DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-8 are currently pending.
The objection to the tile of the invention is withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/23/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues on page 7 of the response in essence that: Maehira does not disclose determining whether to add a blank page at a location where the blank page has been removed previously, let alone determining to add a blank page when the number of consecutive pages previously removed at the location is an odd number.
Maehira discloses that if the page attributes are the same, printer driver 23 may determine that a blank page has been removed from therebetween, and the procedure may proceed to Step S704 (paragraph 135). In Step S704, printer driver 23 may insert a blank page between the page of interest and the next page (paragraph 136). Determining that a blank page has been removed is determining that an odd number of pages has been removed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maehira US Publication 2013/0061134 (hereafter “Maehira”).
Referring to claims 1, 7 and 8, Maehira discloses an image forming apparatus comprising:
a processor configured to:
determine a location where a blank page has been removed in a digital file of multiple pages, the digital file being created by reading a document formed on duplex pages (paragraph 135, In Step S703, printer driver 23 may determine whether a page attribute of the page of interest is the same as a page attribute of a next page. If the page attributes are the same, printer driver 23 may determine that a blank page has been removed from therebetween, and the procedure may proceed to Step S704),
upon receiving instructions to perform duplex printing of the digital file, before printing, insert an unprinted page at the determined location in the digital file if a number of consecutive blank pages removed at the determined location between unremoved pages is an odd number of one, three or more (paragraph 136, In Step S704, printer driver 23 may insert a blank page between the page of interest and the next page, and may attach to the inserted blank page a page attribute different from that of the page of interest [i.e. removed blank pages is one]).
Referring to claim 2, Maehira discloses wherein each page of the digital file is attached with information on a page of the document (paragraph 117-118, In Step S505, scanner driver 24 may attach, to the acquired image data, attribute information indicating that the acquired image data is generated by scanning a front side of the original. In Step S506, scanner driver 24 may attach, to the acquired image data, attribute information indicating that the acquired image data is generated by scanning a back side of the original).
Referring to claim 3, Maehira discloses wherein the information on the page of the document indicates whether the page is a front page or a back page (paragraph 117-118, In Step S505, scanner driver 24 may attach, to the acquired image data, attribute information indicating that the acquired image data is generated by scanning a front side of the original. In Step S506, scanner driver 24 may attach, to the acquired image data, attribute information indicating that the acquired image data is generated by scanning a back side of the original).
Referring to claim 4, Maehira discloses wherein the processor is configured to, if front pages are consecutive or back pages are consecutive, perform the duplex printing with the unprinted page inserted between the consecutive front pages or between the consecutive back pages (paragraph 135-136, In Step S703, printer driver 23 may determine whether a page attribute of the page of interest is the same as a page attribute of a next page. If the page attributes are the same, printer driver 23 may determine that a blank page has been removed from therebetween, and the procedure may proceed to Step S704. In Step S704, printer driver 23 may insert a blank page between the page of interest and the next page, and may attach to the inserted blank page a page attribute different from that of the page of interest).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maehira US Publication 2013/0061134 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Imine US Publication 2011/0075187 (hereafter “Imine”).
Referring to claim 5, Maehira discloses wherein the processor is configured to perform the duplex printing of the digital file without inserting the unprinted page at the determined location (paragraph 135, If page attributes are different from each other, the procedure may proceed to Step S705), but does not disclose expressly that removed blank pages are consecutive by an even number.
Imine discloses wherein the processor is configured to, if the number of consecutive blank pages removed at the determined location between the unremoved pages is an even number, perform the duplex printing of the digital file without inserting the unprinted page at the determined location (paragraph 141, a step of deleting all blank pages existing between the fixed pages in a case where the determination result in the above-described step (3) is an even number).
At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to perform duplex printing without printing consecutive blank pages. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce printing waste while maintaining the desired output layout. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Imine with Maehira to obtain the invention as specified in claim 5.
Referring to claim 6, Maehira discloses wherein the processor is configured to perform the duplex printing of the digital file without inserting the unprinted page at the determined location, if information attached to each page of the digital file indicates whether a respective page of the document is a front page or a back page and indicates that front pages are not consecutive or back pages are not consecutive (paragraph 135, If page attributes are different from each other, the procedure may proceed to Step S705).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER K HUNTSINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682