Detailed Action
Status of Application
1. Applicants’ arguments/remarks filed 7 January 2026 are acknowledged. Claims 1-4 and 6-10 are currently pending. Claim 5 has been cancelled. Claim 1 and 6 are amended. Claims 1-4 and 6-10 are examined on the merits within.
Withdrawn Rejections
2. Applicants’ arguments, filed 7 January 2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 102 Rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 102 Rejections of claims 1-3 and 10 have been withdrawn. The 35 U.S.C. 103 Rejection of Wang et al. (European Polymer Journal, 2020) in view of Kastrup et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0077216) is now rejected as Wang et al. (European Polymer Journal, 2020) in view of Lorenzo-Zuniga Garcia et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0036337) and further in view of Kastrup et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0077216). The Obviousness Double Patenting Rejections of Application Nos. 18/043651 and 18/043625 have been withdrawn in view of their abandonment.
New/Modified Rejections
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
4. Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (European Polymer Journal, 2020) in view of Lorenzo-Zuniga Garcia et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0036337).
Wang et al. teach tissue adhesive hydrogels comprising dopamine and hyaluronic acid. See abstract. Wang et al. teach an adhesive strength of 2.5kPa to 18 kPa. See Figure 7. The hydrogel was placed on the skin with an area of 15 mm x 15 mm. See Section 2.5. Figure 5 shows a storage modulus with values ranging from about 50 Pa to over 100 Pa. The G’ increased markedly with increasing H2O2 and HRP concentration which may be attributed to the initiator promoting more catechol groups to rapidly crosslink, enhancing the hydrogels mechanical strength. See section 3.3. The cartilage disease and bone diseases are intended uses of the composition.
Wang et al. do not teach the thickness of 0.05 mm to 10.0 mm.
Lorenzo-Zuniga Garcia teach a composition comprising a hyaluronic acid, adhesive agent, and antibiotic for the treatment of mucosal lesions. See abstract. The composition is in the form of a hydrogel. See Figures 1 and 2. The thickness is from 0.5 to 55 mm. Films of this thickness improve the physiological healing process of lesions. See paragraph [0032]. The composition may additionally comprise mineral cofactors, including calcium compounds, magnesium compounds, or zinc compounds such as zinc oxide. See paragraphs [0054-0055]. Additional inorganic mineral particles include calcium chloride. See paragraph [0045].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the thickness of the patch to 0.5 to 55 mm because this is a known effective size of hyaluronic hydrogel to improve the physiological healing process of lesions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to add inorganic minerals, such as calcium compounds or calcium chloride, because these are known effective compounds to be combined in hyaluronic acid hydrogel formulations promoting wound healing. Since the prior art make obvious the same combination of ingredients, it would have been expected that the inorganic ions would form a complex compound through coordination bonding and ionic interactions with the drug. It would have been well within the purview of the skilled artisan to modify the combination of ingredients to achieve the desired properties of the patch to achieve the optimal healing result.
5. Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (European Polymer Journal, 2020) in view of Lorenzo-Zuniga Garcia et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0036337) as applied to claims 1-4, 6-8, and 10 above and further in view of Kastrup et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0077216).
Wang et al. and Lorenzo-Zuniga Garcia et al. do not teach anti-inflammatory drugs such as dexamethasone.
Kastrup et al. teach compositions for the treatment of atherosclerosis. Figure 12 shows an image of a carotid artery painted with hyaluronic acid-dopamine hydrogel. See paragraph [0109]. Figure 15 shows that adhesive hydrogel containing dexamethasone allows for less growth of atherosclerotic plaques. See paragraph [0112]. The thickness may be between 1 nm and 1 mm. For example, thinner coatings may be better suited to function as a sealant and/or partitioning barrier, bandage, and/or drug depot whereas thicker coatings may provide increased structural support. See paragraph [0050].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to add an anti-inflammatory agent, such as dexamethasone, to the hydrogel formulation of Wang et al. dependent on the therapeutic need desired. One would have been motivated, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Kastrup et al. teach the effective combination and use of similar hydrogels with dexamethasone. It would have been well within the purview of the skilled artisan to modify the combination of ingredients to achieve the desired properties of the patch to achieve the optimal healing result.
Double Patenting
7. Claims 1-4 and 6-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,569,451 (previously cited as Application 17/597464).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant application and U.S. Patent 12,269,451 are directed to hydrogel patches comprising a biocompatible polymer functionalized with a phenol group and a drug. The difference lies in the fact that U.S. Patent 12,269,451 includes process steps in the form of product by process limitations and methods of making. In addition, the dependent claims further define the drug component which overlap with BMP and betamethasone that are instantly claimed. Thus the two are not patentably distinct.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 7 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
8. Applicants argued, “According to the Declaration, the inorganic mineral particle added HA-PG hydrogel patch is expected to promote bone generation at a bone defect site requiring mechanical strength based on the improved average elastic modulus. The HA-PG hydrogel patch shows an improved sustained drug release pattern, where the activity of a hyaluronidase is increased it is expected to exhibit an enhanced regeneration efficacy through effective delivery of a drug.”
The Declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 7 January 2026 is insufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 1-4 and 6-10 based upon 35 U.S.C. 103 as set forth in the last Office action because:
Claim 1 is directed to a hydrogel patch comprising any biocompatible polymer with a phenol group, any drug and any inorganic mineral particles. The patches tested are described as hydroxyapatite added patch or whitlockite added patch. These are two specific compounds that do not fully encompass the breadth of any inorganic mineral particle. Example 2 of the specification clarifies the components of a HA-PG hydrogel patch as cited in the Declaration. A pyrogallol-functionalized hyaluronic acid with 5-hydroxydoapine is used. This is much more specific than a biocompatible polymer with a phenol group and a drug. The data is not commensurate in scope with the claims. Each component of the patch is much more specific than the components instantly claimed and it cannot be determined if any biocompatible polymers with a phenol group, combined with any drug, and any inorganic mineral particle would have the same result. In addition, some of the data recited in the Declaration further details the amount of the inorganic mineral particles, which also is not claimed. Thus a determination of unexpected superiority cannot be made at this time.
In view of the foregoing, when all of the evidence is considered, the totality of the rebuttal evidence of nonobviousness fails to outweigh the evidence of obviousness.
9. Applicant has requested that the provisional rejections be held in abeyance until patentable subject matter is identified. However, this request cannot be considered, especially in view that no patentable subject matter has yet been identified.
The obviousness double patenting rejections are hereby maintained.
Conclusion
10. Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
11. No claims are allowed at this time.
/JESSICA WORSHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615