DETAILED ACTION
Request for Continued Examination
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 8 and 14 have been considered but are moot due to applicant’s amendments necessitating a new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 8, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 1, 8, and 14 recite, in relevant part, “… wherein the first shell layer, the second shell layer, the third shell layer, or a combination thereof comprises a rigid plastic.” However, the written description fails to teach this limitation. The written description states,
[0031] The animated figure 12 may also include motors and actuators to assist in the movement of the animated figure 12 and interactions between the animated figure 12 and the guest 14 or with a physical obstacle. In some embodiments, materials may be attached or placed over the frame to form "skin" that is often made from foam, rubber, silicone, urethane, other flexible or semi-flexible materials, or the like. The frame and/or the skin of the animated figure 12 may be encased in shells 18. The shells 18 may be made of materials similar to the skin, as well as hard plastic materials and/or soft plastics or like materials. As will be discussed in detail with respect to FIG. 2A, the materials may be conductive or nonconductive to facilitate determining that pressure (e.g., a force) is applied to the animated figure 12 (e.g., touch).
At best, the above passage states that the shells may be made of soft materials, hard plastics, or soft plastics. As mentioned in the previous office action, none of these materials is truly “rigid.” In fact, Applicant fails to discuss any “rigid plastic.” Applicant mentions hard plastics, but this is not necessarily the same as a rigid plastic. While many materials exhibit some relationship between rigidity and hardness, these qualities are not synonymous.
Claims 1, 8, and 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The term “rigid” in claims 1, 8, and 14 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “rigid” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Applicant states in [0031] that the shells may be made from foam, rubber, silicone, urethane, other flexible or semi-flexible materials, hard plastic materials and/or soft plastics or like materials. Each of these materials exhibits various degrees of rigidity. For example, hard plastics (“hard” being another relative measure) will generally exhibit less elasticity than foam or rubber. However, Applicant places no limitation on what degree of rigidity is considered “rigid.” For these reasons, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to ascertain the metes and bounds of the claim, as the term “rigid” is not well defined. Thus, the claims 1, 8, and 14 are indefinite.
Because the remaining claims each depend from claims 1, 8, or 14, the remaining claims suffer from the same deficiencies outlined above and are therefore rejected under 112(a) and 112(b) by the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagasaka (US 8463433 B2) in view of Beker (US-20220357225-A1)
Claim 14
Nagasaka teaches
one or more … sensors comprising a plurality of shells disposed on an animated figure,
(Nagasaka - [col 8, ln 5-8] Hereinafter, constructing a robot control system for acquiring a desired motion on the basis of a point of action of a force from the outside when the point of action can be detected by the above contact sensors t1 to t17 will be discussed.)
EXAMINER NOTE: See Fig. 1. Segments t1-t16 sense when a pressure is applied at a given location
the plurality of shells comprising;
a first shell at least partially composed of a first conductive material;
a second shell at least partially composed of a second conductive material; and
a third shell at least partially composed of a dielectric material, wherein the third shell is disposed between the first shell and the second shell;
(Nagasaki - [col 6, ln 9-13] The construction of the tactile sensor CS is schematically shown in FIG. 3. The tactile sensor CS has the structure in which a space S is sandwiched between two polar plates P1 and P2, and an electric potential V.sub.cc is applied to one polar plate P1, and the other polar plate P2 is grounded.
EXAMINER NOTE: See Fig. 3. The space S acts as a dielectric. Air is a commonly used dielectric material.
one or more actuators; and an automation controller configured to monitor and control the animated figure via the one or more actuators based on input data received from the plurality of shells;
(Nagasaka – [col 6, ln 13-17] Also, one polar plate P1 can be input to a microcomputer via a parallel interface (PIO), and it can be determined whether or not there is in an contact state between the polar plates, i.e., an external force is acting on the tactile sensor CS.
[col 12, ln 21-28] As described above, in this embodiment, generating force target values of all actuators are determined by detecting contact parts with the outside without omission, using contact sensors arranged in a distributed manner over the whole body surface of a humanoid robot, and by exactly solving a mechanical model so that a desired motion may be achieved, while external forces having the detected contact parts as points of action are properly used.)
Nagasaka may not teach the following limitations in combination. However, Beker teaches
one or more capacitive touch sensors comprising a plurality of shells disposed on an animated figure, the plurality of shells comprising;
a first shell at least partially composed of a first conductive material;
a second shell at least partially composed of a second conductive material; and
a third shell at least partially composed of a dielectric material, wherein the third shell is disposed between the first shell and the second shell;
wherein the first shell, the second shell, the third shell, or a combination thereof comprises a rigid plastic.
(Beker - [0025] Exemplary aspects of the present disclosure are related to a method involving a plurality of material layers that integrate a strain sensor, a membrane substrate and a pressure sensor, and using the strain sensor and the pressure sensor to respond to a force applied to or towards the pressure sensor. … The pressure and strain sensors, one or both of which may be resistive-based and/or capacitive-based, are configured to operate cooperatively to indicate, in response to a force applied to or towards the pressure sensor, characterization information of the force applied and of deformation of the membrane substrate.)
EXAMINER NOTE: Fig. 3C illustrates that Beker's sensor is capable of measuring more than a contact state, and thus is able to determine precisely when a force crosses a threshold.
(Beker - [0033] In various aspects, the pressure sensor is formed by at least a first electrode, and optionally, the first electrode and a second electrode. In some examples, the first and second electrodes have a dielectric material between.
[0034] The strain sensor may include an integrated resistive or capacitive strain sensor. Similarly, the pressure sensor may include an integrated resistive or capacitive pressure sensor. In some embodiments, the capacitive pressure sensor may include a first electrode and second electrode with a dielectric material between.
[0040] In other examples, the apparatus and/or methodology is directed to one of more of the following attributes or features including: (a) a plurality of pressure sensors formed by: 1) a first electrode that includes PET and AI; 2) an intermediate dielectric material used as a spacer between the first and second electrodes; and 3) a second electrode that includes PET and AI;)
EXAMINER NOTE: The electrodes (first and second layers) comprise PET. According to Hannay, PET is a rigid plastic (Rigid Plastics Packaging, 2002; see attached 892 form).
(Hannay - [page 3, col 2] … it is clear that in recent years, PET and enhancement of the properties of PET containers has dominated development work in rigid packaging.)
