DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on March 30, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1-18 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendment to the claims has overcome the previous claim objections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 13-14, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021221351 A1 (Shin ‘170 - citing to US 20220407170 A1 as an English translation) in view of US 20120231306 A1 (Herron ‘306), and further in view of US 20140205878 A1 (Ohgitani ‘878).
Regarding claim 1, Shin ‘170 teaches a battery pack (battery pack 1000; [0049]), comprising:
a plurality of battery modules (a plurality of battery modules 100; [0049]) each including a plurality of battery cells (the battery modules 100 respectively include a battery cell stacked body disposed in the module frame 110; [0050]); and
a pack housing having a plurality of accommodation spaces in which the plurality of battery modules are accommodated (the battery modules 100 may be mounted on a pack tray 200 and may be received in a pack housing 400; [0049]; see Fig. 8 showing four separate accommodation spaces for the four battery modules 100),
wherein at least one of the plurality of battery modules includes a side cover including a discharge port configured to allow gas generated from the plurality of battery cells to be discharged (each battery module 100 includes a venting gate 121 disposed on an end plate 120 for releasing heat and flame from the inside; [0046]) and an upper cover covering an upper portion of the plurality of battery cells (the module frame 108 for receiving the battery cell stacked body 102 may include an upper plate 112 in combination with module cover 440 disposed above the battery modules 100; [0044]; Fig. 1; & annotated Fig. 3 below),
wherein the pack housing includes a plurality of venting holes disposed on an external surface of the pack housing and configured to discharge gas generated from the plurality of battery modules (at least one rupture portion 500 for discharging heat or flame generated from inside to the outside may be formed on one side wall of the lower housing 410; [0053]) and at least one flow passage opposing the discharge port (each venting gate 121 is adjacent to a flow passage formed in the horizontal beams 320 of the vent inducing frame 300; [0077] & Fig. 12), and
As shown in Fig. 12, the four battery modules 100 each include a venting gate 121 for releasing a flame or heat that may be generated inside of the battery module 100 communicating with the vertical beams 310 and the horizontal beams 320 of the venting inducing frame 300 and the plurality of rupture portions 500.
However, only two rupture portions 500 are expressly disclosed in Fig. 12 of Shin ‘170, wherein two battery modules communicate with one rupture portion 500 and the other two battery modules communicate with the other rupture portion 500. Thus, Fig. 12 of Shin ‘170 does not disclose that each of the plurality of accommodation spaces is configured to communicate with a different venting hole among the plurality of venting holes.
Yet, Shin ‘170 discloses that the corresponding positions and numbers of rupture portions 500 may be appropriately selected if needed ([0063]).
Further, Herron ‘306 discloses a battery pack 103 comprised of a plurality of batteries that are segregated into a plurality of battery pack compartments 107 ([0034]). Battery pack compartments 107 are sealed from one another, both in terms of thermal energy and gaseous exchange, thus helping to prevent a thermal runaway event occurring within one battery pack from propagating to an adjoining compartment ([0034]). Each battery pack compartment includes a plurality of batteries that are contained within a battery module ([0034]). Each battery pack compartment includes one or more gas exhaust ports 115 that are designed to activate during a thermal runaway event ([0036]). Sealed ports 115 are mounted near the outer edges of battery pack 103 in order to minimize the length of the exhaust path 119 coupling each exhaust port to the ambient environment falling outside the envelope 121 of the vehicle ([0027]).
By including one or more exhaust ports 115 within each battery pack compartment 107 and segregating battery pack compartments using internal battery pack walls 123 (also referred to herein as battery pack cross-members) and central battery pack member 109, the risk of overheating the batteries within other battery compartments 107 is minimized ([0037]).
Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the corresponding position and number of rupture portions of the battery pack, as taught by Shin ‘170, to increase the number of rupture portions 500 to correspond to the number of battery modules 100 located therein, i.e., four rupture portions 500 for four separate battery modules 100, wherein each battery module 100 discharges gas from its vent gate 121 through a venting passage to a corresponding rupture portion 500, in order to minimize the length of the exhaust path from each battery module to the ambient environment, and to prevent a thermal runaway event occurring within one battery pack from propagating to an adjoining compartment, as suggested by Herron ‘306.
Shin ‘170 does not disclose wherein the upper cover is configured to cover a gap between the discharge port and the at least one flow passage of the pack housing.
