DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 10, 11, 13, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 12,213,172 B2) hereinafter Kim in view of Kalhan (US 2015/0146633 A1).
Regarding claim 1 - Kim discloses collecting a set connectivity metrics among a set of wireless devices on a plurality of wireless channels in a wireless network, refer to Figure 4 and paragraph (95) - The Non-AP MLD may inform the AP MLD of information (i.e., capability information) related to whether the non-AP MLD supports P2P transmission when associating with the AP MLD, also paragraph (96) - The AP MLD may maintain tuples related to P2P devices, groups, and/or P2P sessions, also paragraph (62)
Kim does not explicitly disclose selecting, by a wireless access point (AP), a first wireless channel, of the plurality of wireless channels, to delegate for peer-to-peer devices to use for peer-to- peer communication based on the set of connectivity metrics,
Kalhan discloses selecting, by a wireless access point (AP), a first wireless channel, of the plurality of wireless channels, to delegate for peer-to-peer devices to use for peer-to- peer communication based on the set of connectivity metrics, refer to paragraph [0012] - The scheduler 112 that is communicatively connected to the base station schedules (assigns) communication resources for transmitting D2D signals from the first wireless communication device to the second wireless communication device. The scheduler 112 uses the reported channel information to schedule the appropriate resources. Therefore, measured signal characteristics of reference signals transmitted from the second wireless communication device to the first wireless communication device are used to schedule D2D transmissions from the first wireless communication device to the second wireless communication device, also paragraph [0028] - The D2D link establishment information may include specific information for a single one-way D2D transmission or may include more general channel information such as identification of authorized D2D resources that allow the wireless communication devices to schedule multiple D2D transmissions without specific instruction by the network for each transmission,
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary person of skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date to combine Kim with Kalhan to provide Kim with selecting, by a wireless access point (AP), a first wireless channel, of the plurality of wireless channels, to delegate for peer-to-peer devices to use for peer-to- peer communication based on the set of connectivity metrics
The suggestion/motivation would have been that Kalhan discloses D2D communication between UEs, refer to the Abstract - The first wireless communication device transmits information to a base station where the information is based of the measured signal characteristic. A scheduler evaluates the information to identify device to device (D2D) communication resources. The base station transmits, to the first wireless communication device, D2D resource allocation information indicating the D2D communication resources.
The benefit being that the UEs can transmit and receive data very quickly without Base Station intervention once the resources have been delegated.
Kim discloses - receiving a request, by the wireless AP and from a first peer-to-peer device, for peer-to-peer communications, refer to Figure 9 and paragraph (104) - A Non-AP MLD P2P STA having data for P2P transmission may transmit a request to the AP MLD. That is, the Non-AP MLD P2P STA may transmit a P2P transmission request signal to the AP MLD to transmit data through P2P transmission, also paragraph (105) - The request may include the following information: Source Address (Source Address of itself); Target P2P Non-AP MLD ID (or address) (e.g., Target ID/address may be omitted if P2P Group ID and/or P2P Session ID are included in the request.); P2P Group ID; P2P Session ID; Buffer Status (e.g., Buffer Status Report (BSR)); location information; channel availability information (channel state availability information); and/or channel information, etc.
Kim does not explicitly disclose indicating, by the wireless AP, the first wireless channel to the first peer-to-peer device, comprising delegating scheduling of peer-to-peer transmissions to the first peer- to-peer device, wherein the first peer-to-peer device uses the first wireless channel to schedule peer-to-peer communications with a second peer-to-peer device in response to the indication.
Kalhan discloses indicating, by the wireless AP, the first wireless channel to the first peer-to-peer device, comprising delegating scheduling of peer-to-peer transmissions to the first peer-to-peer device, wherein the first peer-to-peer device uses the first wireless channel to schedule peer-to-peer communications with a second peer-to-peer device in response to the indication, refer to paragraph [0017] - The scheduler 112 allocates different time-frequency resources to different devices to efficiently utilize the resources while minimizing interference. Accordingly, the scheduled macrocell communication resources used for signals 114, 118 exchanged with one wireless communication device 104 are different from scheduled macrocell communication resources used for other signals 116, 120 exchanged with other wireless communication devices 106, also, refer to paragraph [0028] - The D2D link establishment information may include specific information for a single one-way D2D transmission or may include more general channel information such as identification of authorized D2D resources that allow the wireless communication devices to schedule multiple D2D transmissions without specific instruction by the network for each transmission,
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary person of skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date to combine Kim with Kalhan to provide Kim with indicating, by the wireless AP, the first wireless channel to the first peer-to-peer device, comprising delegating scheduling of peer-to-peer transmissions to the first peer-to-peer device, wherein the first peer-to-peer device uses the first wireless channel to schedule peer-to-peer communications with a second peer-to-peer device in response to the indication.