Nagasaka's sensing array determines contact at a given location by detecting contact states of each sensor.
(Nagasaka - [col 6,ln 18-23] One microcomputer is arranged in the neighborhood of every tactile sensor group t to input detection signals of all tactile sensors CS constituting a tactile sensor group and collect on/off states of these detection signals to transmit the existence/non-existence of contact with the outside in parts concerned and contact positions to a host computer.)
Nagasaka's sensor array detects only binary (on/off) states of contact. As shown above (see Fig. 3), Beker's sensors are capable of detecting a range of forces and pressures at each sensor location. Beker's sensor would serve Nagasaka's purposes equally well, as any reading above 0 would indicate contact has occurred. Additionally, Beker's sensor allows for more advanced and complicated robotic tasks.
(Beker - [0008] Also in accordance with the present disclosure, exemplary aspects are directed to a thin sensor which includes a strain sensor coupled to a pressure sensor … These aspects may also be used as highly-tunable sensors enable robotic systems to handle more advanced and complicated tasks such as classifying touched materials.)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to simply substitute Nagasaka's sensing array with Beker's sensing technology. The substitution would not only achieve similar results, but also allow for more complicated robotic tasks by allowing the robot to gauge material softness.
Claim 15
The combination of Nagasaka and Beker teaches the limitations of claim 14 as outlined above. As outlined above, Nagasaka, modified by Beker, also teaches
wherein the one or more capacitive touch sensors detect a force applied to the animated figure via pressure sensing technology embedded or adhered to the plurality of shells.
(Nagasaka - [col 6, ln 2-8] The construction of one tactile sensor group is shown in FIG. 2. As shown in this drawing, one tactile sensor group t is constructed by arranging a plurality of tactile sensors CS which can independently detect contact states in an array, and the tactile sensor group t can specify a detailed contact position depending on whether any tactile sensor CS is in a contact state.
[col 6, ln 9-17] The construction of the tactile sensor CS is schematically shown in FIG. 3. The tactile sensor CS has the structure in which a space S is sandwiched between two polar plates P1 and P2, and an electric potential V.sub.cc is applied to one polar plate P1, and the other polar plate P2 is grounded. )
(Beker - [0025] The pressure and strain sensors, one or both of which may be resistive-based and/or capacitive-based, are configured to operate cooperatively to indicate, in response to a force applied to or towards the pressure sensor, characterization information of the force applied and of deformation of the membrane substrate.)
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 8, 9, 11-13, 18-20, 22-23, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagasaka in view of Vyas (US-20180272239-A1) and Beker.
Claim 1
Nagasaka teaches
an animated figure, wherein the animated figure comprises:
one or more … sensors configured to sense applied pressure and disposed on an exterior of one or more features of the animated figure,
(Nagasaka - [col 7, ln 31-34] A right foot part tactile sensor group t1, a right shin tactile sensor group t2, and a right thigh tactile sensor group t3 are arranged at the right leg part of the humanoid robot, and these sensor groups are serially connected to the host computer. …
[col 7, ln 46-49] Further, a right wrist tactile sensor group t4, a right forearm tactile sensor group t5, and a right overarm tactile sensor group t6 are arranged at the right arm part of the humanoid robot, …
[col 7, ln 59-61] Further, body part tactile sensor groups t7 and t15 are attached to the right and left, respectively, of the body part of the humanoid robot …
[col 7, ln 65-67] Further, head part tactile sensor groups t8 and t16 are attached to the right and left, respectively, of the head part of the humanoid robot …
[col 8, ln 5-8] Hereinafter, constructing a robot control system for acquiring a desired motion on the basis of a point of action of a force from the outside when the point of action can be detected by the above contact sensors t1 to t17 will be discussed.)
EXAMINER NOTE: See Fig. 1. Segments t1-t16 sense when a pressure is applied at a given location
wherein the one or more … sensors comprise a plurality of shell layers, the plurality of shell layers comprising:
a first shell layer at least partially composed of a first conductive material;
a second shell layer at least partially composed of a second conductive material; and
a third shell layer at least partially composed of a dielectric material, wherein the third shell layer is disposed between the first shell layer and the second shell layer;
(Nagasaki - [col 6, ln 9-17] The construction of the tactile sensor CS is schematically shown in FIG. 3. The tactile sensor CS has the structure in which a space S is sandwiched between two polar plates P1 and P2, and an electric potential V.sub.cc is applied to one polar plate P1, and the other polar plate P2 is grounded.)
EXAMINER NOTE: See Fig. 3. The space S acts as a dielectric. Air is a commonly used dielectric material.
one or more actuators configured to move the one or more features of the animated figure;
(Nagasaka - [col 5, ln 57-62] Actuators which drive respective joint shafts are composed of, for example, a DC brushless motor, a reducer, and a position sensor which detects the rotational position of an output shaft of the reducer. These joint driving actuators are connected with a host computer which generally controls the whole operation of the humanoid robot,)
a compliance system comprising an automation controller configured to:
receive first input data from the one or more … sensors;
initiate a control routine to instruct maneuvering the one or more actuators in response to the first input data meeting a first criteria;
(Nagasaka - [col 12, ln 21-28] As described above, in this embodiment, generating force target values of all actuators are determined by detecting contact parts with the outside without omission, using contact sensors arranged in a distributed manner over the whole body surface of a humanoid robot, and by exactly solving a mechanical model so that a desired motion may be achieved, while external forces having the detected contact parts as points of action are properly used.)
receive second input data from the one or more … sensors after initiation of the control routine;
(Nagasaka - [col 13, ln 30-33] In FIG. 9, a sequence for calculating a target torque of an actuator by the virtual external force calculating unit 13 and the actual force converting unit 15 is shown in the form of a flow chart.)
EXAMINER NOTE: Note that the sequence in Fig. 9 is performed in a cycle. This indicates that the process is performed repeatedly (second input data is received).
Nagasaka may not explicitly teach the following limitations in combination. However, Vyas teaches
a compliance system comprising an automation controller configured to:
receive first input data from the one or more … sensors;
initiate a control routine to instruct maneuvering the one or more actuators in response to the first input data meeting a first criteria;
(Vyas - [0007] A controller is communicatively coupled to the one or more fluid control devices and to the one or more sensors. The controller is configured to analyze feedback from the one or more sensors relating to an interaction between the attraction feature and a target as the interaction is occurring to determine one or more interaction parameters associated with the interaction, wherein the interaction between the attraction feature and the target includes physical contact between the attraction feature and the target. The controller is also configured to adjust inflation of at least one of the plurality of fluid actuators to maintain the one or more interaction parameters within a predetermined range as the interaction is occurring.
