DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9, filed 05/18/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Cooper at al. (US 2020/0185929), herein after Cooper.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burchardt (US 2022/0149630), the rejection is relied on a similar disclosure as disclosed in (WO2021019444) with publication date: 2021-02-04, and Cooper (US 2020/0185929).
Regarding claim 1, Burchardt discloses a system (fig. 1) configured to control a station that is connected to a power network (the batteries are connected to the grid (power network) 275, fig. 2) configured to charge a plurality of movable batteries from the power network (DC power may be delivered to the ESS 315, specifically groups 325 and 340, from the grid 375 via the power converter 360, paragraph [0064]) and configured to discharge the plurality of movable batteries to supply power to the power network when a power shortage occurs in the power network (during the sunny weekday the energy need is higher, thus, the energy is discharge from the batteries to grid to meet up the energy need, paragraph [0061]), the system comprising:
the plurality of power movable batteries (fig. 2 shows the moveably batteries 225, 235, 240, 250);
a classification unit configured to divide the plurality of movable batteries that are connected to the station, into a plurality of groups based on respective charging rates of the plurality of movable batteries (The central controller 137 may divide all the batteries 133 within the storage unit 135 into multiple groups or subsets such that each battery 133 is included within an allocated group and wherein each group or subset is allocated by the controller 137 for a particular use. In various embodiments, the central controller 137 may divide the batteries 133 based on a power need, load demand the received performance metrics, and/or the operational status associated with each battery 133. In various embodiments, the central controller 137 may divide the batteries 133 based on a threshold associated with at least one of the operational status and performance metrics, paragraph [0059] where the operational status includes whether the battery is charging and its charging rate); and
a control unit configured to control ratios or a number of movable batteries belonging to each of the plurality of groups in each time window, based on a prediction of use in the station (the central controller 319 may allocate a first group 325 (“EV1-EV8”) to be charged from the renewable energy source 305, wherein a size (i.e., number of batteries 317 contained therein) of the first group 325 may be smaller than a corresponding size of group 225 (as shown in FIG. 2), paragraph [0064] the number of the batteries in fig. 2 in group 1 is smaller because of low energy production in the evening; the algorithms may calculate and/or predict a best use and/or battery allocation within the ESS based on a time of day, weather condition, use application, etc, paragraph [0068]).
Although, Burchardt discloses all the limitations of the claim; However, Burchardt does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of movable batteries are removable from the station and used outside the station.
Cooper discloses a rechargeable battery system to control the charging rate of plurality of the batteries such that the system has an ample supply of fully charged, or mostly fully charged, rechargeable batteries based on an anticipated usage data for the rechargeable battery (abstract). Cooper further discloses wherein the plurality of movable batteries are removable from the station and used outside the station (paragraph [0041], fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Burchardt’s battery system to include the removable battery option to use outside of the station as taught by cooper, in or der to permit the battery to be detached from the station and used as a portable power source at a remote location, thereby increasing the versatility and utility of the battery system.
Regarding claim 2, Burchardt further discloses wherein when some movable batteries among the plurality of movable batteries are predicted to be used, the control unit is configured to cause a movable battery, among the plurality of movable batteries, belonging to a group that has a charging rate that can be charged to a predetermined value or higher by a predicted time of use to be charged, and to be transferred to another group that has a higher charging rate (the controller 219 may allocate the batteries 217 within the ESS 215 to support one or more use applications. The central controller 219 may cause groups 250 and 240 to switch such that group 250 may go into a charge mode and group 240 may go into a discharge mode. the algorithms may calculate and/or predict a best use and/or battery allocation within the ESS based on a time of day, weather condition, use application, etc. paragraph [0062]-[0063], [0068]Note: the higher charging rate batteries are used to discharge to get the required amount of the power from the charging station 215).
