DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the amendment filed on August 15, 2025. Claims 1, 7, 13, 19, 25, 31, and 37-39 have been amended. Claim 40 has been added. Claims 1-40 have been examined and are currently pending.
Inventorship
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on September 30, 2025 has been considered. An initialed copy of the Form 1449 is enclosed herewith.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 7, 13, 19, 25, 31, and 37-39 are objected to because of the following informalities: The independent claims lack antecedent basis with respect to “the patient”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-36 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allred et al. US Publication 20210210185 A1 in view of Humphrys et al. US Publication 20190088353 A1 further in view of Chu et al. US Publication 20160026773 A1.
Claim 1:
As per claim 1, Allred teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising:
obtaining, from the patient terminal, dispensing information associated with the electronic prescription information registered in the healthcare worker terminal, the dispensing information including a type of medicine, a timing at which the medicine should be taken, and a dose of the medicine (paragraph 0040 “In some embodiments, the system 105 is configured to receive and transmit prescription data 205 related to a medical prescription for a patient, which may comprise a variety of information. For example, the medical prescription may specify a medication being prescribed. The medical prescription may further indicate a dosage form of the medication, including but not limited to a particular strength of the medication, a preparation type (e.g., tablet, capsule, syrup, solution, cream, ointment, drops, suppository, and the like), and an indication of acceptability of generic substitutes. In some embodiments, the medical prescription may include a total amount of the medication, a dose, a number of administrations, a frequency of administration, a route of administration (e.g., oral, buccal, intravenous, intramuscular, intranasal, subcutaneous, topical, inhalation, rectal, and the like), and a number of refills. In some embodiments, the medical prescription may further include additional instructions regarding administration. For example, the prescriber may specify how to take the medication, such as taking with food or taking upon rising. In a further example, the prescriber may specify criteria for taking the medication, such as in response to one or more symptoms. In additional embodiments, the medical prescription may include patient-identifying information such as a name and/or a date of birth. In still additional embodiments, the medical prescription may include prescriber-identifying information such as a name, an address, a practice name, and/or an ID number (e.g., an NPI number or a DEA number). Additional information not explicitly described herein may be included in the prescription data 205 as is known to one having an ordinary level of skill in the art. In some embodiments, prescription data 205 is received from a prescriber (e.g., a physician) via the prescriber module 110. However, it is contemplated that the prescription data 205 may be acquired, either together or separately, through a variety of sources. For example, in some cases, a pharmacy and/or a patient may receive prescription data 205 directly from a physician and transmit to the system 105 through a pharmacy module 120 and/or a patient module 115.”);
Allred does not teach obtaining, from the patient terminal, medicine taking information on medicine actually taken by the patient. However, Humphrys teaches a Dynamic Medication and Protocol Manager for Home and further teaches, “In step 312, the child inputs the insulin dose actually administered via injection, along with the injection location;… Based on the preceding events, the child's device log for app 7a will be updated at step 317 and the parent's device log for app 6a is updated at step 319.” (paragraph 0050), “The bottommost portion of the display shown in FIG. 18 also shows a diagrammatic patient representation 1240 with the last three insulin injection sites indicated, so as to help the patient rotate injections in accordance with best practice. By selecting the right-arrow located to the right of the diagrammatic patient representation 1240, an enlarged version 1240 L of the patient representation 1240 is brought up, as shown in FIG. 19, via which insulin injection location information for the latest injection can be added by touching the appropriate location on diagram 1240L.” (paragraph 0061), and “With reference to FIGS. 20-23, an embodiment is described in which an insulin pump 1300 is used to administer the insulin. Optionally, the required insulin order may be sent directly to the insulin pump 1300 from the app 7a, as depicted in FIGS. 20-23. As seen in FIG. 20, the diagrammatic patient representation 1240 of FIG. 18 is replaced with a selection button 1250 labeled “Send Insulin Order to Pump”. FIG. 21 shows the display after selection of the button 1250 (where the insulin pump is identified as “OmniPod1”). As this is a therapeutic operation that delivers a drug (insulin) to the patient, the user must perform a confirmation operation as shown in FIG. 21. As shown in FIG. 22, upon confirmation the insulin order is communicated from the device 7 to the insulin pump 1300, and a confirmation message 1260 of the message transmission is displayed on the display of app 7a. FIG. 23 then shows a pop-up message window that is suitably displayed when the insulin pump 1300 sends a message back to the device 7 informing the app 7a that the insulin order has actually been received and executed by the insulin pump 1300.” (paragraph 0063). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Allred to include obtaining, from the patient terminal, medicine taking information on medicine actually taken by the patient as taught by Humphrys in order to ensure or validate has taken the prescribed medicine.
