Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, page 7 lines 17 – 30 thru page 11 lines 1 – 10, with respect to claims 1, 3 – 6, 8 – 10, 12 – 15, and 17 – 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Claims 1, 3 – 6, 9 – 10, 12 – 15, and 18 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hagiwara et al. in view of Kuniyoshi et al. (US 6482353 B1), Nozawa et al., and further in view of Sakurada et al. and Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hagiwara et al. in view of Kuniyoshi et al., Nozawa et al., Sakurada et al., and further in view of Nakamura et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 – 6, 9 – 10, 12 – 15, and 18 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hagiwara et al. in view of Kuniyoshi et al., Nozawa et al., and further in view of Sakurada et al.
Regarding Claim 1, Hagiwara et al. discloses a permanent magnet (15) (Hagiwara et al. Fig. 1) represented by a composition formula 1:
RxNbyBtM100-x-y-t (Hagiwara et al. Para [0006] lines 1 – 6),
where R is at least one element selected from the group consisting of rare-earth elements (Hagiwara et al. Para [0006] lines 2 – 3),
M is at least one element selected from the group consisting of Fe and Co (Hagiwara et al. Para [0006] lines 3 – 4),
x is a number satisfying 4.0 < x ≤ 11.0 atomic% (Hagiwara et al. Para [0006] line 4),
y is a number satisfying 0 ≤ y ≤ 6.5 atomic% (even though Hagiwara et al. Para [0006] lines 4 – 5 has a different range for y, there is still a number for y that satisfies both expression ranges),
and t is a number satisfying 0 ≤ t < 12.0 atomic% (Hagiwara et al. Para [0006] line 5),
the permanent magnet (Hagiwara et al. Fig. 1) comprising:
a main phase having a TbCu7 crystal phase (Hagiwara et al. Para [0006] lines 5 – 7), wherein the permanent magnet being a sintered compact (Hagiwara et al. Para [0043] lines 1),
50 atomic% or more of the R element is Sm (Hagiwara et al. Para [0015] lines 6 – 8).
Hagiwara et a. does not disclose:
a residual magnetization of the permanent magnet is 0.83 T or more,
a density of the permanent magnet is 7.00 g/cm3 or more,
and a proportion of a total of an α-Fe phase, an α-(Fe, Co) phase, an R2Fe14B phase, and an R2(Fe, Co)14B phase is 10 volume% or less.
Kuniyoshi et al. discloses:
a residual magnetization of the permanent magnet is 0.83 T or more (Kuniyoshi et al. c. 11, l. 25 discloses a sintered permanent magnet that has a residual magnetic flux density Br of 1.41T, which is more than 0.83 T).
Nozawa et al. discloses:
a density of the permanent magnet is 7.00 g/cm3 or more (Nozawa et al. Para [0148] lines 6 – 7
discloses a sintered permanent magnet having a density of 7.5 Mg/m3, which equals 7.5 g/m3).
Sakurada et al. discloses:
wherein a proportion of at least one phase selected from the group consisting of an α-Fe phase, an α-(Fe, Co) phase, an R2Fe14B phase, and an R2(Fe, Co)14B phase is 10 volume% or less (Sakurada et al. Para [0019] whole paragraph discloses a sintered magnet having a total amount of at least one α-Fe phase and an α-(Fe, Co) phase be 10 volume percent or less).
Hagiwara et al., Kuniyoshi et al., Nozawa et al., and Sakurada et al. disclose sintered permanent magnets therefore, Kuniyoshi et al., Nozawa et al., and Sakurada et al. constitute as prior art. Kuniyoshi et al. discloses a sintered permanent magnet having a residual magnetization, Nozawa et al. discloses a sintered permanent magnet with a resultant compact density, and Sakurada et al. discloses a method of preparing a permanent magnet having at least one hetero-phase. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a residual magnetization of the permanent magnet is 0.83 T or more of Kuniyoshi et al., a density of the permanent magnet is 7.00 g/cm3 or more of Nozawa et al., and a proportion of a total of an α-Fe phase, an α-(Fe, Co) phase, an R2Fe14B phase, and an R2(Fe, Co)14B phase is 10 volume% or less of Sakurada et al. for the purpose of 1) having the permanent magnet retain a strong magnetic field after an external magnetic field is removed, 2) having a permanent magnet to have a stronger magnetic field, increased resistance, and improved mechanical strength, and 3) reducing coercive force in the permanent magnet.
Regarding Claim 3, Hagiwara et al., Kuniyoshi et al., Nozawa et al., and Sakurada et al. disclose the permanent magnet according to claim 1, wherein 1 atomic% or more and 50 atomic% or less of the R element is Y (Hagiwara et al. Para [0023 – 0024] whole paragraph).