Regarding claim 3, Burchardt further discloses wherein the control unit is configured to cause a movable battery, among the plurality of movable batteries, belonging to a group whose charging rate is lower than a predetermined value, in response to a request to increase an amount of power consumption in the station to be charged, and to be transferred to another group that has a higher charging rate (when a capacity or charge level of the group 250 falls beneath a threshold value (e.g., determined by user or controller 219), the central controller 219 may cause groups 250 and 240 to switch such that group 250 may go into a charge mode and group 240 may go into a discharge mode, paragraph [0063]; the central controller may include software stored thereon that monitors production and consumption of energy by the ESS to determine and contribute to a balance of plant, paragraph [0056]).
Regarding claim 4, Burchardt further discloses wherein the control unit is configured to cause a movable battery, among the plurality of movable batteries, belonging to a group whose charging rate is higher than a predetermined value to be discharged within a range in which the prediction of use is satisfied (with the high production of solar energy, the first group 250 is allocated for storage produced solar energy (via DC connection 210) and the second group 235 is allocated for delivery of stored energy (via DC connection 255) to the power converter 260. From the bidirectional power converter 260, AC energy may then be delivered to the building 280 (via AC connection 270) to meet its energy demands and any surplus energy may be delivered to the grid 275 (via AC connection 265), paragraph [0062]), in response to a request to decrease an amount of power consumption in the station, and to be transferred to another group that has a lower charging rate (the central controller 319 may allocate a first group 325 (“EV1-EV8”) to be charged from the renewable energy source 305, wherein a size (i.e., number of batteries 317 contained therein) of the first group 325 may be smaller than a corresponding size of group 225 (as shown in FIG. 2), paragraph [0064] the batteries can be transferred to the other group in response to decrease in power consumption during evening time when the renewable power source is not present).
Regarding claim 5, Burchardt further discloses wherein the control unit is configured to predict a request to increase or decrease an amount of power consumption in the station, and control, based on the prediction, ratios or a number of movable batteries belonging to each of the plurality of groups in each time window, within a range in which the prediction of use is satisfied (paragraph [0062]-[0064], [0068]).
Regarding claim 6, Burchardt further discloses wherein the control unit is configured to maintain, when a request to decrease an amount of power consumption is predicted in the station, ratios or a number of movable batteries belonging to a group whose charging rate is higher than a predetermined value, at a predetermined value or higher (figs 2 and 3; paragraph [0062]-[0064] shows the day (decrease power demand predicted) and evening (high power consumption demand predicted) and different grouping of the batteries according to prediction).
Regarding claim 7, Burchardt further discloses wherein the control unit is configured to maintain, when a request to increase an amount of power consumption is predicted in the station, ratios or a number of movable batteries belonging to a group whose charging rate is lower than a predetermined value, at a predetermined value or higher figs 2 and 3; paragraph [0062]-[0064] shows the day (decrease power demand predicted) and evening (high power consumption demand predicted) and different grouping of the batteries according to prediction).
Regarding claim 8, Burchardt in view of Cooper discloses a system of claim 1. Burchardt further discloses a system (fig. 1) being configured to control a station that is configured to charge and discharge a plurality of movable batteries (switching, by the central controller, the first subset of the plurality of electric vehicle batteries from a charging state to a discharging state; and switching, by the central controller, the second subset of the plurality of electric vehicle batteries from a discharging state to a charging state, paragraph [0020]the central controller can control the charging and discharging of the batteries 135, fig. 1), the system comprising:
a classification unit configured to divide the plurality of movable batteries that are connected to the station, into a plurality of groups based on respective charging rates of the plurality of movable batteries (The central controller 137 may divide all the batteries 133 within the storage unit 135 into multiple groups or subsets such that each battery 133 is included within an allocated group and wherein each group or subset is allocated by the controller 137 for a particular use. In various embodiments, the central controller 137 may divide the batteries 133 based on a power need, load demand the received performance metrics, and/or the operational status associated with each battery 133. In various embodiments, the central controller 137 may divide the batteries 133 based on a threshold associated with at least one of the operational status and performance metrics, paragraph [0059] where the operational status includes whether the battery is charging and its charging rate); and
a control unit configured to control ratios or a number of movable batteries belonging to each of the plurality of groups in each time window, based on a prediction of use in the station (the central controller 319 may allocate a first group 325 (“EV1-EV8”) to be charged from the renewable energy source 305, wherein a size (i.e., number of batteries 317 contained therein) of the first group 325 may be smaller than a corresponding size of group 225 (as shown in FIG. 2), paragraph [0064] the number of the batteries in fig. 2 in group 1 is smaller because of low energy production in the evening; the algorithms may calculate and/or predict a best use and/or battery allocation within the ESS based on a time of day, weather condition, use application, etc, paragraph [0068]).
