DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the insulating protrusion must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims. Please note that the currently protrusions shown only include a conductive/metal crosshatch. No new matter should be entered. Please note that protrusion (14) is only shown with a conductive/metallic cross-hatching, while claim 1 describes two alternative materials.
The drawings are objected to because they have elements shown in cross section which are not properly crosshatched. Insulating members shown in cross section should be properly crosshatched. It is brought to applicant’s attention that the conventional crosshatch for insulating members shown in cross section consist of lines of two different thicknesses alternatively disposed.
Additionally, please note that proper illustration of the presented embodiment provides a clear visualization and understanding of the present invention now and when used as prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, 9-12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoshida et al. (US 8,167,643).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshida discloses a memory card socket to which a memory card can be coupled, comprising: a first terminal (50) having a first end portion (51) that contacts a terminal of a memory card and a second end portion (53) electrically connected to a first pad provided in a first face of a first substrate; a holder (at 24, 25) provided on the first face and wrapping around a middle portion (at 24) of the terminal to fix the first terminal to the first substrate (intended use, each contact is fixed and supported inside 25); and a protrusion (30) provided on the first face, having a second face (top) that contacts a portion of the memory card that is separated from the terminal (Fig. 2), and a third face (bottom of 241, Fig. 5) in contact with the first face, wherein the protrusion includes a metal material or an insulating material, and wherein an area (at 246, Fig. 5) of the second face of the protrusion is larger than an area of the third face of the protrusion (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 3, Yoshida discloses a first distance from the first face to the first end portion is longer than a second distance from the first face to the second face when the memory card is not coupled to the memory card socket (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Yoshida discloses a plurality of the protrusions (31-33), wherein the plurality of the protrusions are formed of a metal material, and each disposed not to contact the first pad, the first terminal, or the holder.
Regarding claim 9, Yoshida discloses an area of the second face is larger than an area of the first pad (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, Yoshida discloses a lid (11) pressing the memory card toward the first substrate when the memory card is coupled to the memory card socket.
Regarding claim 11, Yoshida discloses the first substrate being a mounting substrate (90) of an electronic device.
Regarding claim 2, Yoshida discloses a memory card socket to which a memory card can be coupled, comprising: a first terminal (50) having a first end portion (51) electrically connected to a terminal of the memory card and a second end portion (53) electrically connected to a first pad provided in a first face of a first substrate; a holder (at 24, 25) provided on the first face and wrapping around a middle portion (at 24) of the terminal to fix the first terminal to the first substrate (intended use, each contact is fixed and supported inside 25); and a protrusion (30) provided on the first face, having a second face that contacts a portion of the memory card that is separated from the terminal (see Fig. 2), and a third face (bottom of 241, Fig. 5) in contact with the first face, wherein the protrusion is configured to dissipate heat from the memory card, and an area (at 246, Fig. 5) of the second face of the protrusion is larger than an area of the third face of the protrusion (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 12, Yoshida discloses a first distance from the first face to the first end portion is longer than a second distance from the first face to the second face when the memory card is not coupled to the memory card socket (Fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 15, Yoshida discloses a plurality of the protrusions (31-33), wherein the plurality of the protrusions are formed of a metal material, and each disposed not to contact the first pad, the first terminal, or the holder.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida in view of Mullins et al. (US 8,544,745).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Yoshida discloses the holder has a fourth face (top) opposite to the memory card when the memory card is coupled to the memory card socket, and a third distance from the first face to the fourth face being shorter than the first distance (Figs. 1 and 2A) when the memory card is not coupled to the memory card socket. Mullins teaches third distance from the first face (at 306) to the third face (at holder) being shorter than the second distance (at 108) when the memory card is not coupled to the memory card socket (Fig. 3B). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to form the holder with a smaller height, as taught by Mullins, in order to ensure the desired contact pressure to the terminals and the heat protrusion.
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida in view of Baldwin et al. (GB 2,135,525).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Baldwin teaches the use of a metal layer (4) connected to the third face of the protrusion (under 41) provided in the first substrate (1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to connect the heat protrusion to a metal layer of the substrate, as taught by Baldwin, in order to facilitate head dissipation over a larger area.
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida in view of Johnson (US 3,917,375).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Yoshida discloses a plurality of the protrusions (31-33), and each disposed in a space where the first pad, the first terminal, or the holder is not present. Johnson teaches a heat dissipating protrusion (98) that can be made of metal or other thermally conductive material (col. 6 lines 60-65). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use any number of known thermally conductive materials, such as an insulating material, in order to provide the desired heat dissipation and characteristic for the protrusions.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection, as applied.
Conclusion
/FELIX O FIGUEROA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833