DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-9, 11-14, 16-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng et al. (CN 105807354) (English translation attached) in view of Tan (US 20180067232).
Regarding claim 1, Peng discloses (Figs. 1-6C) a polarizing plate comprising: a polarizer (211) formed of a composition containing a first liquid crystal compound and a dichroic substance (Page 3; mixed BASF polymeric nematic liquid crystal LC-1057 and nematel dichroic dyes AB4 and AZO1); and an optically anisotropic layer (214, 216) disposed adjacent to the polarizer and formed of a composition containing a second liquid crystal compound (Page 3; mixing BASF polymerizable liquid crystal LC-242 and BASF LC-756), wherein a content of the dichroic substance in the polarizer is 40% by mass or less with respect to a total mass of the polarizer (Page 3; about 3 grams of first LC compound and about 0.12 gram of dyes).
Peng does not necessarily disclose a content of the dichroic substance in the polarizer is 5% to 40% by mass with respect to a total mass of the polarizer.
Tan discloses (Figs. 1a-12) a content of the dichroic substance in the polarizer (104) is 5% to 40% by mass with respect to a total mass of the polarizer (sections 0034, 0054, 0082, 0131). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Tan to improve the degree of polarization.
Regarding claim 2, Peng does not necessarily disclose the content of the dichroic substance in the polarizer is 5% to 30% by mass with respect to the total mass of the polarizer.
Tan discloses (Figs. 1a-12) the content of the dichroic substance in the polarizer is 5% to 30% by mass with respect to the total mass of the polarizer (sections 0034, 0054, 0082, 0131). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Tan to improve the degree of polarization.
Regarding claim 3, Peng discloses (Figs. 1-6C) an angle formed by an absorption axis of the polarizer (211) and an in-plane slow axis on a surface of the optically anisotropic layer (214, 216) on a side of the polarizer is within 1° (Page 2).
Regarding claim 4, Peng discloses (Figs. 1-6C) the optically anisotropic layer (214, 216) is a layer formed by fixing a twist-aligned second liquid crystal compound with a thickness direction as a helical axis (Fig. 2; Page 3).
Regarding claim 5, Peng discloses (Figs. 1-6C) the optically anisotropic layer (214, 216) has a plurality of layers formed by fixing a twist-aligned second liquid crystal compound with a thickness direction as a helical axis, and twisted angles of the second liquid crystal compound are different from each other in the plurality of layers (Page 4).
Regarding claim 6, Peng discloses (Figs. 1-6C) the optically anisotropic layer (214, 216) has a plurality of layers formed by fixing a twist-aligned second liquid crystal compound with a thickness direction as a helical axis, and the plurality of layers each have a different ratio of the twisted angle of the second liquid crystal compound to a thickness of the layer (Page 4).
Regarding claim 8, Peng does not necessarily disclose in a case of carrying out a component analysis in a depth direction of the polarizer by time-of-flight secondary ion mass spectrometry, a relationship between a maximum intensity Imax of a secondary ion intensity derived from the dichroic substance and an intensity Isur1 of the secondary ion intensity derived from the dichroic substance on a surface of the polarizer on a side opposite to the optically anisotropic layer satisfies Expression (3), Expression (3) 2.0≤Imax/Isur1.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the particular intensities, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the particular intensities, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 9, Peng does not necessarily disclose an absolute value of a difference between a log P of the second liquid crystal compound and a log P of the dichroic substance is 3.0 or more.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the particular log P’s, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the particular log P’s, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 11, Peng discloses (Figs. 1-6C) an angle formed by an absorption axis of the polarizer (211) and an in-plane slow axis on a surface of the optically anisotropic layer (214, 216) on a side of the polarizer is within 1° (Page 2).
Regarding claim 12, Peng discloses (Figs. 1-6C) the optically anisotropic layer (214, 216) is a layer formed by fixing a twist-aligned second liquid crystal compound with a thickness direction as a helical axis (Fig. 2; Page 3).
Regarding claim 13, Peng discloses (Figs. 1-6C) the optically anisotropic layer (214, 216) has a plurality of layers formed by fixing a twist-aligned second liquid crystal compound with a thickness direction as a helical axis, and twisted angles of the second liquid crystal compound are different from each other in the plurality of layers (Page 4).
