Response to Amendment
The amendment filed April 29, 2025 has been entered. The Applicant amended claims 18, 26, 29, and 34, cancelled claims 21, 27, and 37, and added claim 39. Claims 18, 20, 22-26, 28-34, 36, and 38-39 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed February 12, 2025. The examiner withdraws the 112(b) rejections in light of the amendments to the Claims.
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 18 and 34 and 34 filed April 29, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claims 18 and 34, the applicant argues “Fig. 16 of Wight clearly illustrates that the asserted feed network 60 does not connect a gap of the asserted second conductor sheet 30-3 and a gap of the asserted conductor sheet. Rather, one RF cable 6o in Wight is used to connect an individual antenna 30- 3 and the ground or to connect one antenna 30-3 and an RF signal. See Wight, [0049]. As such, amended independent claim 18 is allowable over the cited reference. Amended independent claim 34 is allowable at least for similar reasons as claim 18 is allowable.” The argument is not persuasive, Wight teaches in Fig. 16 that the gaps of each of the conductor sheets 30-3 are connected to a feed network that includes RF cables 60 which teaches, with a broad and reasonable interpretation, the limitation “and wherein the gap of the first conductor sheet and the second gap of the second conductor sheet are connected by using a feed network”. The claim as written does not exclude connection of the feed network to the ground or an RF signal. Additionally, Wight teaches in Fig. 11C a feed network 52 connecting the gap of the first conductor sheet 30-5 and the second gap of the second conductor sheet 30-5 connects together in a section of the antenna.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 39 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 39, “the operating frequency band” lacks proper antecedent basis and should read “the operating frequency band of the antenna”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 26 and 31-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sahin et al. (US PGPUB 2024/0047874 A1), hereinafter known as Sahin.
Regarding claim 26, Sahin discloses (Fig. 3-4) An antenna (300), comprising: a first conductor sheet (308), a ground plane (402), and a feed point (310), wherein the first conductor sheet comprises at least two cavities (320-1, 320-2), and the at least two cavities are connected through a gap (312), wherein a first side of the first conductor sheet (bottom of 308) is connected to the ground plane (402, connected by 302), a deviation between a respective electrical length of each of the at least two cavities and half of a wavelength corresponding to an operating frequency band of the antenna is less than 10% ([0044]), the respective electrical length of each of the at least two cavities is a difference between a respective circumference of each of the at least two cavities ([0044]) and a first overlapping length (overlapping length of 0), and the first overlapping length is of a part connecting each of the at least two cavities (320-1, 320-2) and the ground plane (402), wherein the ground plane (402) is grounded, and wherein the feed point (310) is separately connected to the gap (312) and the ground plane (402, connected by 302).
Regarding claim 31, Sahin discloses (Fig. 3) wherein a first length (x-axis length) of the antenna in a first direction along the gap is greater than a second length (y-axis length) of the antenna in a second direction perpendicular to the gap
Regarding claim 32, Sahin further discloses (Fig. 3-4) wherein a length of the gap (312) is less than half of the wavelength corresponding to the operating frequency band of the antenna (316).
Regarding claim 33, Sahin discloses (Fig. 3-4) wherein there is one feed point (310).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18, 20, 22-25, 34, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yekeh et al. (US PGPUB 2005/0184919 A1), hereinafter known as Yekeh, in view of Wight et al. (US PGPUB 2017/0222326 A1), hereinafter known as Wight.
Regarding claim 18, Yekeh teaches (Fig. 3) An antenna, comprising: a first conductor sheet (11); and a feed point (15), wherein the first conductor sheet (11) comprises at least two cavities (left and right 12), the at least two cavities are connected through a gap (gap between left and right 12), and a deviation between a respective circumference of each of the at least two cavities and a wavelength corresponding to an operating frequency band of the antenna is less than 20% ([0019], circumference of each of the at least two cavities is about 71 mm which is a wavelength within the operating frequency band of the antenna of 3.1 – 10.6 GHz), wherein the feed point (15) is connected to the gap (gap between left and right 12), and a deviation between a respective circumference of each of the second at least two cavities of the conductor sheet and the wavelength corresponding to the operating frequency band of the antenna is less than 20% ([0019], circumference of each of the at least two cavities is about 71 mm which is a wavelength within the operating frequency band of the antenna of 3.1 – 10.6 GHz), but does not specifically teach wherein the antenna further comprises a second conductor sheet, wherein the second conductor sheet comprises second at least two cavities that are connected through a second gap, and wherein the gap of the first conductor sheet and the second gap of the second conductor sheet are connected by using a feed network.