EXAMINER NOTE: The sensors provide input data such as physical interaction.
(Vyas - [0020] The attraction feature 22 may include or be associated with one or more sensors 42, a fluid actuator 44, a fluid source 46, a control device 48 (e.g., a programmable logic controller (PLC)),
[0023] For example, the control device 48 may receive instructions from the controller 32, and based on the instructions, the control device 48 may control the operations of the fluid actuator 44 (the fluid control devices 54) according to a pre-programmed motion profile …
[0025] … The controller 32 may control the operations of the multiple attraction features 22 to interact with one another and/or with one or more targets. It should be noted that in cases that multiple attraction features 22 are interacting with a target (e.g., the guest 16, a suitable object, an attraction feature), the controller 32 may coordinate and/or control the interactions based on a net interaction parameter (e.g., net force, net pressure, net momentum) resultant from all of the attraction features 22 in physical contact with the target. For example, the controller 32 may change motion profiles of the multiple attraction features 22 to maintain a net interaction parameter at a desirable level (e.g., with in a desirable range).)
EXAMINER NOTE: To maintain a desired net force, the controller adjusts the motion profile based on the above described input data.
receive second input data from the one or more … sensors after initiation of the control routine; and adjust the control routine in response to the second input data falling outside of compliance with the control routine;
(Vyas - [0057] The process 80 may also include collecting (block 84) in-situ information relating to interaction between the attraction feature 22 (e.g., one or more of the fluid actuators 44) and the target. The in-situ information may include information (e.g., real-time feedback) collected by the one or more sensors 42 (e.g., force sensors, pressure sensors, cameras, fluid properties sensors, flow sensors).
[0058] The process 80 may also include analyzing (block 86) in-situ the information to determine one or more interaction parameters associated with the interaction. By way of example, the one or more interaction parameters may include, but are not limited to, pressure, force, momentum, and compliance of the attraction feature 22 (e.g., one or more of the fluid actuators 44).
[0059] As set forth above, the motion profile and/or object dynamic properties of the fluid actuators 44 of the attraction feature 22 may be altered to control or adjust interactions between the attraction feature 22 and the target. Accordingly, the process 80 includes changing (block 88) one or more object parameters of the attraction feature 22. … For instance, changing the object parameters of the attraction feature 22 in accordance with the acts associated with block 88 may include changing the motion profile of the attraction feature 22 in-situ to maintain the one or more interaction parameters at a desired level. Additionally or alternatively, one or more object compliant properties may be adjusted in-situ to maintain the one or more interaction parameters at a desired level.
[0060] For example, the controller 32 may determine that the one or more interaction parameters exerted on the target are above or below a pre-determined threshold (e.g., not within a desired range), and in response to this determination, … adjust the object mass of the fluid actuators 44 to a pre-determined (e.g., target) range. ...)
EXAMINER NOTE: Sensor data is repeatedly collected, and the motion is adjusted if the interaction parameters fall outside of a threshold (outside of compliance)
Neither Nagasaka nor Vyas teaches the aspects of capacitive touch sensors comprising a rigid plastic. Nagasaka’s sensor operates in a binary fashion. Vyas only discloses generic pressure sensors, but does not disclose what type of pressure sensor is used. However, Beker teaches
… one or more capacitive touch sensors … wherein the one or more capacitive touch sensors comprise a plurality of shell layers, the plurality of shell layers comprising:
a first shell layer at least partially composed of a first conductive material;
a second shell layer at least partially composed of a second conductive material; and
a third shell layer at least partially composed of a dielectric material, wherein the third shell layer is disposed between the first shell layer and the second shell layer;
… wherein the first shell layer, the second shell layer, the third shell layer, or a combination thereof is inelastic comprises a rigid plastic.
(Beker - [0025] Exemplary aspects of the present disclosure are related to a method involving a plurality of material layers that integrate a strain sensor, a membrane substrate and a pressure sensor, and using the strain sensor and the pressure sensor to respond to a force applied to or towards the pressure sensor. … The pressure and strain sensors, one or both of which may be resistive-based and/or capacitive-based, are configured to operate cooperatively to indicate, in response to a force applied to or towards the pressure sensor, characterization information of the force applied and of deformation of the membrane substrate.)
EXAMINER NOTE: Fig. 3C illustrates that Beker's sensor is capable of measuring more than a contact state, and thus is able to determine precisely when a force crosses a threshold.
(Beker - [0033] In various aspects, the pressure sensor is formed by at least a first electrode, and optionally, the first electrode and a second electrode. In some examples, the first and second electrodes have a dielectric material between.
[0034] The strain sensor may include an integrated resistive or capacitive strain sensor. Similarly, the pressure sensor may include an integrated resistive or capacitive pressure sensor. In some embodiments, the capacitive pressure sensor may include a first electrode and second electrode with a dielectric material between.
[0040] In other examples, the apparatus and/or methodology is directed to one of more of the following attributes or features including: (a) a plurality of pressure sensors formed by: 1) a first electrode that includes PET and AI; 2) an intermediate dielectric material used as a spacer between the first and second electrodes; and 3) a second electrode that includes PET and AI;)
EXAMINER NOTE: The electrodes (first and second layers) comprise PET. According to Hannay, PET is a rigid plastic (Rigid Plastics Packaging, 2002; see attached 892 form).
(Hannay - [page 3, col 2] … it is clear that in recent years, PET and enhancement of the properties of PET containers has dominated development work in rigid packaging.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize Vyas's control strategy in Nagasaki's robot by adjusting the motion profile according to force thresholds in order to improve safety for equipment and humans.
(Vyas - [0026] … the pneumatic robotic system 10 may perform controlled, repeated movements, which may result in impacts (e.g., intentional and unintentional) while maintaining a controlled net mechanical force delivered to a target below a particular level (e.g., a level that allows interaction without damaging the integrity of the respective structure or parts) … Additionally, unlike traditional animated features that are often prevented from interacting with human users (e.g., to avoid the potential for collisions and/or a variety of failure modes), the attraction features 22 … according to the present disclosure can be designed and controlled to operate using a predefined range of force when interacting with human users (e.g., the guests 16), thereby enhancing guest experiences.
