DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to communication filed on December 11, 2025. Claims 1, 5-9 and 12-19 are pending in the application and have been examined by the Examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed October 29, 2025 was received and has been considered by the Examiner.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 11, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that the present invention performs the image stabilization function using two scenarios, wherein one of the scenarios includes a small shake scenario (within a first size) wherein even for image frames for which OIS correction has been completed, the VDIS function is additionally applied to digitally re-correct for fine residual shake. Applicant states that a step has been added to clearly define the operation when a small shake ('first size') occurs, which is the step of "performing a VDIS function with respect to the image frames acquired by performing the OIS function using the motion data having the size within the first size." This is to clarify the present invention's unique two-step stabilization process as a unique feature of the present invention. Unlike cases where stabilization for small shakes is completed solely with OIS, the present invention sequentially performs additional digital stabilization via VDIS on the image frames that have already undergone OIS processing.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Examiner has found no evidence in the original disclosure that for small shakes, both OIS and VDIS are performed. Applicant points to step 415 of figure 4 to support performing VDIS to correct for residual shake after performing OIS processing. However, the method of figure 4 pertains to “motion data having the second size” (i.e., large shake, see paragraphs 0081 and 0066 of US 20230209202). Therefore, the method of figure 4 is not directed toward motion having a small size (i.e. first size). On the contrary, paragraph 0065 of US 20230209202 recites “when motion data has the first size, the processor 220 may not determine a parameter, or may determine a parameter to be 1”. If no parameter is determined, then no VDIS can be performed based on the parameter, and if the parameter for the OIS is “1”, then the OIS would perform all of the shake correction. The Examiner has found no evidence in the original disclosure that there is any residual shake left to correct in this scenario.
Applicant argues, with respect to claims 1, 9 and 19, that Baldwin uses a 'crossover filter' to transmit signals for small shakes (first range) solely to the OIS system for correction. It does not disclose applying EIS (VDIS) to the image after OIS correction at all. In contrast, the amended claim 1 explicitly includes the step of "sequentially performing VDIS on the resulting image frame after performing OIS even for small shakes." This is a unique two-step sequential processing method of the present invention, which is fundamentally different from the 'selective' processing method of Baldwin.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., sequentially performing VDIS on the resulting image frame after performing OIS even for small shakes) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Additionally, Baldwin clearly sequentially performs OIS and VDIS in steps 304 and 305 of figure 3, column 5, line 65 through column 6, line 13.
Applicant argues, with respect to claims 1, 9 and 19, that Baldwin merely describes comprehensively that the OIS correction weight decreases in the 'transition region' but does not specify its purpose or the specific data interworking relationship with VDIS. However, amended Claim 1 clarifies that the purpose of the parameter is "to limit the operation range of the OIS function" and specifies that VDIS operates by receiving the "motion compensation value based on the parameter" used during OIS processing. This defines specific control methods and data flows not found in Baldwin, further clarifying the technical configuration of the present invention.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Baldwin limits the operation range of the OIS function by transferring a portion of the OIS correction from the OIS system to the EIS system (see column 3, lines 53-67). Whether or not Baldwin states that this is the desired purpose of the invention is inconsequential. Baldwin teaches that a portion of the correction (i.e. motion compensation value) to be dedicated to the EIS system (106) is based upon a portion of the correction (i.e. the parameter) dedicated to the OIS system (105), column 3, lines 53-67.
Therefore, the rejection is maintained by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5-9 and 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 is amended to recite that the processor is configured to “perform a video digital image stabilization (VDIS) function, based on the motion data, with respect to image acquired by performing the OIS function using the motion data having the size within the first size”. The Examiner has found no evidence in the original disclosure that for small shakes, both OIS and VDIS are performed. Applicant points to step 415 of figure 4 to support performing VDIS to correct for residual shake after performing OIS processing. However, the method of figure 4 pertains to “motion data having the second size” (i.e., large shake, see paragraphs 0081 and 0066 of US 20230209202). Therefore, the method of figure 4 is not directed toward motion having a small size (i.e. first size). On the contrary, paragraph 0065 of US 20230209202 recites “when motion data has the first size, the processor 220 may not determine a parameter, or may determine a parameter to be 1”. If no parameter is determined, then no VDIS can be performed based on the parameter, and if the parameter for the OIS is “1”, then the OIS would perform all of the shake correction. As such, claim 1 recites subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 5-8 and 16-18 depend from claim 1 and thus contain the same new matter as claim 1.
