DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicants Remarks pages 5-8, filed 07/01/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-4 and 6-10 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Saito et al US 20130258367.
Regarding claim 1 and 10, Applicant states that the reference of Higuchi fails to teach of changing appearance of the second image representing the surface of the sheet according to and a difference in characteristics of the surface of the sheet by determining a change in the characteristics of the surface of the sheet with reference to a predetermined value (Applicants Remarks pages 6-7). Examiner agrees with Applicant. Saito et al teaches a glossiness adjustment unit which (i) generates image data for a detection-use pattern image including a color toner pattern and a clear toner pattern in such a way that a total toner adhesion amount of the color toner (first image) and the clear toner (second image) obtained by summing up a toner adhesion amount of the color toner and a toner adhesion amount of the clear toner makes a predetermined target value for glossiness (predetermined value) so as to make the glossiness in all pixels uniform (change in characteristics of the surface of the sheet for each pixel position) (paragraph 0022)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasutomi US 2014/0293341 in view of Saito et al US 20130258367 further in view of Horita et al US 2009/0103121.
Regarding claim 1, Yasutomi teaches a non-transitory computer readable recording medium recording program for causing a computer that reproduces an image of a printed matter before printing (memory device 103 (paragraph 0051) and displays the image on a screen to implement (display device 102 is used to display print preview images (paragraph 0050-0051):
wherein the changing function includes making a ratio at which the second image is combined inversely proportional to a size of the total amount of the color material used for printing the first image (image-portion regular reflection applicable area data is created with respect to the gloss-coated paper and the mat-coated paper (second image). Then, depending on the type of paper selected from the input device 101, (6) image-portion regular reflection applicable area data (first image) corresponding to the selected type of paper is read (paragraph 0080) In FIGS. 6A to 6C, shades correspond to the data values (total amount of the color material for first image) of (7) image-portion regular reflection application ratio data. The white portion (second image) corresponds to the ratio of 1.0 of the image regular reflection characteristic data, while the black portion (second image) corresponds to the ratio of 0.0 of the image-portion regular reflection application ratio data (paragraph 0083) Note: the white and black portions of the image reads on the second image, which is the surface of the sheet. It is obvious that the larger the shade the smaller the sheet surface will be, therefore making it inversely proportionate to the amount of shade that is used
Yasutomi fails to teach a changing function of, changing appearance of the second image representing the surface of the sheet according to a total amount of the color material to be used for printing the corresponding first image and a difference in characteristics of the surface of the sheet by determining a change in the characteristics of the surface of the sheet with reference to a predetermined value, for each pixel position
Saito et al teaches a changing function of, changing appearance of the second image representing the surface of the sheet according to a total amount of the color material to be used for printing the corresponding first image and a difference in characteristics of the surface of the sheet by determining a change in the characteristics of the surface of the sheet with reference to a predetermined value, for each pixel position (a glossiness adjustment unit which (i) generates image data for a detection-use pattern image including a color toner pattern and a clear toner pattern in such a way that a total toner adhesion amount of the color toner (first image) and the clear toner (second image) obtained by summing up a toner adhesion amount of the color toner and a toner adhesion amount of the clear toner makes a predetermined target value for glossiness (predetermined value) so as to make the glossiness in all pixels uniform (change in characteristics of the surface of the sheet for each pixel position) (paragraph 0022)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Yasutomi to include: a changing function of, changing appearance of the second image representing the surface of the sheet according to a total amount of the color material to be used for printing the corresponding first image and a different in characteristics of the surface of the sheet, for each pixel position.
The reason for doing so would be to accurately print a quality image based on the paper.
Yasutomi in view of Saito et al fails to teach in a case where a first image generated according to a density value of a color material and a second image representing a surface of a sheet to be used for printing are combined to generate an image of a printed matter
Horia et al teaches in a case where a first image generated according to a density value of a color material and a second image representing a surface of a sheet to be used for printing are combined to generate an image of a printed matter (the image forming sections 21Y, 21M, 21C, and 21K, ink materials of which the print densities are controlled by the control device 10 are applied to the printing plates, and the ink materials are sequentially transferred onto the paper sheet so that C, M, Y, and K color plate images are formed on the paper sheet and are sequentially superimposed (paragraph 0105)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Yasutomi in view of Saito et al to include: in a case where a first image generated according to a density value of a color material and a second image representing a surface of a sheet to be used for printing are combined to generate an image of a printed matter.
The reason for doing so would be to select an accurate medium for the desired ink to be printed on.
Regarding claim 2, Yasutomi teaches wherein the changing function includes changing the appearance of the second image for each position when a characteristic of the surface of the sheet changes according to the position (conversion of toner is changed based on the type (appearance) of the sheet (paragraph 0136 and figs 13A-13C). paper-portion regular reflection application ratio data is created in such a way that the ratio of applying the regular reflection texture of the paper portion differs according to the position (paragraph 0069)
Regarding claim 3, Yasutomi teaches wherein the changing function includes changing the appearance of the second image when a change in color density appearing on the surface of the sheet or a change in glossiness appearing on the surface of the sheet exceeds a reference (with respect to a toner attachment area in which the gloss feel peculiar to the image portion is conspicuously seen (exceeds a reference) in the real image, a conversion characteristic that enables an increase in the value of T (T=increase (change) in toner) is written in the conversion data with respect to toner attachment area (paragraph 0138). Note: the increase or change in toner is read as change in color density since ink toner is measured in density and is colored, i.e. CMYK, therefore, the change in toner is according to the change in the type of paper (see fig 13)
Regarding claim 4, Yasutomi teaches wherein the changing function includes changing the appearance of the second image when a change in unevenness feel appearing on the surface of the sheet exceeds a reference (a toner attachment area in which the gloss feel peculiar to the image portion is inconspicuously seen (exceeds a reference) in the real image, a conversion characteristic that enables a decrease (change in appearance) in the value of T is written in the conversion data (paragraph 0138).
