DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claims 1-7 and 9-15 are amended.
Claim 16 is added.
Claims 1-7 and 9-16 are pending for examination.
Applicant Argument
Applicant’s arguments (remark pages 6-8), filed on 01/23/2025, with respect to claims 1-7 and 9-16 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection below which better address the claimed invention as amended.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because [FIG.18] label “1010” – “1080” should read as “1810” – “1810” respectively to align with specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 9, 15 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1, 9 and 16 recites the phrase “such that” in line 5, line 5 and line 4 respectively. Language that suggests or makes optional or intended use/result (i.e., such that) but does not require step to be performed or does not limit the scope of the claim to a particular structure or does not limit the scope of a claim or claim limitation(s). Such clauses may render parts of the claim(s) optional (see MPEP 2106 and 2111.04).
Claim 15 recites “the broadcast signal transmission apparatus” in the preamble. The limitations “a first receiver that does not support MIMO restores only the core layer signal” and “a second receiver that supports MIMO restores both the core layer signal and the enhanced layer signal based on the signaling information” recited respectively in line 4 and lines 5-6 do not further limit the broadcast signal transmission apparatus recited in the preamble. The limitations are not structures, functions or configurations performed by the broadcast signal transmission apparatus, instead the limitations are performed by a broadcast signal reception apparatus. Thus, the limitations directed to the functionality and configuration of another have no patentable weight as the limitations are not directed towards the broadcast signal transmission apparatus. It is suggested to amend the limitations not to further limiting to another.
Appropriate correction(s) is/are required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
‘a signaling information generation unit configured to’ and ‘a broadcast signal generation unit’ in claim 9.
Regarding ‘a signaling information generation unit configured to’ and ‘a broadcast signal generation unit’ in claim 9, the corresponding structure can be found at [FIG.16]-[Fig.17] and specification PGPUB paragraph [0159], processor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20180167245 A1), hereinafter “Kim”, in view of Park et al. (US 20180351609 A1), hereinafter “Park”.
Per claim 1, 9 and 16:
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches ‘A broadcast signal transmission apparatus’ (Kim: [0002]: “an apparatus for transmitting broadcast signals”);
‘comprising:
a signaling information generation unit configured to generate signaling information’ (Kim: [FIG.2]: block 2020: “Physical Layer Signaling Generation”, “PLS1”, “PLS2”; signaling generation unit for generating a signaling information);
‘corresponding to a combined signal generated by using Multiple-Input Multiple-Output (MIMO) and Layered Division Multiplexing (LDM) together, such that MIMO is performed prior to LDM combining’ (Kim: [0014]: “transmission/reception of broadcast signals using a MIMO system”; [0566]: “LDM setting, and SISO/MIMO of data symbols may be signaled in a preamble”; [0467]: “The PLS1 information may also be designated as Layer 1 (L1) static information or Layer 1 (L1) basic information, and the PLS2 information may also be designated as L1-dynamic information or L1 detail information”). However, Kim fails to expressly teach combine MIMO and LDM together such that MIMO is performed prior to LDM combining;
‘a broadcast signal generation unit configured to include the signaling information in a preamble of a broadcast signal’ (Kim: [FIG.1]: “TX Signal Output”. [0017]: “FIG. 1 illustrates a structure of an apparatus for transmitting broadcast signals”; [FIG.34]: “Preamble” includes “L1-static” and “L1-dynamic”);
‘transmit the broadcast signal to at least one receiver’ (Kim: [FIG.1]: “TX ant.1”, “TX Signal Output”; [FIG.9]: “Rx ant.1”, “Rx signal input”).
However, Park in the same field of endeavor teaches transmission scheme with combination of MIMO and LDM technology together (Park: [FIG.1]: “CL INPUT Stream”, “EL INPUT STREAM”; [0007]-[0008]: “In order to simultaneously support various multiple services, multiplexing, which is a procedure for combining multiple signals, is required. Among these multiple techniques, Layered Division Multiplexing (LDM) technology for combining signals in two layers by differently setting the powers of respective layer signals has been introduced … Therefore, there is urgently required the development of a new broadcast signal transceiving technique in which LDM is combined with MISO or MIMO”);
‘such that MIMO is performed prior to LDM combining’ (Park: [FIG.14]: “EL MIMO” is performed before block “1441” and “1442”, the LDM combining; [0241]: “FIG. 14 shows the case where plain MISO or MISO TDCFS is applied to the core layer and MIMO Spatial Multiplexing (SM) is applied to the enhanced layer. Here, a horizontal polarization antenna transmits an LDM signal of
(for plain MISO,
), and a vertical polarization antenna transmits an LDM signal of
”; [0245]: “Each of the combiners 1441 and 1442 generates a multiplexed signal by combining the core-layer signal with the corresponding enhanced-layer signal at different power levels”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Park’s teaching with that of Kim in order to simultaneously support multiple services (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 recites the method implemented by the broadcast signal transmission apparatus of claim 9 (see rejection of claim 9 above).
