CTFR 18/178,273 CTFR 86552 DETAILED ACTION This is in response to applicant's communication filed on 03/17/2026, wherein: Claim 25,28 and 70-81 are pending. Claim 74-79 and 81 are withdrawn from consideration. Response to Arguments 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed 03/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On page 6-8 of Applicant response, Applicant argues that Li failed to anticipated the invention of claim 25. Li explicitly teaches using two separate parameter sets for PO determination: a first parameter set for CN POs, and a second parameter set for RAN POs. This directly contradicts the requirement of claim 25 for using the idle DRX cycle as a common basis for both CN POs and RAN POs. Specifically, paragraph [0089] of Li states: "CN eDRX and RAN eDRX are respectively configured with corresponding configuration parameters the configuration parameters configured for CN eDRX and the configuration parameters configured for RAN eDRX may be the same or may be different." Paragraph [0090] of Li further states: "in a case where the first information indicates that the serving cell supports both CN eDRX and RAN eDRX, the terminal device performs paging monitoring in accordance with the two sets of configuration parameters." (emphasis added). This distinction is critical: claim 25 requires determining the paging occasion for both CN and RAN paging based on a single common parameter-the idle DRX cycle length-whereas Li explicitly teaches using "the two sets" of parameters. Paragraphs [0091] and [0095] of Li further disclose how these two separate parameter sets are used: in a "first manner" for monitoring CN paging and in a "second manner" for RAN paging, which occur in distinct, non-overlapping time windows. Accordingly, in Li, the determination of RAN POs is based on the RAN eDRX configuration, and the determination of CN POs is separately based on the CN eDRX configuration. Moreover, Li teaches away from the claimed invention by teaching the use of two sets of parameters-one for CN paging and one for RAN paging-which directly contradicts claim 25's requirement of using a common parameter (the idle DRX cycle length) for both CN paging and RAN paging. Li fails to provide any technical motivation to deviate from its core teaching to implement a unified determination process as defined by claim 25. Other prior art of record does not disclose the above feature of claim 25, and thus, fails to cure the deficient teachings of Li. Applicant arguments have been carefully considered. However, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant is invited to consider the current scope of claim 25: “determining, by a user equipment (UE) in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) inactive state, a paging occasion for monitoring paging from a core network and from a wireless network node based on a length of an extended DRX cycle associated with an RRC idle state”. The current scope only indicated that the determining of paging occasion is based on a length of an extended DRX cycle, which does not explicitly indicate it is any special or specific eDRX. The current scope does not restrict or limit to using a single eDRX to determine paging location. Therefore, Li teaching is sufficient for addressing the claimed invention by taking into consideration at least one of the RAN eDRX and/or CN eDRX (Li - abstract, Fig. 2 step 220 and ¶0078-0085 disclose determining paging occasion based on received eDRX information in step 210 for monitoring CN paging and RAN paging, wherein the eDRX cycle is associated with RRC idle state as indicated in ¶0003) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim 25 and 80 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US 20230422210 A1) . Regarding claim 25 , Li discloses a method for wireless communication, the method comprising: determining, by a user equipment (UE) in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) inactive state (¶0082 discloses UE is in inactive state) , a paging occasion for monitoring paging from a core network and from a wireless network node based on a length of an extended DRX cycle associated with an RRC idle state (abstract, Fig. 2 step 220 and ¶0078-0085 disclose determining paging occasion based on received eDRX information in step 210 for monitoring CN paging and RAN paging, wherein the eDRX cycle is associated with RRC idle state as indicated in ¶0003); and monitoring, by the UE in the RRC inactive state, both, the paging from the core network and from the wireless network node (abstract, Fig. 2 step 220, “[0083] – In step 220, the terminal device determines a target occasion to perform paging monitoring according to the first information. [0084] The target occasion refers to a time period during which the terminal device activates the receiving and monitoring function for the paging message, and within this time period, the terminal device has the capability of receiving the paging message. In addition, since the paging message may be a paging message from the CN or a paging message from the RAN, the terminal device can determine the PTW of the CN eDRX and/or determine the PTW of the RAN eDRX and determine the DRX cycle for receiving the paging message, according to the first information”). Regarding claim 80 , the scope and content of the claim recites a user equipment for performing the method of claim 25, therefore, being addressed as in claim 25 . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 20230422210 A1) in view of Ericsson (3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 #113e R2-2100986, “Extended DRX for RRC_IDLE and RRC_INACTIVE for NR RedCap UE”, provided by Applicant on 05/31/2023) . Regarding claim 28 , Li discloses the method of claim 25, however, silent on further details of claim 28. Ericsson wherein the length of the extended DRX cycle associated with the RRC idle state is longer than or equal to a length of an extended DRX cycle length associated with the RRC inactive state (Section 4 – “Node to decide eDRX cycle in RRC-inactive” - “A UE configured with eDRX monitors paging occasions based on the eDRX cycle. The AMF passes the DRX cycle length to ng-RAN through "RRC Inactive Assistance Information," which includes the paging cycle parameters. If the UE supports eDRX in RRC_INACTIVE, based on its UE radio capabilities, ng-RAN configures the UE with an eDRX cycle in RRC_INACTIVE up to the value for the UE's RRC_IDLE mode eDRX cycle”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to modify the invention of Li to incorporate eDRX configuration from Ericsson because doing so would apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (MPEP §2141 -III) to utilize known standard for minimizing impact on specifications . