DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/03/2023 and 07/17/2023 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9, 11-13, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Penilla et al. US Pub 2020/0144838 (hereinafter Penilla).
Regarding claim 1 and 13, Penilla discloses a system for charging one or more electric vehicles, the system comprising:
a first electric charger (fig. 9c, a charge connector);
a rail structure (fig. 9c, element 126 and ¶ 0101);
a robot (¶ 0101 and fig. 9c, element 118; robot) supported by the rail structure and configured to move along the rail structure (¶¶ 0101-0102; the charge robot 118 can move on a track to charge cars);
a first vehicle localization structure defining a first charge zone located at a first fixed position (see fig. 9c, element Slot A as an example);
a vehicle detection system configured to detect a corresponding electric vehicle of the one or more electric vehicles in the first charge zone (claim 17; the robot uses sensors identifying a location of the vehicle); and
a central control system configured to:
obtain data from the vehicle detection system that the corresponding electric vehicle is in the first charge zone (¶ 0101; the robot is able to identify the slot and automatically sync/pair to the vehicle);
determine a position of a charge port of the corresponding electric vehicle (¶ 0100; the robot identifies the location of plug on the vehicle 110 and position itself to make connection) based on the first fixed position of the first vehicle localization structure (Slot A or B) and vehicle parameters of the corresponding electric vehicle (claims 8, 13, 17 and ¶ 0101; if the user reserves charge and the location of the vehicle; status of the charging door; also based on the communication with the cloud service); and
instruct the robot to move a charger (a charge connector; see fig. 9c) of the first electric charger (¶ 0101; the robot 118 is connected to a charge track 126, and can move to selected vehicles parked in a designated charging area) from the first electric charger (includes a charging cable and a charge connector) to the charge port of the corresponding electric vehicle such that the charger is electrically coupled to the corresponding electric vehicle (¶¶ 0100-0102; the robot has an extension arm that extends a charge cord to the car and connects the charge cord to the vehicle).
Regarding claim 9, Penilla discloses the system further comprising:
a second electric charger (see fig. 9c; a second charger); and
a second vehicle localization structure defining a second charge zone located at a second fixed position (see fig. 9c; slot D).
Regarding claim 11, Penilla discloses wherein the robot is a mobile robot, and wherein the mobile robot is configured to autonomously travel proximate the first charge zone to charge the electric vehicle (¶¶ 0100-0101; self-positioning robot).
Regarding claim 12, Penilla discloses the system further comprising a vehicle detection system in communication with the central control system and configured to detect the corresponding electric vehicle in the first charge zone (claim 17; the robot uses sensors identifying a location of the vehicle see fig. 9c).
Regarding claim 19, Penilla discloses the system further comprising:
a second electric charger (see fig. 9c; a second charger); and
a second vehicle localization structure defining a second charge zone located at a second fixed position (see fig. 9c; slot D),
wherein the robot is configured to move along the rail structure between the first and second electric chargers (claim 20; the track enable the robot to move and self-position in a charging location).
Regarding claim 20, Penilla discloses a method for charging one or more electric vehicles, the method comprising:
obtain data from a vehicle detection system that a corresponding electric vehicle of the one or more electric vehicles is in a charge zone of a vehicle localization structure (¶ 0101; the robot is able to identify the slot and automatically sync/pair to the vehicle);
determine a position of a charge port of the corresponding electric vehicle (¶ 0100; the robot identifies the location of plug on the vehicle 110 and position itself to make connection) based on a fixed position of the vehicle localization structure and vehicle parameters of the corresponding electric vehicle (claims 8, 13, 17 and ¶ 0101; if the user reserves charge and the location of the vehicle); and
control a robot to move a charger (fig. 9c, a charge connector) of an electric charger (¶ 0101; the robot 118 is connected to a charge track 126, and can move to selected vehicles parked in a designated charging area) from the electric charger (includes charge connector and charge cable) to the charge port of the corresponding electric vehicle such that the charger is electrically coupled to the corresponding electric vehicle (¶¶ 0100-0102; the robot has an extension arm that extends a charge cord to the car and connects the charge cord to the vehicle).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Penilla in view of Gao et al. US Pub 2013/0076902 (hereinafter Gao).
Regarding claims 2 and 14, Penilla fails to disclose wherein the vehicle parameters comprise vehicle dimensions, tire locations and dimensions, and charging port locations and dimensions.
However, Gao further discloses a robotic charging station for charging a battery of an EV, wherein the vehicle parameters comprise vehicle dimensions (¶ 0040; detect the presence of the vehicle), tire locations and dimensions (¶ 0040; the presence of the tire), and charging port locations and dimensions (¶¶ 0041-0045; the controller 70 may use a suitable control scheme, including visual/target tracking feedback from the
target tracking camera 94 to guide the end effector 16 into a coupled engagement with the mating plug/receptacle on the vehicle 100).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Penilla to incorporate with the teaching of Gao by including the vehicle parameters as suggested by Gao, because it would be advantageous to properly align between the end effector and the receptacle and further reduce the risk damaging the connectors.
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Penilla fails to disclose wherein the first vehicle localization structure includes a pair of rails extending parallel to each other and defining the first charge zone therebetween, and wherein the pair of rails set a lateral position of the corresponding electric vehicle when the corresponding electric vehicle is located in the first charge zone.
However, Gao teaches wherein the first vehicle localization structure includes a pair of rails (fig. 1, elements 84, 86) extending parallel to each other and defining the first charge zone therebetween (see fig. 1 and abstract), and
wherein the pair of rails (84, 86) set a lateral position of the corresponding electric vehicle (see fig. 2) when the corresponding electric vehicle is located in the first charge zone (¶¶ 0038-0040).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Penilla to incorporate with the teaching of Gao by including a pair of rails in the system, because it would be advantageous to properly align between the end effector and the receptacle and further reduce the risk damaging the connectors.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Penilla in view of Zhao et al. US 2014/0354229 (hereinafter Zhao).
Regarding claim 10, Penilla fails to disclose the system further comprising an overhead rail structure, the robot supported by the overhead rail structure and configured to move along the overhead rail structure between the first and second electric chargers.
Zhao further discloses the system further comprising an overhead rail structure (¶¶ 0029-0030; overhead track 26), the robot (see fig. 4 the robot comprises elements 50, 54) supported by the overhead rail structure (fig. 4, element 26) and configured to move along the overhead rail structure between the first and second electric chargers (moving from parking slot A to parking slot B).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Penilla to incorporate with the teaching of Zhao by connecting the robot with the overhead rail structure as suggested by Zhao, because it would be advantageous to optimize the parking space.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8, 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 4-5 and 16, the prior art fails to teach or suggest further inclusion of wherein the first vehicle localization structure includes a pair of locking rollers defining the first charge zone therebetween, and wherein the pair of locking rollers set a longitudinal position of the corresponding electric vehicle when the corresponding electric vehicle is located in the first charge zone.
The dependent claims are objected for the reasons as claims 4-5 and 16 from which they depend.
Conclusion
/ZIXUAN ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 02/12/2026