DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng et al. (CN 2582186 Y, hereinafter Zeng, previously cited) in view of applicant’s admitted prior art (hereinafter AAPA) and Ota et al. (US 2022/0149439 A1, hereinafter Ota).
Re Claim 1. Zeng teaches an electrode laminate (Fig. 7, P2), comprising:
a plurality of sheet-shaped negative electrodes (items 24 & 25); a plurality of sheet-shaped separators (item 23); and a plurality of sheet-shaped positive electrodes (items 21 & 22),
the plurality of negative electrodes, the plurality of solid electrolytes or separators, and the plurality of positive electrodes being laminated together within a predetermined rare (Fig. 7),
in the plurality of negative electrodes, negative electrode current collecting parts (item 251) protruding from the predetermined range to one side being bonded together,
in the plurality of positive electrodes, positive electrode current collecting parts (item 211) protruding from the predetermined range to the other side being bonded together,
the one side and the other side being in opposite directions to each other (Fig. 7), and
the negative electrode current collecting parts and the positive electrode current collecting parts having a shape that tapers toward a direction away from the predetermined range and that tapers from both sides toward a center in a width direction of the predetermined range (Fig. 7).
Zeng fails to teach that the plurality of positive/negative current collecting parts are bonded together with a sealant, and each having a triangular shape.
AAPA discloses that the plurality of positive/negative current collecting parts are bonded together with a sealant (para. 3).
In view of AAPA, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the invention of Zeng to employ sealant for boding current collecting parts, to ensure the bonding.
The invention of Ota encompasses battery. Ota teaches that current collecting parts can have various shapes including rectangular, triangular, trapezoidal, or semicircular shape (para. 68).
In view of Ota, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the invention of Zeng in view of AAPA to have a triangular shaped current collecting parts, since using a well-known shape for current collecting parts would be within purview of one skill in the art.
Re Claim 3. The combination teaches a secondary battery (Zeng, abstract), comprising the electrode laminate according to claim 1 (see rejection of Claim 1).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng in view of AAPA and Ota as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Daidoji et al. (WO 2010/134170 A1, hereinafter Daidoji, previously cited).
The teachings of Zeng in view of AAPA and Ota have been discussed above.
Zeng in view of AAPA and Ota fails to teach that the negative electrodes include at least one of lithium, sodium, potassium, silicon, or alloys thereof.
The invention of Daidoji encompasses laminated secondary battery. Daidoji teaches that the negative electrodes include lithium (P8).
In view of Daidoji, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the invention of Zeng in view of AAPA and Ota to employ lithium in the negative electrodes, since using a well-known negative electrode material is within purview of one skill in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Newly cited references AAPA and Ota address the new limitation.
Conclusion
The rejections above rely on the references for all the teachings expressed in the text of the references and/or one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood from the texts. Only specific portions of the texts have been pointed out to emphasize certain aspects of the prior art, however, each reference as a whole should be reviewed in responding to the rejection, since other sections of the same reference and/or various combinations of the cited references may be relied on in future rejections in view of amendments.
/KEVIN E YOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735
5/29/2026