DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation " the EV cable connector " in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parks et al. (US 20160236634) in view of Fulton et al. (US 20230028679) further in view of Daoura et al. (US 20220297558).
Regarding claim 1, Parks et al. disclose an electric meter collar housing an electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE), the collar comprising:
a housing configured to fit within an electric meter receptacle of an electrical interface and to receive an electric meter (207, Fig. 2A);
a first supply side jaw blade (250, Fig. 3B) configured to plug into a first supply side socket in the electric meter receptacle to receive a first phase of a voltage from a utility company and to receive a first supply side connector of the electric meter to provide the first phase of the voltage to the electric meter (207, Fig. 2A);
a second supply side jaw blade (250, Fig. 3B) configured to plug into a second supply side socket in the electric meter receptacle to receive a second phase of the voltage from the utility company and to receive a second supply side connector of the electric meter to provide the second phase of the voltage to the electric meter (207, Fig. 2A);
a first load side jaw blade (203 or 204, Fig. 3B, par. 0036) configured to receive a first load side connector of the electric meter to receive the first phase of the voltage and to plug into a first load side socket in the electric meter receptacle to provide the first phase of the voltage to a consumer;
a second load side jaw (203 or 204, Fig. 3B, par. 0036) blade configured to receive a second load side connector of the electric meter to receive the second phase of the voltage and to plug into a second load side socket in the electric meter receptacle to provide the second phase of the voltage to the consumer;
Parks et al. does not teach
a first fuse coupled to the first phase of the voltage to determine if current drawn by a load on the first phase of the voltage exceeds a defined current;
a second fuse coupled to the second phase of the voltage to determine if current drawn by the load on the second phase of the voltage exceeds the defined current;
a controller to control operation of the EVSE, wherein controller is coupled to the first fuse and the second fuse to receive the first phase and the second phase of the voltage;
an EV cable connection to utilize the first and the second phase of the voltage to provide charging of an EV via an EV cable;
a relay coupled between the first fuse and the second fuse and the EV cable connection, wherein the relay is controlled by the EV controller; and
a ground fault circuit interrupter (GFCI) current transformer coupled between the relay and the EV cable connection to detect ground faults during EV charging.
Fulton et al. disclose
a first fuse (220, Fig. 2, par. 0037) coupled to the first phase of the voltage to determine if current drawn by a load on the first phase of the voltage exceeds a defined current;
a second fuse (220, Fig. 2, par. 0037) (230, Fig. 2, par. coupled to the second phase of the voltage to determine if current drawn by the load on the second phase of the voltage exceeds the defined current;
a controller (230, Fig. 2, par. 0037) to control operation of the EVSE, wherein controller is coupled to the first fuse and the second fuse to receive the first phase and the second phase of the voltage;
an EV cable connection to utilize the first and the second phase of the voltage to provide charging of an EV via an EV cable; (Note Fig. 2, connection to vehicle 155)
a relay (225, Fig. 2, par. 0038) coupled between the first fuse and the second fuse and the EV cable connection, wherein the relay is controlled by the EV controller;
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Parks et al. to include the teaching of a first fuse coupled to the first phase of the voltage to determine if current drawn by a load on the first phase of the voltage exceeds a defined current; a second fuse coupled to the second phase of the voltage to determine if current drawn by the load on the second phase of the voltage exceeds the defined current; a controller to control operation of the EVSE, wherein controller is coupled to the first fuse and the second fuse to receive the first phase and the second phase of the voltage; an EV cable connection to utilize the first and the second phase of the voltage to provide charging of an EV via an EV cable; a relay coupled between the first fuse and the second fuse and the EV cable connection, wherein the relay is controlled by the EV controller to provide over current detection for the device. (Note Fulton et al. par. 0036)
and
Daoura et al. disclose a
a ground fault circuit interrupter (GFCI) current transformer (638a, Fig. 6C) coupled between the relay (640, Fig. 6C) and the EV cable connection (attached to 502, Fig. 6C and Note Fig. 6B) to detect ground faults during EV charging.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Parks et al. as modified to include the teaching of a ground fault circuit interrupter (GFCI) current transformer coupled between the relay and the EV cable connection to detect ground faults during EV charging to detect faulty grounds.