As stated above, Nagasaka’s sensor only operates in a binary fashion by detecting on/off states. This presents a problem when adapting Vyas’s control strategy. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize Beker’s capacitive sensors in lieu of Nagasaka’s binary sensors in order to utilize the benefits offered by Vyas’s control strategy.
Claim 8
Nagasaka teaches
sensing, via an automation controller,
(Nagasaka - [col 6, ln 18-23] One microcomputer is arranged in the neighborhood of every tactile sensor group t to input detection signals of all tactile sensors CS constituting a tactile sensor group and collect on/off states of these detection signals to transmit the existence/non-existence of contact with the outside in parts concerned and contact positions to a host computer.)
a force on the animated figure based on input data received from one or more … touch sensors,
(Nagasaka - [col 7, ln 31-34] A right foot part tactile sensor group t1, a right shin tactile sensor group t2, and a right thigh tactile sensor group t3 are arranged at the right leg part of the humanoid robot, and these sensor groups are serially connected to the host computer. …
[col 7, ln 46-49] Further, a right wrist tactile sensor group t4, a right forearm tactile sensor group t5, and a right overarm tactile sensor group t6 are arranged at the right arm part of the humanoid robot, …
[col 7, ln 59-61] Further, body part tactile sensor groups t7 and t15 are attached to the right and left, respectively, of the body part of the humanoid robot …
[col 7, ln 65-67] Further, head part tactile sensor groups t8 and t16 are attached to the right and left, respectively, of the head part of the humanoid robot …
[col 8, ln 5-8] Hereinafter, constructing a robot control system for acquiring a desired motion on the basis of a point of action of a force from the outside when the point of action can be detected by the above contact sensors t1 to t17 will be discussed.)
EXAMINER NOTE: See Fig. 1. Segments t1-t16 sense when a force is applied at a given location. The presence of a force would trigger a contact state change.
the one or more … touch sensors comprising a plurality of shell layers, wherein the plurality of shell layers comprises:
a first shell layer at least partially composed of a first conductive material;
a second shell layer at least partially composed of a second conductive material;
and a third shell layer at least partially composed of a dielectric material, wherein the third shell layer is disposed between the first shell layer and the second shell layer;
(Nagasaki - [col 6, ln 9-17] The construction of the tactile sensor CS is schematically shown in FIG. 3. The tactile sensor CS has the structure in which a space S is sandwiched between two polar plates P1 and P2, and an electric potential V.sub.cc is applied to one polar plate P1, and the other polar plate P2 is grounded.
EXAMINER NOTE: See Fig. 3. The space S acts as a dielectric. Air is a commonly used dielectric material.
Nagasaka may not explicitly teach the following limitations in combination. However, Vyas teaches
determining via the automation controller: the animated figure exceeds a movement threshold associated with the animated figure based, at least in part, on the input data from the one or more … touch sensors; and
(Vyas - [0023] … This animation playback system may accordingly include a plurality of stored motion profiles for the fluid actuators 44 of the attraction feature 22, and any one or a combination of these stored motion profiles may be modified to maintain a certain level of interaction (e.g., maintain a force imparted from the fluid actuators 44 to an object) to within a certain predetermined range …
[0024] … The controller 32 may analyze the information related to the interaction (e.g., information collected by the one or more sensors 42) and the motion profile of the attraction feature 22 in-situ to determine and/or change the motion profile upon interaction with the one or more targets.
[0060] For example, the controller 32 may determine that the one or more interaction parameters exerted on the target are above or below a pre-determined threshold (e.g., not within a desired range), …)
sending, via the automation controller, compliance instructions to one or more actuators to bring the animated figure into compliance with the movement threshold based on the animated figure exceeding the movement threshold;
(Vyas - [0060] For example, the controller 32 may determine that the one or more interaction parameters exerted on the target are above or below a pre-determined threshold (e.g., not within a desired range), and in response to this determination, control the fluid flow to (or out of) one or more of the fluid actuators 44 (e.g., the inflatable mass of one or more of the fluid actuators 44) to adjust the object mass of the fluid actuators 44 to a pre-determined (e.g., target) range. Additionally or alternatively, the rate of inflation (or deflation) of the fluid actuators 44, the relative timing of inflation (or deflation) of different fluid actuators 44, or a combination, may be adjusted to modify the motion profile of the attraction feature 22)
Neither Nagasaka nor Vyas teaches the aspects of capacitive touch sensors comprising a rigid plastic. Nagasaka’s sensor operates in a binary fashion. Vyas only discloses generic pressure sensors, but does not disclose what type of pressure sensor is used. However, Beker teaches
… one or more capacitive touch sensors … comprising a plurality of shell layers, wherein the plurality of shell layers comprises:
a first shell layer at least partially composed of a first conductive material;
a second shell layer at least partially composed of a second conductive material;
and a third shell layer at least partially composed of a dielectric material, wherein the third shell layer is disposed between the first shell layer and the second shell layer;
… wherein the first shell layer, the second shell layer, the third shell layer, or a combination thereof comprises a rigid plastic.
(Beker - [0025] Exemplary aspects of the present disclosure are related to a method involving a plurality of material layers that integrate a strain sensor, a membrane substrate and a pressure sensor, and using the strain sensor and the pressure sensor to respond to a force applied to or towards the pressure sensor. … The pressure and strain sensors, one or both of which may be resistive-based and/or capacitive-based, are configured to operate cooperatively to indicate, in response to a force applied to or towards the pressure sensor, characterization information of the force applied and of deformation of the membrane substrate.)
EXAMINER NOTE: Fig. 3C illustrates that Beker's sensor is capable of measuring more than a contact state, and thus is able to determine precisely when a force crosses a threshold.
(Beker - [0033] In various aspects, the pressure sensor is formed by at least a first electrode, and optionally, the first electrode and a second electrode. In some examples, the first and second electrodes have a dielectric material between.
[0034] The strain sensor may include an integrated resistive or capacitive strain sensor. Similarly, the pressure sensor may include an integrated resistive or capacitive pressure sensor. In some embodiments, the capacitive pressure sensor may include a first electrode and second electrode with a dielectric material between.
