Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1 Claims 1-16 and PEI as the species of non-fluoropolymer in the reply filed on February 20, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-10, 14-15 and 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 20, 2026.
Applicant’s response indicates Claim 15 in the elected claims, however, PEI is not recited as the non-fluoropolymer in Claim 15. Therefore, it is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 11-13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (U.S. 20170226389).
Wang teaches compositions comprising a fluoropolymeric material (PFA exemplified), a functionalized fluoropolymer and a thermoplastic material (PEI exemplified)
In ¶[0020] Wang teaches the functionalized fluoropolymer can have epoxy or anhydride end groups specifically which react with amine end groups of PEI. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art is reasonably suggested a block copolymer of the functionalized fluoropolymer (PFA) and the PEI is formed along with excess PFA (fluoropolymer) and PEI which does not react with the functionalized PFA.
Additionally, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the as-filed specification along with Applicant’s remarks filed in response to the restriction requirement February 20, 2026, indicate the monomers used to make component (C) of the claims can also read over or be considered to be component (a) of the claim. Considering the product by process nature of the block copolymer of Claim 1 (which is different than the block copolymer of Claim 11 as this does not include any mention of functionalization), one of ordinary skill in the art is reasonably suggested the functionalized fluoropolymer (PFA) with epoxy or anhydride end groups reacted with amine from the PEI anticipates the block copolymer of Claim 1 and also Claim 11 for the following reasons:
Functionalized fluoropolymer (a) of Claim 1 is anticipated by the functionalized PFA (epoxy or anhydride) of Wang as above.
First functional monomer (b) of Claim 1 is anticipated by the diamine monomer of the PEI of Wang.
Second functional monomer of Claim 2 is anticipated by the anhydride monomer which reacts with the diamine above to form PEI of Wang.
Functional non-fluoropolymer (c) of Claim 1 is anticipated by the rest of the amine-functionalized PEI chain of Wang.
The epoxy anticipates the functional group of the functional fluoropolymer of Claim 3.
The amine of the PEI as discussed above anticipates the amine of Claim 4.
The amine of the PEI end as taught by Wang must be a diamine to make a PEI chain and, therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art is reasonably suggested there is a diamine anticipating (b) of Claim 5 (i.e. difunctional).
Claim 6 is a product by process claim. The functional fluoropolymer is made by a process of mechanical shearing. As the examples of Wang create compositions which include functionalized PFA added to PEI/PFA compositions, one ordinary skill in the art is reasonably suggested this must involve mixing (i.e. shearing) of the components, thereby, anticipating the shearing of the functionalized fluoropolymer of Claim 6.
Alternatively, and in addition, Wang also teaches the same benefit (increased miscibility and compatibility between the immiscible polymers) in ¶[0020] that Applicant attributes to the block copolymer (reactive compatibilizer) made with sheared PFA and PEI (¶[0086] of the as-filed specification). Examples 292A and Examples 292B also appear to be in-situ formed reactive compatibilizer substantially similar to Wang’s compatibilizer. There does not appear to be any examples in the as-filed specification demonstrating a significant structural difference between a commercial functionalized PFA (for instance used by Wang) compared to a sheared PFA when reacted to an already formed PEI-Amine as in Wang (and in Examples 292A, 292B). Table 15 of the as-filed specification only discloses potential effects on shearing when forming PEI in-situ. However, the claims are not limited to in-situ formation of the non-fluoropolymer block.
Therefore, alternatively, as there is no evidence in a structural difference between the resulting reactive compatibilizer of Wang (PFA-PEI block copolymer made by reacting the PFA and PEI blocks in-situ) compared to the shear PFA copolymer reacted with PEI of the above examples in the as-filed specification.
Finally, the reaction of amine and anhydride is polycondensation (as opposed to vinyl polymerization such as through ethylenic unsaturation). This anticipates the polycondensation limitations of Claim 1 and Claim 11 especially in light of product by process analysis with respect to polycondensation above.
The functionalized PFA of Wang anticipates Claim 7.
The functionalized PEI (as discussed above PEI-amine) of Wang anticipates Claim 8.
Claim 11 is anticipated as the amount of PEI in the examples is 20 % but the examples also only have 8-16 % of the reactive functional PFA along with PFA. In other words, one of ordinary skill in the art reasonably suggested based on Wang’s disclose as a whole and the examples which do not have a 1:1 correspondence of PEI-amine to react with all the functionalized PFA, that Wang’s compositions comprise PFA, PFA-PEI block copolymer compatibilizer and PEI separately. This anticipates the composition of Claim 11, the PFA of Claim 12 and the PEI of Claim 13.
The exemplified compositions of Wang (See Table 2 for instance) have 8 vol % of functionalized PFA and 20 vol % of PEI and the balance is PFA according to Table 2. This is 80 vol % of PFA (8 + 72 = 80 vol % PEI). The claims do not require a specific type of % PFA and the as-filed specification does not define % to be weight percent. Additionally, the reactive compatibilizer of Claim 11 contains fluoropolymer (a fluoropolymer block) and the claim limitation is to the fluoropolymer amount in the composition, not specifically the non-reactive compatibilizer portion of the composition of Claim 11. Therefore, 80 vol % PFA in the composition of Wang anticipates at least 80 % of PFA in the composition of Claim 16.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (U.S. 20170226389) as evidenced by Plastics in Medical Devices Chapter 8.
Wang is applied as above under §102.
Wang teaches the polymers (PFA and PEI) generically and amounts in volume percent rather than a more common compositional amount in weight percent. The conversion between volume and weight percent is via density of the components.
