Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 11/14/2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the amendments to the claims. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of the amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Goldstein et al. (hereafter Goldstein)(US PgPub 2022/0057519).
Regarding claim 1, Goldstein discloses a method (Figures 1 and 3), comprising: monitoring a physical environment using a camera-enabled device installed in the physical environment (Figure 1, Element 104 and Paragraphs 0063, 0064, 0066, 0078, 0080, 0087 and 0088 where a subject area, such as a building or dwelling, is monitored by a camera-enabled device installed in the subject area); determining one or more parameters based at least in part on the monitoring, the one or more parameters comprising an unknown identity of an entity, or a predefined suspicious behavior of the entity, or a combination thereof (Figure 1, Elements 136, 144 and Paragraphs 0054, 0080, 0084, 0088, 0091, 0098, 0099, 0127, 0128, 0129, 0610 and 0611 where a user is identified and a behavior of the user is monitored); and dynamically performing an operation directed, from a component installed in the physical environment and associated with the camera-enabled device, at the entity to affect the physical environment of the entity based at least in part on the one or more parameters satisfying one or more thresholds (Figure 1, Elements 152, 164, Figure 8 and Paragraphs 0143-0148, 0237, 0240 and 0266 where directive sound is directed at the user in order to deter the user).
Regarding claim 2, Goldstein discloses wherein the one or more thresholds are set to deter the entity while reducing a probability of taking a severe action for a low risk event (Figure 1, Elements 152, 164, Figure 8 and Paragraphs 0143-0148, 0152, 0237, 0240, 0265 and 0266 where directive sound is directed at the user in order to deter the user. The intensity of the directive sound is variable based on a determined deterrence level).
Regarding claim 3, Goldstein discloses determining that the predefined suspicious behavior is unaffected by the operation; and dynamically escalating performance of the operation of the component associated with the camera-enabled device at the entity to affect the physical environment of the entity in response to determining that the predefined suspicious behavior is unaffected (Figure 1, Elements 152, 164, Figure 8 and Paragraphs 0129, 0143-0148, 0152, 0237, 0240, 0265 and 0266 where directive sound is directed at the user in order to deter the user. The intensity of the directive sound is variable based on a determined deterrence level and user response).
Regarding claim 4, Goldstein discloses determining that the one or more parameters subsequently fail to satisfy the one or more thresholds in response to performing the operation; and dynamically lowering an intensity of performance of the operation in response to determining that the one or more parameters subsequently fail to satisfy the one or more thresholds (Figure 1, Elements 152, 164, Figure 8 and Paragraphs 0129, 0143-0148, 0152, 0237, 0240, 0265 and 0266 where directive sound is directed at the user in order to deter the user based on user threat level. The intensity of the directive sound is variable based on a determined deterrence level and user response).
Regarding claim 5, Goldstein discloses processing inputs from the camera-enabled device using facial recognition to determine whether the identity of the entity matches a profile of one or more known occupants associated with the physical environment, wherein the identity of the entity is unknown in response to determining the identity of the entity fails to match the profile of the one or more known occupants (Paragraphs 0073, 0080, 0128, 0130, 0137 and 0273 where facial recognition is used to identify an authorized/trusted user).
Regarding claim 6, Goldstein discloses processing inputs from the camera-enabled device using license-plate recognition to determine whether the identity of the entity matches the profile of the one or more known occupants, wherein the identity of the entity is unknown in response to determining both the facial recognition and the license-plate recognition fail to match the identity of the entity to the profile of the one or more known occupants (Paragraphs 0073, 0080, 0128, 0130, 0137, 0273, 0362 and 0366 where facial recognition and license plates are used to identify an authorized/trusted user).
Regarding claim 7, Goldstein discloses wherein the predefined suspicious behavior comprises a frequency of multiple passes of the entity walking past an object (Paragraphs 0062, 0074, 0087, 0088, 0091, 0120 and 0586 where user(s) are tracked relative to valuable objects and a threat/behavior level is determined).
Regarding claim 8, Goldstein discloses wherein the operation comprises emitting a sound warning the entity to leave the physical environment (Figure 1, Elements 152, 164, Figure 8 and Paragraphs 0143-0148, 0237, 0240 and 0266 where directive sound is directed at the user in order to deter the user).
Regarding claim 9, Goldstein discloses wherein the sound is selected based on the predefined suspicious behavior of the entity (Figure 28 and Paragraphs 0143-0148, 0237, 0240, 0266 and 0541 where deterrent sounds are selected based on behavior of the user).
Regarding claim 10, Goldstein discloses wherein the sound comprises one or more of a whistle sound, a dog barking sound, a sound of shouting, a sound of laughter, and a warning message (Paragraph 0239).
Regarding claim 11, Goldstein discloses dynamically selecting the sound using machine learning based on which historical sounds have successfully deterred previous entities (Figure 4 and Paragraphs 0132, 0187 and 636 where machine learning is used to determine successful deterrents).
Regarding claim 12, Goldstein discloses predicting an event based on the unknown identity of the entity and the predefined suspicious behavior of the entity; and selecting the sound to deter the entity from performing the predicted event (Figure 1, Elements 152, 164, Figure 8 and Paragraphs 0143-0148, 0237, 0240, 0266 and 0541 where directive sound is directed at the user in order to deter the user).
Regarding claim 13, Goldstein discloses setting a direction to emit the sound based at least in part on the monitoring (Figure 1, Elements 152, 164, Figure 8 and Paragraphs 0143-0148, 0237, 0240 and 0266 where directive sound is directed at the user in order to deter the user).
Regarding claim 14, Goldstein discloses tracking movement of the entity based at least in part on the monitoring and adjusting the direction to emit the sound based on the tracked movement of the entity (Figure 1, Elements 152, 164, Figure 8 and Paragraphs 0062, 0074, 0087, 0088, 0091, 0120, 0143-0148, 0237, 0240, 0266 and 0586 where directive sound is directed at the user in order to deter the user).
Regarding claim 15, Goldstein discloses wherein the sound comprises one or more of an ultrasonic and an infrasonic frequency (Paragraphs 0237, 0240, 0496 and 0525).
Regarding claim 16, Goldstein discloses wherein at least one of the one or more thresholds comprises a duration for which the entity remains within a predefined geo-boundary (Paragraphs 0088 and 0137 where user proximity to various boundaries is detected to determine threat/behavior level).
Regarding claim 17, Goldstein discloses wherein the operation comprises emitting a sound, the method further comprising adjusting one or more parameters of the sound based on the duration for which the entity remains within the predefined geo-boundary (Figure 28 and Paragraphs 0088, 0137, 0143-0148, 0237, 0240, 0266 and 0541 where selective, directional sound is emitted at the user when the user is detected at various boundaries).
Regarding claim 18, Goldstein discloses wherein at least one of the one or more thresholds comprises a distance at which the entity is disposed from a predefined object (Paragraphs 0062, 0074, 0087, 0088, 0091, 0120 and 0586 where user(s) are tracked relative to valuable objects and a threat/behavior level is determined).
Apparatus claim 19 is drawn to the apparatus corresponding to the method of using same as
claimed in claim 1. Therefore apparatus claim 19 corresponds to method claim 1 and is rejected for the
same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Regarding claim 20, see rejection for claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS D ALUNKAL/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686