Regarding claim 16, Kim teaches ‘A broadcast signal reception apparatus’ (Kim: [0002]: “an apparatus for receiving broadcast signals”);
‘comprising:
one or more antennas configured to receive a broadcast signal’ (Kim: [FIG.9]: “Rx ant. 1”, “Rx ant. m”, “Rx signal input”; [0025]: “FIG. 9 illustrates a structure of an apparatus for receiving broadcast signals”);
‘in which signaling information corresponding to a combined signal generated by using Layered Division Multiplexing(LDM) and Multiple-Input Multiple-Output(MIMO) together, such that MIMO is performed prior to LDM combining’ (Kim: [0014]: “transmission/reception of broadcast signals using a MIMO system”; [0566]: “LDM setting, and SISO/MIMO of data symbols may be signaled in a preamble”; [0467]: “The PLS1 information may also be designated as Layer 1 (L1) static information or Layer 1 (L1) basic information, and the PLS2 information may also be designated as L1-dynamic information or L1 detail information”). However, Kim fails to expressly teach combine MIMO and LDM together such that MIMO is performed prior to LDM combining;
‘is included in a preamble of the broadcast signal’ (Kim: [FIG.34]: “Preamble” includes “L1-static” and “L1-dynamic”);
‘one or more reception chains configured to perform reception processing corresponding to the combined signal based on the signaling information’ (Kim: [FIG.9]: “Rx signal input”, “Frame Parsing”, “Physical Layer Signaling (PLS)”, “Output Processor”, “output streams”).
However, Park teaches combine MIMO and LDM technology together (Park: [FIG.1]: “CL INPUT Stream”, “EL INPUT STREAM”; [0007]-[0008]: “In order to simultaneously support various multiple services, multiplexing, which is a procedure for combining multiple signals, is required. Among these multiple techniques, Layered Division Multiplexing (LDM) technology for combining signals in two layers by differently setting the powers of respective layer signals has been introduced … Therefore, there is urgently required the development of a new broadcast signal transceiving technique in which LDM is combined with MISO or MIMO”);
‘such that MIMO is performed prior to LDM combining’ (Park: [FIG.14]: “EL MIMO” is performed before block “1441” and “1442”, the LDM combining; [0241]: “FIG. 14 shows the case where plain MISO or MISO TDCFS is applied to the core layer and MIMO Spatial Multiplexing (SM) is applied to the enhanced layer. Here, a horizontal polarization antenna transmits an LDM signal of
(for plain MISO,
), and a vertical polarization antenna transmits an LDM signal of
”; [0245]: “Each of the combiners 1441 and 1442 generates a multiplexed signal by combining the core-layer signal with the corresponding enhanced-layer signal at different power levels”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Park’s teaching with that of Kim in order to simultaneously support multiple services (see reference quotes in element above).
Per claim 2 and 10:
Regarding claim 10, combination of Kim and Park teaches the broadcast signal transmission apparatus of claim 9 (discussed above).
Kim teaches ‘the signaling information is included in basic transmission information (L1-BASIC SIGNAL) or detailed transmission information (L1- DETAIL SIGNAL) of the preamble of the broadcast signal’ (Kim: [FIG.34]: “Preamble” includes “L1-static” and “L1-dynamic”; [0467]: “The PLS1 information may also be designated as Layer 1 (L1) static information or Layer 1 (L1) basic information, and the PLS2 information may also be designated as L1-dynamic information or L1 detail information”).
Regarding claim 2, claim 2 recites the method implemented by the broadcast signal transmission apparatus of claim 10 (see rejection of claim 10 above).
Per claim 3 and 11:
Regarding claim 11, combination of Kim and Park teaches the broadcast signal transmission apparatus of claim 10 (discussed above).
Kim teaches ‘first signaling information for a first subframe of the broadcast signal’ (Kim: [FIG.17]: “PLS1” for first subframe of broadcast signal frame);
‘second signaling information for a current subframe subsequent to the first subframe’ (Kim: [FIG.17]: “PLS2” for a current subframe subsequent to the first subframe).
Regarding claim 3, claim 3 recites the method implemented by the broadcast signal transmission apparatus of claim 11 (see rejection of claim 11 above).
Per claim 4 and 12:
Regarding claim 12, combination of Kim and Park teaches the broadcast signal transmission apparatus of claim 11 (discussed above).
Kim teaches ‘the first signaling information is included in the L1-BASIC SIGNAL; and the second signaling information is included in the L1-DETAIL SIGNAL’ (Kim: [0467]: “The PLS1 information may also be designated as Layer 1 (L1) static information or Layer 1 (L1) basic information, and the PLS2 information may also be designated as L1-dynamic information or L1 detail information”).