Regarding claim 2, Parks et al. does not teach wherein the first fuse and the second fuse are coupled to the first phase and the second phase of the voltage via the first and the second supply side jaw blades.
Fulton et al. teach herein the first fuse (220, Fig. 2) and the second fuse (220, Fig. 2) are coupled to the first phase (L1, Fig. 2) and the second phase (L2, Fig. 2) of the voltage via the first and the second supply side jaw blades. (Note connections form the meter collar adapter 115 to the meter socket are interpreted as supply side jaw blades)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Parks et al. to include the teaching of wherein the first fuse and the second fuse are coupled to the first phase and the second phase of the voltage via the first and the second supply side jaw blades to allow the voltage to flow through the device.
Regarding claim 3, Parks et al. does not teach wherein the first fuse and the second fuse are coupled to the first phase and the second phase of the voltage via the first and the second load side jaw blades.
Fulton et al. teach wherein the first fuse (220, Fig. 2) and the second fuse (220, Fig. 2) are coupled to the first phase and the second phase of the voltage via the first and the second load side jaw blades. (Note the connection from the meter collar adapter 115 to the electric meter 130 are interpreted as load side jaw blades)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Parks et al. to include the teaching of wherein the first fuse and the second fuse are coupled to the first phase and the second phase of the voltage via the first and the second load side jaw blades to allow the voltage to flow through the device.
Regarding claim 7, Parks et al. does not teach a ground jaw blade configured to plug into ground socket in the electric meter receptacle, wherein the controller and the EV cable connection are connected to the ground jaw blade to provide grounding.
Fulton et al. teach a ground jaw blade configured to plug into ground socket in the electric meter receptacle, ( Suggested by [0055] Meter collar adapter 115 houses the mating contacts or connectors for the power and control interfaces which may be electrically connected to the meter collar adapter 115, which may have plug type connectors for, e.g., AC power Line 1, Line 2, and Neutral, e.g., ground. In an embodiment, the meter collar adapter 115 includes a plurality of contacts to electrically connect the meter collar adapter 115 to a meter socket 110, which is connected to the AC power lines and neutral, and to connect to utility meter 130.) wherein the controller and the EV cable connection are connected to the ground jaw blade to provide grounding. Examiner takes the position that all the elements are connected to each other and therefore the controller 230 and the EV cable in Figs.1 and 2 connected to the ground jaw blade (ground connection stated above).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Parks et al. to include the teaching of a ground jaw blade configured to plug into ground socket in the electric meter receptacle, wherein the controller and the EV cable connection are connected to the ground jaw blade to provide grounding to help maintain stable voltage levels across the system.
Regarding claim 8, Parks et al. does not teach a ground wire connected to the controller and the EV cable connection and extending from the collar for being secured to a ground terminal in the electric meter receptacle to provide grounding for the controller and the EV cable connection.
Daoura et al. teach a ground wire (Note 635 to ground, Fig. 6C) connected to the controller (630, Fig. 6C) and the EV cable connection (611, Fig. 6B) and extending from the collar for being secured to a ground terminal in the electric meter receptacle to provide grounding for the controller and the EV cable connection.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Parks et al. to include the teaching of a ground wire connected to the controller and the EV cable connection and extending from the collar for being secured to a ground terminal in the electric meter receptacle to provide grounding for the controller and the EV cable connection to help maintain stable voltage levels across the system.
Regarding claim 6, Parks et al. does not teach the controller and the EV communicate charging status via a pilot pin.
Daoura et al teach the controller and the EV communicate charging status via a pilot pin. (Note par. 0139, here is a control pilot unit that uses 1 kHz pulse width modulation used for charging control and communications with a user interface in the charging station.) and Noe par. 0021)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Parks et al. to include the teaching of the controller and the EV communicate charging status via a pilot pin to carry data. (Note Daoura et al. par. 0021)
Regarding claim 9, Parks et al. does not teach the first and second fuse are external to the housing.
