DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 8-9, 11, 15-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by KIM; Sanghyun et al. US PGPUB 20240251355 A1, in view of HU; Chunyu et al. US PGPUB 20230025546 A1, supported by provisional application 63/222,586, filed on 7/16/2021.
Regarding claim 1. Kim teaches A station (STA) comprising: a transceiver (Fig. 3, Communication Unit 120) configured to receive, from an access point (AP), a trigger frame that includes an indication that the trigger frame is configured for traffic identifier (TID)-based triggering of uplink (UL) transmissions; ([0011] A terminal (non-AP STA) for transmitting traffic in a wireless communication system by the present invention includes a transceiver and a processor, wherein the processor receives a trigger frame for triggering transmission of a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) from an access point (AP), wherein the trigger frame includes information indicating at least one traffic identifier (TID) allowed to be transmitted in a target wake time (TWT) period,
See also [0228] When receiving the trigger frame within the R-TWT SP, the scheduled STAs may need to respond with TB PPDUs by including only MPDUs of low-latency TIDs indicated through the trigger frame ) and
a processor operably coupled to the transceiver, (Fig. 3, Processor 110) the processor configured to:
identify, based on receipt of the trigger frame, at least one TID for which UL transmission is triggered, ([0169] In this case, the type of traffic which can be transmitted within a specific R-TWT SP by the STAs may be limited to traffic corresponding to the TIDs indicated from the AP. That is, in a process of configuring (setting up) the R-TWT SP, TIDs of traffic which can be transmitted during the corresponding R-TWT SP may be configured, )
determine whether UL traffic corresponding to the at least one TID is ready for transmission, ([0169] In this case, the type of traffic which can be transmitted within a specific R-TWT SP by the STAs may be limited to traffic corresponding to the TIDs indicated from the AP. That is, in a process of configuring (setting up) the R-TWT SP, TIDs of traffic which can be transmitted during the corresponding R-TWT SP may be configured, ) and
generate, based on the UL traffic being ready for transmission, a UL physical protocol data unit (PPDU) from the UL traffic, ([0171] In this case, traffic (MPDU, MSDU, etc.) corresponding to the other TIDs may be transmitted in the form of aggregation (for example, A-MPDU) through a PPDU through which frames corresponding to the specific TIDS are transmitted.)
wherein the transceiver is further configured to transmit, to the AP, the UL PPDU. ([0011] transmits a PPDU including traffic corresponding to the at least one TID to the AP within the TWT period.)
Kim does not teach the indication including a User Info Field with a one-bit Preferred TID Present Indicator.
However, Hu teaches the indication including a User Info Field with a one-bit Preferred TID Present Indicator. ([0083] Referring to FIGS. 4A-4B, in some embodiments, a basic Trigger frame may be extended using a reserved field (e.g., reserved field B39) … The reserved field may have a size of one or more bits (e.g., 1 bit of the reserved field B39). The reserved field may be set to a value of 0 or 1. If the trigger TID subfield is set to 1, then a type dependent per user info field (e.g., Trigger Dependent User Information field 418A) for a basic trigger may be defined to have a Preferred TID subfield (e.g., Preferred TID 420) which has a size of three or more bits.
See ‘586 page 14, line 17 “The new Trigger frame type formatmay indicate that one or more bits in the Trigger Dependent User Information field 418 may indicate TIDs. For instance, bits 5-7 of the Trigger Dependent User Information field 418A may 20 be a preferred TID subfield 420.”)
In order to improve QoS processing by higher resolution frame prioritization.
Kim and Hu are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Kim with the technique of preferred TID in Hu in order to improve QoS processing.
