Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species A1 (thread coupled) and B2 (Figure 6B) in the reply filed on 11/24/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/24/2025.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “gate member…configured to” in claim 1.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “elastic member” in claim 5; “plate member” in claim 6; “sealing member” in claim 6; “packing member” in claim 13.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. 2001/0045386 by Stankowski et al. (Stankowski).
Regarding limitations recited in the claims which are directed to a manner of operating disclosed ion filter, it is noted that neither the manner of operating a disclosed device nor material or article worked upon further limit an apparatus claim. Said limitations do not differentiate apparatus claims from prior art. See MPEP § 2114 and 2115. "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). Claim analysis is highly fact-dependent. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935). This applies to the following limitations: “configured to received fluid” (claim 1), “configured to discharge the fluid” (claim 1), “configured to filter the fluid” (claim 1), “configured to selectively allow or block the fluid to be introduced into the housing through the inlet” (claim 1), “configured to control operation of the valve assembly” (claim 1), “configured to, based on a rotation of the gate member, selectively press or release the valve assembly by linearly moving in the housing” (clam 2), “configured to (i) move in the valve housing by the filter element and (ii) open or close the inlet” (claim 4), “configured to provide a restoring force to the core” (claim 5), “configured to provide sealing between the plate member and the inlet” (claim 6), “configured to move with respect to the protrusion” (claim 8), “configured to, based on the protrusion being positioned on the upper flat portion, (i) press the valve assembly to be in an open position and (ii) move the packing member to contact the opening” (claim 14), “configured to, based on the protrusion being positioned on the lower flat portion, (i) release the valve assembly to be in a closed position and (ii) move the packing member to be spaced apparat from the opening” (claim 15), “configured to display a state of the ion filter using a point indicated by the selector” (claim 18).
In regard to claim 1, Stankowski teaches a filter (abstract); capable of filtering ions. Stankowski teaches a housing providing an inlet and outlet (abstract, housing, inlet, outlet); capable of receiving fluid and discharging fluid in the housing. Stankowski teaches a filter element accommodated in the housing (abstract, separation means); capable of filtering the fluid. Stankowski teaches a valve assembly provided at the inlet (abstract; Figure 4b, spherical member 34, [0044]); capable of selectively allowing or blocking fluid to be introduced into the housing through the inlet. Stankowski teahces a gate member provided in the housing (abstract; Figure 4b, socket 64; [0044]); capable of controlling operation of the valve assembly.
In regard to claim 2, Stankowski teaches the gate member is rotatable mounted with respect to the housing (Figure 4b, socket 64, male end coupling 63; [0044]). Stankowski teaches the filter element is coupled to the gate member ([0044]); capable of based on rotation of the gate member selectively press or release the valve assembly by linearly moving in the housing.
In regard to claim 3, Stankowski teaches the gate member includes a socket-shaped connection part (Figure 4b, socket 64; [0044]). Stankowski teaches the filter element includes a ball-shaped coupling part inserted into and coupled to the socket shaped connection part (Figure 4b, spherical member 34; [0044]).
In regard to claim 4, Stankowski teaches the valve assembly includes a valve housing coupled to the inlet of the housing (Figure 4b, socket 64; [0044]). Stankowski teaches a core (Figure 4b, spherical member 34; [0044]); configured to move in the valve housing by the filter element and open or close the inlet.
In regard to claim 5, Stankowski teaches the valve assembly further includes an elastic member disposed at a circumferential surface of the core supported by the valve housing (Figure 4b, annular O-ring 28, [0044]); capable of providing a restoring force to the core.
In regard to claim 6, Stankowski teaches the valve assembly further includes a plate member coupled to the core and covering the inlet from an outside of the valve assembly (Figure 5, lower manifold 116; [0045]). Stankowski teahces a sealing member ([0045]); configured to provide sealing between the plate member and the inlet.
In regard to claim 7, Stankowski teaches the housing further includes a lid detachably coupled to the housing and defining an opening in which the gate member is rotatably mounted (Figure 5, lower manifold 116; [0045]). Stankowski teaches the lid provides a protrusion at a circumference of the opening to be operatively associated with the gate member (Figure 5, lower manifold 116; [0045]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of copending Application No. 17983764. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both directed towards ion filters comprising the same structural components. Claims 1 and 2 of pending application ‘764 read on instant claim 1, ‘764 teaches an ion filter with a housing, an inlet, an outlet, filter element, valve, and core (reading on gate member); claims 1-3 and 5-6 of pending application ‘764 reads on instant claims 2; claim 6 of ‘764 reads on instant claim 3; claim 1 of ‘764 reads on instant claims 4; claim 4 of ‘764 reads on instant claims 5; claims 1-3 of ‘764 reads on instant claim 6; claim 6 of ‘764 reads on instant claim 7.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 and 13-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior art of record does not teach the combination of limitations.
Conclusion
/KARA M PEO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777