Fulton et al. teach the first and second fuse internal to housing (Note rejection of claim 1 above)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to rearrange the first fuse and second fuse of Fulton external to the housing since the courts In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) has held that the rearrangement of parts would not modify the operation of the parts. Therefore it would have been obvious to have the first and second fuse external to the housing to allow for easy access for repair.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parks et al. (US 20160236634) in view of Fulton et al. (US 20230028679) further in view of Daoura et al. (US 20220297558) further in view of Karlgaard (US 20210148949).
Parks et al. teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 4, Parks et al. does not teach a first current transformer coupled to the first phase of the voltage to measure the current utilized thereby for EV charging; a second current transformer coupled to the second phase of the voltage to measure the current utilized thereby for EV charging, wherein the measured current is provided to the controller to calculate wattage.
Karlgaard teach a first current transformer coupled to the first phase of the voltage to measure the current utilized thereby for EV charging; a second current transformer coupled to the second phase of the voltage to measure the current utilized thereby for EV charging, (suggested by [0015] The plurality of measurement devices may include a plurality of current transformers. The plurality of current transformers may be configured to individually measure current consumed by a load on each line voltage wiring connected to the load and current provided by the line voltage wirings of the electric distribution system and the output voltage wirings of the DER device.) wherein the measured current is provided to the controller to calculate wattage. (Note processor of electric meter in par. 54 , which reasonable suggest calculating wattage ,measured by the electric meter)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Parks et al. to include the teaching of teach a first current transformer coupled to the first phase of the voltage to measure the current utilized thereby for EV charging; a second current transformer coupled to the second phase of the voltage to measure the current utilized thereby for EV charging, wherein the measured current is provided to the controller to calculate wattage to indicate the amount of electricity utilized.
Regarding claim 5, Parks et al. teach controller communicates wattage usage to a service provider.( [0031] In further embodiments, an interconnection meter socket adapter 103 may comprise a measurement module and a communication module. The communication module may be coupled to the measurement module. The measurement module may monitor the bidirectional real and reactive power flow through the interconnection meter socket adapter 103. The measurement may be provided to a customer and/or a utility company for load and/or generation monitoring. The communication module may provide the measurement to a data collection device, including a central server or other data handling medium.) Examiner’s position is that it would be reasonable that power flow would suggest wattage.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parks et al. (US 20160236634) in view of Fulton et al. (US 20230028679) further in view of Daoura et al. (US 20220297558) further in view of Van Fossen et al. (US 20130279049).
Parks et al. teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 10, Parks et al. does not teach an external switch to control power provided to the EV controller.
Van Fossen et al. teach an external switch to control power provided to the EV controller. (0035] The example apparatus 2 can provide power to and/or monitor power for electric vehicle charging stations. The meter socket 6 for incoming power from the power circuit 8 feeds the circuit breaker 10, which includes the trip mechanism 14. The circuit breaker 10 is manually operated by the external disconnect handle 22 for customer safety during operation as well as security. As will be described, the enclosure 4 and the external disconnect handle 22 cooperatively provide an interlocking mechanism to safely manually operate the distribution power and/or lock the main circuit breaker 10 from operation.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Parks et al. to include the teaching of an external switch to control power provided to the EV controller to provide customer safety as well as security. (Note Van Fossen et al. par. 0035)
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parks et al. (US 20160236634) in view of Fulton et al. (US 20230028679) further in view of Daoura et al. (US 20220297558) further in view of Van Fossen et al. (US 20130279049) further in view of Darr et al. (US 2009029553).
Parks et al. teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 11, Parks et al. does not teach wherein the first and the second fuse are integrated in the external switch.
Darr et al. teach wherein the first and the second fuse (106, Fig. 8) are integrated in the external switch. (300, Fig. 8)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Parks et al. to include the teaching of wherein the first and the second fuse are integrated in the external switch to provide a protection for each respective phase in one switch apparatus.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parks et al. (US 20160236634) in view of Fulton et al. (US 20230028679) further in view of Daoura et al. (US 20220297558) further in view of Ichikawa (US20200130520).