Claim 9 is amended to recite that the method comprises “performing a video digital image stabilization (VDIS) function, based on the motion data, with respect to image acquired by performing the OIS function using the motion data having the size within the first size”. The Examiner has found no evidence in the original disclosure that for small shakes, both OIS and VDIS are performed. Applicant points to step 415 of figure 4 to support performing VDIS to correct for residual shake after performing OIS processing. However, the method of figure 4 pertains to “motion data having the second size” (i.e., large shake, see paragraphs 0081 and 0066 of US 20230209202). Therefore, the method of figure 4 is not directed toward motion having a small size (i.e. first size). On the contrary, paragraph 0065 of US 20230209202 recites “when motion data has the first size, the processor 220 may not determine a parameter, or may determine a parameter to be 1”. If no parameter is determined, then no VDIS can be performed based on the parameter, and if the parameter for the OIS is “1”, then the OIS would perform all of the shake correction. As such, claim 9 recites subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 12-15 depend from claim 9 and thus contain the same new matter as claim 9.
Claim 19 is amended to recite that the processor is configured to “perform a video digital image stabilization (VDIS) function, based on the motion data, with respect to image acquired by performing the OIS function using the motion data having the size within the first size”. The Examiner has found no evidence in the original disclosure that for small shakes, both OIS and VDIS are performed. Applicant points to step 415 of figure 4 to support performing VDIS to correct for residual shake after performing OIS processing. However, the method of figure 4 pertains to “motion data having the second size” (i.e., large shake, see paragraphs 0081 and 0066 of US 20230209202). Therefore, the method of figure 4 is not directed toward motion having a small size (i.e. first size). On the contrary, paragraph 0065 of US 20230209202 recites “when motion data has the first size, the processor 220 may not determine a parameter, or may determine a parameter to be 1”. If no parameter is determined, then no VDIS can be performed based on the parameter, and if the parameter for the OIS is “1”, then the OIS would perform all of the shake correction. As such, claim 19 recites subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-9, 12-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baldwin (US 9,232,138).
Consider claim 1, Baldwin teaches:
An electronic device (figure 1) comprising:
a motion sensor (gyroscope, 103) configured to output motion data corresponding to motion of the electronic device (“the gyroscope 103 can measure the excursions on the camera 102 caused by the shake and provide the data to an image stabilization system”, column 3, lines 34-42);
a camera module (computing device, 101) configured to perform an optical image stabilization (OIS) function within an operation range (“OIS can align an optical axis of the camera by physically moving the camera, the image sensor or the lens”, column 3, lines 21-33) when the motion data has a size within a first size (e.g. when motion data indicates motion less than 0.95 degrees, column 3, lines 40-67), wherein the first size is smaller than a critical size in which a lens is controlled in order to perform an OIS function (The term “critical size” is broad. The Examiner interprets the 0.95 degrees taught by Baldwin to be the critical size in which a lens is controlled to perform an OIS function.); and
at least one processor electrically connected to the motion sensor and the camera module (“host processor(s) of the computing device 101”, column 4, lines 31-38), wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
perform a video digital image stabilization (VDIS) function, based on the motion data, with respect to image frames acquired by performing the OIS function using the motion data having the size within the first size (Video digital image stabilization (EIS) is performed for motions between 0.75 and 0.95 degrees, column 3, lines 53-67, step 305 of figure 3, column 6, lines 4-13.),
acquire the motion data having a second size larger than the critical size from the motion sensor (i.e. at step 301 of figure 3, column 5, lines 47-53) while continuously acquiring image frames through the camera module (A camera (102) of the camera module (101) captures video, as detailed in column 3, lines 21-24. The OIS, which is based upon the motion data, is performed while the image frames of the video are captured, column 3, lines 3-5.),
determine, a parameter associated with the OIS function such that the camera module performs the OIS function within the operation range using the determined parameter based on determination that the motion data has a second size larger than the critical size (The size of the motion data is determined in steps 302 and 303 of figure 3, column 5, lines 53-64. When the motion data indicates a second size between 0.95 and 1.00 degrees, a portion (i.e. a parameter) associated with the OIS function to be performed by the OIS is determined, column 3, lines 53-65.),
acquire image frames for which the OIS function is performed within the operation range using the determined parameter (“Once the image stabilization has been applied by the computing device (e.g., either EIS or OIS), the camera of the computing device may capture the image.” column 6, lines 10-13), and