Ohgitani ‘878 disclose a battery case 1 comprising a box-shaped case body 3 including a plurality of battery modules 2 in a row and a cover 4 for closing over an opening of the case body 3 ([0021]). A lower end of the cover 4 is provided with a flange 4a ([0025]). The flange 4a is attached to the reinforcement 5 with a waterproof packing interposed therebetween ([0025]). The battery case 1 further comprises an exhaust duct 9 which is attached to the upper faces of the battery modules 2 and connects the exhaust ports 2a of the battery modules 2 to the gas circulation hole 7 formed in the case body 3 ([0026]). As shown in Fig. 3, the cover 4 with flange 4a completely covers the gap or space between the exhaust port 2a and the gas circulation hole 7 of the reinforcement 5 to be let out through the gap 6 of the gas exhaust port 8 ([0031]). The case body 3 and the reinforcement 5 may be joined together to form a closed cross section to become a gas exhaust passage ([0043]).
Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, modify the module cover 440 having flange structure disposed above the battery modules 100 with upper plate 112 in the battery pack, as taught by Shin ‘170, to include the flanging structure 4a of the cover 4 that covers the space between the exhaust port 2a and the gas circulation hole 7 of the reinforcement 5, such that the modified cover of Shin ‘170 would be configured to cover a gap between the venting gate 121 and the horizontal beam 320 of the vent inducing frame 300 of the battery pack 1000, to form a gas exhaust passage having a closed cross section, as suggested by Ohgitani ‘878.
Further, the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding claim 2, Shin ‘170 teaches the battery pack of claim 1, wherein the pack housing includes:
a lower frame on which the plurality of battery modules are seated (pack tray 200 of pack housing 400; [0049] of Shin ‘170);
a first side frame (vertical beams 310; [0057] of Shin ‘170) including a plurality of flow passages through which the gas can flow (vertical beams 310 including a cover 311 with a passage 312 formed inside the cover 311; [0057] – [0058]; wherein gas (heat and flame) may flow therethrough; [0064] of Shin ‘170), wherein each of the plurality of flow passages is configured to communicate with a different accommodation space among the plurality of accommodation spaces (as shown in Fig. 12 of Shin ‘170, there are four different passages formed in the vertical beams 310 and the horizontal beams 320 that each battery module 100 communicates with shown by the arrows at each vent gate 121 of each battery modules 100);
a second side frame intersecting the first side frame (horizontal beams 320 formed to communicate with the vertical beams 310; [0056] of Shin ‘170); and
a cross frame connected to the lower frame and disposed between the plurality of accommodation spaces (as shown in Fig. 8 of Shin ‘170, there is a cross frame disposed lengthwise between the plurality of accommodation spaces;).
Regarding claim 3, Shin ‘170 teaches the battery pack of claim 2,
wherein the plurality of venting holes includes a first venting hole and a second venting hole spaced apart from each other (two rupture portions 500, corresponding to the plurality of venting holes, are present and spaced apart from one another, as shown in Figs. 8 & 12 of Shin ‘170), and
wherein the plurality of flow passages include: a first flow passage configured to communicate with the first venting hole (a first flow passage is formed, for example, from the top left battery module 100 that enters horizontal beam 320, turns to vertical beam 310, and exits through the upper rupture portion 500; Fig. 12 of Shin ‘170); and
a second flow passage configured to communicate with the second venting hole and partitioned from the first flow passage (a second flow passage, for example, is formed from the bottom left battery module 100 that enters horizontal beam 320, turns to vertical beam 310, and exits through the lower rupture portion 500; Fig. 12 of Shin ‘170).
Regarding claim 4, Shin ‘170 teaches the battery pack of claim 3,
wherein the first flow passage and the second flow passage extend in a length direction of the first side frame (as shown in Fig. 12 of Shin ‘170, the upper and lower vertical beams 310, each having a passage contained therein, extend in the length direction (x in this case) of the venting inducing frame 300; also see Figs. 3-5 of Shin ‘170).
Regarding claim 5, Shin ‘170 teaches the battery pack of claim 2,
wherein the first side frame includes a first communication hole opposing the discharge port and configured to communicate with one of the plurality of flow passages (the upper and lower vertical beams 310 communicate with the venting gates 121; [0064] & Fig. 12 of Shin ‘170).
