DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-7) in the reply filed on 08/17/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 8-37 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/17/2026.
The location of your application in the USPTO has changed. To aid in correlating any papers for this application, all further correspondence regarding this application should be directed to Examiner Christina Borgeest, Art Unit 1675.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) is acknowledged. The examiner has concluded that the subject matter defined in instant claims 1-6 is supported by the disclosure in provisional application serial no. 63/268,745. However, the ‘745 provisional does not appear to disclose the N888G mutation recited in claim 7. Thus, the priority date of claims 1-6 is 03/01/2022 and that of claim 7 is 03/01/2023.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because there has been no granted petition to include color drawings in this application. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Figures 1, 3, 4, 6, 7 and 9-13 contain color drawings. Color photographs and color drawings are not accepted in utility applications unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) is granted. Any such petition must be accompanied by the appropriate fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(h), one set of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if submitted via the USPTO patent electronic filing system or three sets of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if not submitted via the via USPTO patent electronic filing system, and, unless already present, an amendment to include the following language as the first paragraph of the brief description of the drawings section of the specification:
The patent or application file contains at least one drawing executed in color. Copies of this patent or patent application publication with color drawing(s) will be provided by the Office upon request and payment of the necessary fee.
Color photographs will be accepted if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(2).
More specifically, 37 C.F.R. 1.84(a)(2) states:
. . . On rare occasions, color drawings may be necessary as the only practical medium by which to disclose the subject matter sought to be patented in a utility patent application…The Office will accept color drawings in utility patent applications only after granting a petition filed under this paragraph explaining why the color drawings are necessary. Any such petition must include the following:
(i) The fee set forth in § 1.17(h);
(ii) One (1) set of color drawings if submitted via the Office electronic filing system, or three (3) sets of color drawings if not submitted via the Office electronic filing system; and
(iii) An amendment to the specification to insert (unless the specification contains or has been previously amended to contain) the following language as the first paragraph of the brief description of the drawings:
The patent or application file contains at least one drawing executed in color. Copies of this patent or patent application publication with color drawing(s) will be provided by the Office upon request and payment of the necessary fee.
(Emphases added.) MPEP 608.02, part VIII, states:
Color drawings and color photographs are not accepted in utility applications filed under 35 U.S.C. 111 unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) or (b)(2) is granted. Color drawings and color photographs are not permitted in international applications (see PCT Rule 11.13 ).
Unless a petition is filed and granted, color drawings or color photographs will not be accepted in a utility patent application filed under 35 U.S.C. 111. The examiner must object to the color drawings or color photographs as being improper and require applicant either to cancel the drawings or to provide substitute black and white drawings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites a Cas9 protein comprising SEQ ID NOs: 3 or 4 with mutations(s) at residues 888, 889, 988 or 989. The transitional term “comprising” in this context is interpreted as meaning that the Cas9 protein must share 100% sequence identity to either SEQ ID NO: 3 or SEQ ID NO: 4, however, it may also include additional residues outside of the recited sequences, for instance, at the N- or C-terminus. Claims 2-7 depend from claim 1 and recite the following sequences that comprise the following substitutions, respectively:
Sequence
Description
40
E782K, N888Q, N968K & R1015H mutations – shares >99% identity with SEQ ID NO: 4 and ~7% identity with SEQ ID NO: 3
41
E782K, N888Q, A889S, N968K & R1015H mutations – shares >99% identity with SEQ ID NO: 4 and ~7% identity with SEQ ID NO: 3
42
E782K, N888H, A889Q, N968K & R1015H mutations – shares > 99% identity with SEQ ID NO: 4 and ~7% identity with SEQ ID NO: 3
43
E782K, N888S, A889Q, N968K, R1015H mutations – shares > 99% identity with SEQ ID NO: 4 and ~7% identity with SEQ ID NO: 3
44
E782K, N888R, A889Q, N968K & R1015H mutations – shares > 99% identity with SEQ ID NO: 4and ~7% identity with SEQ ID NO: 3
50
E782K N888G, N968K & R1015H mutations – shares > 99% identity with SEQ ID NO: 4 and ~7% identity with SEQ ID NO: 3
The sequences listed in dependent claims 2-7 recite substitutions other than those recited in claim 1, therefore it is not clear whether the sequences recited in claims 2-7 comprise the full sequence of SEQ ID NO: 4 with the exception of residues 888, 889, 988 and 989. For instance, one skilled in the art would not be able to determine whether a Cas9 sharing the N888Q mutation with SEQ ID NO; 40, but not the E782K, N968K and R1015H mutations would be infringing upon the claimed protein. Furthermore, claims 2-7 are confusing because the sequences recited therein share only about 7% sequence identity with SEQ ID NO: 3. The claims must particularly point out and distinctly define the metes and bounds of the subject matter that will be protected by the patent grant (see MPEP 2171).