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 70-71, and 73 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 20230422210 A1) in view of Xiaomi (3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #113 electronic R2-2100344, “Discussion on e-DRX for Redcap Devices”, provided by Applicant on 05/31/2023) . Regarding claim 70 , Li discloses the method of claim 25, however, silent on further details of claim 70. Xiaomi discloses wherein a paging frame of the paging occasion is determined based on a shortest value of the extended DRX cycle for the RRC idle state and an extended DRX cycle for the RRC inactive state (Fig. 1 discloses monitoring paging frame based on minimal value of eDRX cycle 1 of idle mode or eDRX cycle 2 of inactive mode). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to modify the invention of Li to incorporate solution for monitoring multiple paging cycle from Xiaomi because doing so would apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (MPEP §2141 -III) to optimize monitoring for multiple eDRX cycles. Regarding claim 71 , Li discloses the method of claim 25, however, silent on further details of claim 71. Xiaomi discloses wherein a paging frame of the paging occasion is determined based on an extended DRX cycle for the RRC inactive state (section 2.2 and Fig. 1 disclose monitoring paging frame based on minimal value of eDRX cycle 1 of idle mode or eDRX cycle 2 of inactive mode which indicated that the PO is determined based on eDRX of inactive state). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to modify the invention of Li to incorporate solution for monitoring multiple paging cycle from Xiaomi because doing so would apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (MPEP §2141 -III) to optimize monitoring for multiple eDRX cycles. Regarding claim 73 , Li discloses the method of claim 25, however, silent on further details of claim 73. Xiaomi discloses wherein a paging frame and a paging occasion for the paging from the core network and a paging frame and a paging occasion for the paging from the wireless network node are overlapped (Fig. 1, section 2.2 observation 2 – “A question is how the UE use these two e-DRX configurations (e-DRX cycle, PH, PTW). A simple way is that the UE applies the shortest value of e-DRX cycle and PTW from the CN configuration and RAN configuration, if the UE has to receive both RAN paging and CN paging, i.e. a common e-DRX cycle and a common PTW are adopted for paging monitoring. And within the common PTW, the UE is only required to monitor one of its legacy (PF, PO) during the paging window for either CN paging or RAN paging, and outside of the PTW the UE monitors no paging occasions”, which indicated the paging frame are overlapped because the UE can monitor both of the paging with different eDRX in the same common eDRX). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to modify the invention of Li to incorporate solution for monitoring multiple paging cycle from Xiaomi because doing so would apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (MPEP §2141 -III) to optimize monitoring for multiple eDRX cycles . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 72 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 20230422210 A1) in view of Phan et al. (US 20230300787 A1) . Regarding claim 72 , Li discloses the method of claim 25, however, silent further details of claim 72. Phan discloses wherein determining the paging occasion, by the UE in the RRC inactive state, the paging occasion for monitoring paging from the core network and from the wireless network node based on the length of the extended DRX cycle associated with the RRC idle state comprises: a sub-frame number (SFN) for a paging frame (PF) of the paging occasion is determined by: (SFN + PF_offset) mod T = (T div N)*(UE_ID mod N), where index (i_s) indicating the index of the paging occasion is determined by: i_s = floor (UE_ID/N) mod Ns, wherein PF_offset is an offset for determining the PF, T is an extended DRX cycle for the UE in the RRC inactive state, N is the number of total paging frames in the extended DRX cycle for the UE in the RRC idle state ,UE_ID is an identifier of the UE, Ns is the number of paging occasions for the PF, and floor () is a floor function (¶0035-0036 disclose formula for determining SFN for PF that matches with the current claim). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to modify the invention of Li to incorporate formula for determining SFN from Phan because doing so would use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way (MPEP §2141 -III) to utilize known standard for determining paging frame . Conclusion 07-39 AIA THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Contact Information 07-101 Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DUNG HONG whose telephone number is (571)270-7928 . The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.usp to. gov/interviewpractice . If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, JINSONG HU , can be reached on (571) 272-3965 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). /DUNG HONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/178,273 Page 2 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/178,273 Page 3 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/178,273 Page 4 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/178,273 Page 5 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/178,273 Page 6 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/178,273 Page 7 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/178,273 Page 8 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/178,273 Page 9 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/178,273 Page 10 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/178,273 Page 11 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/178,273 Page 12 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/178,273 Page 13 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/178,273 Page 14 Art Unit: 2643