DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues, through the remarks, that “[t]he Office Action does not provide a motivation to combine the cited references” [pp.2 of the remarks], because Colagiovanni “discloses no plenum whatsoever”1 [pp. 3 of the remarks] and because the direct injection of Gribbon cannot be incorporated into Colagiovanni because they are “…fundamentally different structures and operating principles such that a person of skill in the art would not be motivated to combine the references” [pp. 3 of the remarks]; the fundamental difference being that Colagiovanni relies on a passive bed whereas Gribbon discloses a catalytic oxidizer bed. The examiner respectfully disagrees. At the outset, the claim set dated 03/27/2026, from which the Non-final rejection dated 05/19/2026 is derived, was amended to require that “a first portion of the waste gas can be introduced directly into a bed of the regenerative thermal oxidizer…” (emphasis in original) [claim 1 of the claim set dated 03/27/2026], in the accompanying remarks also dated 03/27/2026 the applicant supports the amendment by stating that “Colagiovanni does not teach gas inlets that feed directly into the beds. As evidenced by the Annotated Figure 1 shown in the Office Action, the waste gas inlets of Colagiovanni feed into tubing upstream of the thermal beds 26, 28, 30 and not directly into them, as recited in the amended claim 1” [pp. 8 of the remarks dated 03/27/2026], where “tubing upstream of the thermal beds” can fairly be interpreted as a plenum in combination with the structure shown in Fig. 1 of Colagiovanni [see annotated Fig. below]2. With regards to applicant’s argument that Colagiovanni and Gribbon cannot be combined because Colagiovanni relies on a passive bed whereas Gribbon discloses a catalytic oxidizer bed the combination does not incorporate the bed, it only incorporates the feature of injecting the waste gas directly into the bed, as taught by Gribbon, instead of into a volume upstream of bed, as taught by Colagiovanni, for the reasons stated in the Office Action. In response to applicant's argument that Gribbon cannot be incorporated into Colagiovanni because they are “…fundamentally different structures and operating principles such that a person of skill in the art would not be motivated to combine the references” [pp. 3 of the remarks], the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). For these reasons the rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 6-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colagiovanni (US 5,297,954) in view of in view of Gribbon (US 5,589,142).
With respect to claim 1 Colagiovanni discloses a system comprising a regenerative thermal oxidizer, wherein the regenerative thermal oxidizer comprises: at least a first transfer chamber [the chamber including reference character 26] and at least a second transfer chamber [the chamber including reference character 28], wherein the first transfer chamber comprises a first bed [reference character 26] and the second transfer chamber comprises a second bed [reference character 28]; at least one reaction chamber [reference character 32] in fluid flow communication with the first transfer chamber and with the second transfer chamber; and one or more first waste gas inlets [see annotated Fig. below] through which at least a first portion of waste gas can be introduced into the regenerative thermal oxidizer, wherein the first waste gas inlets are positioned upstream of the reaction chamber.
Colagiovanni does not disclose that the firs portion of the waste gas can be introduced directly into a bed of the regenerative thermal oxidizer.
Gribbon discloses a regenerative thermal oxidation system that includes a transfer chamber having a bed [reference character 14] where the waste gas inlet [reference character 32] introduces the waste gas directly into the bed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Colagiovanni by injecting the waste gas directly into the bed, as taught by Gribbon, in order to eliminate the need for a plenum upstream of the bed for the introduction and withdrawal of gas.
With respect to claim 6 Colagiovanni discloses a first waste gas tube [see annotated Fig. above] for connecting a waste gas source [reference character 14] with at least a second waste gas tube [see annotated Fig. above], wherein the second waste gas tube connects the first waste gas tube with the regenerative thermal oxidizer; an oxygen-containing gas tube [see annotated Fig. above] for connecting an oxygen-containing gas source [reference character 24] with the regenerative thermal oxidizer; and a controller [reference character 56]; wherein the controller is configured to: direct at least the first portion of waste gas via the first waste gas tube and via the second waste gas tube to the regenerative thermal oxidizer [column 4 lines 11-18], such that the first portion of the waste gas enters the regenerative thermal oxidizer downstream of at least a portion of the first bed and/or downstream of at least a portion of the second bed, wherein the waste gas includes at least one oxidizable compound [air]; and direct oxygen-containing gas via the oxygen-containing gas tube to the regenerative thermal oxidizer, such that the at least one oxidizable compound is oxidized in the reaction chamber [column 4 lines 11-33].
