DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 03/03/2023, 03/13/2024, 08/15/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites "each the R portions", "each the gradual change region", "each the steps", "each the inner surfaces". Each instance should be corrected to read either "each of the...." or simply "each..." and delete "the".
Claim 2 recite "each the steps" and "each the tapered surfaces". Both should be corrected to read either "each of the...." or simply "each..." and delete "the".
Claim 3 recites "each the tapered surfaces". This should be corrected to read either "each of the...." or simply "each..." and delete "the".
Claim 4 recites "each the steps". This should be corrected to read either "each of the...." or simply "each..." and delete "the".
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 contains the limitation wherein the gradual change region is provided in a range from 45 or more and 90° or less from a center of each of the R portions, starting from a boundary between each of the R portions and each of the short side portions. It is unclear from which point the angle measurement starts and at which point it ends. It is unclear if the angle measurement starts at a center of the R portion or starts at a boundary between an R portion and a short side portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Watanabe et al. (JP 2013093119 A) hereinafter "Watanabe". Cited on the IDS filed 03/03/2023, references is made to the enclosed machine translation.
Regarding claim 1, Watanabe discloses a battery case comprising: a case body in bottomed rectangular parallelopiped shape having a substantially rectangular opening in one side surface facing a bottom surface (Fig. 1; [0008]; [0013]); and a substantially rectangular sealing plate attached to the opening and having a shape corresponding to an upper edge of the opening, wherein the opening of the case body comprises: a pair of long side portions facing each other; a pair of short side portions located at both ends of the pair of long side portions and facing each other ([0008]; [0013]; [0017]); R portions provided at four corners between the long side portions and the short side portions (Fig. 5; [0024]; R portions are considered the rounded corner portions); and steps protruding from the inner surfaces of the pair of short side portions ([0015]; Fig. 3), each the R portions comprises a gradual change region, and in each the gradual change region, along each the R portions, a shape of each the steps changes to be gradually close to a shape of each the inner surfaces of the long side portions toward the long side portions ([0020]; [0024]; Fig. 5 annotated below; Within each of the rounded corner R portions, there is a transition, 33, from the step portion 32 to the tapered portion 31 which is considered a gradual change region).
Regarding claim 2, Watanabe discloses the battery case according to claim 1. Watanabe further discloses wherein the inner surfaces of the pair of long side portions facing each other are tapered surfaces inclined inward toward their lower portions (Fig. 4 reproduced below; [0022]-[0023]), and in the gradual change region, the shape of each the steps changes to be gradually close to each the tapered surfaces toward the long side portions ([0008]; Fig. 5 annotated above and [0024]; Within each of the rounded corner R portions, there is a transition from the step portion 32 to the tapered portion 31 which is considered a gradual change region).
Regarding claim 6, Watanabe discloses the battery case according to claim 1.Watanabe further discloses wherein an edge of the lower surface of the sealing plate is chamfered (Fig. 3-4 surface 42; [0016]-[0017]; [0033]; Instant specification allows for chamfered to include a rounded surface see [0058]).
Regarding claim 8, Watanabe the battery case according to claim 1. Watanabe further discloses a secondary battery ([0033]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe (JP 2013093119 A), as applied above, in view of Kume (JP 2011204396 A). References is made to the enclosed machine translations.
Regarding claim 3, Watanabe discloses the battery case according to claim 2. Watanabe teaches that a gap may occur between a long side portion and a cover plate and the long side portion is tapered to prevent laser light from entering ([0021]-[0023]).
Watanabe does not teach wherein the battery case has a gap which is wider toward the upper edge of the opening, between a portion having each the tapered surfaces and the sealing plate, with the sealing plate attached to the opening.
However, Kume teaches a cylindrical battery with a sealing plate where the outer can and the sealing plate are sealed by laser welding ([0009]-[0012]). Kume teaches a notch provided in the inner peripheral edge of the outer can and a cutout groove is provided between the sealing plate and the outer can such that the cross-sectional shape of the notch groove is gradually narrowed towards the groove bottom ([0025]; [0027]; Fig. 11). Kume teaches that a sealed battery formed according to the structure taught allows for laser welding at a high temperature state and suppresses blow holes thereby improving the laser weld [(0015]-[0017]; [0019]; [0020]-[0022]; Fig. 9-11 & 7). Kume teaches that inert gas may or may not be used to further reduce the generation of blowholes ([0017]).
