Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/14/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With respect to the rejection of claims 2, 12 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), applicant’s argument and the specification figures cited by the applicant have been reviewed. For the reasons below, the rejection of claims 2, 12, and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is maintained.
Applicant’s lexicography burden: When an applicant intends to act as his or her own lexicographer and give a claim term a meaning that differs from its ordinary meaning, the specification must clearly and unambiguously redefine that term so as to put one of ordinary skill in the art on notice of the unconventional meaning. See Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999).
The instant specification and figures do not redefine “baffle” as “aperture” The applicant’s argument relies on interpreting the term “baffle” in the claims to include or be equivalent to the apertures labeled 44A in figure 6. The specification, however, does not clearly redefine “baffle” to mean “aperture.” To the contrary, the specification consistently describes apertures and baffles as separate structural features: apertures (44A) are described as openings, while baffles (46) are described as discrete structures positioned to alter flow. Because the specification uses both terms in a manner that distinguishes them, it fails to provide the clear and explicit redefinition required for lexicographic displacement of the ordinary meaning of “baffle.”
Figure 6 does not show baffles “prior to the high-temperature gas entering the second compartment” The applicant asserts that figure 6 shows the baffles “prior to the high-temperature gas entering the second compartment.” Examination of figure 6 shows apertures 44A in the illustrated structure, but it does not unambiguously depict baffles 46 in the specific positional relationship claimed (i.e., baffles existing prior to the high-temperature gas entering the second compartment as distinct structures supported by those apertures). Because the drawing and written description do not clearly identify the apertures as being the baffles or otherwise clearly redefine “baffle” to be an aperture, the specification does not supply the necessary written description support to avoid the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issue.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejections of claim(s) 1-8, 11-18 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The applicant’s characterization on page 13 that Fuhr and Kusunoki were “combined” in the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection is incorrect. The prior office action relied on Fuhr and Kusunoki independently to anticipate the respective claims under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “the baffle is arranged in the vent channel and configured to slow and cool the high-temperature gas prior to the high-temperature gas entering the second compartment” (as recited in claims 2 and 12) and “a baffle arranged in a flow of the high-temperature gas directed by the vent channel and configured to slow and cool the high-temperature gas prior to the high-temperature gas entering the second compartment” (as recited in claim 20) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2 and 12 recite “the baffle is arranged in the vent channel and configured to slow and cool the high-temperature gas prior to the high-temperature gas entering the second compartment”. Claim 20 recites “a baffle arranged in a flow of the high-temperature gas directed by the vent channel and configured to slow and cool the high-temperature gas prior to the high-temperature gas entering the second compartment”. A review of the specification and drawings, shows baffles 46 arranged in the endcap 48. The endcap 48 is located after the second compartment 36-2. So, it is unclear how a baffle is arranged in a location that it would be configured to slow and cool the high-temperature gas from the vent channel 44 prior to the gas entering the second compartment 36-2. Therefore, as long as the prior art has a baffle located in an endcap as described in the specification, it will read on the claims as recited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2011/0135975 hereinafter Fuhr in view of DE 102020001540 hereinafter Balke.
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Fuhr teaches a motor vehicle (Figs. 1-2, 10) comprising: a power-source configured to generate power-source torque (Fig. 2, 16); and a battery pack (Figs. 2-4, 20) configured to supply electrical energy to the power-source (paragraphs [0036]-[0038]), the battery pack including: a plurality of battery cells (Fig. 7, 24); a battery pack enclosure surrounded by an external environment, wherein the enclosure tray includes a false floor (Fig. 7, 56) and the second compartment is incorporated into the false floor, the battery pack enclosure including: an enclosure tray (Fig. 7, 42) having a first compartment (Fig. 7, 44) configured to house the plurality of battery cells and a second compartment (Fig. 9, 50) configured to collect high-temperature gas emitted by at least one of the plurality of battery cells during a thermal runaway and expel the high-temperature gas to the external environment; and an enclosure cover (Fig. 3, 26) configured to engage the enclosure tray and seal the battery pack enclosure, wherein the first compartment is arranged between the second compartment and the enclosure cover; a temperature-sensitive component (Figs. 3-4, 32) arranged inside the battery pack enclosure between the second compartment and the enclosure cover; and a vent channel (Fig. 10, 52), incorporated into the false floor (Figs. 9-10), fluidly connecting the first compartment to the second compartment and configured to direct the high-temperature gas from the first compartment to the second compartment, thereby diverting the high-temperature gas away from the temperature-sensitive component.