Allred and Humphrys do not teach associating the dispensing information and the medicine taking information with each other and creating integrated information. However, Chu teaches Methods and Systems of Real-Time Medication Adherence Monitoring and further teaches, “The monitoring sever 40 is a robust automated system that analyzes and communicates medication conditions, usage, and adherence data that are collected from the containers 20. The monitoring server 40 monitors, records, and quantifies multiple medication adherence data points providing accurate, comprehensive, and actionable information in real time. The monitoring server 40 also calculates medication usage and tracks and quantifies the effectiveness of the adherence communications between the various entities 60 and the patients 11.” (paragraph 0084), “The various patients 11 are enrolled into the system 10 by registering with the monitoring server 40 (e.g., via the browser-based interface or with an administrator 45 (e.g., in a non-electronic fashion)). The registration may include the patient 11 providing basic information (e.g., name, age, date of birth), contact information (e.g., phone number, email address, home address). The registration also includes entry of the medication that will be taken and the applicable dose information (e.g., dose time, dose amount, tablet, capsule or liquid form, mass or volume of medication, quantity).” (paragraph 0085), “One aspect monitored by the system 10 is adherence to medication dose. A dose of medication is defined as the amount of medication to be taken by a patient. The system 10 quantifies adherence to dose by comparing doses taken with doses prescribed. Adherence to a prescribed dose is expressed by a ratio of the actual amount of medication taken compared to the amount of medication prescribed. This ratio quantifies adherence to dose across dose times. Dose time is defined as the prescribed time of day when a dose is to be administered. Dose times can be multiple time periods within a day such as morning, noon, afternoon, evening, bedtime, or breakfast, lunch, dinner. Dose times can also be scheduled as exact times throughout the day. Dose times can also be daily, or per day, or per series of days. Quantifying dose adherence provides healthcare users with a real and actual measure of patient dosing, as well as dose adherence performance and behavior over time. Furthermore, since the system accounts for all doses taken by patients, the system can alert caregivers and patients when too much, or too little medication has been taken.” (paragraph 0088) and “The display further visually differentiates when the patient 11 has taken correct doses at correct times, correct doses at incorrect times, incorrect doses at incorrect times, incorrect doses at correct times, missed doses, partial doses, and extra doses. The system is configured to output and display medication adherence charting within a time period such as within a select amount of days, weeks, months, quarters or years. In one or more embodiments, the run chart 203 displays as a default setting the last thirty (30) days. The embodiment of FIG. 18 displays medication adherence data within two week periods (i.e., the chart 203 includes information for the last fourteen days). By scrolling or selecting points in time, the user can view stored medication adherence data. The display also includes a refill chart 204 indicating the date of refill and amount of refilled medication, the daily count of remaining medication, and when refill alerts were sent. The system further provides for the user to provide an input (e.g., moving the cursor 71 over the various icons) to display detailed medication adherence information such as action that has been taken by the patient, detailed time and date, alerts and messages sent as well as interventions performed, annotations, results from patient surveys and conversion information.” (paragraph 0217). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Allred to include associating the dispensing information and the medicine taking information with each other and creating integrated information as taught by Chu in order to analyze data collected or received.