[0040] In other examples, the apparatus and/or methodology is directed to one of more of the following attributes or features including: (a) a plurality of pressure sensors formed by: 1) a first electrode that includes PET and AI; 2) an intermediate dielectric material used as a spacer between the first and second electrodes; and 3) a second electrode that includes PET and AI;)
EXAMINER NOTE: The electrodes (first and second layers) comprise PET. According to Hannay, PET is a rigid plastic (Rigid Plastics Packaging, 2002; see attached 892 form).
(Hannay - [page 3, col 2] … it is clear that in recent years, PET and enhancement of the properties of PET containers has dominated development work in rigid packaging.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize Vyas's control strategy in Nagasaki's robot by adjusting the motion profile according to force thresholds in order to improve safety for equipment and humans.
(Vyas - [0026] … the pneumatic robotic system 10 may perform controlled, repeated movements, which may result in impacts (e.g., intentional and unintentional) while maintaining a controlled net mechanical force delivered to a target below a particular level (e.g., a level that allows interaction without damaging the integrity of the respective structure or parts) … Additionally, unlike traditional animated features that are often prevented from interacting with human users (e.g., to avoid the potential for collisions and/or a variety of failure modes), the attraction features 22 … according to the present disclosure can be designed and controlled to operate using a predefined range of force when interacting with human users (e.g., the guests 16), thereby enhancing guest experiences.
As stated above, Nagasaka’s sensor only operates in a binary fashion by detecting on/off states. This presents a problem when adapting Vyas’s control strategy. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize Beker’s capacitive sensors in lieu of Nagasaka’s binary sensors in order to utilize the benefits offered by Vyas’s control strategy.
Claim 2
Claim 2 recites
wherein the plurality of shell layers is modular and configured to decouple from the one or more features of the animated figure.
However, the courts have held that making features separable is an obvious improvement requiring only ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04(V)(C) states,
In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961) (The claimed structure, a lipstick holder with a removable cap, was fully met by the prior art except that in the prior art the cap is "press fitted" and therefore not manually removable. The court held that "if it were considered desirable for any reason to obtain access to the end of [the prior art’s] holder to which the cap is applied, it would be obvious to make the cap removable for that purpose.").
The benefits of removable components in robotics are notoriously old and well-known. See, for example, KR-101247237-B1
([p.6, ln 13-20] According to the present invention, the inner skin and the outer skin forming the facial skeleton of a humanoid robot or an animal-like robot are configured to be detachably and adsorbed and bonded by magnets, so that when a component such as a motor placed on the face breaks down, the outer skin can be easily separated from the inner skin, facilitating maintenance work such as replacement or repair of the target component. In addition, the inner skin and the outer skin can be assembled simply and accurately without distortion when combined, and damage to the facial appearance can be prevented when the inner and outer skins are disassembled and reassembled.)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Vyas by making the sensors decouplable in order to make maintenance tasks more manageable.
Claim 6
The combination of Nagasaka, Vyas, and Beker teaches the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above. Vyas may not explicitly teach the following limitations in combination. However, Nagasaka teaches
wherein the plurality of shell layers is disposed on the animated figure such that the shell layers provide structural support over a skeleton of the animated figure.
(Nagasaka - [col 7, ln 31-34] A right foot part tactile sensor group t1, a right shin tactile sensor group t2, and a right thigh tactile sensor group t3 are arranged at the right leg part of the humanoid robot, and these sensor groups are serially connected to the host computer. …
[col 7, ln 46-49] Further, a right wrist tactile sensor group t4, a right forearm tactile sensor group t5, and a right overarm tactile sensor group t6 are arranged at the right arm part of the humanoid robot, …
[col 7, ln 59-61] Further, body part tactile sensor groups t7 and t15 are attached to the right and left, respectively, of the body part of the humanoid robot …
[col 7, ln 65-67] Further, head part tactile sensor groups t8 and t16 are attached to the right and left, respectively, of the head part of the humanoid robot …)
EXAMINER NOTE: See Fig. 1. Segments t1-t16 correspond to shell layers comprising shell sensors.
Claim 9
The combination of Nagasaka, Vyas, and Beker teaches the limitations of claim 8 as outlined above. Vyas's control strategy further includes
determining, via the automation controller, the animated figure does not exceed the movement threshold based on additional input data from the one or more capacitive touch sensors; and
monitoring, via the automation controller, the one or more capacitive touch sensors to confirm that the additional input data from the one or more capacitive touch sensors indicates compliance with the movement threshold upon determining that the animated figure does not exceed the movement threshold.
(Vyas - [0044] … Any integral or derivative of functions relating to velocity, acceleration, and displacement may be used for calculations and manipulations. In other words, the controller 32 may manipulate the motion profile of the fluid actuator 44. For example, the controller 32 may manipulate velocity over time (increase or decrease velocity in real-time) to continuously calculate what the impact force would be on the guest 16, and may perform further manipulations as appropriate)
EXAMINER NOTE: The monitoring is carried out continuously
(Vyas - [0057] The process 80 may also include collecting (block 84) in-situ information relating to interaction between the attraction feature 22 (e.g., one or more of the fluid actuators 44) and the target. The in-situ information may include information (e.g., real-time feedback) collected by the one or more sensors 42 (e.g., force sensors, pressure sensors, cameras, fluid properties sensors, flow sensors)
[0058] The process 80 may also include analyzing (block 86) in-situ the information to determine one or more interaction parameters associated with the interaction.
[0059] As set forth above, the motion profile and/or object dynamic properties of the fluid actuators 44 of the attraction feature 22 may be altered to control or adjust interactions between the attraction feature 22 and the target. … Additionally or alternatively, one or more object compliant properties may be adjusted in-situ to maintain the one or more interaction parameters at a desired level.)
EXAMINER NOTE: The interaction parameters are based on sensor data, and the interaction parameters determine the motion profile.
Claim 11
The combination of Nagasaka, Vyas, and Beker teaches the limitations of claim 8 as outlined above. Nagasaka further teaches
identifying, via the automation controller, a first force on the animated figure based on first input data received from a first capacitive touch sensor disposed on the animated figure;
determining, via the automation controller, a response to the first force, determining, via the automation controller, the response includes movement of the animated figure,
(Nagasaka - [col 4, ln 46-53] According to the embodiment of the present invention, generating force target values of all actuators are determined by detecting contact parts with the outside without omission, using contact sensors arranged in a distributed manner over the whole body surface of a link structure, such as a robot, and by exactly solving a mechanical model so that a desired motion may be achieved, while external forces having the detected contact parts as points of action are properly used.)
