Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 9-12, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doblar et al. (United States Patent Application Publication US 2009/0296360), hereinafter Doblar, in view of Yew Lam et al. (United States Patent Application Publication US 2019/0372344), hereinafter Yew Lam.
Regarding claim 1, Doblar teaches an electronic system comprising: a circuit board including a power plane and having a first surface opposite of a second surface (FIG. 1 “Motherboard pcb 50” As shown in FIG. 1, the motherboard has two sides, such as a first side and a second side.);
a processor attached to the first surface of the circuit board and arranged to receive power from the power plane (FIG. 1 “Processor die 15, Processor chip package 20” [0021] “This may allow for cleaner and more direct power and ground distribution to processor chip package 20 (and thus, processor die 15)” As shown in FIG.1, a processor die and a processor chip package are mounted on the first side of the motherboard. A power plane is interpreted as a conductive area that distributes power within a circuit board. Furthermore, the power is distributed to the processor die and the processor chip package.); and
a plurality of DC-to-DC converters attached to the second surface of the circuit board and arranged to transfer power to the power plane (FIG. 1 “100, Voltage regulator subset/DC-DC converter 105” FIG. 4C “105-1…105-6” [0039] “each of the multiple DC-DC converters” [0020] “Voltage regulator 100 includes two primary components: an interposer 101 and a DC-DC converter 105.” [0021] “This may allow for cleaner and more direct power and ground distribution to processor chip package 20 (and thus, processor die 15)” [0024] “The arrangement of electronic assembly 10 shown in FIG. 1 allows a voltage regulator configured to sourcing and sinking (through ground) a large amount of current to be assembled in direct contact with the motherboard upon which a processor (or other integrated circuit) is mounted.” As shown in FIG. 1, DC-DC converter is mounted on the second side of the motherboard. Doblar further teaches that the DC-DC converter 105 includes multiple DC-DC converters to distribute power to processor chip package and processor die.)
However, Doblar does not explicitly teach wherein each DC-to-DC converter of the plurality of DC-to-DC converters includes a respective voltage sense input that is electrically connected to a separate location on the power plane.
Yew Lam teaches wherein each DC-to-DC converter of the plurality of DC-to-DC converters includes a respective voltage sense input that is electrically connected to a separate location on the power plane ([0018] “Each of the DC-DC switching regulator units 221, 222, 223, 224, ... 228 is a circuit that includes at least one DC-DC switching regulators, for example, configured to respectively supply different converted DC voltages to modules inserted in the corresponding slots 211, 212, 213, 214,... 218.” As shown in FIG. 2, different slots and modules are located at different location. Each of the DC-DC switching regulator units provide different voltage to corresponding modules and also measure power consumption from the dedicated rails. As each of the DC-DC switching regulator units provides voltage to corresponding modules, each DC-DC switching regulator is electrically connected to conductive area, which is the power plane. Also, since each DC-DC switching regulator provides power to different modules, each DC-DC switching regulator must provide voltage through different or separate electrically conductive path of the conductive area to different modules, which is a separate location on the power plane.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Doblar by incorporating the teaching of Yew Lam of each DC-to-DC converter of the plurality of DC-to-DC converters including a respective voltage sense input electrically connected to a separate location on the power plane. They are all directed toward power control of a circuit board. As recognized by Yew Lam, a printed circuit board receives multiple components, which may require different voltage, current noise requirement ([0002]-[0003]). By providing and monitoring power provided to different components in different location of the PCB, a more reliable and customized supply of the power can be achieved. Therefore, it would be advantageous to incorporate the teaching of Yew Lam of each DC-to-DC converter of the plurality of DC-to-DC converters including a respective voltage sense input electrically connected to a separate location on the power plane in order to provide the stable and customized provision of the power.
Regarding claim 2, Doblar in view of Yew Lam teaches all the limitations of the electronic system of claim 1, as discussed above.
Doblar, as modified above, further teaches wherein each DC-to-DC converter of the plurality of DC-to-DC converters is positioned within a length and a width of the power plane (FIG. 3A, 3B, FIG. 4A, 4B. As shown in FIG. 3-4, the DC-DC converters are mounted within a length and a width of the motherboard, which provides and distributes the power.).
Regarding claim 3, Doblar in view of Yew Lam teaches all the limitations of the electronic system of claim 2, as discussed above.