perform the VDIS (“EIS”) function with respect to the image frames, based on the motion data having the second size and a motion compensation value applied based on the parameter to acquiring the image frames by using the OIS function (“For excursions between 0.75 degrees and 1.00 degree, a transition zone can be implemented where a progressively larger portion of the correction is transferred from the OIS system to the EIS system. The size of the portions may depend on how close the excursion is to the upper or lower boundary of the transition zone. For example, for those excursions that are closer to 1.00 degree amplitude (e.g., 0.95 degrees), a larger portion of the correction may be dedicated to the EIS system 106 than for excursions closer to 0.75 degrees.” column 3, lines 56-65. Baldwin teaches that a portion of the correction (i.e. motion compensation value) to be dedicated to the EIS system (106) is based upon a portion of the correction (i.e. the parameter) dedicated to the OIS system (105), column 3, lines 53-67.),
wherein the parameter is a suppression ratio related to a degree of the OIS function with respect to the motion data having the second size larger than the critical size (i.e. larger than 0.95 degrees), and the parameter is determined to decrease in response to an increase of the size of the motion data larger than the critical size in order to limit the operation range of the OIS function within a maximum OIS operation range (For instance, between detected motions of 0.75 and 1.00 degree, a “portion of the correction” (i.e. a suppression ratio) to be allocated to the OIS system is determined, column 3, lines 56-65. This parameter suppresses the range of the OIS function compared to when motion data has the first size, as between detected motions of 0.75 and 1.00 degree only a portion of the correction is performed by the OIS function, whereas for motions less than 0.75 degree all of the correction is performed by the OIS function, column 3, lines 53-65. The above-cited Baldwin recitation details that as the motion increases from 0.75 degrees to 1.00 degree, a “progressively larger” portion of the correction is performed by the EIS system. Since the portion of correction performed by the EIS (VDIS) becomes progressively larger as the size of the motion increases, the portion of the correction performed by the OIS (i.e. the suppression ratio) becomes progressively smaller (i.e. decreases) as the size of the motion increases.).
Consider claim 5, and as applied to claim 1 above, Baldwin further teaches an illuminance sensor electrically connected to the at least one processor (“one or more sensors configured to detect the amount of ambient light”, column 6, lines 39 and 40), wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
measure illuminance around the electronic device through the illuminance sensor (see step 502 of figure 5, column 6, lines 63-65), and
determine the parameter, based on the motion data having the second size (see claim 1 rationale) and the illuminance (i.e. by adjusting the gain of the OIS based on the amount of ambient light detected, step 504 of figure 5, column 6, line 65 through column 7, line 12).
Consider claim 6, and as applied to claim 5 above, Baldwin further teaches that the at least one processor is configured to: determine whether the illuminance corresponds to a low-illuminance environment having a value smaller than a designated value, and determine the parameter when the electronic device is in the low-illuminance environment (“The device may then determine the amount of ambient light in the environment (operation 502) and the shutter speed of the camera (operation 503). In FIG. 5, however, the computing device adjusts the gain of the OIS based on the amount of ambient light and/or the shutter speed of the camera. For example, rather than enabling or disabling OIS, the OIS starts out at full gain under the most challenging conditions and as conditions improve, the gain is turned down until the gain is near zero and then device may be turned off (or put into a low power but ready sleep mode). As conditions worsen (e.g., there is less ambient light and/or shutter speed increases), the gain is increased until the gain is full.” column 6, line 63 through column 7, line 7).
Consider claim 7, and as applied to claim 1 above, Baldwin further teaches an illuminance sensor electrically connected to the at least one processor (“one or more sensors configured to detect the amount of ambient light”, column 6, lines 39 and 40), wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
measure illuminance around the electronic device through the illuminance sensor (see step 502 of figure 5, column 6, lines 63-65),
determine whether the illuminance corresponds to a high-illuminance environment having a value equal to or greater than a designated value, and control the camera module to perform the OIS function within the operation range with respect to the motion data having the size within the first size (see claim 1 rationale) when the electronic device is in the high-illuminance environment (“The device may then determine the amount of ambient light in the environment (operation 502) and the shutter speed of the camera (operation 503). In FIG. 5, however, the computing device adjusts the gain of the OIS based on the amount of ambient light and/or the shutter speed of the camera. For example, rather than enabling or disabling OIS, the OIS starts out at full gain under the most challenging conditions and as conditions improve, the gain is turned down until the gain is near zero and then device may be turned off (or put into a low power but ready sleep mode). As conditions worsen (e.g., there is less ambient light and/or shutter speed increases), the gain is increased until the gain is full.” column 6, line 63 through column 7, line 7).
