DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-20 are pending in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/23/26 have been fully considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2 and 4-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nokkonen et al (WO 2013/060802 A1) in view of Reed (US 2023/0028436 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nokkonen teaches a device (Nokkonen: Fig. 1; device 10), comprising:
a radio; a battery configured to supply power to the radio for radio operation; a radio controller configured to control radio operation (Nokkonen: Fig. 1, PMU 101/radio controller); and
a voltage indicating circuit (Nokkonen: Fig. 1, PMU 101 with Gauge 103) configured to monitor a voltage of the battery, and to provide an output signal indicative of a battery voltage sufficient to power radio operation (Nokkonen: Fig. 1; [0029] output signal PeakDet); wherein when the output signal is active, the radio controller allows operation of the radio on the predetermined schedule (Nokkonen: Fig. 1; [0030] when the output signal PeakDet is de-asserted); and wherein when the output signal is inactive, the radio controller adjusts operation of the radio to maintain radio operation (Nokkonen: Fig. 1; [0029], [0034] when the output signal PeakDet is asserted).
Nokkonen does not explicitly disclose the radio is operating on a predetermined schedule of operation of radio transmissions and radio reception.
Reed teaches radio is operating on a predetermined schedule of operation of radio transmissions and radio reception (Reed: Figs. 1-2; [0031]; [0096], battery level drop based on active period/schedule of a radio transmission).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Nokkonen wherein the radio is operating on a predetermined schedule of operation of radio transmissions and radio reception as disclosed by Reed to provide a system for monitoring energy usage of battery powered wirelessly linked devices (Reed: Abstract).
Regarding claim 13, Nokkonen teaches a method of radio load throttling in a device, comprising:
monitoring available power from battery of the device; and controlling radio frequency (RF) activity of the radio based on available power from a battery of the device (Nokkonen: Fig. 1; [0029]-[0030] monitoring battery power and asserting/de-asserting an output signal PeakDet); wherein controlling RF activity comprises: when the battery has sufficient power for scheduled RF activity, operating the radio on a known transmitting and receiving schedule (Nokkonen: Fig. 1; [0030] when the output signal PeakDet is de-asserted); and when the battery does not have sufficient power for scheduled RF activity, adjusting the RF activity to maintain radio operation (Nokkonen: Fig. 1; [0029], [0034] when the output signal PeakDet is asserted).
Nokkonen does not explicitly disclose receiving the schedule of operating of radio transmissions and radio reception.
Reed teaches receiving the schedule of operating of radio transmissions and radio reception (Reed: Figs. 1-2; [0031]; [0096], battery level drop based on active period/schedule of a radio transmission).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Nokkonen by receiving the schedule of operating of radio transmissions and radio reception as disclosed by Reed to provide a system for monitoring energy usage of battery powered wirelessly linked devices (Reed: Abstract).
Regarding claim 2, Nokkonen teaches wherein maintaining operation of the radio comprises maintaining a supply voltage greater than a reset voltage for the radio (Nokkonen: Fig. 1; [0029]-[0030] monitoring battery power and de-asserting an output signal PeakDet when voltage is above a threshold).
Regarding claim 4, Nokkonen teaches wherein the radio controller adjusts operation of the radio by changing the schedule to a lower frequency of radio operation when the output signal is inactive (Nokkonen: Figs. 1 and 4; [0029]-[0030] reduce the frequency of the processor clock).
Regarding claim 5, Nokkonen teaches wherein the radio controller is configured to provide a low voltage alert when the output signal is inactive (Nokkonen: Fig. 1; [0029], [0034] when the output signal PeakDet is asserted).
Regarding claim 6, Nokkonen teaches wherein the radio controller is configured to follow the predetermined schedule with a voltage check of the battery prior to every transmission or reception in the predetermined schedule, and to load throttle when the output signal is inactive (Nokkonen: Figs. 1-4; [0029]-[0030], [0034] monitoring battery power and de-asserting an output signal PeakDet when voltage is above a threshold).
Regarding claim 7, Nokkonen teaches wherein the radio controller is further configured to monitor the output signal during active transmissions and receptions of the radio, and to throttle transmissions and receptions when the output signal switches to inactive (Nokkonen: Figs. 1-4; [0029]-[0030], [0034] monitoring battery power and de-asserting an output signal PeakDet when voltage is above a threshold).
