Claim Status
Claims 1, 3-5, and 8 have been amended. Claims 1-14 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted 11/03/2025 was received and has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second contact surface)][AltContent: textbox (Support surface of screw receiving means)][AltContent: textbox (Support surface of rib)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Lowermost sealing surface)][AltContent: textbox (Uppermost sealing surface)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Rib)]
Claim(s) 1-8 and 2-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai et al. (U.S. 20190386258) in view of Dansui et al (U.S. 20030013009).
With respect to claims 1, 5-7, and 11-12, Lai discloses a battery module (2 - battery) (Fig. 2) comprising:
a housing element (3 - casing) made of a metallic material (iron [0019]) and a cover element (4 – top lid), the housing element (3) and the cover element (4) are connected to one another by a plurality of screw connections (S - fastener), such that, by forming a common interior (labeled) (Fig. 4 and 5 - above; [0036])), the housing element (3) and the cover element (4) configured to receive a plurality of battery cells (part of battery core 9; Fig. 4), , wherein the cover element (4) also forms a rib (labeled) and a direct mechanical contact is made between the rib (labeled) of the cover element (4) and the housing element (3) (Fig. 5 – above), and a first sealing element (7 – sealing ring) is also arranged inward from the rib (labeled) relative to the common interior (labeled) and between an uppermost sealing surface (labeled) of the housing element (3) and a lowermost sealing surface of the cover element (4) such that the interior is fluidically sealed from an environment (Fig. 5 – above; [0036]),
wherein the plurality of screw connections (S) and the rib (labeled) are arranged outside of the first sealing element (7) (Fig. 5 – above).
Lai does not disclose that the housing and cover elements are made of a metallic material or that electrical contact is made between the housing and cover elements.
Dansui discloses a housing element (2a – housing body) and a cover element (2b – lid) ([0027]) and teaches that they are both made of aluminum (thus teaching electrical connection as aluminum is electrically conductive and reading on claims 11-12) ([0027]). Dansui further teaches that the aluminum is preferred as it has excellent thermal conductivity ([0027]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time that the application was effectively filed to ensure the housing and cover elements taught by Lai were electrically connected by being made of aluminum as taught by Dansui as aluminum has excellent thermal conductivity.
With respect to claim 5, Lai discloses individual screw connections (S) are arranged at a distance from one another (Fig. 4).
With respect to claim 6, Lai discloses the screw connections (S) each comprise a screw receiving means (41 – fixing hole), in which a sliding means (labeled) is respectively received (Fig. 5 - above) , wherein the cover element (4) forms the respective screw receiving means (41) (Fig. 5), and a support surface (labeled) of the screw receiving means (41) is directly connected with a second contact surface (labeled) of the cover element (4) (Fig. 5 – above).
With respect to claim 7, Lai discloses the screw receiving means (41) are screw bosses (fasteners S are threaded) (Fig. 2).
With respect to claim 13, Lai discloses the rib (labeled) is circumferential (Figs. 4-5 and based on the inherency that the first sealing element 7 is a sealing ring [0036]).
Claim(s) 2-4, 8, 10, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai et al. in view of Dansui et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Burrer et al. (CN 112909405, Espanet translation provided in non-final rejection of 10/29/2025 for reference).
With respect to claims 2 and 10, Lai discloses a second sealing element (P – adhesive agent, thus reading on claim 10) (Fig. 5), but does not disclose the second sealing element is arranged on a side of the rib facing away from the first sealing element, wherein said direct mechanical contact is free of the first sealing element and the second sealing element.
Burrer discloses a first sealing element (20 – annular sealing element) and a second sealing element (22 – sealing gap) and teaches is arranged on a side of the rib (labeled) facing away from the first sealing element (20) (Fig. 2 – above), wherein said direct mechanical contact is free of the first sealing element (20) and the second sealing element (22) (Fig. 2 – above). Burrer further teaches that this arrangement helps to ensure sealing against corrosive liquids ([0028]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time that the application was effectively filed to adjust the position of the second sealing element disclosed by Lai to the position taught by Burrer in order to ensure sealing against corrosive liquids.