Parks et al. teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 12, Parks et al. does not teach wherein the EV cable connector is an EV connector inlet having a plurality of insulated receptacles to receive pins of an untethered EV cable.
Ichikawa et al. teach wherein the EV cable connector is an EV connector inlet having a plurality of insulated receptacles to receive pins of an untethered EV cable. (Note Fig. 2, the pins of 322 implies that a plurality of receptacles to receive the pins)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Parks et al. to include the teaching of wherein the EV cable connector is an EV connector inlet having a plurality of insulated receptacles to receive pins of an untethered EV cable to provide easy replacement of damaged cables.
Claims 13, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parks et al. (US 20160236634) in view of Fulton et al. (US 20230028679) further in view of Daoura et al. (US 20220297558) further in view of Karlgaard (US 20210148949) further in view of Ichikawa (US 20200130520) further in view of Neal et al. (US 20120062211).
Regarding claim 13, Parks et al. teach a meter receptacle that includes: (Note entrance of 206 in Fig. 2B)
a first supply side socket to provide the first phase of the voltage; (either of top connections in 206, in Fig.2B)
a second supply side socket to provide the second phase of the voltage; (either of top connections in 206, in Fig.2B)
a first load side socket to receive the first phase of the voltage; (either of bottom connections in 206, in Fig.2B)
and
a second load side socket to receive the second phase of the voltage; (either of bottom connections in 206, in Fig.2B)
an electric meter collar (200, Fig. 2A) to be secured into the meter receptacle, wherein the collar is capable of acting as an electric vehicle supply equipment, wherein the collar includes:
a first supply side jaw blade (250, Fig. 3B) to plug into and receive the first phase of the voltage from the first supply side socket; (207, Fig. 2A)
a second supply side jaw blade (250, Fig. 3B) to plug into and receive the second phase of the voltage from the second supply side socket; (207, Fig. 2A)
a first load side jaw blade to plug into provide the first phase of the voltage to the first load side socket; (203 or 204, Fig. 3B, par. 0036)
a second load side jaw blade to plug into and provide the second phase of the voltage to the second load side socket; (203 or 204, Fig. 3B, par. 0036)
an electric meter (207, Fig. 2A) that includes:
a first supply side connector to plug into and receive the first phase of the voltage from the first supply side jaw blade; (suggested by par. 0032 the interconnection meter socket adapter 200 comprises a set of jaw blades 201-204 (shown in FIG. 3B), wherein each of the jaw blades 201-204 electrically couple to a corresponding contact clip disposed on the surface of the distribution panel 206. The interconnection meter socket adapter 200 also comprises a set of sockets (shown in FIG. 3A), each socket contacting a corresponding clip, jaw blade or other contact of the meter 207.)
a second supply side connector to plug into and receive the second phase of the voltage from the second supply side jaw blade; ; (suggested by par. 0032 the interconnection meter socket adapter 200 comprises a set of jaw blades 201-204 (shown in FIG. 3B), wherein each of the jaw blades 201-204 electrically couple to a corresponding contact clip disposed on the surface of the distribution panel 206. The interconnection meter socket adapter 200 also comprises a set of sockets (shown in FIG. 3A), each socket contacting a corresponding clip, jaw blade or other contact of the meter 207.)
a first load side connector to plug into and provide the first phase of the voltage to the first load side jaw blade; ; (suggested by par. 0032 the interconnection meter socket adapter 200 comprises a set of jaw blades 201-204 (shown in FIG. 3B), wherein each of the jaw blades 201-204 electrically couple to a corresponding contact clip disposed on the surface of the distribution panel 206. The interconnection meter socket adapter 200 also comprises a set of sockets (shown in FIG. 3A), each socket contacting a corresponding clip, jaw blade or other contact of the meter 207.)