However, Burchardt is silent the system includes the plurality of charging stations.
Cooper discloses the system (fig. 2) being configured to control a plurality of stations that are configured to charge and discharge the plurality of movable batteries (paragraph [0041]), Cooper further discloses the server determines different battery management plan for the batteries of the plurality of charging stations (paragraph [0073]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Burchardt’s controller in view of Cooper to include the instruction to control the plurality of charging stations with the moveable batteries as taught by Cooper, in order to have the coordinated power distribution across the charging stations to prevent overload of a power sources, and load balancing to reduce peak demand.
Regarding claim 9, Burchardt further discloses wherein the plurality of movable batteries include a battery that is to be mounted on a vehicle (paragraph [0007]; the battery can be mounted on the vehicle again).
Regarding claim 10, Burchardt in view of Cooper discloses the system of claim 9. However, Burchardt is silent about wherein the plurality of movable batteries includes a battery that is to be mounted on a vehicle, which is replaceable at the plurality of stations.
Cooper discloses wherein the plurality of movable batteries include a battery that is to be mounted on a vehicle, which is replaceable at the plurality of stations (fig. 1, paragraph [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Burchardt’s battery system to include the removable battery option to use outside of the station like in electric vehicle as taught by cooper, in order to permit the battery to be detached from the station and used as a portable power source at a remote location, thereby increasing the versatility and utility of the battery system.
Regarding claim 11, Burchardt further discloses wherein the control unit is configured to cause a movable battery, among the plurality of movable batteries, belonging to a group whose charging rate is lower than a predetermined value, in response to a request to increase an amount of power consumption in the station to be charged, and to be transferred to another group that has a higher charging rate(when a capacity or charge level of the group 250 falls beneath a threshold value (e.g., determined by user or controller 219), the central controller 219 may cause groups 250 and 240 to switch such that group 250 may go into a charge mode and group 240 may go into a discharge mode, paragraph [0063]; the central controller may include software stored thereon that monitors production and consumption of energy by the ESS to determine and contribute to a balance of plant, paragraph [0056]).
Regarding claim 12, Burchardt further discloses wherein the control unit is configured to cause a movable battery, among the plurality of movable batteries, belonging to a group whose charging rate is higher than a predetermined value to be discharged within a range in which the prediction of use is satisfied(with the high production of solar energy, the first group 250 is allocated for storage produced solar energy (via DC connection 210) and the second group 235 is allocated for delivery of stored energy (via DC connection 255) to the power converter 260. From the bidirectional power converter 260, AC energy may then be delivered to the building 280 (via AC connection 270) to meet its energy demands and any surplus energy may be delivered to the grid 275 (via AC connection 265), paragraph [0062]), in response to a request to decrease an amount of power consumption in the station, and to be transferred to another group that has a lower charging rate(the central controller 319 may allocate a first group 325 (“EV1-EV8”) to be charged from the renewable energy source 305, wherein a size (i.e., number of batteries 317 contained therein) of the first group 325 may be smaller than a corresponding size of group 225 (as shown in FIG. 2), paragraph [0064] the batteries can be transferred to the other group in response to decrease in power consumption during evening time when the renewable power source is not present).