In Table 8.15, Plastics in Medical Devices Chapter 8 teaches the density of PFA is 2.15 g/cm3.
In Table 8.5, Plastics in Medical Devices Chapter 8 teaches the density of PEI is 1.27 g/cm3.
As above in the rejection of Claim 16 80 vol% of the composition of Wang in Table 2 is PFA and 20 vol % of Wang is PEI.
Considering a unit volume of composition of Wang (100 cm3) this yields:
80 cm3 PFA at a density of 2.15 g/cm3 = 172 g PFA
20 cm3 PEI at a density of 1.27 g/cm3 = 25.4 g PEI.
The amount of PFA in weight percent Table 2 is reasonably suggested to 172 / (172 + 25.4) * 100 = 87 wt% of PFA. This anticipates Claim 16 in terms of weight percent.
Double Patenting
Claim 1, 2, 7, 11 and 12 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-3, 5 and 20-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,351,752. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claim 20-21 of 12,351,752 recites a composition with the scope of Claim 1 and 11 and one of ordinary skill in the art is reasonably suggested the functional fluoropolymer of Claim 20 of 12,351,752 reacts with the linking compound and LCP monomers of this claim to make a fluoropolymer block linked to a LCP polymer block.
LCP polymer block anticipates Component (c) of Claim 1 and the non-fluoropolymer block of Clam 11. The linking compounds reads over the Component (b) of Claim 1 and the LCP monomer itself reads over the second monomer of Claim 2 (See above reason under §102 for Claim 2). The functionalized fluoropolymer reads over Component (a) of Claim 1 and the fluoropolymer block of Claim 11. The additional LCP and fluoropolymer reads over the nonreactive compatibilizer components of Clam 11. PFA of Claim 7 and 12 is read over by the list of Claim 21 of 12,351,752.
With respect to the polycondensation limitation of the claims, Claim 20 of 12,351,752 recites a reaction of linking group, fluoropolymer and LCP monomer but does not recite the type of reaction nor the reactive groups.
Claims 1-3 and 5 recite a similar variant and similar reaction of these components or monomers which make these components and recites the linking group has reactive groups of amine, epoxy, carboxylic acid, ester and anhydride, and carbonyl diimidazole and bis(oxazoline). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to practice the invention of Claim 20 of 12,351,752 such that the linking group had the above functional groups for reaction because 12,351,752 teaches these reactive functional groups for the same purpose in another variant of the invention of 12,351,752.
The above functional groups participate in condensation reactions and, therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art is reasonably suggested multiple condensation reaction (or polycondensation reactions) must be occurring when practicing Claim 20 of 12,351,752 when modified with the linking groups of Claim 1-3 and 5 of 12,351,752 which reads over the polycondensation limitation of the above rejected instant claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and claim amendments filed August 18, 2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant has amended the independent claims to recite a specific type of polymerization process (polycondensation). The rejections of record have been modified to address this never previously present limitation. This modified ground of rejection has been necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
Applicant argues Wang only speculates a block polymer is formed and speculation does not constitute a definitive teaching that block copolymer is actually formed. This argument is not persuasive. This application has been twice rejected with the mailing of this final action and Applicant is strongly encouraged to appeal the maintaining of the rejection of record based on this argument.
Wang reasonably suggests a reaction between PEI and fluoropolymer through the linking groups as detailed in Wang in ¶[0020] and the ¶[0027] where Wang specifically teaches this bonding is for compatibilization of the two immiscible polymers. This is the same reason disclosed by Applicant for the claimed invention. The prior art reasonably suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art the reaction of these different groups of the different polymers of Wang produces block copolymers for the reasons in ¶[0020] and specifically, omitted by Applicant, Wang’s teaching the amine of the PEI reacts with the epoxy of the fluoropolymer. This reasonably suggests a block copolymer is formed. Therefore, this argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues the Wang does not explicitly teach the polymer of Wang is made by polycondensation nor has Applicant addressed any of the product by process analysis made in the rejection of record. This argument is not persuasive.
Wang teaches amine and anhydride reactions for the different polymer components (and PEI is actually made using amine and anhydride condensation as opposed to a vinyl type polymerization through C=C bonds). The claimed process (polycondensation) must be occurring for this reason even though Wang does not specifically use the term. Further, Applicant only has specified polycondensation in the claims and not made this polycondensation to any specific monomers nor recited the polymer block and linking groups cannot be condensed together. In other words, Applicant has amended the claims to recite a general feature that is reflected in the art and rather than amending the polycondensation to a more specific feature that potentially separate the claimed invention from the processes found in the Wang or prior art not applied. Applicant’s reactive compatibilizer process of the as-filed specification appears to be one in which a non-reactive fluoropolymer, a reactive fluoropolymer and monomer which form an liquid crystal polymer are reacted together in an extruder. See examples 1-10 in the as-filed spec are similar fluoropolymer/LCP compatibilizers. The claimed invention does not even recite LCP monomers or any LCP limitation in any claim. Example 11 is fluoropolymer / PEI wherein the PEI is made in situ from anhydrides and amine. It is unclear how one ordinary skill could distinguish a FEP/PEI block copolymer made from reacting functionalized FEP with PEI (monomers – amines and anhydride) from one in which a functionalized FEP is reacted with functionalized PEI block (already made from amine and anhydrides) as put forth in the rection of record. A polycondensation must be happening with at least the PEI as this is how PEI is formed.
Applicant has held the non-statutory double patenting rejection in abeyance which is not permitted by the Office. Applicant presents no arguments to the non-statutory double patent rejection applied and, therefore, it is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Christopher M Rodd/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766