Consider claim 8, and as applied to claim 1 above, Baldwin further teaches a memory electrically connected to the at least one processor (“memory”, column 8, lines 31-37), wherein the at least one processor is configured to store, in the memory, the image frames for which the VDIS function is performed (“the same or separate storage can be used for images”, column 8, lines 31-37).
Consider claim 16, and as applied to claim 1 above, Baldwin further teaches that
the at least one processor is configured to determine the parameter, based on a magnitude of a value obtained by dividing the operation range by the second size (For instance, taking the operation range to be 1, and the second size to be 1 degree, 1/1 = 1. For 1 degree, the entire compensation is performed by the EIS, and the parameter for the OIS is thus 0, column 3, lines 53-67.).
Consider claim 17, and as applied to claim 1 above, Baldwin further teaches an image sensor (“image sensor”, column 2, lines 35-42), wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine an exposure time of the image sensor for acquiring the image frames (see “shutter speed”, step 503 of figure 3, column 6, lines 63-65), and determine the parameter, based on the exposure time (i.e. by adjusting the gain of the OIS based upon the shutter speed at step 504, column 6, line 65 through column 7, line 12) and the motion data having the second size (see claim 1 rationale).
Consider claim 9, Baldwin teaches:
A method for operating an electronic device (computing device, 101, figure 1), the method comprising:
acquiring, while continuously acquiring image frames through a camera module (computing device, 101) capable of performing an OIS function (A camera (102) of the camera module (101) captures video, as detailed in column 3, lines 21-24. The OIS, which is based upon the motion data, is performed while the image frames of the video are captured, column 3, lines 3-5.) within an operation range (“OIS can align an optical axis of the camera by physically moving the camera, the image sensor or the lens”, column 3, lines 21-33) when motion data corresponding to motion of the electronic device has a size within a first size (e.g. when motion data indicates motion less than 0.95 degrees, column 3, lines 40-67), the motion data from a motion sensor (gyroscope, 103) configured to output the motion data (“the gyroscope 103 can measure the excursions on the camera 102 caused by the shake and provide the data to an image stabilization system”, column 3, lines 34-42), and the first size being smaller than a critical size in which a lens is controlled in order to perform an OIS function (The term “critical size” is broad. The Examiner interprets the 0.95 degrees taught by Baldwin to be the critical size in which a lens is controlled to perform an OIS function.);
performing a video digital image stabilization (VDIS) function, based on the motion data, with respect to image frames acquired by performing the OIS function using the motion data having the size within the first size (Video digital image stabilization (EIS) is performed for motions between 0.75 and 0.95 degrees, column 3, lines 53-67, step 305 of figure 3, column 6, lines 4-13.);
determining, a parameter associated with the OIS function such that the camera module performs the OIS function within the operation range using the determined parameter based on determination that the motion data has a second size larger than the critical size (The size of the motion data is determined in steps 302 and 303 of figure 3, column 5, lines 53-64. When the motion data indicates a second size between 0.95 and 1.00 degrees, a portion (i.e. a parameter) associated with the OIS function to be performed by the OIS is determined, column 3, lines 53-65.); and
acquiring image frames for which the OIS function is performed within the operation range using the determined parameter (“Once the image stabilization has been applied by the computing device (e.g., either EIS or OIS), the camera of the computing device may capture the image.” column 6, lines 10-13),
performing the VDIS (“EIS”) function with respect to the image frames, based on the motion data having the second size and a motion compensation value applied based on the parameter to acquiring the image frames by using the OIS function (“For excursions between 0.75 degrees and 1.00 degree, a transition zone can be implemented where a progressively larger portion of the correction is transferred from the OIS system to the EIS system. The size of the portions may depend on how close the excursion is to the upper or lower boundary of the transition zone. For example, for those excursions that are closer to 1.00 degree amplitude (e.g., 0.95 degrees), a larger portion of the correction may be dedicated to the EIS system 106 than for excursions closer to 0.75 degrees.” column 3, lines 56-65. Baldwin teaches that a portion of the correction (i.e. motion compensation value) to be dedicated to the EIS system (106) is based upon a portion of the correction (i.e. the parameter) dedicated to the OIS system (105), column 3, lines 53-67.),
wherein the parameter is a suppression ratio related to a degree of the OIS function with respect to the motion data having the second size larger than the critical size (0.95 degrees), and the parameter is determined to decrease in response to an increase of the size of the motion data larger than the critical size in order to limit the operation range of the OIS function within a maximum OIS operation range (For instance, between detected motions of 0.75 and 1.00 degree, a “portion of the correction” (i.e. a suppression ratio) to be allocated to the OIS system is determined, column 3, lines 56-65. This parameter suppresses the range of the OIS function compared to when motion data has the first size, as between detected motions of 0.75 and 1.00 degree only a portion of the correction is performed by the OIS function, whereas for motions less than 0.75 degree all of the correction is performed by the OIS function, column 3, lines 53-65. The above-cited Baldwin recitation details that as the motion increases from 0.75 degrees to 1.00 degree, a “progressively larger” portion of the correction is performed by the EIS system. Since the portion of correction performed by the EIS (VDIS) becomes progressively larger as the size of the motion increases, the portion of the correction performed by the OIS (i.e. the suppression ratio) becomes progressively smaller (i.e. decreases) as the size of the motion increases.).