It would have been obvious to modify the tapered portion of the long side portion taught by Watanabe such that the gap between the sealing plate and the tapered portion is wider toward the upper edge of the opening as taught by Kume.
One of ordinary skill in the art to modify the tapered portion of the long side portion taught by Watanabe such that the gap between the sealing plate and the tapered portion is wider toward the upper edge of the opening as taught by Kume to suppress blow holes and improve the laser welding ([0016]-[0017]).
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe (JP 2013093119 A), as applied above, in view of Yoichi et al. (JP 2016219344 A) hereinafter "Yoichi", cited on the IDS filed 03/13/2024, references is made to the enclosed machine translations.
Regarding claim 4, Watanabe disclose the battery case according to claim 1.
Watanabe does not teach wherein the inner surfaces of the pair of long side portions facing each other are flat, and in the gradual change region, the shape of each the steps changes to be gradually close to a flat shape toward the long side portions along the R portions.
However, Yoichi teaches a battery case comprising: a case body in bottomed rectangular parallelopiped shape having a substantially rectangular opening in one side surface facing a bottom surface ([0015]); and a substantially rectangular sealing plate attached to the opening and having a shape corresponding to an upper edge of the opening, wherein the opening of the case body comprises: a pair of long side portions facing each other; a pair of short side portions located at both ends of the pair of long side portions and facing each other ([0010]; [0015]; Fig. 1); R portions provided at four corners between the long side portions and the short side portions ([0015]); each the R portions comprises a gradual change region, and in each the gradual change region, along each the R portions, a shape of each the steps changes to be gradually close to a shape of each the inner surfaces of the long side portions toward the long side portions (Fig. 4b; [0017]). Yoichi teaches wherein the inner surfaces of the pair of long side portions facing each other are flat, and in the gradual change region, the shape of each the steps changes to be gradually close to a flat shape toward the long side portions along the R portions (Fig. 2 & 4; [0015]; [0017]).
Watanabe and Yoichi both teach a battery case according to the limitations of claim 1. Further, Watanabe and Yoichi both teach the importance of preventing laser leak, the situation where the laser enters the case through a gap between a sealing plate and a long side portion (Watanabe [0022]-[0023]; Yoichi [0005], [0008]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the battery case taught by Watanabe by making the inner surfaces of the pair of long side portions facing each other flat, and in the gradual change region, the shape of each the steps changes to be gradually close to a flat shape toward the long side portions along the R portions as taught by Yoichi.
One of ordinary skill in the art could have modified the battery case taught by Watanabe by making the inner surfaces of the pair of long side portions facing each other flat, and in the gradual change region, the shape of each the steps changes to be gradually close to a flat shape toward the long side portions along the R portions as taught by Yoichi with a reasonable expectation of success because the case configuration taught by Yoichi is an alternate configuration that solves the same technical problem as Watanabe.
Claim(s) 5, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe (JP 2013093119 A). Cited on the IDS filed 03/03/2023, references is made to the enclosed machine translation.
Regarding claim 5, Watanabe discloses the battery case according to claim 1.
Watanabe does not explicitly teach wherein the gradual change region is provided in a range from 45° or more and 90° or less from a center of each of the R portions, starting from a boundary between each of the R portions and each of the short side portions.
However, as shown in Fig. 1 and 5, annotated below, a center of the R portion is chosen which falls between the long side and the short side. A dashed arrow is drawn to the short side start, which may also correlate with a boundary between the R portion and the short side portion, and the solid arrowed lines are drawn roughly to show a range of 90°. As shown in the annotated figure, the gradual change region (33) appears to be located in a range from 45 or more and 90° or less from a center of each of the R portions. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP §2144.05).
Regarding claim 7, Watanabe discloses the battery case according to claim 6.
Watanabe does not explicitly teach wherein a region of the edge of the lower surface superimposed on the gradual change region with the sealing plate attached to the opening is chamfered according to a shape of the gradual change region.
However, Watanaba teaches a gradual change region and a sealing plate with a lower chamfered surface (Fig. 3-4 surface 42; [0016]- [0017]; [0033]; [0020]; [0024] Fig. 5).
One of ordinary skill in the art could have modified the chamfered portion of the sealing plate taught by Watanabe such that the chamfered portion was chamfered according to a shape of the gradual change region with a reasonable expectation of success because changes in shape are within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In reDailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (MPEP 2144.04).
Conclusion
/F.B.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728