Regarding claim 4, claim 4 recites the method implemented by the broadcast signal transmission apparatus of claim 12 (see rejection of claim 12 above).
Per claim 5 and 13:
Regarding claim 13, combination of Kim and Park teaches the broadcast signal transmission apparatus of claim 9 (discussed above).
Kim does not expressly teach, but Park teaches ‘a core layer signal to which MIMO is applied and an enhanced layer signal to which MIMO is applied are combined using LDM’ (this is optional);
‘a core layer signal to which MIMO is not applied and an enhanced layer signal to which MIMO is applied are combined using LDM’ (Park: [0207]: “Plain MISO in CL+MIMO in EL”, MIMO is only applied to EL (enhanced layer) and not to CL (core layer)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Park’s teaching with that of Kim in order to simultaneously support multiple services (Park: [0008]: “In order to simultaneously support various multiple services, multiplexing, which is a procedure for combining multiple signals, is required. Among these multiple techniques, Layered Division Multiplexing (LDM) technology for combining signals in two layers by differently setting the powers of respective layer signals has been introduced … Therefore, there is urgently required the development of a new broadcast signal transceiving technique in which LDM is combined with MISO or MIMO”).
Regarding claim 5, claim 5 recites the method implemented by the broadcast signal transmission apparatus of claim 13 (see rejection of claim 13 above).
Per claim 6 and 14:
Regarding claim 14, combination of Kim and Park teaches the broadcast signal transmission apparatus of claim 13 (discussed above).
Kim does not expressly teach, but Park teaches ‘a case in which the core layer signal is transmitted only through a first transmit antenna; a case in which the core layer signal is transmitted only through a second transmit antenna’ (these are optional);
‘a case in which the core layer signal is divided and transmitted through the first transmit antenna and the second transmit antenna’ (Park: [FIG.14]: “
” through “
”, “
” through “
”, core layer signal is divided and transmitted through both RFH and RFV antenna).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Park’s teaching with that of Kim in order to simultaneously support multiple services (Park: [0008]: “In order to simultaneously support various multiple services, multiplexing, which is a procedure for combining multiple signals, is required. Among these multiple techniques, Layered Division Multiplexing (LDM) technology for combining signals in two layers by differently setting the powers of respective layer signals has been introduced … Therefore, there is urgently required the development of a new broadcast signal transceiving technique in which LDM is combined with MISO or MIMO”).
Regarding claim 6, claim 6 recites the method implemented by the broadcast signal transmission apparatus of claim 14 (see rejection of claim 14 above).
Per claim 7 and 15:
Regarding claim 15, combination of Kim and Park teaches the broadcast signal transmission apparatus of claim 13 (discussed above).
Kim does not expressly teach, but Park teaches ‘wherein, when a core layer signal to which MIMO is not applied and an enhanced layer signal to which MIMO is applied are combined using LDM’ (Park: [0207]: “Plain MISO in CL+MIMO in EL”, MIMO is only applied to EL (enhanced layer) and not to CL (core layer));
‘a first receiver that does not support MIMO restores only the core layer signal’ (Park: [0006]: “A conventional topology composed of one transmitter and one receiver is referred to as a Single-Input Single-Output (SISO) scheme”, a receiver does not support MIMO; [FIG.18]: “INPUT RF”, “CL OUTPUT STREAM”; [0301]: “The mobile broadcast signal reception apparatus for MIMO, illustrated in FIG. 18, may restore only a core-layer signal without restoring an enhanced-layer signal even when an LDM-broadcast signal is transmitted”);
‘a second receiver that supports MIMO restores both the core layer signal and the enhanced layer signal based on the signaling information’ (Park: [0006]: “when at least two antennas are provided in a single receiver or when two receivers collaborate with each other (e.g. Multiple-Input Multiple-Output (MIMO) antenna scheme), spatial multiplexing gain may be obtained”, a receiver supports MIMO; [FIG.16]: “INPUT RFH”, “INPUT RFV”, “CL OUTPUT STREAM”, “EL OUTPUT STREAM”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Park’s teaching with that of Kim in order to simultaneously support multiple services (Park: [0008]: “In order to simultaneously support various multiple services, multiplexing, which is a procedure for combining multiple signals, is required. Among these multiple techniques, Layered Division Multiplexing (LDM) technology for combining signals in two layers by differently setting the powers of respective layer signals has been introduced … Therefore, there is urgently required the development of a new broadcast signal transceiving technique in which LDM is combined with MISO or MIMO”).
Regarding claim 7, claim 7 recites the method implemented by the broadcast signal transmission apparatus of claim 15 (see rejection of claim 15 above).
Conclusion
/G.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2462
/YEMANE MESFIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2462