Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This is in response to applicant’s Amendments filed on December 30th, 2025, which has been entered and made of record. Claims 1, 9 and 10 have been amended. Claims 1-2 and 5-10 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 1, 9 and 10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The prior arts of Wu, Suzuki and Holub have been incorporated into the rejection of the independent claims and therefore teach the newly amended claim language and arguments (see claim 1 below).
In regards to the arguments regarding dependent claims 2 and 5-8 each depend directly or indirectly to the independent claims above and for the virtue of their dependency are moot because the independent claims are not allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marcu (Pub. No.: US 2020/0098333 A1), in view of Wu et al. (Pub. No.: US 2008/0285851 A1) hereinafter Wu, Suzuki (Pub. No.: US 2017/0061594 A1), Gu et al. (U.S. Patent: 10,123,005 B2), hereinafter Gu and Holub (Pub. No.: US 2010/0182335 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Marcu discloses a display diagnosis device (FIG. 2 and FIG. 8 and paragraph 11 teach that FIG. 2 shows, in block diagram form, a color calibration system for calibrating a display and paragraph 18 teaches that FIG. 8 is a simplified functional block diagram of an illustrative multi-functional electronic device) comprising:
a processor (Paragraph 85 teaches that referring to FIG. 8, a simplified functional block diagram of illustrative device 800 (e.g., computer system 210 of FIG. 2, computer system 520 of FIG. 5, and the like) that performs display color calibration as described in FIGS. 2-7 is shown. Device 800 may include processor 805) configured to:
receive a setting value of a white color on a display from a user (Paragraph 45 teaches that referring now to FIG. 6, flowchart 600 of a process for performing display color calibration in accordance with one or more embodiments is described. As shown in FIG. 6, flowchart 600 begins at block 605 with color calibration system 200 performing calibration with respect to a selected point (e.g., target white point, selected point of a color of interest, and the like). For example, color calibration system 200 may perform white point calibration to set display 240 to a desired target white point (e.g., Illuminant D65) in a color output space (e.g., cubic color output space) corresponding to display 240). However Marcu fails to disclose identify a first input color data of the white color based on a characteristics data of the display, the characteristics data being an association of an input color data representing a color and a color measurement value obtained by measuring the color displayed based on the input color data on the display.
Wu discloses identify a first input color data of the white color based on a characteristics data of the display, the characteristics data being an association of an input color data representing a color and a color measurement value obtained by measuring the color displayed based on the input color data on the display (Paragraph 23 teaches that the first step is that the control module 28 drives the display apparatus 3 to display a full-white image on the panel 36 and the colorimeter 20 receives the full-white image, measures the chromatic value and the luminance of the full-white image, and outputs these measured values to the display characteristic calculating module 22 to obtain the color gamut of the display apparatus 3. Additionally, paragraph 24 teaches that the second step is that the control module 28 drives the display apparatus 3 to display the images with all gray levels for the full-red image, the full-green image, and the full-blue image on the panel 36 and the colorimeter 20 receives and measures the chromatic values and the luminance of the images and outputs these measured values to the display characteristic calculating module 22 to obtain the gamma of the display apparatus 3.). Since Marcu teaches the initial device diagnosis settings related to determining a target point (color) based on a display’s native color gamut and Wu teaches a display device that can use a display characteristic calculating module to measure and identify any characteristic color data within a color gamut, including white color, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings together so that any color data (including white points and settings) related to a display’s gamut would be able to be measured and identified based off of characteristic data related to the display.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Marcu to incorporate the teachings of Wu, so that the combined features together would allow for a display to properly identify and be able to display more accurate looking colors associated with that display’s gamut range.
Furthermore, Marcu in view of Wu disclose identify a second input color data of the white color based on the setting value of the white color (Paragraph 34 of Wu teaches that furthermore, as the image processing unit 30 is set up, a full-white image signal is again displayed on the panel 36 of the display apparatus 3. The output color temperature of the output full-white image signal is measured. In order to determine if adjusting the display apparatus 3 is to be continued or not, it is determined if the output color temperature reaches a target color temperature (for example, color temperature 5000K, D50) or the color temperature difference between the output color temperature and the target color temperature is less than a predetermined value.). However, Marcu in view of Wu fail to disclose convert the input color data of the characteristics data into a converted input color data based on a relationship between the first input color data of the white color and the second input color data of the white color.