Vyas's control strategy similarly includes
identifying, via the automation controller, a first force on the animated figure based on first input data received from a first capacitive touch sensor disposed on the animated figure;
determining, via the automation controller, a response to the first force,
(Vyas - [0024] … The controller 32 may analyze the information related to the interaction (e.g., information collected by the one or more sensors 42) and the motion profile of the attraction feature 22 in-situ to determine and/or change the motion profile upon interaction with the one or more targets.)
determining, via the automation controller, the response includes movement of the animated figure,
(Vyas - [0053] In the illustrated embodiment in FIG. 5, the attraction feature 22 may be controlled by the controller 32 to deflate upon contacting or touching the guest 16. The attraction feature 22 (e.g., one or more of the fluid actuators 44) may deflate, such that the one or more interaction parameters are within respective thresholds.)
Nagasaka may not explicitly teach the following limitations in combination. However, Vyas's control strategy (using Beker's sensors), further includes
wherein the movement exceeds the movement threshold associated with the animated figure based on additional input data received from the first capacitive touch sensor and/or at least one other shell capacitive touch sensor of the one or more shell capacitive touch sensors disposed on the animated figure.
(Vyas - [0007] A controller is communicatively coupled to the one or more fluid control devices and to the one or more sensors. The controller is configured to analyze feedback from the one or more sensors relating to an interaction between the attraction feature and a target as the interaction is occurring to determine one or more interaction parameters associated with the interaction, wherein the interaction between the attraction feature and the target includes physical contact between the attraction feature and the target. The controller is also configured to adjust inflation of at least one of the plurality of fluid actuators to maintain the one or more interaction parameters within a predetermined range as the interaction is occurring.)
Claim 12
The combination of Nagasaka, Vyas, and Beker teaches the limitations of claim 11 as outlined above. Vyas's control strategy further teaches
wherein the response includes instructing, via the automation controller, the animated figure to stop, pause, accelerate, high five a guest, hug the guest, move in a direction different than that of the force, or any combination thereof.
(Vyas - [0053] … For example, the attraction feature 22 may move according to a second motion profile 61, such that the attraction feature 22 moves from the first position 62 (e.g., the attraction feature 22 contacts the guest 16) to a third position 64 (e.g., the attraction feature 22 does not contact the guest 16))
EXAMINER NOTE: In the above example, the robot moves away from the guest (in a direction different than that of the force) when the motion profile is changed in response to touching the guest.
Claim 13
The combination of Nagasaka, Vyas, and Beker teaches the limitations of claim 8 as outlined above. Nagasaka further teaches
wherein the one or more capacitive touch sensors are configured to provide structural support over a skeleton of the animated figure.
(Nagasaka - [col 7, ln 31-34] A right foot part tactile sensor group t1, a right shin tactile sensor group t2, and a right thigh tactile sensor group t3 are arranged at the right leg part of the humanoid robot, and these sensor groups are serially connected to the host computer. …
[col 7, ln 46-49] Further, a right wrist tactile sensor group t4, a right forearm tactile sensor group t5, and a right overarm tactile sensor group t6 are arranged at the right arm part of the humanoid robot, …
[col 7, ln 59-61] Further, body part tactile sensor groups t7 and t15 are attached to the right and left, respectively, of the body part of the humanoid robot …
[col 7, ln 65-67] Further, head part tactile sensor groups t8 and t16 are attached to the right and left, respectively, of the head part of the humanoid robot …)
EXAMINER NOTE: See Fig. 1. Segments t1-t16 correspond to shell layers comprising shell sensors.
Claim 18
The combination of Nagasaka and Beker teaches the limitations of claim 15 as outlined above. The cited combination may not explicitly teach the following limitations in combination. However, Vyas teaches
wherein the automation controller is configured to select a correction from a list of corrections stored on a memory of the automation controller and communicate the selected correction to the animated figure via communication circuitry.
(Vyas - [0023] … For example, the control device 48 may receive instructions from the controller 32, and based on the instructions, the control device 48 may control the operations of the fluid actuator 44 (the fluid control devices 54) according to a pre-programmed motion profile (or according to a motion profile defined or modified by the interaction module 38 or other stored instruction set of the controller 32) to actuate the attraction feature 22. )
EXAMINER NOTE: The motion profile is changed (corrected) to one of many motion profiles (a list of corrections). See also [0050]-[0054].
(Vyas - [0055] FIG. 7 is a flow diagram of an embodiment of a process 80 to operate the attraction feature 22 (e.g., soft robot, machine) in accordance with present embodiments. … The process 80 may be representative of initiated code or instructions stored in a non-transitory computer-readable medium (e.g., the memory 36) and executed, for example, by the processor 34. In other words, the process 80 is performed at least in part by the controller 32 according to the algorithmic structure described herein. An example of such algorithmic structure is described with respect to FIG. 7.)
EXAMINER NOTE: The process of operating the robot being stored as code indicates that the above motion profiles are stored in the memory of the controller. Communication between the controller and the robot is discussed in detail in [0019] (omitted here for brevity) and further illustrated in Fig. 2.
(Vyas - [0059] As set forth above, the motion profile and/or object dynamic properties of the fluid actuators 44 of the attraction feature 22 may be altered to control or adjust interactions between the attraction feature 22 and the target. Accordingly, the process 80 includes changing (block 88) one or more object parameters of the attraction feature 22. … For instance, changing the object parameters of the attraction feature 22 in accordance with the acts associated with block 88 may include changing the motion profile of the attraction feature 22 in-situ to maintain the one or more interaction parameters at a desired level. Additionally or alternatively, one or more object compliant properties may be adjusted in-situ to maintain the one or more interaction parameters at a desired level.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify Nagasaka's robot by implementing Vyas's control strategy in order to improve safety for equipment and humans.
(Vyas - [0026] … the pneumatic robotic system 10 may perform controlled, repeated movements, which may result in impacts (e.g., intentional and unintentional) while maintaining a controlled net mechanical force delivered to a target below a particular level (e.g., a level that allows interaction without damaging the integrity of the respective structure or parts) … Additionally, unlike traditional animated features that are often prevented from interacting with human users (e.g., to avoid the potential for collisions and/or a variety of failure modes), the attraction features 22 … according to the present disclosure can be designed and controlled to operate using a predefined range of force when interacting with human users (e.g., the guests 16), thereby enhancing guest experiences.
