DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim 5 recites “wherein the electrical device is a power tool” which is a functional limitation as the electrical device is not positively recited in the independent claim and is therefore not given patentable weight.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Didier US20200099022A1 as evidenced by Busch, M. "Shear Joints." Savvy Aviation, 1 Feb. 2020, www.savvyaviation.com/shear-joints/ (hereafter referred to as Busch-2020).
Regarding claim 1, Didier discloses a battery pack configured to be coupled to an electrical device (Didier, [0060], Fig. 1, pack 10), the battery pack comprising:
a plurality of battery cells (Didier, [0061], Fig. 8, cells 70),
a battery cell carrier configured to support the plurality of battery cells (Didier, [0061], Fig. 10, frame 66), the battery cell carrier having a plurality of connector screw bosses formed on a top side (Didier, [0062], Fig. 10, unlabeled connector screw bosses formed on a top side),
a housing having an upper housing portion and a lower housing portion defining an internal compartment configured to receive the battery cell carrier (Didier, [0059-0061], Fig. 1, upper case 18, lower case 22 and 26, Fig. 29, compartment C, unlabeled cell carrier),
the upper portion having an outer screw boss on each lateral side (Didier, [0059], Fig. 1 and 8, fastening holes 34)
and a respective inner screw boss formed on an inner surface of the upper housing portion (Didier, [0059], Figs. 1 and 8, unlabeled fastening holes of upper housing portion 18)
and wherein the upper housing portion is connected to the battery cell carrier with a plurality of first threaded fasteners (Didier, [0059], [0062], Figs. 8-9, threaded fasteners 30) each extending through one of the outer screw bosses, a respective one of the plurality of connector screw bosses, and the respective inner screw boss (Didier, [0059], [0062], Figs. 9, threaded fasteners 30, unlabeled outer screw boss, unlabeled connector screw boss, unlabeled inner screw boss)
The examiner notes that while Didier does not explicitly recite the limitation creating a double shear condition on each side of each of the respective one of the plurality of connector screw bosses, the examiner notes that the double shear condition is created by the screw passing through the series of bosses as disclosed by Didier and it would be understood by the skilled artisan that Didier creates a double shear connection, satisfying the functional limitation, thereby creating a stronger connection, as evidence by Busch-2020 (Busch-2020, p. 88, Fig. “A Double-Shear Joint”).
Regarding claim 3, Didier additionally discloses wherein each of the plurality of first threaded fasteners pass through the upper housing portion twice and on one side of the battery cell carrier (Didier, Figs. 1 and 9, unlabeled fastening holes, fastening holes 34).
Regarding claim 6, Didier further teaches wherein the battery cell carrier includes a first half portion and a second half portion (Didier, [0062], Fig. 20, first and second halves 90 and 94).
Regarding claim 7, Didier additionally teaches wherein the first half portion and the second half portion are connected via a plurality of third threaded fasteners (Didier, [0062], Fig. 20, first and second halves 90 and 94, threaded fasteners 30),
Regarding claim 8, Didier also teaches wherein the plurality of connector screw bosses is formed on the first half portion (Didier, Fig. 20, unlabeled bosses, first half 90).
Regarding claim 9, Didier additionally teaches wherein each of the plurality of battery cells are cylindrical-shaped (Didier, Fig. 20, unlabeled cylindrical-shaped cells).
Regarding claim 10, Didier also teaches wherein the plurality of battery cells supported in the battery cell carrier are in a compact arrangement (Didier, [0061], Fig. 20, unlabeled cylindrical-shaped cells).
Regarding claim 11, Didier further teaches wherein the plurality of first threaded fasteners are screws (Didier, [0059], Fig. 1, threaded fasteners 30 (e.g., screws)).
Regarding claim 12, Didier additionally teaches further comprising a terminal block (Didier, Fig. 10, terminal block 80) coupled to the battery cell carrier on the top side (Didier, Fig. 10, cell frame 66, terminal block 80) and providing electrical communication between the battery cell carrier and the electrical device (Didier, [0061]).
Regarding claim 13, Didier also teaches wherein each battery cell of the plurality of battery cells includes cell terminals (Didier, [0061], Fig. 10, cell terminals 78), and the battery cell carrier includes a plurality of cell connectors configured to engage with the cell terminals of each of the plurality of battery cells (Didier, [0061], Fig. 10, terminals 50, cell terminals 78), and wherein the terminal block includes a plurality of strap elements each coupled to one of the plurality of cell connectors (Didier, [0061], Fig. 10, strap 74, cell terminals 78).
