Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means for establishing a reset position” in claim 9 and dependent claims (because A – the claim limitation uses the term “means”; B-linked by the transition word “for”, and C-no structural limitations are recited, that may perform said function.).
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are not being interpreted to cover only the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. “means for establishing a reset position” is therefore interpreted as a conventional fastener including a head and a shank, per Para [0034] of the specification.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Schoon (US 2019/0120259 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Schoon teaches a steering gear (10) for a power steering system, comprising:
a housing (20) defining a fluid chamber (25);
a piston (35) disposed within the fluid chamber and configured for movement within the fluid chamber along a first axis (50) responsive to movement of an associated steering wheel and fluid pressure on first and second axial ends of the piston to cause corresponding movement of an associated steering linkage (Para [0013]), the piston defining a fluid bore (36) extending through the piston along a second axis (202) from the first axial end of the piston to the second axial end of the piston (Figure 3); and,
an end of travel relief system comprising:
a first poppet valve (210) having a sleeve (250) configured to be received within a first axial end of the fluid bore, the sleeve of the first poppet valve having an inboard end disposed within the fluid bore and an outboard end extending outward from the fluid bore and defining a valve seat (252) between the inboard and outboard ends of the sleeve of the first poppet valve (Figure 3);
a valve stem (270) disposed within the sleeve of the first poppet valve, the valve stem of the first poppet valve having an inboard end defining a poppet (265) configured for engagement with the valve seat in the sleeve of the first poppet valve and an outboard end
defining a stem (272) configured to extend beyond the outboard end of the sleeve of the first poppet valve when the poppet of the valve stem of the first poppet valve engages the valve seat in the sleeve of the first poppet valve (Figure 3);
a second poppet valve (210’) having a sleeve (250’) configured to be received within a first axial end of the fluid bore, the sleeve of the first poppet valve having an inboard end disposed within the fluid bore and an outboard end extending outward from the fluid bore and defining a valve seat (252’) between the inboard and outboard ends of the sleeve of the first poppet valve (Figure 3);
a valve stem (270’) disposed within the sleeve of the first poppet valve, the valve stem of the first poppet valve having an inboard end defining a poppet (265’) configured for engagement with the valve seat in the sleeve of the first poppet valve and an outboard end
defining a stem (272’) configured to extend beyond the outboard end of the sleeve of the first poppet valve when the poppet of the valve stem of the first poppet valve engages the valve seat in the sleeve of the first poppet valve (Figure 3); and,
reset position establishment means (first to third tools, Para [0023]- [0026]) for establishing a reset position of the first poppet valve and a reset position of the second poppet valve (Figures 1-4).
Regarding claim 15, Schoon teaches that the housing includes a bore (30) through which the reset position establishment means may be inserted into the fluid bore in the piston (Figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoon (US 2019/0120259 A1) in view of Rabe (US 4,648,307 A).
Schoon teaches that a portion of the sleeve of the first poppet valve between the inboard and outboard ends of the sleeve of the first poppet valve has a larger outer diameter than the inboard and outboard ends of the sleeve of the first poppet valve (Figure 3). However, Schoon does not teach the press-fit connection.
Rabe teaches that the portion of the sleeve of the first poppet valve configured to be received within the fluid bore of the piston and engage the piston in a press fit (Col. 6, Lines 30-34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the invention, to modify Schoon’s system, in view of Rabe, with a press-fit connection to assure that the threaded portion will not be deformed (Col. 6, lines 50-52 of Rabe).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoon (US 2019/0120259 A1) in view of Stroud (US 4,773,303 A).
Schoon teaches the steering gear of claim 15. However, Schoon does not teach that the reset position establishment means includes a plurality of threads configured to engage a corresponding plurality of threads in the housing.
Stroud teaches that the reset position establishment means includes a plurality of threads (204) configured to engage a corresponding plurality of threads (194) in the housing (Figures 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the invention, to modify Schoon’s system, with Stroud’s adjuster, to have a better control over the adjusting means.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-8 and 17-20 are allowed.
Claims 10 and 12-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claims 1 and 17 recite a reset body configured for movement along a third axis, perpendicular to the second axis, into the fluid bore between the first poppet valve and the second poppet valve.
Claim 10 recites that the sleeve of the first poppet valve includes a fluid port extending from a radially outer surface of the sleeve of the first poppet valve to an interior fluid passage of the sleeve of the first poppet valve.
Claim 12 recites that the valve stem of the first poppet valve includes a groove configured to receive a retainer clip configured to limit movement of the valve stem of the first poppet valve relative to the sleeve of the first poppet valve in an inboard direction.
Claim 13 recites that the piston defines an opening extending from a radially outer surface of the piston into the fluid bore, the opening configured to receive the reset position establishment means.
Since the prior art (e.g. Schoon) teaches end of travel relief system that lack said features, the prior art does not anticipate the claimed subject matter.
For illustration purposes, Fig 4 of the examined disclosure shows the end of travel relief system, which is different than the end of travel relief system taught by the prior art of record (Fig. 1 of Schoon and Fig. 1 of Gilbert, etc.).
Furthermore, it would not have been obvious to a skilled artisan to have modified the prior art in order to arrive at the claimed invention without resorting to impermissible hindsight.
Claims 2-8 and 18-20 are allowed as depending from an allowed parent claim (see above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references noted on the attached PTO-892 form teaches end of travel relief systems for power steering systems of interest.
/H.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3611 /VALENTIN NEACSU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611