Yew Lam further teaches wherein the respective voltage sense input of each respective DC-to-DC converter is adjacent a position of each respective DC-to-DC converter on the power plane (As shown in FIG. 2, DC-DC switching regulator units 221, 222, 223, 224,…, 228 are positioned next to each other.).
Regarding claim 9, Doblar in view of Yew Lam teaches all the limitations of the electronic system of claim 1, as discussed above.
Yew Lam further teaches a telemetry circuit coupled to each of the plurality of DC-to-DC converters and arranged to determine a quantity of power transferred to the power plane from each of the plurality of DC-to-DC converters ([0028] “Opeartions managed by the processing unit 280 may include measuring power consumption from the dedicated rails 261, 262, 263, 264,…268, respectively, which connect the AC-DC power supply 230 to the DC-DC switching regulator units 221, 222, 223, 224, …, 228, to determine corresponding load requirements.” Processing unit 280 determine load requirements for each of the DC-DC switching regulator units, which is the power consumption or a quantity of power transferred from the converters to the load.).
Regarding claim 10, Doblar teaches an electronic system comprising: a circuit board including a power plane and having a first surface opposite of a second surface (FIG. 1 “Motherboard pcb 50” As shown in FIG. 1, the motherboard has two sides, such as a first side and a second side.);
a processor attached to the first surface of the circuit board and arranged to receive power from the power plane (FIG. 1 “Processor die 15, Processor chip package 20” [0021] “This may allow for cleaner and more direct power and ground distribution to processor chip package 20 (and thus, processor die 15)” As shown in FIG.1, a processor die and a processor chip package are mounted on the first side of the motherboard. Furthermore, the power is distributed to the processor die and the processor chip package.); and
a first DC-to-DC converter attached to the second surface of the circuit board and arranged to transfer power to the power plane, the first DC-to-DC converter positioned at a first location within a length and a width of the power plane, and a second DC-to-DC converter attached to the second surface of the circuit board and arranged to transfer power to the power plane, the second DC-to-DC converter positioned at a second location within the length and the width of the power plane (FIG. 1 “100, Voltage regulator subset/DC-DC converter 105” FIG. 4C “105-1…105-6” [0039] “each of the multiple DC-DC converters” [0020] “Voltage regulator 100 includes two primary components: an interposer 101 and a DC-DC converter 105.” [0021] “This may allow for cleaner and more direct power and ground distribution to processor chip package 20 (and thus, processor die 15)” [0024] “The arrangement of electronic assembly 10 shown in FIG. 1 allows a voltage regulator configured to sourcing and sinking (through ground) a large amount of current to be assembled in direct contact with the motherboard upon which a processor (or other integrated circuit) is mounted.” As shown in FIG. 1, DC-DC converter is mounted on the second side of the motherboard. Doblar further teaches that the DC-DC converter 105 includes multiple DC-DC converters to distribute power to processor chip package and processor die. Thus, DC-DC converters are located on the second side within the motherboard. Since Doblar suggests that each DC-DC converter is an individual physically separated converter, each DC-DC converter is positioned at different physical locations.).
Yew Lam teaches wherein the first DC-to-DC converter includes a first voltage sense input that senses a voltage of the power plane at the first location; and wherein the second DC-to-DC converter includes a second voltage sense input that senses a voltage of the power plane at the second location ([0018] “Each of the DC-DC switching regulator units 221, 222, 223, 224, ... 228 is a circuit that includes at least one DC-DC switching regulators, for example, configured to respectively supply different converted DC voltages to modules inserted in the corresponding slots 211, 212, 213, 214,... 218.” As shown in FIG. 2, different slots and modules are located at different location. Each of the DC-DC switching regulator units provide different voltage to corresponding modules and also measure power consumption from the dedicated rails.).
Regarding 11, Doblar in view of Yew Lam teaches all the limitations of the electronic system of claim 10, as discussed above.
Yew Lam further teaches wherein the first DC-to-DC converter is arranged to transfer power to the power plane at the first location and wherein the second DC-to-DC converter is arranged to transfer power to the power plane at the second location ([0018] “Each of the DC-DC switching regulator units 221, 222, 223, 224, ... 228 is a circuit that includes at least one DC-DC switching regulators, for example, configured to respectively supply different converted DC voltages to modules inserted in the corresponding slots 211, 212, 213, 214,... 218.” Each DC-DC switching regulator unit supply voltages to corresponding module inserted in the slot, which is separately located.).
Regarding claim 12, Doblar in view of Yew Lam teaches all the limitations of the electronic system of claim 10, as discussed above.