Consider claim 12, and as applied to claim 9 above, Baldwin further teaches an illuminance sensor electrically connected to the at least one processor (“one or more sensors configured to detect the amount of ambient light”, column 6, lines 39 and 40), wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
measure illuminance around the electronic device through the illuminance sensor (see step 502 of figure 5, column 6, lines 63-65), and
determine the parameter, based on the motion data having the second size (see claim 1 rationale) and the illuminance (i.e. by adjusting the gain of the OIS based on the amount of ambient light detected, step 504 of figure 5, column 6, line 65 through column 7, line 12).
Consider claim 13, and as applied to claim 12 above, Baldwin further teaches that the at least one processor is configured to: determine whether the illuminance corresponds to a low-illuminance environment having a value smaller than a designated value, and determine the parameter when the electronic device is in the low-illuminance environment (“The device may then determine the amount of ambient light in the environment (operation 502) and the shutter speed of the camera (operation 503). In FIG. 5, however, the computing device adjusts the gain of the OIS based on the amount of ambient light and/or the shutter speed of the camera. For example, rather than enabling or disabling OIS, the OIS starts out at full gain under the most challenging conditions and as conditions improve, the gain is turned down until the gain is near zero and then device may be turned off (or put into a low power but ready sleep mode). As conditions worsen (e.g., there is less ambient light and/or shutter speed increases), the gain is increased until the gain is full.” column 6, line 63 through column 7, line 7).
Consider claim 14, and as applied to claim 9 above, Baldwin further teaches an illuminance sensor electrically connected to the at least one processor (“one or more sensors configured to detect the amount of ambient light”, column 6, lines 39 and 40), wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
measure illuminance around the electronic device through the illuminance sensor (see step 502 of figure 5, column 6, lines 63-65),
determine whether the illuminance corresponds to a high-illuminance environment having a value equal to or greater than a designated value, and control the camera module to perform the OIS function within the operation range with respect to the motion data having the size within the first size (see claim 1 rationale) when the electronic device is in the high-illuminance environment (“The device may then determine the amount of ambient light in the environment (operation 502) and the shutter speed of the camera (operation 503). In FIG. 5, however, the computing device adjusts the gain of the OIS based on the amount of ambient light and/or the shutter speed of the camera. For example, rather than enabling or disabling OIS, the OIS starts out at full gain under the most challenging conditions and as conditions improve, the gain is turned down until the gain is near zero and then device may be turned off (or put into a low power but ready sleep mode). As conditions worsen (e.g., there is less ambient light and/or shutter speed increases), the gain is increased until the gain is full.” column 6, line 63 through column 7, line 7).
Consider claim 15, and as applied to claim 9 above, Baldwin further teaches a memory electrically connected to the at least one processor (“memory”, column 8, lines 31-37), wherein the at least one processor is configured to store, in the memory, the image frames for which the VDIS function is performed (“the same or separate storage can be used for images”, column 8, lines 31-37).