Regarding claim 13, Burchardt further discloses wherein the control unit is configured to cause a movable battery, among the plurality of movable batteries, belonging to a group whose charging rate is higher than a predetermined value to be discharged within a range in which the prediction of use is satisfied(with the high production of solar energy, the first group 250 is allocated for storage produced solar energy (via DC connection 210) and the second group 235 is allocated for delivery of stored energy (via DC connection 255) to the power converter 260. From the bidirectional power converter 260, AC energy may then be delivered to the building 280 (via AC connection 270) to meet its energy demands and any surplus energy may be delivered to the grid 275 (via AC connection 265), paragraph [0062]), in response to a request to decrease an amount of power consumption in the station, and to be transferred to another group that has a lower charging rate(the central controller 319 may allocate a first group 325 (“EV1-EV8”) to be charged from the renewable energy source 305, wherein a size (i.e., number of batteries 317 contained therein) of the first group 325 may be smaller than a corresponding size of group 225 (as shown in FIG. 2), paragraph [0064] the batteries can be transferred to the other group in response to decrease in power consumption during evening time when the renewable power source is not present).
Regarding claim 14, Burchardt further discloses wherein the control unit is configured to predict a request to increase or decrease an amount of power consumption in the station, and control, based on the prediction, ratios or a number of movable batteries belonging to each of the plurality of groups in each time window, within a range in which the prediction of use is satisfied(paragraph [0062]-[0064], [0068]).
Regarding claim 15, Burchardt further discloses wherein the control unit is configured to predict a request to increase or decrease an amount of power consumption in the station, and control, based on the prediction, ratios or a number of movable batteries belonging to each of the plurality of groups in each time window, within a range in which the prediction of use is satisfied(paragraph [0062]-[0064], [0068]).
Regarding claim 16, Burchardt further discloses wherein the control unit is configured to predict a request to increase or decrease an amount of power consumption in the station, and control, based on the prediction, ratios or a number of movable batteries belonging to each of the plurality of groups in each time window, within a range in which the prediction of use is satisfied(paragraph [0062]-[0064], [0068]).
Regarding claim 17, Burchardt further discloses wherein the control unit is configured to maintain, when a request to decrease an amount of power consumption is predicted in the station, ratios or a number of movable batteries belonging to a group whose charging rate is higher than a predetermined value, at a predetermined value or higher (figs 2 and 3; paragraph [0062]-[0064] shows the day (decrease power demand predicted) and evening (high power consumption demand predicted) and different grouping of the batteries according to prediction).
Regarding claim 18, Burchardt further discloses wherein the control unit is configured to maintain, when a request to increase an amount of power consumption is predicted in the station, ratios or a number of movable batteries belonging to a group whose charging rate is lower than a predetermined value, at a predetermined value or higher (figs 2 and 3; paragraph [0062]-[0064] shows the day (decrease power demand predicted) and evening (high power consumption demand predicted) and different grouping of the batteries according to prediction).
Regarding claim 19, Burchardt discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium having stored thereon a program, wherein the program is configured to cause a computer to function as a system (the central controller 137 may include software in the form of non-transitory computer readable instructions stored thereon, paragraph [0059]) configured to control a station that is connected to a power network (the batteries are connected to the grid (power network) 275, fig. 2) and configured to charge a plurality of movable batteries from the power network(DC power may be delivered to the ESS 315, specifically groups 325 and 340, from the grid 375 via the power converter 360, paragraph [0064]), and configured to discharge the plurality of movable batteries to supply power to the power network when a power shortage occurs in the power network (during the sunny weekday the energy need is higher, thus, the energy is discharge from the batteries to grid to meet up the energy need, paragraph [0061]), the system comprising:
the plurality of power movable batteries (fig. 2 shows the moveably batteries 225, 235, 240, 250)
a classification unit configured to divide the plurality of movable batteries that are connected to the station, into a plurality of groups based on respective charging rates of the plurality of movable batteries(The central controller 137 may divide all the batteries 133 within the storage unit 135 into multiple groups or subsets such that each battery 133 is included within an allocated group and wherein each group or subset is allocated by the controller 137 for a particular use. In various embodiments, the central controller 137 may divide the batteries 133 based on a power need, load demand the received performance metrics, and/or the operational status associated with each battery 133. In various embodiments, the central controller 137 may divide the batteries 133 based on a threshold associated with at least one of the operational status and performance metrics, paragraph [0059] where the operational status includes whether the battery is charging and its charging rate); and
a control unit configured to control ratios or a number of movable batteries belonging to each of the plurality of groups in each time window, based on a prediction of use in the station (the central controller 319 may allocate a first group 325 (“EV1-EV8”) to be charged from the renewable energy source 305, wherein a size (i.e., number of batteries 317 contained therein) of the first group 325 may be smaller than a corresponding size of group 225 (as shown in FIG. 2), paragraph [0064] the number of the batteries in fig. 2 in group 1 is smaller because of low energy production in the evening; the algorithms may calculate and/or predict a best use and/or battery allocation within the ESS based on a time of day, weather condition, use application, etc, paragraph [0068]).