Claim 19
Nagasaka, Beker, and Vyas teaches the limitations of claim 18 as outlined above. Modified Nagasaka therefore teaches
wherein the automation controller is configured to determine the correction based on a zone of the plurality of shells in which the force is sensed.
(Nagasaka - [col 12, ln 64-67] A contact part detector 14 is composed of a tactile sensor group attached to the surface of the whole body of the robot (refer to FIG. 1), and detects a part where the robot is in contact with the outside.
[col 4, ln 18-23] Thus, the generating force target values of all the actuators can be determined by converting the above virtual force into an external force and an actuator force capable of existing actually, using the contact information detected by such a contact part detecting means, thereby exactly solving a mechanical model.)
EXAMINER NOTE: Nagasaka alone already changes behavior based on contact locations. Modified Nagasaka presented in the rejection of claim 18 utilizes Vyas's control strategy to limit and correct behaviors that do not meet certain criteria.
Claim 20
The combination of Vyas, Cutosky, and Son teaches the limitations of claim 18 as outlined above. Vyas’s control strategy further includes
wherein the correction comprises pausing, stopping, reversing, accelerating, or any combination thereof
(Vyas - [0053] … For example, the attraction feature 22 may move according to a second motion profile 61, such that the attraction feature 22 moves from the first position 62 (e.g., the attraction feature 22 contacts the guest 16) to a third position 64 (e.g., the attraction feature 22 does not contact the guest 16).)
EXAMINER NOTE: In the above example, the robot reverses when the motion profile is changed (corrected).
As stated above with reference to claim 18, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify Nagasaka's robot by implementing Vyas's control strategy in order to improve safety for equipment and humans.
Claim 22
Modified Nagasaka teaches the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above, as well as the aspects of
wherein the automation controller is configured to determine a location of a touch point of a force exerted on the animated figure based on the first input data.
(Nagasaka - [col 12, ln 64-67] A contact part detector 14 is composed of a tactile sensor group attached to the surface of the whole body of the robot (refer to FIG. 1), and detects a part where the robot is in contact with the outside.
[col 4, ln 18-23] Thus, the generating force target values of all the actuators can be determined by converting the above virtual force into an external force and an actuator force capable of existing actually, using the contact information detected by such a contact part detecting means, thereby exactly solving a mechanical model.)
Claim 23
Modified Nagasaka teaches the limitations of claim 8 as outlined above. Nagasaka further teaches
determining a location of a touch point of the force exerted on the animated figure based on the input data.
(Nagasaka - [col 12, ln 64-67] A contact part detector 14 is composed of a tactile sensor group attached to the surface of the whole body of the robot (refer to FIG. 1), and detects a part where the robot is in contact with the outside.
[col 4, ln 18-23] Thus, the generating force target values of all the actuators can be determined by converting the above virtual force into an external force and an actuator force capable of existing actually, using the contact information detected by such a contact part detecting means, thereby exactly solving a mechanical model.)
Claim 25
The combination of Nagasaka, Vyas, and Beker teaches the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above. Vyas’s control strategy further teaches
wherein the automation controller is configured to adjust a frequency of a repetitive motion of the one or more actuators in response to the second input data falling outside of compliance with the control routine.
(Vyas - [0022] The fluid actuator 44 may include, or be coupled to any suitable fluid directing mechanisms … to change or maintain a motion profile (e.g., including the … speed) of the fluid actuator 44.
[0026] … the pneumatic robotic system 10 may perform controlled, repeated movements, which may result in impacts (e.g., intentional and unintentional) while maintaining a controlled net mechanical force delivered to a target below a particular level (e.g., a level that allows interaction without damaging the integrity of the respective structure or parts) … Additionally, unlike traditional animated features that are often prevented from interacting with human users (e.g., to avoid the potential for collisions and/or a variety of failure modes), the attraction features 22 … according to the present disclosure can be designed and controlled to operate using a predefined range of force when interacting with human users (e.g., the guests 16), thereby enhancing guest experiences.
[0027] In accordance with present embodiments, the attraction feature 22 may be configured to allow the guest 16 to interact with the attraction feature 22 and affect the motion profile (e.g., including the motion path and/or movement speed) of the fluid actuator 44.)
As stated above with respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement Vyas’s control strategies in Nagasaka’s robot in order to improve safety for equipment and humans.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagasaka, Vyas, and Beker as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shepelev (US 20180004336 A1).
Claim 4
The combination of Nagasaka, Vyas, and Beker teaches the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above. The cited combination does not explicitly teach the following limitations in combination, however, Shepelev teaches
wherein the one or more capacitive touch sensors comprise mutual capacitance technology, absolute capacitance technology, or a combination thereof.
(Shepelev - [0031] Some capacitive implementations utilize “self capacitance” (or “absolute capacitance”) sensing methods based on changes in the capacitive coupling between sensor electrodes and an input object.
[0032] Some capacitive implementations utilize “mutual capacitance” (or “transcapacitance”) sensing methods based on changes in the capacitive coupling between sensor electrodes.
[0053] … Using a capacitive sensing technique (e.g., absolute or transcapacitance sensing), the display 300 uses the force sensor electrodes 310 to generate a force measurement corresponding to the amount of force applied by the input object on the cover window 305. In one embodiment, the force sensor electrodes 310 includes one or more capacitive sensor electrodes also used to perform location sensing to identify a location of the input object on the cover window 305.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize absolute and/or mutual capacitance technology in the sensors. Shepelev suggests that these technologies allow the system to sense both the magnitude and the location of an applied force.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagasaka, Vyas, and Beker as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of ADMetro (“Surface Capacitive vs Projected Capacitive Touchscreens. Which One Is the Right Technology for Your Application”).
Claim 17
The combination of Nagasaka, Vyas, and Beker teaches the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above. The cited combination does not explicitly teach the following limitations in combination, however, Shepelev teaches
wherein the one or more capacitive touch sensors are configured to sense capacitive touch via a projected capacitance system, a surface capacitance system, or a combination thereof.
(ADMetro - [p.2, ln 20-21] Surface capacitive sensors are often preferred for applications requiring good optics, light touch and vandal resistance.
[p.3, ln 3-4] Given the unique design, projected capacitive touchscreens are much more durable than their surface capacitive counterparts.