Consider claim 19, Baldwin teaches:
An electronic device (figure 1) comprising:
a motion sensor (gyroscope, 103) configured to output motion data corresponding to motion of the electronic device (“the gyroscope 103 can measure the excursions on the camera 102 caused by the shake and provide the data to an image stabilization system”, column 3, lines 34-42);
a camera module (computing device, 101) configured to move a lens assembly within an operation range (“OIS can align an optical axis of the camera by physically moving the camera, the image sensor or the lens”, column 3, lines 21-33) when the motion data has a size within a first size (e.g. when motion data indicates motion less than 0.95 degrees, column 3, lines 40-67), wherein the first size is smaller than a critical size in which a lens is controlled in order to perform an OIS function (The term “critical size” is broad. The Examiner interprets the 0.95 degrees taught by Baldwin to be the critical size in which a lens is controlled to perform an OIS function.); and
at least one processor operatively connected to the motion sensor and the camera module (“host processor(s) of the computing device 101”, column 4, lines 31-38), wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
perform a video digital image stabilization (VDIS) function, based on the motion data, with respect to image frames acquired by performing the OIS function using the motion data having the size within the first size (Video digital image stabilization (EIS) is performed for motions between 0.75 and 0.95 degrees, column 3, lines 53-67, step 305 of figure 3, column 6, lines 4-13.),
acquire the motion data having a second size larger than the critical size from the motion sensor (i.e. at step 301 of figure 3, column 5, lines 47-53) while continuously acquiring image frames through the camera module (A camera (102) of the camera module (101) captures video, as detailed in column 3, lines 21-24. The OIS, which is based upon the motion data, is performed while the image frames of the video are captured, column 3, lines 3-5.),
determine, a parameter associated with the OIS function such that the camera module make the lens assemble move within the operation range based on determination that the motion data has a second size larger than the critical size (The size of the motion data is determined in steps 302 and 303 of figure 3, column 5, lines 53-64. When the motion data indicates a second size between 0.95 and 1.00 degrees, a portion (i.e. a parameter) associated with the OIS function to be performed by the OIS is determined, column 3, lines 53-65.),
acquire image frames through the lens assembly which is moved based on the determined parameter (“Once the image stabilization has been applied by the computing device (e.g., either EIS or OIS), the camera of the computing device may capture the image.” column 6, lines 10-13), and
perform the VDIS (“EIS”) function with respect to the image frames, based on the motion data having the second size and a motion compensation value applied based on the parameter to acquiring the image frames by using the OIS function (“For excursions between 0.75 degrees and 1.00 degree, a transition zone can be implemented where a progressively larger portion of the correction is transferred from the OIS system to the EIS system. The size of the portions may depend on how close the excursion is to the upper or lower boundary of the transition zone. For example, for those excursions that are closer to 1.00 degree amplitude (e.g., 0.95 degrees), a larger portion of the correction may be dedicated to the EIS system 106 than for excursions closer to 0.75 degrees.” column 3, lines 56-65. Baldwin teaches that a portion of the correction (i.e. motion compensation value) to be dedicated to the EIS system (106) is based upon a portion of the correction (i.e. the parameter) dedicated to the OIS system (105), column 3, lines 53-67.),
wherein the parameter is a suppression ratio related to a degree of the OIS function with respect to the motion data having the second size larger than the critical size (0.95 degrees), and the parameter is determined to decrease in response to an increase of the size of the motion data larger than the critical size in order to limit the operation range of the OIS function within a maximum OIS operation range (For instance, between detected motions of 0.75 and 1.00 degree, a “portion of the correction” (i.e. a suppression ratio) to be allocated to the OIS system is determined, column 3, lines 56-65. This parameter suppresses the range of the OIS function compared to when motion data has the first size, as between detected motions of 0.75 and 1.00 degree only a portion of the correction is performed by the OIS function, whereas for motions less than 0.75 degree all of the correction is performed by the OIS function, column 3, lines 53-65. The above-cited Baldwin recitation details that as the motion increases from 0.75 degrees to 1.00 degree, a “progressively larger” portion of the correction is performed by the EIS system. Since the portion of correction performed by the EIS (VDIS) becomes progressively larger as the size of the motion increases, the portion of the correction performed by the OIS (i.e. the suppression ratio) becomes progressively smaller (i.e. decreases) as the size of the motion increases.).
Prior Art
Consider claim 18, the prior art of record does not teach nor reasonably suggest that the processor is configured to determine the parameter, based on a magnitude of a value obtained by multiplying the exposure time and the motion data, in combination with the other elements recited in parent claims 1 and 17.
Conclusion
/ALBERT H CUTLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637