DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-7,12-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wakimoto et al. (US2022/0302534A1, with foreign priority August 7, 2019).
As to claim 1, Wakimoto discloses a battery [0032], comprising: a housing (battery case (100) [0032]) enclosed to form a chamber (Battery case 100 including a rectangular exterior body 1 and a sealing plate 2 [0032]) and comprising a first side plate (Sealing plate (2)); a cell located in the chamber (Electrode body 3 [0034], fig. 2), wherein a side of the cell facing the first side plate is provided with a first tab; a first transfer member electrically connected with the first tab (50A); wherein the first transfer member ((8b) [0034) is disposed between the first side plate and the cell (figs. 2 and 14); and a first connector (8a) comprising a first connection sheet (8e) connected with the first transfer member and a fourth connection sheet (8d) connected with a side of the first tab facing away from the cell (fig. 14).
an external connector disposed (electrode terminal (9) [0034]) on a side of the first side plate (Sealing plate (2)) facing away from the chamber (fig.2), the external connector comprises an outward-protruding post (See annotated fig. 14) and the first transfer member (8b) comprises a first through hole ([0082] fig. 14) corresponding to the post, and the post penetrates through the first side plate (sealing plate (2) [0082]) and is connected with the first transfer member through the first through hole ([0082] annotated fig. 14).
(Wakimoto, annotated fig. 14)
the first through hole of the first transfer member comprises a first hole section (upper portion of (T1) of (8b) annotated fig. 14) and a second hole section (lower portion of (T1) of (8b) which are connected with each other (annotated fig. 14), and the second hole section is located on a side of the first hole section close to the cell (annotated fig. 14); and an end of the post close to the cell extends outward to form an extension part corresponding to the second hole section (annotated fig. 14).
(Wakimoto, annotated fig. 14)
an end surface of the post close to the cell is flush with a side surface of the first transfer member close to the cell. (The tip of the negative electrode terminal 9 is crimped onto the second negative electrode current collector 8b and welded [0082] Where crimped onto the collector and welded provides a coplanar relationship. See annotated fig. 14 above).
As to claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Wakimoto discloses the first connector (8a) further comprises a connection component (8c) connected with the first connection sheet (8e) and the fourth connection sheet (8d), respectively; the connection component comprises a second connection sheet (Between 8e and 8d in the lower portion of step 8c, fig. 14) and a third connection sheet (Between 8e and 8d in the upper portion of step 8c, fig. 14); the second connection sheet is located between the first transfer member and the cell (fig. 14); the third connection sheet is located between the first tab and the first transfer member in a direction from the first transfer member to the first tab (fig. 14); and the first connection sheet, the second connection sheet, the third connection sheet and the fourth connection sheet are sequentially connected (8e, the lower portion of step 8c, the upper portion of step 8c, and 8d, fig. 14.
As to claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Wakimoto discloses the first connection sheet (8e) comprises a first connection part (The lower portion of step 8c, fig. 14) connected with the first transfer member (8b fig.14) and a second connection part (the upper portion of step 8c, fig. 14) extending in an extension direction of the first side plate, and the second connection part is connected with the fourth connection sheet (8d, fig. 14).
As to claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Wakimoto discloses, the first connection sheet (8e) is welded with the first transfer member (8b) [0047]
As to claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Wakimoto discloses, the housing (battery case (100) [0032]) comprises a second side plate connected with the first side plate, and a projection of the first transfer member on the second side plate at least partially overlaps with a projection of the first tab on the second side plate. (As shown in annotated fig. 2 and as the side plate is exemplified in fig, 1 of instant specification.)
(Wakimoto, annotated fig. 2)
As to claim 12, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated, Wakimoto discloses, an end of the post (9) close to the cell protrudes out of the first through hole and extends outward along a circumferential direction of the first through hole to form an extension part connected with a side surface of the first transfer member close to the cell. (annotated fig. 14)
(Wakimoto, annotated fig. 14)
As to claim 13, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated, Wakimoto discloses a first insulation sheet (External insulation member 12 [0049]) is also disposed between the external connector and the first side plate [0049], and a second insulation sheet is also disposed between the first transfer member and the first side plate (internal insulation member 13), and the post (electrode terminal 9) penetrates through the first insulation sheet and the second insulation sheet ([0049] fig. 14).