Allred and Humphrys do not teach and causing the healthcare worker terminal or the patient terminal to display the integrated information. However, Chu teaches Methods and Systems of Real-Time Medication Adherence Monitoring and further teaches, “As illustrated in FIG. 18, the user is able to select one of the medications 202 (Sulfasalazine in the embodiment of FIG. 18) to open a medication adherence run chart 203 that outputs and displays dosing behavior. The chart includes a timeline with the one or more dose time windows 205 visually illustrated. FIG. 18 includes four dosing windows 205a (morning), 205b, (noon), 205c (evening), and 205d (bedtime). In one or more embodiments, the dosing windows 205 are displayed in a different color than the other times during the day. The display further indicates when the patient 11 has taken the medication. This provides for a straight-forward manner to visually observer non-compliant doses that were not taken during the proper times. Further, the visual display provides for an entity 60 to observer patterns in the behavior of the patient.” (paragraph 0216), “The display further visually differentiates when the patient 11 has taken correct doses at correct times, correct doses at incorrect times, incorrect doses at incorrect times, incorrect doses at correct times, missed doses, partial doses, and extra doses. The system is configured to output and display medication adherence charting within a time period such as within a select amount of days, weeks, months, quarters or years. In one or more embodiments, the run chart 203 displays as a default setting the last thirty (30) days. The embodiment of FIG. 18 displays medication adherence data within two week periods (i.e., the chart 203 includes information for the last fourteen days). By scrolling or selecting points in time, the user can view stored medication adherence data. The display also includes a refill chart 204 indicating the date of refill and amount of refilled medication, the daily count of remaining medication, and when refill alerts were sent. The system further provides for the user to provide an input (e.g., moving the cursor 71 over the various icons) to display detailed medication adherence information such as action that has been taken by the patient, detailed time and date, alerts and messages sent as well as interventions performed, annotations, results from patient surveys and conversion information.” (paragraph 0217), “In one embodiment, the displayed information may visually indicate a pattern of patient behavior. A doctor or caregiver may be able to note this pattern and change one or more of the time windows 205 such that the patient is more likelihood to become adherent to the dosing times.” (paragraph 0220), and “A variety of different entities 60 may have access to some or all of the information at the monitoring server 40. This may include but is not limited to doctors, hospitals, insurance companies, drug manufacturers, pharmacies, patients, family members, patients, and caregivers. The entities 60 may access this information by accessing the server 49. In one or more embodiments, the monitoring server 40 may be configured for browser-based accessibility. The browser-based interface may support well-known browsers such as Internet Explorer and Mozilla Firefox, Safari, Chrome. Alternatively, or in conjunction with the browser-based interface, the monitoring server 40 may provide access to database 42 to requesting APIs over the PDN 55.” (paragraph 0083). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Allred to include causing the healthcare worker terminal or the patient terminal to display the integrated information as taught by Chu in order to display relevant data associated with a patient’s medicinal intake.
Claim 7:
As per claim 7, Allred teaches an information processing apparatus comprising:
a hardware processor that (paragraph 0037 “As shown, the network 100 comprises a prescription processing system 105 including one or more processors that serves as a central hub for communicating data between one or more external modules.”):
obtains, from the patient terminal, dispensing information associated with the electronic prescription information registered in the healthcare worker terminal, the dispensing information including a type of medicine, a timing at which the medicine should be taken, and a dose of the medicine (paragraph 0040 “In some embodiments, the system 105 is configured to receive and transmit prescription data 205 related to a medical prescription for a patient, which may comprise a variety of information. For example, the medical prescription may specify a medication being prescribed. The medical prescription may further indicate a dosage form of the medication, including but not limited to a particular strength of the medication, a preparation type (e.g., tablet, capsule, syrup, solution, cream, ointment, drops, suppository, and the like), and an indication of acceptability of generic substitutes. In some embodiments, the medical prescription may include a total amount of the medication, a dose, a number of administrations, a frequency of administration, a route of administration (e.g., oral, buccal, intravenous, intramuscular, intranasal, subcutaneous, topical, inhalation, rectal, and the like), and a number of refills. In some embodiments, the medical prescription may further include additional instructions regarding administration. For example, the prescriber may specify how to take the medication, such as taking with food or taking upon rising. In a further example, the prescriber may specify criteria for taking the medication, such as in response to one or more symptoms. In additional embodiments, the medical prescription may include patient-identifying information such as a name and/or a date of birth. In still additional embodiments, the medical prescription may include prescriber-identifying information such as a name, an address, a practice name, and/or an ID number (e.g., an NPI number or a DEA number). Additional information not explicitly described herein may be included in the prescription data 205 as is known to one having an ordinary level of skill in the art. In some embodiments, prescription data 205 is received from a prescriber (e.g., a physician) via the prescriber module 110. However, it is contemplated that the prescription data 205 may be acquired, either together or separately, through a variety of sources. For example, in some cases, a pharmacy and/or a patient may receive prescription data 205 directly from a physician and transmit to the system 105 through a pharmacy module 120 and/or a patient module 115.”),