and
a second load side connector to receive the second phase of the voltage; ; (suggested by par. 0032 the interconnection meter socket adapter 200 comprises a set of jaw blades 201-204 (shown in FIG. 3B), wherein each of the jaw blades 201-204 electrically couple to a corresponding contact clip disposed on the surface of the distribution panel 206. The interconnection meter socket adapter 200 also comprises a set of sockets (shown in FIG. 3A), each socket contacting a corresponding clip, jaw blade or other contact of the meter 207.)
a watt hour meter to monitor the current utilized (suggested by par. 0032 . By way of example, the meter 207 may be a standard electricity meter that is either analog or digital. The meter 207 may be installed (e.g., plugged into) the distribution panel 206 directly. The interconnection meter socket adapter 200 may establish physical connectivity between the distribution panel 206, the meter 207, and a customer, such that the customer (i.e. load) side of the meter 207 is tapped. During operation, the meter 207 may still measure the net energy consumption of a user.)
Parks et al. does not teach
a fused disconnect connectable to the first phase of the voltage and the second phase of the voltage when inserted into a powered receptacle, wherein the fused disconnect includes a first fuse coupled to the first phase of the voltage to determine if current drawn by a load on the first phase of the voltage exceeds a defined current and a second fuse coupled to the second phase of the voltage to determine if current drawn by the load on the second phase of the voltage exceeds the defined current;
a controller to control operation of the EVSE, wherein controller is coupled to the first fuse and the second fuse to receive the first phase and the second phase of the voltage;
an EV connector inlet having a plurality of insulated receptacles to receive pins of an untethered EV cable, wherein the EV connector inlet is to utilize the first and the second phase of the voltage to provide charging of an EV via an EV cable;
a relay coupled between the first fuse and the second fuse and the EV connector inlet, wherein the relay is controlled by the EV controller;
a ground fault circuit interrupter (GFCI) current transformer coupled between the relay and the EV connector inlet to detect ground faults during EV charging;
a first current transformer coupled to the first phase of the voltage to measure the current utilized thereby for EV charging, wherein the measured current of the first phase of the voltage is provided to the controller; and
a second current transformer coupled to the second phase of the voltage to measure the current utilized thereby for EV charging, wherein the measured current of the second phase of the voltage is provided to the controller.
a third current transformer coupled to the first phase of the voltage to measure the current utilized by the customer;
a fourth current transformer coupled to the second phase of the voltage to measure the current utilized by the customer; and
Fulton et al. disclose a fused disconnect (220, Fig. 2, par. 0037) connectable to the first phase of the voltage and the second phase of the voltage when inserted into a powered receptacle, wherein the fused disconnect includes a first fuse (220, Fig. 2, par. 0037) coupled to the first phase of the voltage to determine if current drawn by a load on the first phase of the voltage exceeds a defined current and a second fuse (220, Fig. 2, par. 0037) coupled to the second phase of the voltage to determine if current drawn by the load on the second phase of the voltage exceeds the defined current;
a controller (230, Fig. 2, par. 0037) to control operation of the EVSE, wherein controller is coupled to the first fuse and the second fuse to receive the first phase and the second phase of the voltage;
a relay (225, Fig. 2, par. 0038) coupled between the first fuse and the second fuse and the EV connector inlet, wherein the relay is controlled by the EV controller;
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Parks et al. to include the teaching of a fused disconnect connectable to the first phase of the voltage and the second phase of the voltage when inserted into a powered receptacle, wherein the fused disconnect includes a first fuse coupled to the first phase of the voltage to determine if current drawn by a load on the first phase of the voltage exceeds a defined current and a second fuse coupled to the second phase of the voltage to determine if current drawn by the load on the second phase of the voltage exceeds the defined current;
Daoura et al. disclose a ground fault circuit interrupter (GFCI) current transformer (638a, Fig. 6C) coupled between the relay (640, Fig. 6C) and the EV cable connection (attached to 502, Fig. 6C and Note Fig. 6B) to detect ground faults during EV charging.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Parks et al. as modified to include the teaching of a ground fault circuit interrupter (GFCI) current transformer coupled between the relay and the EV cable connection to detect ground faults during EV charging to detect faulty grounds.