Regarding claim 14, Peng discloses (Figs. 1-6C) the optically anisotropic layer (214, 216) has a plurality of layers formed by fixing a twist-aligned second liquid crystal compound with a thickness direction as a helical axis, and the plurality of layers each have a different ratio of the twisted angle of the second liquid crystal compound to a thickness of the layer (Page 4).
Regarding claim 16, Peng does not necessarily disclose in a case of carrying out a component analysis in a depth direction of the polarizer by time-of-flight secondary ion mass spectrometry, a relationship between a maximum intensity Imax of a secondary ion intensity derived from the dichroic substance and an intensity Isur1 of the secondary ion intensity derived from the dichroic substance on a surface of the polarizer on a side opposite to the optically anisotropic layer satisfies Expression (3), Expression (3) 2.0≤Imax/Isur1.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the particular intensities, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the particular intensities, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 17, Peng does not necessarily disclose an absolute value of a difference between a log P of the second liquid crystal compound and a log P of the dichroic substance is 3.0 or more.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the particular log P’s, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the particular log P’s, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 19, Peng discloses (Figs. 1-6C) the optically anisotropic layer (214, 216) is a layer formed by fixing a twist-aligned second liquid crystal compound with a thickness direction as a helical axis (Fig. 2; Page 3).
Regarding claim 20, Peng discloses (Figs. 1-6C) the optically anisotropic layer (214, 216) has a plurality of layers formed by fixing a twist-aligned second liquid crystal compound with a thickness direction as a helical axis, and twisted angles of the second liquid crystal compound are different from each other in the plurality of layers (Page 4).
Claims 7, 10, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng and Tan in view of Saitoh et al. (US 20140284582).
Regarding claim 7, Peng does not necessarily disclose the optically anisotropic layer has a first optically anisotropic layer and a second optically anisotropic layer, the first optically anisotropic layer is disposed on a side of the polarizer, the first optically anisotropic layer and the second optically anisotropic layer are layers formed by fixing the twist-aligned second liquid crystal compound with a thickness direction as a helical axis, a twisted direction of the second liquid crystal compound in the first optically anisotropic layer and a twisted direction of the second liquid crystal compound in the second optically anisotropic layer are the same, the twisted angle of the second liquid crystal compound in the first optically anisotropic layer is 26.5°±10.0°, the twisted angle of the second liquid crystal compound in the second optically anisotropic layer is 78.6°±10.0°, an in-plane slow axis on a surface of the first optically anisotropic layer on a second optically anisotropic layer side is parallel to an in-plane slow axis on a surface of the second optically anisotropic layer on a first optically anisotropic layer side, and a value of a product Δn1·d1 of a refractive index anisotropy Δn1 of the first optically anisotropic layer measured at a wavelength of 550 nm and a thickness d1 of the first optically anisotropic layer, and a value of a product Δn2·d2 of a refractive index anisotropy Δn2 of the second optically anisotropic layer measured at a wavelength of 550 nm and a thickness d2 of the second optically anisotropic layer satisfy Expression (1) and Expression (2), respectively, 252 nm ≤ Δn1·d1 ≤312 nm Expression (1) 110 nm ≤ Δn2·d2 ≤170 nm Expression (2).
Saitoh discloses (Figs. 1-11(B)) the optically anisotropic layer (10) has a first optically anisotropic layer (12a) and a second optically anisotropic layer (14a), the first optically anisotropic layer is disposed on a side of the polarizer (18), the first optically anisotropic layer and the second optically anisotropic layer are layers formed by fixing the twist-aligned second liquid crystal compound with a thickness direction as a helical axis, a twisted direction of the second liquid crystal compound in the first optically anisotropic layer and a twisted direction of the second liquid crystal compound in the second optically anisotropic layer are the same, the twisted angle of the second liquid crystal compound in the first optically anisotropic layer is 26.5°±10.0°, the twisted angle of the second liquid crystal compound in the second optically anisotropic layer is 78.6°±10.0°, an in-plane slow axis on a surface of the first optically anisotropic layer on a second optically anisotropic layer side is parallel to an in-plane slow axis on a surface of the second optically anisotropic layer on a first optically anisotropic layer side, and a value of a product Δn1·d1 of a refractive index anisotropy Δn1 of the first optically anisotropic layer measured at a wavelength of 550 nm and a thickness d1 of the first optically anisotropic layer, and a value of a product Δn2·d2 of a refractive index anisotropy Δn2 of the second optically anisotropic layer measured at a wavelength of 550 nm and a thickness d2 of the second optically anisotropic layer satisfy Expression (1) and Expression (2), respectively, 252 nm ≤ Δn1·d1 ≤312 nm Expression (1) 110 nm ≤ Δn2·d2 ≤170 nm Expression (2) (sections 0011-0021). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Saitoh to improve a contrast ratio of display light.
