DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments and Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and arguments, filed May 22, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) in view of Inagaki and Arita (cited in the previous Office Action) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant alleges that the calculation performed in the previous rejection of claim 4, the limitations of which are now incorporated into claim 1, was incorrect as Example 7 does not disclose triphenylphosphine in an amount of 0.1 parts by weight, but rather 0.5 parts by weight. However, it is not the position of the Office that Inagaki explicitly teaches an example that meets the claimed amount of triphenylphosphine. Rather, that the examples of Inagaki when taken with the broader range for triphenylphosphine overlaps with the claimed range.
As stated in the previously mailed Office Action (emphasis added):
Inagaki further teaches that the triphenylphosphine component may be present in an amount of 0.05 to 10 parts by mass per 100 parts by mass of the polyacetal resin ([0035]). While Inagaki does not teach an exemplary composition comprising the triphenylphosphine component in an amount of 0.3% by mass or less, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize the broader range for the triphenylphosphine component as a usable amount for the same, which would yield an overlapping amount of triphenylphosphine with the claimed range. For example, the broader range disclosed by Inagaki at para. [0035] supports an amount of 0.1 parts by weight of triphenylphosphine. Using such an amount within Example 7 of Inagaki yields a mass% of triphenylphosphine of:
0.1
p
a
r
t
s
t
r
i
p
h
e
n
y
l
p
h
o
s
p
h
i
n
e
125.7
p
a
r
t
s
t
o
t
a
l
c
o
m
p
o
s
i
t
i
o
n
≈
0.079
%
b
y
m
a
s
s
o
f
t
r
i
p
h
e
n
y
l
p
h
o
s
p
h
i
n
e
which is within the claimed range (Table 1, pg. 17 of foreign reference document, Example 7).
The emphasized portion of the excerpt above acknowledges that Inagaki does not explicitly teach an exemplary composition that comprises 0.3% by mass or less of triphenylphosphine, but rather takes an exemplary composition of Inagaki as a base composition such that the amount of the triphenylphosphine taught by Inagaki as “parts by weight” (see para. [0035]) may be converted to a weight percentage relative to the overall composition of Inagaki such that it can be compared to the instant claim. Thus, the finding of obviousness in the previous Office Action is based on the overlapping range of 0.05 to 10 parts by mass taught by Inagaki rather than a finding that a single example of Inagaki meets the claimed limitation.
Applicant’s arguments and amendments have been considered and are fully addressed in the remarks above and rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inagaki et al. (JP2009269996, English translation provided for citations, hereinafter referred to as “Inagaki”) in view of Arita et al. (JP2008145713, English translation provided for citations, hereinafter referred to as “Arita”).
As to Claim 1: Inagaki teaches a polyacetal resin composition comprising a polyacetal resin, an olefin-based resin which may be polyethylene ([0006]), and carbon black ([0005]). Inagaki further teaches that the composition may comprise a curing additive which may be triphenylphosphine ([0035]), which reads on the claimed tertiary aromatic phosphine. Inagaki teaches an exemplary composition comprising the polyacetal resin (A) in an amount of 100 parts relative to 126.1 parts by weight of the total composition or 79% by mass, which is within the claimed range (Table 1, pg. 17 of foreign reference document, Example 7). Inagaki further teaches an exemplary composition where triphenylphosphine is present in an amount of 0.5 parts by mass relative to 126.1 parts by weight of the total composition or 0.39% by mass (Table 1, pg. 17 of foreign reference document, Example 7), which is within the claimed range for the sum of a tertiary aromatic phosphine and tertiary aromatic phosphine oxide (i.e., wherein the tertiary aromatic phosphine oxide is not required by the instant claim and 0.39% by mass + 0.0 % by mass = 0.39% by mass). Inagaki further teaches that the triphenylphosphine component may be present in an amount of 0.05 to 10 parts by mass per 100 parts by mass of the polyacetal resin ([0035]). While Inagaki does not teach an exemplary composition comprising the triphenylphosphine component in an amount of 0.3% by mass or less, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize the broader range for the triphenylphosphine component as a usable amount for the same, which would yield an overlapping amount of triphenylphosphine with the claimed range. For example, the broader range disclosed by Inagaki at para. [0035] supports an amount of 0.1 parts by weight of triphenylphosphine. Using such an amount within Example 7 of Inagaki yields a mass% of triphenylphosphine of:
0.1
p
a
r
t
s
t
r
i
p
h
e
n
y
l
p
h
o
s
p
h
i
n
e
125.7
p
a
r
t
s
t
o
t
a
l
c
o
m
p
o
s
i
t
i
o
n
≈
0.079
%
b
y
m
a
s
s
o
f
t
r
i
p
h
e
n
y
l
p
h
o
s
p
h
i
n
e
which is within the claimed range (Table 1, pg. 17 of foreign reference document, Example 7). In the case where claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP § 2144.05(I). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have used the overlapping portion of the claimed range, and the motivation to have done so would have been, as Inagaki suggests, that the overlapping portion is a useable range for an amount of triphenylphosphine curing additive for use in polyacetal resin compositions.