Regarding Claim 4, Hagiwara et al., Kuniyoshi et al., Nozawa et al., and Sakurada et al. disclose the permanent magnet according to claim 1, wherein 50 atomic% or less of the Nb element is replaced with at least one element selected from the group consisting of Zr, Hf, and Ta (Hagiwara et al. Para [0020] lines 1 – 2).
Regarding Claim 5, Hagiwara et al., Kuniyoshi et al., Nozawa et al., and Sakurada et al. disclose the permanent magnet according to claim 1, wherein 50 atomic% or more of the M element is Fe (Hagiwara et al. Para [0021] lines 3 – 4).
Regarding Claim 6, Hagiwara et al., Kuniyoshi et al., Nozawa et al., and Sakurada et al. disclose the permanent magnet according to claim 1, wherein 20 atomic% or less of the M element is replaced with at least one element selected from the group consisting of Ni, Cu, V, Cr, Mn, Al, Si, Ga, Ta, W, Ti, and Mo (Hagiwara et al. Para [0021] lines 13 – 16).
Regarding Claim 9, Hagiwara et al., Kuniyoshi et al., Nozawa et al., and Sakurada et al. disclose the permanent magnet according to claim 1, wherein at least one element selected from the group consisting of nitrogen (N), carbon (C), hydrogen (H), and phosphorus (P) is contained (Hagiwara et al. Para [0027] lines 1 – 2).
Regarding Claim 10, A permanent magnet (15) (Hagiwara et al. Fig. 1) represented by a composition formula 3:
RxNbyBtM100-x-y-t (Hagiwara et al. Para [0006] lines 1 – 2),
where R is at least one element selected from the group consisting of rare-earth elements (Hagiwara et al. [006] lines 2 – 3),
M is at least one element selected from the group consisting of Fe and Co (Hagiwara et al. Para [0006] lines 2 – 3),
x is a number satisfying 4.0 < x ≤ 11.0 atomic% (Hagiwara et al. Para [0006] line 4),
y is a number satisfying 0 ≤ y ≤ 6.5 atomic% (even though Hagiwara et al. Para [0006] lines 4 – 5 has a different range for y, there is still a number for y that satisfies both expression ranges),
and t is a number satisfying 0 ≤ t < 12.0 atomic% (Hagiwara et al. Para [0006] line 5),
the permanent magnet (Hagiwara et al. Fig. 1) comprising:
a main phase having a ThMn12 crystal phase (Hagiwara et al. Para [0006] lines 5 – 7),
wherein the permanent magnet being a sintered compact (Hagiwara et al. Para [0043] lines 1),
50 atomic% or more of the R element is Sm (Hagiwara et al. Para [0015] lines 6 – 8).
Hagiwara et a. does not disclose:
a residual magnetization of the permanent magnet is 0.83 T or more,
a density of the permanent magnet is 7.00 g/cm3 or more,
and a proportion of a total of an α-Fe phase, an α-(Fe, Co) phase, an R2Fe14B phase, and an R2(Fe, Co)14B phase is 10 volume% or less.
Kuniyoshi et al. discloses:
a residual magnetization of the permanent magnet is 0.83 T or more (Kuniyoshi et al. c. 11, l. 25 discloses a sintered permanent magnet that has a residual magnetic flux density Br of 1.41T, which is more than 0.83 T).
Nozawa et al. discloses:
a density of the permanent magnet is 7.00 g/cm3 or more (Nozawa et al. Para [0148] lines 6 – 7
discloses a sintered permanent magnet having a density of 7.5 Mg/m3, which equals 7.5 g/m3).
Sakurada et al. discloses:
wherein a proportion of at least one phase selected from the group consisting of an α-Fe phase, an α-(Fe, Co) phase, an R2Fe14B phase, and an R2(Fe, Co)14B phase is 10 volume% or less (Sakurada et al. Para [0019] whole paragraph discloses a sintered magnet having a total amount of at least one α-Fe phase and an α-(Fe, Co) phase be 10 volume percent or less).
Hagiwara et al., Kuniyoshi et al., Nozawa et al., and Sakurada et al. disclose sintered permanent magnets therefore, Kuniyoshi et al., Nozawa et al., and Sakurada et al. constitute as prior art. Kuniyoshi et al. discloses a sintered permanent magnet having a residual magnetization, Nozawa et al. discloses a sintered permanent magnet with a resultant compact density, and Sakurada et al. discloses a method of preparing a permanent magnet having at least one hetero-phase. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a residual magnetization of the permanent magnet is 0.83 T or more of Kuniyoshi et al., a density of the permanent magnet is 7.00 g/cm3 or more of Nozawa et al., and a proportion of a total of an α-Fe phase, an α-(Fe, Co) phase, an R2Fe14B phase, and an R2(Fe, Co)14B phase is 10 volume% or less of Sakurada et al. for the purpose of 1) having the permanent magnet retain a strong magnetic field after an external magnetic field is removed, 2) having a permanent magnet to have a stronger magnetic field, increased resistance, and improved mechanical strength, and 3) reducing coercive force in the permanent magnet.
