DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is based on the amendments and arguments filed November 12, 2025 for non-provisional application 18/178,387. Claim 10 has been amended and claim 21 is newly presented; claims 1-21 are currently pending, wherein claims 10-20 are withdrawn from consideration.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed November 12, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument that the limitations “calf tightening mechanism” and “foot tightening mechanism” should not be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), the examiner disagrees. Applicant is equating the claimed limitations with an example reciting “a display means for displaying”, wherein the term “display” provided sufficient structure to not invoke an interpretation 112(f). However, unlike the example, claim 1 does not recite any structure to perform the recited function or a structural modifier analogous to the term “display”. The term “mechanism” is interpreted as a non-structural generic placeholder in accordance with MPEP 2181. Although Applicant provides exemplary structures of tightening mechanisms is the specification, additional structure is not recited in claim 1. Therefore, the limitations are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. In this case, the specification describes the “calf tightening mechanism” as including a continuous loop of cable that wraps around the calf cuff and terminates at a ratcheting adjuster that allows the user to selectively tighten or loosen the calf cuff (¶ 0020). The tightening mechanism may also include laces, ratcheting belts, clamps, pneumatic tubes, etc. (¶ 0021). The “foot tightening mechanism” may be similar to that described with reference to the calf tightening mechanism (¶ 0025). If Applicant does not intend to have these limitations interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), Applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitations to avoid them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function in the claim), or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitations recite sufficient structure to perform the claimed function.
In response to Applicant’s argument that claimed “distractive assembly” is distinct from the “distractive force mechanism” taught by DiAngelo, the examiner disagrees. Applicant’s specification states “the foot cuff acts to pull the foot away from the calf and toward the footplate, thereby creating a joint spacing referred to herein as distraction. The distraction assembly pushes the calf upward away from the foot, thereby creating distraction and redirecting body weight and dynamic forces away from the ankle joint” [0007]. DiAngelo discloses “the distractive force mechanism is configured to generate a force between the foot plate and the calf sleeve acting bidirectionally across the ankle to substantially offload bodyweight of the user passing through the ankle and lower limb” [0009] and “offloading is provided by a distractive force (i.e., a force acting in the opposite direction of the body’s weight) applied between the foot and the lower leg” [0029]. Although DiAngelo does not specifically teach pulling the foot away from the calf and toward the footplate or creating a joint spacing in the ankle joint, a force acting in the direction of a user’s body weight would be in a downward direction due to gravity and a force acting in the opposite direction would be in an upward direction. Therefore, the distracting force mechanism taught by DiAngelo provides an upward force on the user’s calf via the calf sleeve (110) while the user’s foot is held within a shoe (159) resulting in a distractive force between the user’s calf and foot around the ankle joint and thus provide joint spacing in the ankle joint. Therefore, the distraction force provided by the device taught by DiAngelo appears to be the same as the distraction force described in Applicant’s specification. Absent persuasive evidence that the that the distraction force provided by Applicant’s claimed invention and that taught by DiAngelo are different and that the distraction force provided by the device taught by DiAngelo would be incapable of creating joint spacing in an ankle joint of a user, the reliance on DiAngelo in the rejection of the claims is maintained.
In response to Applicant’s argument that DiAngelo creates space between the foot and footplate and therefore additional space between the foot and ground, it is unclear where this is described in DiAngelo. DiAngelo teaches that the foot plate (150) is either permanently installed or removably insertable into a shoe (159) [0053], wherein the shoe would prevent additional space being creating between the foot and footplate when the foot is secured within the shoe with the footplate.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the combination of DiAngelo and Gerber have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection in view of Grenzke et al. (US 2010/0319216).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “calf tightening means” and “foot tightening means” in claim 1.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. In this case, the specification describes the “calf tightening mechanism” as including a continuous loop of cable that wraps around the calf cuff and terminates at a ratcheting adjuster that allows the user to selectively tighten or loosen the calf cuff (¶ 0020). The tightening mechanism may also include laces, ratcheting belts, clamps, pneumatic tubes, etc. (¶ 0021). The “foot tightening mechanism” may be similar to that described with reference to the calf tightening mechanism (¶ 0025).
If Applicant does not intend to have these limitations interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, Applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitations to avoid them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitations recite sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DiAngelo et al. (US 2021/0259871) in view of Grenzke et al. (US 2010/0319216).
Regarding claims 1, 4, and 5, DiAngelo discloses an ankle joint distraction device (dynamic ankle orthosis system 100) comprising:
a calf cuff (calf sleeve 110) including a calf tightening mechanism (cables 124 + tension control unit 125) to selectively secure the calf cuff (110) to a user’s calf (Figs. 1-2B; ¶ 0030 & 0039);
a foot cuff (shoe 159) adapted to be selectively secured to the user’s foot, the foot cuff (159) including a footplate (foot plate 150/158) adapted to underlie the user’s foot, wherein the foot cuff (159) includes one or more rigid cuff sections, and wherein the foot cuff (159) is adapted to secure the user’s foot within the foot cuff (159) in all directions (Figs. 1 & 9A-10B; ¶ 0030 & 0053); and
a distraction assembly (distractive force mechanism 130) having a first distal end (lower connector 133) pivotally connected to the foot cuff (159) (via a ball joint) and a second distal end (upper connector 132) fixedly connected to the calf cuff (110) (via calf ring 123), the distraction assembly (130) positioned between the foot cuff (159) and the calf cuff (110), the distraction assembly (130) to distract the user’s ankle joint, a distraction force applied by the distraction assembly (130) to vary based on the suer’s state of activity but maintain the user’s foot in contact with the foot cuff (159) (Figs. 1 & 6A-6B; ¶ 0030, 0040-0042, 0046, & 0052).