Inagaki is silent towards wherein the composition comprises a reaction product of oxazoline and carbon black as represented by the claimed formula (1).
Arita teaches a polymer-grafted fine particles which may be carbon black ([0029]). Arita further teaches that the polymer-grafted microparticles comprise a graft polymer comprising a segment (A) having a group reactive to a functional group on the surface of a microparticle ([0113]), wherein segment (A) may be an oxazoline group ([0027]) which may be isopropenyl oxazoline ([0247]) the polymerized product of which forms the claimed a1 unit, and a segment (B) having a different structure from that of segment (A), wherein said segment (B) may be polystyrene ([0121]), which reads on the claimed PM. Arita further teaches that the carbon black may be surface treated by reaction with a graft polymer having an oxazoline group through the mechanism shown on pg. 17 of the foreign reference document:
the resultant structure reads on the claimed reaction product of an oxazoline group-containing polymer represented by formula (1) having a b1 unit. Inagaki is considered analogous art because it is directed towards the same field of endeavor, namely, conductive polyacetal resin compositions. Arita is considered analogous art because it is directed towards the same field of endeavor, namely, polymer grafting/functionalization of carbon black and also reasonably pertinent to the problem of achieving adequate dispersibility of carbon black. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a polymer-grafted carbon black, such as that of Arita which reads on the claimed formula (1), as an alternative to the carbon black component of Inagaki and the motivation would have been that Arita teaches that surface-grafting carbon black in such a manner imparts improved dispersibility, rheological properties, and electrical properties (i.e., conductivity) to said carbon black ([0067] and [0119]).
As to Claim 2: Inagaki and Arita teach the composition of claim 1 (supra).
Inagaki is silent towards wherein the composition comprises a reaction product of oxazoline and carbon black as represented by the claimed formula (1).
Arita teaches components which correspond to the claimed a1 and b1 units (see above), but does not teach a value for the relative amounts of unreacted oxazoline in the polymer chain (a1) or oxazolines having undergone reaction with carbon black (b1).
However, Arita does teach that the segment (A) which may be an oxazoline group ([0027]) such as isopropenyl oxazoline ([0247]) may have a molecular weight within the range of 300 to 100,000 g/mol ([0147]). Accounting for the repeat unit weight of the exemplary isopropenyl oxazoline (111.14 g/mol), this yields a degree of polymerization of segment (A) of about 2 to about 900. This value is construed to represent the maximum number of oxazoline units present before reaction with a carbon black and thus correspond to the claimed a1 + b1 (i.e., the sum of unreacted oxazoline units (a1) and oxazoline units having undergone reaction with organic functional groups present on the surface of carbon black (b1), as understood from the instant specification para. [0019]-[0021]). This range overlaps with the claimed range. In the case where claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP § 2144.05(I). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have used the overlapping portion of the claimed range, and the motivation to have done so would have been, as Arita suggests, that the overlapping portion is a useable range for the maximum number of oxazoline units present before reaction with a carbon black (correspond to the claimed a1 + b1 (i.e., the sum of unreacted oxazoline units (a1) and oxazoline units having undergone reaction with organic functional groups present on the surface of carbon black, as understood from the instant specification para. [0019]-[0021])) such that grafting efficiency is maximized ([0147]).