However, Wight teaches (Fig. 4A, 15) wherein the antenna further comprises a second conductor sheet (30-3), wherein the second conductor sheet (30-3) comprises second at least two cavities (37) that are connected through a second gap (36), and wherein the gap of the first conductor sheet and the second gap of the second conductor sheet are connected by using a feed network (60).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna of Yekeh with Wight to include “wherein the antenna further comprises a second conductor sheet, wherein the second conductor sheet comprises second at least two cavities that are connected through a second gap, and wherein the gap of the first conductor sheet and the second gap of the second conductor sheet are connected by using a feed network,” as taught by Wight, for the purpose of improved efficiency and coverage (see also [0065]).
Regarding claim 20, Yekeh does not specifically teach wherein the first conductor sheet comprises at least four cavities, the feed point is connected to a middle gap, and the middle gap in a middle of a plurality of gaps connecting the at least four cavities.
However, Wight teaches (Fig. 4A) wherein the first conductor sheet (30-1a) comprises at least four cavities (37), the feed point is connected to a middle gap (gap at 36), and the middle gap (gap at 36) in a middle of a plurality of gaps connecting the at least four cavities (37).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna of Yekeh with Wight to include “wherein the first conductor sheet comprises at least four cavities, the feed point is connected to a middle gap, and the middle gap in a middle of a plurality of gaps connecting the at least four cavities,” as taught by Wight, for the purpose of reducing size and achieving a desired frequency (see also [0007]).
Regarding claim 22, Yekeh does not specifically teach wherein the antenna further comprises a reflection panel, and the reflection panel is perpendicular to the first conductor sheet.
However, Wight teaches (Fig. 15) wherein the antenna further comprises a reflection panel (95, ground acts as a reflector), a reflection panel (95, ground acts as a reflector) is perpendicular to the first conductor sheet (30-3).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna of Yekeh with Wight to include “wherein the antenna further comprises a reflection panel, and the reflection panel is perpendicular to the first conductor sheet,” as taught by Wight, for the purpose of improved radiation symmetry (see also [0057]).
Regarding claim 23, Yekeh further teaches (Fig. 3) wherein a first length (19mm) of the antenna in a first direction along the gap is greater than a second length (16 mm) of the antenna in a second direction perpendicular to the gap
Regarding claim 24, Yekeh further teaches (Fig. 3) wherein a length of the gap (2 mm) is less than half of the wavelength corresponding to the operating frequency band of the antenna (3.1 – 10.6 GHz).
Regarding claim 25, Yekeh further teaches (Fig. 3) wherein there is one feed point (15).
Regarding claim 34, Yekeh teaches (Fig. 3) a communication device ([0043]), comprising: an antenna (Fig. 3), and a radio frequency component ([0043]) coupled to the antenna, the antenna including a first conductor sheet (11) and a feed point (15), wherein the first conductor sheet (11) comprises at least two cavities (left and right 12), the at least two cavities are connected through a gap (gap between left and right 12), and a deviation between a respective circumference of each of the at least two cavities and a wavelength corresponding to an operating frequency band of the antenna is less than 20% ([0019], circumference of each of the at least two cavities is about 71 mm which is a wavelength within the operating frequency band of the antenna of 3.1 – 10.6 GHz), and wherein the feed point (15) is connected to the gap (gap between left and right 12), and a deviation between a second respective circumference of each of the second at least two cavities of the second conductor sheet and the wavelength corresponding to the operating frequency band of the antenna is less than 20% ([0019], circumference of each of the at least two cavities is about 71 mm which is a wavelength within the operating frequency band of the antenna of 3.1 – 10.6 GHz), but does not specifically teach wherein the antenna further comprises a second conductor sheet, wherein the second conductor sheet comprises second at least two cavities that are connected through a second gap, and wherein the gap of the first conductor sheet and the second gap of the second conductor sheet are connected by using a feed network.
