DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims and Other Notes
Claims 1–3, 6, and 8–13 are pending.
Claims 4, 5, and 7 are canceled.
The paragraph numbers cited in this Office Action in reference to the instant application are referring to the paragraph numbering of the PG-Pub of the instant application. See US 2023/0290996 A1.
Specification
Applicants' amendments have overcome the objections to the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–3, 6, and 8–13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (JP 2020-126791 A) in view of Chien et al. (US 2009/0188105 A1, hereinafter Chien) and Hirano et al. (US 2003/0222335 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Suzuki discloses a battery (1, [0019]), comprising:
a power generation element (2) that includes at least one battery cell (2) including an electrode layer (3), a counter electrode layer (4), and a solid electrolyte layer (7) positioned between the electrode layer (3) and the counter electrode layer (4, [0017]);
an electrode insulation film (13, 14; [0019]);
a counter electrode insulation film (13, 14; [0019]);
an electrode terminal (5) that is electrically connected to the electrode layer; (3, [0020]) and
a counter electrode terminal (6) that is electrically connected to the counter electrode layer (4, [0020]),
wherein the power generation element (2) includes an electrode main surface that is formed of a surface of the electrode layer (3, FIG. 1), a counter electrode main surface that faces the electrode main surface and is a surface of the counter electrode layer (4, FIG. 1), and
a first side surface (16) that extends between the electrode main surface and the counter electrode main surface (FIG. 1, [0019]), and
a second side surface (16) that faces the first side surface and extends between the electrode main surface and the counter electrode main surface (FIG. 1, [0019]),
the electrode insulation film (13, 14) includes a first side surface covering portion (13) that covers the first side surface (16) and an electrode main surface covering portion (14) that covers a part of the electrode main surface (FIG. 1, [0019]),
the counter electrode insulation film (13, 14) includes a second side surface covering portion (13) that covers the second side surface (16) and a counter electrode main surface covering portion (14) that covers a part the counter electrode main surface (FIG. 1, [0019]),
the electrode terminal (5) includes a counter electrode insulation film covering portion that covers the second side surface covering portion and an electrode contact portion that is in contact with the electrode main surface (FIG. 1, [0019]), and
the counter electrode terminal (6) includes an electrode insulation film covering portion that covers the first side surface covering portion and a counter electrode contact portion that is in contact with the counter electrode main surface (FIG. 1, [0019]).
the electrode terminal (5) and the counter electrode terminal (6) each contain second thermosetting resin (see thermosetting external electrode paste, [0062]).
Suzuki does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the electrode insulation film and the counter electrode insulation film each contain first thermosetting resin,
a curing temperature of the first thermosetting resin is equal to or higher than a curing temperature of the second thermosetting resin.
Chien discloses an electrode insulation film (61) containing a first thermosetting resin having a curing temperature of 140 to 210°C to balance the curing sufficiency with the prevention of occurrences of decomposition and malfunction of components (see curing temperatures, [0159]). Suzuki and Chien are analogous because they are directed to thin film electronic devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the electrode insulation film and the counter electrode insulation film with the first thermosetting resin having a curing temperature of the first thermosetting resin 140 to 210°C to balance the curing sufficiency with the prevention of occurrences of decomposition and malfunction of components.
Hirano discloses an electrode terminal (10) containing a second thermosetting resin having a curing temperature of 160 to 190°C to prevent damaging the battery (see thermosetting temperature, [0018]). Suzuki and Hirano are analogous because they are directed to thin film batteries. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the second thermosetting resin of modified Suzuki with the curing temperature of Hirano in order to prevent damaging the battery.
The combination of Suzuki, Chien, and Hirano suggest a curing temperature of the first thermosetting resin to be 140 to 210°C and a curing temperature of the second thermosetting resin to be 160 to 190°C, which suggests the curing temperature of the first thermosetting resin is equal to or higher than the curing temperature of the second thermosetting resin.