Regarding claim 2. Kim and Hu teach The STA of claim 1, Kim teaches wherein: the trigger frame includes an indication of the at least one TID, and the processor is configured to identify the at least one TID indicated in the trigger frame as the at least one TID for which UL transmission is triggered. ([0169] In this case, the type of traffic which can be transmitted within a specific R-TWT SP by the STAs may be limited to traffic corresponding to the TIDs indicated from the AP. That is, in a process of configuring (setting up) the R-TWT SP, TIDs of traffic which can be transmitted during the corresponding R-TWT SP may be configured, )
Regarding claim 4. Kim and Hu teach The STA of claim 1, Kim teaches wherein: the transceiver is further configured to: establish, with the AP, membership in a trigger-enabled target wake time (TWT) schedule that has a TWT service period (SP) and at least one associated TID; ([0122] A service period in the TWT may be configured as follows. The AP requests to participate in the TWT from a station associated with the AP. The station may participate in a broadcast TWT, or may negotiate with the AP about an individual TWT. ) and
receive the trigger frame during the TWT SP, and the at least one TID indicated in the trigger frame is the at least one TID associated with the trigger-enabled TWT schedule. ([0011] wherein the trigger frame includes information indicating at least one traffic identifier (TID) allowed to be transmitted in a target wake time (TWT) period, and the TWT period indicates a period in which transmission of traffic for the at least one TID having a specific transmission condition is allowed and transmission of traffic not having the specific transmission condition is restricted, and transmits a PPDU including traffic corresponding to the at least one TID to the AP within the TWT period.)
Regarding claim 8. Kim teaches An access point (AP) comprising: a transceiver; and a processor operably coupled to the transceiver, (Fig. 4, Processor 210 and Communication Unit 220) the processor configured to generate a trigger frame that includes an indication that the trigger frame is configured for traffic identifier (TID)-based triggering of uplink (UL) transmissions, ; ([0011] A terminal (non-AP STA) for transmitting traffic in a wireless communication system by the present invention includes a transceiver and a processor, wherein the processor receives a trigger frame for triggering transmission of a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) from an access point (AP), wherein the trigger frame includes information indicating at least one traffic identifier (TID) allowed to be transmitted in a target wake time (TWT) period,
See also [0228] When receiving the trigger frame within the R-TWT SP, the scheduled STAs may need to respond with TB PPDUs by including only MPDUs of low-latency TIDs indicated through the trigger frame)
wherein the transceiver is configured to transmit, to a station (STA), the trigger frame, (same as above)
wherein, based on receipt of the trigger frame by the STA, at least one TID is identified for which UL transmission is triggered, ([0169] In this case, the type of traffic which can be transmitted within a specific R-TWT SP by the STAs may be limited to traffic corresponding to the TIDs indicated from the AP. That is, in a process of configuring (setting up) the R-TWT SP, TIDs of traffic which can be transmitted during the corresponding R-TWT SP may be configured, )
wherein it is determined whether UL traffic corresponding to the at least one TID is ready for transmission, ([0169] In this case, the type of traffic which can be transmitted within a specific R-TWT SP by the STAs may be limited to traffic corresponding to the TIDs indicated from the AP. That is, in a process of configuring (setting up) the R-TWT SP, TIDs of traffic which can be transmitted during the corresponding R-TWT SP may be configured, )
wherein, based on the UL traffic being ready for transmission, a UL physical protocol data unit (PPDU) is generated from the UL traffic, ([0171] In this case, traffic (MPDU, MSDU, etc.) corresponding to the other TIDs may be transmitted in the form of aggregation (for example, A-MPDU) through a PPDU through which frames corresponding to the specific TIDS are transmitted.) and
wherein the transceiver is further configured to receive, from the STA, the UL PPDU. ([0011] transmits a PPDU including traffic corresponding to the at least one TID to the AP within the TWT period.)
Kim does not teach the indication including a User Info Field with a one-bit Preferred TID Present Indicator.
However, Hu teaches the indication including a User Info Field with a one-bit Preferred TID Present Indicator. ([0083] Referring to FIGS. 4A-4B, in some embodiments, a basic Trigger frame may be extended using a reserved field (e.g., reserved field B39) … The reserved field may have a size of one or more bits (e.g., 1 bit of the reserved field B39). The reserved field may be set to a value of 0 or 1. If the trigger TID subfield is set to 1, then a type dependent per user info field (e.g., Trigger Dependent User Information field 418A) for a basic trigger may be defined to have a Preferred TID subfield (e.g., Preferred TID 420) which has a size of three or more bits.