The suggestion/motivation would have been that Kalhan discloses D2D communication between UEs, refer to the Abstract - The first wireless communication device transmits information to a base station where the information is based of the measured signal characteristic. A scheduler evaluates the information to identify device to device (D2D) communication resources. The base station transmits, to the first wireless communication device, D2D resource allocation information indicating the D2D communication resources.
The benefit being that the UEs can transmit and receive data very quickly without Base Station intervention once the resources have been delegated.
Regarding claims 2 and 11 and 17 – Kim and Kalhan disclose claims 1, 10 and 16. Kim discloses collecting the set of connectivity metrics comprises scanning, by the wireless AP, each of the plurality of wireless channels, refer to Figure 3 and paragraph (57) - FIG. 3 illustrates a network discovery operation including an active scanning process. In active scanning, a STA performing scanning transmits a probe request frame and waits for a response to the probe request frame in order to identify which AP is present around while moving to channels. A responder transmits a probe response frame as a response to the probe request frame to the STA having transmitted the probe request frame. Here, the responder may be a STA that transmits the last beacon frame in a BSS of a channel being scanned. In the BSS, since an AP transmits a beacon frame, the AP is the responder. In an IBSS, since STAs in the IBSS transmit a beacon frame in turns, the responder is not fixed. For example, when the STA transmits a probe request frame via channel 1 and receives a probe response frame via channel 1, the STA may store BSS-related information included in the received probe response frame, may move to the next channel (e.g., channel 2), and may perform scanning (e.g., transmits a probe request and receives a probe response via channel 2) by the same method
Regarding claim 3 – Kim and Kalhan disclose claim 1. Kim discloses collecting the set of connectivity metrics comprises receiving, from one or more client devices, one or more beacon reports, refer to paragraph (58) - scanning may be performed by a passive scanning method. In passive scanning, a STA performing scanning may wait for a beacon frame while moving to channels. A beacon frame is one of management frames in IEEE 802.11 and is periodically transmitted to indicate the presence of a wireless network and to enable the STA performing scanning to find the wireless network and to participate in the wireless network. In a BSS, an AP serves to periodically transmit a beacon frame.
Regarding claim 4 – Kim and Kalhan disclose claim 1. Kim discloses selecting the first wireless channel comprises determining that the first wireless channel is currently unused by one or more wireless APs in the wireless network, refer to Figure 13 and paragraph (137) -resource information for ACK transmission of the P2P transmission; modulation and coding scheme (MCS); number of space time stream (NSTS); channel sounding information, also, paragraph (140) - the channel sounding may be performed by an instruction of an AP MLD and/or a determination of a P2P initiator, also, Figure 14 and paragraph (153) - channel sounding may be performed by an instruction of an AP MLD, also Figure 15 and paragraph (157) - channel availability information.
Regarding claims 6 and 13 – Kim and Kalhan disclose claims 1 and 10 and 16. Kim discloses determining, by the wireless AP, to refrain from using the first wireless channel, refer to paragraph (105) - channel availability information (channel state availability information); and/or channel information, also, paragraph (106) - when the AP MLD schedules two or more pairs of P2P transmissions, the frequency can be reused if STAs of different pairs are located far away, and different time and/or frequency resources can be scheduled to be used if located nearby, also, paragraph (108) - Based on the channel information, the AP MLD may determine transmission parameters between the P2P initiator and responder.
