DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (i.e., claims 1-11 and 17) and Species I-A-I-a-1 and I-A-1-b-1 (i.e., claims 1-2 and 5-6) in the reply filed on 10/20/25 and 01/13/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for domestic priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (e).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/11/23 and 10/01/25 was considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 03/02/23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Hall 5389459.
As to claims 1, 5-6:
Hall discloses that it is known in the art to make a metal oxide-hydrogen battery system 20 comprising a first enclosed vessel 26 containing battery units/cells 22; a second enclosed vessel 48 being remote from the first vessel and containing a solid state metal hydride producing hydrogen gas to thereby develop a pressure within the second vessel; and a conduit 54 (i.e., applicant’s fill tube) providing mass communication between the first compartment and the second compartment and a control valve 56 (i.e., taken to represent applicant’s undefined control device) for controlling the flow of hydrogen gas to the first vessel from the second vessel (Abstract; Col 1, lines 5-10; see CLAIMS 1-5; see Figures 1-2). Hall discloses that the unit cell 22 may be one of an array of cells (Col 4, lines 18-23), thereby envisioning more than one array of battery cells/vessels.
Thus, the present claims are anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall 5389459 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fritts 4395469.
Hall is applied, argued and incorporated herein for the reasons manifested supra. However, the preceding reference does not expressly disclose the control device including a compressor.
As to claim 2:
In this respect, in the same field of applicant’s endeavor, Fritts discloses that it is known in the art to make a nickel-hydrogen battery system including a pumping/compressing device 38 as part of the hydrogen charging path to efficiently deliver hydrogen gas to the nickel-hydrogen battery (COL 2, lines 45-46 & 62-65; see COL 2, line 26-65; see Figure 1).
By compounding the above teachings, it would be within the purview of a skilled artisan prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the pumping/compressing device of Fritts in the metal hydrogen battery of Hall as Fritts teaches that the specifically disclosed pumping/compressing device is part of the hydrogen charging path to efficiently deliver hydrogen gas to the nickel-hydrogen battery, thereby assist in moving/transporting hydrogen reactant gas within the metal hydrogen battery, thereby effectively improving the flow of reactant gas for generation of electrochemical energy. Further, the claim would have been obvious because the technique for improving a particular class of devices was part of the ordinary capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art, in view of the teaching of the technique for improvement in other situations, or based upon the teaching of such improvement in other situations. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known method of enhancement to a “base” device (method, or product) in the prior art and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. Stated differently, use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way is prima-facie obvious. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 US- 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007). KSR, 550 U.S. at 417, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
Conclusion
/RAYMOND ALEJANDRO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1752