; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Claim(s) 5, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liberg et al. WO 2023/113674; see IDS filed on 8/17/2023 page 1 #2 in view of Shi et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0360463 A1) and in further view of Da Silva et al. CN 107925942).
Regarding claim 5, Liberg in view of Shi teaches as per claim 1, but Liberg fails to state about transmitting a message comprising wireless device assistance information requesting a transition of the cell from a non-energy-saving state to the energy saving state; however De Silva states on page 4 about [0261- 0263] about … wireless terminal capable of sending a request to the access node on the uplink channel to request additional system access information, so as to obtain network access. In one exemplary embodiment, in response to detecting the request, the access node can change from low power mode to the normal mode, and send additional system access information. In other embodiments, the access node may transmit additional system access information to the wireless terminal while maintaining a low power mode (i.e., does not change the operating mode). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of De silva with the teachings of Liberg in view of Shi to make system more effective. Having a mechanism about transmitting a message comprising wireless device assistance information requesting a transition of the base station from a non-energy-saving state to the energy saving state; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 12, Liberg in view of Shi teaches as per claim 8, but Liberg fails to state about further comprising: transmitting a message comprising wireless device assistance information requesting a transition of the cell from a non-energy-saving state to the energy saving state; however De Silva states on page 4 about [0261- 0263] about … wireless terminal capable of sending a request to the access node on the uplink channel to request additional system access information, so as to obtain network access. In one exemplary embodiment, in response to detecting the request, the access node can change from low power mode to the normal mode, and send additional system access information. In other embodiments, the access node may transmit additional system access information to the wireless terminal while maintaining a low power mode (i.e., does not change the operating mode). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of De silva with the teachings of Liberg in view of Shi to make system more effective. Having a mechanism about transmitting a message comprising wireless device assistance information requesting a transition of the base station from a non-energy-saving state to the energy saving state; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Claim(s) 15, 17, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liberg et al. WO 2023/113674; see IDS filed on 8/17/2023 page 1 #2 in view of Okano et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0430723 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Liberg states a method comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device, one or more messages indicating: a threshold for cell measurement and a downlink transmission power of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) (see page 12 lines 20- 25 about …the base station can indicate to the UE (i.e. wireless device) a reduced DL TX power level (Pred) (i.e. downlink transmission power) that the base station uses in an energy saving configuration, or provide the UE with information related to Pred. Consequently, the UE can use the indicated Pred (or related information) to determine RSRP and RSRQ thresholds to be used for cell selection, cell reselection, and PLMN selection while the base station is operating in the energy saving configuration; further see page 13 lines 18- 25 about … In some embodiments, the base station can indicate the following information to one or more UEs (e.g., via broadcast): A first DL TX power level (Pnorm) (i.e. a threshold for cell measurement) used by the base station in a normal or non-energy saving configuration (e.g., during and after connection setup for a UE). A second DL TX power level (Pred) used by the base station in the energy saving configuration, for at least for SSB. In some variants, Pred is fixed or pre-configured, e.g., 3dB lower than Pnorm; further see page 13 lines 10- 25);
receiving one or more second messages indicating: a transition, associated with a base station, to an energy saving state (already discussed above see page 12 lines 20- 25); receiving a power offset of the downlink transmission power of the SSBs (see page 13 lines 28- 35); determining, for each of the SSBs, a reference signal received power (RSRP) value (see page 10 lines 22- 30; page 15 lines 10- 17); adjusting each RSRP value using the power offset; determining an average of first RSRP values, of the adjusted RSRP values, that are greater than the threshold (see page 14 lines 23- 35 and page 15 lines 1- 10; further see page 11 lines 30- 35).
But Liberg is silent about a command indicating that transmission of the SSBs is stopped; skipping, based on the command, measurement of the SSBs during which the transmission of the SSBs is stopped; and skipping, based on the skipping the measurement of the SSBs, transmission of a measurement report.
However Okano in context with [0029- 0034] states in [0094].. case that the measurement/reporting is relaxed (i.e. refer to [0029] regarding system information) may mean that by using a given measurement/report configuration as a reference, part or all of measurement/reporting based on the configuration are omitted (are not performed), or may mean that measurement/reporting for which frequency in the configuration is reduced (for example, the number of times of measurement is reduced or a measurement periodicity is extended) is performed; now see [0095] when SSB-based RRM measurement is relaxed (i.e. can be configured through RRC/system information about SSB based transmission relax), a UE may omit measurement of some SSBs for an SSB to be measured, the SSB being configured by an SSB-ToMeasure information element of RRC. For example, the UE may measure the SSB at a number of locations less than that of configured locations (symbol locations, patterns, or the like corresponding to SSB indices); now see [0097] Note that as it has been already mentioned that “A/B” may mean “at least one of A and B,” “the measurement/reporting is relaxed” may mean “the measurement is relaxed,” “the reporting is relaxed,” or “both of the measurement and the reporting are relaxed.” A degree of relaxation of the measurement and a degree of relaxation of the reporting may be the same (for example, frequency of the measurement and the reporting is reduced at the same rate), or may be different from each other. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Okano with the teachings of Liberg in view of Shi to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein receiving a command indicating that transmission of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) is stopped; skipping, based on the command, measurement of the SSBs during which the transmission of the SSBs is stopped; and skipping, based on the skipping the measurement of the SSBs, transmission of a measurement report; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 17, Liberg in view of Okano teaches as per claim 15, wherein the one or more first messages further indicate a reduced power threshold for cell measurement during an energy saving state; Liberg see page 5 lines 21- 26.