Allred does not teach obtains, from the patient terminal, medicine taking information on medicine actually taken by the patient. However, Humphrys teaches a Dynamic Medication and Protocol Manager for Home and further teaches, “In step 312, the child inputs the insulin dose actually administered via injection, along with the injection location;… Based on the preceding events, the child's device log for app 7a will be updated at step 317 and the parent's device log for app 6a is updated at step 319.” (paragraph 0050), “The bottommost portion of the display shown in FIG. 18 also shows a diagrammatic patient representation 1240 with the last three insulin injection sites indicated, so as to help the patient rotate injections in accordance with best practice. By selecting the right-arrow located to the right of the diagrammatic patient representation 1240, an enlarged version 1240 L of the patient representation 1240 is brought up, as shown in FIG. 19, via which insulin injection location information for the latest injection can be added by touching the appropriate location on diagram 1240L.” (paragraph 0061), and “With reference to FIGS. 20-23, an embodiment is described in which an insulin pump 1300 is used to administer the insulin. Optionally, the required insulin order may be sent directly to the insulin pump 1300 from the app 7a, as depicted in FIGS. 20-23. As seen in FIG. 20, the diagrammatic patient representation 1240 of FIG. 18 is replaced with a selection button 1250 labeled “Send Insulin Order to Pump”. FIG. 21 shows the display after selection of the button 1250 (where the insulin pump is identified as “OmniPod1”). As this is a therapeutic operation that delivers a drug (insulin) to the patient, the user must perform a confirmation operation as shown in FIG. 21. As shown in FIG. 22, upon confirmation the insulin order is communicated from the device 7 to the insulin pump 1300, and a confirmation message 1260 of the message transmission is displayed on the display of app 7a. FIG. 23 then shows a pop-up message window that is suitably displayed when the insulin pump 1300 sends a message back to the device 7 informing the app 7a that the insulin order has actually been received and executed by the insulin pump 1300.” (paragraph 0063). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Allred to include obtaining, from the patient terminal, medicine taking information on medicine actually taken by the patient as taught by Humphrys in order to ensure or validate has taken the prescribed medicine.
Allred and Humphrys do not teach associates the dispensing information and the medicine taking information with each other and creates integrated information. However, Chu teaches Methods and Systems of Real-Time Medication Adherence Monitoring and further teaches, “The monitoring sever 40 is a robust automated system that analyzes and communicates medication conditions, usage, and adherence data that are collected from the containers 20. The monitoring server 40 monitors, records, and quantifies multiple medication adherence data points providing accurate, comprehensive, and actionable information in real time. The monitoring server 40 also calculates medication usage and tracks and quantifies the effectiveness of the adherence communications between the various entities 60 and the patients 11.” (paragraph 0084), “The various patients 11 are enrolled into the system 10 by registering with the monitoring server 40 (e.g., via the browser-based interface or with an administrator 45 (e.g., in a non-electronic fashion)). The registration may include the patient 11 providing basic information (e.g., name, age, date of birth), contact information (e.g., phone number, email address, home address). The registration also includes entry of the medication that will be taken and the applicable dose information (e.g., dose time, dose amount, tablet, capsule or liquid form, mass or volume of medication, quantity).” (paragraph 0085), “One aspect monitored by the system 10 is adherence to medication dose. A dose of medication is defined as the amount of medication to be taken by a patient. The system 10 quantifies adherence to dose by comparing doses taken with doses prescribed. Adherence to a prescribed dose is expressed by a ratio of the actual amount of medication taken compared to the amount of medication prescribed. This ratio quantifies adherence to dose across dose times. Dose time is defined as the prescribed time of day when a dose is to be administered. Dose times can be multiple time periods within a day such as morning, noon, afternoon, evening, bedtime, or breakfast, lunch, dinner. Dose times can also be scheduled as exact times throughout the day. Dose times can also be daily, or per day, or per series of days. Quantifying dose adherence provides healthcare users with a real and actual measure of patient dosing, as well as dose adherence performance and behavior over time. Furthermore, since the system accounts for all doses taken by patients, the system can alert caregivers and patients when too much, or too little medication has been taken.” (paragraph 0088) and “The display further visually differentiates when the patient 11 has taken correct doses at correct times, correct doses at incorrect times, incorrect doses at incorrect times, incorrect doses at correct times, missed doses, partial doses, and extra doses. The system is configured to output and display medication adherence charting within a time period such as within a select amount of days, weeks, months, quarters or years. In one or more embodiments, the run chart 203 displays as a default setting the last thirty (30) days. The embodiment of FIG. 18 displays medication adherence data within two week periods (i.e., the chart 203 includes information for the last fourteen days). By scrolling or selecting points in time, the user can view stored medication adherence data. The display also includes a refill chart 204 indicating the date of refill and amount of refilled medication, the daily count of remaining medication, and when refill alerts were sent. The system further provides for the user to provide an input (e.g., moving the cursor 71 over the various icons) to display detailed medication adherence information such as action that has been taken by the patient, detailed time and date, alerts and messages sent as well as interventions performed, annotations, results from patient surveys and conversion information.” (paragraph 0217). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Allred to include associating the dispensing information and the medicine taking information with each other and creating integrated information as taught by Chu in order to analyze data collected or received.