Although, Burchardt discloses all the limitations of the claim; However, Burchardt does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of movable batteries are removable from the station and used outside the station.
Cooper discloses a rechargeable battery system to control the charging rate of plurality of the batteries such that the system has an ample supply of fully charged, or mostly fully charged, rechargeable batteries based on an anticipated usage data for the rechargeable battery (abstract). Cooper further discloses wherein the plurality of movable batteries are removable from the station and used outside the station (paragraph [0041], fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Burchardt’s battery system to include the removable battery option to use outside of the station as taught by cooper, in or der to permit the battery to be detached from the station and used as a portable power source at a remote location, thereby increasing the versatility and utility of the battery system.
Regarding claim 20, Burchardt discloses a method for controlling a station that is connected to a power network (the batteries are connected to the grid (power network) 275, fig. 2) and configured to charge a plurality of movable batteries from the power network(DC power may be delivered to the ESS 315, specifically groups 325 and 340, from the grid 375 via the power converter 360, paragraph [0064]), and configured to discharge the plurality of movable batteries to supply power to the power network when a power shortage occurs in the power network (during the sunny weekday the energy need is higher, thus, the energy is discharge from the batteries to grid to meet up the energy need, paragraph [0061]), the method comprising:
dividing the plurality of movable batteries that are connected to the station, into a plurality of groups based on respective charging rates of the plurality of movable batteries(The central controller 137 may divide all the batteries 133 within the storage unit 135 into multiple groups or subsets such that each battery 133 is included within an allocated group and wherein each group or subset is allocated by the controller 137 for a particular use. In various embodiments, the central controller 137 may divide the batteries 133 based on a power need, load demand the received performance metrics, and/or the operational status associated with each battery 133. In various embodiments, the central controller 137 may divide the batteries 133 based on a threshold associated with at least one of the operational status and performance metrics, paragraph [0059] where the operational status includes whether the battery is charging and its charging rate); and
controlling ratios or a number of movable batteries belonging to each of the plurality of groups in each time window, based on a prediction of use in the station(the central controller 319 may allocate a first group 325 (“EV1-EV8”) to be charged from the renewable energy source 305, wherein a size (i.e., number of batteries 317 contained therein) of the first group 325 may be smaller than a corresponding size of group 225 (as shown in FIG. 2), paragraph [0064] the number of the batteries in fig. 2 in group 1 is smaller because of low energy production in the evening; the algorithms may calculate and/or predict a best use and/or battery allocation within the ESS based on a time of day, weather condition, use application, etc, paragraph [0068]).
Although, Burchardt discloses all the limitations of the claim; However, Burchardt does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of movable batteries are removable from the station and used outside the station.
Cooper discloses a rechargeable battery system to control the charging rate of plurality of the batteries such that the system has an ample supply of fully charged, or mostly fully charged, rechargeable batteries based on an anticipated usage data for the rechargeable battery (abstract). Cooper further discloses wherein the plurality of movable batteries are removable from the station and used outside the station (paragraph [0041], fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Burchardt’s battery system to include the removable battery option to use outside of the station as taught by cooper, in or der to permit the battery to be detached from the station and used as a portable power source at a remote location, thereby increasing the versatility and utility of the battery system.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SADIA . KOUSAR
Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859