See ‘586 page 14, line 17 “The new Trigger frame type formatmay indicate that one or more bits in the Trigger Dependent User Information field 418 may indicate TIDs. For instance, bits 5-7 of the Trigger Dependent User Information field 418A may 20 be a preferred TID subfield 420.”)
In order to improve QoS processing by higher resolution frame prioritization.
Kim and Hu are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Kim with the technique of preferred TID in Hu in order to improve QoS processing.
Regarding claim 9. Kim and Hu teach The AP of claim 8, Kim teaches wherein: the trigger frame includes an indication of the at least one TID, and the at least one TID indicated in the trigger frame is identified as the at least one TID for which UL transmission is triggered. ([0169] In this case, the type of traffic which can be transmitted within a specific R-TWT SP by the STAs may be limited to traffic corresponding to the TIDs indicated from the AP. That is, in a process of configuring (setting up) the R-TWT SP, TIDs of traffic which can be transmitted during the corresponding R-TWT SP may be configured, )
Regarding claim 11. Kim and Hu teach The AP of claim 8, Kim teaches wherein: the transceiver is further configured to: establish, with the STA, membership in a trigger-enabled target wake time (TWT) schedule that has a TWT service period (SP) and at least one associated TID; ([0122] A service period in the TWT may be configured as follows. The AP requests to participate in the TWT from a station associated with the AP. The station may participate in a broadcast TWT, or may negotiate with the AP about an individual TWT. ) and
transmit the trigger frame during the TWT SP, and the at least one TID indicated in the trigger frame is the at least one TID associated with the trigger-enabled TWT schedule. ([0011] wherein the trigger frame includes information indicating at least one traffic identifier (TID) allowed to be transmitted in a target wake time (TWT) period, and the TWT period indicates a period in which transmission of traffic for the at least one TID having a specific transmission condition is allowed and transmission of traffic not having the specific transmission condition is restricted, and transmits a PPDU including traffic corresponding to the at least one TID to the AP within the TWT period.)
Regarding claim 15-16, 18. Kim and Hu teach A method for wireless communication performed by a station (STA), the method comprising steps recited in claim 1, 2, and 4. They are rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 3, 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Hu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Stéphane Baron et al. GB 2560540 A.
Regarding claim 3. Kim and Hu teach The STA of claim 1, but they do not teach wherein the processor is further configured to generate, based on the UL traffic corresponding to the at least one TID not being ready for transmission, the UL PPDU from other UL traffic that corresponds to at least one other TID.
However, Stephane teaches
wherein the processor is further configured to generate, based on the UL traffic corresponding to the at least one TID not being ready for transmission, the UL PPDU from other UL traffic that corresponds to at least one other TID. (page 23, line 23-50. The first embodiment relies on the use of a mechanism of buffer status report (BSR) for a station to report to the access point the amount and TID of data held in AC queues ready to be transmitted to the access point. The AP uses received BSR to support an efficient uplink MU operation.)
in order to improve the quality of service (page 8, second paragraph).
Kim and Stephane are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus in Kim with the technique of BSR in Stephane in order to improve quality of service.
Regarding claim 10. Kim and Hu teach The AP of claim 8, they do not teach wherein, based on the UL traffic corresponding to the at least one TID not being ready for transmission, the UL PPDU is generated from other UL traffic that corresponds to at least one other TID.
However, Stephane teaches
wherein, based on the UL traffic corresponding to the at least one TID not being ready for transmission, the UL PPDU is generated from other UL traffic that corresponds to at least one other TID. (page 23, line 23-50. The first embodiment relies on the use of a mechanism of buffer status report (BSR) for a station to report to the access point the amount and TID of data held in AC queues ready to be transmitted to the access point. The AP uses received BSR to support an efficient uplink MU operation.)
in order to improve the quality of service (page 8, second paragraph).
Kim and Stephane are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus in Kim with the technique of BSR in Stephane in order to improve quality of service.