Allred and Humphrys do not teach and causes to the healthcare worker terminal or the patient terminal to display the integrated information. However, Chu teaches Methods and Systems of Real-Time Medication Adherence Monitoring and further teaches, “As illustrated in FIG. 18, the user is able to select one of the medications 202 (Sulfasalazine in the embodiment of FIG. 18) to open a medication adherence run chart 203 that outputs and displays dosing behavior. The chart includes a timeline with the one or more dose time windows 205 visually illustrated. FIG. 18 includes four dosing windows 205a (morning), 205b, (noon), 205c (evening), and 205d (bedtime). In one or more embodiments, the dosing windows 205 are displayed in a different color than the other times during the day. The display further indicates when the patient 11 has taken the medication. This provides for a straight-forward manner to visually observer non-compliant doses that were not taken during the proper times. Further, the visual display provides for an entity 60 to observer patterns in the behavior of the patient.” (paragraph 0216), “The display further visually differentiates when the patient 11 has taken correct doses at correct times, correct doses at incorrect times, incorrect doses at incorrect times, incorrect doses at correct times, missed doses, partial doses, and extra doses. The system is configured to output and display medication adherence charting within a time period such as within a select amount of days, weeks, months, quarters or years. In one or more embodiments, the run chart 203 displays as a default setting the last thirty (30) days. The embodiment of FIG. 18 displays medication adherence data within two week periods (i.e., the chart 203 includes information for the last fourteen days). By scrolling or selecting points in time, the user can view stored medication adherence data. The display also includes a refill chart 204 indicating the date of refill and amount of refilled medication, the daily count of remaining medication, and when refill alerts were sent. The system further provides for the user to provide an input (e.g., moving the cursor 71 over the various icons) to display detailed medication adherence information such as action that has been taken by the patient, detailed time and date, alerts and messages sent as well as interventions performed, annotations, results from patient surveys and conversion information.” (paragraph 0217), “In one embodiment, the displayed information may visually indicate a pattern of patient behavior. A doctor or caregiver may be able to note this pattern and change one or more of the time windows 205 such that the patient is more likelihood to become adherent to the dosing times.” (paragraph 0220), and “A variety of different entities 60 may have access to some or all of the information at the monitoring server 40. This may include but is not limited to doctors, hospitals, insurance companies, drug manufacturers, pharmacies, patients, family members, patients, and caregivers. The entities 60 may access this information by accessing the server 49. In one or more embodiments, the monitoring server 40 may be configured for browser-based accessibility. The browser-based interface may support well-known browsers such as Internet Explorer and Mozilla Firefox, Safari, Chrome. Alternatively, or in conjunction with the browser-based interface, the monitoring server 40 may provide access to database 42 to requesting APIs over the PDN 55.” (paragraph 0083). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Allred to include causing the healthcare worker terminal or the patient terminal to display the integrated information as taught by Chu in order to to display relevant data associated with a patient’s medicinal intake.
Claims 13 and 25:
As per claim 13 and 25, Allred teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising:
obtaining, from the electronic prescription server, dispensing information associated with the electronic prescription information registered in the healthcare worker terminal, the dispensing information including a type of medicine, a timing at which the medicine should be taken, and a dose of the medicine (paragraph 0040 “In some embodiments, the system 105 is configured to receive and transmit prescription data 205 related to a medical prescription for a patient, which may comprise a variety of information. For example, the medical prescription may specify a medication being prescribed. The medical prescription may further indicate a dosage form of the medication, including but not limited to a particular strength of the medication, a preparation type (e.g., tablet, capsule, syrup, solution, cream, ointment, drops, suppository, and the like), and an indication of acceptability of generic substitutes. In some embodiments, the medical prescription may include a total amount of the medication, a dose, a number of administrations, a frequency of administration, a route of administration (e.g., oral, buccal, intravenous, intramuscular, intranasal, subcutaneous, topical, inhalation, rectal, and the like), and a number of refills. In some embodiments, the medical prescription may further include additional instructions regarding administration. For example, the prescriber may specify how to take the medication, such as taking with food or taking upon rising. In a further example, the prescriber may specify criteria for taking the medication, such as in response to one or more symptoms. In additional embodiments, the medical prescription may include patient-identifying information such as a name and/or a date of birth. In still additional embodiments, the medical prescription may include prescriber-identifying information such as a name, an address, a practice name, and/or an ID number (e.g., an NPI number or a DEA number). Additional information not explicitly described herein may be included in the prescription data 205 as is known to one having an ordinary level of skill in the art. In some embodiments, prescription data 205 is received from a prescriber (e.g., a physician) via the prescriber module 110. However, it is contemplated that the prescription data 205 may be acquired, either together or separately, through a variety of sources. For example, in some cases, a pharmacy and/or a patient may receive prescription data 205 directly from a physician and transmit to the system 105 through a pharmacy module 120 and/or a patient module 115.”);