Regarding claim 6, Shin ‘170 teaches the battery pack of claim 3, wherein the second side frame includes:
a third flow passage configured to communicate with the first venting hole (two battery modules 100, as shown in Fig. 12 of Shin ‘170, are configured to communicate with the upper rupture portion 500 with separate passages defined from the upper left battery module 100 and the upper right battery module 100, both discharging gas through the venting gates 121 to enter the horizontal beams 320 and finally exiting through the upper rupture portion 500).
Shin ‘170 does not disclose that wherein the plurality of venting holes further includes a third venting hole spaced apart from the first venting hole and the second venting hole, and
a fourth flow passage configured to communicate with the third venting hole and partitioned from the third flow passage.
Yet, Shin ‘170 discloses that the corresponding positions and numbers of rupture portions 500 may be appropriately selected if needed ([0063]).
Further, Herron ‘306 discloses that the battery pack compartments 107 are sealed from one another, both in terms of thermal energy and gaseous exchange, thus helping to prevent a thermal runaway event occurring within one battery pack from propagating to an adjoining compartment ([0034]).
The mere duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.04). Further, the rearrangement of parts is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill, and thus, the specific configuration of the plurality of flow passages and the plurality of venting holes present in the battery pack would be an obvious design choice in view of Shin ‘170 and Herron ‘306. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (MPEP 2144.04).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the structure of the battery pack, as taught by Shin ‘170, to increase the number of rupture portions 500 to correspond to the number of battery modules 100 located therein, i.e., four rupture portions 500 for four separate battery modules 100 with four separate passages, wherein each battery module 100 discharges gas from its vent gate 121 through a venting passage to a corresponding rupture portion 500, in order to minimize the length of the exhaust path from each battery module to the ambient environment, and to prevent a thermal runaway event occurring within one battery pack from propagating to an adjoining compartment, as suggested by Herron ‘306.
Regarding claim 7, Shin ‘170 teaches the battery pack of claim 6,
wherein the second side frame includes a second communication hole disposed adjacent to an end of the cross frame and configured to communicate with the third flow passage or the fourth flow passage (the horizontal beams 320 communicate with the plurality of passages contained with the venting inducing frame 300, wherein the horizontal beams 320 are disposed adjacent to the cross beam, the cross beam shown in Fig. 8, but not Fig. 12 of Shin ‘170, wherein the horizontal beams 320 each communicate with the venting gates 121, which would be adjacent to the cross frame disposed between the plurality of battery modules 100 in the x direction).
Regarding claim 8, Shin ‘170 teaches the battery pack of claim 2,
wherein at least one of the plurality of battery modules includes:
a cell stack in which the plurality of battery cells are stacked (each battery module 100 may include a battery cell stacked body 102 in which a plurality of battery cells 101 are stacked; [0042] & Fig. 1 of Shin ‘170);
wherein the upper cover covering an upper portion of the cell stack (the module frame 108 for receiving the battery cell stacked body 102 may include an upper plate 112 and an additional module cover 440 disposed above the battery modules 100; [0044] 7 Fig. 1 of Shin ‘170; the battery module 230 may include a first isolation layer 240 covering the entire top surface of the battery module 230 ([0075]; Figs. 5 & 6).), and
wherein the upper cover is coupled to the pack housing (as shown in annotated Fig. 3 of Shin ‘170, there four portions of module cover 440 that have flange portions on either side in the lengthwise direction configured for coupling the module cover 440 to the lower housing 410; [0049] of Shin ‘170).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Module Cover 440)]Regarding claim 9, Shin ‘170 teaches the battery pack of claim 8,
wherein at least one side of the upper cover is coupled to the first side frame or the cross frame (as shown in annotated Fig. 3 of Shin ’170, there are four portions of module cover 440 that have flange portions on either side in the lengthwise direction configured for coupling the module cover 440 to the lower housing 410 and the cross frame disposed in the length direction of Fig. 8; [0049] of Shin ‘170) and is configured to block the gas from flowing between the upper cover and the pack housing (a venting gate 121 for communicating with the inside of the battery module 100 closed by the upper plate 112 with upper cover portion 440 and the lower frame 111 appears to be designed to only allow gas to flow through the venting gate 121; battery pack compartments 107 are sealed from one another, both in terms of thermal energy and gaseous exchange, thus helping to prevent a thermal runaway event occurring within one battery pack compartment from propagating to an adjoining compartment; [0034] of Herron ‘306).