With respect to claim 3, Lai discloses a first sealing direction of the first sealing element (7) and a second sealing direction of the second sealing element (P) are perpendicular to one another (as the first sealing element 7 is a ring with a larger thickness in the vertical direction, whereas the second sealing element (P) is an adhesive with minimal thickness) (Fig. 5).
With respect to claim 4, Lai discloses a support surface (labeled) of the rib (labeled) extends from the lowermost sealing surface (labeled) of the cover element (4) (Fig. 5 – above), but does not disclose a distance between the first sealing surface of the housing element and the second sealing surface (labeled) of the cover element is adjustable.
Burrer discloses a support surface (labeled) of a rib and a sealing surface (labeled) of a housing element (labeled) and teaches the support surface (labeled) of the rib (labeled) extends from the uppermost sealing surface (labeled) of the housing element (12) such that a distance between the uppermost sealing surface (labeled) of the housing element (12) and the lowermost sealing surface (labeled) of the cover element (14) is adjustable (Fig. 2 – above; [0020] describes how the pressing force of the sealing element is easily adjustable). Burrer further teaches that being able to adjust the distance allows reduce tightness requirements for the threaded screw connection, which saves cost ([0020]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time that the application was effectively filed to adjust the position of the first sealing element disclosed by Lai so that it may allow for the distance between the sealing surfaces of the housing and cover elements to be adjusted as taught by Burrer so that the tightness requirements for the threaded screw could be reduced, thus saving cost.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Screw receiving means)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Sliding means)][AltContent: textbox (Support surface)][AltContent: textbox (Second contact surface)]
With respect to claim 8, Lai discloses the support surface (labeled) of a screw receiving means (41) is configured to be elevated over the uppermost sealing surface (labeled) of the housing element (3) (Fig. 5 – above), but does not disclose a distance between the first sealing surface of the housing element and the second sealing surface (labeled) of the cover element is adjustable.
Burrer discloses a support surface (labeled) of a rib and a sealing surface (labeled) of a housing element (labeled) and teaches the support surface (labeled) of the rib (labeled) extends from the uppermost sealing surface (labeled) of the housing element (12) such that a distance between the uppermost sealing surface (labeled) of the housing element (12) and the lowermost sealing surface (labeled) of the cover element (14) is adjustable (Fig. 2 – above; [0020] describes how the pressing force of the sealing element is easily adjustable). Burrer further teaches that being able to adjust the distance allows reduce tightness requirements for the threaded screw connection, which saves cost ([0020]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time that the application was effectively filed to adjust the position of the first sealing element disclosed by Lai so that it may allow for the distance between the sealing surfaces of the housing and cover elements to be adjusted as taught by Burrer so that the tightness requirements for the threaded screw could be reduced, thus saving cost.
With respect to claim 14, Lai discloses the support surface (labeled) of the screw receiving means (labeled) is a screw boss (Fig. 2 – above).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai et al. in view of Dansui et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Keller et al. (U.S. 20160118635).
With respects to claim 9 , Lai discloses a housing element (12) (Fig. 1), but does not disclose the housing element is a die cast aluminum housing.
Keller discloses a housing for a battery ([abstract]) and teaches the housing ca be formed of die casted aluminum ([0013]). Keller further teaches that this material and process yields battery housing parts that are easily manufactured and inexpensive to mass produce ([0013]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time that the application was effectively filed to manufacture the housing disclosed by Lai using die casted aluminum as taught by Keller in order to yield battery housing parts that are easily manufactured and inexpensive to mass produce.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Claim 1 now relies on Lai in view of Dansui in order to reject its limitations, whereas all arguments are drawn to claim 1 regarding the previous use of Burrer et al.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.E.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727