Regarding claim 14, Didier discloses a battery pack configured to be coupled to an electrical device (Didier, [0060], Fig. 1, pack 10), the battery pack comprising:
a plurality of battery cells (Didier, [0061], Fig. 8, cells 70),
a battery cell carrier configured to support the plurality of battery cells (Didier, [0061], Fig. 10, frame 66), the battery cell carrier having a plurality of connector screw bosses formed on a top side (Didier, [0062], Fig. 10, unlabeled connector screw bosses formed on a top side),
a terminal block (Didier, Fig. 10, terminal block 80) coupled to the battery cell carrier (Didier, [0061], Fig. 10, cell frame 66, terminal block 80) on the top side and providing electrical communication between the battery cell carrier and the electrical device (Didier, [0061]),
the upper portion having an outer screw boss on each lateral side (Didier, [0059], Fig. 1 and 8, fastening holes 34)
and a respective inner screw boss formed on an inner surface of the upper housing portion (Didier, [0059], Figs. 1 and 8, unlabeled fastening holes of upper housing portion 18)
and wherein the upper housing portion is connected to the battery cell carrier with a plurality of first threaded fasteners (Didier, [0059], [0062], Figs. 8-9, threaded fasteners 30) each extending through one of the outer screw bosses, a respective one of the plurality of connector screw bosses, and the respective inner screw boss (Didier, [0059], [0062], Figs. 9, threaded fasteners 30, unlabeled outer screw boss, unlabeled connector screw boss, unlabeled
inner screw boss)
The examiner notes that while Didier does not explicitly recite the limitation creating a double shear condition on each side of each of the respective one of the plurality of connector screw bosses, the examiner notes that the double shear condition is created by the screw passing through the series of bosses as disclosed by Didier and it would be understood by the skilled artisan that Didier creates a double shear connection, satisfying the functional limitation, thereby creating a stronger connection, as evidence by Busch-2020 (Busch-2020, p. 88, Fig. “A Double-Shear Joint”).
Regarding claim 15, modified Didier also teaches wherein the housing includes the lower housing portion, wherein the upper housing portion and the lower housing portion define an internal compartment configured to receive the battery cell carrier (Didier, Figs. 1 and 8, upper housing portion, lower housing portion, unlabeled cell carrier)
Regarding claim 16, modified Didier further teaches wherein the lower housing portion is connected to the battery cell carrier with a plurality of second threaded fasteners (Didier, Figs. 1 and 8, lower housing portion, unlabeled cell carrier, threaded fasteners 30).
Regarding claim 17, modified Didier additionally teaches wherein each battery cell of the plurality of battery cells includes cell terminals (Didier, [0061], Fig. 10, cell terminals 78), and the battery cell carrier includes a plurality of cell connectors configured to engage with the cell terminals of each of the plurality of battery cells (Didier, [0061], Fig. 10, terminals 50, cell terminals 78), and wherein the terminal block includes a plurality of strap elements each coupled to one of the plurality of cell connectors (Didier, [0061], Fig. 10, strap 74, cell terminals 78).
Regarding claim 18, Didier discloses a battery pack configured to be coupled to an electrical device (Didier, [0060], Fig. 1, pack 10), the battery pack comprising:
a plurality of battery cells (Didier, [0061], Fig. 8, cells 70),
a battery cell carrier configured to support the plurality of battery cells (Didier, [0061], Fig. 10, frame 66), the battery cell carrier having a plurality of connector screw bosses formed on a top side (Didier, [0062], Fig. 10, unlabeled connector screw bosses formed on a top side),
a housing having an upper housing portion comprising an outer screw boss on each lateral side (Didier, [0059], Fig. 1 and 8, fastening holes 34)
and a respective inner screw boss formed on an inner surface of the upper housing portion (Didier, [0059], Figs. 1 and 8, unlabeled fastening holes of upper housing portion 18)
and wherein the upper housing portion is connected to the battery cell carrier with a plurality of first threaded fasteners (Didier, [0059], [0062], Figs. 8-9, threaded fasteners 30) each extending through one of the outer screw bosses, a respective one of the plurality of connector screw bosses, and the respective inner screw boss (Didier, [0059], [0062], Figs. 9, threaded fasteners 30, unlabeled outer screw boss, unlabeled connector screw boss, unlabeled inner screw boss), and wherein each of the outer screw bosses, the respective one of the plurality of connector screw bosses, and the respective inner screw bosses are aligned (Didier, Fig. 9, unlabeled outer screw boss, unlabeled connector screw boss, unlabeled inner screw boss).
The examiner notes that while Didier does not explicitly recite the limitation creating a double shear condition on each side of each of the respective one of the plurality of connector screw bosses, the examiner notes that the double shear condition is created by the screw passing through the series of bosses as disclosed by Didier and it would be understood by the skilled artisan that Didier creates a double shear connection, satisfying the functional limitation, thereby creating a stronger connection, as evidence by Busch-2020 (Busch-2020, p. 88, Fig. “A Double-Shear Joint”).
Regarding claim 19, modified Didier additionally teaches further comprising a terminal block (Didier, Fig. 10, terminal block 80) coupled to the battery cell carrier on the top side (Didier, Fig. 10, cell frame 66, terminal block 80) and providing electrical communication between the battery cell carrier and the electrical device (Didier, [0061]).
Regarding claim 20, modified Didier also teaches wherein each battery cell of the plurality of battery cells includes cell terminals (Didier, [0061], Fig. 10, cell terminals 78), and the battery cell carrier includes a plurality of cell connectors configured to engage with the cell terminals of each of the plurality of battery cells (Didier, [0061], Fig. 10, terminals 50, cell terminals 78), and wherein the terminal block includes a plurality of strap elements each coupled to one of the plurality of cell connectors (Didier, [0061], Fig. 10, strap 74, cell terminals 78).
Regarding claim 21, modified Didier further teaches wherein the respective one of the plurality of connector screw bosses is positioned between the one of the outer screw bosses and
the respective inner screw boss (Didier, Fig. 8, outer screw boss, inner screw boss, connector screw boss).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see p. 7, filed 24 February 2026, with respect to the 112 rejection of claims 14-17 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112 rejection of claims 14-17 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pp. 8-12, filed24 February 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 3 and 5-20 under U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Didier US20200099022A1 as evidenced by Busch, M. "Shear Joints." Savvy Aviation, 1 Feb. 2020, www.savvyaviation.com/shear-joints/.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JARED HANSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723