Yew Lam further teaches a supervisor control circuit arranged to detect a voltage of the power plane and to transmit a related control signal to each of the first and the second DC-to-DC converters. ([0026] “The chassis 200 further includes processing unit (or power manager) 280 connected to each of the DC-DC switching regulator units 221, 222, 223, 224, ... 228, in order to manage operations of the DC-DC switching regulator units 221, 222, 223, 224, ... 228.” [0028] “Operations managed by the processing unit 280 may include measuring power consumption from the dedicated rails 261, 262, 263, 264, ... 268, respectively, which connect the AC-DC power supply 230 to the DC-DC switching regulator units 221, 222, 223, 224, ... 228, to determine corresponding load requirements.” [0030] “The processing unit 280 may be implemented by one or more computer processors, field-programmable gate arrays (FPGAs), application specific integrated circuits (ASICs), or combinations thereof, using software, firmware, hard-wired logic circuits, or combinations thereof.” The processing unit monitors the power consumption of rails and also manages operation of DC-DC switching regulator units.)
Regarding claim 16, Doblar in view of Yew Lam teaches all the limitations of the electronic device of claim 10, as discussed above.
Yew Lam teaches wherein the first DC-to-DC converter receives an input signal from a supervisor control circuit and transfers power to the power plane in response to the input signal and wherein the second DC-to-DC converter receives the input signal from the supervisor control circuit and transfers power to the power plane in response to the input signal ([0026] “The chassis 200 further includes processing unit (or power manager) 280 connected to each of the DC-DC switching regulator units 221, 222, 223, 224, ... 228, in order to manage operations of the DC-DC switching regulator units 221, 222, 223, 224, ... 228.” [0028] “Operations managed by the processing unit 280 may include measuring power consumption from the dedicated rails 261, 262, 263, 264, ... 268, respectively, which connect the AC-DC power supply 230 to the DC-DC switching regulator units 221, 222, 223, 224, ... 228, to determine corresponding load requirements.” [0030] “The processing unit 280 may be implemented by one or more computer processors, field-programmable gate arrays (FPGAs), application specific integrated circuits (ASICs), or combinations thereof, using software, firmware, hard-wired logic circuits, or combinations thereof.” The processing unit monitors the power consumption of rails and also manages operation of DC-DC switching regulator units.).
Regarding claim 17, Doblar in view of Yew Lam teaches all the limitations of the electronic system of claim 10, as discussed above.
Yew Lam further teach a telemetry circuit coupled to the first DC-to-DC converter and arranged to determine a quantity of power transferred to the power plane from the first DC-to-DC converter, the telemetry circuit coupled to the second DC-to-DC converter and arranged to determine a quantity of power transferred to the power plane from the second DC-to-DC converter. ([0028] “Operations managed by the processing unit 280 may include measuring power consumption from the dedicated rails 261, 262, 263, 264, ... 268, respectively, which connect the AC-DC power supply 230 to the DC-DC switching regulator units 221, 222, 223, 224, ... 228, to determine corresponding load requirements.” [0030] “The processing unit 280 may be implemented by one or more computer processors, field-programmable gate arrays (FPGAs), application specific integrated circuits (ASICs), or combinations thereof, using software, firmware, hard-wired logic circuits, or combinations thereof.”)
Regarding claim 18, Doblar teaches a plurality of power conversion devices attached to a first surface of a circuit board that includes a common power plane and arranged to be coupled to the common power plane (FIG. 1 “100, Voltage regulator subset/DC-DC converter 105” FIG. 4C “105-1…105-6” [0039] “each of the multiple DC-DC converters” [0020] “Voltage regulator 100 includes two primary components: an interposer 101 and a DC-DC converter 105.” [0021] “This may allow for cleaner and more direct power and ground distribution to processor chip package 20 (and thus, processor die 15)” [0024] “The arrangement of electronic assembly 10 shown in FIG. 1 allows a voltage regulator configured to sourcing and sinking (through ground) a large amount of current to be assembled in direct contact with the motherboard upon which a processor (or other integrated circuit) is mounted.”); and
a processor attached to a second surface of the circuit board and arranged to receive power from the power plane, wherein the second surface is opposite the first surface (FIG. 1 “Processor die 15, Processor chip package 20” [0021] “This may allow for cleaner and more direct power and ground distribution to processor chip package 20 (and thus, processor die 15)” As shown in FIG.1, a processor die and a processor chip package are mounted on the first side of the motherboard. Furthermore, the power is distributed to the processor die and the processor chip package. Furthermore, as shown in FIG. 1, the processor die and processor chip packages are mounted on the first side opposite to the second side mounting voltage regulator subset/DC-DC converter.).