Regarding Claim 12, Hagiwara et al., Kuniyoshi et al., Nozawa et al., and Sakurada et al. disclose the permanent magnet according to claim 10, wherein 1 atomic% or more and 50 atomic% or less of the R element is Y (Hagiwara et al. Para [0023 – 0024] whole paragraph).
Regarding Claim 13, Hagiwara et al., Kuniyoshi et al., Nozawa et al., and Sakurada et al. disclose the permanent magnet according to claim 10, wherein 50 atomic% or less of the Nb element is replaced with at least one element selected from the group consisting of Zr, Hf, Ta, and Ti (Hagiwara et al. Para [0020] lines 1 – 2).
Regarding Claim 14, Hagiwara et al., Kuniyoshi et al., Nozawa et al., and Sakurada et al. disclose the permanent magnet according to claim 10, wherein 50 atomic% or more of the M element is Fe (Hagiwara et al. Para [0021] lines 3 – 4).
Regarding Claim 15, Hagiwara et al., Kuniyoshi et al., Nozawa et al., and Sakurada et al. disclose the permanent magnet according to claim 10, wherein 20 atomic% or less of the M element is replaced with at least one element selected from the group consisting of Ni, Cu, V, Cr, Mn, Al, Si, Ga, Ta, W, Ti, and Mo (Hagiwara et al. Para [0021] lines 13 – 16).
Regarding Claim 18, Hagiwara et al., Kuniyoshi et al., Nozawa et al., and Sakurada et al. disclose the permanent magnet according to claim 10, wherein the permanent magnet contains at least one element selected from the group consisting of nitrogen (N), carbon (C), hydrogen (H), and phosphorus (P) (Hagiwara et al. Para [0027] lines 1 – 2).
Regarding Claim 19, Hagiwara et al., Kuniyoshi et al., Nozawa et al., and Sakurada et al. disclose a rotary electric machine, (31) (Hagiwara et al. Fig. 3), comprising:
a stator(32) (Hagiwara et al. Fig. 3);
and a rotor (33) (Hagiwara et al. Fig. 3),
wherein the stator or the rotor includes the permanent magnet according to claim 1 (see above in rejection of claim 1).
Regarding Claim 20, Hagiwara et al., Kuniyoshi et al., Nozawa et al., and Sakurada et al. disclose the rotary electric machine according to claim 19, wherein the rotor is connected to a turbine (34) via a shaft (35) (Hagiwara et al. Fig. 3).
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hagiwara et al. in view of Kuniyoshi et al., Nozawa et al., Sakurada et al., and further in view of Nakamura et al.
Regarding Claim 8, Hagiwara et al., Kuniyoshi et al., Nozawa et al., and Sakurada et al. disclose the permanent magnet according to claim 1.
Hagiwara et al., Kuniyoshi et al., Nozawa et al., and Sakurada et al. does not disclose:
wherein a filling factor of the permanent magnet is 85.0% or more and 99.9% or less.
Nakamura et al. discloses:
wherein a filling factor of the permanent magnet is 85.0% or more and 99.9% or less (Nakamura et al. Para [0044] lines 7 – 9).
Hagiwara et al., Kuniyoshi et al., Nozawa et al., Sakurada et al., and Nakamura et al. disclose a sintered permanent magnet therefore, Nakamura et al. constitutes prior art. Nakamura et al. discloses a method of preparing a rare earth magnet with an upper limit of filling factor of the permanent magnet being equal to or less than 95% by volume. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein a filling factor of the permanent magnet is 85.0% or more and 99.9% or less of Nakamura et al. for the purpose of a desired magnet composition (see Nakamura et al. Para [0044] lines 1 – 3).
Regarding Claim 17, Hagiwara et al., Kuniyoshi et al., Nozawa et al., and Sakurada et al. disclose the permanent magnet according to claim 10.
Hagiwara et al., Kuniyoshi et al., Nozawa et al., and Sakurada et al. do not disclose:
wherein a filling factor of the permanent magnet is 85.0% or more and 99.9% or less.
Nakamura et al. discloses:
wherein a filling factor of the permanent magnet is 85.0% or more and 99.9% or less (Nakamura et al. Para [0044] lines 7 – 9).
Hagiwara et al., Kuniyoshi et al., Nozawa et al., Sakurada et al., and Nakamura et al. disclose a sintered permanent magnet therefore, Nakamura et al. constitutes prior art. Nakamura et al. discloses a method of preparing a rare earth magnet with an upper limit of filling factor of the permanent magnet being equal to or less than 95% by volume. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein a filling factor of the permanent magnet is 85.0% or more and 99.9% or less of Nakamura et al. for the purpose of a desired magnet composition (see Nakamura et al. Para [0044] lines 1 – 3).
Conclusion
/THEODORE L PERKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TERRANCE L KENERLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834