Finally, SEQ ID NOs: 40-44 and 50 comprise the mutations listed in the respective claims, i.e., SEQ ID NO: 40 comprises the N888Q mutation recited in claim 2; SEQ ID NO: 41 recites the N888Q and A889S mutations recited in claim 3; etc. The wording “wherein the mutation at residue” in claims 2-7 is confusing because it suggests that the recited mutation is in addition to each of the recited sequences, when in fact, the recited mutations are already incorporated in the sequences.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 1 recites a Cas9 protein comprising SEQ ID NO: 3 or SEQ ID NO: 4. Claims 2-7 depend from claim 1 and recite the following sequences that comprise the following substitutions, respectively:
Sequence
Description
40
E782K, N888Q, N968K & R1015H mutations – shares >99% identity with SEQ ID NO: 4 and ~7% identity with SEQ ID NO: 3
41
E782K, N888Q, A889S, N968K & R1015H mutations – shares >99% identity with SEQ ID NO: 4 and ~7% identity with SEQ ID NO: 3
42
E782K, N888H, A889Q, N968K & R1015H mutations – shares > 99% identity with SEQ ID NO: 4 and ~7% identity with SEQ ID NO: 3
43
E782K, N888S, A889Q, N968K, R1015H mutations – shares > 99% identity with SEQ ID NO: 4 and ~7% identity with SEQ ID NO: 3
44
E782K, N888R, A889Q, N968K & R1015H mutations – shares > 99% identity with SEQ ID NO: 4and ~7% identity with SEQ ID NO: 3
50
E782K N888G, N968K & R1015H mutations – shares > 99% identity with SEQ ID NO: 4 and ~7% identity with SEQ ID NO: 3
The sequences listed in dependent claims 2-7 recite substitutions other than those recited in claim 1. In addition, the dependent claims share only about 7% sequence identity with SEQ ID NO: 3. Therefore, the dependent claims do not properly limit the claims upon which they depend. Applicant may cancel the claims, amend the claims to place them in proper dependent form, rewrite the claims in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claims comply with the statutory requirements.
Notice for all US Patent Applications filed on or after March 16, 2013: In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nureki et al. (WO2019049913A1, published 03/14/2019; in Japanese, English equivalent published as US20210163907). Nureki et al. teach the Cas9 protein comprising instant SEQ ID NO: 4. See the alignment between SEQ ID NO: 2 of Nureki and colleagues and instant SEQ ID NO: 4 in the APPENDIX. Nureki et al. contemplate mutations at the 888 and 889 positions (see paragraphs [0025]; [0034]; [0043]; [0076]; [0091]-[0092] and claims 1, 6, 8 and 13 of the English equivalent), thereby meeting the limitation of claim 1. For instance, Nureki et al. teach that the asparagine (N) at residue 888 of Cas9 may be substituted with a glutamine or Q (paragraph [0076] of the English equivalent). Further, Nureki et al. teach that the alanine at residue 889 may be substituted with serine or S (paragraph [0092] of the English equivalent), thereby meeting the limitations of claims 2 and 3. Incidentally, Nureki et al. teach substitutions at the 988 position (see paragraphs [0108]-[0113]; claims 1, 6, 8 and 13 of the English equivalent).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nureki et al. (WO2019049913A1, published 03/14/2019; in Japanese, English equivalent published as US20210163907) in view of Cong (WO2020219908). The first factor to consider when making a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) is to determine the scope and contents of the prior art. Nureki et al. teach the Cas9 protein comprising instant SEQ ID NO: 4. See the alignment between SEQ ID NO: 2 of Nureki and colleagues and instant SEQ ID NO: 4 in the APPENDIX. Nureki et al. contemplate mutations at the 888 and 889 positions (see paragraphs [0025]; [0034]; [0043]; [0076]; [0091]-[0092] and claims 1, 6, 8 and 13 of the English equivalent), thereby meeting the limitation of claim 1. For instance, Nureki et al. teach that residue 888 of Cas9 may be substituted “with an amino acid selected from the group consisting of lysine (K), arginine (R), asparagine (N), glutamine (Q), histidine (H) and serine (S)”, thereby meeting the limitation of claim 2 (paragraph [0076] of the English equivalent). Further, Nureki et al. teach that residue 889 may be substituted “with asparagine (N), serine (S), lysine (K), arginine (R) or histidine (H)” (paragraph [0092] of the English equivalent), thereby meeting the limitations of claims 2 and 3. Incidentally, Nureki et al. teach substitutions at the 988 position (see paragraphs [0108]-[0113]; claims 1, 6, 8 and 13 of the English equivalent).