Yew Lam teaches wherein each power conversion device senses a respective voltage at a different physical location on the common power plane ([0018] “Each of the DC-DC switching regulator units 221, 222, 223, 224, ... 228 is a circuit that includes at least one DC-DC switching regulators, for example, configured to respectively supply different converted DC voltages to modules inserted in the corresponding slots 211, 212, 213, 214,... 218.” As shown in FIG. 2, different slots and modules are located at different location. Each of the DC-DC switching regulator units provide different voltage to corresponding modules and also measure power consumption from the dedicated rails.); and a telemetry circuit arranged to be coupled to each of the plurality of power conversion devices and configured to detect a quantity of power transferred to the common power plane from each of the plurality of power conversion devices ([0028] “Opeartions managed by the processing unit 280 may include measuring power consumption from the dedicated rails 261, 262, 263, 264,…268, respectively, which connect the AC-DC power supply 230 to the DC-DC switching regulator units 221, 222, 223, 224, …, 228, to determine corresponding load requirements.” Processing unit 280 determine load requirements for each of the DC-DC switching regulator units, which is the power consumption or a quantity of power transferred from the converters to the load.).
Regarding claim 19, Doblar in view of Yew Lam teaches all the limitations of the electronic system of claim 18, as discussed above.
Doblar, as modified above, further teaches wherein each of the plurality of power conversion devices are DC-to-DC converters (FIG. 4C, [0039] “Embodiments are also possible and contemplated wherein multiple DC-DC converters 105 may be used, each separately attached to the interposer.”).
Regarding claim 20, Doblar in view of Yew Lam teaches all the limitations of the electronic system of claim 18, as discussed above.
Yew Lam further teaches a control circuit that is arranged to receive data from the telemetry circuit and in response to receiving the data, transmit control signals to each of the plurality of power conversion devices ([0026] “The chassis 200 further includes processing unit (or power manager) 280 connected to each of the DC-DC switching regulator units 221, 222, 223, 224, ... 228, in order to manage operations of the DC-DC switching regulator units 221, 222, 223, 224, ... 228.” [0028] “Operations managed by the processing unit 280 may include measuring power consumption from the dedicated rails 261, 262, 263, 264, ... 268, respectively, which connect the AC-DC power supply 230 to the DC-DC switching regulator units 221, 222, 223, 224, ... 228, to determine corresponding load requirements.” [0030] “The processing unit 280 may be implemented by one or more computer processors, field-programmable gate arrays (FPGAs), application specific integrated circuits (ASICs), or combinations thereof, using software, firmware, hard-wired logic circuits, or combinations thereof.” The processing unit monitors the power consumption of rails and also manages operation of DC-DC switching regulator units.).
Claim(s) 7, 8, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doblar in view of Yew Lam as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Choi et al. (United States Patent Application Publication US 2020/0004282), hereinafter Choi.
Regarding claim 7, Doblar in view of Yew Lam teaches all the limitations of the electronic system of claim 1, as discussed above.
However, Doblar in view of Yew Lam does not explicitly teach wherein each of the plurality of DC-to-DC converters includes a localized control circuit that transfers power to the power plane in response the respective voltage sense input of each DC-to-DC converter.
Choi teaches wherein each of the plurality of DC-to- DC converters includes a localized control circuit that transfers power to the power plane in response the respective voltage sense input of each DC-to-DC converter. ([0041] “the VRs 108a, 108b, 112 may be associated with corresponding Power Manager (PM) circuitries 110a, 110b, 114, respectively. A PM circuitry may, among other things, control operation of the corresponding VR.” Each PM for corresponding VR on each domain is interpreted as a localized control circuit. Each PM also controls the operation of the corresponding VR, such as controlling output power of the VR depending on the voltage of each domain.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Doblar in view of Yew Lam by incorporating the teaching of Choi of a localized control circuit that transfers power to the power plane in response the respective voltage sense input of each DC-to-DC converter. They are all directed toward power management. As recognized by Choi, as the power is controlled in a system with a multiple power domains, not all the domains may operate at peak power at the same time, which indicates different power consumption for different domains ([0016]-[0017]). By having a local control circuit at each domain, a more accurate power control for each domain can be performed, which improves power consumption of the system. Therefore, it would be advantageous to incorporate the teaching of Choi of a localized control circuit that transfers power to the power plane in response the respective voltage sense input of each DC-to-DC converter in order to improve the power consumption of the system.