Suzuki discloses convert the input color data of the characteristics data into a converted input color data based on a relationship between the first input color data of the white color and the second input color data of the white color (Paragraph 40 teaches that in the present embodiment, the control unit 102 sets parameters such as conversion characteristic curve information 120, display color gamut information 123, and input color gamut information 124. The conversion characteristic curve information 120 is the parameter (a function, a table, or the like) indicative of the correspondence between the gradation value before conversion by the gradation characteristic conversion unit 103 and the gradation value after the conversion by the gradation characteristic conversion unit 103. In the present embodiment, a color gamut conversion process in which the color gamut of the image data is converted from a first color gamut to a second color gamut is performed. The input color gamut information 124 is the parameter indicative of the first color gamut. The first color gamut is not particularly limited and, in the present embodiment, the first color gamut is the color gamut (input color gamut) of the input image data 101. The display color gamut information 123 is the parameter indicative of the second color gamut. The second color gamut is not particularly limited and, in the present embodiment, the second color gamut is the color gamut (display color gamut) that can be displayed in the display panel unit 111. Additionally, paragraph 52 teaches that the gradation characteristic conversion unit 103 converts the input image data that has the 10-bit RGB value as the pixel value and has the nonlinear characteristic into the linear characteristic data 121 that has the 14-bit RGB value as the pixel value and has the linear characteristic. In the present embodiment, the input image data 101 is converted into the linear characteristic data 121 by the gamma conversion process that uses the gamma value of 2.2.). Since Marcu in view of Wu teach the initial device diagnosis settings related to identifying a display’s native color gamut (including any white color settings) and characteristics data related to the colors of that display and Suzuki teaches an image display device that can convert characteristic data related to different color gamut’s of a display device, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings together so that any identified characteristic data related to colors of the display could be converted into another color sharing relationship data with the initial identified color(s).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Marcu in view of Wu to incorporate the teachings of Suzuki, so that the combined features would allow for any color(s) identified within a display device’s color gamut would be able to be converted to a similar related color that to that display’s color characteristic data.
Furthermore, Marcu in view of Wu and Suzuki disclose based on characteristics data and the converted input color data, identify a color gamut that is a part of a color space that is able to be displayed on the display, wherein the identified color gamut corresponds to the setting value of the white color received from the user (Paragraph 55 of Suzuki teaches that next, the L*a*b* conversion unit 104 converts the XYZ tristimulus value into the L*a*b* color space value. The L* value, the a* value, and the b* value that are included in the L*a*b* color space value are calculated by using the following Expressions 4 to 6. In Expressions 4 to 6, “L*” is the L* value, “a*” is the a* value, and “b*” is the b* value. “Xn” is the X value of a while point, “Yn” is the Y value of the white point, and “Zn” is the Z value of the white point. A function f(t) is a function in which “t.sup.1/3” is obtained in the case where t>(6/29).sup.3 is satisfied, and “(⅓)×(29/6).sup.2×t+4/29” is obtained in the other cases and paragraph 58 of Suzuki teaches that an example of the method for determining the maximum-color saturation brightness value 125 will be described by using FIG. 2. The vertical axis in FIG. 2 indicates the brightness value L*, and the horizontal axis in FIG. 2 indicates the color saturation value C. The brightness value L* is the L* value included in the L*a*b* color space value. The color saturation value C is calculated from a distance between the a* value and the b* value included in the L*a*b* color space value. Specifically, the color saturation value C is calculated by using the following Expression 8. FIG. 2 shows the brightness value L* and the color saturation value C corresponding to the hue angle (green hue) of 120 degrees. In FIG. 2, a triangle in a solid line represents the display color gamut. As shown in FIG. 2, the brightness value L* that maximizes the color saturation value C in the display color gamut is determined as the maximum-color saturation brightness value 125. Additionally, paragraph 59 of Marcu teaches that in one embodiment, each of the six tetrahedrons may be defined using four of the eight vertices (0-7) of unit cube 760A. For each of the four vertices of each of the six tetrahedrons, color calibration system 200 may calculate a corresponding weight value based on the measured color response values of the four vertices (e.g., CIE xyY values), and the value (e.g., CIE xyY value; value in the same device-independent color space as the measured color response values) of the target point being calibrated. Out of the six tetrahedrons of unit cube 760A, color calibration system 200 may thus identify one tetrahedron as containing the target point if each of the four corresponding weight values of the four vertices of the identified tetrahedron are between 0 and 1.);
However, Marcu in view of Wu and Suzuki fail to disclose and, in a case, where a target color is not present within the identified color gamut, notify the user that the target color is not able to be reproduced on the display.