Regarding claim 6, Yasutomi teaches wherein when the size of the total amount of the color material used for printing the first image is M, the changing function includes combining the first image and the second image at a ratio of M : 1-M (The white portion (second image) corresponds to the ratio of 1.0 of the image regular reflection characteristic data, while the black portion (second image) corresponds to the ratio of 0.0 of the image-portion regular reflection application ratio data (paragraph 0083). Note: M=1, so 1-1=0, therefore the ratio would be 1.0
Regarding claim 7, Yasutomi teaches wherein when the size of the total amount of the color material used for printing the first image is M, the changing function includes combining glossiness of the first image and glossiness of the second image at a ratio of 1 : 1-M (The white portion (second image) corresponds to the ratio of 1.0 of the image regular reflection characteristic data, while the black portion (second image) corresponds to the ratio of 0.0 of the image-portion regular reflection application ratio data (paragraph 0083) Note: M=1, so 1-1=0, therefore the ratio would be 1.0
Regarding claim 8, Yasutomi teaches wherein the changing function includes correcting an unevenness feel of the surface of the sheet according to the size of the total amount of the color material used for printing the first image (the toner total attachment amount calculated from the original data (paragraph 0135). every time there is a change in the original data (size of total amount of color material or toner), image-portion regular reflection applicable area data (gloss feel) needs to be generated again (correction) (paragraph 0140)
Regarding claim 9, Yasutomi teaches wherein the changing function includes reducing the unevenness feel of the surface of the sheet as the total amount of the color material used for printing the first image increases (while visually confirming the print image and the preview image, with respect to a toner attachment area in which the gloss feel peculiar to the image portion is conspicuously seen in the real image, a conversion characteristic that enables an increase in the value of T is written in the conversion data (paragraph 0138)Note: the conversion characteristics (conversion data) used during conversion of the toner total attachment amount T (paragraph 0136), this data is used to from a toner image. The conspicuousness of the gloss is read as a reduction in the normal look at feel of gloss since it can barely be seen
Regarding claim 10, Yasutomi teaches an information processing apparatus (processing device 104 (paragraph 0050)comprising a processor,
wherein the changing function includes making a ratio at which the second image is combined inversely proportional to a size of the total amount of the color material used for printing the first image (image-portion regular reflection applicable area data is created with respect to the gloss-coated paper and the mat-coated paper. Then, depending on the type of paper selected (second image) from the input device 101, (6) image-portion regular reflection applicable area data (first image) corresponding to the selected type of paper is read (paragraph 0080) In FIGS. 6A to 6C, shades correspond to the data values (total amount of the color material for first image) of (7) image-portion regular reflection application ratio data. The white portion (second image) corresponds to the ratio of 1.0 of the image regular reflection characteristic data, while the black portion (second image) corresponds to the ratio of 0.0 of the image-portion regular reflection application ratio data (paragraph 0083) Note: the white and black portions of the image reads on the second image, which is the surface of the sheet. It is obvious that the larger the shade the smaller the sheet surface will be, therefore making it inversely proportionate to the amount of shade that is used
Yasutomi fails to teach changes, appearance of the second image representing the surface of the sheet according to a total amount of the color material to be used for printing the corresponding first image and a difference in characteristics of the surface of the sheet by determining a change in the characteristics of the surface of the sheet with reference to a predetermined value, for each pixel position
Saito et al teaches changes, appearance of the second image representing the surface of the sheet according to a total amount of the color material to be used for printing the corresponding first image and a difference in characteristics of the surface of the sheet by determining a change in the characteristics of the surface of the sheet with reference to a predetermined value, for each pixel position (a glossiness adjustment unit which (i) generates image data for a detection-use pattern image including a color toner pattern and a clear toner pattern in such a way that a total toner adhesion amount of the color toner (first image) and the clear toner (second image) obtained by summing up a toner adhesion amount of the color toner and a toner adhesion amount of the clear toner makes a predetermined target value for glossiness (predetermined value) so as to make the glossiness in all pixels uniform (change in characteristics of the surface of the sheet for each pixel position) (paragraph 0022)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Yasutomi to include: changes, appearance of the second image representing the surface of the sheet according to a total amount of the color material to be used for printing the corresponding first image and a difference in characteristics of the surface of the sheet, for each pixel position.
The reason for doing so would be to accurately print a quality image based on the paper.
Yasutomi in view of Saito et al fails to teach in a case where a first image generated according to a density value of a color material and a second image representing a surface of a sheet to be used for printing are combined to generate an image of a printed matter
Horia et al teaches in a case where a first image generated according to a density value of a color material and a second image representing a surface of a sheet to be used for printing are combined to generate an image of a printed matter (the image forming sections 21Y, 21M, 21C, and 21K, ink materials of which the print densities are controlled by the control device 10 are applied to the printing plates, and the ink materials are sequentially transferred onto the paper sheet so that C, M, Y, and K color plate images are formed on the paper sheet and are sequentially superimposed (paragraph 0105)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Yasutomi in view of Saito et al to include: in a case where a first image generated according to a density value of a color material and a second image representing a surface of a sheet to be used for printing are combined to generate an image of a printed matter.
The reason for doing so would be to select an accurate medium for the desired ink to be printed on.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Michael Burleson
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2681
Michael Burleson
September 5, 2026
/MICHAEL BURLESON/
/AKWASI M SARPONG/SPE, Art Unit 2681 9/7/2026