Regarding claim 10, Peng does not necessarily disclose an organic electroluminescent display device comprising the polarizing plate.
Saitoh discloses (Figs. 1-11(B)) an organic electroluminescent display device comprising the polarizing plate (100a) (section 0152). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Saitoh to improve a contrast ratio of display light.
Regarding claim 15, Peng does not necessarily disclose the optically anisotropic layer has a first optically anisotropic layer and a second optically anisotropic layer, the first optically anisotropic layer is disposed on a side of the polarizer, the first optically anisotropic layer and the second optically anisotropic layer are layers formed by fixing the twist-aligned second liquid crystal compound with a thickness direction as a helical axis, a twisted direction of the second liquid crystal compound in the first optically anisotropic layer and a twisted direction of the second liquid crystal compound in the second optically anisotropic layer are the same, the twisted angle of the second liquid crystal compound in the first optically anisotropic layer is 26.5°±10.0°, the twisted angle of the second liquid crystal compound in the second optically anisotropic layer is 78.6°±10.0°, an in-plane slow axis on a surface of the first optically anisotropic layer on a second optically anisotropic layer side is parallel to an in-plane slow axis on a surface of the second optically anisotropic layer on a first optically anisotropic layer side, and a value of a product Δn1·d1 of a refractive index anisotropy Δn1 of the first optically anisotropic layer measured at a wavelength of 550 nm and a thickness d1 of the first optically anisotropic layer, and a value of a product Δn2·d2 of a refractive index anisotropy Δn2 of the second optically anisotropic layer measured at a wavelength of 550 nm and a thickness d2 of the second optically anisotropic layer satisfy Expression (1) and Expression (2), respectively, 252 nm ≤ Δn1·d1 ≤ 312 nm Expression (1) 110 nm ≤ Δn2·d2 ≤170 nm Expression (2).
Saitoh discloses (Figs. 1-11(B)) the optically anisotropic layer (10) has a first optically anisotropic layer (12a) and a second optically anisotropic layer (14a), the first optically anisotropic layer is disposed on a side of the polarizer, the first optically anisotropic layer and the second optically anisotropic layer are layers formed by fixing the twist-aligned second liquid crystal compound with a thickness direction as a helical axis, a twisted direction of the second liquid crystal compound in the first optically anisotropic layer and a twisted direction of the second liquid crystal compound in the second optically anisotropic layer are the same, the twisted angle of the second liquid crystal compound in the first optically anisotropic layer is 26.5°±10.0°, the twisted angle of the second liquid crystal compound in the second optically anisotropic layer is 78.6°±10.0°, an in-plane slow axis on a surface of the first optically anisotropic layer on a second optically anisotropic layer side is parallel to an in-plane slow axis on a surface of the second optically anisotropic layer on a first optically anisotropic layer side, and a value of a product Δn1·d1 of a refractive index anisotropy Δn1 of the first optically anisotropic layer measured at a wavelength of 550 nm and a thickness d1 of the first optically anisotropic layer, and a value of a product Δn2·d2 of a refractive index anisotropy Δn2 of the second optically anisotropic layer measured at a wavelength of 550 nm and a thickness d2 of the second optically anisotropic layer satisfy Expression (1) and Expression (2), respectively, 252 nm ≤ Δn1·d1 ≤ 312 nm Expression (1) 110 nm ≤ Δn2·d2 ≤170 nm Expression (2) (sections 0011-0021). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Saitoh to improve a contrast ratio of display light.
Regarding claim 18, Peng does not necessarily disclose an organic electroluminescent display device comprising the polarizing plate.
Saitoh discloses (Figs. 1-11(B)) an organic electroluminescent display device comprising the polarizing plate (100a) (section 0152). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Saitoh to improve a contrast ratio of display light.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLES S CHANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871