Gu discloses and in a case where a target color is not present within the identified color gamut, the target color is not able to be reproduced on the display (Col. 10 Lines 3-12 teach that if calibration computing equipment 46 determines that the native red color primary of display 14 is outside of target color gamut 60 (and that the difference between the native red color primary and the target red color primary is greater than a threshold), calibration computing equipment 46 may determine which bin 64 the measured red color primary is located in. Calibration computing equipment 46 may use the representative value 62R from that bin as the red color primary value in the display identification data file for display 14). Since Marcu in view of Wu and Suzuki teach the initial device diagnosis settings related to determining a target point (color) based on a display’s native color gamut and Gu teaches determining whether the target color is present or not within the identified color gamut, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings together so that the device would include the ability to also determine whether or not the selected target color was able to be identified within the color gamut and whether or not that target color could then be reproduced onto the display.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Marcu in view of Wu and Suzuki to incorporate the teachings of Gu, so that the combined features together would allow for a user to have a better and clearer understanding of whether or not their selected target color would be able to then be reproduced according to the displays native color gamut.
However, Marcu in view of Wu, Suzuki and Gu fail to disclose to notify the user.
Holub discloses to notify the user (Paragraphs 106-110 teach that 1) If the reproduction gamut at the receiving node is adequate to reproduce all colors faithfully (step 121), then simply display the colors accurately (step 122) 2) If the reproduction gamut is not adequate (step 121), then can the gamut be enlarged (step 123) a) using instrumental or visual calibration technologies to guide the process, do what can be done (increasing Brightness or dynamic range, etc.) to increase the gamut of the device. This could include an advisory to the consumer to mitigate the ambient illumination (step 124) b) if the deficiencies of gamut at the receiver are not too limiting, and thus the gamut cannot be enlarged (step 123) or do not affect critical colors (such as important garment colors which could be flagged either in a gamut filter or in a special field of the Virtual Proof) then gamut-scaling techniques discussed in the earlier application could be employed to display a sufficiently faithful reproduction if only a little of the gamut is lost (steps 125 and 126 c) otherwise, warn (notify) the receiver (or user), and use gamut filters to show the consumer which colors are poorly reproduced (step 127). The increase of device gamut of step 124 and scaling of step 126 are not mutually exclusive.). Since Marcu in view of Wu, Suzuki and Gu teach using a display device to receive color settings based on input data from a user and can identify a color gamut based on color measurements inputted and can verify if the color gamut is allowed to be displayed or not and Holub teaches a display calibration application that can inform a user if a color gamut can correctly be reproduced on a display and if not, warn (notify) a user whenever a color gamut looks wrong and cannot be implemented correctly and show them which ones should be corrected, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings together so that after the device recognizes if the selected target color cannot be produced on the given display, it would be able to utilize an application designed to notify users of display calibration information that would inform the user that the color calibration could not be implemented due to a target color not being able to be reproduced on the display.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Marcu in view of Wu, Suzuki and Gu to incorporate the teachings of Holub, so that the combined features together would allow for an overall better user experience and understanding of what colors the display is capable of being able to reproduce for the user via notifications on the display.
Regarding claim 2, Marcu in view of Wu, Suzuki, Gu and Holub disclose everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition, Marcu in view of Wu, Suzuki, Gu and Holub disclose wherein the processor is configured to:
in a case where the target color is not present within the identified color gamut, notify the user of a color difference between the target color and the color gamut (Col. 9 Lines 20-34 of Gu teach that if calibration computing equipment 46 determines that the native RGB color primaries of display 14 are within target color gamut 60, calibration computing equipment 46 may use the target RGB color primaries (Rx, Ry), (Gx, Gy), and (Bx, By) in the display identification data file for display 14. If, on the other hand, calibration computing equipment 46 determines that the native RGB color primaries of display 14 are outside of target color gamut 60 (and that the difference between the native color primaries and the target color primaries is greater than a threshold), calibration computing equipment 46 may use different RGB primaries in the display identification data file for display 14. This type of unit-specific display identification data may allow display 14 to communicate more accurate information about its color gamut to a source device).