Regarding claim 19, Liberg in view of Okano teaches as per claim 15, wherein the one or more second messages comprise at least one of:
downlink control information (DCI);
a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE); and
a radio resource control (RRC) message; Liberg see page 12, lines 20- 22 and page 19 lines 1-10.
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liberg et al. WO 2023/113674; see IDS filed on 8/17/2023 page 1 #2 in view of Okano et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0430723 A1) and in further view of Shi et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0360463 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Liberg in view of Okano teaches as per claim 15, before the receiving the one or more second messages, determining, for each of a plurality of reference signals, a reference signal received power (RSRP) value; determining an average of RSRP values, for the plurality of reference signals, that are greater than the threshold (see page 10 lines 22- 30; page 15 lines 10- 17; further refer to page 14 lines 23- 35 and page 15 lines 1- 10; further see page 11 lines 30- 35).
But Liberg is silent about determining an average of one or more the RSRP values for the plurality of reference signals, that are greater than the threshold; and transmitting a message comprising an indication of the average of the RSRP values.
However Shi teaches regarding determining an average of one or more the RSRP values for the plurality of reference signals, that are greater than the threshold (see [101].. terminal device selects RSRP values corresponding to a part of measured SRS resources for reporting, thus the overhead of resources required for reporting can be saved; now refer to [102] An average value of at least part of RSRP values, which are greater than, or greater than or equal to the threshold value, in the RSRP values corresponding to the multiple SRS resources; now see [0103] the terminal device may first select at least one RSRP value greater than, or greater than or equal to the threshold value from the RSRP values corresponding to the multiple SRS resources according to the threshold value, then select T RSRP values from the selected RSRP values greater than, or greater than or equal to the threshold value, and then average the T RSRP values to obtain a fifth RSRP value.); and transmitting a message comprising an indication of the average of the RSRP values; see already discussed above see [0101] for reporting; further in context with [0102- 0105] see [0106] regarding terminal device reports an RSRP value to the network device, thus the overhead of resources required for reporting can be saved; further sere [0174- 0177, [0196- 0200].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Shi with the teachings of Liberg to make system more effective. Having a mechanism about determining an average of one or more the RSRP values for the plurality of reference signals, that are greater than the threshold; and transmitting a message comprising an indication of the average of the RSRP values; greater way resources can be utilized/managed to carry out reliable communication in the communication system.
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liberg et al. WO 2023/113674; see IDS filed on 8/17/2023 page 1 #2 in view of Okano et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0430723 A1) and in further view of Da Silva et al. CN 107925942).
Regarding claim 18, Liberg in view of Okano teaches as per claim 15, but Liberg fails to state about transmitting a message comprising wireless device assistance information requesting a transition of the base station from a non-energy-saving state to the energy saving state; however De Silva states on page 4 about [0261- 0263] about … wireless terminal capable of sending a request to the access node on the uplink channel to request additional system access information, so as to obtain network access. In one exemplary embodiment, in response to detecting the request, the access node can change from low power mode to the normal mode, and send additional system access information. In other embodiments, the access node may transmit additional system access information to the wireless terminal while maintaining a low power mode (i.e., does not change the operating mode). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of De silva with the teachings of Liberg in view of Okano to make system more effective. Having a mechanism about transmitting a message comprising wireless device assistance information requesting a transition of the base station from a non-energy-saving state to the energy saving state greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liberg et al. WO 2023/113674; see IDS filed on 8/17/2023 page 1 #2 in view of Okano et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0430723 A1) and in further view of Pan et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0292262 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Liberg in view of Okano teaches as per claim 15, but Liberg fails to state about receiving a second command indicating that transmission of the SSBs is resumed; and transmitting, based measurement of the SSBs, a measurement report; however Pan teaches in Fig. 18 (based on condition if energy>threshold stay/keep indicating (i.e. stop/resume and measurement) to next DRS burst) and [0261- 0263]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Pan with the teachings of Liberg in view of Okano to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein receiving a second command indicating that transmission of the SSBs is resumed; and transmitting, based measurement of the SSBs, a measurement report; greater way a standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
PARTH PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2479
/PARTH PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479