Fuhr does not teach a baffle arranged in a flow of the high-temperature gas directed by the vent channel and configured to slow and cool the high-temperature gas.
Balke teaches a battery pack in an electrically driven motor vehicle with at least one vent channel (26) comprising at least one baffle (84) arranged in a flow of the high-temperature gas directed by the vent channel and configured to slow and cool the high-temperature gas (fig. 6a, abstract and page 7, fifth full paragraph).
It would have been prima facie obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include at least one baffle in the vent channel of Fuhr as taught by Balke in order to entrain and separate particles from the venting gas and significantly cool the venting gas, thereby lowering critical ignition of the gas exiting the ventilation duct (Balke page 7, fifth full paragraph).
Claim(s) 1-6, 11-16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2011/0135975 hereinafter Fuhr in view of US 11,316,230 hereinafter Boecker.
Fuhr as discussed above is incorporated herein. Additionally, Fuhr teaches one or more openings in the chamber housing the battery cells to vent gases using e.g. ductwork, a tube or pipe that is in fluid communication with the chamber (paragraph [0085]).
Fuhr does not teach a baffle and does not provide the specific details of the structure used to vent the gasses from the chamber as recited in claims 1-6, 11-16 and 20.
Boecker teaches a battery pack for an electric motor vehicle comprising vents 704 configured to selectively open and close, a separate end cap (heat shield 800) joined to the housing/compartment which forms a baffle (figs. 7 & 8 and column 16, lines 32-56).
It would have been prima facie obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the vents and end cap which forms a baffle of Boecker as part of the venting structure of Fuhr in order to allow the pressure inside the battery pack to equalize with atmospheric pressure or to allow gas and active material to exit the battery pack during a thermal runaway event and to direct the exiting gas and active material in a safer direction to prevent damage to people or structures located in its path (Boecker column 16, lines 32-56).
Claim(s) 7 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuhr in view of Boecker as applied to claims 6 & 16 above, and further in view of Balke.
Fuhr as modified by Boecker does not teach a particle screen arranged in the endcap upstream of the ventilation plug and configured to filter debris out of the high-temperature gas.
Balke teaches a battery pack in an electrically driven motor vehicle with at least one vent channel (26) comprising a filter (88) for separating or filtering out the particles of the venting gas which is located upstream of a vent plug (44) (figs. 3a & 6b, page 6, first full paragraph and page 8 third full paragraph).
It would have been prima facie obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a filter in Fuhr as modified by Boecker as taught by Balke in order to entrain and separate particles from the venting gas and significantly cool the venting gas, thereby lowering critical ignition of the gas exiting the ventilation duct (Balke page 7, fifth full paragraph). Further it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention only involves routine skill in the art see MPEP 2144.04 VI C. The specification does not provide criticality for the specific location of the screen.
Claim(s) 7, 8, 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuhr in view of Boecker as applied to claims 6 & 16 above, and further in view of US 20150072184 hereinafter Kusonoki.
Fuhr as modified by Boecker does not teach a particle screen arranged in the endcap upstream of the ventilation plug and configured to filter debris out of the high-temperature gas or the ventilation plug is one of metal and plastic.
Kusunoki teaches a battery pack, wherein the battery pack enclosure additionally includes a particle screen (Fig. 5. 160) arranged in the endcap upstream of the ventilation plug and configured to filter debris out of the high-temperature gas. Kusunoki further teaches wherein the ventilation plug is constructed from one of metal and plastic and is configured to be breached by at least one of increased pressure and temperature when impinged on by the high-temperature gas (Paragraph [0085] "The functional membrane 160 is made from a water resistant, permeable material such as GORE-TEX® or TEMISH®).
It would have been prima facie obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the particle screen and ventilation plug material of Kusunoki in Fuhr as modified by Boecker with the predictable result of "discharging gas generated in the event of a malfunction out of an outer housing of the energy storage apparatus, and through which foreign matter, such as water, cannot easily enter and water cannot easily flow into the interior of the outer housing" (paragraph [0030] Kusunoki).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT W HODGE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645