However, DiAngelo fails to teach that the foot cuff includes a foot tightening mechanism, a heel strap, and a bridge strap.
Grenzke discloses an analogous foot cuff (shoe 10) including a foot tightening mechanism (securing mechanism 22 including a continuous loop of cable, lace 114, that wraps around the foot cuff, shoe 10, and terminates at a ratcheting adjuster, rotary dial 110) to selectively secure the foot cuff (10) to a user’s foot, a heel strap (wide portion 86 of heel portion 38), and a bridge strap (tongue 78), wherein the foot cuff (10) is adapted to secure the user’s foot within the foot cuff (10) in all directions (Figs. 1-6; ¶ 0017, 0020, 0022, 0024, & 0026-0029).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the foot cuff of the ankle joint distraction device taught by DiAngelo to include a foot tightening mechanism, a heel strap, and a bridge strap as taught by Grenzke for the purpose of easily loosening the foot cuff for insertion of the user’s foot and tightening the foot cuff to hold the user’s foot securely in plane within the foot cuff.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of DiAngelo and Grenzke discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as described above, and DiAngelo further discloses that the calf cuff (110) includes one or more rigid cuff sections to be form-fitted to the user’s calf (Figs. 2A-4; ¶ 0031, 0033, & 0036-0038).
Regarding claims 3 and 6, the combination of DiAngelo and Grenzke discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as described above, and Grenzke further discloses that the foot tightening mechanism (22) includes a ratcheting dial (rotary dial 110) such one assigned to BOA Technology, Inc. (¶ 0027), which has been disclosed by Applicant as a suitable tensioning mechanism for ratcheting with force multiplication (specification ¶ 0034).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the calf and foot tightening mechanisms of the ankle joint distraction device taught by the combination of DiAngelo and Grenzke to each include the ratcheting dial by BOA Technology, Inc. as further taught by Grenzke which would provide for ratcheting with force multiplication for the purpose of utilizing a known commercially available tensioning mechanism for effectively tensioning the cable of the tensioning mechanism.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of DiAngelo and Grenzke discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as described above, and DiAngelo further discloses that distraction assembly (130) includes a pair of mechanisms (on either side), each with a first distal end (lower connector 133) pivotally connected to the foot cuff (159) (via a ball joint) and a second distal end (upper connector 132) fixedly connected to the calf cuff (110) (via calf ring 123), wherein the mechanisms can be linear ratchet mechanisms (¶ 0052).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of DiAngelo and Grenzke discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as described above, and DiAngelo further discloses that the distraction force applied by the distraction assembly (130) is configured to generate a force between the foot cuff (159) and the calf cuff (110) acting bidirectionally across the ankle, wherein the distraction force is a force acting in the opposite direction of the body’s weight applied between the foot and the lower leg (¶ 0009 & 0029). Since a force acting in the direction of a user’s body weight would be in a downward direction due to gravity and a force acting in the opposite direction would be in an upward direction, the distraction force provided by the distraction assembly (130) taught by DiAngelo would provide an upward force on the user’s calf via the calf cuff (110) while the user’s foot is held downward within a foot cuff (159) that would pull the user’s foot and the user’s calf away from each other.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DiAngelo in view of Grenzke as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and in further view of Janowski et al. (US 2003/0153910).
The combination of DiAngelo and Grenzke discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as described above, but fails to teach that each pair of linear ratchet mechanisms include a ratcheting macro-adjuster to drive movement of a movable linear rack with teeth in a singular linear direction and lock the movable linear rack in position at tooth boundaries, and a ratcheting micro-adjuster to drive movement of the moveable linear rack in the singular linear direction and lock the movable linear rack in position with a backlash between tooth boundaries.
Janowski discloses linear ratchet mechanism (pin advance assembly 32) comprising a ratcheting macro-adjuster (ratchet mechanism 34) to drive movement of a movable linear rack (shaft 46) with teeth (surfaces 44 / teeth 78) in a singular linear direction and lock the movable linear rack (46) in position at tooth boundaries (Fig. 10C; ¶ 0069), and a ratcheting micro-adjuster (fine adjust device 90) to drive movement of the moveable linear rack (46) in the singular linear direction and lock the movable linear rack (46) in position with a backlash (lever tooth 76) between tooth boundaries (Figs. 8C, 9C, & 17A; ¶ 0083-0085).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the each of the linear ratcheting mechanisms of the ankle joint distraction device taught by the combination of DiAngelo and Grenzke to include a ratcheting macro-adjuster and a ratcheting micro-adjuster as taught by Janowski for the purpose of providing a two-stage application procedure for adjusting the position of the linear ratcheting mechanisms by first providing a quick initial position using a courser movement followed by a finer adjustment to a final position.
Conclusion
/KERI J NELSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3786 2/25/2025