With respect to claim 7 Colagiovanni discloses directing the oxygen-containing gas via the oxygen-containing gas tube through the first bed and/or through the second bed to the reaction chamber [via the inlets connected through 34, 36, and 38], such that the oxygen-containing gas is preheated by the first bed and/or by the second bed [column 3 line 51 through column 4 line 10].
Colagiovanni does not disclose that the direction of the oxygen containing gas is controlled by the controller, however, Colagiovanni does disclose that valves 34, 36, and 38 are controlled [column 3 line 51 through column 4 line 10].
However, since integrating the various controllers taught by Colagiovanni [reference characters 56, 50, 20, 22, 60, and the aspects of valve control discussed in column 3 line 51 through column 4 line 10] into a single controller would involve only routine skill in the art, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Colagiovanni by integrating all of the control functions into a single controller, since “ ‘…the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice’ ” [MPEP §2144.04] without producing any new and unexpected results In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965).
With respect to claim 8 Colagiovanni discloses that the system further comprises a bypass tube [one of the tubes connected from the regenerative thermal oxidizer and the heat exchanger through valves 40, 42, and 44] for connecting a heat exchanger with the regenerative thermal oxidizer.
Colagiovanni does not disclose that the controller is configured to direct gas from the regenerative thermal oxidizer to the heat exchanger such that the gas is cooled by the heat exchanger, however, Colagiovanni does disclose that valves 40, 42, and 44 are controlled [column 3 line 51 through column 4 line 10].
However, since integrating the various controllers taught by Colagiovanni [reference characters 56, 50, 20, 22, 60, and the aspects of valve control discussed in column 3 line 51 through column 4 line 10] into a single controller would involve only routine skill in the art, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Colagiovanni by integrating all of the control functions into a single controller, since “ ‘…the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice’ ” [MPEP §2144.04] without producing any new and unexpected results In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965).
With respect to claim 9 Colagiovanni discloses a third waste gas tube [see annotated Fig. below] for connecting the waste gas source with the first transfer chamber and/or with the second transfer chamber, wherein the controller is configured to: direct the first portion of waste gas via the second waste gas tube to the regenerative thermal oxidizer; and direct at least a second portion of waste gas via the third waste gas tube through the first bed and/or through the second bed to the reaction chamber, such that the second portion of the waste gas is preheated by the first bed and/or by the second bed [column 3 line 51 to column 4 line 10].
With respect to claim 10 Colagiovanni discloses that the controller is configured to direct the oxygen- containing gas via the oxygen-containing gas tube through the first bed and/or through the second bed to the reaction chamber, such that the oxygen-containing gas is preheated by the first bed and/or by the second bed [column 3 line 51 to column 4 line 10].
With respect to claim 11 Colagiovanni discloses direct the first portion of waste gas via the second waste gas tube to the regenerative thermal oxidizer, such that the first portion of waste gas enters the regenerative thermal oxidizer downstream of at least a portion of the first bed; and direct the second portion of waste gas via the third waste gas tube through the first bed to the reaction chamber, such that the second portion of waste gas is preheated by the first bed; and wherein, during a second cycle [column 3 line 51 through column 4 line 10]. Colagiovanni further discloses directing the first portion of waste gas via the second waste gas tube to the regenerative thermal oxidizer, such that the first portion of waste gas enters the regenerative thermal oxidizer downstream of at least a portion of the second bed; and direct the second portion of waste gas via the third waste gas tube through the second bed to the reaction chamber, such that the second portion of waste gas is preheated by the second bed [column 3 line 51 through column 4 line 10].
Colagiovanni does not disclose that the controller controls directing the gas, however, Colagiovanni does disclose that valves 40, 42, and 44 are controlled [column 3 line 51 through column 4 line 10].