Regarding claim 8, Doblar in view of Yew Lam and further in view of Choi teaches all the limitations of the electronic system of claim 7, as discussed above.
Yew Lam further teaches wherein each of the plurality of DC-to- DC converters receives an input from a supervisor control circuit and transfers power to the power plane in response to the input. ([0026] “The chassis 200 further includes processing unit (or power manager) 280 connected to each of the DC-DC switching regulator units 221, 222, 223, 224, ... 228, in order to manage operations of the DC-DC switching regulator units 221, 222, 223, 224, ... 228.” As processing unit 280 manages operation of the DC-DC switching regulator units, each of the DC-DC switching regulator units must receive a signal or a command for operation.)
Regarding claim 15, Doblar in view of Yew Lam teaches all the limitations of the electronic system of claim 10, as discussed above.
Choi teaches wherein the first DC-to-DC converter includes a first localized control circuit that transfers power to the power plane in response to the first voltage sense input, and wherein the second DC-to-DC converter includes a second localized control circuit that transfers power to the power plane in response to the second voltage sense input. ([0041] “the VRs 108a, 108b, 112 may be associated with corresponding Power Manager (PM) circuitries 110a, 110b, 114, respectively. A PM circuitry may, among other things, control operation of the corresponding VR.” Each PM for corresponding VR on each domain is interpreted as a localized control circuit. Each PM also controls the operation of the corresponding VR, such as controlling output power of the VR depending on the voltage of each domain.)
Claim(s) 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doblar in view of Yew Lam as applied to claims 4 and 12 above, and further in view of GESKE et al. (United States Patent Application Publication US 2023/0010737), hereinafter GESKE.
Regarding claim 5, Doblar in view of Yew Lam teaches all the limitations of the electronic system of claim 4, as discussed above.
However, Doblar in view of Yew Lam does not teach wherein the detected voltage is an average voltage of the power plane.
GESKE teaches wherein the detected voltage is an average voltage of the power plane. ([0190] “The data transmitted by the main controller 120 includes: modulation data for the converter arm voltage, a signal for voltage balancing control, e.g., a voltage reference signal which might be a signal indicative of the average voltage of the converter arm (i.e., a "global" average voltage signal), a signal indicative of global CPU time for synchronization, phase angle information for the utility grid, and a signal indicative of the operating state of the power converter (i.e., "status data").” A average voltage of the converter arm (i.e., a “global” average voltage signal) is interpreted as an average voltage of the power plane.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Doblar in view of Yew Lam by incorporating the teaching of GESKE of detecting the average voltage of the power plane. They are all directed toward power management. The device includes various components, which introduce variations of the power on each component. Thus, by considering average value of the detected voltage, a small variation or fluctuation of different components, which may cause false detection, can be prevented. Therefore, it would be advantageous to incorporate the teaching of GESKE of detecting the average voltage of the power plane in order to avoid false detection.
Regarding claim 13, the claim 13 does not further teach or define the limitation over the limitations recited in the rejected claim 5 above. Therefore, Doblar in view of Yew Lam and further in view of GESKE teaches all the limitations of the claim 13.
Claim(s) 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doblar in view of Yew Lam as applied to claims 4 and 12 above, and further in view of Nishikawa et al. (United States Patent Application Publication US 2014/0247014), hereinafter Nishikawa.
Regarding claim 6, Doblar in view of Yew Lam teaches all the limitations of the electronic system of claim 4, as discussed above.
However, Doblar in view of Yew Lam does not teach wherein the detected voltage is an average of the voltage sense inputs of each respective DC-to-DC converter.
Nishikawa teaches wherein the detected voltage is an average of the voltage sense inputs of each respective DC-to-DC converter. ([0058] “The calculation unit 316 calculates as a statistic, the average value of the voltage values detected by the voltage sensors 311 of all the DC-DC converters 31 including the DC-DC converter 31, based on the voltage values obtained by the first obtainment unit 312 and the second obtainment unit 313.” FIG. 2 shows DC/DC converters 31. Each converter calculates the average value of the voltage.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Doblar in view of Yew Lam by incorporating the teaching of Nishikawa of detecting the average of the voltage of each DC/DC converter. They are all directed toward controlling power with DC/DC converters. Due to subtle variation introduced during manufacturing, components in different area may have variations in operating parameters such as voltages. By detecting average value of the voltage on each area for each converter, more precise tailored voltage can be provided to the corresponding area. Therefore, it would be advantageous to incorporate the teaching of Nishikawa of detecting the average of the voltage of each DC/DC converter in order to correct operational parameters for different areas.