Regarding claim 10 – Kim discloses - A non-transitory computer-readable medium containing computer program code that, when executed by operation of one or more computer processors, performs an operation comprising: refer to paragraph (43) - Referring to the sub-figure (b) of FIG. 1, software codes 115 and 125 may be included in the memories 112 and 122. The software codes 115 and 126 may include instructions for controlling an operation of the processors 111 and 121. The software codes 115 and 125 may be included as various programming languages,
collecting a set connectivity metrics among a set of wireless devices on a plurality of wireless channels in a wireless network; see Claim 1
selecting, by a wireless access point (AP), a first wireless channel, of the plurality of wireless channels, to delegate for peer-to-peer devices to use for peer- to-peer communication based on the set of connectivity metrics; see Claim 1
receiving a request, by the wireless AP and from a first peer-to-peer device, for peer-to-peer communications; and see Claim 1
indicating, by the wireless AP, the first wireless channel to the first peer-to-peer device, comprising delegating scheduling of peer-to-peer transmissions to the first peer-to-peer device, wherein the first peer-to-peer device uses the first wireless channel to schedule peer-to- peer communications with a second peer-to-peer device in response to the indication. See Claim 1.
Regarding claim 16 - Kim discloses A system, comprising: one or more computer processors; and a memory containing a program which when executed by the one or more computer processors performs an operation, the operation comprising: See claim 10.
collecting a set connectivity metrics among a set of wireless devices on a plurality of wireless channels in a wireless network; See claim 1.
selecting, by a wireless access point (AP), a first wireless channel, of the plurality of wireless channels, to delegate for peer-to-peer devices to use for peer-to-peer communication based on the set of connectivity metrics; see Claim 1.
receiving a request, by the wireless AP and from a first peer-to-peer device, for peer-to-peer communications; See Claim 1.
indicating, by the wireless AP, the first wireless channel to the first peer-to- peer device, comprising delegating scheduling of peer-to-peer transmissions to the first peer-to-peer device, wherein the first peer-to-peer device uses the first wireless channel to schedule peer-to-peer communications with a second peer-to-peer device in response to the indication. See Claim 1.
Claims 7 and 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (same as above) in view of Kalhan (same as above) further in view of Chen et al. (US 10,484,925 B1) hereinafter Chen.
Regarding claims 7 and 14 and 19 – Kim and Kalhan disclose claims 1, 10, and 16. Kim and Kalhan do not explicitly disclose collecting connectivity information for a cluster of peer-to-peer devices using the first wireless channel; selecting a second wireless channel, of the plurality of wireless channels, in response determining, based on the connectivity information for the cluster of peer-to-peer devices, that the first wireless channel is oversubscribed.
Chen discloses collecting connectivity information for a cluster of peer-to-peer devices using the first wireless channel, refer to paragraph (28) - There may be many uses for this connection including, health monitoring of the mesh nodes, collecting network statistics of the mesh nodes, configuring the mesh nodes, and providing client access to other services. In particular, the mesh node 110 connects to a cellular network 121 via the cellular connection 113. The cellular network 121 is coupled to the second device 118 via the Internet 117. The second device 118 may be one of a collection of devices organized as a cloud computing system that that hosts one or more services 120. The services 120 may include cloud services to control setup of the mesh nodes, the content delivery service (e.g., AIV origin), as well as other cloud services. The mesh network control service can be one or more cloud services. The cloud services can include a metric collector service, a health and status service, a link selection service, a channel selection service, a content request aggregation service, or the like, also paragraph (26) - The mesh network 100 also includes multiple mesh nodes 104-110 which may establish multiple P2P wireless connections 109 among themselves in order to form a network backbone. It should be noted that only some of the possible P2P wireless connections 109 are shown between the mesh nodes 104-110 in FIG. 1. In particular, a first mesh node 104 is wirelessly coupled to the mini-POP device 102 via a first P2P wireless connection 109, as well as being wirelessly coupled to a second mesh node 106 via a second P2P wireless connection 109 and a third mesh node 108 via a third P2P wireless connection. The mesh nodes 104-110 (and the mini-POP device 102) may be provided by multi-channel (MRMC) mesh network devices. As described herein, the mesh nodes 104-110 do not necessarily have reliable access to the CDN device 107. The mesh nodes 104-110 (and the mini-POP device 102) wirelessly communicate with other nodes via the network backbone via a first set of WLAN channels reserved for inter-node communications. The mesh nodes 102-110 communicate data with one another via the first set of WLAN channels at a first frequency of approximately 5 GHz (e.g., 5 GHz band of the Wi-Fi® network technologies)