[p.3, ln 8-11] The best part of projected capacitive touch screens is that they can register multiple simultaneous touch commands whereas surface capacitive touch screens can only register a single touch.
[p.3, 12-14] However, the unique design and features like multi-touch and surface durability in projected capacitive touchscreens make them costlier than surface capacitive touchscreens.
[p.3, ln 15-17] Both surface capacitive and projected capacitive touchscreens have their own distinctive features and are best suited for a variety of applications. However, it is completely your preference to select the touchscreens as per your specific requirements.)
ADMetro outlines the benefits and drawbacks of both projected capacitance and surface capacitance systems, but ultimately states that the choice of one or the other is a decision to be made as a matter of design choice. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify Nagasaka’s robot with ADMetro’s suggestion to use either surface or projected capacitive touch systems as a matter of design choice.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagasaka, Vyas, and Beker as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kishida (US 20160154030 A1).
Claim 21
The combination of Nagasaka, Vyas, and Beker teaches the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above. The cited combination may not explicitly disclose the following limitations in combination:
wherein a voltage is applied to the first shell layer and the second shell layer,
and a difference between the first input data and the second input data comprises a change in voltage in response to a change in a load applied to the first shell or the second shell.
However, the above limitations describe features typical of capacitive touch sensors used to detect pressure, as evidenced by Kishida
(Kishida - [0002] As illustrated in FIG. 3, a conventional capacitive pressure sensor has: a detecting capacitor formed including a diaphragm, which is deformed when applied with pressure, and a fixed electrode; and a fixed capacitor connected in series with the detecting capacitor, and by applying a square wave voltage to these capacitors, detects a partial voltage applied to the detecting capacitor. By detecting the partial voltage applied to the detecting capacitor as described, a pressure applied to the diaphragm can be measured.)
The above description indicates that a change in pressure is measured by detecting a change in voltage. Kishida goes on to teach an improved sensor which extracts external force based on a difference in voltage.
(Kishida - [0012] That is, a capacitive sensor according to the present invention includes: a sensor part of which the capacitance is changed by a change in external force; an initial voltage application part that applies an initial voltage having a predetermined frequency to the sensor part; a first operational amplifier that outputs an output voltage from the sensor part applied with the initial voltage; a reference voltage generation part that serves as a reference for a change in the output voltage of the first operational amplifier and generates a reference voltage having the same frequency as the frequency of the initial voltage; a second operational amplifier that outputs an output voltage based on the difference between the output voltage of the first operational amplifier and the reference voltage; and an external force operation part that operates the external force from the amplitude of the output voltage of the second operational amplifier.
[0013] Since the capacitive sensor described above is configured to operate the external force from the amplitude of the difference between the output voltage of the first operational amplifier and the reference voltage serving as a reference for a change in the output voltage, the need for an inverting and non-inverting circuit can be eliminated. This can eliminate a measurement error caused by an inverting and non-inverting circuit. Also, the cost and assembling area of the capacitive sensor can be reduced.
[0014] Further, since the capacitive sensor is configured to operate the external force from the amplitude of the difference between the output voltage of the first operational amplifier and the reference voltage, as compared with a conventional method that synthesize a DC voltage, detection sensitivity can be doubled. Still further, a measurement error due to an offset error of the first operational amplifier can be eliminated. In addition, by operating the external force from the amplitude, a noise component included in the output voltage of the second operational amplifier can be reduced to reduce a measurement error.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to determine force from a change in voltage of the sensor because this is a conventional way of measuring force. Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify Nagasaka with Kishida's pressure calculation methods in order to increase accuracy of measurements and reduce cost.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagasaka and Beker as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Kishida (US 20160154030 A1).
Claim 24
The combination of Nagasaka and Beker teaches the limitations of claim 14 as outlined above. The cited combination may not explicitly disclose the following limitations in combination:
wherein the input data comprises a change in voltage of the first shell, the second shell, or both, in response to a force exerted onto the one or more touch capacitive sensors.
However, the above limitations describe features typical of capacitive touch sensors used to detect pressure, as evidenced by Kishida
(Kishida - [0002] As illustrated in FIG. 3, a conventional capacitive pressure sensor has: a detecting capacitor formed including a diaphragm, which is deformed when applied with pressure, and a fixed electrode; and a fixed capacitor connected in series with the detecting capacitor, and by applying a square wave voltage to these capacitors, detects a partial voltage applied to the detecting capacitor. By detecting the partial voltage applied to the detecting capacitor as described, a pressure applied to the diaphragm can be measured.)
The above description indicates that a change in pressure is measured by detecting a change in voltage. Kishida goes on to teach an improved sensor which extracts external force based on a difference in voltage.
(Kishida - [0012] That is, a capacitive sensor according to the present invention includes: a sensor part of which the capacitance is changed by a change in external force; an initial voltage application part that applies an initial voltage having a predetermined frequency to the sensor part; a first operational amplifier that outputs an output voltage from the sensor part applied with the initial voltage; a reference voltage generation part that serves as a reference for a change in the output voltage of the first operational amplifier and generates a reference voltage having the same frequency as the frequency of the initial voltage; a second operational amplifier that outputs an output voltage based on the difference between the output voltage of the first operational amplifier and the reference voltage; and an external force operation part that operates the external force from the amplitude of the output voltage of the second operational amplifier.
[0013] Since the capacitive sensor described above is configured to operate the external force from the amplitude of the difference between the output voltage of the first operational amplifier and the reference voltage serving as a reference for a change in the output voltage, the need for an inverting and non-inverting circuit can be eliminated. This can eliminate a measurement error caused by an inverting and non-inverting circuit. Also, the cost and assembling area of the capacitive sensor can be reduced.
[0014] Further, since the capacitive sensor is configured to operate the external force from the amplitude of the difference between the output voltage of the first operational amplifier and the reference voltage, as compared with a conventional method that synthesize a DC voltage, detection sensitivity can be doubled. Still further, a measurement error due to an offset error of the first operational amplifier can be eliminated. In addition, by operating the external force from the amplitude, a noise component included in the output voltage of the second operational amplifier can be reduced to reduce a measurement error.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to determine force from a change in voltage of the sensor because this is a conventional way of measuring force. Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify Nagasaka with Kishida's pressure calculation methods in order to increase accuracy of measurements and reduce cost.
Conclusion
/JAMES MILLER WATTS III/Examiner, Art Unit 3657
/ADAM R MOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657