Karlgaard teach a first current transformer coupled to the first phase of the voltage to measure the current utilized thereby for EV charging, wherein the measured current of the first phase of the voltage is provided to the controller; and a second current transformer coupled to the second phase of the voltage to measure the current utilized thereby for EV charging, wherein the measured current of the second phase of the voltage is provided to the controller; (suggested by [0015] The plurality of measurement devices may include a plurality of current transformers. The plurality of current transformers may be configured to individually measure current consumed by a load on each line voltage wiring connected to the load and current provided by the line voltage wirings of the electric distribution system and the output voltage wirings of the DER device.) wherein the measured current is provided to the controller to calculate wattage. (Note processor of electric meter in par. 54)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Parks et al. to include the teaching of teach a first current transformer coupled to the first phase of the voltage to measure the current utilized thereby for EV charging; a second current transformer coupled to the second phase of the voltage to measure the current utilized thereby for EV charging, wherein the measured current is provided to the controller to calculate wattage to indicate the amount of electricity utilized.
Ichikawa teach an EV connector inlet having a plurality of insulated receptacles to receive pins of an untethered EV cable, wherein the EV connector inlet is to utilize the first and the second phase of the voltage to provide charging of an EV via an EV cable; (Note Fig. 2, the pins of 322 implies that a plurality of receptacles to receive the pins)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Parks et al. to include the teaching of wherein the EV cable connector is an EV connector inlet having a plurality of insulated receptacles to receive pins of an untethered EV cable to provide easy replacement of damaged cables.
Neal et al. teach an electric meter that includes:
a third current transformer (Note 321-32c and par. 0029) coupled to the first phase of the voltage to measure the current utilized by the customer;
a fourth current transformer (Note 321-32c and par. 0029) coupled to the second phase of the voltage to measure the current utilized by the customer; and
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Parks et al. to include the teaching of a third current transformer coupled to the first phase of the voltage to measure the current utilized by the customer; a fourth current transformer coupled to the second phase of the voltage to measure the current utilized by the customer to determine the amount of electricity usage.
Regarding claim 16, Parks et al. teach controller communicates wattage usage to a service provider.( [0031] In further embodiments, an interconnection meter socket adapter 103 may comprise a measurement module and a communication module. The communication module may be coupled to the measurement module. The measurement module may monitor the bidirectional real and reactive power flow through the interconnection meter socket adapter 103. The measurement may be provided to a customer and/or a utility company for load and/or generation monitoring. The communication module may provide the measurement to a data collection device, including a central server or other data handling medium.) Examiner’s position is that it would be reasonable that power flow would suggest wattage.
Regarding claim 17, Parks et al. does not teach the controller and the EV communicate charging status via a pilot pin.
Daoura et al teach the controller and the EV communicate charging status via a pilot pin. (Note par. 0139, here is a control pilot unit that uses 1 kHz pulse width modulation used for charging control and communications with a user interface in the charging station.) and Noe par. 0021)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Parks et al. to include the teaching of the controller and the EV communicate charging status via a pilot pin to carry data. (Note Daira et al. par. 0021)
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parks et al. (US 20160236634) in view of Fulton et al. (US 20230028679) further in view of Daoura et al. (US 20220297558) further in view of Karlgaard (US 20210148949) further in view of Ichikawa (US 20200130520) further in view of Neal et al. (US 20120062211) further in view of Rodenberg, III et al. (US 20050060107, hereafter, Rodenberg).
Parks et al. as modified teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 14, Parks et al. does not teach wherein the fused disconnect, the first current transformer and the second current transformer are coupled to the first phase and the second phase of the voltage via the first and the second supply side jaw blades.
Rodenberg teach wherein the fused disconnect (17, par. 0043), the first current transformer (18, Fig. 1) and the second current transformer (18, Fig. 1) are coupled to the first phase and the second phase of the voltage via the first and the second supply side jaw blades. (Note connections/blades reasonably implicit to meter 13)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Parks et al. to include the teaching of wherein the fused disconnect, the first current transformer and the second current transformer are coupled to the first phase and the second phase of the voltage via the first and the second supply side jaw blades to measure amperage and convert amperage to millivolt signals.