The second factor to consider is to ascertain the differences between the prior art and the instant claims. While Nureki et al. teach that the Cas9 protein may have a substitution at residue 888 of N to Q, N to H, N to S and N to R, and a substitution at residue 889 of A to S, they do not teach residue 889 may have a substitution from A to Q. Further, Nureki et al. do not teach residue 888 has a substitution from N to G. Cong teaches making substitutions at residues 888 and 889 of Cas9 (see paragraph [0053]). In addition, Cong teaches certain substitutions within amino acid types may be made (see paragraph [0046]):
[T]he variant SaCas9 protein comprises the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1, but further comprises a substitution of one or more amino acid residues…An amino acid “replacement” or “substitution” refers to the replacement of one amino acid at a given position or residue by another amino acid at the same position or residue within a polypeptide sequence. Amino acids are broadly grouped as “aromatic” or “aliphatic”…Examples of “aliphatic” amino acids include glycine (G or Gly), alanine (A or Ala), valine (V or Val), leucine (L or Leu), isoleucine (I or Ile), methionine (M or Met), serine (S or Ser), threonine (T or Thr), cysteine (C or Cys), proline (P or Pro), glutamic acid (E or Glu), aspartic acid (A or Asp), asparagine (N or Asn), glutamine (Q or Gln), lysine (K or Lys), and arginine (R or Arg).
Therefore, Cong suggests the alanine (A) at residue 889 could be substituted with another aliphatic amino acid, glutamine or Q. Further, Cong suggests that the glutamine (N) at residue 888 could be substituted with another aliphatic amino acid, glycine (G). As noted above, Nureki et al. teach that residue 889 may be substituted with asparagine or N. According to Cong, asparagine and glutamine (Q) are conservative substitutions, meaning that the amino acids have common properties (see paragraphs [0049]-[0050]).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the teachings of Nureki et al. by making the substitutions of aliphatic amino acids for other aliphatic amino acids because it represents a conventional combinatorial mutation or substitution selected from a finite list of options. Nureki et al. disclose that amino acid substitution (along with deletion or addition) was a well-known and conventional technique (see paragraph [0099]). The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the substitution because there is a general motivation to optimize protein activity and function in the art and there are a limited number of aliphatic amino acids. See paragraph [0073] of Cong:
Molecular dynamic simulation allows for the identification of potential amino acid substitutions in a Cas9 protein that may alter (e.g., improve or broaden) PAM specificity. Thus, following molecularly simulating binding of one or more mutant Cas9 proteins to a desired PAM sequence: the method comprises synthetically generating one or more mutant Cas9 proteins that bind to the desired PAM sequence in the simulation of (a). The one or more mutant Cas9 proteins may be synthetically generated using recombinant DNA techniques and/or in vitro protein synthesis methods known in the art (see, e.g., Sambrook et al., supra)…For example, mutations may be introduced into a nucleic acid sequence encoding a wild-type Cas9 protein randomly or in a site-specific manner. Random mutations may be generated, for example, by error-prone PCR of a Cas9 template sequence.
The person of ordinary skill in the art could have reasonably expected success because he or she would be choosing from a finite number of identified predictable solutions and has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp (see paragraph [0073] of Cong, above).