Arita does not explicitly teach the amount of functional groups per chain that have undergone reaction with carbon black (i.e., corresponding to the claimed b1).
However, a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have recognized that the amount of oxazoline/carbon black adduct reaction product per chain (corresponding to the claimed b1) would control the grafting density of oxazoline at the surface of carbon black and the properties resulting therefrom (improved dispersibility ([0067] and [0119])). As such, it would have been considered to be a result effective variable by a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP § 2144.05(II). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have optimized the amount of oxazoline functional groups per chain having reacted with carbon black through routine experimentation, and the motivation to have done so would have been, as Arita suggests, to ensure a sufficient number of reactive sites on the carbon black are functionalized to form a surface coating while also maintaining a sufficiently low number of reacted functional groups per polymer chain to prohibit macroscopic gelation ([0188]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a polymer-grafted carbon black, such as that of Arita which reads on the claimed formula (1), as an alternative to the carbon black component of Inagaki and the motivation would have been that Arita teaches that surface-grafting carbon black in such a manner imparts improved dispersibility, rheological properties, and electrical properties (i.e., conductivity) to said carbon black ([0067] and [0119]).
As to Claim 3: Inagaki and Arita teach the composition of claim 1 (supra).
Arita teaches a polymer-grafted fine particles which may be carbon black ([0029]). Arita further teaches that the polymer-grafted microparticles comprise a graft polymer comprising a segment (A) having a group reactive to a functional group on the surface of a microparticle ([0113]), wherein segment (A) may be an oxazoline group ([0027]), and a segment (B) having a different structure from that of segment (A), wherein said segment (B) may be polystyrene ([0121]).
As to Claim 5: Inagaki and Arita teach the composition of claim 1 (supra).
Inagaki further teaches an exemplary composition where the olefin resin which may be polyethylene (D) ([0006]) is present in an amount of 10 parts by mass relative to 126.1 parts by weight of the total composition or 7.9% by mass, which is within the claimed range (Table 1, pg. 17 of foreign reference document, Example 7).
As to Claim 6: Inagaki and Arita teach the composition of claim 1 (supra).
Inagaki further teaches an exemplary composition where the carbon black component (B) is present in an amount of 9 parts by mass relative to 126.1 parts by weight of the total composition or 7.1% by mass, which is within the claimed range (Table 1, pg. 17 of foreign reference document, Example 7).
As to Claim 7: Inagaki and Arita teach the composition of claim 1 (supra).
Claim 1, from which claim 7 depends does not select or require a tertiary aromatic phosphine oxide. Accordingly, Inagaki teaches that the composition comprises an aromatic phosphine, which reads on the alternative to the tertiary aromatic phosphine oxide recited in claim 1.
As to Claim 8: Inagaki and Arita teach the composition of claim 1 (supra).
Inagaki further teaches that the carbon black has a dibutyl phthalate oil absorption of 350 mg/100 g or more ([0005]), which is within the claimed range.
As to Claim 9: Inagaki and Arita teach the composition of claim 1 (supra).
Inagaki further teaches that the composition may comprise a fatty acid component ([0005]).
As to Claim 10: Inagaki and Arita teach the composition of claim 1 (supra).
Inagaki further teaches that the composition may comprise a fatty acid component ([0005]) which may be cetyl myristate ([0030]).
As to Claim 11: Inagaki and Arita teach the composition of claim 9 (supra).
Inagaki further teaches an exemplary composition wherein the cetyl myristate component (E) is present in an amount of 3 parts by mass relative to 126.1 parts by weight of the total composition or 2.3% by mass, which is within the claimed range (Table 1, pg. 17 of foreign reference document, Example 7).
As to Claim 12: Inagaki and Arita teach the composition of claim 9 (supra).
Inagaki further teaches that the composition comprises graphite ([0005]).
As to Claim 13: Inagaki and Arita teach the composition of claim 12 (supra).
Inagaki further teaches an exemplary composition wherein the graphite component (C) is present in an amount of 3.9 parts by mass relative to 127.5 parts by weight of the total composition or % by mass, which is within the claimed range (Table 1, pg. 17 of foreign reference document, Example 8).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/C.L.G.D./ Examiner, Art Unit 1767
/MARK EASHOO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1767