Chen discloses selecting a second wireless channel, of the plurality of wireless channels, in response determining, based on the connectivity information for the cluster of peer-to- peer devices, that the first wireless channel is oversubscribed, refer to paragraph (69) - Accordingly, in one embodiment, the present disclosure provides a path selection metric which takes into account the intra-path channel diversity, which may be measured by the ratio of the number of communication links utilizing the same radio channel and located within a pre-defined number of hops of each other to the total number of communication links on a given network path. Such a path selection may be employed to maximize the path throughput while providing a reasonably low latency. In various illustrative examples, the path selection metric may further take into account the transmission error rate, the amount of data which is queued by the transmitting mesh network devices, the radio channel contention (i.e., the probability of frame collision caused by two or more network devices simultaneously attempting to transmit a frame over the wireless medium), and/or various other parameters. In one embodiment, the path selection metrics may reflect the “path time” (e.g., the end-to-end delivery time over a network path). Therefore, routing algorithms utilizing such a path selection metric may maximize the path throughput while providing reasonably low latency (e.g., not exceeding a pre-defined latency threshold), also paragraph (95) - As noted herein above, the path selection metric 940 of FIG. 9 may be represented by an airtime-based metric. In various illustrative examples, the path selection metric may further take into account the transmission error rate, the amount of data queued by the transmitting mesh network devices, the radio channel contention, and/or various other parameters, as described in more detail herein below, also paragraph (110) - The channel idle time may represent potentially available link capacity, provided that the previous hop on the path is not utilizing the same channel for transmission, thus preventing simultaneous transmission on the next hop. The portion of the channel idle time which may represent potentially available link capacity for a given node may be reflected by the radio channel contention.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person of skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to combine Kim and Kalhan with Chen to provide Kim and Kalhan with collecting connectivity information for a cluster of peer-to-peer devices using the first wireless channel; selecting a second wireless channel, of the plurality of wireless channels, in response determining, based on the connectivity information for the cluster of peer-to-peer devices, that the first wireless channel is oversubscribed.
The suggestion/motivation is that Kim discloses - refer to paragraph (5) - P2P communication can be performed in a WLAN, and even lower delay and improved throughput can be expected by performing direct data transmission and reception between terminals through P2P communication
The benefit being that Kim and Kalhan will have the optimum channel available for P2P transmission and general uplink transmission can be triggered with one trigger frame, communication efficiency can be increased, refer to paragraph (6).
Claims 8, 9, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (same as above) and Kalhan (same as above) in view of Sun et al. (US 2024/0073946 A1) hereinafter Sun.
Regarding claims 8, 15, and 20 – Kim and Kalhan disclose claim 1. Kim discloses receiving, from the peer-to-peer device, a request to use the first wireless channel for peer-to-peer communications, refer to Figure 9 and paragraph (104) - A Non-AP MLD P2P STA having data for P2P transmission may transmit a request to the AP MLD. That is, the Non-AP MLD P2P STA may transmit a P2P transmission request signal to the AP MLD to transmit data through P2P transmission, also paragraph (105) - The request may include the following information: Source Address (Source Address of itself); Target P2P Non-AP MLD ID (or address) (e.g., Target ID/address may be omitted if P2P Group ID and/or P2P Session ID are included in the request.); P2P Group ID; P2P Session ID; Buffer Status (e.g., Buffer Status Report (BSR)); location information; channel availability information (channel state availability information); and/or channel information, etc
Kim and Chen do not explicitly disclose refraining, by the wireless AP, from using the first wireless channel for at least a period of time.
Sun discloses refraining, by the wireless AP, from using the first wireless channel for at least a period of time, refer to paragraph [0080] - A backoff involves reassessing a channel at time instances that grow increasingly longer between time instances. To minimize latency, an STA may need to perform a clear channel assessment (CCA) and a backoff period.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person of skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to combine Kim and Kalhan with Sun to provide Kim and Kalhan with refraining, by the wireless AP, from using the first wireless channel for at least a period of time.
The suggestion/motivation is that Kim discloses, refer to paragraph (5) - P2P communication can be performed in a WLAN, and even lower delay and improved throughput can be expected by performing direct data transmission and reception between terminals through P2P communication
The benefit being that Kim will have the optimum channel available for P2P transmission and general uplink transmission can be triggered with one trigger frame, communication efficiency can be increased, refer to paragraph (6).
Regarding claim 9 – Kim and Kalhan do not explicitly disclose the period of time is indicated in the request.
Sun discloses the period of time is indicated in the request, refer to paragraph [0080] - If backoffs are performed after the primary channel is detected as busy (packet detection or energy detection), there may be a delay for the backoff to complete or there may be a NAV update.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person of skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to combine Kim and Kalhan with Sun to provide Kim and Kalhan with the period of time is indicated in the request.