Thus, the claims do not contribute anything non-obvious over the prior art.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/CHRISTINA M BORGEEST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1675
APPENDIX
Query Match 100.0%; Score 5433; DB 1; Length 1053;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 1053; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 MKRNYILGLDIGITSVGYGIIDYETRDVIDAGVRLFKEANVENNEGRRSKRGARRLKRRR 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 MKRNYILGLDIGITSVGYGIIDYETRDVIDAGVRLFKEANVENNEGRRSKRGARRLKRRR 60
Qy 61 RHRIQRVKKLLFDYNLLTDHSELSGINPYEARVKGLSQKLSEEEFSAALLHLAKRRGVHN 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 RHRIQRVKKLLFDYNLLTDHSELSGINPYEARVKGLSQKLSEEEFSAALLHLAKRRGVHN 120
Qy 121 VNEVEEDTGNELSTKEQISRNSKALEEKYVAELQLERLKKDGEVRGSINRFKTSDYVKEA 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 VNEVEEDTGNELSTKEQISRNSKALEEKYVAELQLERLKKDGEVRGSINRFKTSDYVKEA 180
Qy 181 KQLLKVQKAYHQLDQSFIDTYIDLLETRRTYYEGPGEGSPFGWKDIKEWYEMLMGHCTYF 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 KQLLKVQKAYHQLDQSFIDTYIDLLETRRTYYEGPGEGSPFGWKDIKEWYEMLMGHCTYF 240
Qy 241 PEELRSVKYAYNADLYNALNDLNNLVITRDENEKLEYYEKFQIIENVFKQKKKPTLKQIA 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 PEELRSVKYAYNADLYNALNDLNNLVITRDENEKLEYYEKFQIIENVFKQKKKPTLKQIA 300
Qy 301 KEILVNEEDIKGYRVTSTGKPEFTNLKVYHDIKDITARKEIIENAELLDQIAKILTIYQS 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 KEILVNEEDIKGYRVTSTGKPEFTNLKVYHDIKDITARKEIIENAELLDQIAKILTIYQS 360
Qy 361 SEDIQEELTNLNSELTQEEIEQISNLKGYTGTHNLSLKAINLILDELWHTNDNQIAIFNR 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 361 SEDIQEELTNLNSELTQEEIEQISNLKGYTGTHNLSLKAINLILDELWHTNDNQIAIFNR 420
Qy 421 LKLVPKKVDLSQQKEIPTTLVDDFILSPVVKRSFIQSIKVINAIIKKYGLPNDIIIELAR 480
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 421 LKLVPKKVDLSQQKEIPTTLVDDFILSPVVKRSFIQSIKVINAIIKKYGLPNDIIIELAR 480
Qy 481 EKNSKDAQKMINEMQKRNRQTNERIEEIIRTTGKENAKYLIEKIKLHDMQEGKCLYSLEA 540
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 481 EKNSKDAQKMINEMQKRNRQTNERIEEIIRTTGKENAKYLIEKIKLHDMQEGKCLYSLEA 540
Qy 541 IPLEDLLNNPFNYEVDHIIPRSVSFDNSFNNKVLVKQEENSKKGNRTPFQYLSSSDSKIS 600
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 541 IPLEDLLNNPFNYEVDHIIPRSVSFDNSFNNKVLVKQEENSKKGNRTPFQYLSSSDSKIS 600
Qy 601 YETFKKHILNLAKGKGRISKTKKEYLLEERDINRFSVQKDFINRNLVDTRYATRGLMNLL 660
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 601 YETFKKHILNLAKGKGRISKTKKEYLLEERDINRFSVQKDFINRNLVDTRYATRGLMNLL 660
Qy 661 RSYFRVNNLDVKVKSINGGFTSFLRRKWKFKKERNKGYKHHAEDALIIANADFIFKEWKK 720
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 661 RSYFRVNNLDVKVKSINGGFTSFLRRKWKFKKERNKGYKHHAEDALIIANADFIFKEWKK 720
Qy 721 LDKAKKVMENQMFEEKQAESMPEIETEQEYKEIFITPHQIKHIKDFKDYKYSHRVDKKPN 780
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 721 LDKAKKVMENQMFEEKQAESMPEIETEQEYKEIFITPHQIKHIKDFKDYKYSHRVDKKPN 780
Qy 781 RELINDTLYSTRKDDKGNTLIVNNLNGLYDKDNDKLKKLINKSPEKLLMYHHDPQTYQKL 840
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 781 RELINDTLYSTRKDDKGNTLIVNNLNGLYDKDNDKLKKLINKSPEKLLMYHHDPQTYQKL 840
Qy 841 KLIMEQYGDEKNPLYKYYEETGNYLTKYSKKDNGPVIKKIKYYGNKLNAHLDITDDYPNS 900
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 841 KLIMEQYGDEKNPLYKYYEETGNYLTKYSKKDNGPVIKKIKYYGNKLNAHLDITDDYPNS 900
Qy 901 RNKVVKLSLKPYRFDVYLDNGVYKFVTVKNLDVIKKENYYEVNSKCYEEAKKLKKISNQA 960
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 901 RNKVVKLSLKPYRFDVYLDNGVYKFVTVKNLDVIKKENYYEVNSKCYEEAKKLKKISNQA 960
Qy 961 EFIASFYNNDLIKINGELYRVIGVNNDLLNRIEVNMIDITYREYLENMNDKRPPRIIKTI 1020
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 961 EFIASFYNNDLIKINGELYRVIGVNNDLLNRIEVNMIDITYREYLENMNDKRPPRIIKTI 1020
Qy 1021 ASKTQSIKKYSTDILGNLYEVKSKKHPQIIKKG 1053
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1021 ASKTQSIKKYSTDILGNLYEVKSKKHPQIIKKG 1053