Allred does not teach obtaining, from the patient terminal, medicine taking information on medicine actually taken by the patient. However, Humphrys teaches a Dynamic Medication and Protocol Manager for Home and further teaches, “In step 312, the child inputs the insulin dose actually administered via injection, along with the injection location;… Based on the preceding events, the child's device log for app 7a will be updated at step 317 and the parent's device log for app 6a is updated at step 319.” (paragraph 0050), “The bottommost portion of the display shown in FIG. 18 also shows a diagrammatic patient representation 1240 with the last three insulin injection sites indicated, so as to help the patient rotate injections in accordance with best practice. By selecting the right-arrow located to the right of the diagrammatic patient representation 1240, an enlarged version 1240 L of the patient representation 1240 is brought up, as shown in FIG. 19, via which insulin injection location information for the latest injection can be added by touching the appropriate location on diagram 1240L.” (paragraph 0061), and “With reference to FIGS. 20-23, an embodiment is described in which an insulin pump 1300 is used to administer the insulin. Optionally, the required insulin order may be sent directly to the insulin pump 1300 from the app 7a, as depicted in FIGS. 20-23. As seen in FIG. 20, the diagrammatic patient representation 1240 of FIG. 18 is replaced with a selection button 1250 labeled “Send Insulin Order to Pump”. FIG. 21 shows the display after selection of the button 1250 (where the insulin pump is identified as “OmniPod1”). As this is a therapeutic operation that delivers a drug (insulin) to the patient, the user must perform a confirmation operation as shown in FIG. 21. As shown in FIG. 22, upon confirmation the insulin order is communicated from the device 7 to the insulin pump 1300, and a confirmation message 1260 of the message transmission is displayed on the display of app 7a. FIG. 23 then shows a pop-up message window that is suitably displayed when the insulin pump 1300 sends a message back to the device 7 informing the app 7a that the insulin order has actually been received and executed by the insulin pump 1300.” (paragraph 0063). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Allred to include obtaining, from the patient terminal, medicine taking information on medicine actually taken by the patient as taught by Humphrys in order to ensure or validate has taken the prescribed medicine.
Allred and Humphrys do not teach associating the dispensing information and the medicine taking information with each other and creating integrated information. However, Chu teaches Methods and Systems of Real-Time Medication Adherence Monitoring and further teaches, “The monitoring sever 40 is a robust automated system that analyzes and communicates medication conditions, usage, and adherence data that are collected from the containers 20. The monitoring server 40 monitors, records, and quantifies multiple medication adherence data points providing accurate, comprehensive, and actionable information in real time. The monitoring server 40 also calculates medication usage and tracks and quantifies the effectiveness of the adherence communications between the various entities 60 and the patients 11.” (paragraph 0084), “The various patients 11 are enrolled into the system 10 by registering with the monitoring server 40 (e.g., via the browser-based interface or with an administrator 45 (e.g., in a non-electronic fashion)). The registration may include the patient 11 providing basic information (e.g., name, age, date of birth), contact information (e.g., phone number, email address, home address). The registration also includes entry of the medication that will be taken and the applicable dose information (e.g., dose time, dose amount, tablet, capsule or liquid form, mass or volume of medication, quantity).” (paragraph 0085), “One aspect monitored by the system 10 is adherence to medication dose. A dose of medication is defined as the amount of medication to be taken by a patient. The system 10 quantifies adherence to dose by comparing doses taken with doses prescribed. Adherence to a prescribed dose is expressed by a ratio of the actual amount of medication taken compared to the amount of medication prescribed. This ratio quantifies adherence to dose across dose times. Dose time is defined as the prescribed time of day when a dose is to be administered. Dose times can be multiple time periods within a day such as morning, noon, afternoon, evening, bedtime, or breakfast, lunch, dinner. Dose times can also be scheduled as exact times throughout the day. Dose times can also be daily, or per day, or per series of days. Quantifying dose adherence provides healthcare users with a real and actual measure of patient dosing, as well as dose adherence performance and behavior over time. Furthermore, since the system accounts for all doses taken by patients, the system can alert caregivers and patients when too much, or too little medication has been taken.” (paragraph 0088) and “The display further visually differentiates when the patient 11 has taken correct doses at correct times, correct doses at incorrect times, incorrect doses at incorrect times, incorrect doses at correct times, missed doses, partial doses, and extra doses. The system is configured to output and display medication adherence charting within a time period such as within a select amount of days, weeks, months, quarters or years. In one or more embodiments, the run chart 203 displays as a default setting the last thirty (30) days. The embodiment of FIG. 18 displays medication adherence data within two week periods (i.e., the chart 203 includes information for the last fourteen days). By scrolling or selecting points in time, the user can view stored medication adherence data. The display also includes a refill chart 204 indicating the date of refill and amount of refilled medication, the daily count of remaining medication, and when refill alerts were sent. The system further provides for the user to provide an input (e.g., moving the cursor 71 over the various icons) to display detailed medication adherence information such as action that has been taken by the patient, detailed time and date, alerts and messages sent as well as interventions performed, annotations, results from patient surveys and conversion information.” (paragraph 0217). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Allred to include associating the dispensing information and the medicine taking information with each other and creating integrated information as taught by Chu in order to analyze data collected or received.