Regarding claim 2, modified Suzuki discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery:
wherein the electrode main surface includes an electrode-exposed region, which is not covered with the electrode insulation film (13, 14) or the counter electrode insulation film (13, 14), in a position overlapped with the counter electrode main surface covering portion in a plan view (FIG. 1, [0019]),
the counter electrode main surface includes a counter electrode-exposed region, which is not covered with the electrode insulation film (13, 14) or the counter electrode insulation film (13, 14), in a position overlapped with the electrode main surface covering portion in the plan view (FIG. 1, [0019]),
the electrode contact portion is in contact with the electrode-exposed region (FIG. 1, [0019]), and
the counter electrode contact portion is in contact with the counter electrode-exposed region (FIG. 1, [0019]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Suzuki discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery:
wherein the counter electrode insulation film covering portion (14) covers the counter electrode main surface covering portion (FIG. 1, [0019]), and
the electrode insulation film covering portion (14) covers the electrode main surface covering portion (FIG. 1, [0019]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Suzuki discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery:
wherein one of the electrode terminal (5) or the counter electrode terminal (6) is formed of a conductive material containing resin (see thermosetting external electrode paste, [0062]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Suzuki discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery:
wherein one of the electrode insulation film (13, 14) or the counter electrode insulation film (13, 14) has a lamination structure of a plurality of insulation layers (FIG. 1, [0019]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Suzuki discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery:
wherein the electrode insulation film (13, 14) and the counter electrode insulation film (13, 14) are in contact between the electrode terminal (5) and the counter electrode terminal (6, [0019]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Suzuki discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery:
wherein the at least one battery cell is a plurality of battery cells (2, [0066]), and
the plurality of battery cells (2) is electrically connected in series and laminated (FIG. 1, [0045]).
Regarding claim 11, modified Suzuki discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery:
wherein the solid electrolyte layer (7) includes a solid electrolyte having lithium-ion conductivity (FIG. 1, [0022]).
Regarding claim 12, Suzuki laminated battery, comprising a plurality of a battery, wherein the plurality of the battery is electrically connected in parallel and laminated (FIG. 1, [0045]), wherein each of the plurality of batteries comprises:
a power generation element (2) that includes at least one battery cell (2) including an electrode layer (3), a counter electrode layer (4), and a solid electrolyte layer (7) positioned between the electrode layer (3) and the counter electrode layer (4, [0017]);
an electrode insulation film (13, 14; [0019]);
a counter electrode insulation film (13, 14; [0019]);
an electrode terminal (5) that is electrically connected to the electrode layer; (3, [0020]) and
a counter electrode terminal (6) that is electrically connected to the counter electrode layer (4, [0020]),
wherein the power generation element (2) includes an electrode main surface that is formed of a surface of the electrode layer (3, FIG. 1), a counter electrode main surface that faces the electrode main surface and is a surface of the counter electrode layer (4, FIG. 1), and
a first side surface (16) that extends between the electrode main surface and the counter electrode main surface (FIG. 1, [0019]), and
a second side surface (16) that faces the first side surface and extends between the electrode main surface and the counter electrode main surface (FIG. 1, [0019]),
the electrode insulation film (13, 14) includes a first side surface covering portion (13) that covers the first side surface (16) and an electrode main surface covering portion (14) that covers a part of the electrode main surface (FIG. 1, [0019]),
the counter electrode insulation film (13, 14) includes a second side surface covering portion (13) that covers the second side surface (16) and a counter electrode main surface covering portion (14) that covers a part the counter electrode main surface (FIG. 1, [0019]),
the electrode terminal (5) includes a counter electrode insulation film covering portion that covers the second side surface covering portion and an electrode contact portion that is in contact with the electrode main surface (FIG. 1, [0019]), and
the counter electrode terminal (6) includes an electrode insulation film covering portion that covers the first side surface covering portion and a counter electrode contact portion that is in contact with the counter electrode main surface (FIG. 1, [0019]).
the electrode terminal (5) and the counter electrode terminal (6) each contain second thermosetting resin (see thermosetting external electrode paste, [0062]).
Suzuki does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the electrode insulation film and the counter electrode insulation film each contain first thermosetting resin,
a curing temperature of the first thermosetting resin is equal to or higher than a curing temperature of the second thermosetting resin.
Chien discloses an electrode insulation film (61) containing a first thermosetting resin having a curing temperature of 140 to 210°C to balance the curing sufficiency with the prevention of occurrences of decomposition and malfunction of components (see curing temperatures, [0159]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the electrode insulation film and the counter electrode insulation film with the first thermosetting resin having a curing temperature of the first thermosetting resin 140 to 210°C to balance the curing sufficiency with the prevention of occurrences of decomposition and malfunction of components.
Hirano discloses an electrode terminal (10) containing a second thermosetting resin having a curing temperature of 160 to 190°C to prevent damaging the battery (see thermosetting temperature, [0018]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the second thermosetting resin of modified Suzuki with the curing temperature of Hirano in order to prevent damaging the battery.
The combination of Suzuki, Chien, and Hirano suggest a curing temperature of the first thermosetting resin to be 140 to 210°C and a curing temperature of the second thermosetting resin to be 160 to 190°C, which suggests the curing temperature of the first thermosetting resin is equal to or higher than the curing temperature of the second thermosetting resin.
Regarding claim 13, modified Suzuki discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a laminated battery:
wherein the plurality of the battery is laminated such that a pair of electrode main surfaces or a pair of counter electrode main surfaces of adjacent batteries (FIG. 1, [0045]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1–3, 6, and 8–13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725