Regarding claim 17. Kim, Hu and Stephane teach The method of claim 15, further comprising steps recited in claim 3, It is rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 5-6, 12-13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Hu as applied to claim 1, 8 and 15 above, and further in view of Shirali; Kedar Durgadas et al. US PGPUB 20170332385 A1.
Regarding claim 5. Kim and Hu teach The STA of claim 1, it does not teach wherein: the trigger frame includes an indication that a buffer status report (BSR) is requested, the processor is further configured to generate, based on receipt of the trigger frame, the BSR, and the transceiver is further configured to transmit, to the AP, the BSR.
However, Shirali teaches
the trigger frame includes an indication that a buffer status report (BSR) is requested, ([0134] the HE STA may explicitly deliver BSRs in any frame sent to the AP in response to BSRP variant Trigger frame, for example, as a solicited BSR. The HE STA may report its buffer status to the associated AP using either the QoS Control field or the BSR A-Control field.) the processor is further configured to generate, based on receipt of the trigger frame, the BSR, and the transceiver is further configured to transmit, to the AP, the BSR. ([0134] the HE STA may explicitly deliver BSRs in any frame sent to the AP in response to a BSRP variant Trigger frame, for example, as a solicited BSR. The HE STA may report its buffer status to the associated AP using either the QoS Control field or the BSR A-Control field.)
in order to improve the performance of wireless communications based on a limited availability of resources ([0046])
Kim and Shirali are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Kim with the technique of BSR pool in Shirali In order to improve the performance of wireless communications based on a limited availability of resources.
Regarding claim 6. Kim, Hu and Shirali teach The STA of claim 5, and Shirali teaches wherein: the trigger frame includes an indication that the BSR is requested for one or more particular TIDs, , ([0117] the AP 902 may transmit a buffer status report poll (BSRP) trigger frame to the low-latency STAs associated with the restricted TWT SP. ) and the processor is further configured to generate, based on receipt of the trigger frame, the BSR for the one or more particular TIDs.)
Regarding claim 12. Kim and Hu teach The AP of claim 8, but it does not teach wherein: the trigger frame includes an indication that a buffer status report (BSR) is requested, the BSR is generated based on the receipt of the trigger frame, and the transceiver is further configured to receive, from the STA, the BSR.
However, Shirali teaches
the trigger frame includes an indication that a buffer status report (BSR) is requested, ([0134] the HE STA may explicitly deliver BSRs in any frame sent to the AP in response to BSRP variant Trigger frame, for example, as a solicited BSR. The HE STA may report its buffer status to the associated AP using either the QoS Control field or the BSR A-Control field.) the processor is further configured to generate, based on receipt of the trigger frame, the BSR, and the transceiver is further configured to transmit, to the AP, the BSR. ([0134] the HE STA may explicitly deliver BSRs in any frame sent to the AP in response to a BSRP variant Trigger frame, for example, as a solicited BSR. The HE STA may report its buffer status to the associated AP using either the QoS Control field or the BSR A-Control field.)
in order to improve the performance of wireless communications based on a limited availability of resources ([0046])
Kim and Shirali are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Kim with the technique of BSR pool in Shirali In order to improve the performance of wireless communications based on a limited availability of resources.
Regarding claim 13. Kim, Hu and Shirali teach The AP of claim 12, Shirali teaches wherein: the trigger frame includes an indication that the BSR is requested for one or more particular TIDs, and based on receipt of the trigger frame, the BSR is generated for the one or more particular TIDs. ([0117] the AP 902 may transmit a buffer status report poll (BSRP) trigger frame to the low-latency STAs associated with the restricted TWT SP. ) and the processor is further configured to generate, based on receipt of the trigger frame, the BSR for the one or more particular TIDs.)
Regarding claim 19. Kim, Hu and Shirali teach The method of claim 15, further comprising steps recited in claim 12. It is rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 7, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Hu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lanante; Leonardo Alisasis et al. US PGPUB 20230284290 A1, supported by provisional application 63315117, filed on 3/1/2022.