Regarding claim 14, the claim 14 does not further teach or define the limitation over the limitations recited in the rejected claim 6 above. Therefore, Doblar in view of Yew Lam and further in view of Nishikawa teaches all the limitations of the claim 14.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/30/2025 with respect to “Claim Rejections – 35 USC §103” have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues:
The claimed electronic system includes a processor attached to a first side of a circuit board that includes a single power plane. (Emphasis added).
…
However, a person of ordinary skill in the art would not reasonably equate the DC-DC switching regulators of Yew Lam to the claimed respective sense inputs. The claimed respective sense inputs are electrically connected to different locations on the same power plane and a person of ordinary skill would recognize that the DC-DC switching regulators are electrically connected to modules at different locations in different circuits and on different power planes.
Yew Lam further states, in paragraph [0016], "backplane PCB 210 generally provides a switch fabric for selectively interconnecting the modules inserted into corresponding slots 211, 212, 213, 214, ... 218." (Emphasis added). This statement implies that any of the modules can be disconnected (or even simply not connected) from/to any of the other modules, which would not be possible if the modules were located at separate locations on the same power plane. It is impossible for separate locations on a single power plane to be selectively interconnected. Rather, the backplane PCB 210 provides a fabric for selectively interconnecting modules that are each located on a different power plane. Thus, Yew Lam does not remedy the deficiencies of Doblar noted in the Office Action.
Remarks Page 8-11
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s argument that “Yew Lam does not remedy the deficiencies of Doblar noted in the Office Action.” As discussed above in the claim rejection, a power plane is interpreted as a conductive area that distributes power within a circuit board. Thus, the power plane includes various components to conduct electricity, such as wires, copper planes, soldering, solder balls, vias, and etc. Furthermore, the applicant also recognizes the power plane as “a single metal layer,” “two or more layers,” “a grid including multiple interconnected conductors that have one or more spaces or gaps,” and “a single electrical conductor,” as disclosed in the specification [0029]. The claim limitation further discloses “voltage sense input that is electrically connected to a separate location on the power plane,” which does not disclose any function. As discussed above, since the power plane is interpreted as various components to conduct electricity in the circuit, the DC-DC switching regulator that provides power to corresponding slot having inserted modules must be electrically connected to the electrically conductive components in order for the electrical power to be provided. Also, since each of slots is positioned at different location, the power from the corresponding DC-DC switching regulator must be provided through separate or different electrical path, which is still included in the power plane.
Applicant further argues:
Even if the Yew Lew combined DC-DC converters plus respective slots combination qualifies as a power plane, which Applicant does not concede, the Office Action fails to specifically describe how a person of ordinary skill in the art could modify Doblar with the teachings of Yew Lam to arrive at the electronic system of claim 1. The DC-DC converters of Yew Lam are inseparably linked to respective slots to supposedly form a single Yew Lam "power plane". Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would use the DC-DC converters plus the slots to replace any power plane in Doblar and then add the processor of Doblar by replacing one of the slots of Yew Lam with the Doblar processor. But then the Doblar processor becomes a component of the Yew Lam "power plane" as defined by the Office Action, and the Doblar processor, being a component of the Yew Lam "power plane", can no longer draw power away from the "power plane", unlike the claimed processor. Therefore, the combination of Doblar and Yew Lam does not teach or suggest every feature of independent claim 1. Independent claim 1 is patentable over the combination of Doblar with Yew Lam.
Remarks Page 10
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s argument that “the Office Action fails to specifically describe how a person of ordinary skill in the art could modify Doblar with the teachings of Yew Lam to arrive at the electronic system of claim 1.” As discussed above and the applicant recognizes, the power plane is interpreted as a conductive area that distributes power within a circuit board. Since the DC-DC converters are electrically connected to various conductive components in order to provide electrical power to corresponding slots, the “Doblar processor,” which is the module inserted in the slot, is electrically connected to the slot and the DC-DC switching regulator. As discussed above, the power plane is various components to provide electrical power from the DC-DC converter to the slot inserted with a module, which includes a processor ([0016]-[0018]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HYUN SOO KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2176