DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Allowable Subject Matter
The indicated allowability of claims 1, 8, and 15 is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s) to Takada (JP 2012208170), cited on the 8/24/2026 IDS, and Takada et al. (JP 2013-54108). Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takada et al. (JP 2013-54108), hereinafter referred to as Takada ‘108’.
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Takada ‘108’ teaches, “A fixing device, comprising: an endless belt (see para. [0017]); a fixing member configured to press (claim 15: for pressing) the belt against a recording medium holding an unfixed image to fix the unfixed image onto the recording medium (Fig. 2, ref. # 51 in combination with para. [0017]); a restorer (claim 15: restoring means for pressing) (60) configured to press against a surface of the belt after the image is fixed to restore the surface of the belt to a state before a fixing operation (ref. # 60 in combination with para. [0017, 0045]); and a changer (claim 15: changing means for changing) (62) configured to change a pressing load of the restorer based on a basis weight of the recording medium (see para. [0045, 0046, 0056–0058, 0108]).”
Regarding claim 8, Takada ‘108’ teaches, “An image forming apparatus, comprising: an image forming unit configured to form an image on a surface of a recording medium (see Fig. 1); and a fixing unit configured to fix the image formed on the surface of the recording medium (see Fig. 2), wherein the fixing device according to claim 1 serves as the fixing unit.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takada (JP 2012208170) in view of Takada ‘108’ (JP 2013-54108).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Takada teaches, “A fixing device, comprising: an endless belt (Fig. 2, ref. # 51); a fixing member (53) configured to press (claim 15: for pressing) the belt against a recording medium (P) holding an unfixed image to fix the unfixed image onto the recording medium; a restorer (claim 15: restoring means for pressing) (63) configured to press against a surface of the belt after the image is fixed to restore the surface of the belt to a state before a fixing operation (para. [0051–0059]).” While Takada teaches a changer (Fig. 3, ref. # 68) causing the restorer (63) to press/not press (see para. [0056, 0057]) the endless belt (51), Takada does not appear to teach, “a changer (claim 15: changing means for changing) configured to change a pressing load of the restorer based on a basis weight of the recording medium.” However, Takada ‘108’ teaches the deficiencies of Takada (see ref. # 62 and para. [0045, 0046, 0056–0058, 0108]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takada’s invention to include a changer (claim 15: changing means for changing) configured to change a pressing load of the restorer based on a basis weight of the recording medium.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Takada’s invention for at least the purpose of finely controlling the amount of refresh of the belt member, depending on the severity of surface scratches, as taught by the control of Takada ‘108’ (see para. [0045–0046]).
Regarding claim 8, Takada teaches, “An image forming apparatus, comprising: an image forming unit configured to form an image on a surface of a recording medium (Fig. 1); and a fixing unit configured to fix the image formed on the surface of the recording medium (Fig. 2), wherein the fixing device according to claim 1 serves as the fixing unit.”
Conclusion
/RYAN D WALSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852