However, since integrating the various controllers taught by Colagiovanni [reference characters 56, 50, 20, 22, 60, and the aspects of valve control discussed in column 3 line 51 through column 4 line 10] into a single controller would involve only routine skill in the art, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Colagiovanni by integrating all of the control functions into a single controller, since “ ‘…the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice’ ” [MPEP §2144.04] without producing any new and unexpected results In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965).
With respect to claim 12 Colagiovanni discloses directing flue gas, produced by oxidation of the oxidizable compound of the waste gas in the reaction chamber, from the reaction chamber through the second bed, such that the flue gas is cooled by the second bed; and wherein, during the second cycle, the controller is configured to: direct the flue gas from the reaction chamber through the first bed, such that the flue gas is cooled by the first bed [column 3 line 51 through column 4 line 10].
Colagiovanni does not disclose that the controller controls directing the gas, however, Colagiovanni does disclose that valves 40, 42, and 44 are controlled [column 3 line 51 through column 4 line 10].
However, since integrating the various controllers taught by Colagiovanni [reference characters 56, 50, 20, 22, 60, and the aspects of valve control discussed in column 3 line 51 through column 4 line 10] into a single controller would involve only routine skill in the art, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Colagiovanni by integrating all of the control functions into a single controller, since “ ‘…the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice’ ” [MPEP §2144.04] without producing any new and unexpected results In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965).
With respect to claim 13 Colagiovanni discloses that the system further comprises a bypass tube [one of the tubes connected from the regenerative thermal oxidizer and the heat exchanger through valves 40, 42, and 44] for connecting a heat exchanger with the regenerative thermal oxidizer.
Colagiovanni does not disclose that the controller is configured to direct gas from the regenerative thermal oxidizer to the heat exchanger such that the gas is cooled by the heat exchanger, however, Colagiovanni does disclose that valves 40, 42, and 44 are controlled [column 3 line 51 through column 4 line 10].
However, since integrating the various controllers taught by Colagiovanni [reference characters 56, 50, 20, 22, 60, and the aspects of valve control discussed in column 3 line 51 through column 4 line 10] into a single controller would involve only routine skill in the art, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Colagiovanni by integrating all of the control functions into a single controller, since “ ‘…the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice’ ” [MPEP §2144.04] without producing any new and unexpected results In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colagiovanni (US 5,297,954) in view of in view of Gribbon (US 5,589,142).
With respect to claim 16 Colagiovanni discloses A method of operating a regenerative thermal oxidizer, the method comprising the steps of: directing at least a first portion of waste gas to a reaction chamber [reference character 32] of the regenerative thermal oxidizer, such that the first portion of waste gas enters the regenerative thermal oxidizer upstream of an inlet of the reaction chamber [see annotated Fig. associated with claim 1], wherein the waste gas includes at least one oxidizable compound [air]; and directing oxygen-containing gas through the first bed of a first transfer chamber of the regenerative thermal oxidizer to the reaction chamber of the regenerative thermal oxidizer, such that the oxygen-containing gas is preheated by the first bed [column 3 line 51 to column 4 line 10].
Colagiovanni does not disclose that the first portion of the waste gas can be introduced directly into a bed of the regenerative thermal oxidizer.
Gribbon discloses a regenerative thermal oxidation system that includes a transfer chamber having a bed [reference character 14] where the waste gas inlet [reference character 32] introduces the waste gas directly into the bed [see Fig. 1].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Colagiovanni by injecting the waste gas directly into the bed, as taught by Gribbon, in order to eliminate the need for a plenum upstream of the bed for the introduction and withdrawal of gas.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 14-15, and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VIVEK K SHIRSAT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762
1 Note that the stated motivation to combine is “[i]t would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Colagiovanni by injecting the waste gas directly into the bed, as taught by Gribbon, in order to eliminate the need for a plenum upstream of the bed for the introduction and withdrawal of gas” [pp. 3 of the remarks].
2 The examiner notes that the remarks dated 03/27/2026 argue that Colagiovanni introduces the waste gas into a volume upstream of the bed and in the remarks dated 08/19/2026 the applicant argues that Colagiovanni “discloses no plenum whatsoever”. If Colagiovanni discloses “no plenum whatsoever” then the waste gas must be introduced directly into the bed, as required by claim and therefore Colagiovanni could be applied as a 102(a)(1).