The suggestion/motivation is that Kim discloses, refer to paragraph (5) - P2P communication can be performed in a WLAN, and even lower delay and improved throughput can be expected by performing direct data transmission and reception between terminals through P2P communication
The benefit being that Kim will have the optimum channel available for P2P transmission and general uplink transmission can be triggered with one trigger frame, communication efficiency can be increased, refer to paragraph (6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 12, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Applicants have claimed uniquely distinct features in the application, which are not found in the prior art, either singularly or in combination. The independent claims identify the following uniquely distinct features:
IV. The primary reason for the allowance of the claims are the inclusion of the limitation in the claims which are not found in the prior art references. The following claim elements “using one or more frequency offset adjustment operations to predict peer-to-peer connectivity metrics for the first wireless channel based on connectivity metrics of a second wireless channel used by the wireless AP” together with the other elements are the reasons for allowance.
1. Regarding claim 5 – The method of claim 1, wherein identifying the first wireless channel comprises using one or more frequency offset adjustment operations to predict peer-to-peer connectivity metrics for the first wireless channel based on connectivity metrics of a second wireless channel used by the wireless AP.
2. Regarding claim 12 – The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 10, wherein identifying the first wireless channel comprises using one or more frequency offset adjustment operations to predict peer-to-peer connectivity metrics for the first wireless channel based on connectivity metrics of a second wireless channel used by the wireless AP.
3. Regarding claim 18 - The system of claim 16, wherein identifying the first wireless channel comprises using one or more frequency offset adjustment operations to predict peer-to-peer connectivity metrics for the first wireless channel based on connectivity metrics of a second wireless channel used by the wireless AP.
The closest prior art, either singularly or in combination, fail to anticipate or render the above limitations obvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-17, 19, and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 11/21/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Referring to page 2 - “Applicant respectfully submits that Kim, which describes AP scheduling of the P2P communications, does not teach or suggest delegation of this scheduling to the peer-to- peer devices themselves, as recited in the amended claims”. However, Kalhan discloses - selecting, by a wireless access point (AP), a first wireless channel, of the plurality of wireless channels, to delegate for peer-to-peer devices to use for peer-to- peer communication based on the set of connectivity metrics, refer to paragraph [0012] - The scheduler 112 that is communicatively connected to the base station schedules (assigns) communication resources for transmitting D2D signals from the first wireless communication device to the second wireless communication device. The scheduler 112 uses the reported channel information to schedule the appropriate resources. Therefore, measured signal characteristics of reference signals transmitted from the second wireless communication device to the first wireless communication device are used to schedule D2D transmissions from the first wireless communication device to the second wireless communication device, also paragraph [0028] - The D2D link establishment information may include specific information for a single one-way D2D transmission or may include more general channel information such as identification of authorized D2D resources that allow the wireless communication devices to schedule multiple D2D transmissions without specific instruction by the network for each transmission,
Also, Kalhan discloses - indicating, by the wireless AP, the first wireless channel to the first peer-to-peer device, comprising delegating scheduling of peer-to-peer transmissions to the first peer-to-peer device, wherein the first peer-to-peer device uses the first wireless channel to schedule peer-to-peer communications with a second peer-to-peer device in response to the indication, refer to paragraph [0017] - The scheduler 112 allocates different time-frequency resources to different devices to efficiently utilize the resources while minimizing interference. Accordingly, the scheduled macrocell communication resources used for signals 114, 118 exchanged with one wireless communication device 104 are different from scheduled macrocell communication resources used for other signals 116, 120 exchanged with other wireless communication devices 106, also, refer to paragraph [0028] - The D2D link establishment information may include specific information for a single one-way D2D transmission or may include more general channel information such as identification of authorized D2D resources that allow the wireless communication devices to schedule multiple D2D transmissions without specific instruction by the network for each transmission,
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ajami et al. (US 11,844,106 B2) discloses low latency schemes for Peer-to-Peer (P2P) communication.
Shafin et al. (US 2023/0371102 A1) disclose EML MR operation for P2P communication.
Montemurro et al. (US 2011/0082939 A1) discloses methods and apparatus to proxy discovery and negotiations between network entities to establish P2P communications.
John Pezzlo
30 December 2025
/John Pezzlo/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465B