However, Wight teaches (Fig. 4A, 15) wherein the antenna further comprises a second conductor sheet (30-3), wherein the second conductor sheet (30-3) comprises second at least two cavities (37) that are connected through a second gap (36), and wherein the gap of the first conductor sheet and the second gap of the second conductor sheet are connected by using a feed network (60).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna of Yekeh with Wight to include “wherein the antenna further comprises a second conductor sheet, wherein the second conductor sheet comprises second at least two cavities that are connected through a second gap, and wherein the gap of the first conductor sheet and the second gap of the second conductor sheet are connected by using a feed network,” as taught by Wight, for the purpose of improved efficiency and coverage (see also [0065]).
Regarding claim 36, Yekeh does not specifically teach wherein the first conductor sheet comprises at least four cavities, the feed point is connected to a middle gap, and the middle gap is in a middle of a plurality of gaps connecting the at least four cavities.
However, Wight teaches (Fig. 4A) wherein the first conductor sheet (30-1a) comprises at least four cavities (37), the feed point is connected to a middle gap (gap at 36), and the middle gap (gap at 36) is in a middle of a plurality of gaps connecting the at least four cavities (37).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the communication device of Yekeh with Wight to include “wherein the first conductor sheet comprises at least four cavities, the feed point is connected to a middle gap, and the middle gap is in a middle of a plurality of gaps connecting the at least four cavities,” as taught by Wight, for the purpose of reducing size and achieving a desired frequency (see also [0007]).
Claims 18 and 38-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghose (US Patent No. 2935747 A) in view of Yekeh.
Regarding claim 18, Ghose teaches (Fig. 2 and 5) An antenna (Fig. 2 and 5), comprising: a first conductor sheet (front conductor sheet); and a feed point (15, 16), wherein the first conductor sheet (front conductor sheet) comprises at least two cavities (cavities of front conductor sheet), the at least two cavities are connected through a gap, wherein the feed point (15, 16) is connected to the gap, wherein the antenna further comprises a second conductor sheet (back conductor sheet), wherein the second conductor sheet (back conductor sheet) comprises second at least two cavities (cavities of back conductor sheet) that are connected through a second gap, and wherein the gap of the first conductor sheet (front conductor sheet) and the second gap of the second conductor sheet (back conductor sheet) are connected by using a feed network (30, 31) but does not specifically teach and a deviation between a respective circumference of each of the at least two cavities and a wavelength corresponding to an operating frequency band of the antenna is less than 20%, and a second deviation between a second respective circumference of each of the second at least two cavities of the second conductor sheet and the wavelength corresponding to the operating frequency band of the antenna is less than 20%.
However, Yekeh teaches (Fig. 3) a deviation between a respective circumference of each of the at least two cavities and a wavelength corresponding to an operating frequency band of the antenna is less than 20% ([0019], circumference of each of the at least two cavities is about 71 mm which is a wavelength within the operating frequency band of the antenna of 3.1 – 10.6 GHz).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna of Ghose with Yekeh to include “a deviation between a respective circumference of each of the at least two cavities and a wavelength corresponding to an operating frequency band of the antenna is less than 20%,” as taught by Yekeh, for the purpose of compactness and operating at a desired frequency band (see also [0019]).
Regarding claim 38, Ghose teaches (Fig. 2 and 5) wherein a feed line (32, 33) comprises the feed point (15, 16), wherein the feed line (32, 33) is perpendicular to the first conductor sheet (front conductor sheet), and wherein an outer surface of the feed point (32, 33) contacts 2 edges of the gap (15, 16).
Regarding claim 39, Ghose teaches (Fig. 1-2 and 5) wherein the gap is a rectangular gap (gap between cavities of front conductor sheet), wherein the antenna is configured to only operate within the operating frequency band (col. 3, lines 34-5), wherein the at least two cavities (cavities of front conductor sheet) and the gap are configured such that, when the feed point generates a standing wave current on the first conductor sheet, maximum standing wave currents are generated at ends of the at least two cavities having a same direction, wherein the maximum standing wave currents form an equivalent array satisfying binomial distribution (distribution of maximum standing wave currents is functional language that the structure of antenna 1 is capable of accomplishing as the distribution of maximum standing wave currents along a slotted dipole antenna is determined by frequency of the signal fed to the antenna), and wherein zero points are formed at two ends of the first conductor sheet in a direction along the gap to construct dual beams radiating in opposite directions (distribution of maximum standing wave currents is functional language that the structure of antenna 1 is capable of accomplishing).
