DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 07/15/26. The applicant has overcome the 102 rejection as set forth in the previous office action. Refer to the aforementioned amendment for specific details on applicant's rebuttal arguments and/or remarks. However, the present claims are now finally rejected over new grounds of rejections as formulated hereinbelow and for the reasons of record:
Election/Restrictions
Claims 3-4 and 7-17 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention/species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/20/25 and 01/13/26.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/23/26 was considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall 5389459 in view of either: (a) Sakashita et al’917, and/or (b) Goto et al’890 and/or (c) Kogure et al’987.
As to claims 1, 5-6:
Hall discloses that it is known in the art to make a metal oxide-hydrogen battery system 20 comprising a first enclosed vessel 26 containing battery units/cells 22; a second enclosed vessel 48 being remote from the first vessel and containing a solid state metal hydride producing hydrogen gas to thereby develop a pressure within the second vessel; and a conduit 54 (i.e., applicant’s fill tube) providing mass communication between the first compartment and the second compartment and a control valve 56 (i.e., taken to represent applicant’s undefined control device) for controlling the flow of hydrogen gas to the first vessel from the second vessel (Abstract; Col 1, lines 5-10; see CLAIMS 1-5; see Figures 1-2). Hall discloses that the unit cell 22 may be one of an array of cells (Col 4, lines 18-23), thereby envisioning more than one array of battery cells/vessels.
Hall discloses a metal hydrogen battery according to the foregoing aspects. However, the preceding reference does not expressly disclose the specific plurality of electrode stacks.
As to claim 1:
In this respect,
(a) Sakashita et al’917 disclose that it is known in the art to make a battery cell comprising a plurality of electrode stacks (i.e., electrode plates stacked) subject pressure to increase the power out thereof (0019), and/or
(b) Goto et al’890 disclose that it is known in the art to make a battery cell comprising a plurality of electrode stacks (i.e., electrode plates stacked) subject pressure to increase the power out thereof (0009) and/or
(c) Kogure et al’987 disclose that it is known in the art to make a battery cell comprising a plurality of electrode stacks (i.e., electrode plates stacked) subject pressure to increase the power out thereof (see CLAIM 6).
In light of the above, it would be within the purview of a skilled artisan prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the plurality of electrode stacks of either Sakashita et al’917, and/or Goto et al’890, and/or Kogure et al’987 in the metal hydrogen battery of Hall as the prior art teaches that the specifically disclosed plurality of stacked electrode plates assist in increasing the power out of the battery cell regardless of the chemical or electrochemical system thereof. Further, the claim would have been obvious because the technique for improving a particular class of devices was part of the ordinary capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art, in view of the teaching of the technique for improvement in other situations, or based upon the teaching of such improvement in other situations. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known method of enhancement to a “base” device (method, or product) in the prior art and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. Stated differently, use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way is prima-facie obvious. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 US- 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007). KSR, 550 U.S. at 417, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall 5389459 in view of either: (a) Sakashita et al’917, and/or (b) Goto et al’890 and/or (c) Kogure et al’987 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fritts 4395469.
Hall, Sakashita et al, Goto et al and Kogure et al are all applied, argued and incorporated herein for the reasons manifested supra. However, the preceding reference does not expressly disclose the control device including a compressor.
As to claim 2:
In this respect, in the same field of applicant’s endeavor, Fritts discloses that it is known in the art to make a nickel-hydrogen battery system including a pumping/compressing device 38 as part of the hydrogen charging path to efficiently deliver hydrogen gas to the nickel-hydrogen battery (COL 2, lines 45-46 & 62-65; see COL 2, line 26-65; see Figure 1).
By compounding the above teachings, it would be within the purview of a skilled artisan prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the pumping/compressing device of Fritts in the metal hydrogen battery of Hall, Sakashita et al, Goto et al and Kogure et al, as instantly combined, because Fritts teaches that the specifically disclosed pumping/compressing device is part of the hydrogen charging path to efficiently deliver hydrogen gas to the nickel-hydrogen battery, thereby assist in moving/transporting hydrogen reactant gas within the metal hydrogen battery, thereby effectively improving the flow of reactant gas for generation of electrochemical energy. Further, the claim would have been obvious because the technique for improving a particular class of devices was part of the ordinary capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art, in view of the teaching of the technique for improvement in other situations, or based upon the teaching of such improvement in other situations. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known method of enhancement to a “base” device (method, or product) in the prior art and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. Stated differently, use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way is prima-facie obvious. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 US- 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007). KSR, 550 U.S. at 417, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 07/15/26, with respect to the foregoing claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection, and because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAYMOND ALEJANDRO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1752