As to claim 14, the rejection of claim 13 is incorporated, Wakimoto discloses a projection of the first insulation sheet on the first side plate covers a projection of the external connector on the first side plate. (See annotated fig. 14)
(Wakimoto, annotated fig. 14)
As to claim 15, the rejection of claim 13 is incorporated, Wakimoto discloses the battery comprises a plurality of electrode sheets arranged in a laminated manner [0033], the cell has a first face and a second face that are disposed opposite to each other (stacking of plates 4 and 5 comprising a cell would provide a first face opposite a second face [0033] figs. 3-5), wherein the second insulation layer (internal insulation member 13) extends to the first face of the cell and is bonded to the electrode sheet (50A) located on the first face of the cell (fig. 14)
As to claim 16, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Wakimoto discloses the cell is further provided with a second tab (40A, [0034] fig. 2), the second tab and the first tab having opposite polarities [0034]; the battery further comprises a second transfer member (6b) electrically connected with the second tab [0034], and the second transfer member is disposed between the first side plate and the cell (fig. 13); and the battery further comprises a second connector (6a) which comprises a fifth connection sheet (6e) connected with the second transfer member (6b) and an eighth connection sheet (6d) connected with a side of the second tab facing away from the cell (fig. 13).
As to claim 17, the rejection of claim 16 is incorporated, Wakimoto discloses a surface of the first connection sheet (8e) connected with the first transfer member (8b) is parallel with a surface of the fifth connection sheet (6e) connected with the second transfer member (6b) (fig. 2).
As to claim 18, the rejection of claim 16 is incorporated, Wakimoto discloses the housing (battery case (100) [0032]) enclosed to form a chamber (Battery case 100 including a rectangular exterior body 1 and a sealing plate 2 [0032]) comprises a second side plate connected with the first side plate, and a projection of the first tab on the second side plate at least partially overlaps with a projection of the second tab on the second side plate.
(Wakimoto, annotated fig. 2)
As to claim 19, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Wakimoto discloses the first tab is a positive tab or a negative tab. (50A is a negative electrode tab groups [0034]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakimoto et al. (US2022/0302534A1).
As to claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Wakimoto discloses a first included angle (step 8c) is formed between a surface of the first transfer member (8b) connected with the first connection sheet (8e) and a surface of the fourth connection sheet (8d) connected with the first tab, and the first included angle is in a range of 80°-120°. (The step of 8c between 8b and 8d is 90° or greater as shown in figure 14, [0045]) In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
As to claim 4, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated, Wakimoto discloses an included angle between the second connection sheet and the third connection sheet is in a range of 80°-120°; (The step 8c formed from the lower portion of step 8c, second connection sheet, and the upper portion of step 8c, provides an angle between of 90° or greater as shown in figure 14. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant Argues, pages 8-10, “The upper and lower portions of T1 merely indicate the start and end points of the thickness dimension, but not the internal structure of the through-hole.”
The office respectfully disagrees as Wakimoto discloses the portion above T1 is the negative electrode terminal insertion hole 2b of the sealing plate and the portion below T1 is the terminal connection hole of the second negative electrode current collector 8b [0082]. Thereby discloses a different structures comprising a terminal insertion hole and a terminal connection hole.
Applicant argues, page 10, there is no description in Wakimoto of terminal 9 including an “outwardly extending extension portion.”
The office respectfully disagrees as annotated fig. 14 discloses the “post closest to the cell extends outward to form an extension part corresponding to the second hole section.” Further terminal 9 is crimped onto the second negative electrode current collector 8b which could not occur if terminal 9 did not extend outward. It is noted Pictures and drawings may be used as enabling prior art MPEP 2121.04.
Applicant argues, pages 12-13, the amended claim 1 focuses on achieving a stable electrical connection and reliable assembly structure through the cooperation of the post of the external connector with the dual-section hole structure of the first transfer member and the coplanar design of the end surfaces. While Wakimoto aims to prevent metal powder generated during welding from entering the electrode body by providing a tape (85) on the back surface of plate (8d), creating a step structure (8c) thereby creating a height difference and teaching away from a co-planar structure.
The office respectfully disagrees as Wakimoto does not provide a step for the current collector (8b) but attaches the terminal (9) to the collector (8b) by crimping and welding [0082] providing a coplanar structure as claimed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BART HORNSBY
Examiner
Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728