Regarding claim 8, Nokkonen teaches further comprising a bulk storage component coupled between the battery and the radio controller and configured to supply power for transmissions and receptions prior to using power from the battery (Nokkonen: Figs. 1-2; [0024]-[0028]).
Regarding claim 9, Nokkonen teaches wherein the bulk storage component is charged using power from the battery when the radio is idle (Nokkonen: Figs. 1-2; [0024]-[0028], [0038]).
Regarding claim 10, Nokkonen teaches wherein the bulk storage component comprises a bulk storage capacitor charged by the battery, and wherein when a transmission or reception according to the predetermined schedule is to be made, power for the radio is provided by enabling the bulk storage capacitor for powering the transmission or reception (Nokkonen: Figs. 1-2; [0024]-[0028], [0038]).
Regarding claim 11, Nokkonen teaches wherein the bulk storage component further comprises a power sharing resistor coupled between the battery and the bulk storage capacitor (Nokkonen: Figs. 1-2; [0024]-[0028], [0038]).
Regarding claim 12, Nokkonen teaches wherein the voltage indicating circuit comprises: a comparator having an inverting input and a non-inverting input, and an output; a sense resistor coupled between a positive terminal of the battery and the non-inverting input of the comparator; and a voltage divider providing a reference voltage coupled to the inverting input of the comparator, the comparator configured to output an active signal when the battery voltage exceeds the reference voltage, and to output an inactive output signal when the battery voltage drops below the reference voltage (Nokkonen: Figs. 1-2; [0024]-[0028], [0038]).
Regarding claim 14, Nokkonen teaches wherein controlling RF activity to maintain radio operation comprises protecting the radio against radio reset (Nokkonen: Figs. 1-4; [0029]-[0030]).
Regarding claim 15, Nokkonen teaches wherein monitoring available power comprises: sensing a battery voltage with a voltage indicating circuit; comparing the sensed battery voltage against a low voltage threshold; providing an output signal that is active when the battery has sufficient power and that is inactive when the battery does not have sufficient power (Nokkonen: Figs. 1-4; [0029]-[0030]).
Regarding claim 16, Nokkonen teaches wherein controlling RF activity of the radio is performed by a radio controller, the radio controller receiving the output signal and adjusting operation of the radio by disabling the radio when the output signal is inactive (Nokkonen: Figs. 1-4; [0029]-[0030]).
Regarding claim 17, Nokkonen teaches wherein controlling RF activity of the radio is performed by changing the schedule to a lower frequency of radio operation when the output signal is inactive (Nokkonen: Figs. 1 and 4; [0029]-[0030] reduce the frequency of the processor clock).
Regarding claim 18, Nokkonen teaches and further comprising sensing the battery voltage check of the battery prior to every transmission or reception in the predetermined schedule, and load throttling when the output signal is inactive (Nokkonen: Figs. 1-4; [0029]-[0030]).
Regarding claim 19, Nokkonen teaches further comprising monitoring the output signal during active transmissions and receptions of the radio, and throttling transmissions and receptions when the output signal switches to inactive (Nokkonen: Figs. 1-4; [0029]-[0030]).
Regarding claim 20, Nokkonen teaches further comprising charging a bulk storage component configured to supply power for transmissions and receptions during idle periods of RF activity (Nokkonen: Figs. 1-4; [0029]-[0030]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nokkonen et al (WO 2013/060802 A1) in view of Reed (US 2023/0028436 A1) in further view of Nunez et al (US 2018/0090942 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Nokkonen does not explicitly disclose wherein the radio controller adjusts operation of the radio by disabling the radio when the output signal is inactive.
Teaches wherein the radio controller adjusts operation of the radio by disabling the radio when the output signal is inactive (Nunez: Fig. 1; [0053], radio features disabled).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Nokkonen in view of reed wherein the radio controller adjusts operation of the radio by disabling the radio when the output signal is inactive as disclosed by Nunez to provide a system for charging a battery-powered accessory from a primary battery-powered device (Nunez: Abstract).
Conclusion
/KODZOVI ACOLATSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478