Regarding claim 15, Parks et al does not teach wherein the fused disconnect, the first current transformer and the second current transformer are coupled to the first phase and the second phase of the voltage via the first and the second load side jaw blades.
Rodenberg wherein the fused disconnect (17, par. 0043), the first current transformer (18, Fig. 1) and the second current transformer (18, Fig. 1) are coupled to the first phase and the second phase of the voltage via the first and the second load side jaw blades. (Note connections/blades reasonably implicit to meter 13)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Parks et al. to include the teaching of wherein the fused disconnect, the first current transformer and the second current transformer are coupled to the first phase and the second phase of the voltage via the first and the second load side jaw blades to measure amperage and convert amperage to millivolt signals.
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parks et al. (US 20160236634) in view of Fulton et al. (US 20230028679) further in view of Daoura et al. (US 20220297558) further in view of Karlgaard (US 20210148949) further in view of Ichikawa (US 20200130520) further in view of Neal et al. (US 20120062211) further in view of DeBoer et al. (US 20130020991).
Parks et al. teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 18, Parks et al. does not teach wherein the electric meter collar further includes a hinged cover to securely cover the EV connector inlet when an EV cable is not secured therein.
Deboer et al. teach wherein the electric meter collar further includes a hinged cover to securely cover the EV connector inlet when an EV cable is not secured therein. (Note par. 0038, the housing 202 includes a hinged front lid 210 which is held closed by removable fasteners and is adapted to be opened by an end-user.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Parks et al. to include the teaching of wherein the electric meter collar further includes a hinged cover to securely cover the EV connector inlet when an EV cable is not secured therein to provide protection from foreign objects.
Regarding claim 19, Parks et al. does not teach wherein the electric meter collar further includes a hinged cover to securely cover the powered receptacle when the fused disconnect is not secured therein.
DeBoer et al. teach wherein the electric meter collar further includes a hinged cover to securely cover the powered receptacle when the fused disconnect is not secured therein.
(Note par. 0038, the housing 202 includes a hinged front lid 210 which is held closed by removable fasteners and is adapted to be opened by an end-user.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Parks et al. to include the teaching of wherein the electric meter collar further includes a hinged cover to securely cover the powered receptacle when the fused disconnect is not secured therein to provide protection from foreign objects.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parks et al. (US 20160236634) in view of Fulton et al. (US 20230028679) further in view of Daoura et al. (US 20220297558) further in view of Karlgaard (US 20210148949) further in view of Ichikawa (US 20200130520) further in view of Neal et al. (US 20120062211) further in view of Darr et al. (US 20090295533)
Regarding claim 20. Parks et al. does not teach wherein the power receptacle includes a microswitch that is engaged by the fused disconnect when the fused disconnect is rotated to an on position, wherein the microswitch communicates with the controller.
Darr et al. teach wherein the power receptacle includes a microswitch that is engaged by the fused disconnect when the fused disconnect is rotated to an on position, (Note par. 0158 A rotatably mounted switch actuator is adapted to position the sliding bar and first and second movable contacts between an open position and a closed position relative to the first and second stationary switch contacts to connect or disconnect an electrical connection through the fuse, and a fuse status indicator module is provided.) and
wherein the microswitch communicates with the controller. (Note par. [0121] In an exemplary embodiment, the input/output element 664 may be a microcontroller having a microprocessor or equivalent electronic package that receives the input signal from the sensor 662 when the fuse 442 has operated to interrupt the current path through the fuse 442.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Parks et al. to include the teaching of wherein the power receptacle includes a microswitch that is engaged by the fused disconnect when the fused disconnect is rotated to an on position, wherein the microswitch communicates with the controller so that the operated fuse may be readily identified and its status confirmed, together with its location in the electrical system by the remote system. (Note Darr et al. par. 0121)
Conclusion
/DEMETRIUS R PRETLOW/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858