Regarding claim 10, Shin ‘170 teaches the battery pack of claim 8,
wherein the upper cover includes:
a body portion opposing the cell stack (upper plate 112 and module cover 440 disposed above the cell stacked body 102 of the battery module 100; [0045] & annotated Fig. 3 of Shin ‘170); and a plurality of flange portions connected to the body portion and coupled to the pack housing (as shown in annotated Fig. 3 of Shin ’170, there are four portions of module cover 440 that have flange portions on either side in the lengthwise direction configured for coupling the module cover 440 to the lower housing 410 and the cross frame disposed in the length direction of Fig. 8; [0049] of Shin ‘170).
Regarding claim 11, Shin ‘170 teaches the battery pack of claim 10,
wherein one of the plurality of flange portions is coupled to the first side frame, and
wherein the other of the plurality of flange portions is coupled to the cross frame (as shown in annotated Fig. 3 of Shin ’170, there are four portions of module cover 440 that have flange portions on either side in the lengthwise direction, one side of the flange portion configured for coupling the module cover 440 to the lower housing 410 and the other side of the flange portion configured for coupling the module cover 440 to the cross frame disposed in the length direction of Fig. 8; [0049] of Shin ‘170).
Regarding claim 13, Shin ‘170 teaches the battery pack of claim 10,
wherein a step is formed between the body portion and the plurality of flange portions (a step is formed between the flange portions and the plate portions of the module cover 440, because the plate portion and the flange portions are disposed at different heights in the vertical direction with the step portion therebetween; annotated Fig. 3 of Shin ‘170).
Regarding claim 14, Shin ‘170 teaches the battery pack of claim 8, further comprising: a sealing member coupled to the upper cover and covering between the upper cover and the cross frame (a pack gasket 411 may be formed between the upper cover 420 and the lower housing 410 to seal the inside of the pack housing 400; [0049] of Shin ‘170).
Regarding claim 17, Shin ‘170 teaches the battery pack of claim 2,
wherein the lower frame includes a third communication hole configured to communication with one of the plurality of accommodation spaces (each battery pack compartment includes one or more gas exhaust ports 115 that are designed to activate during a thermal runaway event; [0036] & Fig. 3 of Herron ‘306), and
wherein at least one of the plurality of venting holes is disposed on a lower surface of the lower frame and configured to allow gas flowing into the third communication hole to be discharged (sealed ports 115 are mounted near the outer edges of battery pack 103 in order to minimize the length of the exhaust path 119 coupling each exhaust port to the ambient environment falling outside the envelope 121 of the vehicle; [0027] & Fig. 1 of Herron ‘306).
Regarding claim 18, Shin ‘170 teaches the battery pack of claim 1,
wherein the number of accommodation spaces and the number of venting holes are the same (one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the structure of the battery pack, as taught by Shin ‘170, to increase the number of rupture portions 500 to correspond to the number of battery modules 100 located therein, i.e., four rupture portions 500 for four separate battery modules 100, wherein each battery module 100 discharges gas from its vent gate 121 through a venting passage to a corresponding rupture portion 500, in order to minimize the length of the exhaust path from each battery module to the ambient environment, and to prevent a thermal runaway event occurring within one battery pack from propagating to an adjoining compartment, as suggested by Herron ‘306).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021221351 A1 (Shin ‘170 - citing to US 20220407170 A1 as an English translation) in view of US 20120231306 A1 (Herron ‘306) and US 20140205878 A1 (Ohgitani ‘878), and further in view of US 20210402884 A1 (Wang ‘884).
Regarding claim 12, Shin ‘170 teaches the battery pack of claim 10,
wherein the cross frame includes a coupling portion protruding in a direction toward the first side frame and coupled to the flange portion (as shown in annotated Fig. 3, when fully assembled, the flange portions of module cover 440 in the center thereof would be coupled to the cross member disposed in the length direction of Fig. of Shin ‘170, wherein coupling portions located on the center cross member would be coupled to the flange portions of the module cover 440), but does not disclose a fifth flow passage through which gas generated from the plurality of battery modules flows is formed below the coupling portion.
Wang ‘884 discloses a lower box body 1 provided with an exhaust port 141 and an exhaust channel 141 ([0076]). The exhaust port 141 and exhaust assembly 15 may be arranged on a medial vertical beam 14 of the lower box body 1 ([0076]). The exhaust assembly 15 is configured to be open when a pressure in the accommodating area 16 reaches a set value, so that gas in the accommodating area 16 enters the exhaust channel 142 through the exhaust port 141 ([0080]). The high-temperature gas can penetrate the exhaust assembly 15 and enter the exhaust channel 142, and then be discharged to the outside of the battery pack 100, improving safety performance of the battery pack 100 ([0081]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the structure of the battery pack, as taught by Shin ‘170, to include a fifth passage at the location of the cross frame below the coupling portion for discharging gas from the accommodating areas, improving safety performance of the battery pack, as suggested by Wang ‘884.
