DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/14/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Riordan US 10,858,072.
Figure 1- Riordan Figure 2
Regarding claim 1, Riordan teaches a bimini system for a watercraft comprising:
at least one support member 18;
a bimini frame including at least one bow 16, 26, operably coupled to the at least one support member; and
a lift-assist device 38, 44 configured to control movement of the at least one bow of the bimini frame, the lift-assist device being associated with the at least one support member.
Figure 2- Riordan Figure 4
Regarding claim 3, Riordan teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Riordan also teaches that the at least one support member 18 is mountable to a support structure of the watercraft 14.
Regarding claim 4, Riordan teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Riordan also teaches that the at least one bow further comprises a front bow 26 and a rear bow 16, wherein both the front bow and the rear bow are rotatably mounted to the at least one support member 18.
Regarding claim 5, Riordan teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 4. Riordan also teaches that the front bow 26 is rotatable relative to the rear bow 16.
Regarding claim 6, Riordan teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 4. Riordan also teaches that the at least one support member 18 further comprises a support bracket 56, the support bracket being rigidly coupled to the rear bow 16, wherein both the support bracket and the front bow 26 are rotatable about an axis.
Regarding claim 7, Riordan teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 6. Riordan also teaches that the lift-assist device 38, 44 is operably coupled to the support bracket 56 to rotate the support bracket about the axis.
Regarding claim 8, Riordan teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 7. Riordan also teaches that the lift-assist device 38, 44 further comprises a body and movable component movable relative to the body, wherein the body is coupled to the support bracket 56 and the movable component is coupled to a base of the at least one support member 18. Please note that Riordan teaches that the biasing member could be a “piston” (column 4, lines 53-65). By definition, a piston has two relatively moveable members, and either one could be the body or movable component. Therefore in this interpretation, whichever component is attached to the support bracket is the body, and whichever component is attached to the base is the movable component.
Regarding claim 9, Riordan teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Riordan also teaches that the bimini frame is movable between a retracted position (figures 4 and 8) and a stowed position (figures 6 and 7) and a force generated by the lift-assist device 38, 44 is applicable to the bimini frame to move the bimini frame from the stowed position to the retracted position.
Regarding claim 10, Riordan teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Riordan also teaches that the force generated by the lift-assist device 38, 44 is applicable to the bimini frame to control a lowering of the bimini frame from the retracted position (figures 4 and 8) to the stowed position (figures 6 and 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riordan US 10,858,072.
Regarding claim 2, Riordan teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Riordan also teaches that the lift-assist device could be a “piston” (column 4, lines 53-65), but does not teach a gas shock. The examiner is taking official notice that gas shocks are a well-known biasing piston. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the biasing member of Riordan with a gas spring in order to ensure smooth operation with an easy to use, well-established component, since a simple substitution of one known element for another would obtain predictable results. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1739, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395, 1396 (2007).
Claims 2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riordan US 10,858,072 in view of Grovender US 10,427,761.
Regarding claim 2, Riordan teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Riordan also teaches that the lift-assist device could be a “piston” (column 4, lines 53-65), but does not teach a gas shock. Grovender teaches a marine frame structure 100 that is biased in to a desired position by a gas shock 400. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the biasing member of Riordan with a gas shock as taught by Grovender in order to ensure smooth operation with an easy to use, well-established component.
Regarding claim 8, Riordan teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 7. In an alternate interpretation, Riordan does not explicitly teach that the lift-assist device 38, 44 further comprises a body and movable component movable relative to the body, wherein the body is coupled to the support bracket 56 and the movable component is coupled to a base of the at least one support member. Riordan teaches that the lift-assist device could be a “piston” (column 4, lines 53-65), but does not teach the specific structure. Grovender teaches a marine frame structure 100 that is biased in to a desired position by a gas shock 400 which comprises a body 402 and movable component 404 movable relative to the body, wherein the body is coupled to the support member and the movable component is coupled to a base of the at least one support bracket. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the biasing member of Riordan with a gas spring as taught by Grovender in order to ensure smooth operation with an easy to use, well-established component. It also would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to reverse the gas shock orientation in order to meet space concerns or simplify replacement, since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
James US 7,921,797 teaches a bimini top with a very similar bow structure.
Schwindaman US 8,752,498 teaches a bimini top with an actuated lift assist in the support member.
/MARC BURGESS/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615