Allred and Humphrys do not teach and causing the healthcare worker terminal or the patient terminal to display the integrated information. However, Chu teaches Methods and Systems of Real-Time Medication Adherence Monitoring and further teaches, “As illustrated in FIG. 18, the user is able to select one of the medications 202 (Sulfasalazine in the embodiment of FIG. 18) to open a medication adherence run chart 203 that outputs and displays dosing behavior. The chart includes a timeline with the one or more dose time windows 205 visually illustrated. FIG. 18 includes four dosing windows 205a (morning), 205b, (noon), 205c (evening), and 205d (bedtime). In one or more embodiments, the dosing windows 205 are displayed in a different color than the other times during the day. The display further indicates when the patient 11 has taken the medication. This provides for a straight-forward manner to visually observer non-compliant doses that were not taken during the proper times. Further, the visual display provides for an entity 60 to observer patterns in the behavior of the patient.” (paragraph 0216), “The display further visually differentiates when the patient 11 has taken correct doses at correct times, correct doses at incorrect times, incorrect doses at incorrect times, incorrect doses at correct times, missed doses, partial doses, and extra doses. The system is configured to output and display medication adherence charting within a time period such as within a select amount of days, weeks, months, quarters or years. In one or more embodiments, the run chart 203 displays as a default setting the last thirty (30) days. The embodiment of FIG. 18 displays medication adherence data within two week periods (i.e., the chart 203 includes information for the last fourteen days). By scrolling or selecting points in time, the user can view stored medication adherence data. The display also includes a refill chart 204 indicating the date of refill and amount of refilled medication, the daily count of remaining medication, and when refill alerts were sent. The system further provides for the user to provide an input (e.g., moving the cursor 71 over the various icons) to display detailed medication adherence information such as action that has been taken by the patient, detailed time and date, alerts and messages sent as well as interventions performed, annotations, results from patient surveys and conversion information.” (paragraph 0217), “In one embodiment, the displayed information may visually indicate a pattern of patient behavior. A doctor or caregiver may be able to note this pattern and change one or more of the time windows 205 such that the patient is more likelihood to become adherent to the dosing times.” (paragraph 0220), and “A variety of different entities 60 may have access to some or all of the information at the monitoring server 40. This may include but is not limited to doctors, hospitals, insurance companies, drug manufacturers, pharmacies, patients, family members, patients, and caregivers. The entities 60 may access this information by accessing the server 49. In one or more embodiments, the monitoring server 40 may be configured for browser-based accessibility. The browser-based interface may support well-known browsers such as Internet Explorer and Mozilla Firefox, Safari, Chrome. Alternatively, or in conjunction with the browser-based interface, the monitoring server 40 may provide access to database 42 to requesting APIs over the PDN 55.” (paragraph 0083). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Allred to include causing the healthcare worker terminal or the patient terminal to display the integrated information as taught by Chu in order to display relevant data associated with a patient’s medicinal intake.