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021221351 A1 (Shin ‘170 - citing to US 20220407170 A1 as an English translation) in view of US 20120231306 A1 (Herron ‘306) and US 20140205878 A1 (Ohgitani ‘878), and further in view of US 20210265705 A1 (Min ‘705) and US 20210066683 A1 (Lane ‘683).
Regarding claims 15 and 16, Shin ‘170 teaches the battery pack of claim 8, but does not specifically disclose wherein at least one of the plurality of battery modules includes:
a busbar assembly including a busbar electrically connected to the cell stack;
a side cover disposed between the busbar assembly and the first side frame.
Min ‘705 discloses a battery module 100 including a cell assembly, a busbar assembly and an insulating frame 160 on at least one side of a module case 135 that accommodates the cell assembly and forms the exterior of the battery module 100 ([0037]). The busbar assembly 150 may be configured such that a busbar 151 is fixed towards the outside on a busbar frame 155 located on the side of the direction in which an electrode lead of the cell assembly is drawn out ([0037] & Fig. 2). The electrode lead of the cell assembly may be electrically connected to the busbar 151 through a slit formed in the busbar frame 155 ([0037]). The insulating frame 160 may include an insulating cover 163 and an outer cover 165 located outside the busbar assembly 150 ([0037] & Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the structure of the at least one battery module of the battery pack, as taught by Shin ‘170, to include a busbar assembly including a busbar electrically connected to the cell stack and a side cover disposed between the busbar assembly and the first side frame, as suggested by Min ‘705, because the combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A.).
Shin ‘170 does not disclose a shielding member disposed between the side cover and the busbar assembly and configured to prevent gas from flowing in a direction from the side cover toward the cell stack, wherein the shielding member includes ceramic wool.
Lane ‘683 discloses a battery module 100 with a cooling plate 160 attached thereon, wherein the cooling plates 160 may be attached to the substrates 110A, 110B, via thermally conducting adhesives ([0158]). In most embodiments, no current should pass from the substrates 110A, 110B to the cooling plates 160, which can be achieved by providing a seal or covering layer of dielectric material over some or all surfaces of the substrates 110A, 110B ([0158]). In one embodiment, the substrates 110A, 110B can be prefabricated from an aluminum block and sealing or covering the entire surface of the substrate 110 with ceramic ([0150).
A substrate subassembly can also be thermally partitioned, wherein a thermal barrier such as a ceramic wool plate can be placed in between the substrates 110 in a subassembly to form a thermal break ([0164]). The thermal barrier can confine the propagation of heat beyond a certain number of battery cells 101, or direct the propagation of heat in a certain direction or route ([0164]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to include a ceramic wool plate between the insulating frame 160 and the busbar assembly 150 of Min ‘705, to provide a thermal barrier that can direct the propagation of heat in a certain direction, as suggested by Lane ‘683, within the battery pack, as taught by Shin ‘170.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 30, 2026, have been fully considered.
Applicant asserts that the upper plate 112 of Shin ‘170 does not extend to a venting gate 121 of the module frame 108 so as to cover a gap between the venting gate 121 and the passage 322, as shown in Fig. 6.
However, applicant’s argument is not persuasive in view of US 20140205878 A1 (Ohgitani ‘878), which discloses a battery case 1 comprising a box-shaped case body 3 including a plurality of battery modules 2 in a row and a cover 4 for closing over an opening of the case body 3 ([0021]). A lower end of the cover 4 is provided with a flange 4a ([0025]). The flange 4a is attached to the reinforcement 5 with a waterproof packing interposed therebetween ([0025]). The battery case 1 further comprises an exhaust duct 9 which is attached to the upper faces of the battery modules 2 and connects the exhaust ports 2a of the battery modules 2 to the gas circulation hole 7 formed in the case body 3 ([0026]). As shown in Fig. 3, the cover 4 with flange 4a completely covers the gap or space between the exhaust port 2a and the gas circulation hole 7 of the reinforcement 5 to be let out through the gap 6 of the gas exhaust port 8 ([0031]).
Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to look to the cover structure of Ohgitani ‘878 to modify the module cover 440 having flange structure disposed above the battery modules 100 with upper plate 112, as taught by Shin ‘170, to include the flanging structure 4a of the cover 4 that covers the space between the exhaust port 2a and the gas circulation hole 7 of the reinforcement 5 with gas exhaust port 8, such that the modified cover of Shin ‘170 would be configured to cover a gap between the venting gate 121 and the horizontal beam 320 of the vent inducing frame 300 of the battery pack 1000, to form a gas exhaust passage having a closed cross section, as suggested by Ohgitani ‘878.
Further, the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Moreover, applicant asserts that Shin ‘170 in view of Herron ‘306 does not disclose adjacent battery modules isolated from one another. However, applicant’s assertion is not commensurate in scope with the claim. Claim 1 recites that each of the plurality of accommodation spaces is configured to communicate with a different venting hole, but does not recite language that the battery modules are isolated from each other and do not share gas or flame.
Nevertheless, Shin ‘170 discloses that the corresponding positions and numbers of rupture portions 500 may be appropriately selected if needed ([0063]).
Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the corresponding position and number of rupture portions of the battery pack, as taught by Shin ‘170, to increase the number of rupture portions 500 to correspond to the number of battery modules 100 located therein, i.e., four rupture portions 500 for four separate battery modules 100, wherein each battery module 100 discharges gas from its vent gate 121 through a venting passage to a corresponding rupture portion 500, in order to minimize the length of the exhaust path from each battery module to the ambient environment, and to prevent a thermal runaway event occurring within one battery pack from propagating to an adjoining compartment, as suggested by Herron ‘306.
Applicant additionally states that Herron ‘306 does not isolate the gas exhaust ports 115 of the respective battery modules 107 from one another. However, Herron ‘306 expressly states including one or more exhaust ports 115 within segregated battery pack compartments 107 ([0037]). Further ports 115 are mounted near the outer edges of battery pack 103 in order to minimize the length of the exhaust path 119 coupling each exhaust port to the ambient environment ([0037]). Accordingly, applicant’s arguments regarding the combination of Shin ‘180 and Herron ‘306 are not persuasive. Applicant’s statement regarding a sealing structure for guiding the gas or flame along a specific path is not commensurate in scope with the claim, because claim 1 does not recite a sealed structure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20140113167 A1 (Itoi ‘167) discloses a battery pack in which four battery modules 200 included a plurality of cells 100 are housed in a case 20 with a metal external plate 21 ([0101]; [0117]; Figs. 15 and 22). As shown in Fig. 23, each battery module 200 is disposed adjacent to a first exhaust duct 65 including second exhaust space 62 c in contact with a second exhaust duct 67 including third exhaust space 67 c. Gas is guided from the vents to the first exhaust space 61 c, the second exhaust space 62 c, and the third exhaust space 67 c to be released to the outside ([0121]). The surface at reference number 65 extends from the metal external plate 21 over reference 66 a before extending downward with a flange portion at reference 66 b below reference 67. The structure of the first exhaust duct 65 in contact with the second exhaust duct 67 disposed adjacent to the side of the battery module 200 prevents adjacent batteries from being exposed to a high-
temperature gas from an abnormal battery ([0004]).
US 20210408634 A1 (Yin ‘634) discloses a battery pack 200 that generally includes a cover 210, a tray 220, and a plurality of battery cells 231 ([0072]). A pair of vent valves 212 may be provided on the cover 210 or the tray 220 ([0072] & Fig. 4). The battery pack 200 may include a plurality of battery modules 230, each composed of a plurality of battery cells 231 ([0072]; Figs. 5 & 6). A battery module exhaust port 232 facing the outer periphery of the battery pack may be formed on the second end partition 238 ([0074] & Fig. 6). The battery module 230 may include a first isolation layer 240 covering the entire top surface of the battery module 230 ([0075]; Figs. 5 & 6). The isolation layer 240 includes a main body region extending along the top surface of the battery module 230, a first side portion 242 and a second side portion 244 extending to the first side 235 and the second side 236 of the battery module, and a first end portion 246 and a second end portion 248 that at least partially covers the first end surface 237 and the second end surface 238 ([0075] & Fig. 6). The first side portion 242, the second side portion 244, the first end portion 246, and the second end portion 248 are formed as a flanging structure ([0075]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAYLOR HARRISON KRONE/Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725