Response to Arguments
The following is in response to the applicant’s remarks filed 12/02/25.
The applicant submits that the amendments overcome the previous rejection.
The examiner agrees, and the previous rejection is withdrawn. A new basis for rejection appears below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(a)(2) by Lee, US20190363316A1.
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a power storage device [0001] comprising:
a stack in which a plurality of battery cells is stacked together (101)(102)[fig. 7];
a housing that houses the stack (40)(30); and an insulating sheet (80) disposed between a ceiling surface (40) of the housing and the stack [fig. 7],
wherein the housing includes a side wall (sides of case (30)) constituting a side surface of the housing and a top wall constituting an upper surface of the housing (exterior surface of cap (40))[fig. 7]
a lower surface of the top wall constituting the ceiling surface (internal surface of cap (40))[fig. 7];
the housing further includes a welded portion (WL) where the side wall and the top wall are welded together [fig. 7], and
exposed areas are provided on a peripheral edge portion of the top wall and an upper edge of the side wall (areas of case (30) and cap plate (40) not covered by insulating member (80))[fig. 7]
the ceiling surface (bottom of cap plate (40)) includes a first exposed area between the insulating sheet (80) and the welded portion (WL), the first exposed area being uncovered by the insulating sheet (80)[fig. 7], and;
the side wall includes a second exposed area between the insulating sheet and the welded portion, the second exposed area being an area uncovered by the insulating sheet (area of case (30) not covered by insulating member (80))[fig. 7]
the insulating sheet includes a projecting portion (spacing portion (83)) projecting downward in a vertical direction of the housing (projects downward in the vertical direction away from cap plate (40))[fig. 7], and the projecting portion (83) is disposed between the stack (10) and the first exposed area in plan view; and
an amount of projection of the projecting portion in the vertical direction is larger than a length of the second exposed area in the vertical direction (spacing portion (83) extends over the entire exposed portion)[fig. 7].
Regarding claim 3, Lee teaches the power storage device according to claim 2, wherein: the insulating sheet includes a bent portion made by bending a peripheral edge of the insulating sheet; and the bent portion constitutes the projecting portion (spacing portion (83) bends from straight portion (82))[fig. 7]
Regarding claim 4, Lee teaches the power storage device according to claim 1, wherein: the stack includes a connecting portion (22) that connects two of the battery cells (101)(102); and the projecting portion (83) is disposed between the connecting portion (22) and the first exposed area in plan view (cap plate (40) and housing (30) not covered by insulating sheet (80) in space (S2))[fig. 7].
Regarding claim 6, Lee teaches the power storage device according to claim 1, wherein the insulating sheet are is made of an electrolytic-solution-resistant material (insulating sheet made of PP)[0046]
Regarding claim 8, Lee teaches the power storage device according to claim 1, wherein the insulating sheet includes a pair of the projecting portions (83) on opposite ends of the insulating sheet [fig. 7].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, US20190363316A1 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee II, US20250167362A1 (previously cited).
Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches the power storage device according to claim 1.
Lee does not teach wherein the projecting portion has an extending rib shape.
Lee II teaches a power storage device [0002] wherein the projecting portion has an extending rib shape (resin coved projection (P1))[fig. 14]. Further, Lee II teaches that the protrusion protects the welded portion [0138]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the protrusion shape of Lee II into the projecting potion of Lee to protect the welded portion.
Claims 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, US20190363316A1 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Aida, JP2013196961A.
Regarding claim 9, Lee teaches the power storage device according to claim 1.
Lee does not teach wherein the insulating sheet includes a sheet-shaped resin material and is attached to an inner surface of the housing with an adhesive.
Aida teaches a power storage device [0001] wherein the insulating sheet includes a sheet-shaped resin material and is attached to an inner surface of the housing with an adhesive [0048]. Further, Aida teaches that the adhesive secures the sticking area [0048]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the adhesive of Aida into the device of Lee to securely attach the insulating sheet.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PATRICK MARSHALL GREENE/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/STEWART A FRASER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724