Regarding claim 7. Kim and Hu teach The STA of claim 1, but it does not teach wherein: the trigger frame includes an indication of resource units (RUs) that are allocated for a random access procedure, an indication that the at least one TID is associated with at least one of the RUs, the transceiver is further configured to transmit, to the AP, the UL PPDU on one of the RUs associated with the at least one TID.
However, Lanate teaches wherein: the trigger frame includes an indication of resource units (RUs) that are allocated for a random access procedure ([0181] The AP may support UORA operation. As such, the AP may transmit a Basic Trigger frame, a Bandwidth Query Report Poll (BQRP) Trigger frame, or a BSRP Trigger frame that contains one or more resource units (RUs) for random access. A User Info field in a trigger frame whose 12-bit AID subfield is set to 0 indicates an allocation of one or more contiguous random access RUs (RA-RUs) for associated STAs , see ‘117 [149]) and
an indication that the at least one TID is associated with at least one of the RUs, ([0248] In an embodiment, with the B SR information of TID 7 sent using a ML UORA obtained TXOP, the AP MLD 2010 may allocate an RU on link 2 to allow STA MLD 2020 to transmit frames for TID 7. As shown in FIG. 20, AP MLD 2010 may send a basic trigger frame 2042 on link 2 in response to which STA MLD 2020 may transmit a TB PPDU 2051 containing QoS data frames for TID 7. See ‘117 [214] ) and
the transceiver is further configured to transmit, to the AP, the UL PPDU on one of the RUs associated with the at least one TID. ([0248] As shown in FIG. 20, AP MLD 2010 may send a basic trigger frame 2042 on link 2 in response to which STA MLD 2020 may transmit a TB PPDU 2051 containing QoS data frames for TID 7.)
in order to improve communication by dynamically allow or disallow STA MLDs ([0230])
Kim and Lanate are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus in Kim with the technique of send UL PPDU by RA-RU in Lanate in order to improve communication by dynamically allow or disallow STA MLDs.
Regarding claim 14. Kim and Hu teach The AP of claim 8, but it does not teach wherein: the trigger frame includes an indication of resource units (RUs) that are allocated for a random access procedure and an indication that the at least one TID is associated with at least one of the RUs, and the transceiver is further configured to receive, from the STA, the UL PPDU on one of the RUs associated with the at least one TID.
However, Lanate teaches wherein: the trigger frame includes an indication of resource units (RUs) that are allocated for a random access procedure ([0181] The AP may support UORA operation. As such, the AP may transmit a Basic Trigger frame, a Bandwidth Query Report Poll (BQRP) Trigger frame, or a BSRP Trigger frame that contains one or more resource units (RUs) for random access. A User Info field in a trigger frame whose 12-bit AID subfield is set to 0 indicates an allocation of one or more contiguous random access RUs (RA-RUs) for associated STAs , see ‘117 [149]) and
an indication that the at least one TID is associated with at least one of the RUs, ([0248] In an embodiment, with the B SR information of TID 7 sent using a ML UORA obtained TXOP, the AP MLD 2010 may allocate an RU on link 2 to allow STA MLD 2020 to transmit frames for TID 7. As shown in FIG. 20, AP MLD 2010 may send a basic trigger frame 2042 on link 2 in response to which STA MLD 2020 may transmit a TB PPDU 2051 containing QoS data frames for TID 7. See ‘117 [214] ) and
the transceiver is further configured to transmit, to the AP, the UL PPDU on one of the RUs associated with the at least one TID. ([0248] As shown in FIG. 20, AP MLD 2010 may send a basic trigger frame 2042 on link 2 in response to which STA MLD 2020 may transmit a TB PPDU 2051 containing QoS data frames for TID 7.)
in order to improve communication by dynamically allow or disallow STA MLDs ([0230])
Kim and Lanate are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus in Kim with the technique of send UL PPDU by RA-RU in Lanate in order to improve communication by dynamically allow or disallow STA MLDs.
Regarding claim 20. Kim, Hu and Lanante teaches The method of claim 15, further comprising the steps recited in claim 7. It is rejected for the same reasons.
Conclusion
/ZHAOHUI YANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468