Claims 19 and 31:
As per claims 19 and 31, Allred teach the information processing apparatus and healthcare worker terminal comprising:
a hardware processor that (paragraph 0037 “As shown, the network 100 comprises a prescription processing system 105 including one or more processors that serves as a central hub for communicating data between one or more external modules.”):
obtains, from the electronic prescription server, dispensing information associated with the electronic prescription information registered in the healthcare worker terminal, the dispensing information including a type of medicine, a timing at which the medicine should be taken, and a dose of the medicine (paragraph 0040 “In some embodiments, the system 105 is configured to receive and transmit prescription data 205 related to a medical prescription for a patient, which may comprise a variety of information. For example, the medical prescription may specify a medication being prescribed. The medical prescription may further indicate a dosage form of the medication, including but not limited to a particular strength of the medication, a preparation type (e.g., tablet, capsule, syrup, solution, cream, ointment, drops, suppository, and the like), and an indication of acceptability of generic substitutes. In some embodiments, the medical prescription may include a total amount of the medication, a dose, a number of administrations, a frequency of administration, a route of administration (e.g., oral, buccal, intravenous, intramuscular, intranasal, subcutaneous, topical, inhalation, rectal, and the like), and a number of refills. In some embodiments, the medical prescription may further include additional instructions regarding administration. For example, the prescriber may specify how to take the medication, such as taking with food or taking upon rising. In a further example, the prescriber may specify criteria for taking the medication, such as in response to one or more symptoms. In additional embodiments, the medical prescription may include patient-identifying information such as a name and/or a date of birth. In still additional embodiments, the medical prescription may include prescriber-identifying information such as a name, an address, a practice name, and/or an ID number (e.g., an NPI number or a DEA number). Additional information not explicitly described herein may be included in the prescription data 205 as is known to one having an ordinary level of skill in the art. In some embodiments, prescription data 205 is received from a prescriber (e.g., a physician) via the prescriber module 110. However, it is contemplated that the prescription data 205 may be acquired, either together or separately, through a variety of sources. For example, in some cases, a pharmacy and/or a patient may receive prescription data 205 directly from a physician and transmit to the system 105 through a pharmacy module 120 and/or a patient module 115.”),
Allred does not teach obtains, from the patient terminal, medicine taking information on medicine actually taken by the patient. However, Humphrys teaches a Dynamic Medication and Protocol Manager for Home and further teaches, “In step 312, the child inputs the insulin dose actually administered via injection, along with the injection location;… Based on the preceding events, the child's device log for app 7a will be updated at step 317 and the parent's device log for app 6a is updated at step 319.” (paragraph 0050), “The bottommost portion of the display shown in FIG. 18 also shows a diagrammatic patient representation 1240 with the last three insulin injection sites indicated, so as to help the patient rotate injections in accordance with best practice. By selecting the right-arrow located to the right of the diagrammatic patient representation 1240, an enlarged version 1240 L of the patient representation 1240 is brought up, as shown in FIG. 19, via which insulin injection location information for the latest injection can be added by touching the appropriate location on diagram 1240L.” (paragraph 0061), and “With reference to FIGS. 20-23, an embodiment is described in which an insulin pump 1300 is used to administer the insulin. Optionally, the required insulin order may be sent directly to the insulin pump 1300 from the app 7a, as depicted in FIGS. 20-23. As seen in FIG. 20, the diagrammatic patient representation 1240 of FIG. 18 is replaced with a selection button 1250 labeled “Send Insulin Order to Pump”. FIG. 21 shows the display after selection of the button 1250 (where the insulin pump is identified as “OmniPod1”). As this is a therapeutic operation that delivers a drug (insulin) to the patient, the user must perform a confirmation operation as shown in FIG. 21. As shown in FIG. 22, upon confirmation the insulin order is communicated from the device 7 to the insulin pump 1300, and a confirmation message 1260 of the message transmission is displayed on the display of app 7a. FIG. 23 then shows a pop-up message window that is suitably displayed when the insulin pump 1300 sends a message back to the device 7 informing the app 7a that the insulin order has actually been received and executed by the insulin pump 1300.” (paragraph 0063). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Allred to include obtaining, from the patient terminal, medicine taking information on medicine actually taken by the patient as taught by Humphrys in order to ensure or validate has taken the prescribed medicine.
Allred and Humphrys do not teach associates the dispensing information and the medicine taking information with each other and creates integrated information. However, Chu teaches Methods and Systems of Real-Time Medication Adherence Monitoring and further teaches, “The monitoring sever 40 is a robust automated system that analyzes and communicates medication conditions, usage, and adherence data that are collected from the containers 20. The monitoring server 40 monitors, records, and quantifies multiple medication adherence data points providing accurate, comprehensive, and actionable information in real time. The monitoring server 40 also calculates medication usage and tracks and quantifies the effectiveness of the adherence communications between the various entities 60 and the patients 11.” (paragraph 0084), “The various patients 11 are enrolled into the system 10 by registering with the monitoring server 40 (e.g., via the browser-based interface or with an administrator 45 (e.g