Regarding claim 5, Marcu in view of Wu, Suzuki, Gu and Holub disclose everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition, Marcu in view of Wu, Suzuki, Gu and Holub disclose wherein the processor is configured to:
determine the target color in accordance with an instruction from the user (Paragraph 45 of Marcu teaches that color calibration system 200 may perform calibration with respect to any desired point (e.g., point selected by a user; specified in a device-independent color space as a luminance value (Y) and a chromaticity value (x, y)) of a color of interest within the color output space corresponding to display 240).
Regarding claim 6, Marcu in view of Wu, Suzuki, Gu and Holub disclose everything claimed as applied above (see claim 5), in addition, Marcu in view of Wu, Suzuki, Gu and Holub disclose wherein one or a plurality of pieces of target color set data representing a plurality of target colors are prepared in advance (Paragraph 52 of Marcu teaches that by performing color calibration relative to a plurality of different selected points 755 in cubic color output space 700, color calibration system 200 may generate a repository of calibration data that calibrated display system 500 may then utilize to calculate corrected values (e.g., via interpolation) for any RGB input value, based on the current selected point 755 (e.g., current white point, or point of another color of interest). Thus, for example, calibrated display system 500 may correctly display grays for any white point (e.g., by interpolating based on one or more tables corresponding to one or more white points closest to the current white point)),
and wherein the processor is configured to, based on target color set data selected by the user, determine the target color (Paragraph 57 of Marcu teaches that at block 630, based on the actual measured color response values (e.g., CIE xyY values, XYZ color coordinates, and the like) for selected point 755 (e.g., target white point) and based on a target gamma function, color calibration system 200 may successively determine or calculate intermediate values corresponding to target “gray” levels (e.g., luminance levels, gradation levels, or gray tracking points, corresponding to number of rows in LUT 250) for which RGB adjustment values are to be calculated).
Regarding claim 7, Marcu in view of Wu, Suzuki, Gu and Holub disclose everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition, Marcu in view of Wu, Suzuki, Gu and Holub disclose wherein the processor is configured to:
in a case where the white color is not able to be reproduced based on the characteristics data and the setting value of the white color on the display, notify the user that the white color is not able to be reproduced on the display (Col. 11 Lines 13-21 of Gu teach that if desired, a verification step may be performed after step 306 in which calibration computing equipment 46 gathers display data while display 14 operates with the stored display identification data and the additional calibration data (e.g., gamma and white point calibration data). The verification step may be performed to verify whether the display identification data was properly stored in electronic device 10 and whether the performance and color characteristics of display 14 match the desired target characteristics).
Regarding claim 8, Marcu in view of Wu, Suzuki, Gu and Holub disclose everything claims as applied above (see claim 7), in addition, Marcu in view of Wu, Suzuki, Gu and Holub disclose wherein the processor is configured to:
in a case where it is determined that the white color is able to be reproduced on the display, identify the color gamut (Col. 12 Lines 60-65 of Gu teach that if it is determined at step 500 that the measured primary color value is within the target color gamut or if it is determined at step 502 that the difference between the primary color value and the target color value is less than the just-noticeable difference threshold, processing may proceed to step 508 and Col. 12 Lines 66-67 and Col. 13 Line 1 of Gu teach at step 508, calibration computing equipment 46 may program the target primary color value into the display identification data file).
Regarding claim 9, the method steps correspond to and are rejected the same as the device of claim 1 (see claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 10, a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a program causing a computer to execute a process, corresponds to and is rejected the same as the device of claim 1 (see claim 1 above), in addition, Marcu in view of Wu, Suzuki, Gu and Holub discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program causing a computer to execute a process (Paragraph 87 of Marcu teaches that Storage 865 may store media (e.g., audio, image and video files), computer program instructions or software, preference information, device profile information, and any other suitable data. Storage 865 may include one or more non-transitory storage mediums).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Greenebaum et al. (Pub. No.: US 2020/0380938 A1) teaches automatic display adjustments and adaptations based on a display’s color space and parameters.
/G.R./Examiner, Art Unit 2613
/XIAO M WU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2613