Claims 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahin in view of Wight.
Regarding claim 28, Sahin does not specifically teach wherein the first conductor sheet comprises at least four cavities, the feed point is connected to a middle gap, and the middle gap is in a middle of a plurality of gaps connecting the at least four cavities.
However, Wight teaches (Fig. 4A) wherein the first conductor sheet (30-1a) comprises at least four cavities (37), the feed point is connected to a middle gap (gap at 36), and the middle gap (gap at 36) in a middle of a plurality of gaps connecting the at least four cavities (37).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna of Sahin with Wight to include “wherein the first conductor sheet comprises at least four cavities, the feed point is connected to a middle gap, and the middle gap in a middle of a plurality of gaps connecting the at least four cavities,” as taught by Wight, for the purpose of reducing size and achieving a desired frequency (see also [0007]).
Regarding claim 29, Sahin further teaches a deviation between a respective circumference of each of the second at least two cavities of the conductor sheet and the wavelength corresponding to the operating frequency band of the antenna is less than 20% ([0044]), but does not specifically teach wherein the antenna further comprises a second conductor sheet, wherein the second conductor sheet comprises second at least two cavities that are connected through a second gap, wherein a second side of the second conductor sheet is connected to the ground plane, and wherein the gap of the first conductor sheet and the second gap of the second conductor sheet are connected by using a feed network.
However, Wight teaches (Fig. 4A, 11C, and 15) wherein the antenna further comprises a second conductor sheet (30-3), wherein the second conductor sheet (30-3) comprises second at least two cavities (37) that are connected through a second gap (36), wherein a second side of the second conductor sheet is connected to the ground plane (95), and wherein the gap of the first conductor sheet and the second gap of the second conductor sheet are connected by using a feed network (52, 60).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna of Sahin with Wight to include “wherein the antenna further comprises a second conductor sheet, wherein the second conductor sheet comprises second at least two cavities that are connected through a second gap, wherein a second side of the second conductor sheet is connected to the ground plane, and wherein the gap of the first conductor sheet and the second gap of the second conductor sheet are connected by using a feed network,” as taught by Wight, for the purpose of improved efficiency and coverage (see also [0065]).
Regarding claim 30, Sahin does not specifically teach wherein the antenna further comprises a reflection panel, and the reflection panel is perpendicular to the first conductor sheet.
However, Wight teaches (Fig. 15) wherein the antenna further comprises a reflection panel (95, ground acts as a reflector), a reflection panel (95, ground acts as a reflector) is perpendicular to the first conductor sheet (30-3).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna of Sahin with Wight to include “wherein the antenna further comprises a reflection panel, and the reflection panel is perpendicular to the first conductor sheet,” as taught by Wight, for the purpose of improved radiation symmetry (see also [0057]).
Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yekeh in view of Wight as applied to claim 18 above, and in further view of Lees et al. (US Patent No. 2632851 A), hereinafter known as Lees.
Regarding claim 38, Yekeh does not specifically teach wherein a feed line comprises the feed point, wherein the feed line is perpendicular to the first conductor sheet, and wherein an outer surface of the feed point contacts 2 edges of the gap.
However, Lees teaches (Fig. 4) wherein a feed line (15, 16) comprises the feed point (4, 5), wherein the feed line is perpendicular to the first conductor sheet (1), and wherein an outer surface of the feed point contacts 2 edges of the gap (4, 5).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna of Yekeh with Lees to include “wherein a feed line comprises the feed point, wherein the feed line is perpendicular to the first conductor sheet, and wherein an outer surface of the feed point contacts 2 edges of the gap,” as taught by Lees, for the purpose of balancing the feed line (see also col. 2, lines 23-30).
Conclusion
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/YONCHAN J KIM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2845